View Full Version : Purple Strip?

hibbeedavid
07-10-2011, 08:08 AM
Does anyone know if/when the third strip will be unveiled? Sure it was about late sept last year the yellow one was shown, no sign so far of this years yet but on the SFL website its shown as registered or has it since been canned? :s

WellingtonHibby
07-10-2011, 08:10 AM
nae european football = nae third strip, i think.

hibbeedavid
07-10-2011, 08:14 AM
nae european football = nae third strip, i think.

I agree its a pointless thing to have but they would have known there was no chance of Europe at the point they registered this years designs to the SFL and SPL

07-10-2011, 08:18 AM
I'll be in the shop this morning so I'll ask.

If I remember :greengrin

07-10-2011, 08:43 AM
Purple strip? What is the need? Income i suppose.

Purple & Green
07-10-2011, 09:10 AM
Spooky but true:

The last 3 times we've won the league cup in 72/91/2007 we had a change strip with green sleeves. Purple with green sleeves sounds perfect, then.

07-10-2011, 09:21 AM
The 3rd strip will be available from the Motherwell game next week. I couldn't get the colour out of him but I'd expect it to be what's been registered.

hibbeedavid
07-10-2011, 09:25 AM
According to the registration it'll be purple shirt black shorts and black socks, if that's the case hopefully it'll be shorts and socks from away kit and not my pet hate of teams having things like 2 sets of black shorts in the same season

07-10-2011, 09:27 AM
A 'hilarious' yam posted a mocked up picture on to my Facebook of our kit launch but the home strip had been changed from green to purple, with some lame comment about us being gay(ironic since their away strip is actually navy and pink)...anyway, the joke was on her as it looked realy smart!! Cant post a link at the moment due to being at work, not sure if anyone else seen the photo that was doing the rounds?

07-10-2011, 09:55 AM
****** ^^^

The yam that is. Did she forget about their away top? Or that they hire paedos?

07-10-2011, 10:32 AM
****** ^^^

The yam that is. Did she forget about their away top? Or that they hire paedos?

Or that their pathetic excuse for a stadium is, erm ...................PINK!!!

07-10-2011, 11:26 AM
Exactly, kinda sums them up. Or the fact that they had big Justin Fashanu on the books...or the overwhelming rumours about George Faulkes...or THAT dance by Calum Elliot etc etc. Bunch of actual clowns.

07-10-2011, 11:37 AM
No point whatsoever in bringing in a third strip as far as I'm concerned, though I'm sure it won't be as embarrassing as when we used the goalkeeper's strip as a 'third' kit the other year.

07-10-2011, 11:40 AM
No point whatsoever in bringing in a third strip as far as I'm concerned, though I'm sure it won't be as embarrassing as when we used the goalkeeper's strip as a 'third' kit the other year.

There's a contractual agreement with Puma.

hibbeedavid
07-10-2011, 11:54 AM

I thought that was one of smartest strips we've had! All 3 kits we had that year I liked, persoanally not much of a fan of puma so far, on the short sleeve versions sleeves are too long and baggy imo

07-10-2011, 12:33 PM
I thought that was one of smartest strips we've had! All 3 kits we had that year I liked, persoanally not much of a fan of puma so far, on the short sleeve versions sleeves are too long and baggy imo

07-10-2011, 01:54 PM
Exactly, kinda sums them up. Or the fact that they had big Justin Fashanu on the books...or the overwhelming rumours about George Faulkes...or THAT dance by Calum Elliot etc etc. Bunch of actual clowns.

Oh come on....!

aussie_hibee
07-10-2011, 02:28 PM
Spooky but true:

The last 3 times we've won the league cup in 72/91/2007 we had a change strip with green sleeves. Purple with green sleeves sounds perfect, then.

Also, the home kits were straight forward green body, White sleeves and round necks. :agree:

07-10-2011, 03:57 PM
Nothing beats the all white 09/10 away kit by Le Coq. Bees knees. This years away kit runs it close though.

07-10-2011, 04:02 PM
Spooky but true:The last 3 times we've won the league cup in 72/91/2007 we had a change strip with green sleeves. Purple with green sleeves sounds perfect, then. 2007? Really? Can you post a picture to remind me? I do not recall this at all.

07-10-2011, 04:04 PM
The only thing i dislike about the tops this year, mainly the home one, is that they are too tight at the armpits.

07-10-2011, 04:34 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20111007/thistle-kit-launched_2262950_2475552

mmm, not sure!!

07-10-2011, 04:37 PM
2007? Really? Can you post a picture to remind me? I do not recall this at all.

The away kit was the dark green one.

http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/1703/hibernianaway077zt.jpg

07-10-2011, 04:38 PM

mmm, not sure!!

Something different, like it. Not got either the home or away strip yet (waiting for my birthday instead of forking out for it myself for a change :greengrin) so might end up getting the 'thistle' one if that's all they have left by November.

07-10-2011, 04:38 PM

mmm, not sure!!

That is disgusting

AllyF
07-10-2011, 04:47 PM
Fair enough, I am quite hungover, but that strip nearly made me spew. I think it's the worst Hibs strip I have ever laid eyes on.

bobhfc
07-10-2011, 04:50 PM
Is there any point in having a 3rd kit this season?

Calvin
07-10-2011, 04:53 PM
Why are we playing in a parma violet coloured strip?

07-10-2011, 05:10 PM
Having a third strip is a total joke. Having said that I don't mind that one. Preferable to the mint green and my least favourite of recent years, the yellow one with a thick dark green and black stripe on it.

A reprise of the purple Bukta in Fiorentina purple for next season's away strip please.

DarrenSQH
07-10-2011, 05:13 PM
Must be the last colour of that style top puma had left. All puma kits are exact the same and that one Is one of the worst I have seen.

07-10-2011, 05:20 PM
Don't like it. Used to love the old purple shirts but this one is way to light, looks more a shade of blue. Hopefully it looks better in the flesh though.

07-10-2011, 05:47 PM
Deary me :hilarious

Think I might buy that, one day (when everybody is colour blind) it will be a collectors item :greengrin I'll hang it beside the green and purple striped one, the mint one and the fluorescent yellow one. Will I ever wear it? Nae chance.

07-10-2011, 05:57 PM
Love it

07-10-2011, 06:08 PM
no parma violet top, or any other purple top will ever beat the purple bukta top that we had

07-10-2011, 06:14 PM

Think I might buy that, one day (when everybody is colour blind) it will be a collectors item :greengrin I'll hang it beside the green and purple striped one, the mint one and the fluorescent yellow one. Will I ever wear it? Nae chance.

Say whatever you want about fluorescent yellow or mint efforts, but one more word against the green'n'purple stripes and I will hunt you down!

07-10-2011, 06:17 PM
Say whatever you want about fluorescent yellow or mint efforts, but one more word against the green'n'purple stripes and I will hunt you down!:na na: :greengrin

James.
07-10-2011, 06:52 PM
Love it :thumbsup:

I've always thought of purple as our third colour after green and white.

07-10-2011, 07:09 PM
horrid.

07-10-2011, 07:25 PM
"Limited stock available".....I don't think we need to worry about that :tee hee:

07-10-2011, 08:58 PM
In a word - Gantin!

I normally like most strips aswell or come round to liking them after a wee while but this one :wtf:

07-10-2011, 09:27 PM
I would have preferred a darker purple and the shirt to be without the two stripes.

If only Le coq had kept up their original form:boo hoo:

07-10-2011, 09:32 PM
Love it

:agree::top marks

Superb :aok:

Purple & Green
07-10-2011, 10:51 PM
That's not purple - thistle is the most insipid uninspiring shade you can get.

Good effort for bringing two new colours in mint/thistle, but keep working on it Puma.

07-10-2011, 11:03 PM
horrid.

Not as bad as any yam strips though don't you think?

07-10-2011, 11:05 PM
People who are saying they like it are having a laugh........right? :dunno:

07-10-2011, 11:17 PM
That's not purple - thistle is the most insipid uninspiring shade you can get.

Good effort for bringing two new colours in mint/thistle, but keep working on it Puma.we could have an updated version of the auld purple and green striped shirt :rolleyes: with those colours.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/mintthistle.jpg

07-10-2011, 11:23 PM
we could have an updated version of the auld purple and green striped shirt :rolleyes: with those colours.

I bought that top. I blame it on the obscene amounts of alcohol I consumed at the time. :greengrin

07-10-2011, 11:27 PM
People who are saying they like it are having a laugh........right? :dunno:

It's something different, at least. Though I do think we should get some sponsorship from Dulux as after all we seem to be using their colour chart an awful lot whenever we bring out a new strip.

07-10-2011, 11:29 PM
I bought that top. I blame it on the obscene amounts of alcohol I consumed at the time. :greengrinI bought it too, still have it :agree: (disnae fit though :greengrin ).

I just buy Hibs tops, even if I dinnae care for them, I still collect them.

I'll probably buy that thistle thing but you'd never catch me wearing it. :greengrin

aussie_hibee
07-10-2011, 11:32 PM
Shorts and socks are quite smart but the top is horrid. Truly awful. Worst colour I've seen on a Hibs strip. Should have been a dark purple and not a v neck.

07-10-2011, 11:37 PM
I bought it too, still have it :agree: (disnae fit though :greengrin ).

I just buy Hibs tops, even if I dinnae care for them, I still collect them.

I'll probably buy that thistle thing but you'd never catch me wearing it. :greengrin

So do I, hope to fit into it at some point. :greengrin

It might become a collectors item, hold onto it. :aok:

7Hero
08-10-2011, 12:35 AM
if hits ever play in purple strip ever again ill become a jambo..

efin disgrace that purple ever become part of vibe colours

its simple

green

white

black

maybe yellow

end of !!

Hibee_Dave
08-10-2011, 03:32 AM
This is daft, regardless of what you think of the strip, we do not need a third strip. We hardly ever wear the 'away' anyway so you'd be as well buying a training top-people probably wouldn't recognise either as a hibs top cos they only ever see us in the green.

This puma deal is rubbish anyway-it's not even a deal with puma, it's genesis sports unlike, for example Spurs, who will deal directly with puma. I'm sure it's a decent deal for the club but three strips a year for a non-euro team is daft.

The build quality of the tops is gash as well!

08-10-2011, 04:20 AM
Hmmm.... I quite like it, like someone has said its different! My fav away top is still the illuminus yellow and black shirt we had, i've still got it with Lehmann on the back :greengrin

Can't find a photo of the shirt at the moment and cant be ersed searching anymore given the time... but it was a good yin.

08-10-2011, 04:24 AM
I like the idea of a purple kit, but it needs to be darker and at least change the design a bit from the other away kit. Puma annoy me, they are so lazy with their kits.

stanton_4
08-10-2011, 11:20 AM
I have yet to see a purple strip that looks good and this parma violet effort has definitely not changed that opinion. The yellow strips have never done it for me either and for what it's worth I beleive the only people on a football pitch that should wear black are the officials (It's about time refs returned to just black kits but that's another debate entirely)... who's the ***** in the black?
The best change strips we've had have been white. They look very classy with either white or green shorts/socks.
Oh and while we're at it I'd like to see a return to a darker shade of green for the home kit please.

08-10-2011, 11:28 AM
we could have an updated version of the auld purple and green striped shirt :rolleyes: with those colours.

Thing is, that top is so outstanding that it still looks good, even with the weird colours.

hibbycha
09-10-2011, 09:36 AM
my laddie (13) wants it as a goalie top cause his team canny afford new tops this year , he says no other team in league play in that colour so wont clash wi other strips , better than the pink 1 he seen in jjb :wink:

09-10-2011, 11:40 AM
my laddie (13) wants it as a goalie top cause his team canny afford new tops this year , he says no other team in league play in that colour so wont clash wi other strips , better than the pink 1 he seen in jjb :wink:

I wear this with my teams badge, sponsor and my name and number(I also play in goals).

http://images.prodirectsport.com/v3_products/V3_1_Main/18902.jpg

You should let him get it, it distracts the opposition striker:greengrin

09-10-2011, 11:53 AM

its simple

green

white

black

maybe yellow

end of !!

That's a tad too far.

09-10-2011, 11:54 AM

its simple

green

white

black

maybe yellow

end of !!

I'm going to remind you of that when we next play in purple:greengrin

09-10-2011, 11:56 AM
always thought a shiny silver kit with green trim would look braw

TheGreenMan
10-10-2011, 03:17 PM
http://www.hibsshop.co.uk/list-89-prodlist-335

S (http://www.hibsshop.co.uk/list-89-prodlist-335)ince my other thread was closed advising this is now out...

aberhibsfc
10-10-2011, 03:38 PM
It's no that bad. Pity it wasn't released earlier so it could be included in the FIFA12 strip selection.

Would be good if EA added this, but I fear that SPL teams, well outwith the OF don't matter too much to them. They'll take the money though.

10-10-2011, 03:44 PM

Think I might buy that, one day (when everybody is colour blind) it will be a collectors item :greengrin I'll hang it beside the green and purple striped one, the mint one and the fluorescent yellow one. Will I ever wear it? Nae chance.I am now the owner of one of these limited edition collectors items :greengrin

10-10-2011, 03:51 PM
Also dived in today and got me one. Shout out to the young lad who works in the shop who embraced the day with shirt and matching purple trousers and purple laces in his shoes

connerg
10-10-2011, 07:45 PM
no parma violet top, or any other purple top will ever beat the purple bukta top that we had

That was a ****in classic strip, anyone got photo's? Much appreciated if you do!

Think the new thistle colour looks more like lylac to me.

10-10-2011, 07:46 PM
Question for those who've bought one: presumably this top has a second Crabbies logo on the back like the others?

10-10-2011, 07:54 PM
Question for those who've bought one: presumably this top has a second Crabbies logo on the back like the others?Indeed it does. :agree:

11-10-2011, 09:43 AM
The 'Thistle' strip, according to the website. I'm presuming they mean the colour. If so, why the black?

I don't claim to be an expert on plants but I thought Thistles were purple, white and green, not black and violet.

11-10-2011, 10:39 AM
Sorry, but i think that new strip is ****in mingin'

11-10-2011, 11:39 AM
First thoughts were "Oh, gad. Won't be buying that.".

Just had another look and it's actually starting to grow on me.........it's not that bad :greengrin

11-10-2011, 11:51 AM
That was a ****in classic strip, anyone got photo's? Much appreciated if you do!

This one?

http://www.oldfootballshirts.com/img/shirts/168/hibernian-away-football-shirt-1992-1994-s_12107_1.jpg

11-10-2011, 07:35 PM
Indeed it does. :agree:

What's it like in real life?

Pit it oan Jamie & model fur us :wink:

green glory
11-10-2011, 07:46 PM
Does anyone know if/when the third strip will be unveiled? Sure it was about late sept last year the yellow one was shown, no sign so far of this years yet but on the SFL website its shown as registered or has it since been canned? :s

Check the purple one here.

https://picasaweb.google.com/102100932128616983363/OldHibsStrips?authkey=Gv1sRgCLbxr7a4lqP8Fw#

12-10-2011, 09:42 AM
Check the purple one here.

https://picasaweb.google.com/102100932128616983363/OldHibsStrips?authkey=Gv1sRgCLbxr7a4lqP8Fw#

Bukta one is pretty good, apart from the rank sleeves with that Bukta design down them!

ManBearPig
12-10-2011, 03:15 PM
I like the new strip! Its different. Not as mad Partick Thistles pink strip and not as cool as the green and purple candy stripes of 96. I have always liked the purple strips of yesteryear going back to the McBean Bukta shirt. Think Purple is the way forward as you know the timothys will never go with that and we wont be knackered with both sellick and hibs with the same colour away shirts which has happened in the past with black shirts.

12-10-2011, 03:32 PM
What's it like in real life?

Pit it oan Jamie & model fur us :wink:Sorry I dinnae have one of they wide angle lenses :greengrin

I collect His tops, it's a Hibs top, I bought it. There's mair chance of Gramo sitting in beans again than there is of me wearing that strip.

connerg
12-10-2011, 07:09 PM
This one?

http://www.oldfootballshirts.com/img/shirts/168/hibernian-away-football-shirt-1992-1994-s_12107_1.jpg

No but thanks for trying, was meaning the purple bukta strip from the late seventies, 78/79.
Had a look at your age and your 24 so well before you were born ma' man.

12-10-2011, 08:38 PM
Sorry I dinnae have one of they wide angle lenses :greengrin

I collect His tops, it's a Hibs top, I bought it. There's mair chance of Gramo sitting in beans again than there is of me wearing that strip.

I was in the shop today & saw it for myself! Must say I quite like it :wink:

Was gonna buy it on Saturday but seeing as you're no going to wear yours, how bout ye lend me it till the end of the season & I'll gie you it back :na na:

12-10-2011, 09:15 PM
The 'Thistle' strip, according to the website. I'm presuming they mean the colour. If so, why the black?

I don't claim to be an expert on plants but I thought Thistles were purple, white and green, not black and violet.

They didnt want to call it Pansie.

13-10-2011, 01:48 PM
No but thanks for trying, was meaning the purple bukta strip from the late seventies, 78/79.
Had a look at your age and your 24 so well before you were born ma' man.

Aye, only just out of my age range :wink:

13-10-2011, 02:19 PM

I was in the shop today & saw it for myself! Must say I quite like it :wink:

Was gonna buy it on Saturday but seeing as you're no going to wear yours, how bout ye lend me it till the end of the season & I'll gie you it back :na na:Too risky, if Petrie ever found out I stopped you spending 40 quid in the shop he'd put it on tae my next season ticket. :greengrin

Other than that I wouldnae want tae risk pie grease or brown sauce stains on my collectors item. :wink:

13-10-2011, 02:30 PM
Sorry I dinnae have one of they wide angle lenses :greengrin

I collect His tops, it's a Hibs top, I bought it. There's mair chance of Gramo sitting in beans again than there is of me wearing that strip.:tee hee:

13-10-2011, 02:48 PM
Like it , gonna buy it

Green and white
14-10-2011, 12:58 AM
IDK what it is with me but I think our kits are minging this year apart from the home one, that's pretty normal. The purple and black though... they could at least changed the design a bit. All our kits are basically the same in my opinion. Bring back the adidas original. Don't know what it is with ADIDAS either tbh? the liverpool home kit is a ****ing disaster compared to the 09/10 one which was pretty hawt.

green glory
14-10-2011, 09:26 AM
Bukta one is pretty good, apart from the rank sleeves with that Bukta design down them!

That was the first purple top I remember (I had the tracksuit in purple). Was it the first purple top as anything before that is before my time I'm afraid. I found this one, was there a purple away top before the Bukta one????

http://www.myfootballtops.co.uk/hibs-retro-football-shirts-p-2778.html

connerg
14-10-2011, 10:22 PM
That was the first purple top I remember (I had the tracksuit in purple). Was it the first purple top as anything before that is before my time I'm afraid. I found this one, was there a purple away top before the Bukta one????

http://www.myfootballtops.co.uk/hibs-retro-football-shirts-p-2778.html

Yes, defo in the fifties, don't have any pictures though but that's where the colour comes from.

15-10-2011, 12:00 AM

mmm, not sure!!

I think it looks decent. Shorts will be baught for 5 aside I think. :agree:

15-10-2011, 12:47 PM
What a horrible strip, they will be punting it for a fiver within a month. Went in the shop today and the lack of stock is shocking. Quality t shirts or jumpers don't go out of fashion, we don't have a standard cotton round neck with the badge and no bloody sponsor. Simple shirts that don't date, stock you can top up when it gets low. Nothing spent again today.

15-10-2011, 01:38 PM
Just seen people walking out of the shop with the top. It's disgusting. I don't even know why people would pay £30-40 for a top that looks disgusting.

15-10-2011, 03:17 PM
Just seen people walking out of the shop with the top. It's disgusting. I don't even know why people would pay £30-40 for a top that looks disgusting.

Maybe because they like it?

15-10-2011, 04:39 PM
Shirt like the team, crap.

15-10-2011, 05:42 PM
Hibs in purple and Motherwell in grey. Farcical.

Gala Foxes
15-10-2011, 07:08 PM
Is the lilac (purple?) strip just a quick commercial ploy to rake in a few quid to compensate for the fact we are now having to live off crowds at 8k?

At The Edge
15-10-2011, 07:23 PM
possibly just me, but at times i thought that the refs shirt and our purple effort clashed a bit
Still, been mentioned already, Hibs at home in Green please, i know Hibs are trying to punt the new gear, but the game may have been 0.01% more entertaining if Hibs had green shirts on and Motherwell had their amber and claret shirts on.

Gala Foxes
15-10-2011, 07:37 PM
Bring back the Bukta Purple "TV" strip

& George Stewart & Jackie Mac in it

15-10-2011, 07:49 PM
It didn't look like GOC was too impressed with the purple top either at the end of the game.

15-10-2011, 07:58 PM

Mainboy, that 'top' in your avatar doesn't look too clever either old son. Are people paying money for that?

15-10-2011, 10:34 PM
I like it!

Good 3 for 2 deal on also

15-10-2011, 10:36 PM
Mainboy, that 'top' in your avatar doesn't look too clever either old son. Are people paying money for that?

Personally I think this years Scotland top looks stunning, short sleeved though.

15-10-2011, 10:39 PM

its simple

green

white

black

maybe yellow

end of !!

EasterRoad4Ever
16-10-2011, 05:53 AM
Hibs in purple and Motherwell in grey. Farcical.

:agree:Just like so much at ER these days.

16-10-2011, 06:50 AM
Terrible strip and even worse team.