View Full Version : Original names of stores in Princes Street
blairwallace
05-09-2011, 08:07 AM
I'm doing a project in Geography about the decline of Princes Street and I wanted to include a few names of the big shops that were around before the regeneration of Princes Street in the 60's but theres pretty much nothing online so I was wondering if anyone on here can name any of the shops minus Jenners, cheers in advance
I'm doing a project in Geography about the decline of Princes Street and I wanted to include a few names of the big shops that were around before the regeneration of Princes Street in the 60's but theres pretty much nothing online so I was wondering if anyone on here can name any of the shops minus Jenners, cheers in advanceDolcis shoe shop
05-09-2011, 08:34 AM
Frasers used to be Binns I think.
http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/1_edin/1_edinburgh_history_-_recollections_edinburgh_new_town_princes_street.h tm
C & A's ..Littlewoods..Ratners...
Captain Emerald
05-09-2011, 08:44 AM
Here's a link to a page about Woolworth's at the East end of Princes Street. The site is a good resource for this kind of research.
http://canmore.rcahms.gov.uk/en/site/115079/details/edinburgh+10+15+princes+street/
I'm doing a project in Geography about the decline of Princes Street and I wanted to include a few names of the big shops that were around before the regeneration of Princes Street in the 60's but theres pretty much nothing online so I was wondering if anyone on here can name any of the shops minus Jenners, cheers in advance
Cant believe anyone would think that the current string of tartan tat and phones-for-me shops on the north side of the street suggests in any way a decline in Edinburgh's main; and one of the worlds most iconic, shopping thoroughfares. :rolleyes:
Look what's happened on the other side!!!! :grr:
The hostel now known as the Balmoral Hotel used to be the North British [NB this was a travellers site], thankfully Princes Mall is mostly hidden, but where now for the carnival! The Scott Monument used to be a lovely open space; the National Art Gallery with its ‘classical’ but very old fashioned Greek architecture used to be the … errrm … National Art Gallery but even the Greeks have moved on since then, and are now creating a modern Greek, concrete and slabs architecture, so popular on the north side of PS; St John’s (?) Church on the corner of Lothian Road just blocks the way to that deid folk place and also blocks the view to the Castle – talking of which, IT, that Castle, was obviously built there for the benefit of tourists as they get off the train / or tr / or airport bus. Inconbloodysiderate when you're a local and have to walk or drive round the damn thing!
And what about the tr? What imbecile pulled up all the track from Princess Street 50 years ago? Who was responsible for that? At least those trams had a bit of character though – not like this Mickey Mouse stuff some other imbecile is recreating now – not sure if its getting laid or the locals are getting screwed. Someone has suggested it’s the same group of imbeciles did / doing both things but you couldny make that up? Could you?
Bring back the Nor Loch, these gardens stink! :bye:
05-09-2011, 12:59 PM
Cant believe anyone would think that the current string of tartan tat and phones-for-me shops on the north side of the street suggests in any way a decline in Edinburgh's main; and one of the worlds most iconic, shopping thoroughfares. :rolleyes:
Look what's happened on the other side!!!! :grr:
The hostel now known as the Balmoral Hotel used to be the North British [NB this was a travellers site], thankfully Princes Mall is mostly hidden, but where now for the carnival! The Scott Monument used to be a lovely open space; the National Art Gallery with its ‘classical’ but very old fashioned Greek architecture used to be the … errrm … National Art Gallery but even the Greeks have moved on since then, and are now creating a modern Greek, concrete and slabs architecture, so popular on the north side of PS; St John’s (?) Church on the corner of Lothian Road just blocks the way to that deid folk place and also blocks the view to the Castle – talking of which, IT, that Castle, was obviously built there for the benefit of tourists as they get off the train / or tr / or airport bus. Inconbloodysiderate when you're a local and have to walk or drive round the damn thing!
And what about the tr? What imbecile pulled up all the track from Princess Street 50 years ago? Who was responsible for that? At least those trams had a bit of character though – not like this Mickey Mouse stuff some other imbecile is recreating now – not sure if its getting laid or the locals are getting screwed. Someone has suggested it’s the same group of imbeciles did / doing both things but you couldny make that up? Could you?
Bring back the Nor Loch, these gardens stink! :bye:
Haha, very good :thumbsup:
I'll add John Menzies and was there not a Burberry Shop near the east end in the late eighties??
05-09-2011, 01:10 PM
Try this link...Edinburgh recollections (http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/1_edin/1_edinburgh_history_-_recollections_shops.htm)
05-09-2011, 01:53 PM
Not Princes Street, but the highlight of Christmas when a youngster was the visit to Santa's Grotto in Goldbergs at Tollcross.......magic.
And as the teenage years came upon me, wee trips to Cowan Tailoring for the sta-prest and harrington's were a must.
Was there not a Wimpy at the East End of Princes Street too ? I know there was one on Lothian Road where the old urban myth of 'my mate found a dead mouse in his burger' became folklore at my school
05-09-2011, 02:36 PM
Surprised no-one's mentioned Lillywhite's. Proper service in that shop - they were quite happy to special-order me an XXXXXL cricket box, as the regular-stock version was so cramped. :agree:
hibbill2002
05-09-2011, 04:00 PM
The Jacey picture house was towards the west end of Princes Street, I'm sure it showed porno films.
blairwallace
05-09-2011, 04:39 PM
some great information and links guys, cheers :thumbsup::top marks
05-09-2011, 06:48 PM
There was a Crawfords restraunt up the starrs about half way along. Became UBFoods and then closed down.
05-09-2011, 07:09 PM
Seem to recall a branch of Hepworths Menswear roughly where Waterstones West End is now. No sure if it goes back as far as the 60s though.
05-09-2011, 09:32 PM
Austin Reed - gents outfitters :greengrin
05-09-2011, 10:04 PM
Bayne and Duckett shoe shop.
Olympian sports.
A women's clothing shop called Peoples.
06-09-2011, 07:01 AM
Not Princes Street, but the highlight of Christmas when a youngster was the visit to Santa's Grotto in Goldbergs at Tollcross.......magic.
And as the teenage years came upon me, wee trips to Cowan Tailoring for the sta-prest and harrington's were a must.
Was there not a Wimpy at the East End of Princes Street too ? I know there was one on Lothian Road where the old urban myth of 'my mate found a dead mouse in his burger' became folklore at my school
My memory seems to recall the Wimpy being towards the west end?
06-09-2011, 07:33 AM
Was there not two? One at the East End then the other in Castle Street where HSBC is now?
06-09-2011, 08:26 AM
Was there not two? One at the East End then the other in Castle Street where HSBC is now?
There was one toward the west end. :agree:
IIRC it was a Beefeater (?) before it became a Wimpy.
06-09-2011, 09:57 AM
What is now Burton's and Top Shop at the East End used to be Forsyths. I remember it as an up market version of Jenner's, and even in the 80s they still went on like they were in an episode of Are You Being Served.
06-09-2011, 11:41 AM
What is now Burton's and Top Shop at the East End used to be Forsyths. I remember it as an up market version of Jenner's, and even in the 80s they still went on like they were in an episode of Are You Being Served.
Always thought that was a beautiful building housing some of the worst of high street shops.
It's like someone has tippexed a Picasso.
06-09-2011, 11:44 AM
There was one toward the west end. :agree:
IIRC it was a Beefeater (?) before it became a Wimpy.
That's the one.
ginger_rice
06-09-2011, 05:54 PM
I remember a record shop (remember records?) near to Woolies which you had to go downstairs to?
06-09-2011, 09:52 PM
John Menzies was where Next is now, between frederick street and castle street. It had an excellent toy department in the basement and a decent record section upstairs. IIRC it featured in Trainspotting.
Barman Stanton
07-09-2011, 06:50 AM
John Menzies was where Next is now, between frederick street and castle street. It had an excellent toy department in the basement and a decent record section upstairs. IIRC it featured in Trainspotting.
Yeah it was, right at the beginning of trainspotting. I was working next door at First Sport at the time and they were filming outside for a few days.
John Menzies also had a huge amount of magazines. Spent many a lunch time reading in there!
HibsMax
07-09-2011, 01:29 PM
Nice trip down memory lane. I used to love Princes Street as a lad. I'm off for a cry now.
07-09-2011, 01:52 PM
Anybody remember the Singer Sewing Machine shop. Tiny wee place. Apparently it had the highest rates per square foot in Britain.
07-09-2011, 03:07 PM
Surprised no-one's mentioned Lillywhite's. Proper service in that shop - they were quite happy to special-order me an XXXXXL cricket box, as the regular-stock version was so cramped. :agree:
That place was responsible for me being a Hibby.
I'm from a family of Jambos, my old man played for them and I was encouraged to be one from an early age.
When I was in primary 1 my mate's grandad, who was manager of Lillywhite's had brought some unsold stuff home for a few of the kids. No idea how it happened but I ended up being offered the Hibs top. It was the bukta one with name on and signs down the sleeves I think.
I just loved the strip and the colour and I think my wee mate was a hibby so that was that.
Credit to my Dad he then took me to the Hibs games, even being recognised as a Jambo and abused, most memorably when he took me on to the pitch and took pictures when I was mascot for a pre season game v QPR.
07-09-2011, 08:12 PM
I remember a restaurant back in the 60s called Mackies that specialised in pies....
There was the Mons Meg Tavern, which was I think a sort of steak house/pub? Round about where Debenhams is.
Yeah I know they're not shops :greengrin
That Facebook page with the old photos of Edinburgh would be of help but I think its down just now due to copyright issues.
07-09-2011, 09:12 PM
There was a shop with some stuffed brown bears outside the first floor windows. I suppose it was a furriers.
Does anyone remember The Chocolate House? Choccy milkshakes and spindly-legged tables and chairs. 50s style.
If you go up the escalator in Top Shop you can still see the crests with RWF (Forsyths) at the top of the columns. I recall they had a posh food hall in the basement.
Binns was called Maules before. So I'm told!
Captain Emerald
07-09-2011, 09:24 PM
There was a shop with some stuffed brown bears outside the first floor windows. I suppose it was a furriers.
Marcus Furs...
http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_street_p/0_street_views_-_princes_street_marcus_furs_lamp_post_062849.htm
Captain Emerald
07-09-2011, 09:27 PM
Binns was called Maules before. So I'm told!
Robert Maul & Son...
http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/1/1_buildings_-_maule%27s_department_store.htm
07-09-2011, 09:34 PM
Robert Maul & Son...
http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/1/1_buildings_-_maule%27s_department_store.htm
What an amazing picture....and to think that is a Topshop now, maybe the perfect metaphor for princes streets decline.
Barman Stanton
08-09-2011, 11:34 AM
What an amazing picture....and to think that is a Topshop now, maybe the perfect metaphor for princes streets decline.
Its House of Frasers now, I agree an amazing photo though.
09-09-2011, 12:44 PM
Its House of Frasers now, I agree an amazing photo though.
Ahh so it is, doh....point still stands though if you see what Frasers are doing to Jenners :wink: :greengrin
blairwallace
11-09-2011, 01:03 PM
Robert Maul & Son...
http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/1/1_buildings_-_maule's_department_store.htm
why did they renovate that building, looks much better than the current one standing there
12-09-2011, 11:05 AM
Remember the Quick and Twenty restaurant just round on Sth Charlotte St?
The building belonged to Macvitties Guest and had a snack bar on the ground, Qand T and the posher Scottish Fare on the first floor and a function room on the top.
You could watch the chefs frying your eggs if you sat at the counter on high stools.
17-09-2011, 06:19 AM
Early 90's had Wrygges (sp?) where USC is now, with Sounds records on the top floor. You used to be able to park right outside it and not get a ticket - how times change :greengrin
22-09-2011, 07:46 AM
The Jacey picture house was towards the west end of Princes Street, I'm sure it showed porno films.
Or the Jakey, as it should have been called.
22-09-2011, 06:49 PM
Cartoons when I were a lad, I think. Maybe porno later. Maybe porno cartoons? :dunno:
Or the Jakey, as it should have been called.
Never called it that but did call La Scala the Scabby Lala. And The State was a state. Yoof cinemagoers now don't know they're born. Jumpers for goalposts, jam jars to get in the flicks, ringworm, TB, etc etc.
07-12-2012, 08:16 PM
Came across this again so I thought it worth a bump whilst searching....I find it interesting anyway!
VickMackie
07-12-2012, 10:21 PM
John Menzies.
I got British Bulldogs autograf in their when I was about 5!
07-12-2012, 10:28 PM
Great thread.
When can we extend it beyond Princes Street?
I can't wait to mention PT's and Goldbergs!
07-12-2012, 10:32 PM
Great thread.
When can we extend it beyond Princes Street?
I can't wait to mention PT's and Goldbergs!I was thinking of there when I saw this thread. I loved that shop at xmas when I was a lad.
Twiglet
08-12-2012, 12:40 AM
I was thinking of there when I saw this thread. I loved that shop at xmas when I was a lad.
Me too. I've still got a badge somewhere that says "I saw Santa at Goldbergs". I remember standing in the winding queue to see him there.
08-12-2012, 11:52 AM
Oh yes! It formerly showed newsreels and cartoons - ideal for a place to take the kids when it was tipping down with rain which it invariably was in the 50s/60s.
But around 1968 or so it changed to more meaty fare. I sneaked into my first "X" film there aged 14 - Girl On A Motorcycle with Marianne Faithfull - one of the worst films ever made.
08-12-2012, 11:56 AM
BHS was built in place of the North British and Mercantile insurance offices.
My Dad worked there. His old desk was where the women's underwear department was built.
08-12-2012, 11:59 AM
Goldberg's had a nice roof garden and escalators - or "moving staircases" as my mum used to call them!
blindsummit
08-12-2012, 12:24 PM
Goldbergs seemed like such a grand, exciting place when I was a kid. Like the Macys of Edinburgh.
08-12-2012, 12:28 PM
http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_buildings_g/0_buildings_-_goldbergs.jpg
alnewhaven
08-12-2012, 12:55 PM
Mind the goldbergs roof gardens, seem to recall cages with parrots on them, just after it opened? Could be imagining that tho!
Beefeaters at west end was Crawford attempt at a us style burger joint. Now macdonalds ( since 1988 or so). Was it ever wimpy bar? There was one in queensferry street
08-12-2012, 12:59 PM
Mind the goldbergs roof gardens, seem to recall cages with parrots on them, just after it opened? Could be imagining that tho!
Beefeaters at west end was Crawford attempt at a us style burger joint. Now macdonalds ( since 1988 or so). Was it ever wimpy bar? There was one in queensferry streetThere was one parrot that I remember.
08-12-2012, 01:32 PM
I remember a restaurant back in the 60s called Mackies that specialised in pies....
There was the Mons Meg Tavern, which was I think a sort of steak house/pub? Round about where Debenhams is.
Yeah I know they're not shops :greengrin
That Facebook page with the old photos of Edinburgh would be of help but I think its down just now due to copyright issues.
I remember Mackies - IIRC it was 'tea-rooms' rather than a restaurant. No difference, just a more genteel name.
IIRC it was a bakers and food shop, with the tea-rooms upstairs. they did a 'high tea' - one cooked course like fish and chips, followed by cakes, scones and a big pot of tea. It was about mid-way along - a rest-stop for women out shopping.
Whenever my mother took me into Edinburgh shopping and visiting family that's where we had our lunch - me, my mother and a couple of aunties, then off on a rampage to Marks and Spencers, Smalls (which was where Debenhams is now, IIRC), Binns, Forsyths, and Jenners. That was in the days of the old trams - incredible vehicles to a wee boy. Princes Street ion a winter's evening, with the shop lights and street lights and Christmas lights and the trams queueing up at the West End or at the foot of the Bridges was magical.
Binns at the West End was the usual place for couples to meet up on the Saturday evening for dates. Sometimes on a blind date this gave you the chance to scope her out before you introduced yourself - I guess there were lots of disappointed boys and girls stood up outside Binns because the date decided he/she didn't like the look of her/him after all.
It's just off Princes Street, but the last 6 feet of the old tram track in Edinburgh can be found at the traffic island at the ligts crossing from the top of Leith Street to the GPO. Goes back to the old cable-cars the slot for the grip that connected with cable runs between the rails - San Francisco style.
08-12-2012, 06:15 PM
I'm sure Mackie's used to deliver bread and the like. I remember a brown van. Apparently I ran out to the street shouting "Mackie's Van"!
That must have been the birth of a major pie-eating career!
Stonewall
08-12-2012, 07:40 PM
I remember Forsyths. Used to be another upmarket department store at the Bridges IIRC called Patrick Thomsons. My Mum told me they had a string quartet playing in the restaraunt which was much frequented by Morningside ladies.
08-12-2012, 09:01 PM
I remember Mackies - IIRC it was 'tea-rooms' rather than a restaurant. No difference, just a more genteel name.
IIRC it was a bakers and food shop, with the tea-rooms upstairs. they did a 'high tea' - one cooked course like fish and chips, followed by cakes, scones and a big pot of tea. It was about mid-way along - a rest-stop for women out shopping.
Whenever my mother took me into Edinburgh shopping and visiting family that's where we had our lunch - me, my mother and a couple of aunties, then off on a rampage to Marks and Spencers, Smalls (which was where Debenhams is now, IIRC), Binns, Forsyths, and Jenners. That was in the days of the old trams - incredible vehicles to a wee boy. Princes Street ion a winter's evening, with the shop lights and street lights and Christmas lights and the trams queueing up at the West End or at the foot of the Bridges was magical.
Binns at the West End was the usual place for couples to meet up on the Saturday evening for dates. Sometimes on a blind date this gave you the chance to scope her out before you introduced yourself - I guess there were lots of disappointed boys and girls stood up outside Binns because the date decided he/she didn't like the look of her/him after all.
It's just off Princes Street, but the last 6 feet of the old tram track in Edinburgh can be found at the traffic island at the ligts crossing from the top of Leith Street to the GPO. Goes back to the old cable-cars the slot for the grip that connected with cable runs between the rails - San Francisco style.
Dizzy corner ! :greengrin
sg7nil
10-12-2012, 09:21 AM
I used to work in Littlewoods store (now I think it's M&S or summat - but to be fair I don't go to Princes St these days as I find the other malls more car friendly and being undercover they are just nicer places to shop). In a nutshell, there is the main reason that Princes St has declined, although it wasn't helped by the city council setting astronomical rates for the shops many years ago. They basically shot themselves in the foot when the traders decided that enough was enough and a load of them moved out.
But anyway, I remember being told that sometime during the late 60's or early 70's there was a decision made to instigate a walkway at first floor level that was eventually supposed to run the full length of the street (with foot bridges to cross over at Castle St, Frederick St, Hannover St etc. Many shops that got new frontages around that time complied and It's most noticeable at the stretch where Littlewoods used to be, but there are some other sections that can be spotted further along. Once irt was completed it would have been possible to go the full length of the street, entering and leaving shops on their first floors and never having to set foot on the actual pavement. Basically any shop that was being done up was expected to build in that brutal concrete block type of style and that was going to mean that eventually all the shops would have had pretty identical frontages. I can't believe that anyone can have sanctioned destroying some of the beautiful buildings along there but then town planning in those days also gave us the Kirkgate shops!
As an aside, I asume that Blair Wallace the OP is aware that Princes Street was never designed to be a shopping street? That was supposed to be what George St was designed for, with Princes St being residential just as Queen St was supposed to be.
10-12-2012, 09:38 AM
I used to work in Littlewoods store
i worked down in the food hall there in jan 77 after leaving school, was only there 6 months and swore never EVER to work with the public again, final straw came when an auld bat let her dug do it's business oor the shop floor, i refused to clean it up, got reprimanded for it by the boss and packed it in two weeks later,and i never did work with the public again i'm glad to say :greengrin
anyway, who else remembers the old woolies restaurant, it was huge :greengrin
10-12-2012, 03:25 PM
i worked down in the food hall there in jan 77 after leaving school, was only there 6 months and swore never EVER to work with the public again, final straw came when an auld bat let her dug do it's business oor the shop floor, i refused to clean it up, got reprimanded for it by the boss and packed it in two weeks later,and i never did work with the public again i'm glad to say :greengrin
anyway, who else remembers the old woolies restaurant, it was huge :greengrin
My sister had a holiday job in Littlewoods canteen in the late 60s and before work she said the staff had to gather round for a pep talk from the manager ending with a rousing "Loyal to the Top!" No wonder she became a red hot Socialist!
Somehow I can't imagine that sort of thing going on in John Lewis.
10-12-2012, 05:51 PM
My sister had a holiday job in Littlewoods canteen in the late 60s and before work she said the staff had to gather round for a pep talk from the manager ending with a rousing "Loyal to the Top!" No wonder she became a red hot Socialist!
Somehow I can't imagine that sort of thing going on in John Lewis.
nah nothing like that a decade later :greengrin i love looking at old photographs as it is, but seeing the old ones of Edinburgh and Leith could bring a nostalgic tear to ones eyes :agree:
10-12-2012, 07:24 PM
I used to work in Littlewoods store
cant reply, yer message box is full :greengrin
10-12-2012, 08:45 PM
Not going back as far as you auld boys have in the last few posts :greengrin, but I have fond memories of The Other Record Shop after it moved down from the High Street to round about where the Disney store was/is at the east end. I used to go between it and HMV at St James' Centre (which is still there of course) just looking at records - I'd usually not have any money or have enough for a quarter pounder and large coke from Wimpy, and unfortunately the burgers always won in that case - evidenced to this day by my gut and mediocre record collection.
The "chase" scene in Restless Natives has a couple of good shots of Princes Street/ Hanover Street as they were in 1984, and always bring a nostalgic smile.
10-12-2012, 09:21 PM
Who remembers Milk Bars, usually painted in a boring light green colour? I can think of one in Sth St Andrew St and one in Lothian Rd.
10-12-2012, 09:27 PM
I remember Forsyths. Used to be another upmarket department store at the Bridges IIRC called Patrick Thomsons. My Mum told me they had a string quartet playing in the restaraunt which was much frequented by Morningside ladies.
My mates fiance worked in the record dept at PT's and on Saturday mornings my mate and I used to go there to hear all the latest releases :greengrin They had two soundproofed booths and you could sit in there and sing along :greengrin
10-12-2012, 09:40 PM
Not sure which store it was on Princes St but it was a fashion store with a restaurant upstairs and models dressed in examples of the shop's latest gear used to sashay between the tables while ladies took their tea. My mum called them manikins which word always struck me as denoting a disability of some kind or membership of a closed religious order.
It might have been Smalls or Grants? Possibly the one with the moth-eaten stuffed bears outside!
alnewhaven
10-12-2012, 10:03 PM
The bears were over Marcus furriers in castle street
10-12-2012, 10:26 PM
Who remembers Milk Bars, usually painted in a boring light green colour? I can think of one in Sth St Andrew St and one in Lothian Rd.
I remember the one on St Andrew Street. :agree:
10-12-2012, 11:19 PM
The bears were over Marcus furriers in castle street
They couldn't have been stuffed bears - not out in all weathers?
Sounds like the sort of firm that deserved to go out of business.
Bears are the noblest of animals and should never be treated with anything less than the utmost respect and consideration.
http://storage.canoe.ca/v1/blogs-prod-photos/3/4/8/0/5/348053e06865df83056043fb1ebadb41.jpg?stmp=13319860 53
11-12-2012, 10:36 AM
They couldn't have been stuffed bears - not out in all weathers?
Sounds like the sort of firm that deserved to go out of business.
Bears are the noblest of animals and should never be treated with anything less than the utmost respect and consideration.
http://storage.canoe.ca/v1/blogs-prod-photos/3/4/8/0/5/348053e06865df83056043fb1ebadb41.jpg?stmp=13319860 53
Except the ones you see around Ibrox!
My sister and her school pal used to work in a Danish Kitchen somewhere in a posh gentleman’s shop along the west end of PS. I appreciate the thread is about names rather than stories but …
Each Saturday they would go in a feed the mice that lived behind the big fridge. Well, the manager told them the place had to be spotless at all times but if they did that the poor wee mice would starve and they're only wee.
Anyone feeling queasy?
11-12-2012, 01:49 PM
My sister and her school pal used to work in a Danish Kitchen somewhere in a posh gentleman’s shop along the west end of PS. I appreciate the thread is about names rather than stories but …
Each Saturday they would go in a feed the mice that lived behind the big fridge. Well, the manager told them the place had to be spotless at all times but if they did that the poor wee mice would starve and they're only wee.
Anyone feeling queasy?
Thanks for sharing that. Actually, the tradition of nurturing our furry friends in that part of P St lived on for at least a while as I seem to recall McDonalds basement becoming overrun with "big team" rodents some years back!
12-12-2012, 08:08 PM
:agree: I was pretty young so only have vague memories but was always taken to Goldbergs to see Santa whilst it was still open.
Anyhow never mind shops, who remembers the fountains outside the Sheraton Hotel? Me and my brother used to always ask my dad to drive past there so we could see them!
12-12-2012, 10:29 PM
Used to look forward to a trip to Woollies restaurant opposite Waverley Steps when I was a nipper, Cottage Pie then a Knickerbocker Glory was the way forward in the late 70's!
Its not Princes Street, but, I used to look forward to a visit to "The Store" on Bread Street for a new pair of Clarks shoes so that I could get my feet measured in that big electrical contraption they had.
12-12-2012, 10:38 PM
Used to look forward to a trip to Woollies restaurant opposite Waverley Steps when I was a nipper, Cottage Pie then a Knickerbocker Glory was the way forward in the late 70's!
Its not Princes Street, but, I used to look forward to a visit to "The Store" on Bread Street for a new pair of Clarks shoes so that I could get my feet measured in that big electrical contraption they had.
Shoe shops used to have sort of columnar scope-type things through which you could view your feet in the prospective footwear. They were a sort of space age phenomenon. You had to step up onto them. I'm almost sure they were radioactive.
Jacey or The Monsignor as it was later known didnt show the dirties, thinking of The Classic at Surgeons Hall.
Slight change in route, anybody remember Ronnie Simpsons Sports Shop in Rose Street.
31-12-2012, 06:43 PM
Jacey or The Monsignor as it was later known didnt show the dirties, thinking of The Classic at Surgeons Hall.
Slight change in route, anybody remember Ronnie Simpsons Sports Shop in Rose Street.
The Jacey definitely did. Used to pass it on my way to and from school very day in the 60's.
http://cinematreasures.org/theaters/23227
31-12-2012, 07:20 PM
:agree: Bought a couple of things there IIRC :agree:
Andy Bee
31-12-2012, 09:55 PM
Goldberg's had a nice roof garden and escalators - or "moving staircases" as my mum used to call them!
I got my trainer caught in the top of that escalator on the way to see Santa, I thought it was going to suck my whole body in, very traumatic indeed, needless to say I don't do escalators now and if I have to I skelp the emergency stop button before using them. :agree:
10-01-2013, 04:31 PM
Going back slightlyfurther than most of these stories, this might be of interest to some:
http://www.ourtownstories.co.uk/#overview/
10-01-2013, 08:13 PM
And here's a photo of the TVs in Binns from Facebook http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=472978612759827&set=a.251802618210762.62536.162922127098812&type=1&theater
10-01-2013, 09:16 PM
i've just noticed this thread (i've not been in the holy ground section for a while) and heres my two bobs worth..
my first job upon leaving school in 1980 was in the kitchens of the farmhouse restuarant on princes street..it was towards the west end but im not sure what it is now...i'll have to check it out...it was a massive, sprawling place with seating on two floors and im sure it was considered to be slightly more upmarket than the likes of martins the bakers ect...other shops i remember at the time were rankins the grocers, now ryans bar....mr. beaujangles clothes shop on shandwick place...listen record shop where big john from the exploited worked (that was just off of princes st and was a punk hang out)...also bruces record shop on rose street which now sells clothes i think...oh aye...lillywhites the sports shop at the west end and next to it a burger joint where mcdonalds now stands....also remember john greigs sports shop on the royal mile, he used to work in it on sundays...how mad is that?...the rangers captain behind the counter of a shop selling football boots to kids the day after playing an old firm derby!
anyway thats not why im posting...this is...
a year or so back i had the job of repairing the lightning protection on the roof of a department store towards the east end...the ground floor is top shop i think and on the roof there is a giant statue type thing of a round ball...you've all seen it im sure...to get access to the roof we had to go through the upper floors on foot as there is no working elevator and when we reached the top floor we came across a time warp....the place has been left as it was from the 1970's...there is a hairdressers area with real tacky wallpaper and dodgy posters of hairstyles of the era...there is a habidashery area with old ornate shelves and glass counters like in 'are you being served'...the cloakrooms and toilets have graffiti from the 70's and the changing rooms smell like john inmans underpants...as i nosed around looking for stuff worth stealing it struck me that this is a wasted opportunity and with a bit of imagination the owner of this empty space could open the area up as a old school type cafe...there are wonderful views out to princes street and the place is structurally sound, it seems such a waste that it just lies empty gathering dust.
the roof is dodgy though...the ballistrades around the ball statue are loose and its only a matter of time before sections of it start falling onto shoppers below...there is no mortar between the copes and the uprights in some areas and if you put any weight on the masonery it moves significantly.
10-01-2013, 09:55 PM
i've just noticed this thread (i've not been in the holy ground section for a while) and heres my two bobs worth..
my first job upon leaving school in 1980 was in the kitchens of the farmhouse restuarant on princes street..it was towards the west end but im not sure what it is now...i'll have to check it out...it was a massive, sprawling place with seating on two floors and im sure it was considered to be slightly more upmarket than the likes of martins the bakers ect...other shops i remember at the time were rankins the grocers, now ryans bar....mr. beaujangles clothes shop on shandwick place...listen record shop where big john from the exploited worked (that was just off of princes st and was a punk hang out)...also bruces record shop on rose street which now sells clothes i think...oh aye...lillywhites the sports shop at the west end and next to it a burger joint where mcdonalds now stands....also remember john greigs sports shop on the royal mile, he used to work in it on sundays...how mad is that?...the rangers captain behind the counter of a shop selling football boots to kids the day after playing an old firm derby!
a year or so back i had the job of repairing the lightning protection on the roof of a department store towards the east end...the ground floor is top shop i think and on the roof there is a giant statue type thing of a round ball...you've all seen it im sure...to get access to the roof we had to go through the upper floors on foot as there is no working elevator and when we reached the top floor we came across a time warp....the place has been left as it was from the 1970's...there is a hairdressers area with real tacky wallpaper and dodgy posters of hairstyles of the era...there is a habidashery area with old ornate shelves and glass counters like in 'are you being served'...the cloakrooms and toilets have graffiti from the 70's and the changing rooms smell like john inmans underpants...as i nosed around looking for stuff worth stealing it struck me that this is a wasted opportunity and with a bit of imagination the owner of this empty space could open the area up as a old school type cafe...there are wonderful views out to princes street and the place is structurally sound, it seems such a waste that it just lies empty gathering dust.
the roof is dodgy though...the ballistrades around the ball statue are loose and its only a matter of time before sections of it start falling onto shoppers below...there is no mortar between the copes and the uprights in some areas and if you put any weight on the masonery it moves significantly.
That's fantastic (leaving aside the future falling masonry stuff).
Even fairly recently, at the top of the Edinburgh Wheel at Christmas, you could see into the mending/alterations bit of Jenners, and it was like a stolen glance into a previous era.
18-01-2013, 08:07 PM
One of Edinburgh's finest ever sports shops was situated in Waverley Market when it first opened, Marathon Sports. Did awfy good trainers!
Then nip round for burger to Yankee Doodle!, better than Wimpy :)
18-01-2013, 08:25 PM
Don't bother telling Building Control about it. You'll only disturb their slumbers. Hopeless bunch of time servers.
26-01-2013, 09:10 AM
That's fantastic (leaving aside the future falling masonry stuff).
Even fairly recently, at the top of the Edinburgh Wheel at Christmas, you could see into the mending/alterations bit of Jenners, and it was like a stolen glance into a previous era.
Just noticed this thread.... A few years back I was working in there (surveying for power cables) and ended up in those upper floors.... The place could be opened as a museum! The old wooden "tills" etc were all intact, just needing a dust to bring back the shine.
03-03-2017, 01:40 PM
Very random but can anyone remember the name of the restaurant in Rose At which had the big stuffed bear outside? Wasn't that long ago (90's), been bugging me all day. Was a burger type place I think.
03-03-2017, 03:17 PM
Very random but can anyone remember the name of the restaurant in Rose At which had the big stuffed bear outside? Wasn't that long ago (90's), been bugging me all day. Was a burger type place I think.
Wimpy?
http://res.cloudinary.com/jpress/image/fetch/w_620,f_auto,ar_3:2,c_fill/http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.4218707.1472732032!/image/image.jpg
03-03-2017, 03:38 PM
Wimpy?
http://res.cloudinary.com/jpress/image/fetch/w_620,f_auto,ar_3:2,c_fill/http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.4218707.1472732032!/image/image.jpg
Definitely was a Wimpy in the 70's and 80's.
03-03-2017, 04:01 PM
Definitely was a Wimpy in the 70's and 80's.
But never had a stuffed bear outside nor was it in rose st!
03-03-2017, 04:18 PM
Get Stuffed? That was 80s, don't know if it was still around in the 90s.
03-03-2017, 05:22 PM
Get Stuffed? That was 80s, don't know if it was still around in the 90s.
Hmmm......Could be
Must have been some big department stores.
The idea of the 60s design code was to have two levels of shops with a walkway at first floor. Usual misguided interfering by planners.
Was Princes Street originally a shopping street or was it built as residences, I wonder.
I'll add John Menzies and was there not a Burberry Shop near the east end in the late eighties??
Lillywhites.
Did that become Fire Island?
04-03-2017, 10:32 AM
Hmmm......Could be
I think it's now called Wildfire. Across from Dirty Dick's which I'm sure was the Rose Revived back in the good old days.
04-03-2017, 11:02 AM
Woolies at the east end , Binns at the West end (traditionally a meeting place for dates), Rankins at the West end in Queensferry Street. The Waverley Market when it was a real market with a fairground inside at Christmas times.
Other notable shops Bandparts (Leith Street), Parkers (Bristo Pl?), Patrick Thomsons, Starks & Baird's (the Bridges), B. Hyams (High Street next to the Tron).
Dan Sarf
04-03-2017, 11:20 AM
Frasers used to be Binns I think.
"You get rubbish in Binns" as my Irish cousin once remarked.:greengrin
Dan Sarf
04-03-2017, 11:27 AM
Yeah it was, right at the beginning of trainspotting. I was working next door at First Sport at the time and they were filming outside for a few days.
John Menzies also had a huge amount of magazines. Spent many a lunch time reading in there!
I used to sit on a sofa in the furniture department in Binns after school (we didn't have a telly) and watch the kids programmes on the TVs in the TV department which was next to it.
They always chucked me out at five minutes to six so I never saw the end of The Lone Ranger, etc.
05-03-2017, 06:04 PM
Funny story about Goldbergs in the early 90s, me and my mates used to go to Goldbergs at lunchtime as we went to St Tams. At Christmas time they always had a Santa's grotto and I think it was like £1 or something for which you got a raffle ticket which you gave to Santa at the end and you got a toy, or you could go through the grotto for free but not get the raffle ticket and toy. So one of my mates decides to buy a book of raffle tickets, and for about 1 week we go in and say we just want to go round and look, my mates gives us all a raffle ticket and we give it to Santa and get the toy! Feel bad now but was hilarious at the time!
05-03-2017, 06:50 PM
There was a Burberry combined with Scotch House.
I had a cashmere scarf from the Scotch House, absolutely beautiful thing. Had it on one night that went a bit too far and I ended up being sick and the scarf caught it.
My dad, meaning well, stuck it in the washing machine.
It came out about the size of a tie......
Leith's finest
15-03-2017, 06:40 AM
Did that become Fire Island?
Before it became Fire island it was called the west end club, it was a side door next to a watch shop that took you upstairs
15-03-2017, 09:08 AM
Before it became Fire island it was called the west end club, it was a side door next to a watch shop that took you upstairs
OMG, I remember that!!!
19-03-2017, 11:11 AM
I don't know if Salisbury Handbags has had a mention. It might still be there for all I know. Not that I was ever in it.:greengrin
19-03-2017, 02:57 PM
Must have been some big department stores.
The idea of the 60s design code was to have two levels of shops with a walkway at first floor. Usual misguided interfering by planners.
Was Princes Street originally a shopping street or was it built as residences, I wonder.
This is the sort of lunacy undertaken by the 60s planners...
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/entertainment/the-destruction-of-a-princes-street-palazzo-1-4382950
As for Princes Street's history, it began life as a mainly residential street but I think there's only one of the original 'homes' left. Today there are only nine people on the electoral roll registered as living on Princes Street. This guy used to be one of them:
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/duke-of-princes-st-leaves-26m-legacy-1-3963264
19-03-2017, 03:15 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/entertainment/the-destruction-of-a-princes-street-palazzo-1-4382950
As for Princes Street's history, it began life as a mainly residential street but I think there's only one of the original 'homes' left. Today there are only nine people on the electoral roll registered as living on Princes Street. This guy used to be one of them:
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/duke-of-princes-st-leaves-26m-legacy-1-3963264
Says in that article that Sean Connery stays in the New Club when in Edinburgh? Not that he's been in Edinburgh for a while now and unlikely to return but he stayed in the Caley on his visits not the New Club.
Don't get me started about planners!
I once saw the plans for the demolition of the art school and its replacement with a modern building that included the demolition of the west end of the Grassmarket and the construction of a bridge of the type that was once part of the St James Centre spanning from the Laurieston Place building over to Johnson Terrace.
I was told it was only weeks from going ahead when the plug was pulled.