View Full Version : Skol Cup shirt launched...

24-10-2011, 12:41 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20111024/skol-cup-winners-tribute-shirt_2262950_2492246

Ya beauty!:thumbsup:

24-10-2011, 12:43 PM
:top marks Il be having one of those!

Twiglet
24-10-2011, 12:43 PM
Only 250 available though so get in quick!

24-10-2011, 12:46 PM
Pre-ordered, cracking shirt!

24-10-2011, 12:50 PM
Only looks to have two stripes....?

(Yes I'm aware that it will be a licensing issue with Adidas).

Spudster
24-10-2011, 12:56 PM
No Adidas badge and two stripes. No different from buying a fake off a market stall in IMO.
Don't think Adidas would be too happy with this as (presumably their) design is still being used albeit minus their logos.

24-10-2011, 12:57 PM
That is smart.

24-10-2011, 12:58 PM
Don't think Adidas would be too happy with this as (presumably their) design is still being used albeit minus their logos.

Any copyright only lasts x number of years if memory serves me right - I'm surprised it's taken so long for Hibs to come up with such a shirt as there are plenty of Scotland ones on the market that are simply without the logos (and ones from more recently than 1991 as well).

24-10-2011, 12:58 PM
Could someone please add a picture of the shirt to the thread please? The oficial site never seems to load properly on my Blackberry!

calmacuk
24-10-2011, 01:03 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/javaImages/1c/86/0,,10290~10126876,00.jpg

24-10-2011, 01:05 PM
Cheers mate, looks cracking. My auld boys got the original but it's not in great nc. Reckon i'll invest even though it's baggy as **** IIRC?

24-10-2011, 01:07 PM
BTW, how much does Murray look like Pat McGinley in that picture!

24-10-2011, 01:09 PM
I got myself in a state as i have been trying to find this top for ages. So just called them right away and pre ordered it. Came back to my desk with a semi and then at a closer look it's not actually adidas or the real strip. GUTTED! Would not have bought that having seen it was 2 stripes.

Riordans Boots
24-10-2011, 01:09 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20111024/skol-cup-winners-tribute-shirt_2262950_2492246

Cheers for that Matty!! I have just ordered Mr RB one from Santa :thumbsup:

24-10-2011, 01:11 PM

:agree: I had a double take!

I have the original in pristine condition :smug:

Doesnae fit though - I think it shrunk three/four sizes in the wash :cool2:

24-10-2011, 01:14 PM
To be honest I buy most shirts but its basically a toffs/score draw copy of an iconic shirt don't think I will be bothering with this :-( gutted a bit as I was hoping for better

24-10-2011, 01:14 PM
Already got one, complete with an Adidas badge and the right number of stripes. :na na:

This is a decent idea though, I imagine they'll sell out in no time.

24-10-2011, 01:16 PM

Two things just to put a wee downer on this. I wouldn't give that jersey house room as it has the planet Saturn on it, Duff & Grey should have been hung drawn and quartered for introducing that badge and I told Grey that at the time.

Secondly, Hibs didn't actually 'win' the Skol cup, we 'won' the LEAGUE CUP, the skol was merely presented to us by the sponsors. Aye, ok, a technicality, but that's the frame of mind I am in at the moment.

Delboy4
24-10-2011, 01:16 PM
Found the original shirt in a sports bag in my garage last month, still looks great...luckily I took it from my old house when I got divorced 9 years ago! :wink:

If the ex :witch: new it was going to worth £34.99 she would have wanted half...:na na:

24-10-2011, 01:19 PM
I've still got the originals - home and away :greengrin

Jay
Cheers for that Matty!! I have just ordered Mr RB one from Santa :thumbsup:

I have just ordered one for little Master S. Cant say I particularly like it but I know he will! Another christmas present ticked off the list :thumbsup:

Out of interest would you ever sell it? If it's a medium then i'd be very interested. :agree:

24-10-2011, 01:20 PM
I've still got the originals - home and away :greengrin

Home and Away?

I HATE YOU!! :greengrin The away one is class.

24-10-2011, 01:21 PM
Out of interest would you ever sell it? If it's a medium then i'd be very interested. :agree:

Sorry - It is a keeper! Great day - tears aplenty! :thumbsup:

24-10-2011, 01:23 PM
Home and Away?

I HATE YOU!! :greengrin The away one is class.

Saw one come up on Ebay some time ago but I think it went for £60+ in the end.

Riordans Boots
24-10-2011, 01:24 PM
I have just ordered one for little Master S. Cant say I particularly like it but I know he will! Another christmas present ticked off the list :thumbsup:

I am the same J - It's just that Mr RB took me to that game and it was my first ever Hibs game. We were boyfriend/girlfriend then and the rest is Hibstory .... :greengrin

24-10-2011, 01:25 PM
Sorry - It is a keeper! Great day - tears aplenty! :thumbsup:

Don't balme you mate i'd be the same. It was some day.

24-10-2011, 01:26 PM
Still have my original but it disnae fit, seems tae have shrunk a bit :agree:

I was looking forward tae this top coming out, no so sure now that it's no faithful tae the original though I think that could be rectified with an addidas badge and third strip added with a bit of fancy sewing by somebody I know.

24-10-2011, 01:26 PM

I'd have paid easily £100 for it. If not more.

24-10-2011, 01:32 PM
I'd have paid easily £100 for it. If not more.

There's a 92/93 away shirt on sale on Ebay at the minute so fair to say that shirts from that era do occasionally appear.

24-10-2011, 01:35 PM
There's a 92/93 away shirt on sale on Ebay at the minute so fair to say that shirts from that era do occasionally appear.

Is that the one that's the same but with the Frank Graham Group on it?

24-10-2011, 01:39 PM
Is that the one that's the same but with the Frank Graham Group on it?

No, it's the purple Bukta one.

This Ebay item (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1991-adidas-VINTAGE-HIBERNIAN-SHIRT-LARGE-RARE-/180716213113?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item2a13869379) might be of interest though :wink:

24-10-2011, 01:42 PM

Nice one. :aok:

24-10-2011, 01:44 PM
No, it's the purple Bukta one.

This Ebay item (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1991-adidas-VINTAGE-HIBERNIAN-SHIRT-LARGE-RARE-/180716213113?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item2a13869379) might be of interest though :wink:

Might put a bid in for that :thumbsup: cheers bud.

24-10-2011, 01:45 PM

No way can it be a medium. It's only shrunk 3 or 4 sizes. :greengrin

24-10-2011, 01:47 PM
No way can it be a medium. It's only shrunk 3 or 4 sizes. :greengrin

Haha liked that :greengrin

24-10-2011, 01:49 PM

I'm getting this in before Blackpoolhibs does.

I wonder what the next thing to be launched at Easter Road will be. Ah well fingers crossed.

24-10-2011, 01:59 PM
To be honest I buy most shirts but its basically a toffs/score draw copy of an iconic shirt don't think I will be bothering with this :-( gutted a bit as I was hoping for better

I can't believe we're actually going to agree on a strip discussion! :greengrin

Thought you'd be all over this.

I understand that they can't use the Adidas logo or the 3-stripes trademark, but without them it just looks cheap and tacky IMO. Having said that, I suppose it's no different from doing a limited edition t-shirt and, if the Club had done nothing to mark the anniversary, they probably would have got pelters from some sections of the support.

I really like the idea of a 0-7 tribute strip next season, as raised on her by 3pm, but based on recent evidence I don't trust Puma/Hibs Marketing to do it justice.

24-10-2011, 02:10 PM
I really like the idea of a 0-7 tribute strip next season, as raised on her by 3pm, but based on recent evidence I don't trust Puma/Hibs Marketing to do it justice.
I'm expecting the Skol Cup tribute to be a Score Draw produced one rather than Puma, so Im sure they'd be able to do a decent shirt based on the 0-7 game, though I'm not sure how it would be any different from the other retro ones currently available?

24-10-2011, 02:14 PM
Here's a real one if anyone's interested;

http://www.classicfootballshirts.co.uk/other-uk-clubs/scottish-clubs/hibernian/1991-92-hibernian-home-shirt-m-69105.html

derekHFC
24-10-2011, 02:15 PM

Unless he bought it when he was 10, there's no way TQM would have a medium :greengrin

24-10-2011, 02:35 PM
Here's a real one if anyone's interested;

http://www.classicfootballshirts.co.uk/other-uk-clubs/scottish-clubs/hibernian/1991-92-hibernian-home-shirt-m-69105.htmlBeen a while since I've been medium :greengrin too bad that.

Just ordered one of the strips from the shop, I'd rather Hibs got the money anyway. :agree:

24-10-2011, 02:58 PM
Don't like it.

Anyway, I've got an original long sleeved match worn number 10 version so why bother? :na na:

24-10-2011, 03:02 PM
No Adidas logo, no 3 stripes and no long sleeve option. Nice idea but not for me, still a smart shirt though.

Cal 7-0
24-10-2011, 03:10 PM
Still got my original from 91, I let the Wee Man wear it in 2007 ended up tear stained both times! Braw days :agree: GGTTH!!

24-10-2011, 04:49 PM
Mines are no for sale :greengrin

24-10-2011, 04:53 PM
That is absolutely horrendous. To have had 80's style in the early 90's was bad enough but to reproduce it today is unforgiveable. Still bought it mind.

heidtheba
24-10-2011, 05:05 PM
This might be of interest - not sure if it is the correct shirt, maybe out by a year?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1991-adidas-VINTAGE-HIBERNIAN-SHIRT-LARGE-RARE-/180716213113?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item2a13869379#ht_536wt_1139

ps - the seller has nothing to do with me!

24-10-2011, 05:11 PM
Does anyone know if you pre order, can you pay cash or will a d/d come off?

ordered it anyway

24-10-2011, 05:47 PM
:agree: I had a double take!I have the original in pristine condition :smug:Doesnae fit though - I think it shrunk three/four sizes in the wash :cool2:Me too Garry. What is it with these modern fabrics ability to shrink with age??

connerg
24-10-2011, 06:08 PM

I think he looks like Roger Federer!

Franck is God
24-10-2011, 06:09 PM

I still have mine and strangely it too has shrunk a bit!

24-10-2011, 06:18 PM

I have one too but my sons Hibby teddy wears it. :flag: :thumbsup:

24-10-2011, 06:20 PM
This might be of interest - not sure if it is the correct shirt, maybe out by a year?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1991-adidas-VINTAGE-HIBERNIAN-SHIRT-LARGE-RARE-/180716213113?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item2a13869379#ht_536wt_1139

ps - the seller has nothing to do with me!

That was the strip before the cup winning one - in the days that strips lasted 2 seasons :greengrin

I bought both of them as well although the home one has a couple of holes in it now :boo hoo:

I just looked out my strip collection and the '91 strip is looking pretty good - how much are they worth again? :greengrin

Got an '85 cup final strip too - thats showing its age though :tee hee:

24-10-2011, 06:54 PM
Ordered. I loved that top as a boy.

24-10-2011, 07:07 PM
So is there only 250 shirts going to be sold? I'm a bit undecided at the moment!

24-10-2011, 08:14 PM

It's funny, mine is exactly the same.

Damn shrinking tops.

Ps pretty cack that it not adidas.

yeezus.
24-10-2011, 08:15 PM
I would love one. Already bought the Home and away shirt.. don't think the money-grabbing third kit is worth buying.:flag:

24-10-2011, 08:21 PM
Pre-Ordered :aok:

24-10-2011, 08:28 PM
It'll knock around 1% of the -900k loss I guess...

£35 for a fake though, really.

deano6-2
24-10-2011, 08:56 PM

I bought it off eBay last week for 48 notes. Waiting on it arriving!

25-10-2011, 04:55 AM
Was about halfway through filling in my details to order one and noticed it wasn't quite the same. Although I like the idea, I'd have preferred an exact replica. So I'll hold off for now, I reckon. Still have my original but it's a child size :boo hoo:

I was a wee bit too young to be there in '91, forever indebted to Leitrim Snr for getting me the top though!

25-10-2011, 06:24 AM
Hmm, can't decide at all! 35 quid is a bit off putting though, same price as the real top for this season?! Surely 25 is more realistic!

I still have my original one, sadly I was 10 at the time and it's safe to say it does not fit! :greengrin

aberhibsfc
25-10-2011, 07:38 AM
Two things just to put a wee downer on this. I wouldn't give that jersey house room as it has the planet Saturn on it, Duff & Grey should have been hung drawn and quartered for introducing that badge and I told Grey that at the time.

Secondly, Hibs didn't actually 'win' the Skol cup, we 'won' the LEAGUE CUP, the skol was merely presented to us by the sponsors. Aye, ok, a technicality, but that's the frame of mind I am in at the moment.

Might be my mind and time playing tricks on me, were we not pushed into changing from the previous badge due to it containing a crown and anything displaying a crown requires royal approval or something.

The planet saturn's design will always be up for debate, I didn't mind it too much but can understand why it wouldn't appeal. Really happy with what we have now.

25-10-2011, 07:43 AM
don't like this shirt but I'd buy a replica bukta top from the 70s......
or how about the classic early 80s umbro efforts?

25-10-2011, 09:26 AM
No Adidas badge and two stripes. No different from buying a fake off a market stall in IMO.

Adidas were so out of fashion at the time, we were helping them out.

Surely if this is a Skol Cup repilica, then there should be a bit embroidered under the badge to say "Skol Cup Final 1991" or similair. Sorry, this is just a tacky two stripe gimmick.

25-10-2011, 09:41 AM
Adidas were so out of fashion at the time, we were helping them out.

Surely if this is a Skol Cup repilica, then there should be a bit embroidered under the badge to say "Skol Cup Final 1991" or similair. Sorry, this is just a tacky two stripe gimmick.

green glory
25-10-2011, 05:14 PM
don't like this shirt but I'd buy a replica bukta top from the 70s......
or how about the classic early 80s umbro efforts?

The more the merrier. The 81-83 top Umbro top the greatest IMO.:scarf: