View Full Version : League Cup QF draw LIVE - Hibs v Celtic (Wed 26th October, 7:15pm KO)

22-09-2011, 11:48 AM
Well as close as I can find...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_cups/9597485.stm

22-09-2011, 11:56 AM
Good find sir :aok:

22-09-2011, 11:57 AM
Good find sir :aok:

I've been on it for 15 mins .. not a lot happens. Shona Robison about to do draw now though

22-09-2011, 11:58 AM
St Mirren - Cellic
Hibs - East Fife
Falkirk - Dundee U
Killie - Ayr

is ma guess

HibeeEmma
22-09-2011, 12:00 PM
St Mirren - Cellic
Hibs - East Fife
Falkirk - Dundee U
Killie - Ayr

is ma guess

Your guess or your wish?

22-09-2011, 12:00 PM
United vs Celtic
Ayr vs Kille
Falkirk vs St.Mirren
Hibs vs East Fife

is my guess

22-09-2011, 12:01 PM
Your guess or your wish?

:wink: :greengrin

22-09-2011, 12:01 PM
St Mirren - Cellic
Hibs - East Fife
Falkirk - Dundee U
Killie - Ayr

is ma guess

Dinae dae that!! I thought this was the draw :wink:

McSwanky
22-09-2011, 12:03 PM
Celtic v Hibs.

Is probably the worst draw we could hope for.

HibeeEmma
22-09-2011, 12:05 PM
Celtic v Hibs.

Got to beat the best to be the best....

one day maybe...
How bad is it that the draw isna even at least live on the radio. No wonder our game is a laughing stock and we cannot get sponsors. Joke....

Got to beat the best to be the best....

Especially if you are Jean Claude Van Damme.

22-09-2011, 12:06 PM
1300: No call from Chris yet. I told you these things seldom start on time...
1258: BBC Scotland's chief football reporter Chris McLaughlin is our man at the draw. Follow him on Twitter here (http://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug) .

22-09-2011, 12:06 PM
Celtic v Hibs.

is this what's called 'stating the obvious'

McSwanky
22-09-2011, 12:07 PM
is this what's called 'stating the obvious'

How bad is it that the draw isna even at least live on the radio. No wonder our game is a laughing stock and we cannot get sponsors. Joke....

:agree: Spot on Mr...

TamHibs
Celtic v Hibs.

Is that who we've got?!

McSwanky
22-09-2011, 12:08 PM
Is that who we've got?!

At least, not yet, anyway.

22-09-2011, 12:09 PM
Is that who we've got?!

No. Yet.

Is that who we've got?!

Nah, we got Hearts.

Simon70
Is that who we've got?!

No

I don't understand why they don't have this on TV or at least radio:confused:

TamHibs

At least, not yet, anyway.

Cheers for the heart attack.....

22-09-2011, 12:10 PM
hertz will get a home draw(FACT)

Does anyone know what the hell is going on.

BTW, the fake message about Celtic is not funny! (Unless it is for real)

one day maybe...
Is that who we've got?!

Naw the draw was made but they have chucked all the balls back in because Celtic got an away tie to East Fife, Neil Lennon moaned like buggery that it was cauld in Methil so they are drawing it again. :greengrin

Nah, we got Hearts.

McSwanky
22-09-2011, 12:13 PM

Sorry, I shouldn't have done it. I was just jumping on the bandwagon.

DOnt think it was a joke mate he was stating a point - celtic v hibs , would be the worst pssible draw. Dont think he said or meant to implement that this was the draw :thumbsup:

13:10 and nothing yet, latest below from BBC. Update just starting now :thumbsup:

1310: "I have been lucky enough to be involved in a lot of giant killing acts in the past but that was sensational," said a delighted East Fife manager John Robertson after Tuesday's win at Pittodrie. "We told them that they had nothing to fear. They were dropping like flies in extra time with cramp but they hung in there and in the end I don't think anybody would deny that we were worthy of our victory."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/46017000/gif/_46017087_twitter_44x44.gif

1307: FrazWriter tweets: "I am dreaming of a Killie vs. Ayr draw! PRAY FOR AYR, PRAY FOR AYR..."

1305: "I think any other club will be looking at us and hoping to avoid us in the draw, especially at Somerset Park," said Ayr United gaffer Brian Reid. "We know if we win the next round that's us in the semi-finals and for a club like Ayr and their supporters that would be terrific.

1302: "I feel exceptionally proud of those young players. Whatever credit they get over the next couple of days, they certainly merit," said Falkirk boss Steven Pressley after last night's famous victory over Rangers."They showed desire and focus to win the game and they deserve all the praise going. Nobody could have asked for more of them."

1300: No call from Chris yet. I told you these things seldom start on time...

1258: BBC Scotland's chief football reporter Chris McLaughlin is our man at the draw. Follow him on Twitter here (http://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug) .

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/46017000/gif/_46017087_twitter_44x44.gif

1256: S_Ayres on Twitter the hashtag #bbcsportsound: "Hopefully Celtic get East Fife away! They seem to be giving SPL sides good games. Would be nice for East Fife too! #leaguecup"

1254: Minister for Commonwealth Games and Sport Shona Robison MSP will be making the draw. She represents Dundee City East, so will she be doing her best to get a favourable tie for Dundee United? It's all above board, I'm sure.

derekHFC
St Mirren v Ayr
Celtic v Hibs
Killie v Falkirk
East Fife vs. Dundee Utd

22-09-2011, 12:15 PM
"I think any other club will be looking at us and hoping to avoid us in the draw, especially at Somerset Park," said Ayr United gaffer Brian Reid. I know they beat us earlier in the year but he must still be celebrating from last night coming out with nonsense like that.

HiBremian
22-09-2011, 12:15 PM
15 mins late and still no draw.

From the BBC:

"Still no word from Livi! What are these Scottish Football League bigwigs up to?"

Maybe they've abandoned the League Cup 'cos the Huns are oot.

OOps:

St Mirren v Ayr

22-09-2011, 12:16 PM
St.Mirren vs Ayr

St Mirren v AyrCeltic v HibsKillie v FalkirkEast Fife vs. Dundee Utd Oh well

St Mirren vs Ayr

St Mirren v Ayr
Celtic v Hibs
Killie v Falkirk
East Fife vs. Dundee Utd

Bugger, least we are at home.

Hibs vs Celtic

Knew it :boo hoo:

Celtic at home.

22-09-2011, 12:17 PM
ST MIRREN v AYR UTD
DUNDEE UTD v FALKIRK & HIBERNIAN v CELTIC
KILMARNOCK v EAST FIFE

HibeeEmma
I reiterate my point...you have to beat the best to be the best...

HiBremian
FFS Hibs v Smellies

Tims at Easter Road

Oh, get tae **** :grr:

At least it's at home, but still, grrrrrr

So we are at home?

Hibs v Celtic @ ER!

the_ginger_hibee
Ah well...

Hibs v Celtic

derekHFC
Bugger, least we are at home.

Are we? I got told away.

tamsonsbairn
Celtic at easter road.

ST MIRREN v AYR UTD
DUNDEE UTD v FALKIRK
HIBERNIAN v CELTIC
KILMARNOCK v EAST FIFE

Not a good draw for us, suppose we could have been away. :rolleyes:

one day maybe...
Oh well its a home tie at least, damn and double damn..

Pleased with that. As much as we're pish, I really don't think Celtic are the team they were.

It's a cup match - all or nothing. I'd love it if we put them out. Funny thing is, we could beat them, beat Dundee Utd in the Semi then lose to East Fife in the finals.

Kilmarnock vs East Fife
St.Mirren vs Ayr
Dundee Utd vs Falkirk
Hibs vs Celtic

22-09-2011, 12:18 PM
oh well we will just do it the hard way. Mon the Hibs

EskbankHibby
f*** it, we would have to beat them to win the thing anyway, better at ER than hampden imo.

Are we definitely at home then?

Gotta play them at some point; Would rather ER than Hampden.

Still, Terrible draw for us.

22-09-2011, 12:19 PM
With it not being televised or even on the radio you question are these things a fix.

All SPL sides get home ties. Hoping all progress so they can play at Hampden and help pay the running costs for the national stadium.

Its a conspiracy...

Alex1875
I suppose we have to beat the best to be the best.. at least we are at home!

The rest of the draw is pretty **** as well, even if Hibs get past Celtc they will probably have to beat two out of Dundee Utd/Killie/St Mirren to win the thing.

22-09-2011, 12:20 PM
Probably gives us the worst chance of getting to the next round but our best chance of actually winning the cup, if you catch my drift. We've a better chance against them at ER than we do in Glasgow. Hope it's not on telly so we can get a decent crowd. Midweek cup games under the lights used to be special.

22-09-2011, 12:21 PM
We've got them away from home on the Saturday after as well

vanNISHtelroy
Pretty good draw for Killie, thought we would get Celtic either home or away.

Ah well, hopefully A^r get through and we can meet in the next round....or hope for an A^rshire final!

Am I just imagining things or did that BBC page initially say Celtic v Hibs and not Hibs v Celtic? :confused:

I know it says Hibs v Celtic now but I could have sworn that it had us away when it first got updated.

Hibs board need to play the game here, reduced entry prices and let's fill the place!

shock horror......

lets be honest, if we wanted to win this then we'd probably have to face them at some point.... good to get it out the way now! :wink:

22-09-2011, 12:22 PM
Probably gives us the worst chance of getting to the next round but our best chance of actually winning the cup, if you catch my drift. We've a better chance against them at ER than we do in Glasgow.

Spot on. Let's do them.

Bob Box Fish
Better to get Celtic now at home than later in Glasgow IMO.

Blame McSwanky! :agree:

We'll play them midweek then Saturday.

Last time I remember us doing that we beat them on penalties at ER in the Skol Cup Quarter Finals 1985 and got humped 5-0 on the Saturday, i'd take that. :greengrin

22-09-2011, 12:23 PM
On reflection would rather that draw than Killie or St Mirren away due to our terrible records there.

We'll have to beat them if we want to win it, best chance of doing that is at ER.

Hibs @home to Celtic at least it will be on TV for those who can't make it

Hibs board need to play the game here, reduced entry prices and let's fill the place!

We wouldn't fill the place if it was free entry. Hope it's not on TV as the crowd could be pathetic.

alfie
Yeah, get them out of the way now, at home, to set up another Final at Hampden v Kille :wink:

22-09-2011, 12:24 PM
Got more chance of winning at ER than we have at Darkeid or Dumpden. Would rather somebody else played them but ER is our best bet to do it.

McSwanky
22-09-2011, 12:24 PM
Blame McSwanky! :agree:

Defo. :agree:

22-09-2011, 12:25 PM
With it not being televised or even on the radio you question are these things a fix.

All SPL sides get home ties. Hoping all progress so they can play at Hampden and help pay the running costs for the national stadium.

Its a conspiracy...

Apart from the team they would really want to get through if it was a fix.

22-09-2011, 12:26 PM
I guess we were possibly going to have to play them anyway if we are wanting to get to a final. I would rather get them this round at Easter Road than at Hampden in a semi. Was really hoping that we would not see that lot till the final though!

Any news on the date of the fixture, please tell me it is a saturday at 3pm and not on the sodding TV. A big crowd at the road would be fantastic, especially if we get stuck in and turn the rancid mob over.

22-09-2011, 12:26 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4X4E4inkEg

We can beat Celtic. We have done it before.

22-09-2011, 12:27 PM
When we play them in the cup it will be their 3rd game in 6 days as they play Rennes on Thurs 20/10 in France followed by Aberdeen at home on Sun 23/10.

They'll be knackered by the time they play us and we'll stuff them.

I guess we were possibly going to have to play them anyway if we are wanting to get to a final. I would rather get them this round at Easter Road than at Hampden in a semi. Was really hoping that we would not see that lot till the final though!

Any news on the date of the fixture, please tell me it is a saturday at 3pm and not on the sodding TV. A big crowd at the road would be fantastic, especially if we get stuck in and turn the rancid mob over.

No League Cup ties are played at the weekend, except for the final.

It will be either a Tuesday or a Wednesday evening.

Perhaps they want them out as their ugly sisters got put in the bin last night! Maybe this is the olive branch to football fans all over scotland, their idea of giving something back!

22-09-2011, 12:28 PM
Pretty good draw for Killie, thought we would get Celtic either home or away.

Ah well, hopefully A^r get through and we can meet in the next round....or hope for an A^rshire final!

Probably the understatement of the year. :greengrin

22-09-2011, 12:28 PM

But in their minds Celtic are certs to beat us anywhere.... :rolleyes:

22-09-2011, 12:29 PM
The game will be on Wednesday 26th October.

22-09-2011, 12:30 PM
When we play them in the cup it will be their 3rd game in 6 days as they play Rennes on Thurs 20/10 in France followed by Aberdeen at home on Sun 23/10.

Whats the Chances one game will be postponed
Likely the cup v us!!!

22-09-2011, 12:31 PM

Which kind of means it will definitely be the Wednesday.

vanNISHtelroy
22-09-2011, 12:31 PM
Probably the understatement of the year. :greengrin

Could still be tricky...wouldn't put it by Killie to do an Aberdeen on the day!

22-09-2011, 12:33 PM
No League Cup ties are played at the weekend, except for the final.

It will be either a Tuesday or a Wednesday evening.

The semi finals are now a weekend. 1/4 finals are 25th 26th October. We will play on the 26th due to Celtics european game the week before IMO.

22-09-2011, 12:34 PM
We'd have more chance of beating them now than at a later stage.

22-09-2011, 12:38 PM
The semi finals are now a weekend. 1/4 finals are 25th 26th October. We will play on the 26th due to Celtics european game the week before IMO.

:agree: The Europa game's on Thursday, which pushed the SPL match following to Sunday, and the LCup quarter to Wednesday.

So we really want Rennes and Aberdeen to kick the wotsit out of them... :devil:

22-09-2011, 12:41 PM
We'll beat them. Don't know why but I know it!

Anyways didn't see them drawn but must be Rangers and Hearts for the other game. That'll be a cracker can't wait!

22-09-2011, 12:42 PM
We'll have to beat them if we want to win it, best chance of doing that is at ER.

Could be a lot worse. Could be at Celtc Park. Or indeed later on at Hampden.

We've had lots of great nights at home v Celtc in the League Cup. No reason why we can't do them again...

GGTTH.

22-09-2011, 12:45 PM
Have I missed something??? When did Celtic become some unbeatable super power???

Aye we are pretty gash but bejus, it's Celtic not bloody Barcelona.

LeithBoozy
22-09-2011, 12:46 PM
I watched the game last night and did not see anything to worry about. Ross county were so unlucky with the shot that skelped the post.

22-09-2011, 12:50 PM
I jokingly made a prediction at work this morning that we'd put Celtic out then get knocked out by Ayr... I certainly hope the first part of that is true :greengrin

22-09-2011, 12:51 PM
We'll play them midweek then Saturday.

Last time I remember us doing that we beat them on penalties at ER in the Skol Cup Quarter Finals 1985 and got humped 5-0 on the Saturday, i'd take that. :greengrin

I would too. However, in 1985/6 we then went on to beat Rangers in the Semis over two legs (lost 1-0 at home but beat them 2-0 at Ibrox) only to lose comfortably in the final to Aberdeen. Typical Hibs really. At least we can't do that this year as both those teams are oot.

22-09-2011, 12:57 PM
I would too. However, in 1985/6 we then went on to beat Rangers in the Semis over two legs (lost 1-0 at home but beat them 2-0 at Ibrox) only to lose comfortably in the final to Aberdeen. Typical Hibs really. At least we can't do that this year as both those teams are oot.

No we won at home 2-0 and lost at ibrox.

22-09-2011, 01:00 PM
:agree: The Europa game's on Thursday, which pushed the SPL match following to Sunday, and the LCup quarter to Wednesday.

So we really want Rennes and Aberdeen to kick the wotsit out of them... :devil:

Oh yes :greengrin, not putting much hope on Aberdeen giving them a game though however if they are under pressure in both Europe and SPL in terms of needing to get results it will give them less option to rotate their team.
Dont think it is a bad time to be playing them however it is still a month away so who knows what form/injuries etc will be like then.

22-09-2011, 01:11 PM

Sorry, you're right mate. I just remembered us getting a great result in the second leg at Ibrox. Mind you, not like us to lose at Ibrox:wink:

22-09-2011, 01:11 PM
Apart from getting them at Parkhead that is the worst draw we could have had.

If this had been drawn between 2004 - 2008, even in 2009, I would have felt we had a reasonable chance at home and we would have got a reasonable crowd in.

Now, unless we improve dramatically between now and then, I'm not holding my breath and the crowd will be dissappointing.

Still, as someone has said, they are not Barcelona so you never know.

For all those saying we have to beat them at some point to win the cup - yes we probably do but not definitely. Would much rather have seen United, Killie or anyone put them out while we played lesser teams.

When Hearts cemented their "special relationship" with the Scottish cup in 2006, they did not play either of the OF.

There you go, thats cup draws and it is a difficult but not impossible task.

Joe Baker II
22-09-2011, 01:13 PM
We wouldn't fill the place if it was free entry. Hope it's not on TV as the crowd could be pathetic.

Plus point is a sensible kick off time regardless of TV coverage.

We got 9,000 (about half Celtic fans) for quarter final in 2003-04 quarter final during low point of Williamson period for a game I think was live on Channel 5 and think a combination of increasing Celtic's allocation (they might bring more than 4000 but unlike the first game of this season not much more) and sensible prices might result in attendance exceeding that and at least not being an embarassment - but not by much.

Given both these options seem sensible will not be holding my breath that Hibs take any action (and Celtic can also block a price reduction I think which gives Petrie/Hyland an easy excuse on the pricing) .

22-09-2011, 01:20 PM

Not sure about typical Hibs Aberdeen under SAF were a much better team than Rangers at that time.

Full Time Supporter
22-09-2011, 01:23 PM
Does anyone know the date of the Semis and final?

22-09-2011, 01:27 PM

Quarter-finals: Tuesday 25th & Wednesday 26th October

Semi-finals: Saturday 28th & Sunday 29th January 2012, Hampden Park, Glasgow

Final: Sunday 18th March, Hampden Park, Glasgow

22-09-2011, 01:28 PM

Final is March 18th.

22-09-2011, 01:31 PM
good draw for the cup top-ups, otherwise, never mind, theres always next year. :wink:

Full Time Supporter
Thanks guys.

Not sure about typical Hibs Aberdeen under SAF were a much better team than Rangers at that time.

Very true - but beating both Celtic and Rangers in the same competition was a pretty good achievement, even then.

22-09-2011, 01:33 PM
Final is March 18th.

Maybe that's a good omen as that would be the fifth anniversary of our last cup win! :pray:

22-09-2011, 01:36 PM
Apart from getting them at Parkhead that is the worst draw we could have had.

If this had been drawn between 2004 - 2008, even in 2009, I would have felt we had a reasonable chance at home and we would have got a reasonable crowd in.

Now, unless we improve dramatically between now and then, I'm not holding my breath and the crowd will be dissappointing.

Still, as someone has said, they are not Barcelona so you never know.

For all those saying we have to beat them at some point to win the cup - yes we probably do but not definitely. Would much rather have seen United, Killie or anyone put them out while we played lesser teams.

When Hearts cemented their "special relationship" with the Scottish cup in 2006, they did not play either of the OF.

There you go, thats cup draws and it is a difficult but not impossible task.

Conversely, didn't we put both of the Old Firm out on our way to losing to Livingston in the League Cup Final?

There's no easy games in the later stages of a cup, you just have to beat what's put in front of you!

22-09-2011, 01:44 PM

Remember the games well. Hibs team was full of Gordons (Hunter, Rae, Chisholm and Durie). Insave strip. Should have won by a lot more at Easter Road. Davie Cooper scored a superb free kick at Ibrox in the first half. Backs to the wall but we got through. Bus had upstairs front window panned on M8 back to Edinburgh by a brick hanging from a bridge. Memories eh!

22-09-2011, 01:48 PM
Remember the games well. Hibs team was full of Gordons (Hunter, Rae, Chisholm and Durie). Insave strip. Should have won by a lot more at Easter Road. Davie Cooper scored a superb free kick at Ibrox in the first half. Backs to the wall but we got through. Bus had upstairs front window panned on M8 back to Edinburgh by a brick hanging from a bridge. Memories eh!

Did Roughie not also save a pen from the current Rangers manager in the first leg?

22-09-2011, 02:01 PM
I think this could be Killie's year for this cup

22-09-2011, 02:08 PM
Did Roughie not also save a pen from the current Rangers manager in the first leg?

I think you are correct. Maybe memory not all I thought it was. Right enough Rangers couldn't have got through 2 games without a penalty in those days.

GraniteCityHibs
22-09-2011, 02:16 PM
I jokingly made a prediction at work this morning that we'd put Celtic out then get knocked out by Ayr... I certainly hope the first part of that is true :greengrin

I 've been saying much the same thing.

It's the Hibs way-

Beat Celtic in the 1/4s
Beat Dundee United in the semi's

...and then get pumped by ayr United in the Final!

Hope they prove me wrong!! (about the last one!):hibees

22-09-2011, 02:21 PM
I think you are correct. Maybe memory not all I thought it was. Right enough Rangers couldn't have got through 2 games without a penalty in those days.

Yep the obligatory pen especially when losing. Can also remember McGinlay giving Rangers a shed load of soft free kicks outside the Hibs box in the return game at Ibrox.

22-09-2011, 02:30 PM
can someone remind me if it was rangers or Celtic we beat last time we won the cup? Can't remember.

22-09-2011, 02:39 PM
can someone remind me if it was rangers or Celtic we beat last time we won the cup? Can't remember.

When we won in 2007, we played neither Rangers nor Celtic along the way.

We beat;

Peterhead:4-0
Gretna:6-0
Hearts:1-0
St Johnstone:3-1 (AET)
Kilmarnock:5-1

22-09-2011, 03:00 PM
Can't see a big attendance at this one, both cup competitions have been devalued to the extent that nobody pays much heed till the semi's/final.

On the draw, Celtic are now obviously the team to beat. In an ideal world, would like to have had Dundee United do the dirty work, but it's not a bad draw. They are probably more vulnerable in the QF's than the SF or final, and more so at ER than Hampden or Parkhead.

Would rather see us have a dramatic win or go down all guns blazing at ER, than a face them at Hampden in a ghost semi or a final full of glory hunters from both sides.

Worry is that we'll do the dirty work and then capitulate to somebody else, as tends to the way with OF conquering sides.

22-09-2011, 03:58 PM
It's a great draw.

We've much more chance of defeating the plastic paddies at ER in this round than we would at Hampden in the final.

Believe!

22-09-2011, 04:07 PM
When we won in 2007, we played neither Rangers nor Celtic along the way.We beat;Peterhead:4-0Gretna:6-0Hearts:1-0St Johnstone:3-1 (AET)Kilmarnock:5-1That was my point. None of this we would have had to beat them at some point nonsense.. Its a rubbish draw.

22-09-2011, 04:18 PM
That was my point. None of this we would have had to beat them at some point nonsense.. Its a rubbish draw.

we beat both celtic and rangers only to get beat by livi in the final one time, and in 1991 we beat rangers in the semi finals. I wasn't around in 72 but im sure we beat celtic in the final. Point being it can be done, even by us!

22-09-2011, 04:31 PM

They also have a Europa Cup game a week later.
If they have a chance of qualifying from their Europa group (ie beat Udinese in Glasgow and Rennes in France) there's no way that they will be fielding a full strength team for this game.

22-09-2011, 04:53 PM
They also have a Europa Cup game a week later.
If they have a chance of qualifying from their Europa group (ie beat Udinese in Glasgow and Rennes in France) there's no way that they will be fielding a full strength team for this game.

Hopefully they will have picked up a few injuries leading up to the cup tie as well.

This is probably the toughest tie Celtic could have got as well.

I'm starting to get a good feeling about this game. :thumbsup:

Gerard
22-09-2011, 06:22 PM
If we are going to win the cup then we usually have to beat Celtic or Rangers at some time. We should not fear any team because if our team is good enough to win the cup; we will win the cup:wink:
G

22-09-2011, 08:36 PM
Good draw for us . Get Celtic during a busy period of European games , no embarrassing defeat to lower league team an d IF we make final no problem with tickets .

22-09-2011, 09:02 PM
If we are going to win the cup then we usually have to beat Celtic or Rangers at some time. We should not fear any team because if our team is good enough to win the cup; we will win the cup:wink:
G

Teams who have won a trophy without having to beat the Old Firm (Since 1980);

2006 Scottish Cup-Hearts
1997 Scottish Cup-Kilmarnock
1987 Scottish Cup-St Mirren
1986 Scottish Cup-Aberdeen

2007 League Cup-Hibernian
2004 League Cup-Livingston
1986 League Cup-Aberdeen
1980 League Cup-Dundee Utd

22-09-2011, 09:08 PM
Teams who have won a trophy without having to beat the Old Firm (Since 1980);

2006 Scottish Cup-Hearts
1997 Scottish Cup-Kilmarnock
1987 Scottish Cup-St Mirren
1986 Scottish Cup-Aberdeen

2007 League Cup-Hibernian
2004 League Cup-Livingston
1986 League Cup-Aberdeen
1980 League Cup-Dundee Utd

The reason Livi didnt meet either of the OF in 2004 is because we beat both of them en route to the final. Then lost to Livi. :boo hoo:

23-09-2011, 08:12 AM
I'd be more confident of beating Celtic at Parkhead than at ER. They like playing at ER.

23-09-2011, 08:42 AM
I'd be more confident of beating Celtic at Parkhead than at ER. They like playing at ER.

oh god no.

If we can kick on now and start playing better and win some games at ER, we might be more ready to take them on in a month's time.... and if they come to ER thinking they've got it easy, then great - we can shock them.

most of the games against the OF the last couple of years, we have shot ourselves in the foot with terrible defending, not keeping the ball well enough and generally rolling over all too easy.
We shouldn't be afraid to take the game to them in a 1 off cup match... and at home under the floodlights, sounds like it should be an opportunity to do so!

23-09-2011, 09:12 AM
oh god no.

If we can kick on now and start playing better and win some games at ER, we might be more ready to take them on in a month's time.... and if they come to ER thinking they've got it easy, then great - we can shock them.

most of the games against the OF the last couple of years, we have shot ourselves in the foot with terrible defending, not keeping the ball well enough and generally rolling over all too easy.
We shouldn't be afraid to take the game to them in a 1 off cup match... and at home under the floodlights, sounds like it should be an opportunity to do so!

Completely agree. An up and at them performance at home under the floodlights with a noisy home support behind the team will give us much more of a chance to win.

Septimus
23-09-2011, 03:23 PM
Hat Trick for O'Connor.

23-09-2011, 03:35 PM
We'll beat Celtic with ease, then lose to East Fife in the semi's or something. :boo hoo:

24-09-2011, 05:56 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/15047548.stm

BBC Scotland will broadcast live television coverage of Hibernian's Scottish Communities League Cup quarter-final against Celtic.
The Easter Road match, which kicks off at 1915 BST, will be screened on BBC One Scotland on Wednesday 26 October.
Hibernian reached the last eight after beating Motherwell on penalties (http://www.hibs.net/sport1/hi/football/14893621.stm) at Fir Park on Tuesday evening.
Celtic overcame Ross County (http://www.hibs.net/sport1/hi/football/14910253.stm) in Dingwall, scoring either side of half-time with no reply.
All four quarter-final ties will be covered live on BBC Radio Scotland and highlights of the games will be available on the BBC Sport website.
St Mirren host Ayr United, Falkirk travel to face Dundee United and Kilmarnock will take on East Fife at Rugby Park.

24-09-2011, 05:59 PM
kicks off at 1915 BST

Dearie me.

24-09-2011, 06:01 PM
Dearie me.

I finish training at Meadowbank at 6. So i will need to go straight to the game.

24-09-2011, 07:07 PM
WTF...... :confused:
Why the hell is it kicking off at 7:15???
This is ridiculous, what a bunch of fannees running the football in this country! :confused:

24-09-2011, 07:11 PM
This is ridiculous, what a bunch of fannees running the football in this country! :confused:

TV presumably. I'm hoping it's a typo but that's what the BBC site says at the moment.

24-09-2011, 07:15 PM
The Ross County - Celtic game had a 7.15 ko so it must be right.

24-09-2011, 07:45 PM

Yet another example of TV ruining the game . Any working man having to travel any distance at all is going to struggle. From Peebles for example it means leaving at 5-30pm . No wonder thousands of potential spectators will decide to go home, get washed , have their tea and put their feet up to watch it on the box.

25-09-2011, 12:15 AM
Definitely a 19.15 kick off, it was mentioned by Radio Scotland during Sportsound yesterday.

25-09-2011, 07:42 AM
Definitely a 19.15 kick off, it was mentioned by Radio Scotland during Sportsound yesterday.

I think they have brought it forward in case it goes to extra time.
A 7.45pm ko with extra time wouldn't finish before the 10 o'clock news

25-09-2011, 07:54 AM
I think they have brought it forward in case it goes to extra time. A 7.45pm ko with extra time wouldn't finish before the 10 o'clock news But the early kickoff means BBC1 scotland loses the One Show, which although a big pile of steaming cack, is a big audience by all accounts.Which goes to show theres no logic involved apart from the desire to make attending Scottish football matches as difficult as possible. Well done to all concerned.