View Full Version : League Cup 3rd Round - Motherwell v Hibs

TamHibs
24-08-2011, 12:38 AM
Anyone know which day the 3rd round draw is?

24-08-2011, 12:50 AM
Thursday Morning :aok:

TamHibs
24-08-2011, 01:13 AM
Cheers buddy :aok:

24-08-2011, 09:30 AM
And I think we are unseeded :agree: due to our dire league placing last season.

24-08-2011, 09:31 AM
A home draw for the Cup Top Up I hope!

24-08-2011, 10:08 AM
A home draw for the Cup Top Up I hope!

I won't be making any more midweek games this season, unless at Inverness or Ross County, so one of them would do me. Although for the teams sake i would rather an easy home tie. :agree:

24-08-2011, 10:16 AM
And I think we are unseeded :agree: due to our dire league placing last season.

Depends on tonight's results.

24-08-2011, 10:22 AM
How come none of the games are on tv in this cup? No one got tv rights?

24-08-2011, 10:25 AM
Depends on tonight's results.
So I take it were hoping for a few upsets tonight then? Any idea how many of the teams 'above' us to get knocked out for us to be seeded?

24-08-2011, 10:27 AM
So I take it were hoping for a few upsets tonight then? Any idea how many of the teams 'above' us to get knocked out for us to be seeded?

Last seasons top 8 are seeded :wink:

HiBremian
24-08-2011, 10:35 AM

'Well, ICT and St Johnstone all play tonight, so it depends on their results. With Aberdeen already through, they get first bite at a seeded place, cos they finished above us last season. So we need any 2 of these 3 games to go against form:

St. Johnstone-Livingston
Ayr United-Inverness Caledonian Thistle
Clyde - Motherwell

24-08-2011, 03:33 PM
The Draw's actually at 2pm on Friday at the Falkirk Stadium

Hearts at ER for me please!

24-08-2011, 03:46 PM
'Well, ICT and St Johnstone all play tonight, so it depends on their results. With Aberdeen already through, they get first bite at a seeded place, cos they finished above us last season. So we need any 2 of these 3 games to go against form:

St. Johnstone-Livingston
Ayr United-Inverness Caledonian Thistle
Clyde - Motherwell

It will have to be Livvy and Clyde as I can't see Ayr United knocking out a team in the SPL. :greengrin

Seriously I reckon Livvy and Ayr Utd could do the business.

24-08-2011, 05:55 PM

Hearts at ER for me please!

Would be a good draw for us, easy tie allowing us into next round.

24-08-2011, 07:14 PM
St Johnstone 3 up, Motherwell 1 up, looking like we'll be unseeded.

24-08-2011, 08:04 PM
Motherwell 3 up, Hibs will get either
Celtic
Rangers
Hearts
Dundee Utd
Motherwell
Kilmarnock
St Johnstone
ICT or Aberdeen, ICT currently losing 1-0 Ayr.

p=sh
24-08-2011, 08:05 PM

I am glad you know that, because according to the SFL's own site:

http://www.scottishfootballleague.com/news/article/third-round-draw-47/

SCOTTISH COMMUNITIES LEAGUE CUP THIRD ROUND DRAW

Monday, 29th August, 2011
The Falkirk Stadium
Date: T.B.C

the time isn't advertised by the SPL!

I have to say that it is harder to find a fitba website that is p=sher than the SFL's one.

24-08-2011, 08:09 PM
Surprised the draw isn't at 3.30a.m. in the SFL broom cupboard given the fantastic publicity machine driving this competition :rolleyes:

Home draw please.

crash
24-08-2011, 08:24 PM
Last seasons top 8 are seeded :wink:

ICT knocked out, so that should mean we are seeded:aok: scratch that I thought we had finished 9th, we were 10th.

24-08-2011, 08:44 PM
I am glad you know that, because according to the SFL's own site:

http://www.scottishfootballleague.com/news/article/third-round-draw-47/

SCOTTISH COMMUNITIES LEAGUE CUP THIRD ROUND DRAW

Monday, 29th August, 2011
The Falkirk Stadium
Date: T.B.C

the time isn't advertised by the SPL!

I have to say that it is harder to find a fitba website that is p=sher than the SFL's one.

It was 2pm on Friday on the SFL site this morning!!!

p=sh
24-08-2011, 09:06 PM
ICT knocked out, so that should mean we are seeded:aok: scratch that I thought we had finished 9th, we were 10th.

Sheep at ER would do us, no?

24-08-2011, 10:35 PM
Hearts at home :aok:

24-08-2011, 10:50 PM
Hearts at home :aok:

I'd rather not play them any more than we have to.

The 3/4 SPL games every season are more than enough. :agree:

24-08-2011, 10:54 PM
Sheep at ER would do us, no?

Thats what I am hoping for :agree:

24-08-2011, 10:59 PM
Hearts at home please.

They won't be interested in the diddy cup. They will no doubt field a weakened team while focusing 100% on winning the Europa League.

Monkey Harris
25-08-2011, 05:50 PM
Anybody at Easter Road!!!!!!!

25-08-2011, 06:00 PM
Ayr Utd or Ross County away please. :greengrin:duck:

25-08-2011, 06:05 PM
Ayr Utd or Ross County away please. :greengrin:duck:

We can't get them because we're not seeded for the last 16.

We can get;

Aberdeen
Celtic
Dundee Utd
Hearts
Kilmarnock
Motherwell
Rangers
St Johnstone

wearethehibs
29-08-2011, 08:26 AM
Anyone know what time the draw is?

Billy
29-08-2011, 08:55 AM
Anyone know what time the draw is?

The draw according to the SFL website will be done today @ 1130hrs.

Billy
29-08-2011, 08:57 AM
How come none of the games are on tv in this cup? No one got tv rights?

These are the 1st round games: http://www.scottishfootballleague.com/sfltv/league-cup/

The second round games should be up shortly.

29-08-2011, 10:18 AM
Tbh i don't really care who we get. We would need to beat the better teams at some point anyway.

29-08-2011, 10:23 AM
Hearts at home please, want to avenge that capitulation as quickly as possible and as far as I know we have an amazing record against them in evening games.

29-08-2011, 10:25 AM
These are the 1st round games: http://www.scottishfootballleague.com/sfltv/league-cup/

The second round games should be up shortly.

I think we will get Motherwell at home and the Yams will be away to Celtic.

wearethehibs
29-08-2011, 10:31 AM
I think we will get Motherwell at home and the Yams will be away to Celtic. They can't get celtic as there both seeded

29-08-2011, 10:33 AM
They can't get celtic as there both seeded

Ah that's right, forgot about that.

derekHFC
29-08-2011, 10:34 AM
Ross County v Celtic
Falkirk v Rangers
Airdrie v Dundee Utd
Killie vs. Queens Park
Ayr vs. Yams
St Johnstone vs. St Mirren
Motehrwell vs. Hibs
Aberdeen vs. East Fife

29-08-2011, 10:35 AM
I think we will get ................................................ Gubbed

29-08-2011, 10:38 AM
Just been on the SFL site, results of the draw displayed at 12:00 today

wearethehibs
29-08-2011, 10:38 AM
I hope they have reasonable ticket prices for the game.

29-08-2011, 10:39 AM
Place your bets on when the draw will actually come up. I'm saying half 12.

This will most likely be the draw:

Aberdeen v Queen of the South
Airdrie United v Rangers (live on BBC)
East Fife v Celtic (live on BBC)
Falkirk v St Johnstone
Hearts v Ayr Utd
Kilmarnock v St Mirren
Motherwell v Hibernian
Ross County v Dundee Utd

29-08-2011, 10:39 AM
Ross County v Celtic
Falkirk v Rangers
Airdrie v Dundee Utd
Killie vs. Queens Park
Ayr vs. Yams
Motehrwell vs. Hibs
Aberdeen vs. East Fife

Ok you beat me to it, not looking good, not in the shape we are in

29-08-2011, 10:40 AM
Ross County v Celtic
Falkirk v Rangers
Airdrie v Dundee Utd
Killie vs. Queens Park
Ayr vs. Yams
Motehrwell vs. Hibs
Aberdeen vs. East Fife

Is this real?

29-08-2011, 10:41 AM
Is this real?

29-08-2011, 10:42 AM

Christ. Trust us to get the hardest draw outside the Old Firm. :bitchy:

SneakersO'Toole
29-08-2011, 10:43 AM
Very tough draw.

29-08-2011, 10:43 AM
Away to high-flying Motherwell.

Ah well, at least that allows everyone to focus on avoiding relegation rather than having a diddy cup distraction :rolleyes:

derekHFC
29-08-2011, 10:44 AM
Is this real?

29-08-2011, 10:45 AM
What date are these matches played?

29-08-2011, 10:46 AM
Out the cup then.......

Ach well, we can write off another season eh?

all come good with a bit of patience, right ?

The_Famous_HFC
29-08-2011, 10:46 AM
Full Draw

St Johnstone v St Mirren
Ross County v Celtic
Kilmarnock v Queen of the South
Falkirk v Rangers
Motherwell v Hibernian
Ayr United v Heart of Midlothian
Aberdeen v East Fife
Airdrie United v Dundee United

29-08-2011, 10:47 AM
I told you we would get Well, Although i thought it might have been at home. Motherwell flying just now but i honestly think we can win it. Would be typical of Hibs playing gash and then go out and get a freak result and a good side.

29-08-2011, 10:48 AM
Hoefully the team gets enough gelling time before the tie:agree:

29-08-2011, 10:49 AM
What date are these matches played?

Tuesday 20th/Wednesday 21st September.

29-08-2011, 10:50 AM
Haven't got beyond this round since winning it.

29-08-2011, 10:51 AM
I know that Motherwell are doing well just now but the draw could have been worse.

We have avoided going to Parkhead, Ibrox or Tynecastle, which is good, and we have a fairly decent record at Fir Park.

JustSimplyHibs
29-08-2011, 10:55 AM
We will beat this lot, dont care what the result is along as we are in the hat for the next round...take it Hibs weren't seeded

29-08-2011, 10:58 AM
We will beat this lot, dont care what the result is along as we are in the hat for the next round...take it Hibs weren't seeded

Correct.

29-08-2011, 11:03 AM

Is that based on the ludicrously high number of goals we've scored this year (+3) or the superb defensive record we're amassing (-10)?

29-08-2011, 11:07 AM
Well that's us oot the cup lads. There's always next year I suppose.

29-08-2011, 12:04 PM
Is that based on the ludicrously high number of goals we've scored this year (+3) or the superb defensive record we're amassing (-10)?

:faf: :top marks

Made me laugh anyway !!!!

Septimus
29-08-2011, 12:08 PM
Not another mid-week game. That will mean the lads will be exhausted when it comes to the real business of avoiding relegation at the following weekend.

29-08-2011, 12:40 PM
ah well, that'll be that then.

wearethehibs
29-08-2011, 12:57 PM
Ill only be confident of progressing when were 4 goals ahead

29-08-2011, 01:06 PM
Ill only be confident of progressing when were 4 goals aheadI'd go for 5 in front :wink:

29-08-2011, 01:12 PM
Ill only be confident of progressing when were 4 goals ahead

Since when was that ever enough at Motherwell?

JustSimplyHibs
29-08-2011, 02:01 PM

nah based on 11v11, 1 off game, and that on our day we can be better than them and score 1 more goal than them

29-08-2011, 02:48 PM
Awful draw for us. Motherwell will be delighted.

29-08-2011, 03:04 PM
I think we will get ................................................ Gubbed

:agree: At least we can concentrate on the league, much better to consistently get gubbed rather than these one off cup events where the gubbing could just be a flash in the pan :wink:

29-08-2011, 03:19 PM
That's us out then :agree:

29-08-2011, 03:24 PM
Not another mid-week game. That will mean the lads will be exhausted when it comes to the real business of avoiding relegation at the following weekend.
More uninformed pap passed as gospel.

29-08-2011, 04:39 PM
I'd go for 5 in front :wink:
With two minutes to go. :wink:

And Motherwell down to 10 men. :greengrin

29-08-2011, 04:40 PM

I think any of the teams we could have been drawn against would have been delighted with a tie at home to Hibs.

29-08-2011, 08:37 PM
Exciting draw - it puts two of the bright, new, high-achieving talented managers in the SPL head-to-head.

nortonhibby
29-08-2011, 09:04 PM
okay not that draw is good for us e are now out off the Cup so lets focus on the League i for one am convinced we can get top 3 a good run of wins will see us gain confidence we are only 6 points of 4th 2 wins:flag:

29-08-2011, 09:46 PM
okay not that draw is good for us e are now out off the Cup so lets focus on the League i for one am convinced we can get top 3 a good run of wins will see us gain confidence we are only 6 points of 4th 2 wins:flag:

You been on the bevvy mate ? Top 3 ? You have to be joking, we are complete mince just now and I don't see it changing in the near future.

29-08-2011, 09:53 PM
As usual so called Hibs supporters kicking us in the nuts before the games even played.

Septimus
30-08-2011, 05:37 AM
More uninformed pap passed as gospel.

Pardon?

vanNISHtelroy
30-08-2011, 07:16 AM
Ross County v Celtic
Falkirk v Rangers
Airdrie v Dundee Utd
Killie vs. Queens Park
Ayr vs. Yams
Motehrwell vs. Hibs
Aberdeen vs. East Fife

We are playing Queen of the South, aren't we....?

30-08-2011, 07:43 AM
Tough game and going by form we will be knocked out but cups can throw up surprises. C'mon ye Hibs!

30-08-2011, 08:48 AM

Aye so they will. We are the worst draw out of the unseeded teams they could have got.

30-08-2011, 08:40 PM
never realised the draw had been made :rolleyes: shows how much i care :greengrin a midweek trip to lanarkshire always 1 to savour.

nortonhibby
30-08-2011, 09:06 PM
You been on the bevvy mate ? Top 3 ? You have to be joking, we are complete mince just now and I don't see it changing in the near future.

2 wins 6 points and we are up there Aberdeen is 3 points in the bag:flag:

30-08-2011, 09:50 PM
As usual so called Hibs supporters kicking us in the nuts before the games even played.
Too often we're accused of having unrealistically high expectations of our club's potential. That way lies disappointment.

18 months of serial under-performance undermines any sense of expectation at all.

31-08-2011, 11:26 AM
extra time and a Hibs win, and our season kicks off big time, also put a couple o quid on us for the scottish Cup.Im no jokin either. the team will gel and come good, trust me its all a ploy.

31-08-2011, 11:59 AM
We might win, Hopefully the guys without a pre season will be match fit by then and we have started progressing as a team.

patlowe
31-08-2011, 12:42 PM
Given the importance of cup runs in supplementing the coffers, is it time managers stopped being "experimental" when it comes to the pointless end-of-season fixtures? Being seeded would have made a huge difference to our chances in this tournament.

Joe Baker II
31-08-2011, 01:28 PM
I will be going - and hope good omen as in 31 years I have never seen Hibs lose at Fir Park!