View Full Version : The Stone Roses

14-10-2011, 06:41 PM
Reforming next week...good or bad?

A stadium tour playing their old stuff would be amazing!

Don Giovanni
14-10-2011, 06:47 PM
Reforming next week...good or bad?A stadium tour playing their old stuff would be amazing! Aye? Thats friggin' awesome news if true! Where have you heard / seen this? :hyper:

14-10-2011, 07:01 PM
Ya Dancer :thumbsup:

If true I will be going to see them.

14-10-2011, 07:23 PM
Reforming next week...good or bad?

There's only one answer to that, and it's not bad :greengrin

They were awfy crap live though

14-10-2011, 07:31 PM
Great news, IMHO. Never got a chance to see them first time round, so will do everything I can to see them this time around. Great band, no matter how they sound live.

vein
14-10-2011, 08:40 PM
The Stone Roses dont sound bad live IMO. Browns singing sometimes isnt the best live but the rest of them sound great. I taped one of their concerts of Radio 1 years back and I am the Resurrection was immense, cant mind where the concert was, possibly Blackpool.

14-10-2011, 08:46 PM
tickets will be hard to get like. I bet there are a lot of people who buy them to sell on and make a massive profit.

14-10-2011, 08:53 PM
Someone tweeted that it'll be Heaton Park, Madchester, in June 2012

14-10-2011, 10:52 PM
Almost inevitable given that the wedge impersonators The Complete Stone Roses have been cleaning up for years.

MountcastleHibs
14-10-2011, 11:58 PM
This is absolutely excellent news. Something that didn't seem likely until earlier this year when John Squire and Ian Brown settled differences. Being so young, I've never had the chance to experience them live, but I love them as a band. Seeing them live, which will be very hard, would be amazing.I follow Gordon Smart on Twitter, and he's adamant this is happening. Details concert promoters and the man that's made this all possible. He can't believe folk are still doubting. It looks like based on his comments, its happening.

15-10-2011, 12:20 AM
Does anyone think they will make a few new songs?

15-10-2011, 06:12 AM
Loads of media sources now predicting a press conference in London on Tuesday to announce a 2012 tour.

Godsahibby
15-10-2011, 08:34 AM
Im a massve Stone Roses fan but I certainly won't be going, they will be terrible live. I've seen Ian Brown a few times and sems to get worse and worse each time.

You want a real Stone Roses experience, put on a CD or go see the Complete Stone Roses.

15-10-2011, 09:10 AM
I'd do anything to see them live, love the Stone Roses and a big fan of Ian Brown's solo stuff too.

No they won't be great live, but who cares... it's being there that counts!

I may be going to see the Complete Stone Roses in Glasgow in December as well.

15-10-2011, 10:40 AM
its 2 gigs in Manchester.details released on Tuesday

15-10-2011, 11:00 AM
Ian Brown has done good albums of his own. Don't think reforming The Stone Roses is a step forward though. No doubt his bank manager would disagree!

16-10-2011, 01:53 PM
Seen them in the Big Top at Glasgow Green in 1990. Fantastic atmosphere and an unforgettable experience ! :top marks

16-10-2011, 03:27 PM
Seen them in the Big Top at Glasgow Green in 1990. Fantastic atmosphere and an unforgettable experience ! :top marks

Yes coincided with the hands of hibs rally at ER
Wore my tshirt through to the green didn't get any bother.
Probably the best gig I've seen live and donno which live experience others are judging them against but thought they were excellent only matched or slighlty bettered by the other Stones or James IMO

MountcastleHibs
17-10-2011, 11:28 AM
Ian Brown pretty much confirms it's happening.

http://www.nme.com/news/the-stone-roses/59839

allmodcons
17-10-2011, 03:38 PM
I wouldn't want to piss on anyone's parade here, but have to say that this is a bad move by The Stone Roses.

I was pretty pissed off way back in 1982 when Paul Weller disbanded The Jam but, that said, would not want them to reform now.

I doubt any band would be as good second time round and, being the cynical type, expect they're simply doing it for the cash.

MountcastleHibs
18-10-2011, 02:21 PM
Two gigs in Manchester, a world tour and some new songs....

18-10-2011, 04:38 PM
29th and 30th of june

18-10-2011, 09:57 PM
I wouldn't want to piss on anyone's parade here, but have to say that this is a bad move by The Stone Roses. I was pretty pissed off way back in 1982 when Paul Weller disbanded The Jam but, that said, would not want them to reform now.I doubt any band would be as good second time round and, being the cynical type, expect they're simply doing it for the cash.Agree. Disbanded bands should never get back together.

19-10-2011, 08:11 AM
expect they're simply doing it for the cash.

Which is what they did it for the first time around.

Agree. Disbanded bands should never get back together.

Why not?

They got royally ripped off first time around, like many bands do.

This era sees live performance as practically the only way for bands to make any money as fans now rip them off rather than the record labels or management so they are perfactly entitled to do exactly as they please.

Good luck to them. I'm never going to be their biggest fan but recognise they were a great, great band who ploughed their own furrow, had a fantastaic vibe and feel for music and also meant something tangible to their fans. Since them and the Happy Mondays' all the UK has produced band wise is the crappy nostalgia of Brit-Pop and then nothing............other than identikit sappy indie bands sans balls and personality.

allmodcons
19-10-2011, 09:43 AM
[QUOTE=Kato;2950862]Which is what they did it for the first time around.

Difference is they'll not be as good as they were before (trust me it's an age thing).

I hate to say it, but think they'll disappiont a lot of people second time round and quite possibly might even ruin their reputation
as 'great, great band' !

19-10-2011, 10:18 AM
Difference is they'll not be as good as they were before (trust me it's an age thing).

Well that's a subjective thing. When I saw them the band were pretty good but IB was rubbish so I came away thinking on one hand they were a studio band but on the other hand was convinced they were great because the atmosphere was so good.

Whether they'll be as bad or as good this time around doesn't really matter, people who never saw them will get the chance and they'll get a chance to actually make some money from their art. Their age is immaterial, most bands do their best stuff as youngsters - no big deal there.

I hate to say it, but think they'll disappiont a lot of people second time round and quite possibly might even ruin their reputation
as 'great, great band' !

I think their rep is safe as it is mainly built on their records. Even back then they were hit and miss live - which is sometimes a really good thing as it at least shows you are getting something real rather than some polished professional outfit fluffing out their latest "product" - it was "the event" of them just being onstage that got the audience going. Most people at those 80's/90's were too nutted to have an opinion on the music and just went with it - quite right too.

If IB is as off-key as ha can be I'm sure there will be people who even like that.

19-10-2011, 11:23 AM
I'd like to go and see them, but I'm worried their audience might be similair to Oasis. Is there likely to be loads of tanked up bams at their gigs?

I'm too old for a hassle fillled night.

19-10-2011, 11:44 AM
Taken from https://www.facebook.com/seetickets Stone Roses... ticket limit has just been confirmed! 4 tickets per person for the whole tour!
Therefore this means that its 4 tickets per person/credit card/address. Also you can only have 4 for the whole tour so not 4 for each date. :thumbsup: That should stop the tout's hopefully :agree:

19-10-2011, 11:47 AM
I'd like to go and see them, but I'm worried their audience might be similair to Oasis. Is there likely to be loads of tanked up bams at their gigs?

As I recall from the Glasgow green gig a few weegie numpties chucking beer/whatever and trying to gob on Ian Brown and he had a go wtf to edjits do that????!

19-10-2011, 11:48 AM
Taken from https://www.facebook.com/seetickets Stone Roses... ticket limit has just been confirmed! 4 tickets per person for the whole tour!
Therefore this means that its 4 tickets per person/credit card/address. Also you can only have 4 for the whole tour so not 4 for each date. :thumbsup: That should stop the tout's hopefully :agree:

£55 not including C/C and booking fees. I want to go but thats shocking prices.

19-10-2011, 11:49 AM
I'm worried their audience might be similair to Oasis.

What a group sallow skinned, cider enhanced, 3%-pure-cocaine snorting, flap-up-the-back trouble makers who walk around with legs splayed like a pregnant ostrich?

Surely there can only be one group of people like this.

19-10-2011, 12:02 PM
£55 not including C/C and booking fees. I want to go but thats shocking prices.

Would you pay that to watch Hibs in there last ever game :greengrin

19-10-2011, 12:14 PM
Would you pay that to watch Hibs in there last ever game :greengrin

Haha different situations. They sound pretty poor live and for £55 i'd be wanting VIP ffs. You've got to admit that is steep Ron. :grr:

The daft thing is i still want to go.:not worth

19-10-2011, 12:24 PM
My mates got us a hotel booked in Manchester for the Friday and Saturday night already. Now just got to get the tickets!

19-10-2011, 12:39 PM
As I recall from the Glasgow green gig a few weegie numpties chucking beer/whatever and trying to gob on Ian Brown and he had a go wtf to edjits do that????!

Thought that might be the situation. I'm not taking the moral high ground, gigs were pretty riotous when I was 20, just too old for it now.

19-10-2011, 12:40 PM
What a group sallow skinned, cider enhanced, 3%-pure-cocaine snorting, flap-up-the-back trouble makers who walk around with legs splayed like a pregnant ostrich?

The judge accepted my explanation, and I'd like to move on. :greengrin

19-10-2011, 05:44 PM

What a ****ing snob.

19-10-2011, 05:58 PM
Haha different situations. They sound pretty poor live and for £55 i'd be wanting VIP ffs. You've got to admit that is steep Ron. :grr:

The daft thing is i still want to go.:not worth

It's not really, especially when the likes of Tom Waits charge £75 and sell out. The gig starts at 2pm, so there are likely to be 4-5 bands on; depending on who they are, that's decent value.

19-10-2011, 11:18 PM

:agree: Same here.

20-10-2011, 05:59 AM
What a ****ing snob.

Awww c'mon, Missus. If thats snobbery at least its accurate snobbery.

20-10-2011, 07:35 AM
Said it before and I'll say it again, stop yer moaning about ticket prices! 55 quid is not too bad in the circumstances. I have to pay more than that for basically every 'international' act that comes to NZ! $150 (75-80 quid) for AC/DC and Metallica last year for starters.

As for the crowd, I was just saying earlier today that it will be full of complete and utter d1ckheads, which is an unfortunate by-product of this type of gig in the UK.

20-10-2011, 07:44 AM
Said it before and I'll say it again, stop yer moaning about ticket prices! 55 quid is not too bad in the circumstances. I have to pay more than that for basically every 'international' act that comes to NZ! $150 (75-80 quid) for AC/DC and Metallica last year for starters.

As for the crowd, I was just saying earlier today that it will be full of complete and utter d1ckheads, which is an unfortunate by-product of this type of gig in the UK.

Difference being though ACDC & Metallica are super groups and ****ing rock :rockin: :rockin::rockin:

20-10-2011, 08:22 AM
Difference being though ACDC & Metallica are super groups and ****ing rock :rockin: :rockin::rockin:

True :greengrin

21-10-2011, 12:12 AM

I would not watch any of those bands for 50p.

21-10-2011, 03:19 AM
What a ****ing snob.

Ignore him.

He probably wasn't one of the lager enhanced, good coke sniffing, trouble making Burberry shirt wearing crowd in the mid-nineties.

You were either mad for it or you were nobody!:greengrin

21-10-2011, 03:30 AM
Listening to the second coming tonight.

What a fantastic yet underrated album. Not one weak song.

21-10-2011, 07:08 AM
I would not watch any of those bands for 50p.

You clearly no nothing in the slightest not just about music but anything fullstop...want a lesson on how to have a crowd eating out of your hand, then watch pretty much any of their stadium tours. The sets at monsters if rock are mindblowing.

That sounded like a snotty reply but wasn't meant that way!

21-10-2011, 07:10 AM
Listening to the second coming tonight.

What a fantastic yet underrated album. Not one weak song.

Time to spend the morning trying to get tickets for manchester

21-10-2011, 08:41 AM
Just once I'd like a ticket retailer's website to be able to cope with the demand for a gig I want to go to. All the way to submitting the order before TicketMaster **** it up.

21-10-2011, 08:42 AM
Just once I'd like a ticket retailer's website to be able to cope with the demand for a gig I want to go to....

Exactly my thoughts just now :agree:

21-10-2011, 08:48 AM
Go to gigs and tours.com, no bother at all.

21-10-2011, 08:51 AM
Saturday sold out

21-10-2011, 08:54 AM
Go to gigs and tours.com, no bother at all.

Been up and down constantly for me. Was reporting Saturday sold out 2 mins ago but now selling Saturday and reporting Friday sold out.

Edit: Now selling both again.

21-10-2011, 09:04 AM
Got 4 for the Friday. Done and done.:aok:

21-10-2011, 09:11 AM
1st July now announced and selling....

21-10-2011, 09:33 AM
Got 4 for the Friday. Done and done.:aok:

Me too :smug::smug::smug::smug: :flying:

21-10-2011, 09:50 AM
No luck here. Every time I got to the payment submit bit on each site, it went down. Hey ho, I'm sure I'll get the reunion bluray for 2012 Xmas!

Edit: Yay, tickets for the Sunday purchased.

21-10-2011, 09:56 AM
Got 4 for Friday :greengrin

Should I stick 'em on Hib-bay, or blackmail my kids for the next six months????

21-10-2011, 09:59 AM
also goin on the friday. got them on the phone, couldnt get thruogh on any of the websites

MountcastleHibs
21-10-2011, 09:59 AM
Got 2 for the Saturday on see tickets at 9.45, hotel booked now too. Roll on June.

21-10-2011, 10:12 AM
4 bought for the Saturday, BOOM!

21-10-2011, 10:20 AM
4 bought for the Saturday, BOOM!

Posted the same thing on Facebook I see!

21-10-2011, 10:37 AM
That's the three days 220,000 tickets, all sold out in 68 minutes.

'Mon the Roses!:thumbsup:

21-10-2011, 11:02 AM
That's the three days 220,000 tickets, all sold out in 68 minutes.

'Mon the Roses!:thumbsup:

That was a cert to happen though. Heard they are playing TITP aswell

21-10-2011, 11:30 AM
You clearly no nothing in the slightest not just about music but anything fullstop...want a lesson on how to have a crowd eating out of your hand, then watch pretty much any of their stadium tours. The sets at monsters if rock are mindblowing.

That sounded like a snotty reply but wasn't meant that way!

What I do know is Metalica fans are a wierd bunch of ugly looking people with crazy greasy hair. Their music is just a stupid noise to me hence the reason I would not watch them for 50p.

21-10-2011, 11:55 AM
What I do know is Metalica fans are a wierd bunch of ugly looking people with crazy greasy hair. Their music is just a stupid noise to me hence the reason I would not watch them for 50p.

And you like Stone Roses because the fans are a good looking bunch of guys with cool hair? I'm not a fan of Metalica at all, but how the fans look hasn't really influenced that, I don't see what point you were making there.

As for it just being a stupid noise....that I'd agree with.:greengrin

21-10-2011, 11:57 AM

I'm more suited to a classic mod look myself but each to their own :thumbsup:

21-10-2011, 12:28 PM
Almost inevitable given that the wedge impersonators The Complete Stone Roses have been cleaning up for years.

Yeap, they will now be their own tribute band, much like the Sex Pistols have done. A profitable nostalgia trip for middle aged men. :devil:

Hal Jordan
21-10-2011, 12:40 PM

Their drummer was a Jambo from Baberton Mains who used to play in my old band.
One thing you can say about them, their singer was a damn sight better live than Ian Brown.

mouvran
21-10-2011, 12:58 PM
Got 2 for the Saturday on see tickets at 9.45, hotel booked now too. Roll on June.

bought tickets for the sunday, what hotel did you book and how much for?

21-10-2011, 01:07 PM
Had an interview in Dundee this morning so missed out on the chance of tickets. Seems like loads of folk eventually got them. Ah well, I'll just need to wait on the tour. At least I saw them in their prime 21 years ago!

21-10-2011, 01:43 PM

I'm more suited to a classic mod look myself but each to their own :thumbsup:

At least we both have something in common.

21-10-2011, 01:45 PM
bought tickets for the sunday, what hotel did you book and how much for?

We got our hotel booked through the week, £85 @ Holiday Inn in Manchester City Centre for the Friday night. £42.50 each isn't bad going at all!

21-10-2011, 01:57 PM
Dozens for sale on get me in and guess what...not one of them under £100.

Absolutely disgusting.

21-10-2011, 02:11 PM

Absolutely disgusting.

I got 4 tickets, knowing that I'd have 2 spare but that I'd have mates who wanted them but hadn't been able to get through.

Have to say though, when I saw that I could have made £250 for the 2 spare I was really tempted. So....Mo, you better appreciate getting my spares!

MountcastleHibs
21-10-2011, 02:33 PM
bought tickets for the sunday, what hotel did you book and how much for? The Gardens hotel in Picadilly, so bang in the centre, for £104. Just searched cheap hotels Manchester city centre on Google and it returned it. Looking at 52 quid a piece so not bad at all.

21-10-2011, 03:32 PM
Got a travelodge for 25 quid. Its a new one that aint even openened yet.

Hibby_Paul
21-10-2011, 07:12 PM
Got tickets for Friday as well.

Cant wait....a real stres getting due to websites crashing but eventually got lucky via See Tickets.

21-10-2011, 11:12 PM

What I do know is that I am not (very) ugly, and do not have crazy greasy hair! And, while I am not a fan of ALL their songs, they have many good ones. Enter Sandman? Superior to any Stone Roses dirge!

:troll: :greengrin

steve75
22-10-2011, 12:23 AM
Got a travelodge for 25 quid. Its a new one that aint even openened yet.

which one's that? I stayed at Manchester Birch when I went down to Heaton Park for Oasis before, but that's sold out, looking like it might be a struggle to get accommodation close!

leemel
22-10-2011, 03:51 AM
Got the mercure norton grange and spa very good price.4 miles from park not to bad.

23-10-2011, 02:35 AM

Absolutely disgusting.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Stone-Roses-Sunday-1st-July-2012-/320779410660?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item4aaff15ce4

Seen this?? Someone is clearly at the lash :confused:

23-10-2011, 02:40 AM
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Stone-Roses-Sunday-1st-July-2012-/320779410660?pt=UK_Tickets_Tickets_LE&hash=item4aaff15ce4

Seen this?? Someone is clearly at the lash :confused:

I'd want a live set in my living room for that.

I'd even go £11k for an instrumental set.

23-10-2011, 06:33 PM
You were either mad for it or you were nobody!:greengrin

Now that's what I call snobbery. Daylight snobbery in fact. :wink:

25-10-2011, 04:46 PM
Stone Roses Rumoured World Tour:

Thu 5 July - Echo Arena, Liverpool
Sat 7 July - O2 Arena, London
Sun 8 July - O2 Arena, London
Wed 11 July - SECC, Glasgow
Fri 13 July - Slane Castle, Ireland
Sat 14 July - Botanic Gardens, Belfast
Mon 16 July - iTunes Festival, London

Fri 20 July - Espacio Movistar, Barcelona, Spain
Sat 21 July - Palacio de Deportes, Madrid, Spain
Mon 23 July - Palais Omnisports de Paris-Bercy, Paris, France
Wed 25 July - Futurshow Station, Bologna, Italy
Thur 26 July - Datch Forum, Milan, Italy
Sat 28 July - O2 World, Berlin, Germany
Sun 29 July - Color Line Arena, Hamburg, Germany
Tue 2 Aug - Globe Arena, Stockholm, Sweden
Wed 3 Aug - Spektrum, Oslo, Norway

25-10-2011, 05:16 PM

The Friday night, between London and Glasgow, at TITP then? Makes sense.

25-10-2011, 06:51 PM
The Friday night, between London and Glasgow, at TITP then? Makes sense.The nights between London and Glasgow are Monday and Tuesday.

25-10-2011, 06:56 PM
The nights between London and Glasgow are Monday and Tuesday.

Good point....:rolleyes:

25-10-2011, 07:07 PM
Tried to get tickets but didnt manage to get any....i did manage to book 4 hotel rooms....3 in the same place...dearest roo, 66 quid at salford quay.

Was going with friends but not anymore...:(

O and gutted

26-10-2011, 07:58 AM

Doesn't really cover that much of the world, likes :rolleyes:

The Mook
26-10-2011, 08:53 AM
Doesn't really cover that much of the world, likes :rolleyes:

I concur!! Ill be in Oz next year and was hoping the 'world tour' would take them a bit further afield than Europe :confused:

26-10-2011, 12:25 PM
Tried to get tickets but didnt manage to get any....i did manage to book 4 hotel rooms....3 in the same place...dearest roo, 66 quid at salford quay.

Was going with friends but not anymore...:(

O and gutted

Do you fancy selling me the 3 rooms that you've got in the one hotel?
Hibby rates :-)

26-10-2011, 12:47 PM
Do you fancy selling me the 3 rooms that you've got in the one hotel?
Hibby rates :-)

1two you have a PM mate