View Full Version : Golfer wins £400k after being hit by ball

04-11-2011, 04:59 PM
GOLFER wins court case (http://news.stv.tv/scotland/east-central/277679-golfer-who-lost-eye-when-hit-by-ball-wins-400000-damages/)

So the guy is walking on a path next to the 18th fairway that leads from the 6th green to the 7th tee when he hears a shout of fore. Despite ducking (allegedly) he gets smacked on the head and loses an eye.

A horrible and unfortunate accident you might say.

Well it seems not. The golfer on the 18th tee who hit the shot has now been found liable for damages of almost 300k.

Seems a bit harsh to me but certainly something to consider next time you are out having a round...even if the group in front are clear if there is anyone else who may possibly be hit by a bad shot, even if they are not playing the same hole, they are a potential 300k bill!!

04-11-2011, 08:10 PM
That's why I have insurance, among other reasons. :agree:

Sexton
04-11-2011, 09:43 PM
just seen that on the news. Next time i walk along silverknowes, i'll certainly be pointing an eye towards the golf course!

DarrenSQH
04-11-2011, 10:13 PM
I used to be a member at niddry castle. It's a great wee course but having to pay that amount Is probably going to kill the club.

Knowing the club well it's difficult to see how that would have happened as the 18th tee is miles above the other fairways. Surely the boy should have watched where he is going and not walk in front of the tee.

Its a shame these days when idiots get a pay out for their own stupidity.

04-11-2011, 10:18 PM
There are some courses these days (more in the US I think), where you can't actually play UNLESS you have insurance.

Something which they should probably employ at Uphall, or any course where Hi8sry is playing :wink:

05-11-2011, 08:23 AM
Harburn has an insurance policy built into our annual subscriptions. (includes payment for a hole in one in competition:greengrin). Not sure about visitors to be fair.

05-11-2011, 08:32 AM
There are some courses these days (more in the US I think), where you can't actually play UNLESS you have insurance.

Something which they should probably employ at Uphall, or any course where Hi8sry is playing :wink:

I've never hit the railway track's at Harburn, can you say that :na na:

05-11-2011, 09:20 AM
I was surprised by this. I always assumed that, by going on a golf course, you accepted the risk of being struck by a ball.

06-11-2011, 06:41 PM
I've never hit the railway track's at Harburn, can you say that :na na:

Bitch :greengrin

06-11-2011, 06:43 PM
I was surprised by this. I always assumed that, by going on a golf course, you accepted the risk of being struck by a ball.

I experienced this yesterday - I played the Kittocks at the Fairmont, St Andrews, which has a coastal pathway, coming onto the golf course at some points - we came upon an argument at one of the tees, where a group had teed off and nearly hit some walkers, who were unhappy at the ball landing right next to them.

I guess golfers are responsible for checking the course is clear before teeing off, but if someone walks into your path after you've addressed the ball, you're not likely to see them!

06-11-2011, 07:27 PM
unbelievable, and thqank fedk the ned i hit a few years ago never knew he could sue me lol,

dunno if anyone has played polkemmet but was playeying there and on the 4th hit a tee shot right down the middle, its apar 5 so next shot i pulled out my 3 wood, there was 2 guys on the green and you have to walk back up the fair way a bit to cross a wee wooden bridge (think its metal now) any way the guys had left the fairway and me being on the right hand side of the fairway have no visability of the bridge, i slice my 3 wood a beuty and lose it out of sight. i hear a noise like my ball had hit the bridge.

my mate who was on the other side of the fairway had a full view of it he came running over and said i had hit some guy we ran over to find 2 neds one pishing himself laughing and the other on the deck with blood coming out his head after asking if he was ok i asked if he knew where my ball went :faf: apparently he was walking up the bridge steps i hit him on the heed and he rolled back down it sounds funny now but i was ****ting it at the time and the guy was alright though and his mate never seemed to concerned :faf: