View Full Version : Match Updates St. Mirren 2 vs Hibs 3 - FT

Pages : 1 [2]

22-10-2011, 04:33 PM
CC on the radio saying Sparky had ran out of steam and accepted that he was going to get hooked after an hour, so lay off the gaffer FFS we have just won 3-2 away from home against a team playing well . :rolleyes:

If that's true he's a halfwit. GOC was pumped when LG was taken off - he could hardly move but he takes off LG who was comparatively lively and had been the best player on the park.

22-10-2011, 04:36 PM
It just prolongs the suffering for me, it's quite clearly not going to work out and the sooner he goes, the better.

My thoughts exactly! Glad we won and good for CC but again to echo other posters, we have been here before so best not get too carried away! It is though a vital win and one which hopefully will be built upon.

However, I still feel we need a clear out due to more pretenders in that team. Back to the final day of Yogi again and again and.....where will it stop?

22-10-2011, 04:36 PM
The last turnaround was only marred by an away defeat to Rangers and a home defeat to the 2nd place club.

Thats fine then, all is good, I can easily suggest this is a Duffy 2-2 v Hearts situation.

woodyloon
22-10-2011, 04:39 PM
What would change your opinion of him?

I find it interesting that some people are happy to give him abuse when things go wrong but when things go right...........crickets.

You'll all be believers come Christmas. :wink:

Great result, but is it a turning point, I thought after going to Ibrox and winning 3 nil last season that was a great platform to build on.

I want to beleive in CC, but why in the past few days has he been going on about the negatives, we are going to lose a lot more games is his predictions. Now I'm all for more honesty, but there is a time and a place, not when we are struggling to play as a team consistantly over 90mins, we need positives.

Also if after a year he still feels he is no further forward on the the task of turning Hibs round, then why, what is the problem, he has had 2 transfer windows and he is still telling us we are in for a long hard slog. So what is difference at Motherwell and Kilmarnock that he have pretty new managers but they don't seem to have the same difficulty as CC in building a team that competes on a more regular basis, and if nothing else they don't concede goals for fun. It will also be interesting to see how long any new manager at St Johnstone will take to stamp his personalty on the team.

My main worry is were will Hibs be after January when it looks like Griffiths will be back at Wolves and if O'Connor keeps scoring then I can't see why Hibs won't try and offload him for a fee, that what Hibs have done in the past anyway, so I can't see why it would any different if any offers are made.

22-10-2011, 04:43 PM
If that's true he's a halfwit. GOC was pumped when LG was taken off - he could hardly move but he takes off LG who was comparatively lively and had been the best player on the park.

I'm sure he know's better than you :agree:

22-10-2011, 04:44 PM
Thats fine then, all is good, I can easily suggest this is a Duffy 2-2 v Hearts situation.

How many of his wins is that which have been compared to that result?

HibsMax
22-10-2011, 04:51 PM

Where did I say all is good?

Watching it on Alba....what's this with all the players having pink tape?

How many of his wins is that which have been compared to that result?

From me? I think twice and like last time I believe it keeps a manager whom IMO in the long term if kept will lead us nowhere.

22-10-2011, 04:52 PM
Where did I say all is good?

Didnt say you did.

HibsMax
22-10-2011, 04:52 PM
Nightmare result!..Gives this clown another month at least!

You're right. It would be far better if we just kept losing. :rolleyes:

HibsMax
22-10-2011, 04:53 PM
Didnt say you did.

My mistake, I thought you were putting words into my mouth. Sorry about that.

So why do you think that all is good? I ask because you definitely said that. :wink:

Bloody hell!!! Game over

Well done to CC and the team.

HibsMax
22-10-2011, 04:54 PM
Watching it on Alba....what's this with all the players having pink tape?

Not sure but I know that over here it's breast cancer awareness month.

22-10-2011, 04:56 PM
My mistake, I thought you were putting words into my mouth. Sorry about that.

So why do you think that all is good? I ask because you definitely said that. :wink:

It was in response to your reply that the turnaround was only marred by 2 defeats as if well thats ok, unfortunatley sarcasim does not always come across in type. So do we just start not counting matches your post suggests that by the use of "only" and stating the teams involved this maybe should not be deemed as a setback in the turnaround?

22-10-2011, 05:04 PM
Clueless Colin trying to pull off another Dunfermline?>>>

Nah, just trying to make sure we win the game. And looks like it worked too. :thumbsup:

22-10-2011, 05:06 PM
Nightmare result!..Gives this clown another month at least!

Should you not be watching Makalambay in the Premiership or something? :confused:

22-10-2011, 05:08 PM
I'm sure he know's better than you :agree:

Really? I wouldn't have taken off our only outlet when St Mirren were chasing a goal because he's a bit tired. Why is a young player tired after 60 minutes anyway? Who's responsible for his fitness at the club?

Sounds like an excuse to me. He was wanting to put players behind the ball in his usual boring style so took off our one exciting player.

Mind you, I suppose I'm not an SPL class manager like CC....oh wait.

22-10-2011, 05:11 PM
Really? I wouldn't have taken off our only outlet when St Mirren were chasing a goal because he's a bit tired. Why is a young player tired after 60 minutes anyway? Who's responsible for his fitness at the club?

Sounds like an excuse to me. He was wanting to put players behind the ball in his usual boring style so took off our one exciting player.

Correct

22-10-2011, 05:15 PM
Correct

I was joking he's not an SPL class manager either.

22-10-2011, 05:15 PM
Happy as f we won, dissapointed it gives clueless another
Week. It's papering over the cracks even David bluncket knows that.

22-10-2011, 05:25 PM
Agreed. But we have to start somewhere. I mean, you can't start a winning streak in the middle. We have to build on a result because as you said, the odd win here and there doesn't cut it.Aye, we keep hearing how were going tae build after every win, it's no happened yet, it's usually followed by another dire result as well as a pathetic performance. Going on past evidence I'll no be hauding my breath waiting on anything great happening with Calderwood in the job, I'll tell you that much.

22-10-2011, 05:25 PM
It sounded like a strange decision taking off Leigh (and Garry) but IT WORKED FFS. We got three points against a team that will end up finishing in the top 6 IMO.

Its a bit classless not to give him some credit.

22-10-2011, 05:28 PM
Not sure but I know that over here it's breast cancer awareness month. Same reason as Hibs players today. Good cause :aok:

pentlando
22-10-2011, 05:31 PM

And i suppose you would have made that decision based on your years studying for a coaching license?? Judge him on the result, which was a good one today. He made the subs, we got the win...can't complain.

22-10-2011, 05:35 PM
And i suppose you would have made that decision based on your years studying for a coaching license?? Judge him on the result, which was a good one today. He made the subs, we got the win...can't complain.

I agree with you to a point he did get it right today however you mention coaching badges so I assume you have some or you have never once questioned a team selection or sub or formation in your life?

22-10-2011, 05:39 PM
CC post match interview here

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/15417205.stm

22-10-2011, 05:50 PM

No supposing about it, you're not an SPL class manager. :agree:

Why have a pop at the manager after we've just won? :confused:

pentlando
22-10-2011, 05:51 PM
I agree with you to a point he did get it right today however you mention coaching badges so I assume you have some or you have never once questioned a team selection or sub or formation in your life?

There's always logic behind substitutions, if you're ahead in a game often coaches prefer to tighten up. If you're behind often coaches look to loosen up. To criticise a manager for making the side more solid and keeping a clean sheet in the second half. No i don't have any badges, but neither have i ever felt i know more about a team than its manager. I might say that's a strange sub but i'd always assume there's a good reason behind it. Fair play, like at Dunfermline it didn't work, but to bring it up today and actually boo at a point in a game when you're winning is beyond belief IMO.

22-10-2011, 05:52 PM

The manager explained the substitution so what's the big deal?

Did you enjoy the fighting performance or did you watch the game on the radio?

22-10-2011, 05:55 PM

Can you define what is then?

22-10-2011, 05:55 PM
Why can't the folk moaning about Calderwood just admit that they are absolutely gutted that Hibs won?

22-10-2011, 05:58 PM
Why can't the folk moaning about Calderwood just admit that they are absolutely gutted that Hibs won?Maybe because they're not, I certainly am not so stop talking out yer erse :blah:

22-10-2011, 05:58 PM
Why can't the folk moaning about Calderwood just admit that they are absolutely gutted that Hibs won?

I'm on the train delighted we won. Pissed off that its given him more time to make an erse of us though.

22-10-2011, 05:59 PM

Nope! Always happy when Hibs win, however, can't shake this feeling that we are in flux and aint goin nowhere!

22-10-2011, 06:00 PM
I'm on the train delighted we won. Pissed off that its given him more time to make an star of us though.

I feel your pain. Never mind, we'll lose at Parkhead next week. :not worth

22-10-2011, 06:01 PM

About the size of it Beefster.
I gave Calderwood the target of 8 points from 15 after last weeks game to keep his job.Its a tall order but he is off to a flyer. He only needs another 5 from a possible 12 now. I thought he might sneek 1 today but he has surpassed that. Anything from next week is bonus.

22-10-2011, 06:02 PM
The manager explained the substitution so what's the big deal?

Did you enjoy the fighting performance or did you watch the game on the radio?

I didnt disagree with it, I never said once I disagreed with subbing of the players.

22-10-2011, 06:02 PM
Hibs won cc gets the credit. His subs were not to all our choice but we won end of. He was also a lot more animated on the touch line. The substitons were discussed with BB

22-10-2011, 06:03 PM
I'm on the train delighted we won. Pissed off that its given him more time to make an star of us though.

Bollocks. You cant be delighted and pissed of at the same time about thevsame outcome.

22-10-2011, 06:03 PM
I'm on the train delighted we won. Pissed off that its given him more time to make an erse of us though.

So, ultimately, you are pissed off because Hibs won?

22-10-2011, 06:04 PM
About the size of it Beefster.
Is it? I think it's a pile of *****e

joebakerforever
22-10-2011, 06:07 PM
Currently watching on Alba and we do look more resolute.

Having just listened to CC that Griffiths withdrawal was a fitness issue. He also said that we were "running out of steam" and as a consequence 2 or 3 will probably drop out for Wednesday because of this :confused: (knew Towell was out & expected Brown to replace Stack).

This once again highlights the fitness issue with Hibs which has been an ongoing since John Collins left. We had this problem with Riordan, which tbh never appeared to be resolved in his case.

You have to ask why other SPL clubs do not have this problem, while we appear no nearer improving our players fitness/stamina levels over the past 3 - 4 years.

22-10-2011, 06:09 PM
Currently watching on Alba and we do look more resolute.

Having just listened to CC that Griffiths withdrawal was a fitness issue. He also said that we were "running out of steam" and as a consequence 2 or 3 will probably drop out for Wednesday because of this :confused: (knew Towell was out & expected Brown to replace Stack).

This once again highlights the fitness issue with Hibs which has been an ongoing since John Collins left. We had this problem with Riordan, which tbh never appeared to be resolved in his case.

You have to ask why other SPL clubs do not have this problem, while we appear no nearer improving our players fitness/stamina levels over the past 3 - 4 years.

We played Motherwell over two hours and finished the stronger team.

22-10-2011, 06:12 PM
Decent result. Doesn't change much though.

CC staring down the Hibs fans and Palsson shaking his head at the Hibs fans for booing his ridiculous sub of Griffiths was an absolute farce. They can both **** right off.

Oh deary me....:rolleyes:

22-10-2011, 06:14 PM
Just Back

Delighted we won :thumbsup:

22-10-2011, 06:16 PM
Bollocks. You cant be delighted and pissed of at the same time about thevsame outcome.

Of course I can. Absolutely delighted we won. I hope we win wed and Sat too. And I can also be pissed he will still be in the dugout, as I think he's useless.

22-10-2011, 06:19 PM
Well done CC + the lads! :thumbsup:

How did Nid play?

22-10-2011, 06:22 PM
Just seen that Sean Welsh was on the bench. :thumbsup:

22-10-2011, 06:23 PM
Just seen that Sean Welsh was on the bench. :thumbsup:was he sitting next tae Scott :greengrin

22-10-2011, 06:29 PM
was he sitting next tae Scott :greengrin

:greengrin Aye but he looked a wee bit nervous.

22-10-2011, 06:29 PM
Great result.

22-10-2011, 06:30 PM
Great result, but is it a turning point, I thought after going to Ibrox and winning 3 nil last season that was a great platform to build on.

I want to beleive in CC, but why in the past few days has he been going on about the negatives, we are going to lose a lot more games is his predictions. Now I'm all for more honesty, but there is a time and a place, not when we are struggling to play as a team consistantly over 90mins, we need positives.

Also if after a year he still feels he is no further forward on the the task of turning Hibs round, then why, what is the problem, he has had 2 transfer windows and he is still telling us we are in for a long hard slog. So what is difference at Motherwell and Kilmarnock that he have pretty new managers but they don't seem to have the same difficulty as CC in building a team that competes on a more regular basis, and if nothing else they don't concede goals for fun. It will also be interesting to see how long any new manager at St Johnstone will take to stamp his personalty on the team.

My main worry is were will Hibs be after January when it looks like Griffiths will be back at Wolves and if O'Connor keeps scoring then I can't see why Hibs won't try and offload him for a fee, that what Hibs have done in the past anyway, so I can't see why it would any different if any offers are made.

And where would the logic in that be? It's a ridiculous suggestion. He will walk away to better things at the end of the season. What kind of fee do you expect for a player who is out of contract at the end of the season? In any case, there will be no fee for GOC if, for some reason, we do let him leave in January.

22-10-2011, 06:30 PM
Can the folk who are upset that not everyone is delighted with the win not look beyond 90 minutes? If before the game today we had the option of us getting beat, CC being emptied and us having Michael O'Neill in charge for the rest of the season I'd have bitten their hand off. I've not looked forward to a single game in his tenure and I've not gone home after one feeling good about the team and our situation. On the rare occasion we win (25% of the time, by the way) we are speculative and unconvincing and when we lose or draw we are usually absolutely gutless and incompetent. The football has been absolutely horrendous.

The last year supporting Hibs has been absolutely miserable, we're now at the stage where we're talking about beating Motherwell as a 'Coup', victories against St Mirren as huge, and having to read that we should have sought consolation in the New Year's derby defeat in that it was an entirely predictable defeat anyway. That's the mentality at Hibs at the moment and it's so wrong. There's been no indication that it will improve, on the contrary there is an absolute of abundance that suggests we are going nowhere. If getting beat today would have given us a chance for a change and perhaps a chance that we could enjoy the rest of the season I'd have taken it, it's not a nice thought but I'm not embarrassed or ashamed in the slightest to admit that, I can look beyond one match. Are all of you who are angry at this convinced by Calderwood or could you really not have sacrificed three points to end this torture that we've endured for a whole year?

22-10-2011, 06:31 PM
Crazy sub from a crazy guy

It was Griffith's decision himself that it was time to come off. :faf:

22-10-2011, 06:32 PM
Just seen our first goal. What was the keeper doing! :tee hee:

22-10-2011, 06:34 PM
It was Griffith's decision himself that it was time to come off. :faf:

22-10-2011, 06:36 PM
Can the folk who are upset that not everyone is delighted with the win not look beyond 90 minutes? If before the game today we had the option of us getting beat, CC being emptied and us having Michael O'Neill in charge for the rest of the season I'd have bitten their hand off. I've not looked forward to a single game in his tenure and I've not gone home after one feeling good about the team and our situation. On the rare occasion we win (25% of the time, by the way) we are speculative and unconvincing and when we lose or draw we are usually absolutely gutless and incompetent. The football has been absolutely horrendous.

The last year supporting Hibs has been absolutely miserable, we're now at the stage where we're talking about beating Motherwell as a 'Coup', victories against St Mirren as huge,and having to read that we should have sought consolation in the New Year's derby defeat in that it was an entirely predictable defeat anyway. That's the mentality at Hibs at the moment and it's so wrong. There's been no indication that it will improve, on the contrary there is an absolute of abundance that suggests we are going nowhere. If getting beat today would have given us a chance for a change and perhaps a chance that we could enjoy the rest of the season I'd have taken it, it's not a nice thought but I'm not embarrassed or ashamed in the slightest to admit that, I can look beyond one match. Are all of you who are angry at this convinced by Calderwood or could you really not have sacrificed three points to end this torture that we've endured for a whole year?On Hibs getting beat I cannae agree with you on that, never want Hibs tae lose. I already think he's proven bad enough tae be emptied so I doubt Petrie would have done so had we been beaten today. If we do happen tae get beat enough times that Petrie will sack him (and **** knows what that will take) then fair enough but actually wanting Hibs tae lose? No for me thanks.

22-10-2011, 06:36 PM
killing spree imminent.

Capitulation.

Bloody hell!!! Game over

calley winning so that us on course for bottom of the league?

There was still an hour to go.

Tell me, do you guys leave the house if it looks like rain?

22-10-2011, 06:39 PM
The last year supporting Hibs has been absolutely miserable, we're now at the stage where we're talking about beating Motherwell as a 'Coup', victories against St Mirren as huge,

Before today, we had won 4 times in the last 20 years at St. Mirren. Bloody right today was a big win for us.

22-10-2011, 06:51 PM
When Griffiths got a foul against him and then Osbourne hit a bullet into the net, what a strike :thumbsup: Anyone think the keeper would have got it if it was not a free-kick?

22-10-2011, 06:55 PM
When Griffiths got a foul against him and then Osbourne hit a bullet into the net, what a strike :thumbsup: Anyone think the keeper would have got it if it was not a free-kick?

Thought it was a great strike. Would like to see it again to see if it was a foul

22-10-2011, 06:56 PM

Keeper would not have saved it IMO, it was a bullet into top corner, what a hit.....

22-10-2011, 06:58 PM
Keeper would not have saved it IMO, it was a bullet into top corner, what a hit.....

Strike apart I thought Osbourne looked good today.

22-10-2011, 07:04 PM
Quality 2nd goal from Griffiths! :thumbsup:

Worth watching the 2nd half?

22-10-2011, 07:24 PM
Strike apart I thought Osbourne looked good today.

I concur :wink:

22-10-2011, 07:24 PM
Quality 2nd goal from Griffiths! :thumbsup:

Worth watching the 2nd half?

Nope.

22-10-2011, 07:31 PM
Apologies for not soiling myself with excitement after we scrape a win against St Mirren after being outplayed for the majority of the match.

Pretending everything is fine after a match like that is counterproductive.

So is slagging everyone in green every week but that seems to be on tap.

Even when we win!

22-10-2011, 07:34 PM
CC on the radio saying Sparky had ran out of steam and accepted that he was going to get hooked after an hour, so lay off the gaffer FFS we have just won 3-2 away from home against a team playing well . :rolleyes:

However, there was nae point in CC explaining why he made his subs as most of the Hibs 'support' have got their minds made up already as to why he does or doesn't do certain things.

That is why they are in the stands (or behind a monitor) being counterproductive.

22-10-2011, 07:39 PM

:faf: :rolleyes:

22-10-2011, 07:42 PM

The last year supporting Hibs has been absolutely miserable, we're now at the stage where we're talking about beating Motherwell as a 'Coup', victories against St Mirren as huge, and having to read that we should have sought consolation in the New Year's derby defeat in that it was an entirely predictable defeat anyway. That's the mentality at Hibs at the moment and it's so wrong. There's been no indication that it will improve, on the contrary there is an absolute of abundance that suggests we are going nowhere. If getting beat today would have given us a chance for a change and perhaps a chance that we could enjoy the rest of the season I'd have taken it, it's not a nice thought but I'm not embarrassed or ashamed in the slightest to admit that, I can look beyond one match. Are all of you who are angry at this convinced by Calderwood or could you really not have sacrificed three points to end this torture that we've endured for a whole year?

What an :asshole:

woodyloon
22-10-2011, 07:44 PM
And where would the logic in that be? It's a ridiculous suggestion. He will walk away to better things at the end of the season. What kind of fee do you expect for a player who is out of contract at the end of the season? In any case, there will be no fee for GOC if, for some reason, we do let him leave in January.

I never offered it as a suggestion, I expressed my concern for the future, especially if Hibs by January are still on the wrong side of the top six, then we might have a problem with a goalscorer for the second half of the season. Maybe we won't, we might extend our option with Wolves, maybe no one will be interested in GoC or the club might just decide that he is worth more than any fee to Hibs.

I based my fear on that GoC is scoring goals and long may it continue, but come January some other teams, for example a club struggling in the EPL looking for a goalscorer to possibly get them out of trouble, might find GoC an option worth considering. If my understanding of the transfer window is correct then Hibs would be entitled to fee if the another wanted him in January, or the other option GoC can sign for any other club on freedom contract and move to them in the summer, then Hibs would get no fee. I feel with the structure Hibs have in place to run the club making as little loss as possible every season or make a profit, as they have done for I think the last 7 years up till this year, then this has been achieved mainly down to transfers.

22-10-2011, 07:47 PM
Well done CC + the lads! :thumbsup:

How did Nid play?

Solid but unspectacular would be the short answer.

Given what he has to put himself through to play the fact that he is even on the pitch, and acquits himself well, is nothing short of remarkable.

22-10-2011, 07:53 PM
Solid but unspectacular would be the short answer.

Given what he has to put himself through to play the fact that he is even on the pitch, and acquits himself well, is nothing short of remarkable.

That'll do me for a CH.

22-10-2011, 08:24 PM
What an :asshole:

22-10-2011, 08:31 PM

No chance he was rooted to the spot. It was never a free kick if the same consistancy was to be applied across the board, the ref was a joke.

Biggest thing from today was the first time I have seen pretty much 11 players working their balls off both going forward and defending. We beat a team that drew with rangers at Ibrox last week and folk have been raving about since the start of the season, lets not overlook the significance just to have a shot at CC.

As for comments about 'since when did beating motherwell become such a big deal' - get real since when have hibs been a third force or some unbeatable giant. I think some people think we have some devine right to win games and be better than the next club, we are playing in a very competitive league this year, and for the record a win is a win as far as I can see it.

22-10-2011, 08:47 PM
good to get some badly needed points, but i still think CC is a dud.

cad
22-10-2011, 08:54 PM
Great 3 points for the club well done to all concerned ,still cant see me back anytime soon still scunnerd with the entire set up at Hibs

23-10-2011, 08:02 AM

However, there was nae point in CC explaining why he made his subs as most of the Hibs 'support' have got their minds made up already as to why he does or doesn't do certain things.

That is why they are in the stands (or behind a monitor) being counterproductive.

I see he has gone awol,he must have ran out of nonsense to post :rolleyes:

23-10-2011, 09:35 AM
Sparky said in his after match interview that he had asked CC to be subbed, as his legs were heavy.....

Even if that wasn't the case, would there be such an outcry if CC had made the same change, knowing that Sparky will be vital for us in the quarter final on Wednesday, some people just can't see the bigger picture....

23-10-2011, 09:49 AM
Sparky said in his after match interview that he had asked CC to be subbed, as his legs were heavy.....Even if that wasn't the case, would there be such an outcry if CC had made the same change, knowing that Sparky will be vital for us in the quarter final on Wednesday, some people just can't see the bigger picture....It's symptomatic of where we are as a support at thd moment imho. Patience is very thin on the ground because of a number of poor results and performances, so any perceived negative gets focussed on and magnified, and the first reaction is to vent it.Hopefully people see the comments from Sparky and CC and bear it in mind for the next time when they don't agree with the substitution, and they hold off on the boos.CC got his subs right yesterday as much as he got them wrong against Dunfermline.

23-10-2011, 10:40 AM
I never offered it as a suggestion, I expressed my concern for the future, especially if Hibs by January are still on the wrong side of the top six, then we might have a problem with a goalscorer for the second half of the season. Maybe we won't, we might extend our option with Wolves, maybe no one will be interested in GoC or the club might just decide that he is worth more than any fee to Hibs.

I based my fear on that GoC is scoring goals and long may it continue, but come January some other teams, for example a club struggling in the EPL looking for a goalscorer to possibly get them out of trouble, might find GoC an option worth considering. If my understanding of the transfer window is correct then Hibs would be entitled to fee if the another wanted him in January, or the other option GoC can sign for any other club on freedom contract and move to them in the summer, then Hibs would get no fee. I feel with the structure Hibs have in place to run the club making as little loss as possible every season or make a profit, as they have done for I think the last 7 years up till this year, then this has been achieved mainly down to transfers.
In normal circumstances Hibs would be entitled to a fee - although with less than 6 months remaining on the contract that would be relatively small compared with what we were losing. There is a deal in place with GOC though - and there will be no fee if he were to go in January. I am positive he will be here for the full season.