View Full Version : New Songs for the Hibernian song book...

43old
06-10-2011, 10:19 AM
Currently we are trying to write a few new hibs songs for the song book as we can't continue singing 'we are' and 'hail hail' 100 times in a short space of time. We also sing most of our songs at too high a tempo that it doesn't last long.

A few traditional songs will be getting an airing soon enough, but we need a fair few new ones...

If you have a hibs song that was sung many moons ago and would be appropriate these days get it up.

Could we also try and keep this on topic, not going of slating songs that get sang, The only reason a lot of rubbish is sang is pretty much because we don't have many short and catchy songs.

ps - Could we keep it away from hearts, mercer, and anti old firm.

06-10-2011, 11:42 AM
Big G on the Bounce suggested this ditty called the Holy Ground, which I think is apt, a belter, a rabble rouser and easy to remember... :wink:

The Dubliners - Holy Ground (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66HQWjeHelQ)

You could go with the original words of the first verse and chorus...

Adieu to you my Dinah, ten thousand times adieu.
We're going away from the Holy Ground and the girls that we love true.
We will sail the salt seas over and then return for shore,
To see again the girls we love and the Holy Ground once more.

(Shouted) Fine girl you are!
(Sung) You're the girl I do adore,
And still I live in hope to see the Holy Ground once more.

...or give it the Hibees once-over...

Adieu to you my Hibees, ten thousand times adieu.
We're going away from the Holy Ground and the team that we love true.
To see again the team we love and the Holy Ground once more.

(Shouted) Fine team you are!
(Sung) You're the team I adore,

06-10-2011, 11:50 AM
I play ukulele and am writing songs to gig with next year, fancy writing a Hibs song.

Leave it with me and I'll come up with something consisting of three chords and just choruses!

06-10-2011, 12:02 PM
I think some of the ones posted in the 12th man forum are good. :agree:

harpo
06-10-2011, 12:06 PM
Big G on the Bounce suggested this ditty called the Holy Ground, which I think is apt, a belter, a rabble rouser and easy to remember... :wink:

Great shout! Love it :thumbsup:

06-10-2011, 12:53 PM
I think some of the ones posted in the 12th man forum are good. :agree:

We need better songs so that the gay ones about body parts and peeing can go in the bin. I know of a few folk who've left the Singing Section 'cos of all that childish Non-Hibs stuff. Let's get back to supporting the team :flag:

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?219250-Songs-for-the-singing-section......

06-10-2011, 01:22 PM
Oh Edinbru is wonderful
apart fae herts,Suso and paedos
Edinbru is wonderful

madgoalie87
06-10-2011, 08:04 PM
Hamilton used to have a version of the edinburgh song but instead of the apart fae line it would in our case sing for the t#ts the f#nny and the hibees, oh edinbra is wonderfull.

06-10-2011, 08:39 PM
Oh Edinbru is wonderful
apart fae herts,Suso and paedos
Edinbru is wonderful

Hamilton used to have a version of the edinburgh song but instead of the apart fae line it would in our case sing for the t#ts the f#nny and the hibees, oh edinbra is wonderfull.

Very droll lads - can't see any dafties falling for that :asshole:

madgoalie87
06-10-2011, 08:41 PM
Sorry s43 was just an idea,, which I think im entitled to give .

07-10-2011, 10:25 AM
Very droll lads - can't see any dafties falling for that :asshole:

were having a go,it fills a gap and whats droll in your eyes may not be droll in others, wheres your input?

Adam Green
07-10-2011, 01:36 PM

I have always thought this would make a good Hibs song but with the (Shouted) bit being - Hibernian!

Like this;

(Shouted) Hibernian!

07-10-2011, 02:19 PM
I have always thought this would make a good Hibs song but with the (Shouted) bit being - Hibernian!

Like this;

(Shouted) Hibernian!

Liking it. :not worth

At The Edge
07-10-2011, 02:52 PM

Like this;

(Shouted) Hibernian!

thats actually very good, i played the you tube link and sang along in my head,
i would make one change, and thats to replace The Holy Ground with Easter Road.

only my opinion, but aye could defo see this being aired soon and a simple clap along would keep time

07-10-2011, 03:24 PM
thats actually very good, i played the you tube link and sang along in my head,
i would make one change, and thats to replace The Holy Ground with Easter Road.

only my opinion, but aye could defo see this being aired soon and a simple clap along would keep time

Nah, its got to be the Holy Ground.

07-10-2011, 03:53 PM
We need better songs so that the gay ones about body parts and peeing can go in the bin. I know of a few folk who've left the Singing Section 'cos of all that childish Non-Hibs stuff. Let's get back to supporting the team :flag:http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?219250-Songs-for-the-singing-section...... I was referring to the 12th man forum on here and that thread in particular. Can't see any childish ones there.

Feed McGraw
07-10-2011, 04:13 PM
Nah, its got to be the Holy Ground.

Of course it has to be the Holy Ground, this was an old nickname for ER, still sometimes used today. As for the song itself, it was often sung in it`s original form in the good old cave in the late sixties, early seventies.

07-10-2011, 04:16 PM
Of course it has to be the Holy Ground, this was an old nickname for ER, still sometimes used today. As for the song itself, it was often sung in it`s original form in the good old cave in the late sixties, early seventies.

:agree: And on the buses to away games.

At The Edge
07-10-2011, 04:24 PM

never knew that! you learn something new every day!

Feed McGraw
07-10-2011, 04:26 PM
:agree: And on the buses to away games.

It certainly was BH. Aw a love a bit o` nostalgia. Cheers me up no end when it comes tae the Hibs. :greengrin

07-10-2011, 04:28 PM
never knew that! you learn something new every day!

It is an old nickname for the ground, my dad used to call it the holy ground, i and lots of others still use it now. :thumbsup:

Feed McGraw
07-10-2011, 04:49 PM
It is an old nickname for the ground, my dad used to call it the holy ground, i and lots of others still use it now. :thumbsup:

When someone asks me on a Friday what I`m up to at the weekend, if the Hibs are at home, I always say first of all, " Holy Ground on Saturday" If they don`t get it, I enlighten them.

07-10-2011, 06:22 PM
When someone asks me on a Friday what I`m up to at the weekend, if the Hibs are at home, I always say first of all, " Holy Ground on Saturday" If they don`t get it, I enlighten them.

:agree::thumbsup: We need to keep it up, oohh matron. :top marks

Feed McGraw
07-10-2011, 06:40 PM
:agree::thumbsup: We need to keep it up, oohh matron. :top marks

As Steve McLaren would say - For shure. :thumbsup:

Number69
07-10-2011, 07:59 PM
I wrote this Hibs song couple of years back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJlZjWMRlLE

07-10-2011, 08:06 PM
I wrote this Hibs song couple of years back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJlZjWMRlLE

Very good. :agree: Some of the yam comments are just pathetic. Sad, sad people.

Number69
07-10-2011, 08:22 PM
Very good. :agree: Some of the yam comments are just pathetic. Sad, sad people.

Soon shot down by the mighty Hibees though :D

09-10-2011, 07:40 PM
Sorry s43 was just an idea,, which I think im entitled to give .

were having a go,it fills a gap and whats droll in your eyes may not be droll in others, wheres your input?

Aye but the think is you were either taking the pash or serious. Can you really imagine our Singing Section singing ANY version of The Edinburgh Song? Invented by Vermin and sung by Vermin.

Here's my effort. May be pash but I just love the song. Play the tune through once and then again singing these words

A great anthem by the Kaiser Chiefs - Oh My God I can't Believe it!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqP6r2yvbog

Time on your side that will never end
With the greatest time you can ever spend
When you stand in a shirt with a number on it
Singing the songs till you’ve got no voice left

It don't matter to me
'Cos all I want to be
Is a loyal Hibs Supporter
In Section 43

We don’t waste time always dragging the past up
Try not to moan when the team has messed up
Backing the team even when they’re losing
Getting here early while the rest are boozing

It don't matter to me
'Cos all I want to be
In Section 43

Oh my god I can’t believe it
I love being here watching Hibs at home
And oh my god I can’t believe it

Always striving for greater glory
We’re so proud of the Hibees story
Knock us down and we'll jump back up again
Try to kill us but we won't be beaten

It don't matter to me
'Cos all I want to be
In Section 43

Oh my god I can’t believe it

_hucks_
09-10-2011, 09:36 PM
To the tune of 'Lola'

He's got tattoos and he's strong as an ox
And he scores great goals from the edge of the box
It's O'Connor, O O O O'Connor

He runs from the cops and he snorts cocaine
He left us once but now he's back again

09-10-2011, 10:29 PM
Probably not very original but:

To the tune of 'Viva Ronaldo' etc.

Garry O'Connor,
When he gets the ball,
Garry scores them all,
Garry O'Connor

Best i could come up with off the top of my head :greengrin

10-10-2011, 03:00 PM
To the tune of 'Lola'

That was quite good but you spoilt it with the reference to class A drugs. Not really the image I suspect the singing section want to promote.

_hucks_
10-10-2011, 05:53 PM
Fair enough, for me the songs a bit of fun, I was recently in an AFC Wimbledon crowd who were all singing about drinking champaigne and snorting cocaine and it was all part of a cracking atmosphere. Personally I don't find it to be in bad taste to the point of being unsuitable for the football terraces, but if the support more generally do, then by all means cut it, replace it with something else.

10-10-2011, 06:02 PM
Fair enough, for me the songs a bit of fun, I was recently in an AFC Wimbledon crowd who were all singing about drinking champaigne and snorting cocaine and it was all part of a cracking atmosphere. Personally I don't find it to be in bad taste to the point of being unsuitable for the football terraces, but if the support more generally do, then by all means cut it, replace it with something else.

Probably more that O'Connor will want to forget about it and so do we. I admit it is funny in the song but doubt it would be popular.

delacraig
10-10-2011, 06:03 PM
(Tune - 11th song down on the following link. "His Name is Malcolm Glazer")

http://fcunited.ru/en/songs.php

"His name was Wallace Mercer, he conjured up a plan,
To merge the Embra fitba' clubs, to take on the Old Firm,
He underestimated, the passion an the pride,
Of the famous Embra Hibees, who will never ever die",
(repeat)

43old
11-10-2011, 04:14 PM
We don't Care - 4th one down click play on the red bar http://fcunited.ru/en/songs.php

We don't care about jambo's
We don't care what they say
All i care about
Is watching hibees
(is watching hibees)

What do you guys think of this? The first 2 lines need tweaked, would be 100% better without the reference to jambo's.

At The Edge
11-10-2011, 04:42 PM
A lot of good songs on the FC site, we could defo change and use a lot of them.
also like the lay out, something we could perhaps put on the 12th man forum as a sticky with all the songs available for everyone to see and learn,
as well as all the classic Hibs songs of course.
your one stop shop for all tunes Hibs! :greengrin

:cgwa

At The Edge
14-10-2011, 06:31 PM
To the tune of 'Lola'

Changed the 'controversial' line to this below

Hes back in green with a 9 on his back
And when he gets the ball its all out attack

14-10-2011, 10:56 PM
Changed the 'controversial' line to this below

Hes back in green with a 9 on his back
And when he gets ON the ball its all out attack

Rab - I've added an ON to keep the rhythm right otherwise this one is the dogs bollox :thumbsup:

headshrinker
15-10-2011, 05:18 AM
I remember when we took - seven off you
Get it up you, get it right up you

And then we beat (fked) you six - two
Ho- Ho, get it up you, get it right up you:flag:

_hucks_
15-10-2011, 08:56 AM
Changed the 'controversial' line to this below He's got tattoos and he's strong as an oxAnd he scores great goals from the edge of the box It's O'Connor, O O O O'ConnorHes back in green with a 9 on his backAnd when he gets the ball its all out attackIt's O'Connor, O O O O'Connor How about He drives too fast and he crashes his car, He tries to run but he doesn't get farI kid!

15-10-2011, 09:04 AM
Big G on the Bounce suggested this ditty called the Holy Ground, which I think is apt, a belter, a rabble rouser and easy to remember... :wink:The Dubliners - Holy Ground (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66HQWjeHelQ)You could go with the original words of the first verse and chorus...Adieu to you my Dinah, ten thousand times adieu.We're going away from the Holy Ground and the girls that we love true.We will sail the salt seas over and then return for shore,To see again the girls we love and the Holy Ground once more.(Shouted) Fine girl you are!(Sung) You're the girl I do adore,And still I live in hope to see the Holy Ground once more.(Shouted) Fine girl you are!...or give it the Hibees once-over...Adieu to you my Hibees, ten thousand times adieu.We're going away from the Holy Ground and the team that we love true.We will sail the salt seas over and then return for shore,To see again the team we love and the Holy Ground once more.(Shouted) Fine team you are!(Sung) You're the team I adore,And still I live in hope to see the Holy Ground once more.(Shouted) Fine team you are! absolutely class!

15-10-2011, 09:59 AM
We don't Care - 4th one down click play on the red bar http://fcunited.ru/en/songs.php

We don't care about jambo's
All i care about
Is watching hibees
(is watching hibees)

What do you guys think of this? The first 2 lines need tweaked, would be 100% better without the reference to jambo's.

Probably better as;
We don't care about Jambo's
All I know is that I wanna be a Hibee (be a Hibee)

Quite surreal seeing us trying to nick songs from FC as I played a small part in their formation as they played their first ever game against Leigh and I've got a few mates who are founder members of FCUM and do a lot of volunteer work for them etc.

One worth looking at on YouTube is the FC fans singing 'Bring on United' pre-match or even better Salford rugby fans singing 'Bring on the Salford' - would be ace to get a deafening 'Bring on the Hibees' going just before the teams are due to come out, especially for that child-like excitement of coming out of the concourse and seeing the pitch and the crowd etc; imagine queuing to get in to the East Stand and hearing it echoing from inside the ground :agree:

MotherSuperior
15-10-2011, 10:30 AM
Thought about changing the lyrics to champagne supernova by Oasis. My attempt is pretty basic, but maybe someone else could give it a go:
New year's day 1973
We scored 7, happy days!
Where were you while we were getting high?
Slowly walking down the hall
Faster than a Ivan sproule
Where were you while we were getting high?
Someday you will find me
Caught beneath the landslide
In a champagne superhibee
A champagne superhibee in the sky

vercol36
15-10-2011, 11:41 AM

Like this;

(Shouted) Hibernian!

So is this one getting belted out today? Great song!

vercol36
15-10-2011, 07:01 PM
So is this one getting belted out today? Great song!

So that'll be a no then. All this talk about new songs and it was just the usual stuff in the end.

Oh, apart from that awful Sex Pistols cover, which three people at the back kept singing over and over. If you are going to take the time and effort to put words to a song and introduce it to the crowd, make sure it's.... well ..... not sh*te.