View Full Version : Leigh Griffiths to sign/having medical (Merged)

25-08-2011, 07:58 PM
Medical in the morning then done deal :wink:

25-08-2011, 07:59 PM
Nice wee foil for GOC if true :agree:

Good good :greengrin

Lee Marvin
Ok, I'll start. Source?

SneakersO'Toole
Get him playing in the derby.

25-08-2011, 08:00 PM
Why 6 months

25-08-2011, 08:01 PM

Ok, I'll start. Source?

His goalkeeping mate :wink:

25-08-2011, 08:02 PM
Why 6 months

It's a loan deal.

25-08-2011, 08:02 PM
Why 6 months

:dunno: time off for good behaviour?

25-08-2011, 08:10 PM
I presume that barring Wolves undergoing a major injury or form crisis that come January the loan will be extended until the end of the season? No point in going back to Molineux to sit in the stand.

25-08-2011, 08:12 PM
I presume that barring Wolves undergoing a major injury or form crisis that come January the loan will be extended until the end of the season? No point in going back to Molineux to sit in the stand.

Hopefully, as long as he sticks the ball in the net regularly enough. :agree:

25-08-2011, 08:13 PM
Happy with this if it comes to pass :thumbsup:

25-08-2011, 08:21 PM
Maybe Fletch put in a word for Hibs as a place to grow :greengrin

Hope its not Jimmy White

25-08-2011, 08:35 PM
I am of the opinion that like under Hughes all these short term deals and loans will in the long run cause more trouble than they are worth. Fair enough if we are getting players we would never ever possibly get to sign long term as they are so good I would understand however most are alright players nothing that exciting.

25-08-2011, 08:58 PM
Believe it when i see it :rolleyes:

25-08-2011, 09:11 PM
I've only seen him once and he was garbage. :greengrin

25-08-2011, 09:25 PM
I heard it was a season long loan deal. No idea if he's any good or not but fingers crossed.

25-08-2011, 09:35 PM
Quite happy with this if true. Different style from other strikers we have currently. On as a sub on sunday and scorea last minute winner !

25-08-2011, 09:36 PM
Please be true :thumbsup:

25-08-2011, 09:46 PM
hope to see "sparky" in a Hibs strip soon :flag:

25-08-2011, 10:51 PM
No disrespect to the Op but how many times recently have we read a thread stating the exacy same ? Do we really need another forward anyway ? IF we have any spare cash for another signing, loan or permanant IMO we should be trying for another experienced c/h to partner O'Hanlon.

25-08-2011, 11:11 PM

Saw him versus Motherwell in the cup and he was awful but judging by his goal record he must have had an off day, hopefully. :greengrin

broonie27
25-08-2011, 11:18 PM
why are signing more strikers. it's defenders we need desperately. and not 20 year olds either, we need big ugly winners in the Steve Bruce mould.

26-08-2011, 05:39 AM
No disrespect to the Op but how many times recently have we read a thread stating the exacy same ? Do we really need another forward anyway ? IF we have any spare cash for another signing, loan or permanant IMO we should be trying for another experienced c/h to partner O'Hanlon. Yep in total agreement but being a greedy barsteward i would be happy to take both as he gives up a different option up front

EasterRoad4Ever
26-08-2011, 07:01 AM
Any quality signing is a good thing, but Hibs appear to be living from hand to mouth. We have so many players on 6-18 month deals, we'll have to rebuild the squad again within the next 9 months - with all the baggage that comes with that.

26-08-2011, 07:03 AM

He's funny though!

steviecarnie
26-08-2011, 07:29 AM
Ok, I'll start. Source?

can confirm hibs were in talks earlier in the week, his cousin who posts on here bumped into his brother. not seen him since so cant confirm the medical and signing.

26-08-2011, 07:38 AM
why are signing more strikers. it's defenders we need desperately. and not 20 year olds either, we need big ugly winners in the Steve Bruce mould.

Steve Bruce-esque players are ten-a-penny these days so they are :rolleyes:

We do need another CB, but if we get one (which I don't think we will) I'd be surprised if they weren't more of the "20 year old" variety than the "Steve Bruce" variety

Kevin@green
26-08-2011, 07:54 AM
Medical in the morning then done deal :wink:

found below on sky sports news :thumbsup:

Wolves striker Leigh Griffiths could be allowed to return to Scotland on loan with Aberdeen and Hibernian believed to be interested.

The 21-year-old is in the squad for Wolves' Carling Cup tie at Northampton on Tuesday, but awaits his competitive debut for the club.

He signed for £150,000 from Dundee in January, but manager Mick McCarthy is keen for the forward to get some game time.

McCarthy had hoped for an offer from an English Football League side but interest has not materialised, although it has done in Griffiths' homeland.

"A few clubs in Scotland have shown interest. I want him to play football and my preference is for him to do that in England," he said.

"But, if it's in Scotland , then fine, and I have told him that."

Miller33
26-08-2011, 08:28 AM
can confirm hibs were in talks earlier in the week, his cousin who posts on here bumped into his brother. not seen him since so cant confirm the medical and signing.

Aww its yersel..

Yes, talks were ongoing between Hibs & Wolves 2 days ago, not sure what stage things are at now as I havent spoken to Leigh, all i know is that if Hibs and Wolves come to an agreement then Leigh will choose Hibs over anyone... its all down to Petrie unfortunately!

26-08-2011, 08:29 AM
Get it sor....aahh you know the rest.

26-08-2011, 09:04 AM
markbenstead (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead) Mark Benstead

#Hibs (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Hibs) - cc plans to have Leigh Griffiths on board next week.

44 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead/status/107004141716508672)

26-08-2011, 09:36 AM
markbenstead (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead) Mark Benstead

#Hibs (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Hibs) - cc plans to have Leigh Griffiths on board next week.

44 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead/status/107004141716508672)

So we'd remain Terryless for the Derby.

26-08-2011, 10:25 AM
Just seen the back page of todays evening news and the headline is Exclusive: Hibs sign LG on a short term deal (or words to that effect) im guessing as airey got injured that he wont be comeing back up from newcastle but only my assumption

any way welcome leigh :flag:

mentalhibee
26-08-2011, 10:30 AM
1036: FOOTBALL - Hibernian manager Colin Calderwood has confirmed that he expects Wolves striker Leigh Griffiths to join the club on loan.

from bbc live txt, hope he's in before sunday!:flag:

26-08-2011, 10:33 AM
As I've said on the other thread, the EEN have been running with Hibs making an eighth signing of the summer and then announcing who it is.

We've only got seven in so far :wink:

Mary Hinge
26-08-2011, 10:35 AM
Just had a text from the Club but the player isn't named.

Twa Cairpets
26-08-2011, 10:36 AM
Hiya Leigh, Hiya pal!

Engels74
26-08-2011, 10:37 AM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,,11699_7125660,00.html

(http://www.skysports.com/story/0,,11699_7125660,00.html)Calderwood, whose side face Edinburgh rivals the Yams on Sunday, said: "We're hoping to sign one more. And we hope that will be Leigh Griffiths.
"There's a bit of paperwork to be done and everything will need to go very well to get him here by the weekend.
"He's another goalscorer and I think that's what we need.
"Leigh had a big desire to come back to Scotland, and particularly here, so that has helped to push it through."

26-08-2011, 10:40 AM
Would be a huge boost ahead of Sunday, hope it's (finally) true :thumbsup:

26-08-2011, 10:44 AM
Would be a huge boost ahead of Sunday, hope it's (finally) true :thumbsup:

Well the manager is quoted as having the named the player and that 'his desire to be here has helped push it through.'

It doesn't get too much more confirmed than that.

26-08-2011, 10:46 AM
Believe it when i see it :rolleyes:

No disrespect to the Op but how many times recently have we read a thread stating the exacy same ? Do we really need another forward anyway ? IF we have any spare cash for another signing, loan or permanant IMO we should be trying for another experienced c/h to partner O'Hanlon.

:whistle::whistle:

Only post things like this when I'm sure :wink:

26-08-2011, 10:54 AM
Every day this week ive heard he's "signing tomorrow"

26-08-2011, 10:55 AM

Think it will be in time for the Derby, H18sry?

26-08-2011, 10:56 AM
Teckle!

26-08-2011, 10:59 AM
Quality! :thumbsup:

26-08-2011, 11:04 AM
Back page of the news.....

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/

26-08-2011, 11:11 AM
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/Calderwood-bolsters--Easter-Road.6825656.jp

26-08-2011, 11:12 AM
Directly from Sparky's facebook - "Today is the day"

26-08-2011, 11:19 AM
Think it will be in time for the Derby, H18sry?

It's all meant to be done today and may even be a season long loan. :wink:

26-08-2011, 11:20 AM
Would be a good signing I'd think, get him in the squad for Sunday!

26-08-2011, 11:23 AM
I said a few weeks back he would be the perfect foil for GOC, A nippy wee player with an eye for goal ..Very decent addition :agree:

aberhibsfc
26-08-2011, 11:27 AM
He's been keen to return here for some time, only shame is it's a loan deal.

Good move for both parties, hope he enjoy's his time and sticks a few goals away, especially against the Maroon turds.

Welcome hame and teckle.

26-08-2011, 11:31 AM
"While Griffith's move appears straightforward, the Evening News can reveal it was Calderwood's refusal to take no for an answer which paved the way for Republic of Ireland Under-21 star Towell to return to Hibs for whom he made 16 appearances last season.

The News understands Calderwood had three approaches rejected before he managed to persuade Hoops boss Neil Lennon to allow Towell to rejoin Hibs, a move which the 20-year-old was more than happy to make."

Well done CC.

26-08-2011, 11:36 AM
"While Griffith's move appears straightforward, the Evening News can reveal it was Calderwood's refusal to take no for an answer which paved the way for Republic of Ireland Under-21 star Towell to return to Hibs for whom he made 16 appearances last season.

The News understands Calderwood had three approaches rejected before he managed to persuade Hoops boss Neil Lennon to allow Towell to rejoin Hibs, a move which the 20-year-old was more than happy to make."

Well done CC.

Wasn't CC Lennon's boss at Forest?

26-08-2011, 11:37 AM

Calderwood signed him

The_Famous_HFC
26-08-2011, 11:39 AM
Decent enough singing but is there really any need for another striker? If he is going to start each week ahead of the likes of Sodje then we may as well get rid of him now instead of relying on him later in the season when he hasn't developed any further.:confused:

26-08-2011, 11:43 AM
Decent enough singing but is there really any need for another striker? If he is going to start each week ahead of the likes of Sodje then we may as well get rid of him now instead of relying on him later in the season when he hasn't developed any further.:confused:

He's a different kind of striker from Sodje and O'Coonor (I haven't seen enough of Agogo to make comment). Where they'll hold the ball up and are decent in the air, Sparky is more of a penalty box guy who has a good bit of pace and will make the runs these guys don't.

I think he'll be a good foil for them.

26-08-2011, 11:44 AM

I cant see him playing as an out and out striker, i think he will be in a similar position to Danny Galbraith had against Berwick

26-08-2011, 11:49 AM

Until recently we have had only one fit striker so we do indeed need cover up top.

He's a different kind of striker from Sodje and O'Coonor (I haven't seen enough of Agogo to make comment). Where they'll hold the ball up and are decent in the air, Sparky is more of a penalty box guy who has a good bit of pace and will make the runs these guys don't.

I think he'll be a good foil for them.

I don't think that was a factor in bringing him to the club.

He'll do the job that Airey was signed for before he realised that he'd breached the borders of Tyneside.

I cant see him playing as an out and out striker, i think he will be in a similar position to Danny Galbraith had against Berwick

Sat on the bench?

26-08-2011, 11:54 AM
Sat on the bench?

I remember him being out on the left with a similar role to Sproule on the other side (am i dreaming?!?)

26-08-2011, 11:55 AM

like you did about Gordon Strachan the day the Barnsley game was called off ?

:smug:

26-08-2011, 12:02 PM
So is Terry the left sided midfielder we were wanting?

26-08-2011, 12:09 PM
like you did about Gordon Strachan the day the Barnsley game was called off ?

:smug:

That wiznae me I was Fraped :greengrin

NYHibby
26-08-2011, 12:23 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/nottingham/content/articles/2007/06/12/neil_lennon_at_forest_feature.shtml

SneakersO'Toole
26-08-2011, 12:24 PM
Good signing and I hope he is ready for the gorgie tramps on Sunday.

He will definitely bring a different dimension to our team and think he could work well with the strikers we have at the club already.

26-08-2011, 12:33 PM
******in teckle!

Hibs On Tour
26-08-2011, 12:36 PM
Think what we all *really* want to know is...

Who is going to take over writing THE blog from Dundee Barry? :greengrin

Funniest football-related stuff I have ever seen in my life - priceless, genius and every other term I can think of! :not worth

26-08-2011, 12:40 PM
Towell... didnae see that one coming, nice one just before the derby.
hopefully the derby isnt too early for it all to come together...looking good....

steviecarnie
26-08-2011, 12:59 PM
done deal straight in the squad for sunday - source text from miller33

SneakersO'Toole
26-08-2011, 01:04 PM

Excellent.

Would love more than anything if Leigh scored the winner on Sunday against these gorgie cretins.

26-08-2011, 01:08 PM

welcome Home SPARKY :thumbsup:

26-08-2011, 01:26 PM

I think I'm correct in saying he's been playing left midfield for Wolves reserves.

26-08-2011, 01:32 PM
Welcome to hibs sparkie

26-08-2011, 01:36 PM
Welcome Home Sparky. Hope you score the winner on Sunday :thumbsup:

26-08-2011, 01:39 PM
:thumbsup: Good stuff - if he lives up to his billing he'll be a very good player for us!

26-08-2011, 01:42 PM
An e-mail from Hibs saying they have signed 'Terry' subject to a medical for 6 months. It got me thinking, six months is a strange sort of time as it takes us to the end of February and outside the transfer window.
Would we be able to extend the loan deal at that point if Wolves are ok with that and we still want him, or would it mean he has to return regardless?

26-08-2011, 01:43 PM
'Mon the Terry.

26-08-2011, 02:02 PM
Football Manager 12 is gonna be class with Griffiths and O'Connor upfront :greengrin

26-08-2011, 02:02 PM
An e-mail from Hibs saying they have signed 'Terry' subject to a medical for 6 months. It got me thinking, six months is a strange sort of time as it takes us to the end of February and outside the transfer window.
Would we be able to extend the loan deal at that point if Wolves are ok with that and we still want him, or would it mean he has to return regardless?

Got a vague recollection that 'international' loans like this are generally 6 or 12 months, so not sure whether or not we'd be able to renew it in January without it running in to August next year (presumably as a means of the extension tagging on to the existing deal). Would be nice to have him for the full season but I'm sure that will depend on how well he does.

26-08-2011, 02:19 PM
Got a vague recollection that 'international' loans like this are generally 6 or 12 months, so not sure whether or not we'd be able to renew it in January without it running in to August next year (presumably as a means of the extension tagging on to the existing deal). Would be nice to have him for the full season but I'm sure that will depend on how well he does.

That's right. We might be glad to see the back of him by February. :greengrin

26-08-2011, 03:10 PM
Hibs are also hoping to complete the loan signing of Leigh Griffiths, but it is doubtful whether the Wolves striker will sign in time to feature in Gorgie.

26-08-2011, 03:12 PM
Hibs are also hoping to complete the loan signing of Leigh Griffiths, but it is doubtful whether the Wolves striker will sign in time to feature in Gorgie.

If he was going to be involved on Sunday which I think he will, it would make no sense for Hibs to declare that.

26-08-2011, 03:13 PM
He is signed subject to a medical according to the official site. So he should be ok to face the manky mob

26-08-2011, 03:17 PM
He has passed the medical.

26-08-2011, 03:18 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110826/colins-transfer-update_2262950_2432963

26-08-2011, 03:18 PM

Excellent News :thumbsup:

26-08-2011, 03:25 PM

Source?

Great news that he is signing. Hope he features on Sunday, and scores the winner against them.

:flag::flag:

26-08-2011, 03:31 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110826/colins-transfer-update_2262950_2432963

Calderwood said: "I'm delighted we've got Leigh and I'm looking forward to seeing him make a big impression with Hibernian moving forward.

"He's got good pace, he's very deceptive in the air and he is a goalscorer. He is someone who has caught my eye when I saw him playing for the under-21s.

:flag::thumbsup:

26-08-2011, 03:41 PM
Absolutely buzzing at this news :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Welcome home Leigh. We all know how much this club means to you, go score on sunday and give the jambos a GIFUY celebration!!!:aok:

26-08-2011, 03:49 PM
Is his Facebook private?

26-08-2011, 03:53 PM
Is his Facebook private?

Aye

26-08-2011, 03:53 PM
Is his Facebook private?

Aye :agree:

26-08-2011, 03:56 PM
Aye

Shame!! Remember he had a status update a few years back that wasn't very complementary to hearts, what a top boy. :not worth

Really hoping he does a deek style winner and celebration come sunday.

26-08-2011, 04:08 PM
Source?

Great news that he is signing. Hope he features on Sunday, and scores the winner against them.

:flag::flag:

No offence but I won't be revealing my source. He has passed the his medical at east mains though.

26-08-2011, 04:49 PM
No offence but I won't be revealing my source. He has passed the his medical at east mains though.

Excellent :cgwa

26-08-2011, 05:29 PM
Great singing.

Score a goal against the manky yob on Sunday!

GGTTH!

26-08-2011, 05:32 PM
just to p*** on the parade, if there was an SPL under 21 league would we win it? Welcome Leigh, young gun number ??, sorry lost count.

PapillonVert
26-08-2011, 05:36 PM
You guys are confusing me. It's my own fault - I should log on more often.

I was wondering who "Terry" was. Clearly not John of that Ilk. But then I read that Towell had signed another loan deal.

So, by a huge effort forcing the brain cells to join up and try and make sense, are we talking about the same person?

Take pity on me. I am kind to children and animals. Usually. Ocasionally also Jambos.

26-08-2011, 05:40 PM

I was wondering who "Terry" was. Clearly not John of that Ilk. But then I read that Towell had signed another loan deal.

So, by a huge effort forcing the brain cells to join up and try and make sense, are we talking about the same person?

Take pity on me. I am kind to children and animals. Usually. Ocasionally also Jambos.
The Terry Griffiths 'joke' may have run its course but it has now entered into club folklore. :wink:

26-08-2011, 05:40 PM

A good attempt but you should take your cue from a different sport.

26-08-2011, 05:41 PM
Get in there! :thumbsup:

Gordy M
26-08-2011, 05:42 PM
Think he will be a great signing, gives us a slightly different option up front. I saw him play for Dundee a couple of times and he is very quick. Hopefully he will score a few goals for us, starting on Sunday!!

CapitalHibs
26-08-2011, 06:11 PM
...and a huge "well done" to Colin Calderwood. He's gone quietly about his business, ostensibly building a squad that at least on paper has the potential, to be right up there with the best. You can see from the "Team for Sunday" just how many good options we have and I don't remember seeing a Hibs squad with that depth before. Yes we may be one or two short of a standard many on here would like but I think CC looks at the larger picture of where he wants Hibs to be, so will take his time to bring the right player in.

That said (and I'm not getting my excuses in early) I think Sunday's derby may have come on us too soon. As I said, the squad has potential, but you can't expect everything to gell together so soon, so as Colin said, there will be bumps on the road.

Anyway, welcome to your short stay with the team you love, Leigh. Give us a winning goal on Sunday and become a Hibee Hero:flag:

26-08-2011, 06:11 PM
So, anyone know if can he play on Sunday or not?

Gordy M
26-08-2011, 06:25 PM
...and a huge "well done" to Colin Calderwood. He's gone quietly about his business, ostensibly building a squad that at least on paper has the potential, to be right up there with the best. You can see from the "Team for Sunday" just how many good options we have and I don't remember seeing a Hibs squad with that depth before. Yes we may be one or two short of a standard many on here would like but I think CC looks at the larger picture of where he wants Hibs to be, so will take his time to bring the right player in.

That said (and I'm not getting my excuses in early) I think Sunday's derby may have come on us too soon. As I said, the squad has potential, but you can't expect everything to gell together so soon, so as Colin said, there will be bumps on the road.

Anyway, welcome to your short stay with the team you love, Leigh. Give us a winning goal on Sunday and become a Hibee Hero:flag:

Totally agree, CC seems on the face of it to have an eye for a player, and our signings so far have been of a better quality than i certainly expected. I just keep waiting on it all to 'click' together and for us to start winning regularly. He has been backed by the board and its now upto CC to prove he is a good manager(which i think he is) and get us up that table and challenging for 3/4/5 place. I really hope my optimism isnt misplaced!!

A win on sunday against the yams would be a good place to start.

26-08-2011, 07:27 PM
So, anyone know if can he play on Sunday or not?

It only says on the website that he's expected to sign today, subject to a medical. Based on that, I'd guess that as things stand at the moment, he can't play on Sunday.

Although to be fair, I'd probably take anything I read on there with a huge pinch of salt. We probably signed Griffiths last Thursday. :rolleyes:

26-08-2011, 07:31 PM
It only says on the website that he's expected to sign today, subject to a medical. Based on that, I'd guess that as things stand at the moment, he can't play on Sunday.

Although to be fair, I'd probably take anything I read on there with a huge pinch of salt. We probably signed Griffiths last Thursday. :rolleyes:

Think the fellah Brooster is better informed than the website.
And he has been for some time.....

mon the cabbage
26-08-2011, 07:46 PM
Just a couple of questions

Has it actually been confirmed yet?

Can he play against them?

If its been comfired then welcome aboard leigh

CapitalHibs
26-08-2011, 08:05 PM

Yup..I'd go along with that:agree:

PapillonVert
26-08-2011, 08:15 PM
A good attempt but you should take your cue from a different sport.

26-08-2011, 08:20 PM

It's the latest .net pun-fest...snooker! Terry Griffiths, hence the cue comment. :rolleyes: :greengrin

26-08-2011, 08:21 PM

And you expect us to take pity on you!! :greengrin

BTW I'm totally in the dark about the Terry Griffiths thing too!

26-08-2011, 08:21 PM

Aw shucks. I try my best.

26-08-2011, 08:24 PM
And you expect us to take pity on you!! :greengrin

BTW I'm totally in the dark about the Terry Griffiths thing too!

Unless i am being really stupid i would hazard a guess as Terry Griffiths = Lee Griffiths !!??

Its the simple things in life.

Mikey_1875
26-08-2011, 08:50 PM
Calderwood has said all along that the team wouldn't be firing on all cylinders to late august and better calibre players will become available later on. I think the Derby will be a hit or miss but with a week off too get everything ellig and by the Aberdeen game I reckon the makings of a very good squad especially with this signing will be raring to go and start making headway up this league pronto!

27-08-2011, 03:33 AM
I'm happy enough Jenkins is joining, but if we were going to sign one more player surely it HAD to be an experienced, reliable CB. We only have three recognized CBs just now and two of them are youngsters who have proved they can't be relied on at the moment. If Hanlon drops another clanger against Hearts will CC see sense before the window closes?

KiddA
27-08-2011, 04:12 AM
Get him on the free kicks :wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tfb1wg_1MfE

sven nil
27-08-2011, 05:28 AM
I'm happy enough Jenkins is joingin, but if we were going to sign one more player surely it HAD to be an experienced, reliable CB. We only have three recognized CBs just now and two of them are youngsters who have proved they can't be relied on at the moment. If Hanlon drops another clanger against Hearts will CC see sense before the window closes?Hope you will still be as happy when you realise its Leigh Griffiths.:wink:

27-08-2011, 07:47 AM
Hoping from a jet-packed performance from Leigh on Sunday.

27-08-2011, 08:48 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110827/local-lad-joins-on-loan_2262950_2432889

Official and included for Sunday.

27-08-2011, 08:52 AM
Delighted it's now official. :thumbsup:

27-08-2011, 08:56 AM
Good news hes ready for tomorrow.

On the bench maybe? Still fancy Sodje to cause a bit of chaos and be first scorer. Im ludicrously confident of a win tomorrow..we ARE the good guys after all.

27-08-2011, 09:04 AM
Good bit of business from Hibs, and it gives us some good options up front now.

27-08-2011, 10:23 AM
That'll ding dang do.

Hopefully he spanks one onto the top corner against the mutants tomorrow.

27-08-2011, 10:35 AM
I'm happy enough Jenkins is joining, but if we were going to sign one more player surely it HAD to be an experienced, reliable CB. We only have three recognized CBs just now and two of them are youngsters who have proved they can't be relied on at the moment. If Hanlon drops another clanger against Hearts will CC see sense before the window closes?

We've been linked with Adam Mitter, an apprentice (so to speak) from Blackpool, but he's just 20/21 from what I can make out, so he doesn't sound like the immediate solution to that problem.

If O'Hanlon is fit, we SHOULD be OK. If he gets injured...

Right now Hanlon/O'Hanlon is a viable partnership IMO. Stephens has been a massive disappointment - he's all over the place, seems to have little or no positional sense, poor in the air for such a big guy and not exactly decisive on the ground. Hanlon's the better player by far, IMO, but he's at a stage where playing alongside an experienced older partner would do him the world of good. We NEED another centre-back NOW.

27-08-2011, 10:37 AM
That'll ding dang do.

Hopefully he spanks one onto the top corner against the mutants tomorrow.

Right at the Hibs end anaw :agree: So he can celebrate with 'us'

27-08-2011, 10:50 AM
:agree:We've been linked with Adam Mitter, an apprentice (so to speak) from Blackpool, but he's just 20/21 from what I can make out, so he doesn't sound like the immediate solution to that problem.If O'Hanlon is fit, we SHOULD be OK. If he gets injured... Right now Hanlon/O'Hanlon is a viable partnership IMO. Stephens has been a massive disappointment - he's all over the place, seems to have little or no positional sense, poor in the air for such a big guy and not exactly decisive on the ground. Hanlon's the better player by far, IMO, but he's at a stage where playing alongside an experienced older partner would do him the world of good. We NEED another centre-back NOW.would disagree with you about Stephens. He has had some poor games but he has also been awarded a few man of the match awards, which shows there is potential there. The guy's younger than hanlon iirc and gets a far harder time, despite being of similar ability and potential imho.

27-08-2011, 11:16 AM
Has he signed officially now? In for the derby?

Seanair
27-08-2011, 11:29 AM
Happy to see him arrive at Hibs, but worried about his memory.

If he went to the school "next to the stadium" (Norton Park Secondary?), that has not been a school for a long time and he's only 21! NPS produced quite a few Hibs players and other seniors but don't think he's one of them.
He could be referring to Hermitage Park Primary School, but that's not "next to the stadium".

As long as he scores goals, couldn't care less where he went to school:hibees

27-08-2011, 11:33 AM

Both Griffiths & Towell are available to play tomorrow.

27-08-2011, 11:37 AM
:agree:Both Griffiths & Towell are available to play tomorrow. Cheers mate. Great news!

27-08-2011, 11:41 AM
Good news hes ready for tomorrow.

On the bench maybe? Still fancy Sodje to cause a bit of chaos and be first scorer. Im ludicrously confident of a win tomorrow..we ARE the good guys after all.

I don't think that the big man is 100% fit but hopefully he will play tomorrow.

27-08-2011, 01:07 PM

If he went to the school "next to the stadium" (Norton Park Secondary?), that has not been a school for a long time and he's only 21! NPS produced quite a few Hibs players and other seniors but don't think he's one of them.
He could be referring to Hermitage Park Primary School, but that's not "next to the stadium".

think Lorne Primary is the nearest to ER or Abbeyhill primary:dunno:

27-08-2011, 01:21 PM

Yes and yes :aok:

27-08-2011, 01:23 PM
Hoping from a jet-packed performance from Leigh on Sunday.

Teckle

27-08-2011, 01:33 PM
Think he'll be a decent addition over the next few months but I think that playing him tomorrow is asking a bit much. He's only played 10 minutes of first team football since he moved to Wolves in January.

It'll be interesting to see how he does in the SPL. He's obviously been fairly prolific in the first division for Livingston and Dundee but it's often a bit of a step up to the SPL.

27-08-2011, 01:54 PM

As long as he scores goals, couldn't care less where he went to school:hibeesNorton Park for right old people or Leith Academy Junior School for youngsters like me hasn't been a school for a while. Leith Academy could be considered next to the stadium, it's only over the road, along a wee bit and round the back.:greengrin

27-08-2011, 02:00 PM
Norton Park for right old people or Leith Academy Junior School for youngsters like me hasn't been a school for a while. Leith Academy could be considered next to the stadium, it's only over the road, along a wee bit and round the back.:greengrin

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leith_Academy#Notable_former_pupils

Seanair
27-08-2011, 04:38 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leith_Academy#Notable_former_pupils

Oh well that explains it--Leithie it is!

Raymond
27-08-2011, 08:34 PM

Ah well Thats that ****ed then!

Duffys13
27-08-2011, 08:42 PM
Think he'll be a decent addition over the next few months but I think that playing him tomorrow is asking a bit much. He's only played 10 minutes of first team football since he moved to Wolves in January.

It'll be interesting to see how he does in the SPL. He's obviously been fairly prolific in the first division for Livingston and Dundee but it's often a bit of a step up to the SPL.

No real point to this, but was speaking to Keith Wright this morning and he was saying he thinks Griffiths and O'Conner would make a perfect partnership up front.

PapillonVert
27-08-2011, 08:46 PM
The Terry Griffiths 'joke' may have run its course but it has now entered into club folklore. :wink:

I am up to speed now ("speed" being a relative term and arguably somewhat flattering in my particular case).

Ta muchly.

PapillonVert
27-08-2011, 08:48 PM

Both Griffiths & Towell are available to play tomorrow.

So, both Terries then!!

Yee ha!

:greengrin:flag:

28-08-2011, 05:26 AM
So can he play wide left? If not we're in a bit of a strange position compared to the start of the transfer window when we only had Sodje, we now actually have too many!

Still, I'm happy.

28-08-2011, 07:19 AM
So can he play wide left? If not we're in a bit of a strange position compared to the start of the transfer window when we only had Sodje, we now actually have too many!Still, I'm happy.

Not fit and available we don't.

28-08-2011, 08:03 AM

I must admit that this is a major concern and I hope it was closely considered when arranging the deal.

28-08-2011, 08:43 AM
I must admit that this is a major concern and I hope it was closely considered when arranging the deal.