View Full Version : NHC Darren Mackie - A Champion of Literature

Lendo
04-11-2011, 03:32 PM
Darren Mackie has been asked to be a Reading Champion for a local Aberdeen primary school. Please enjoy at your leisure.

http://www.meldrum-pri.aberdeenshire.sch.uk/page47.html

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top marks.gif

Lendo
04-11-2011, 03:33 PM
helps if I attach a link..........:rolleyes:

see above

04-11-2011, 03:34 PM
That cant be real.

My favourite book is Lord of the Rings although I haven’t read the book I have watched the films

Lendo
04-11-2011, 03:46 PM
You would have thought someone might have said:

"Here Darren, you might want to just say that you read books mate. After all you are a Reading Champion now. Whatever you do don't start the first sentence by saying "I don't read books""

04-11-2011, 03:49 PM
Why would an Aberdeen primary ask him to be a champion for a town in Berkshire?!!

04-11-2011, 03:55 PM
Why would an Aberdeen primary ask him to be a champion for a town in Berkshire?!!

Coz he's a berk?

04-11-2011, 03:58 PM
I think I am a Reading Champion because I enjoy the fact you learn things from reading.

then

If I did read books it would be autobiographies because I enjoy finding out about things that have happened in other peoples lives.

Just doesn't make sense.

04-11-2011, 04:01 PM
lost for words, absolutely incredible.

04-11-2011, 04:02 PM

04-11-2011, 04:05 PM
Can't wait for Darren Mackie's autobiography - I fink it could be a good read likes.

04-11-2011, 04:08 PM
Can't wait for Darren Mackie's autobiography - I fink it could be a good read likes.

Im sure it'll be brilliant, it'll probably be my favourite book. Not that I'll read it.....I'll just wait for the film.

04-11-2011, 04:12 PM
That cant be real.

:faf: :top marks

04-11-2011, 04:12 PM
Reuters.........Just in.............

A report has reached us that a fire which began in the basement of Darren Mackie's home in Aberdeenshire has now spread to the first floor and has completely destroyed the library. A source close to Darren Mackie says that his friend is absolutely gutted as he hadn't even got around to colouring the books in.

Updates to follow..........................................

04-11-2011, 04:14 PM
Excellent choice. The Owl Who Was Afraid Of The Dark is a classic parable of the triumph against internal demons. Me and the bairn love it.

04-11-2011, 04:15 PM
Darren's a bit confused. When he was asked to be a Reading Champion he thought he was getting a big money move to England.

04-11-2011, 04:17 PM
Im sure it'll be brilliant, it'll probably be my favourite book. Not that I'll read it.....I'll just wait for the film.

:greengrin very good :thumbsup:

Darren's a bit confused. When he was asked to be a Reading Champion he thought he was getting a big money move to England.

I wouldn't trust him to read my gas and electricity meters.

itchy07
OMG? That deserves National coverage. Absolutely speechless.

04-11-2011, 04:37 PM
Just to keep the reading theme going, he has made a complete Noel Hunt of himself here!

Rivers Cuomo
04-11-2011, 04:59 PM
LOLOLOL what an absolute Jimmy Bongo!!!!

04-11-2011, 05:02 PM
Reading the TA board this is a year old, I came across this thread on footymad, some quality comments

http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=4&fid=499&sty=2&act=1&mid=2119665052

(http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=4&fid=499&sty=2&act=1&mid=2119665052)
"I don't score goals but I'm sure if I did they would be really good ones. I've dreamt about scoring goals for Aberdeen and if I can score that many great goals in my imagination just think how good they would be in real life! My favourite Aberdeen goalscorer is Edwin Van Der Sar - he's never played for Aberdeen or scored a goal but imagine how great he would be if he did!"
(http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=4&fid=499&sty=2&act=1&mid=2119665052):faf:

MUPPET
04-11-2011, 05:28 PM
Reading the TA board this is a year old, I came across this thread on footymad, some quality comments

http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=4&fid=499&sty=2&act=1&mid=2119665052

(http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=4&fid=499&sty=2&act=1&mid=2119665052):faf:

That is priceless me and even the wife are in tears!

francobaresi
04-11-2011, 08:23 PM
http://www.meldrum-pri.aberdeenshire.sch.uk/page40.html

I think Emma here has won the post of "Real Champion of Literature for Meldrum Primary"...

Best post of 2011...:greengrin

francobaresi
04-11-2011, 08:25 PM
Great tuck shop too...
http://www.meldrum-pri.aberdeenshire.sch.uk/page35.html

:drool:

04-11-2011, 09:25 PM
:faf: Jeezus, that's Mordor that is. No even bright enough to lie about reading, way tae inspire the kids Darren, so we've established he cannae read, when will Craig Brown discover he cannae score goals?

04-11-2011, 09:27 PM

04-11-2011, 10:05 PM

He's a footballer, not the cultural attache to Florence. What do you expect......,

God help us if it was the likes of Scott Brown or Callum Elliot. They probably think that J K Rowling is an Edinburgh down and out.......,

MGmick
04-11-2011, 10:36 PM
He's a footballer

Oh!

04-11-2011, 10:43 PM
J K Rowling

That's a sport in Glasgow.............

Franck is God
05-11-2011, 08:13 AM
OMG? That deserves National coverage. Absolutely speechless.

It was in the FIVER yesterday from the Guardian so its had the national coverage it deserves

05-11-2011, 09:11 AM
He's a footballer, not the cultural attache to Florence. What do you expect......,

God help us if it was the likes of Scott Brown or Callum Elliot. They probably think that J K Rowling is an Edinburgh down and out.......,

What's really astonishing is that someone at the school thought 'we'd better get this on the website, we need to get the kids into watching the films of books they'll never read.'

05-11-2011, 09:22 AM
That cant be real.

I almost wet myself when I read it.

"My favourite film is George of the Jungle. I haven't seen it but the poster was magic"

05-11-2011, 09:25 AM
Excellent choice. The Owl Who Was Afraid Of The Dark is a classic parable of the triumph against internal demons. Me and the bairn love it.

The House That Sailed Away is better. A commentary on climate change and man's struggle to deal with it. Or something.

05-11-2011, 09:34 AM
Jeeeeesus :rolleyes:

hibeemikey21
07-11-2011, 08:55 AM
Oh, the irony (found in the BBC column):

Aberdeen striker Darren Mackie has admitted he doesn not read books - after being chosen as a "reading champion" by his local school. (Daily Record)

If you are trying to rip the piss about someone's literary skills, always make sure you proof-read what you write about them!! :na na:

07-11-2011, 09:18 AM
Oh, the irony (found in the BBC column):

Aberdeen striker Darren Mackie has admitted he doesn not read books - after being chosen as a "reading champion" by his local school. (Daily Record)

If you are trying to rip the piss about someone's literary skills, always make sure you proof-read what you write about them!! :na na:

It was this.

My favourite book is Lord of the Rings although I haven’t read the book I have watched the films.The book must be good because the films are so good.