View Full Version : Match Updates Liechtenstein 0 Scotland 1 (FT)

08-10-2011, 11:22 AM
Is it on telly?

08-10-2011, 11:30 AM
Yes, it is on the telly, but only in the pub :aok:

08-10-2011, 11:30 AM
BBC2 kick off 6.30pm.Forgot to say only on Pub tv's!

08-10-2011, 11:48 AM
Only pub tvs? Am I missing a joke here?

08-10-2011, 11:55 AM
Only pub tvs? Am I missing a joke here?

I'd say so.

08-10-2011, 12:11 PM
So can i get it on my house tv on bbc2. Yes or no will do.

08-10-2011, 12:12 PM
So can i get it on my house tv on bbc2. Yes or no will do.

Yes you can. The Spain game in midweek is on BBC as well.

08-10-2011, 01:02 PM
Yes you can. The Spain game in midweek is on BBC as well.

08-10-2011, 01:09 PM
Scotland Team:
McGregor, Hutton, Caldwell, Berra, Bardsley, Fletcher, Bannan, Morrison, Adam, Naismith, Mackail-Smith

08-10-2011, 01:10 PM

Glad it's on telly - hope the missus lets me watch it while Strictly is on!

Is it just me or is there not something terribly depressing about Harry Potter's comments about our chances against liechtenstein - a country with a population the same size as Falkirk! http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/15165872.stm

08-10-2011, 01:58 PM

Is it just me or is there not something terribly depressing about Harry Potter's comments about our chances against liechtenstein - a country with a population the same size as Falkirk! http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/15165872.stm

But then if he was taking 3 points for granted then he'd be accused of arrogance, complacency, etc. I'm no fan of Levein, but managers really are damned if they do and damned if they don't when they have to discuss games against 'lesser' nations.

08-10-2011, 02:19 PM
Scotland Team:
McGregor, Hutton, Caldwell, Berra, Bardsley, Fletcher, Bannan, Morrison, Adam, Naismith, Mackail-Smith

08-10-2011, 02:49 PM

I can't stick Levein but I don't have any problem with what he said there.

Liechtenstein is an improving nation when it comes to football, over the past five years or so. They have secured some fairly impressive results in qualification, such as a 2-2 draw against Portugal, a 1-1 draw against Finland, beating Iceland, Latvia and Lithuania and coming within 10 seconds of getting a draw at Hampden.

If Scotland play to their full potential tonight then they will win the match, however they do have a few players who play their club football at a fairly high level and our previous match against them should be enough of a reason for Scotland not to take them lightly. Our performance that night was a disgrace and I was embarrassed to see Levein and the players dancing around after scraping a 97th minute winner against them.

08-10-2011, 02:53 PM
Our performance that night was a disgrace and I was embarrassed to see Levein and the players dancing around after scraping a 97th minute winner against them.

I agree completely with the bit in bold, but be reasonable FFS - were you embarrassed to see the fans jumping around and celebrating? It's a natural reaction to a last-minute winner, regardless of the stature of the team you're playing, and it was 3 priceless points towards qualification for a major tournament.

08-10-2011, 03:35 PM
I agree completely with the bit in bold, but be reasonable FFS - were you embarrassed to see the fans jumping around and celebrating? It's a natural reaction to a last-minute winner, regardless of the stature of the team you're playing, and it was 3 priceless points towards qualification for a major tournament.

I just thought that night really saved Levein and deflected a lot of attention and criticism that he and the team deserved after such a lacklustre performance for 96 and a half minutes.

The headlines would have already been written by the journalists, just waiting another few seconds before they could send them off to be printed and published, the post-match interviewers would have been sharpening their knives and preparing themselves for asking some very difficult questions and all that changed with Stephen McManus' goal.

It wouldn't have been quite so bad if Levein had been honest about what he had just seen from his team but his comments came across as someone who really didn't accept reality.

"I am not too interested in people wanting to highlight negative things."

That was one of his quotes after the match...

08-10-2011, 03:38 PM
I just thought that night really saved Levein and deflected a lot of attention and criticism that he and the team deserved after such a lacklustre performance for 96 and a half minutes.

The headlines would have already been written by the journalists, just waiting another few seconds before they could send them off to be printed and published, the post-match interviewers would have been sharpening their knives and preparing themselves for asking some very difficult questions and all that changed with Stephen McManus' goal.

It wouldn't have been quite so bad if Levein had been honest about what he had just seen from his team but his comments came across as someone who really didn't accept reality.

"I am not too interested in people wanting to highlight negative things."

That was one of his quotes after the match...

After the match is different, you were criticising his reaction to the winning goal.

08-10-2011, 03:57 PM
UEFA delegate to decide if pitch can be used for warm-up. Pitch apparently taken a soaking.

08-10-2011, 04:07 PM

You're easily amused. I absolutely detest Levein but Mackail-Smith's banging them in playing in a league far superior to the SPL. Who else in that squad could play up front on his own? Leaving O'Connor and Fletcher out the argument.

08-10-2011, 04:24 PM
It's apparently snowing in Vaduz.

08-10-2011, 04:29 PM
You're easily amused. I absolutely detest Levein but Mackail-Smith's banging them in playing in a league far superior to the SPL. Who else in that squad could play up front on his own? Leaving O'Connor and Fletcher out the argument.

Leaving O`Connor and Fletcher out is the big problem , just bad management from harry potter .

08-10-2011, 04:58 PM
Scotland Subs:
Marshall
Goodwillie
Robson
Cowie
Wallace
Whittaker
Forrest http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/public/style_emoticons/default/mad.gif instead of Dorrans

08-10-2011, 05:17 PM
Levein looks like a tramp

08-10-2011, 05:27 PM
have to say, well done to the tartan army turning out in huge numbers :agree:

DAVE1875
08-10-2011, 05:28 PM
Scotland fans makings fantastic noise for the national anthem

08-10-2011, 05:28 PM
Come On Scotland. :saltireflag:saltireflag

08-10-2011, 05:38 PM
All Scotland at the moment..............:top marks

08-10-2011, 05:39 PM
Levein looks like a tramp

That's a bit unkind to tramps.

08-10-2011, 05:40 PM
Mackail - Smith has done well so far.

08-10-2011, 05:42 PM
Naismith - nearly.

08-10-2011, 05:49 PM
Scotland have lost the plot it seems - best chance yet to Liechtenstein!

08-10-2011, 05:51 PM
Free header Naismith..................missed

Naismith unlucky there.

Morrison looks pretty poor, lots of misplaced passes

Dirkster23
08-10-2011, 05:53 PM
Morrison looks pretty poor, lots of misplaced passes

:agree: been terrible so far!

08-10-2011, 05:54 PM
Naismith missed an open goal....................

How many chances does Naismith need then?

Naismith :grr:

08-10-2011, 05:55 PM
We know the script..............we won't score until we go behind 1-0.

ggth
08-10-2011, 05:56 PM
o'connor would have buried naismiths 2 sitters, the header and going round the keeper, htf does he get a game:confused:

08-10-2011, 05:57 PM
Bannon good effort missed

Lovely attempt by Bannon!

Unlucky Bannon

08-10-2011, 05:58 PM
Close again.

We've had more possession than a Columbian drug smuggler.

C'mon :saltireflag

ggth
banoon GTF cant even hit the f****** target jeez

After 25 minutes I dont get a good feeling about this game......................

ggth
08-10-2011, 05:59 PM
what do you expect with ONE striker

08-10-2011, 06:02 PM

Particularly when the lone striker is often out on the wing looking for posession..............

burghhibs
30 mins of guff! Naysmith could not score in a Barrel of F____

Why is goodwillie not playing? He'd rape this defence

08-10-2011, 06:03 PM

woohoooo :greengrin

Yaaaaaaaaasssssssssssssss

Goal!

1-0 Mikhael smith

Cracking goal:flag::flag::flag:

08-10-2011, 06:04 PM
:woohoo:

08-10-2011, 06:04 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

ggth
08-10-2011, 06:05 PM
cracking goal, just as well it was'nt naismith it would have been 0-0

08-10-2011, 06:10 PM
Berra auditioning for Strictly Come Dancing.

hibbill2002
08-10-2011, 06:11 PM

08-10-2011, 06:15 PM
Morrison doesnt even look fit to grace Liechensteins ranks, he is murder...............

08-10-2011, 06:18 PM
HT

Well Done Scotland

08-10-2011, 06:18 PM
HT

1-0 to Scotland

Need a quick goal in the second half to see off this game.

08-10-2011, 06:19 PM
OMG

Plukey Lesbian Alert!!!!!!!!!

08-10-2011, 06:24 PM
OMG

Plukey Lesbian Alert!!!!!!!!!

Has the wife come home early?

euro Hibby
08-10-2011, 06:26 PM
route 1 goal

08-10-2011, 06:27 PM
Morrison doesnt even look fit to grace Liechensteins ranks, he is murder...............

Can't agree with that, not having a great game but he is a good midfielder....

CapitalHibs
08-10-2011, 06:32 PM
Scotland playing some nice possesion football but need a bit more cutting edge at front. Lichtenstein are there to be hammered and goal difference could be really important.

08-10-2011, 06:33 PM
Scotland playing some nice possesion football but need a bit more cutting edge at front. Lichtenstein are there to be hammered and goal difference could be really important.

Someone will be along in a minute to correct you on this......

08-10-2011, 06:33 PM

Is it, though?

I thought that, if we finish level on points with the Czechs, they go through on the basis of the head-to-head results.

CapitalHibs
08-10-2011, 06:36 PM
Someone will be along in a minute to correct you on this......

Thank you.:wink:

08-10-2011, 06:37 PM
Thank you.:wink:

You are very welcome :greengrin

CapitalHibs
08-10-2011, 06:39 PM

Still, it would be nice to score a few against these diirty bassas:aok:

08-10-2011, 06:39 PM

It was no trouble.

08-10-2011, 06:41 PM
Will someone point out to the compliance officer Naismiths dive in the first half. :greengrin.

08-10-2011, 06:42 PM
Morrison missed a gift .....................you cant help but think GOC would have run riot against this lot.......:rolleyes:

08-10-2011, 06:46 PM
The Scotland management bench resembles a Niddrie bus shelter late on a Friday night.

08-10-2011, 06:48 PM
In possession, Alan Hutton resembles an epileptic spider.

CapitalHibs
08-10-2011, 06:48 PM
If we cannae convert all this possesion into goals, I can see this all end in tears.

08-10-2011, 06:50 PM
The Scotland management bench resembles a Niddrie bus shelter late on a Friday night.

:faf::faf:

08-10-2011, 06:51 PM
If we cannae convert all this possesion into goals, I can see this all end in tears.

:agree: I will be bricking it if we go into the final 5 minutes only 1-0 up. We need to score and score quick.

08-10-2011, 06:52 PM
Good attempt by Berra.

08-10-2011, 06:53 PM
I have scotland to win 1-0 :)

Is that kevin gallacher with the ridiculous accent??

08-10-2011, 06:53 PM
Get Morrison off now.

08-10-2011, 06:54 PM
Good attempt by Berra.

Now there's a post I never thought Id read :wink:

08-10-2011, 06:55 PM
Get Morrison off now.

Couldnt agree more he is honking...................:taxi:taxi

08-10-2011, 06:55 PM
Now there's a post I never thought Id read :wink:

It felt really weird typing it. Didn't feel quite right.

08-10-2011, 06:57 PM
I have scotland to win 1-0 :)

Is that kevin gallacher with the ridiculous accent??

Brutal is it not? Very hownowbrowncow.

burghhibs
08-10-2011, 06:58 PM
Make some changes...... Start with the Manager :aok:

08-10-2011, 06:58 PM
Another dodgy offside decision.

ggth
08-10-2011, 06:59 PM
after what I have watched tonight, plenty of the ball, but slack passing, 2 or 3 should not be in the team
ffs potter get a grip play 2 strikers ya fud

08-10-2011, 07:00 PM
The home team beginning to gain in confidence. I'm no liking this.

08-10-2011, 07:01 PM
Forrest on F*** Off Levein.

CapitalHibs
08-10-2011, 07:01 PM
The home team beginning to gain in confidence. I'm no liking this.

They should have been dead and buried by now.

08-10-2011, 07:03 PM
Get Morrison off now.

Guys, I can't agree....I know he's not got his shooting boots on tonight, but he's driven us forward in the second half and hasn't missed a pass.....anyway, bet he scores. :greengrin

08-10-2011, 07:03 PM
They should have been dead and buried by now.

Potters inept team selection has seen to that..................

08-10-2011, 07:04 PM
Potters inept team selection has seen to that..................

Compounded by subbing Adam WTF is he thinking about :confused:

08-10-2011, 07:05 PM
Levein is clueless :agree:

08-10-2011, 07:06 PM
I can see them scoring................

08-10-2011, 07:06 PM
We're going to end up paying for not putting this game to bed.

Typical ****ing Scotland; always got to do things the hard way.

08-10-2011, 07:07 PM
Compounded by subbing Adam WTF is he thinking about :confused:

Tuesday

08-10-2011, 07:07 PM
I can see them scoring................

So can I. Its the Scotland way.

08-10-2011, 07:08 PM
Tuesday

Tuesday is meaningless unless we win tonight................

CapitalHibs
08-10-2011, 07:09 PM
Ref is so inconsistent. I can see a dive in the box and a penalty awarded,

hibbill2002
08-10-2011, 07:10 PM
Tuesday is meaningless unless we win tonight................

We are winning:wink:

08-10-2011, 07:11 PM
I have a feeling Liechtenstein will score :boo hoo:

08-10-2011, 07:12 PM
Goodness knows why we are now sitting back and letting them come at us. Come on Scotland.

08-10-2011, 07:12 PM
We are winning:wink:

Yes but the game isnt won yet, you dont give them any glimmer of hope in this situation.........

08-10-2011, 07:13 PM
Goodness knows why we are now sitting back and letting them come at us. Come on Scotland.

Yup! Get up the ****ing park FFS

08-10-2011, 07:13 PM
What's Levein shouting? "Big Issue"

08-10-2011, 07:14 PM
Yes but the game isnt won yet, you dont give them any glimmer of hope in this situation.........

Glimmer of hope? Its a heavy park and hewas blowing out his arse.

08-10-2011, 07:19 PM
F888King Morrison.wasted great chance

burghhibs
Just keep the ball FFS

Come on Scotland FFS

08-10-2011, 07:21 PM
FT :thumbsup:

1-0 FT :thumbsup:

Bring on the Armada.

That'll do!

08-10-2011, 07:22 PM
Well we won but we are going to get hammered on Tuesday with this bunch

08-10-2011, 07:23 PM

Don't care if we lose 6-0 so long as the Czech Rep get beat.

08-10-2011, 07:24 PM

Same here!!

08-10-2011, 07:24 PM

FFS could you be any more negative? :wink:

08-10-2011, 07:25 PM

Well said.

Our best hope is the Liths doing us a favour.

08-10-2011, 07:26 PM
FFS could you be any more negative? :wink:

I could definitely be more negative, but only about Hibs.

woodythehibee
08-10-2011, 07:27 PM
a VERY comfortable 1-0. Shoulda won by about 4.

Bring on Espana!

I reckon a draw could do us.

GreenPJ
08-10-2011, 07:41 PM
We had a chance to get some confidence ahead of the Spain game by getting 2 or 3 goals but Levein is a muppet. A second striker up front second half make it comfortable and the players could relax a bit but that negative fool doesn't do it.

08-10-2011, 07:45 PM
On the final matchday (11 October)

Scotland will qualify for the play-offs if one of the following happens:

They Defeat Spain
They draw with Spain AND Czech Republic do not defeat Lithuania
Lithuania defeat Czech Republic

Czech Republic will qualify for the play-offs if one of the following happens:

They defeat Lithuania AND Scotland do not defeat Spain
They draw with Lithuania AND Scotland loses to Spain

08-10-2011, 07:53 PM

They Defeat Spain

You could have saved yourself a bit of bother by saying all Scotland have to do is match or better the Czech Republic's result to finish in 2nd place. :greengrin

Can we not end the group stage tonight!?

08-10-2011, 07:54 PM

They Defeat Spain

We need Lithuania to win.

End of.

FACT.

euro Hibby
08-10-2011, 07:55 PM
pretty awaful second half.......lets not forget that our goalie saved us a couple of times. ! Last ball was often terrible............if that lot beat Spain it will be a real upset.......

08-10-2011, 08:14 PM
pretty awaful second half.......lets not forget that our goalie saved us a couple of times. ! Last ball was often terrible............if that lot beat Spain it will be a real upset.......

Er.....2 long range shots??? And theirs saved them much more..... Tough review!

08-10-2011, 08:17 PM

They Defeat Spain

If they draw and we lose, don't they go through on the head to head record?

08-10-2011, 08:23 PM
We need a favour from Lithuania. Is there someone, with a track record of inspirational speeches to a team, who can address their players before the game with the Czechs? A successful businessman from a military background would be ideal. Does such an individual exist?

08-10-2011, 08:24 PM
I'm starting to believe:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

08-10-2011, 08:46 PM
If they draw and we lose, don't they go through on the head to head record?

Yep.

If they pick up more points on Tuesday than we do then we're out.

08-10-2011, 08:50 PM
Who would have thought it eh? Hibs fans cheering on the Liths :greengrin

08-10-2011, 08:52 PM
If we both win then we qualify.
If we both lose then we qualify.
If we both draw then we qualify.

08-10-2011, 08:56 PM
Who would have thought it eh? Hibs fans cheering on the Liths :greengrin

I'd be bloody delighted if a Mikolooneytunes dive sinks the Czechs. In the words of Kevin Keegan, I would love it, I would love it if the Liths turn them over. I would love it.

08-10-2011, 08:59 PM
I'd be bloody delighted if a Mikolooneytunes dive sinks the Czechs. In the words of Kevin Keegan, I would love it, I would love it if the Liths turn them over. I would love it.

Agreed. Wonder what Richard Gordon and his band of merry men would say if the wee Lith dives in the box to win a last minute penalty which when scored beats the Czechs?

08-10-2011, 09:04 PM
Agreed. Wonder what Richard Gordon and his band of merry men would say if the wee Lith dives in the box to win a last minute penalty which when scored beats the Czechs?

He would doubtless display the same level of hypocrisy that we have on here over the past week!

08-10-2011, 09:06 PM

I'm sure they'd be inflamed with righteous anger, and demand a 2 match suspension for the guilty party.

No, really.

Oh no wait, they'd be blinded by the advantage gained by Scotland, and jettison all pretences of impartiality. And then they'd slag off Hibs. F*** knows what for, but they'd slag off Hibs.

08-10-2011, 09:09 PM
He would doubtless display the same level of hypocrisy that we have on here over the past week!

We are fans, we are expected to be at the very least irrational, hypocritical and despicable, all in favour of our chosen team. Broadcasters on national radio, on the other hand, are expected to at least give the vaguest impression of impartiality.

08-10-2011, 09:20 PM
We are fans, we are expected to be at the very least irrational, hypocritical and despicable, all in favour of our chosen team. Broadcasters on national radio, on the other hand, are expected to at least give the vaguest impression of impartiality.

As fans agreed - however many of our number appear to fancy themselves as journalists. And the morally crusading type at that.

As a Scot Richard Gordon (and his band of ill-informed blethers) will surely be allowed to display those characteristics you mention in support of the National side? Fans with typewriters and all that.....After all, that pair of buffoons relaying the game to us on national TV got away with it tonight. We scraped past Leichtenstein (again) and our commentary team somehow failed to observe how bollox we were.

08-10-2011, 09:27 PM
We done France away so anything is possible. **** alicante and benidorm, proper ***** anyway.

Mon the sterling!

08-10-2011, 09:29 PM
As fans agreed - however many of our number appear to fancy themselves as journalists. And the morally crusading type at that.

As a Scot Richard Gordon (and his band of ill-informed blethers) will surely be allowed to display those characteristics you mention in support of the National side? Fans with typewriters and all that.....After all, that pair of buffoons relaying the game to us on national TV got away with it tonight. We scraped past Leichtenstein (again) and our commentary team somehow failed to observe how bollox we were.

They do? News to me :confused: Gonnae link me to some posts to show me what you mean?

08-10-2011, 09:38 PM
They do? News to me :confused: Gonnae link me to some posts to show me what you mean?

That would take more time than I can be bothered to use and anyway, no.
It's prevalent, but I wouldn't wish to target, pinpoint, 'flame' (whatever that is) or bully any individual posters :wink:

08-10-2011, 09:38 PM
If the referee had spotted the Czech dive at the end of our game at Hampden instead of giving a penalty we would now be into the playoffs. Such are the margins between success and failure for teams other than the few at the real top.

08-10-2011, 09:48 PM
That would take more time than I can be bothered to use and anyway, no.
It's prevalent, but I wouldn't wish to target, pinpoint, 'flame' (whatever that is) or bully any individual posters :wink:

Fair enough :thumbsup:

The point is though that it matters not a jot what we as fans think although our view is bound to be slanted. It also matters not what RG and his cronies think although it didn't stop them going completely OTT in condemning GOC when such incidents happen virtually every week.

The only things that matter are the facts. It's a fact that the ref awarded a penalty because he considered a foul had been committed and he was only 5 yards away. It's a fact that the independent panel found no case to answer because in their words "a foul was committed"

I just thought our national broadcasters should be big enough to admit they were wrong to single GOC out for such appalling treatment. I'd like to think they'd apologise but as I've said elsewhere I won't hold my breath

woodythehibee
08-10-2011, 09:50 PM
We had a chance to get some confidence ahead of the Spain game by getting 2 or 3 goals but Levein is a muppet. A second striker up front second half make it comfortable and the players could relax a bit but that negative fool doesn't do it.

Levein's tactics were spot on. crowded the midfield so we retained possession better worked a treat. Also, we created many chances and on another day would have scored 4 or 5 so it's defo not negative football.

At the end of the day we needed 3 points against a stuffy side and we got 3 points.

08-10-2011, 10:09 PM

I agree about the high-horse, moral crusader would-be journalists, but that is not the point.

This may be a minority opinion, but I absolutely hate it when Scottish commentators are biased in favour of Scotland/Scottish teams in Europe. It is the fans' job to be hilariously partisan, any commentator should be professional enough to be impartial.

09-10-2011, 06:05 PM
Fair enough :thumbsup:

The point is though that it matters not a jot what we as fans think although our view is bound to be slanted. It also matters not what RG and his cronies think although it didn't stop them going completely OTT in condemning GOC when such incidents happen virtually every week.The only things that matter are the facts. It's a fact that the ref awarded a penalty because he considered a foul had been committed and he was only 5 yards away. It's a fact that the independent panel found no case to answer because in their words "a foul was committed"

I just thought our national broadcasters should be big enough to admit they were wrong to single GOC out for such appalling treatment. I'd like to think they'd apologise but as I've said elsewhere I won't hold my breath

Agreed. Although, I choose not to listen too much to whatever the Radio says about us (including the gob*****s in independent radio) and no matter how much we froth on here about it we won't change anything. Nothing has changed in the 5 decades that I've followed the Hibs and frankly, I quite enjoy bawling and shouting at the wireless or telly every now and then. (Even as recently as last night when the ringpiece of a 'commentator' went to some lengths to convince himself that Fletcher had gone into the book and not M-Smith).
I didn't share the sentiment shown on threads here when David Francey shuffled off recently and none of his peers, contemporaries or successors have been any cope either.

An apology on the O'Connor affair would be unprecedented and I am sure that Garry is not bothering his sizeable erchie.
If Hibs on the other hand are are concerned about the ravings of the Sportsound 'team' (which includes a couple of our own in Murdo, Craig Paterson, Stevie Cowan and the looming presence of Yogi) then they should take them to task accordingly. Wenger or Taggart would have told them to do one in no uncertain terms a long long time ago.

09-10-2011, 06:16 PM
I agree about the high-horse, moral crusader would-be journalists, but that is not the point.

This may be a minority opinion, but I absolutely hate it when Scottish commentators are biased in favour of Scotland/Scottish teams in Europe. It is the fans' job to be hilariously partisan, any commentator should be professional enough to be impartial.

I enjoy it when we have the hilariously partisan. Less so when we have the blatantly two-faced so my point is valid.

Your opinion is probably in the minority, but is admirable.
In domestic terms, fans are entitled to seek a balanced and unbiased view on football (and everything else in the world for that matter), depending on which paper you buy or what TV you watch.

However, is there a football playing nation in the world that does not have partisan journalism in relation to their national side?

09-10-2011, 11:45 PM
Yes, it is on the telly, but only in the pub :aok:

I like how my question turned into an updates thread! :thumbsup:

Don't drink with horrible people like you!