View Full Version : Match Updates Official Hibernian F.C. vs Aberdeen ~ Match Thread

10-09-2011, 09:16 PM
I'm staking my reputation on the line and I'm getting in early here before anyone else starts a thread; I've not lost in all four of my previous match threads so fingers crossed I make it 5.

Colin Calderwood's Hibernian side should be fresh, fit and raring to go following the international break.

Any early team news?

How's the weather shaping up for tomorrow in Edinburgh?

**Admins, feel free to close this thread until nearer kick-off**

:hibees:hibees

10-09-2011, 09:52 PM
Another match spoiled for me by being changed for every and any purpose to other than Saturday at 3pm.......again wondering why those who buy ST's get so little consideration....

10-09-2011, 10:14 PM
Another match spoiled for me by being changed for every and any purpose to other than Saturday at 3pm.......again wondering why those who buy ST's get so little consideration....:agree: yes, once again the real fans are ignored. I thought it was bad when Satanta called the shots, now SPN or whatever they are are spoiling it for real fans, although tommorow has nowt tae dae wi' them. also, i've heard that Alba are showing it???when are the board members of Hibernian football club gonnae stand up for the fans of Hibernian? Lindsay is talking through his backside when he refers to continental links/growing the links with likeminded people in the game etc, It's time to get a grip on the real situation........not only the fact that we are not getting results, we are losing fans every week when things are bad on the park, but it is compounded by the fact that folk are totally pissed off at the number of day/time changes already this season. people have bought season tickets in good faith, expecting the odd date change but it is almost unbelievable with the amount happening to HFC, ......did they really try to get the game on for today, when everybody and their dug new that bloody march was not allowed? I DESPAIR.

SOL1875
10-09-2011, 10:34 PM
i've heard that Alba are showing it???

You heard correct.

at 5.30pm and 10pm according to the radio times site. :aok:

http://www.radiotimes.com/episode/jdcj8/scottish-premier-league-football-hibernian-v-aberdeen

10-09-2011, 10:46 PM
You heard correct.

at 5.30pm and 10pm according to the radio times site. :aok:

http://www.radiotimes.com/episode/jdcj8/scottish-premier-league-football-hibernian-v-aberdeenmarvelous, thank christ ah got ma season ticket then.

10-09-2011, 10:47 PM
I'm staking my reputation on the line and I'm getting in early here before anyone else starts a thread; I've not lost in all four of my previous match threads so fingers crossed I make it 5.

Colin Calderwood's Hibernian side should be fresh, fit and raring to go following the international break.

Any early team news?

Griffiths is expected to start :agree:

C'Mon hibs :hibees

10-09-2011, 11:26 PM
Griffiths is expected to start :agree:

C'Mon hibs :hibeeswell, that's good. hope he does not start the way he did at ****boland though

jst1875
11-09-2011, 10:53 AM

Any early team news?

heres hoping your reputation is still intact at 4.45

:flag: :flag:

11-09-2011, 01:11 PM
Any team news?

11-09-2011, 01:19 PM
Who the hell will play LM?

Another position, which IMO we have never really solved.

11-09-2011, 01:19 PM
Stack
Towell
O'Hanlon
Hanlon
Murray
Sproule
Palsson
Osbourne
Scott
O'Connor
Agogo

No Booth, Griffiths, Sodje! :confused:

11-09-2011, 01:23 PM
Stack
Towell
O'Hanlon
Hanlon
Murray
Sproule
Palsson
Osbourne
Scott
O'Connor
Agogo

No Booth, Griffiths, Sodje! :confused:

Strong looking team though !?

11-09-2011, 01:24 PM
Brown
Booth
Spoony
Sparky
Sodje
Stephens
Galbraith. on the bench

11-09-2011, 01:30 PM
My worry would be the pace of aluko vs murray.

11-09-2011, 01:32 PM
More concerned about the fact that Griffiths sits on the bench when he is easily better than Agogo who is just crap. :confused:

11-09-2011, 01:35 PM
More concerned about the fact that Griffiths sits on the bench when he is easily better than Agogo who is just crap. :confused:

Have you been spying on training?

11-09-2011, 01:37 PM
My worry would be the pace of aluko vs murray. Thought Aluko had left? :confused:

11-09-2011, 01:40 PM

??? Aluko who is currently without a club??

11-09-2011, 01:41 PM
Thought Aluko had left? :confused:

you might be right actually, in which case we'll win 3-0!

CapitalHibs
11-09-2011, 01:43 PM
Jimmy Scott helping Murray on the left?

11-09-2011, 01:47 PM
Jimmy Scott helping Murray on the left?

I would think so, cant' see anyone else likely to go out that side. Although i know from speaking to a few dons fans they feel they are weak down the wings.

11-09-2011, 01:48 PM

Nice.

Real nice.

Septimus
11-09-2011, 01:51 PM
Is anybody getting the Hibs TV picture yet?

11-09-2011, 01:57 PM

I've not seen much of Agogo yet so cant really say if he' "crap" or not but I dont really get the Griffiths love in by some. While you are saying the you dont rate Agogo what has Griffiths done to warrant the statement?

For me Sodje should partner GOC up front and its hard on him if he's been pushed back by either Agogo or Griffiths. .

11-09-2011, 01:59 PM

And you came to this conclusion after both players playing less than on half each for Hibs.

11-09-2011, 02:00 PM

Mine's isn't :wink:

11-09-2011, 02:00 PM
Now away to start my media blackout...anyone else doing the same?

11-09-2011, 02:01 PM
I've not seen much of Agogo yet so cant really say if he' "crap" or not but I dont really get the Griffiths love in by some. While you are saying the you dont rate Agogo what has Griffiths done to warrant the statement?

For me Sodje should partner GOC up front and its hard on him if he's been pushed back by either Agogo or Griffiths. .

Agree with that, dont understand why Sodje isnt really getting a game, scored quite a few goals last season.

Massive game for us, really hope they can get the win (although got no faith in the team actually managing it).

11-09-2011, 02:04 PM
Did I hear that correct...a crowd of 6k?

11-09-2011, 02:04 PM
Now away to start my media blackout...anyone else doing the same?

Yup, nae twitter, facebook or Hibsnet for a few hours

11-09-2011, 02:08 PM
Did I hear that correct...a crowd of 6k?

:agree: Thats what David Begg said.

11-09-2011, 02:10 PM
Seems to be a lot of Aberdeen pressure, Hibs not managing to get their foot on the ball.

11-09-2011, 02:16 PM
Game on radio??

11-09-2011, 02:16 PM
Game on radio??

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6359425.stm

WarringtonHibee
11-09-2011, 02:18 PM
Place looks dead. :/

11-09-2011, 02:18 PM
Two poor teams here! We are possibly better going forward but they look better than us at the back.

11-09-2011, 02:22 PM
Scott doing well though.

11-09-2011, 02:25 PM
OConnor close. Great ball Hanlon.

11-09-2011, 02:26 PM
Good cross Sproule. OConnor misses kick. They might have scored right after.

11-09-2011, 02:27 PM
Hooffffffffffff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

11-09-2011, 02:28 PM
Only 5,000 Hibees at match. :worried:

11-09-2011, 02:28 PM
GOC should have scored, but this game has a draw written all over it

11-09-2011, 02:29 PM
Our back line looks really shaky. If the Dons get in behind us or into decent wide possesion we will be in trouble.

11-09-2011, 02:29 PM
We've not been working on passing during the break anyway!

11-09-2011, 02:32 PM
Agogo. Not for me just yet. Hopefully he scores now!

11-09-2011, 02:38 PM
Stack. Hanlon. Stack. Punt.

Just in case anyone can't see the game.

vantango79
11-09-2011, 02:39 PM
game on hibstv
very very poor

WarringtonHibee
11-09-2011, 02:42 PM
My eyes are bleeding.

Mango Man
11-09-2011, 02:42 PM
This game is diabolical so far, no quality in either side.

11-09-2011, 02:45 PM
Some joy from Sproule and Scott fighting for it once Agogo has missed the punt. Seems the most likely way we will get anything. Aberdeen hit side netting long throw not dealt with.

Leishy1995
11-09-2011, 02:46 PM
BBC making it seem terrible.

11-09-2011, 02:46 PM
OHanlon lucky to stay on. Stopped a real break away. Might have had cover.

11-09-2011, 02:47 PM
BBC making it seem terrible.probably calling it as it is

11-09-2011, 02:48 PM
BBC making it seem terrible.

Naw. It is terrible. Another corner causing bother.

Half time. Boos from the few souls here.

11-09-2011, 02:48 PM
rubbish! thats awful football.

11-09-2011, 02:49 PM
**** me this is dire.

11-09-2011, 02:49 PM
who is sparky squaring up to at half time ? while warming up

vantango79
11-09-2011, 02:52 PM
hopefully get griffiths on and get aggogo off he s not for me

11-09-2011, 02:53 PM
Best we have played this season but its still awful. Pallson our best player

11-09-2011, 02:54 PM
Well thats 45 minutes i will never get back. This is 2 of the worst football teams on this planet. Calderwoods clowns have no creativity, little ability or pace bar Sproule, and a back 4 slower than a fortnight in saughton.

Well done ya dumplin for putting this team together, i hope you are proud of the work you have done.

And as for you petrie, have a look around that new shiny stadium, and see what appointing that clown has done to crowds. Having him in charge, when he clearly did not want to be at the club has done nothing for moral in the support. A manager is supposed to galvanise the club and the support together, have a look around you, and tell me hes doing that.

11-09-2011, 02:55 PM
Sounds like a bit of a poor game on radio, but the way the bbc pundits are going on you'd think the rest of the premier league were clones of Barcelona.

The_Famous_HFC
11-09-2011, 02:57 PM
Could go either way. Finishing doesn't appear to be either teams strong suit.

Septimus
11-09-2011, 02:57 PM
So far it has been awful. Two relegation candidates without a clue. No crowd. The only attacking Hibby is Scott.

11-09-2011, 02:58 PM
This is just rank. Even if they let people in for free to see this it would be too much. What is disturbing me is the dearth of creativity and football. It is not like we are trying things and they are not coming off. On this basis, the only improvement that seems tangible is to get fitter, but fitter playing the same dross. The long term picture may well include a season out of the top flight.

11-09-2011, 02:58 PM
Could go either way. Finishing doesn't appear to be either teams strong suit.what does?

11-09-2011, 02:59 PM
Best we have played this season but its still awful. Pallson our best player

Exactly how I see it. Just need some more quality with the final ball and we might edge in front. Dons keeper is murder. At least the pitch looks good.

11-09-2011, 03:00 PM
Don't like Chick Young but he had a point there, at least give the youngsters a go. Game has been dire, get Galbraith and Griffiths on, a bit more pace.

11-09-2011, 03:02 PM
Bobby Williamson was right. I shouldve gone to the cinema.

Pass marks for palsson. Thats it.

Septimus
11-09-2011, 03:02 PM
Some nice stands to look at and very few people getting in the way of the view.

11-09-2011, 03:03 PM
Woeful and has 1-0 Dons written all over it.

The days of ever "enjoying" watching Hibs seem to fade further and further ..........

edwards
11-09-2011, 03:04 PM
Well thats 45 minutes i will never get back. This is 2 of the worst football teams on this planet. Calderwoods clowns have no creativity, little ability or pace bar Sproule, and a back 4 slower than a fortnight in saughton.

Well done ya dumplin for putting this team together, i hope you are proud of the work you have done.

And as for you petrie, have a look around that new shiny stadium, and see what appointing that clown has done to crowds. Having him in charge, when he clearly did not want to be at the club has done nothing for moral in the support. A manager is supposed to galvanise the club and the support together, have a look around you, and tell me hes doing that.

Spot on Blackpool you took the words right out of my mouth CC has another 45 minutes and that goes for Petrie as well TAXI :top marks

11-09-2011, 03:05 PM
Don't like Chick Young but he had a point there, at least give the youngsters a go. Game has been dire, get Galbraith and Griffiths on, a bit more pace.

Hibs seemed to start well and had a (very) brief period of stringing some passes together.

Now Radio Scotland on Freeview has cut out :grr:

11-09-2011, 03:07 PM
It cuts out at 4 pm every Saturday and Sunday on freeview, why I do not know, stupid if you ask me.

11-09-2011, 03:08 PM
Good long range effort from Scott.

vantango79
11-09-2011, 03:08 PM
unlucky scott wouldve been a cracker

11-09-2011, 03:09 PM

Ah but we don't give them a chance, a couple of bad games and they start to get shouted at.

11-09-2011, 03:09 PM
It cuts out at 4 pm every Saturday and Sunday on freeview, why I do not know, stupid if you ask me.
Cheers :aok: At least i know its not the freeview box :greengrin
back to radio scotland via the net then.

11-09-2011, 03:14 PM
Baltic up here today too.

WarringtonHibee
11-09-2011, 03:15 PM
Need to get one thing straight... These guys get paid to play football?! :confused:

11-09-2011, 03:17 PM
Scott concedes corner from half way line.

11-09-2011, 03:17 PM
Listening on the radio here, game is just so dire, punt ball by both teams, still not encouraging me to fork out £27 to see that rubbish. :confused:

11-09-2011, 03:18 PM
Need to get one thing straight... These guys get paid to play football?! :confused:

Yep. They are the replacements for all the wage thiefs.

11-09-2011, 03:18 PM
No change today then, still crap.

11-09-2011, 03:19 PM
Who's at home again FFS!

11-09-2011, 03:19 PM
Griffiths coming on. Booth too I think.

Top Pans Hibby
11-09-2011, 03:20 PM
From my seat in the lower west I can't tell if it litter or tumbleweed drifting across the pitch......

11-09-2011, 03:21 PM
Agogo and Murray off.

Dan Sarf
11-09-2011, 03:22 PM
From my seat in the lower west I can't tell if it litter or tumbleweed drifting across the pitch......

Torn-up seasons tickets.

Why was Agogo playing, what's happened to Sodje??? even Griffiths.

Griffiths finds Hibs player with first touch. Makes him man of the match so far.

steviehibsleith
Griffiths coming on. Booth too I think.

Its 0-0 and we are at home Gritthiths is positive but why a defender unless murray is struggling. Surely Galbraith would be a more attacking option .

Won't be long at this rate when it will be tumbleweed !!!!!

11-09-2011, 03:24 PM
Good long range effort from Booth.

Their keeper is mince. Need to test him more. Good Booth shot spilled away.

Scott missed at back post. Closer.

vantango79
shouldve scored scott

11-09-2011, 03:25 PM
Sproule in behind. Poor cross though.

11-09-2011, 03:25 PM
Its 0-0 and we are at home Gritthiths is positive but why a defender unless murray is struggling. Surely Galbraith would be a more attacking option .

If we chuck on another forward, ruin our shape and concede, would be a crazy move. Theres still plenty of time left and we arent losing, two decent substitutions imo.

11-09-2011, 03:26 PM
Why are folk sounding surprised that we're ***** & boring to watch?

Where have you been throughout the Clueless Colins reign?!

Great ball in by Griffiths, Scott puts it wide. We are starting to put them under pressure.

Scott from distance again. Over bar.

11-09-2011, 03:27 PM
Well out Stack. Could have been in there.

11-09-2011, 03:30 PM
Farcical stuff in Hibs box. Offside eventually.

Leishy1995
11-09-2011, 03:31 PM
My mates are at the game, they are not happy!

Keystone Cops !

Shocking again. Hanlon saves in six yard box.

11-09-2011, 03:32 PM
Unusual clearance from Stack! :cool2:

11-09-2011, 03:32 PM
Still, a bit more gelling time and it'll be happy days.

11-09-2011, 03:33 PM
Booth caught. Another chance from it.

11-09-2011, 03:36 PM
Another Aberdeen break. Ball across six yard box and away. Why didn't we sort this defence?

I hope CC is not judging 0-0 as progress from the 1-3 humiliation for ETs commemoration game.

jesus christ, how much gelling time are you going to give this manager and these very average players :confused:

Even with all the gell vidal sassoon produce, and a fitness trainer from the marines SAS and the arrmy, this bunch of crap will still struggle all season.

plus they will be fitter :rolleyes:

11-09-2011, 03:37 PM
I have a bad feeling...

11-09-2011, 03:38 PM

2 weeks to get it right, a game against the legends and CC says folks are fit.

At times I think i'd prefer the fight and chances of the legends (except boco)

11-09-2011, 03:38 PM
I have a bad feeling...

Yup

11-09-2011, 03:39 PM
jesus christ, how much gelling time are you going to give this manager and these very average players :confused:

I'm with you by the way!

Corner Hibs

'montae!

"We are not football players we are models"

11-09-2011, 03:40 PM
Is JC on the bench?

11-09-2011, 03:40 PM
CC should ban himself from family visitations until he sorts this.

one day maybe...
11-09-2011, 03:41 PM
What a piss poor game this has been.. Listening to it on the radio and nothing I have heard has made me want to make the long trek down to watch a game again anytime soon. No composure, no skill and no believe at the moment in this team, under this leadership..

11-09-2011, 03:41 PM
CC should ban himself from family visitations until he sorts this.Be better if he was with them on a permanent basis. :agree:

11-09-2011, 03:42 PM
Osbourne booked unfairly - as was Sproule IMO.

11-09-2011, 03:43 PM
CC should ban himself from family visitations until he sorts this.

Id rather he went to see his family a whole lot more.

11-09-2011, 03:43 PM
Be better if he was with them on a permanent basis. :agree:

Actually I'm more and more tending towards this. Only Hibs could paste themselves into this situations.

11-09-2011, 03:44 PM
Sodje coming on.

11-09-2011, 03:44 PM
why was Sodje on the bench and Agogo starting ???

steviehibsleith
11-09-2011, 03:45 PM
[QUOTE=Andy74;2911806]Is JC on the bench?[/QUOTE
Jesus Christ will be on shortly we need him

the sodjer coming on

Sproule off.

Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooooooo booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo, piss poor not good enuff, 3 weeks left by my counts to get it right

This is dire and anyone watching this on TV later please take some medication first

11-09-2011, 03:46 PM
[QUOTE=Andy74;2911806]Is JC on the bench?[/QUOTE
Jesus Christ will be on shortly we need him

even one of his miracles wouldn't be enough to sort this tripe out.

Koom
11-09-2011, 03:46 PM
attendance is 8792.........poor

11-09-2011, 03:47 PM
They said 6000 on the radio...

This is dire and anyone watching this on TV later please take some medication first

I'm planning to later. My meds will be Peroni, Belhaven Best and 12 y-o Balvenie!

Free kick to Towell who wasn't looking.

11-09-2011, 03:48 PM
attendance is 8792.........poor

Says it all, 3pm kick off and not on the telly and we can only muster that amount, hope the board is taking note.

11-09-2011, 03:49 PM
cue the boos ringing out loud round ER again

Saved by Stack then an offside.

9k for a category A game is terrible. 26 quid just ain't worth this.

Superb double save from Stack, even though the ref whistled offside (I think) anyway.

I'm planning to later. My meds will be Peroni, Belhaven Best and 12 y-o Balvenie!

All in one glass and in one gulp. haha

11-09-2011, 03:50 PM

Was Alan Preston counting?

11-09-2011, 03:51 PM
Is it over yet?

11-09-2011, 03:51 PM
Is it over yet?

For CC hopefully

11-09-2011, 03:52 PM
is it over yet?

over before it began

11-09-2011, 03:52 PM

No they said just under 9000.

11-09-2011, 03:53 PM
interested to hear what cc has to say about that

11-09-2011, 03:53 PM
0-0 FT with both teams lucky to get 0.

11-09-2011, 03:54 PM
If you think the match was bad wait till Calderwood's post match interview

No they said just under 9000.No, when they were talking at half time they said the crowd was just 6000.

Absolutely awful, the only positive being we didnt lose for a change. Massive chance for us to turn things around and unsurprisingly, they couldnt manage it.

11-09-2011, 03:55 PM
Well more pish on top of all the other pish we have had to suffer under this clown. Im away back to my sunbed, cant be bothered arguing with anyone about that pish. :wink:

A decent draw. Not too worried at this stage as we just need time to gel. We have a perfect squad and it's really still our preseason and the body language is good. Talk to me in November, you doubters.

I'm with you by the way!

Bring back Yogi!:aok:

Hooray, a point :rolleyes: nae doubt that'll be seen by some as an improvement.

on the plus side I'll get all my stakes back for what was definitely a 0-0 bore draw

watching next week and wasting another couple of hours in my life, Absolutely woeful.

11-09-2011, 03:56 PM
No, when they were talking at half time they said the crowd was just 6000.

They mentioned a 6,000 crowd quite a few times. The commentator was stunned to find out the crowd was just shy of 9,000.

11-09-2011, 03:59 PM
Absolutely awful, the only positive being we didnt lose for a change. Massive chance for us to turn things around and unsurprisingly, they couldnt manage it.

Only positives from this game is I got fed up listening to this rubbish so had time to look for the batteries for the remote control to my TV :wink:

11-09-2011, 04:01 PM

Really dreadful game. Absolutely no clue what they are doing. No organisation. Can't even take a throw in because no-one is moving to receive the ball. A ball going out for a throw to Aberdeen, near the half way line and a Hibs players comes in and boots it back about 35 yeards for a CORNER to Aberdeen.

Not a knee jerk reaction, but if this is it, the first division next year is a strong possibility, if not probability.

Dreadful.

11-09-2011, 04:04 PM
Should we **** be lying down and taking this from CC. Are our players the worst team in the league? Are they ****.

He's got Gaz, Sproule, Osbourne, Griffiths, Booth, O'Hanlon, Murray, Palsson, Wotherspoon, Sodje, Agogo, Hanlon, Towell at his disposal with a decent bench, but we're playing like we are the worst team in the league.

When the team is theoretically top four but you're at the bottom, the finger can only be pointed in one direction.

CC, get to ****.

11-09-2011, 04:04 PM
Watched the game and even I am struggling to defend CC after that.

That was quite frankly, a horrifying game of "football".

WarringtonHibee
11-09-2011, 04:05 PM
I was thinking of going Dunfermline away next week, bollocks to that, I'll save another £100 by not going!

At the start of this season I swore to myself I'd not miss more than one home game, as I could of never made the Celtic game, but to be honest I can't be arsed, I didn't go today, and to be honest I don't care if I never go again. I'm fed up. We're ****ed.

vanNISHtelroy
11-09-2011, 04:06 PM
No, when they were talking at half time they said the crowd was just 6000.

8972 according to the beeb website

11-09-2011, 04:07 PM
Another club that are punching way, way below their weight in another league are Spurs. 'arry put it down to a very disruptive pre-season with rumours of Modric leaving for other clubs.

We've had a completely disrupted pre-season as well, and it's down to the **** of a manager we have too bothered about sweeties to give a flying **** about the team he's paid to manage!

He's a pisstaker.

11-09-2011, 04:09 PM
8972 according to the beeb website

Thats what it says.

Just hang around for a few minutes and it will all be explained. :agree:

11-09-2011, 04:10 PM
I'm all for stability but if someone was to say I could take Jimmy Calderwood or Gordon Strachan right now I'd bite your hand off.

11-09-2011, 04:11 PM
I'll reserve judgement til I see it on Alba but I'll not be backing CC for the sake of it. IF I start calling for his head it'll be with RP's also!

11-09-2011, 04:20 PM
I'll reserve judgement til I see it on Alba but I'll not be backing CC for the sake of it. IF I start calling for his head it'll be with RP's also!

Best watch lads, the home guard security will be out soon! Very doom and gloom this page. However, I couldn't be bothered turning up today better things to do like clean the attic, take the boys to the park, argue with the missus, drink beer, argue some more with the missus... just couldn't be bothered... should I? Is there any life at ER just now or are the lights slowly being turned off?

11-09-2011, 04:20 PM
Only positives from this game is I got fed up listening to this rubbish so had time to look for the batteries for the remote control to my TV :wink:

Bobo
11-09-2011, 04:23 PM
Two severely p!sh teams contributed to as poor a game as I've seen in years and provided no entertainment at all.

Couldn't care less that the Dons are Turd but we have no creation or intelligence anywhere in the team. The lack of fitness and desire is shocking and we're not going to score many goals this season.

Another wasted afternoon in a long line of wasted afternoons!

Watching Hibs has been far from enjoyable for too many seasons now so something has to give or the stadium is going to be even more pitifully empty than the piss poor attendance that witnessed that *****e today.

11-09-2011, 04:23 PM

Seriously, I wouldnae bother - there will be far more action in Songs of Praise.

11-09-2011, 04:24 PM
Should we **** be lying down and taking this from CC. Are our players the worst team in the league? Are they ****.

He's got Gaz, Sproule, Osbourne, Griffiths, Booth, O'Hanlon, Murray, Palsson, Wotherspoon, Sodje, Agogo, Hanlon, Towell at his disposal with a decent bench, but we're playing like we are the worst team in the league.

When the team is theoretically top four but you're at the bottom, the finger can only be pointed in one direction.

CC, get to ****.

Totally agree. He has a decent squad at his disposal. No way should he be bottom 6 with it. Someone like Jim Jefferies for example - in my opinion a solid but average SPL manager - would not be anywhere near where we are working with that group of players.

Calderwood simply does not have what it takes, he showed blatant disrespect to our club with his pre-season shenanigans and his record is appalling. Had enough. Get rid.

Gala Foxes
11-09-2011, 05:28 PM
O'Hanlon's passing - its a lottery to guess where the pass will go

11-09-2011, 05:32 PM
Best watch lads, the home guard security will be out soon! Very doom and gloom this page. However, I couldn't be bothered turning up today better things to do like clean the attic, take the boys to the park, argue with the missus, drink beer, argue some more with the missus... just couldn't be bothered... should I? Is there any life at ER just now or are the lights slowly being turned off?

Cant have that can we. :rolleyes:

11-09-2011, 05:37 PM
O'Hanlon's passing - its a lottery to guess where the pass will go

He's a very, very poor mans Rob Jones...

11-09-2011, 06:03 PM
Cant have that can we. :rolleyes:

Hope no!:aok:

11-09-2011, 06:12 PM
He's a very, very poor mans Rob Jones...

:agree: was thinking exactly that at the game today

11-09-2011, 07:05 PM
Seriously, I wouldnae bother - there will be far more action in Songs of Praise.

And you're not wrong. That was pish, and totally unacceptable!

11-09-2011, 07:14 PM
And you're not wrong. That was pish, and totally unacceptable!
I am all for giving him time and have said so several times. His time is running out, I could put up with that football with three points but that was poor for the most part. Calderwood has to get his team winning sooner rather than later or that cut adrift at the bottom at the next scenario will be a reality very shortly. Next five games are crucial to our season and Calderwoods tenure.

11-09-2011, 07:19 PM
I am all for giving him time and have said so several times. His time is running out, I could put up with that football with three points but that was poor for the most part. Calderwood has to get his team winning sooner rather than later or that cut adrift at the bottom at the next scenario will be a reality very shortly. Next five games are crucial to our season and Calderwoods tenure.

Yup :agree: No class, no composure - just what does East Mains give us exactly??? Been downward spiral since the bl@@dy was completed. It is tick tock for the manager as you say!

11-09-2011, 07:22 PM
No being funny Alex but when does time run out?

I've always said we have to back him but there is nothing yet to show he has a clue at what he's doing

Patience can be rewarded but it could cost us as well like when we waited too long wi duffy

I keep hearing this five games thing but it never seems to become four

Nuitdelune
11-09-2011, 07:32 PM
Scary (or is it scarey) thing is how many managers do we have to go through and what will the difference be. I never minded losing if the football was good but there is now something far, far wrong. At the ICT match, we were actually quite good (compared to all other 10 or whatever it is visits--due to remote location, they are the only ones I can get to) but now it is beyond a joke--that is the difference now and I am sore afraid. However at the end of the day , one has to stick at it surely and it is only football, I am told. :boo hoo:

11-09-2011, 07:36 PM
No being funny Alex but when does time run out?

I've always said we have to back him but there is nothing yet to show he has a clue at what he's doing

Patience can be rewarded but it could cost us as well like when we waited too long wi duffy

I keep hearing this five games thing but it never seems to become four

I've been defending the idea of giving CC time for weeks now but only under the presumption that we'd be at least seeing a little improvement by now.

Today's performance didn't show any signs of improvement at all on the derby, or previous games. He needs to turn it around in four games now - if there still isn't any signs of improvement then we should just get rid IMO.

I like to try to stay fairly positive but we could well be relegated this season if we keep this up.

11-09-2011, 07:48 PM
It was that bad today even the seagulls have deserted us.

11-09-2011, 07:50 PM

Things are not good and it would be foolish to pretend otherwise but if there is nobody who we can guarantee would be better then I dont see the point of change for change's sake. Especially not now that the window has closed.

11-09-2011, 07:53 PM
Things are not good and it would be foolish to pretend otherwise but if there is nobody who we can guarantee would be better then I dont see the point of change for change's sake. Especially not now that the window has closed.

What manager ever gives you a 'guarantee' it will be better?

Its not change for change's sake - its change before the damage is irreversible.

FWIW I'm not convinced our problems only run as far as the manager.

11-09-2011, 08:08 PM
I'm 5 games unbeaten now on the match threads and I didn't even need to be selective with the statistics........your move, Petrie. :agree:

11-09-2011, 08:14 PM
What manager ever gives you a 'guarantee' it will be better?

Its not change for change's sake - its change before the damage is irreversible.

FWIW I'm not convinced our problems only run as far as the manager.

And thats the point. We have no money to change things and even if we did the transfer window is closed. Please dont say we couldnt be doing any worse, because we could.
If there is a clear plan then fair enough but I would stick with the current one until I know there is a better one.

11-09-2011, 08:40 PM
And thats the point. We have no money to change things and even if we did the transfer window is closed. Please dont say we couldnt be doing any worse, because we could.
If there is a clear plan then fair enough but I would stick with the current one until I know there is a better one.

No home wins since February - of course it could be worse but that kind of run isn't going to get already cash strapped families parting with their money.

Less than 9000 for a so-called Category A game (that costs a lot more in policing & stewarding btw) should and will have the alarm bells ringing.

It was ST sales that eventually forced Mixu out - no way will this board allow this situation to continue much longer. Thats a dereliction of duty that they won't get away with.

11-09-2011, 08:50 PM
Dave its now his team. Thars two games and 1 point. Two first halds that had me thinkng that was ok ish kick on the second. On both occaisions we failed to do that. The next five games are crucial in the being cut adrift at the bottom next window scenario where I would want him removed. Unless thats where we find ourselves we should be looking at where we are and how we are progressing at the end of the season. Thst would be the time to re evaluate what Calderwood brings to Hibs.

11-09-2011, 11:16 PM
That was one of the worst games of football i have seen in a long time today.

11-09-2011, 11:29 PM
Dave its now his team. Thars two games and 1 point. Two first halds that had me thinkng that was ok ish kick on the second. On both occaisions we failed to do that. The next five games are crucial in the being cut adrift at the bottom next window scenario where I would want him removed. Unless thats where we find ourselves we should be looking at where we are and how we are progressing at the end of the season. Thst would be the time to re evaluate what Calderwood brings to Hibs.

Would probably agree that the first half we did alright, certainly after the first few minutes where Aberdeen had a good start, we were the better team IMHO.

We also had the better of the second half up until the last 15 mins, where I thought we were holding on for a point.

Don't think I'd stretch to labeling either half's performance as 'good', mind.

12-09-2011, 03:54 AM
They mentioned a 6,000 crowd quite a few times. The commentator was stunned to find out the crowd was just shy of 9,000.

The crowd although small by previous seasons was never 6000

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=55.947950,-3.365305

12-09-2011, 09:14 AM
The crowd although small by previous seasons was never 6000

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=55.947950,-3.365305

Agreed, was sitting there and the east looked like it has a reasonable number, could not see the lower west but there was no chance it was ever going to be 6000. Says plents about the average commentators skills and level of opinion!

12-09-2011, 09:53 AM
Agreed, was sitting there and the east looked like it has a reasonable number, could not see the lower west but there was no chance it was ever going to be 6000. Says plents about the average commentators skills and level of opinion!

I actually thought the west lower was marginally busier than it has been recently. Though that's not saying much these days.

Fitba's gash the now.:agree:

12-09-2011, 11:23 AM
Why do people seem to be of the belief that Hibs getting worse is part of the process of Hibs dramatically improving, it's incredibly perplexing? Surely at least marginal improvements should be in evidence, as opposed to a steady decline lasting several months.

We are in relegation form and just failed to take any points from the team immediately above us, who have an even worse scoring record than us. We are woeful in every department, which means that defence, midfield and attack are going to all produce a remarkable turnaround in their performances for us to even be average. Calderwood clearly has no idea what his best XI is, and the communication in all areas of the park is terrible (Sproule and Towell looked like they had never met each other before yesterday).

Where are the signs of this improvement?

12-09-2011, 11:26 AM
Why do people seem to be of the belief that Hibs getting worse is part of the process of Hibs dramatically improving, it's incredibly perplexing? Surely at least marginal improvements should be in evidence, as opposed to a steady decline lasting several months.

We are in relegation form and just failed to take any points from the team immediately above us, who have an even worse scoring record than us. We are woeful in every department, which means that defence, midfield and attack are going to all produce a remarkable turnaround in their performances for us to even be average. Calderwood clearly has no idea what his best XI is, and the communication in all areas of the park is terrible (Sproule and Towell looked like they had never met each other before yesterday).

Body language is still improving week on week IMHO.

12-09-2011, 12:50 PM
Body language is still improving week on week IMHO.

Oh good. That makes me SO happy.

I have a confession to make. I went to the North Lanarkshire derby (Airdrie-Albion Rovers) on Saturday with a couple of guys from the congregation.

I saw 4 goals, an on-field rammy, and a sending-off, all accompanied by some of the most inventive and vitriolic 'banter' I've heard in a long time.

I thoroughly enjoyed myself, and may very well go back. :fuming:

12-09-2011, 01:22 PM

Personally thought there were marginal signs of improvement. A clean sheet, thought O'Hanlon and Osbourne looked better as did Hanlon and if they stay fit (a big IF in SOH's case) they will only IMO get better. Palsson in his right position was an improvement however there wasnt alot of good play or passing though they didnt look that bad that a couple of goals wouldn't fix. Think Murray at full back is the way to go at the moment as he will help Hanlon alot on the pitch. Midfield to forwards wasnt great and thought Agogo while looking strong physically and in the air should have been chasing things down putting a few tackles in on defenders to get the fans onside a bit. Ivan is very much more suited to away games and catching teams on the break, at home he doesnt have a lot of space to run into in saying that his touch lets him down alot.

A big game on Saturday and IMO is a game we can and should win.

12-09-2011, 01:42 PM
Personally thought there were marginal signs of improvement. A clean sheet, thought O'Hanlon and Osbourne looked better as did Hanlon and if they stay fit (a big IF in SOH's case) they will only IMO get better. Palsson in his right position was an improvement however there wasnt alot of good play or passing though they didnt look that bad that a couple of goals wouldn't fix. Think Murray at full back is the way to go at the moment as he will help Hanlon alot on the pitch. Midfield to forwards wasnt great and thought Agogo while looking strong physically and in the air should have been chasing things down putting a few tackles in on defenders to get the fans onside a bit. Ivan is very much more suited to away games and catching teams on the break, at home he doesnt have a lot of space to run into in saying that his touch lets him down alot.

A game we really HAVE to win, Jim.

12-09-2011, 02:08 PM
A game we really HAVE to win, Jim.

Not sure I agree with must win games at this time of the season though the club and the manager could do with one big time.

12-09-2011, 02:28 PM

I don't wish to be relentlessly negative (I'm usually optimistic by nature but that's kinda been knocked out of me [in a Hibs sense] in the last couple of years) but the clean sheet was only achieved due to inept finishing by Aberdeen, not due to us being well organised and tight at the back.

Any other improvements were so marginal that there's nothing to suggest that we will improve anywhere close to where we need to in order to make us feel safe this year, never mind any loftier ambitions like getting into the top 6.

I know what you're saying as well regards to Hibs should always go to East End Park with ambitions of winning, but from what I've seen at the moment, Dunfermline look a lot more accomplished than we do. We're going to have to play really well to win there, and that seems highly unlikely, unfortunately.

12-09-2011, 02:34 PM
I don't wish to be relentlessly negative (I'm usually optimistic by nature but that's kinda been knocked out of me [in a Hibs sense] in the last couple of years) but the clean sheet was only achieved due to inept finishing by Aberdeen, not due to us being well organised and tight at the back.

Any other improvements were so marginal that there's nothing to suggest that we will improve anywhere close to where we need to in order to make us feel safe this year, never mind any loftier ambitions like getting into the top 6.

I know what you're saying as well regards to Hibs should always go to East End Park with ambitions of winning, but from what I've seen at the moment, Dunfermline look a lot more accomplished than we do. We're going to have to play really well to win there, and that seems highly unlikely, unfortunately.

The longest journey starts with a single step. :greengrin

I am not sure Aberdeen had many good chances thought we missed better opportunities than they did.

I think we can go there and score a few goals this week.

Russ
12-09-2011, 02:48 PM

A place far better Hibs teams have visited and not won, wake up to the fact we have an abysmal away record against practically every team. It makes me wonder where this way of thinking comes from.

12-09-2011, 03:19 PM
The longest journey starts with a single step. :greengrin

I am not sure Aberdeen had many good chances thought we missed better opportunities than they did.

I think we can go there and score a few goals this week.

Have you watched the highlights? GOC missed the best chance of the game possibly but everything else that forced a save from their ropey keeper was from distance. I was surprised at how good Ricky Foster's 2 chances were (excluding the obvious run through on goal), and they had the clearance off the line from Stack's header too. Their chances were better IMO.

I very much admire your optimism re: taking a few goals off them, but given that only one of our players has scored for us in the SPL and Dunfermline have scored 3 times as many as us in the same number of league games, it would seem that the opposite is more likely.

12-09-2011, 03:28 PM
I very much admire your optimism re: taking a few goals off them, but given that only one of our players has scored for us in the SPL and Dunfermline have scored 3 times as many as us in the same number of league games, it would seem that the opposite is more likely.

I think the Pars lose a few goals also and that in guys like O'Connor, Sparky, Sodje, Sproule we have guys that can score and create especially on the break.

12-09-2011, 03:29 PM
I think the Pars lose a few goals also and that in guys like O'Connor, Sparky, Sodje, Sproule we have guys that can score and create especially on the break.

I really hope that you're right!

sunshine1875
12-09-2011, 03:48 PM
Yup :agree: No class, no composure - just what does East Mains give us exactly??? Been downward spiral since the bl@@dy was completed. It is tick tock for the manager as you say!

A few weeks ago someone posted about this "downward spiral" and was greeted with the "FFS we are only xx games into the season", "just look at the Yams £xxm in debt" etc guff.

Now no-one seems to question the use of the term "downward spiral".

Well that is now fourteen wins, ten draws and thirty-five losses, in the last fifty-nine SPL games and that is not me being selective with which games I choose.

12-09-2011, 03:56 PM
It was that bad today even the seagulls have deserted us.

Their 'droppings' would be superfluous !

At The Edge
12-09-2011, 04:17 PM
one of the things that i noticed during the tedious events on the grass in front of me, was how Stack has now what looks like been instructed to hoof the ball up the field at every operchancity.
I say this because Stack was always keen to play out from the back, give it to the full backs, or more so than Brown was.
our play from the back is non existant now and if it does come out to them, its again hoof it up the park as quick as possible.
it is a small victory that Aberdeen were as crap, if not worse than us yesterday or we would have been the losing side again

12-09-2011, 04:21 PM
one of the things that i noticed during the tedious events on the grass in front of me, was how Stack has now what looks like been instructed to hoof the ball up the field at every operchancity.
I say this because Stack was always keen to play out from the back, give it to the full backs, or more so than Brown was.
our play from the back is non existant now and if it does come out to them, its again hoof it up the park as quick as possible.
it is a small victory that Aberdeen were as crap, if not worse than us yesterday or we would have been the losing side again

Stack has a dual role in the team - 'keeper and playmaker. :rolleyes:

It beats me why we currently pick midfield players at all.

13-09-2011, 12:14 AM
Not sure I agree with must win games at this time of the season though the club and the manager could do with one big time.

If we don't turn the corner soon...

In terms of this year's games, we're surely the worst team in the SPL. That has to change soon, or we could just sink without trace.

Seriously, we're a mess.