View Full Version : Match Updates Spain 3 Scotland 1, Lithuania 1 Czech Republic 4 - FT

11-10-2011, 05:01 PM
Germany v Belgium just kicked off on ESPN, should be a good game as Belgium need to get something from it to stay ahead of Turkey.

Will be up against it as Germany are now a close 2nd to Spain in international football IMO.

11-10-2011, 05:33 PM
Stunning goal scored by Germany to make it 2-0 !

11-10-2011, 05:33 PM
Germany 2-0 Belgium

A screamer from Ozil and a lovely finish from Shaule.

11-10-2011, 05:34 PM
Stunning goal scored by Germany to make it 2-0 !

Counter attacking football at its best.

The first was a cracking strike aswell.

11-10-2011, 05:40 PM
That'll be Turkey in the playoffs then...
Is Hazard playing for the belgians? Hes a bit special...

11-10-2011, 05:44 PM

Not really had much of a look in from what i have seen, only been watching for about 10 mins or so though.

I think Germany are going to be really stiff competition in the Euro's.

11-10-2011, 05:45 PM

Turkey still 0-0 in their game if it finishes like that they will be on the same points as Belgium and would go through on the head to head. However, if Turkey lose Belgium will go to the play-offs.

11-10-2011, 05:50 PM
Republic of Ireland v Armenia just started on SS1, ROI need a draw to reach the play-offs but if Armenia win they will go through.

All on the proviso that Russia do not lose to Andorra.

Russia just gone 1 up in the 5th minute.

11-10-2011, 06:03 PM
Spain team tonight:

. - Valdes - .
- Ramos - Pique - Puyol - Alba -
. - Busquets - .
. - Xavi - - Pedro -
. - Silva - - Cazorla -
- Villa -

11-10-2011, 06:05 PM
Good strike from Gomez. 3-0 Germany.

11-10-2011, 06:06 PM
Spain team tonight:

. - Valdes - .
- Ramos - Pique - Puyol - Alba -
. - Busquets - .
. - Xavi - - Pedro -
. - Silva - - Cazorla -
- Villa -

Yikes that is a very strong team, 7 x Barca players and the rest are pretty tasty as well.

C'mon ye Liths. :thumbsup:

11-10-2011, 06:24 PM
10,000 Scots over there but only 3,000 tickets. You can bet that there will be a few Spaniards sitting in the pub right now counting a big wad of notes. :wink:

C'mon Scotland.

11-10-2011, 06:28 PM
just about to pop the first tin:cheers: and hope for the greatest result in years of Scotland supporting....or a wee favour from Hearts B team :greengrin

I wish someone would stick a big cork in Chico's gob though :rolleyes:

11-10-2011, 06:31 PM
just about to pop the first tin:cheers: and hope for the greatest result in years of Scotland supporting....or a wee favour from Hearts B team :greengrin

I wish someone would stick a big cork in Chico's gob though :rolleyes:

You listening to the game on the radio rather than watching it on BBC1?

coco22
11-10-2011, 06:32 PM
republic ire one nil up. think the defender is a 'rooney', best og ive seen in a while!

Ye canny beat the luck of the Irish.

Armenia goalie has been wrongly sent off earlier for hand ball outside the box when it hit his chest.

Now they have just gone 1 up with a crazy own goal defender hits it into the net when it was easier to clear it.

Lucky bassas

You listening to the game on the radio rather than watching it on BBC1?

:agree:...just about to switch and get some Pat Nevin sense.....

11-10-2011, 06:34 PM
:agree:...just about to switch and get some Pat Nevin sense.....

11-10-2011, 06:35 PM
Bad news for Scotland. Torres not playing.

11-10-2011, 06:40 PM
How much does Potter look like a dirty tramp?!

Disgrace to our Country :agree:

11-10-2011, 06:41 PM
Hope Spain play as poorly as that band :rolleyes:

11-10-2011, 06:42 PM
Come On Scotland :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Good luck Scotland!! :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Not a single Spanish player signing...Presume that a Spain / Catalan thing :confused:

11-10-2011, 06:43 PM
James Forrest better not get on tonight.

11-10-2011, 06:44 PM
Come on Scotland! :saltireflag

11-10-2011, 06:46 PM
http://wallpapersnova.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Lithuania-Flag-wallpapers-1920x1200.jpg

11-10-2011, 06:47 PM
over 2 mins to get first touch

11-10-2011, 06:50 PM
Czech Republic scored

Czechs 1 up with a penalty :rolleyes:

and 1 -0 Spain ach well

bollocks....Lits

scott7_0(Prague)
11-10-2011, 06:51 PM
Czechs 1 up already, penalty in the 1st min

1-0 Spain

double bollocks:rolleyes:

11-10-2011, 06:52 PM
That didn't last long. We'll need a miracle with the Lith's 1-0 down as well.

11-10-2011, 06:52 PM
3 mins in & game over...

1-0 Czechs

1-0 Spain

Goodnight Potter & Scotland...

11-10-2011, 06:53 PM
How bad is Kevin Gallacher's accent :faf:

11-10-2011, 06:54 PM
Hells teeth...when their CH is doing tricks in our 18 yard box its going to be hard

good chance.....

That will be that then. Thank you and goodnight.

Naismith almost in there.....

oh thats was nice to see the other end of the pitch :greengrin

11-10-2011, 06:55 PM
Another chance missed from the wee cheatin' Hun..

Wonder if Potter had manned up & got Fletch in would Scotland be through by now?

11-10-2011, 06:56 PM
They are actually looking like a decent team at the moment.....hope lives on :-()

11-10-2011, 06:57 PM
Another chance missed from the wee cheatin' Hun..

Wonder if Potter had manned up & got Fletch in would Scotland be through by now?

Possibly, damage was done with that 4-6-0 though, sheer lunacy.

11-10-2011, 06:59 PM
Caldwell clattering someone...shurely schome mistake

11-10-2011, 07:03 PM
Possibly, damage was done with that 4-6-0 though, sheer lunacy.

Yes. Potter should serve a life ban from football for that.

11-10-2011, 07:03 PM
I'm knackered watching this......

Great to see a team so talented working so hard....

11-10-2011, 07:04 PM
All over now 2-0 Czechs :rolleyes:

Scotland looking really poor now hardly getting a kick

scott7_0(Prague)
2 -0 to the Czechs

11-10-2011, 07:05 PM
That's us cooked then :-(((

no point watching this any longer, goodnight Irene.

We are out

2-0 Czechs..

Vlad has probably paid the Liths to lie down :aok:

11-10-2011, 07:06 PM
Yes. Potter should serve a life ban from football for that.

And for looking like a tramp :agree:

11-10-2011, 07:07 PM
2-0 Czechs..

:greengrin same thing crossed my mind.....one in the eye for SFA......

A Scotland win is now the only thing which will take us through.........anyone have the in game betting odds :-))

pretty good to watch though....very rarely do they shell it down the park.....all 10 / 15 yard passes....pass and move all the time...why can't we do that ?....

On one hand, I do like Spains pass-to-feet, constant moving into space and retaining possession style. But then I also like Scotlands kick it as hard as you can up to Craig Makail-Smith as soon as you get it style.

But which is better?

One way to find out.......FIIIIIIIIIIGHT!

11-10-2011, 07:09 PM
:greengrin same thing crossed my mind.....one in the eye for SFA......
Dam monkeys :faf:

A Scotland win is now the only thing which will take us through.........anyone have the in game betting odds :-))

85,000/1 :agree:

11-10-2011, 07:09 PM
2-0 Czechs..

:-)))

11-10-2011, 07:10 PM
Scotland are going to score tonight I can feel it in my wAter....

11-10-2011, 07:10 PM

Scotland 50/1 to win on BET365

HibeeMG
11-10-2011, 07:11 PM
Ach well. We didnae want to go through. It's the international diddy cup! :wink:

11-10-2011, 07:12 PM
Hopefully someone will have the balls in the SFA to sever the Levein reign. Scotland have the makings of a good squad coming through but I think this no mark will take us nowhere IMO.

Thanks for your efforts Mr Levein but your time is up.

We are actually looking pretty good going forward on the odd time we have the ball....could have been a pen there if defender had used feet

And for looking like a tramp :agree:

That is only to expected given his Yam background.

had Potter 'believed' sufficiently in his players, we might have gotten 6, 4 or even two points from a very average and beatable Czech side in what was always going to be the key encounter in that group. As it is, he's sold us down the river with his fear-packed mediocrity approach to the game and his cowardice has gotten exactly the rewards it deserves.

whos doing the commentary? hes putting me to sleep.

hopefully potter grows a pair and gets fletcher back in the team instead of that wee rat naismith.

was thinking the same about romanov

11-10-2011, 07:13 PM
MacGregor to Caldwell, Then HOOOOOOOOOOOOOF x25

11-10-2011, 07:13 PM
Dam monkeys :faf:

85,000/1 :agree:

100/1 on Betfair, 70/1 for a 1-2 result.

11-10-2011, 07:14 PM
Scotland 50/1 to win on BET365

Stick a tenner on for me...double with scotland to finish with ten men....

11-10-2011, 07:14 PM
Got £300 on Czech and Spain winning - just short of evens as of two days ago.

Practically guaranteed to double your money,

Rougier45
11-10-2011, 07:17 PM
Is an awful commentator and sound exactly like one of the hibs tv guys ? Kevin g adds no insights what so ever -Craig Gordon is pish too -only sense is from pat

11-10-2011, 07:18 PM
Got £300 on Czech and Spain winning - just short of evens as of two days ago.

Practically guaranteed to double your money,

Best to cite these bets before the off....

....some may question the validity otherwise!

11-10-2011, 07:19 PM
Fletcher great chance just over..,

11-10-2011, 07:19 PM
Stick a tenner on for me...double with scotland to finish with ten men....

Wouldn't even back them with your money. :wink:

This will finish 3-0 for Spain, which is 10/3, got a score on that.

11-10-2011, 07:20 PM
Fletcher great chance just over..,

:agree: good chance...

11-10-2011, 07:21 PM
Get Naismith off ..........

11-10-2011, 07:21 PM
Interestingly why do spain not play 4-6-0...they rarely cross and their forward hardly sees the ball....

11-10-2011, 07:22 PM
Scotland getting a bit more into it now ........!!

11-10-2011, 07:23 PM
Great stuff from Morrison

11-10-2011, 07:24 PM
Interestingly why do spain not play 4-6-0...they rarely cross and their forward hardly sees the ball....

Apart from at their goal :wink:

11-10-2011, 07:24 PM

:-)))

Almost 2-0 there

11-10-2011, 07:26 PM
Great save
McGregor

11-10-2011, 07:26 PM
Great save from the beast..

11-10-2011, 07:27 PM
CMS showing great pace

11-10-2011, 07:29 PM
2-0 we are playing for pride now ....

11-10-2011, 07:29 PM
2-0 Spain. :boo hoo:

11-10-2011, 07:30 PM
HT

11-10-2011, 07:31 PM
shame as we had a couple of late chances....

Both matches 2-0.......odds must be ridiculous now

11-10-2011, 07:31 PM
Best to cite these bets before the off....

....some may question the validity otherwise!

Been at work today!

Got my work bonus for September, thought it was a good thing to punt it on.

Either way, eaaasy money, was inevitable.

11-10-2011, 07:32 PM
Never mind, we can throw a couple more strikers on in the second half and go for broke as there is nothing to lose.................... or maybe not since most of them are sitting on their ***** at home. :rolleyes:

scott7_0(Prague)
11-10-2011, 07:33 PM
Czechs 3 up

11-10-2011, 07:35 PM
F*** Off Harry Potter

hibsfan7
11-10-2011, 07:37 PM
:taxi for levein

11-10-2011, 07:37 PM
Plukey Gordon slavering tom kite.

11-10-2011, 07:38 PM
F*** Off Harry Potter

Unfortunately he won't as he will get a pat on the back for almost pulling it off rather than the inept management that left us in this position going into the last game

11-10-2011, 07:39 PM
Unfortunately he won't as he will get a pat on the back for almost pulling it off rather than the inept management that left us in this position going into the last game

Time to get him out and bring Walter Smith back in IMO

11-10-2011, 07:41 PM
The Republic of Ireland match looks to have been some game - 7 bookings and 2 red cards.

11-10-2011, 07:43 PM
Think it may be the turn of Strapon to get the job. :rolleyes:

11-10-2011, 07:43 PM
how the heck did lithuania not get a penalty when the czech boy flattened him in the box

11-10-2011, 07:44 PM
Think it may be the turn of Strapon to get the job. :rolleyes:

That would do, at least he wouldn't try to play with no one up front.

11-10-2011, 07:44 PM
how the heck did lithuania not get a penalty when the czech boy flattened him in the box

Vlad bought he referee as well.....just to make sure :-))

11-10-2011, 07:45 PM
France losing at home to Bosnia 0-1 which would put Bosnia above them and France into the play-offs.

On ESPN if you have had enough of the Scotland game, although just on half time.

nortonhibby
11-10-2011, 07:47 PM

Who cares Levein has to go, Smith or Strap on, or even Souness anyone but Levein.:confused:

nortonhibby
11-10-2011, 07:48 PM
France losing at home to Bosnia 0-1 which would put Bosnia above them and France into the play-offs.

On ESPN if you have had enough of the Scotland game, although just on half time.

Cheers for that info i must tune in to the game. it sounds exciting.:taxi for Leveine

11-10-2011, 07:55 PM
3-0

11-10-2011, 07:56 PM

Think that even if France lose they may go through automatically as best 2nd place instead of Portugal who are losing 2-0 to Denmark with about 10 mins to go.

Spain just scored a 3rd absolute quality, at least we are being stuffed by the best team in the world.

Dearie me

Cricket score on the cards

11-10-2011, 07:57 PM
I agree it's time for Potter to go (it was time after 4-6-0), but I don't see the point if we're just going to bring in the likes of Strachan!

Don't see how swapping a clueless tramp for a clueless welt is the way forward.

11-10-2011, 07:58 PM
I agree it's time for Potter to go (it was time after 4-6-0), but I don't see the point if we're just going to bring in the likes of Strachan!

Don't see how swapping a clueless tramp for a clueless welt is the way forward.

Walter Smith wont take it so who do you go for?

11-10-2011, 08:01 PM
Bannen shot on target

11-10-2011, 08:01 PM
That Mackail-Smith is a total huddy like..

11-10-2011, 08:02 PM
On this showing Spain are as far ahead internationally as Barcelona are in a Euro context.....they will win Euro Champs no problem....

11-10-2011, 08:02 PM
Walter Smith wont take it so who do you go for?

Do what Ireland did and go for an experienced international manager like Trappatoni.

Now i Know that it didn't work with Vogts but just because one foreign manager failed doesnt mean they all would.

What is someone like Hittzfield (sp?) up to these days? Or Advocaat?

Steve Mclaren :devil: (only jokin by the way)

11-10-2011, 08:04 PM
That Mackail-Smith is a total huddy like..

To be fair to him he is playing at a level way above his abilities, Spain are imense.

It would be like Brighton v Barcelona, bit of a no contest.

11-10-2011, 08:05 PM
James Forrest On

3-0 Down and potter brings him on.

11-10-2011, 08:06 PM
**** me Scotland penalty .....

Giodwillie scores :-))

Penalty..goal! Come back is on!

The comeback is on 3-1 after a penalty by Goodwillie. :thumbsup:

11-10-2011, 08:07 PM
The come back begins

11-10-2011, 08:08 PM
Looks like Spain have resorted To
a 4-6-0

11-10-2011, 08:08 PM
We have a decent squad the now. Mikael-smith and bannan are good players, can't deny that. Shame that the manager was tactically inept in most of the games.

11-10-2011, 08:10 PM
**** Berra heder cleared off line

11-10-2011, 08:11 PM
Anyone for two more Scots goals followed by an injury time winner by Spain?

11-10-2011, 08:13 PM
Liths 1 Czechs 3 and Czechs down to 10 men.

They couldn't could they. :greengrin

11-10-2011, 08:14 PM
David greattodger should have squared that for 3-2....decision making poor

11-10-2011, 08:17 PM
Villa is a great player but a cheat. There was no way he was injured in that tackle.

11-10-2011, 08:17 PM
CMS clear through and should have scored

11-10-2011, 08:19 PM
Craig Thomson is refereeing the France v. Bosnia match and is getting ripped to shreds by the French commentators. Currently 1-0 Bosnia.

11-10-2011, 08:21 PM
What a difference with 2 up top..

Why is forrest even in the Scotland squad?

11-10-2011, 08:22 PM
What a difference with 2 up top..

Why is forrest even in the Scotland squad?

Because he plays for Celtic.

11-10-2011, 08:22 PM
We have a decent squad the now. Mikael-smith and bannan are good players, can't deny that. Shame that the manager was tactically inept in most of the games.

We still lack any quality in defence, average and poor players only. Midfield and up front we have some good players that could, if managed better, really trouble most countries.

11-10-2011, 08:23 PM
Credit to David WonderfulBoaby for that coolly taken penalty.

Should have squared the ball soon after to Mackail-Smith though......I'm sure we'll agree that Goodwillie had a rush of blood to the head there :agree:

11-10-2011, 08:24 PM
Levein, please go.

That is all.

11-10-2011, 08:25 PM

Should have squared the ball soon after to Mackail-Smith though......I'm sure we'll agree that Goodwillie had a rush of blood to the head there :agree:

Quality :faf:

11-10-2011, 08:26 PM
We still lack any quality in defence, average and poor players only. Midfield and up front we have some good players that could, if managed better, really trouble most countries.

Agreed, being a hibby I always forget what a half decent defence is.

11-10-2011, 08:26 PM

Rush of blood ..........to which head?

11-10-2011, 08:31 PM
Goodbye Potter ................

11-10-2011, 08:32 PM
wow, the czechs are certainly racking up all those penalties huh

11-10-2011, 08:33 PM
Well done to the great Scottish support in Spain tonight :-))

11-10-2011, 08:33 PM

:pray:

11-10-2011, 08:34 PM
FT

We played better in the 2nd half.

hibbytam
11-10-2011, 08:35 PM

Not going to happen.

11-10-2011, 08:35 PM

France make it 1-1 with a Nasri penalty, 12 mins to go.

11-10-2011, 08:40 PM
That French shirt is braw

11-10-2011, 08:40 PM
Not going to happen.

Potter is going nowhere. There's a love-in just now from the journos. On the one hand he's got an established team finally and I think they'll keep him for 2014.

On the other though, I find it hard to blame a dodgy ref at Hampden when he sent the Scotland team into a winnable match in Prague with no striker. For me, that's unforgivable. Should have taken points in Prague, then we wouldn't have been in the ridiculous situation of hoping for a win against Spain and a team as pitiful as Lithuania beating the Czech Republic, themselves probably at their weakest they have been for 15-20 years.

The other fact is that the managerial merry go round in the cabal that is Scottish football would mean that his eventual successor isn't likely to be anyone particularly inspiring.

We are, as a country, so limited in our ambition, our expectations and by those who run things.

11-10-2011, 08:42 PM
Be positive. We didn't have to bear another glorious defeat. The campaign was a massive failure and only Potter can be blamed. He will hopefully be out of a job by teatime tomorrow. If the blazers keep him on it will be undisputable evidence that they are happy with a tactless nonentity in charge of the national team.

11-10-2011, 08:44 PM
That French shirt is braw

:agree: Did you know that "braw" is the Breton word for..... "braw". :greengrin

11-10-2011, 08:52 PM
I'd be gobsmacked if they emptied Potter....he'll be around to see us through the World Cup qualifers....we have 2 world class goalies, decent midfielders, quite a few strikers (when he decides to choose them - a forward line of O'Connor and Fletch would have caused them some problems)...we need a solid defence...Berra and Caldwell - simply not good enough at International level.

12-10-2011, 08:38 AM
I'd be gobsmacked if they emptied Potter....he'll be around to see us through the World Cup qualifers....we have 2 world class goalies, decent midfielders, quite a few strikers (when he decides to choose them - a forward line of O'Connor and Fletch would have caused them some problems)...we need a solid defence...Berra and Caldwell - simply not good enough at International level.

'World class goalies', are you serious?

If they were world class, would they be playing for Glasgow Rangers or Sunderland (Even when Gordon is fit - not very often - he is not even first pick!)

Do you think a world class goalie would have let in Spain's first last night?

They are decent keepers, no more. World class? Never in a million years.