View Full Version : Match Updates ***Hibernian FC 5 v 0 Berwick Rangers FC***

23-08-2011, 05:10 PM
Every time I have started one of these we have not won, so I thought I would tonight as surely we can't lose!:wink:

So apart from Smith being at LB, Agogo, Airey, Ozzy being out and it looking like O'Hanlon is fit, any team news?

hibeeleicester
23-08-2011, 05:12 PM
Don't think i have ever started one of these so hopefully beginners luck!

Any team news? Fancy a bet on first goalscorer!

hibeeleicester
23-08-2011, 05:14 PM
Quick :wink:

23-08-2011, 05:16 PM
hope the team is more coordinated than the thread starters :greengrin

23-08-2011, 05:18 PM
CC has said it's too important a game to play the youngsters. I've been talked into going so I'm hoping to finally see a win.

2-1 to Hibs

23-08-2011, 05:44 PM
Don't think i have ever started one of these so hopefully beginners luck!

Any team news? Fancy a bet on first goalscorer!

Well your gonna have to wait longer:wink:

23-08-2011, 06:01 PM
Every time I have started one of these we have not won, so I thought I would tonight as surely we can't lose!:wink:

So apart from Smith being at LB, Agogo, Airey, Ozzy being out and it looking like O'Hanlon is fit, any team news?

Aye we're crap. :greengrin

Hibernian: Mark Brown, David Wotherspoon, Sean O'Hanlon, Paul Hanlon, Callum Booth, Ivan Sproule, Victor Palsson, Martin Scott, Danny Galbraith, Akpo Sodje, Garry O'Connor.

Subs: Graham Stack, Scott Smith, David Crawford, David Stephens, Matt Thornhill

Berwick Rangers: Jamie Barclay, Richard Walker, Steven Thomson, Chris Townsley, Chris McLeod, Lee Currie, Fraser McLaren, Paul Currie, Stuart Noble, Damon Gray, David Greenhill.

Subs: Darren Gribben, Andy McLean, Elliott Smith, Steven Notman, Jonathan Gall

Well your gonna have to wait longer:wink:

23-08-2011, 06:07 PM
Aye we're crap. :greengrin

Hibernian: Mark Brown, David Wotherspoon, Sean O'Hanlon, Paul Hanlon, Callum Booth, Ivan Sproule, Victor Palsson, Martin Scott, Danny Galbraith, Akpo Sodje, Garry O'Connor.

That's a strong side :agree: Good to see David at rb and Vic back in centre mid again..

Rattler
23-08-2011, 06:07 PM
Am I correct in saying that they have 2 ex-hibs players in their team tonight - Currie & Gray??

23-08-2011, 06:15 PM
Am I correct in saying that they have 2 ex-hibs players in their team tonight - Currie & Gray??

Notman was with Hibs as well. Darren Smith and Kevin macDonald are ex Hibs but not listed tonight.

23-08-2011, 06:15 PM
Better looking team.

23-08-2011, 06:20 PM
I asked my boy (4) for the Hibs score.
Q How many will hibs score?
A 4
Q and how many for the other team?
A will they score 5....?

Doh! Was doing so well too.

Thomson
23-08-2011, 06:25 PM
Anyone know if there is full commentary coverage online or is it just open all mic's???

23-08-2011, 06:26 PM
Easter Road is empty.

23-08-2011, 06:28 PM
Hibernian: Mark Brown, David Wotherspoon, Sean O'Hanlon, Paul Hanlon, Callum Booth, Ivan Sproule, Victor Palsson, Martin Scott, Danny Galbraith, Akpo Sodje, Garry O'Connor.Subs: Graham Stack, Scott Smith, David Crawford, David Stephens, Matt ThornhillBerwick Rangers: Jamie Barclay, Richard Walker, Steven Thomson, Chris Townsley, Chris McLeod, Lee Currie, Fraser McLaren, Paul Currie, Stuart Noble, Damon Gray, David Greenhill.Subs: Darren Gribben, Andy McLean, Elliott Smith, Steven Notman, Jonathan GallCmon the cabbage

23-08-2011, 06:31 PM
Easter Road is empty.

Anyone who guessed less than 1000 is in with a shout of the £25 voucher I reckon :-))

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=55.961693,-3.164865

23-08-2011, 06:32 PM

Berwick Rangers: Jamie Barclay, Richard Walker, Steven Thomson, Chris Townsley, Chris McLeod, Lee Currie, Fraser McLaren, Paul Currie, Stuart Noble, Damon Gray, David Greenhill.

Subs: Darren Gribben, Andy McLean, Elliott Smith, Steven Notman, Jonathan Gall

That's a really strong looking team for us. Point of interest is no De Graaf so the deal taking him back to Holland looks likely as he has not been mentioned as being injured has he ?

Anyone know if there is full commentary coverage online or is it just open all mic's???
It's Open All Mic's

Looks like it just open all mics

23-08-2011, 06:34 PM
Easter Road is empty.

Now I know thats not true. Surely there's some players warming up? Managers in the dugout? Tam McCourt? Seagulls?.......Petrie? :tumble:

CyberSauzee
23-08-2011, 06:34 PM
Me and Sergey are there in spirit. Hopefully a good win tonight. Wingate and Finchley extending their hospitality to us tonight.

KiddA
23-08-2011, 06:41 PM
Just said on the radio that there is under a 1000 at the game surly not :confused:

23-08-2011, 06:44 PM
Just said on the radio that there is under a 1000 at the game surly not :confused:

Surely not!!! If so, Petrie et al take careful note: this is what happens when you charge top dollar for nothing.

23-08-2011, 06:48 PM
O'Hanlon gives the ball away and Berwick fail to make more of a great goalscoring opportunity!

Duffys13
23-08-2011, 06:50 PM
Surely not!!! If so, Petrie et al take careful note: this is what happens when you charge top dollar for nothing.

I would not be suprised at all TBH.

23-08-2011, 06:52 PM
East fife 1 Dunfy 0

23-08-2011, 06:53 PM

Christ that's awful, Petrie should be very concerned!

23-08-2011, 06:54 PM
Looks like it just open all mics

Is 'open all mics' Alan Preston free tonight?

23-08-2011, 06:54 PM
East fife 1 Dunfy 0

ooops!

23-08-2011, 06:55 PM
Akpo was through on keeper but saved.

Unfortunately not

unfortunately no

Duffys13

It also shows you how many season ticket holders decided on the Cup Top Up.

Manxhibs
Sodje through one on one, misses

23-08-2011, 06:56 PM
goal hibs martin scott 'great strike'

Jimmy Scott 1 - 0 Hibs :flag::flag:

Manxhibs
Scott!!!!

Yaaaaaa beauty!!!:flag::flag:

WarringtonHibee
Boozy on Hibernian TV, legend. :greengrin:greengrin

23-08-2011, 06:57 PM
Scott scores a cracker!

23-08-2011, 06:57 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Dan Sarf
23-08-2011, 06:58 PM
Open All Mics is shocking. Everyone screaming and yelling. It's like being in the middle of a fight.

23-08-2011, 06:59 PM

Should we all not be concerned?

Open All Mics is shocking. Everyone screaming and yelling. It's like being in the middle of a fight.

:agree: Everytime u hear someone say goal you get all excited just to have your hopes dashed !!!

Dunfermline equalised there.

cjward2
Beautiful goal. Sex in motion:thumbsup:

:agree: I got confused and thought Bewrick had scored!

They talk so much pish and hardly ever talk about the actual games:rolleyes:

23-08-2011, 07:00 PM
Should we all not be concerned?

Aye?

cjward2
23-08-2011, 07:01 PM
Pretty good passing going on.

23-08-2011, 07:02 PM
Boozy on Hibernian TV, legend. :greengrin:greengrin

:agree: Just thinking that, very knowledgeable re whats going on at club, passionate about us, still refers to Hibs as "we". Seemed to lapse into French in his genuine excitement at the goal! Sign him up Petrie........

23-08-2011, 07:03 PM
Good start. Should be four or five tonight.

cjward2
23-08-2011, 07:03 PM
Great attempt there from booth and sodje.

cjward2
23-08-2011, 07:04 PM
Hope boozy helps out at all home games.

23-08-2011, 07:04 PM
Morton doing in 27 minutes what we couldn't do in 90 minutes against St Mirren. They've scored twice.

Anyway c'mon the Cabbage. :flag:

H113EE5
23-08-2011, 07:09 PM
Serves me right for not going along. Effing Alan Piston commentating. He sounds deflated now that Hibs have scored. Erse

23-08-2011, 07:09 PM

Unfortunately not

Thought I'd tune in anyway but got this message "Cannot play media. Sorry, this media is not available in your territory." That's what comes of living in Outer Mongolia. :greengrin

23-08-2011, 07:10 PM
Serves me right for not going along. Effing Alan Piston commentating. He sounds deflated now that Hibs have scored. Erse

???????????????

23-08-2011, 07:12 PM

He drives me crazy :wink:

23-08-2011, 07:12 PM
Does anyone think that CC might go for the same team again at the weekend???

cjward2
23-08-2011, 07:13 PM
That's two corners that o Hanlon has won in the air.

sbell1875
23-08-2011, 07:14 PM
Easter Road is empty.

That Hearts radge Preston on the BBC said less than 1,000 about 5-10 minutes before the game started. I'd have went but they can't justify £10 for a midweek League Cup game against 3rd Division opponents.

23-08-2011, 07:15 PM
That's two corners that o Hanlon has won in the air.

Aye he is certainly a threat in the box. Needs to stay fit for more than half a game though!

23-08-2011, 07:18 PM
That Hearts radge Preston on the BBC said less than 1,000 about 5-10 minutes before the game started. I'd have went but they can't justify £10 for a midweek League Cup game against 3rd Division opponents.How much would you want it tae be? I thought the done well with the prices.

23-08-2011, 07:18 PM
That Hearts radge Preston on the BBC said less than 1,000 about 5-10 minutes before the game started. I'd have went but they can't justify £10 for a midweek League Cup game against 3rd Division opponents.

They can if we are playing well. We need to do that and people will come back and price doesn't come into it. Ten quid isnt a lot for a competitive football game.

23-08-2011, 07:19 PM
How much would you want it tae be? I thought the done well with the prices.

They can if we are playing well. We need to do that and people will come back and price doesn't come into it. Ten quid isnt a lot for a competitive football game.

23-08-2011, 07:20 PM
God aren't these Jambos writing into Open all Mics just hilarious!

23-08-2011, 07:22 PM

Totally agree, can't blame the board for this pricing. Blame for me sitting typing whilst the Hibees are at home is squarely on the management and players, they have some some winning over to do before I return.
Oh, and my own finances have taken an absolute battering recently and even a tenner at the moment is hard to come by.
Roll on pay day.

sbell1875
23-08-2011, 07:22 PM

In my opinion cup matches should still be included in the season ticket price. For tonight though, all admission prices should have been set at £5.

23-08-2011, 07:23 PM

You can't really argue with a tenner for a cup game. however, apathy is the winner. if folk knew they were going to turn up to a barnstorming 90mins then mibbes. but there was nothing to suggest that from performances.

23-08-2011, 07:24 PM
2 ****ing nil :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup: Sodje!

hibernianyank
2-0 hibs sodje

2 - 0 AKPO SODJE :cgwa

Thomson
Goal!!! Sodje. 2-0 :aok:

cjward2
Nice goal from sodje. :flag:

23-08-2011, 07:25 PM
O'Connor fed through a great pass to Sodje for the goal - nice one!

God aren't these Jambos writing into Open all Mics just hilarious!

I can't abide listening to it, what are they saying like?

In my opinion cup matches should still be included in the season ticket price. For tonight though, all admission prices should have been set at £5.They were included in my season ticket and I wish I was there but I cannae make it for other reasons.

23-08-2011, 07:26 PM

23-08-2011, 07:27 PM
On course for five! Good to see Sodje back.

biggie1875

Suppose we can't expect you too pay out £10 when you have already paid out for your wee trip on thursday can we .. Ggtth fth :taxi

sbell1875
They were included in my season ticket and I wish I was there but I cannae make it for other reasons.

Is that no the cup top-up voucher?

sbell1875
23-08-2011, 07:29 PM
Suppose we can't expect you too pay out £10 when you have already paid out for your wee trip on thersday can we .. Ggtth fth :taxi

What trip is this?!

The only trip I took last week was to pick up my Hearts ticket and buy this season's home shirt!

23-08-2011, 07:29 PM
Thought I'd tune in anyway but got this message "Cannot play media. Sorry, this media is not available in your territory." That's what comes of living in Outer Mongolia. :greengrin

For anyone who might be interested. I couldn't get BBC coverage when using Opera. I changed to Internet Explorer and it's fine.:confused:

23-08-2011, 07:30 PM
They were included in my season ticket and I wish I was there but I cannae make it for other reasons.

ditto :agree:

23-08-2011, 07:31 PM
I complained about Preston to the BBC last season about his antics as he cheered a goal against us and laughed at our performance. Was told they thought nothing of it and that he would continue.

He is a guy i think you wouldnt get tired hitting and a guy you would want to hit. my wife even asked who the fud was on the radio the other day.

2 - 0 AKPO SODJE :cgwa There goes Andy's 7 home games without a win run dooom amd gloom thread

Is that no the cup top-up voucher?cup top up was free if you got your season ticket before the 1st of April so I paid nothing for any cup games. Anyway that's not the topic of this thread so I'm saying nae mair.

23-08-2011, 07:32 PM
There goes Andy's 7 home games without a win run dooom amd gloom thread

We all know Hibs are more than capable of snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.

23-08-2011, 07:33 PM
Biscuit the gadgy twat.

There goes Andy's 7 home games without a win run dooom amd gloom thread

League games next! Sort that and I will shut up of course.

cjward2
Free kick into our box and big Sean O Hanlon wins that. Good to see us with some aerial power.

23-08-2011, 07:34 PM
What trip is this?!

The only trip I took last week was to pick up my Hearts ticket and buy this season's home shirt!

Think before you post man :rolleyes:

23-08-2011, 07:36 PM
We all know Hibs are more than capable of snatching defeat from the jaws of victory. Even Andy is predictimg 5 goals though

sbell1875
23-08-2011, 07:37 PM
cup top up was free if you got your season ticket before the 1st of April so I paid nothing for any cup games. Anyway that's not the topic of this thread so I'm saying nae mair.

Now that is a good incentive. Maybe next season they could extend it to May 1st or June 1st so the season is near or has finished. Especially judging by the 8,800 at ER on Saturday.

Anyone have any idea how many tickets we've sold for Sunday?

23-08-2011, 07:37 PM

Just spoken to my bro who is at the match, and whilst it is a small crowd, he reckons about 5000 there tonight (lets hope 5,032 :greengrin)

23-08-2011, 07:38 PM
A lot more than 1000. I would say around 4500 . Hibs playing ok two very good goals. O connor dropping deep to receive the ball.

hibernianyank
Team cc has put out tonight looks alright and would gladly have the same team this weekend

sbell1875
Think before you post man :rolleyes:

I think I get it now Falcon!

hibee
23-08-2011, 07:39 PM
Garry O running the game for us, coming back and doing the midfields job for them.

23-08-2011, 07:42 PM
Half time. Can we play them every week?

23-08-2011, 07:42 PM
Ok its Berwick Rangers but we've been fairly impressive thus far tonight.

Scott and Palsson particulary impressive in midfield.

Makaveli
23-08-2011, 07:43 PM
Doing ok, hard to up the pace against a Berwick side that tbh looks fairly disinterested. Brown's kicking has been a bit dodgy and the midfield is quite disjointed but Galbraith and Sproule are always looking for the ball.

Scott's corners have been good (O'Hanlon looks a threat) and his goal was a peach. GOC was strong in assisting Sodje who took his well.

Crowd 4.5-5.5k from where I'm sitting but we'll see.

23-08-2011, 07:43 PM
Even Andy is predictimg 5 goals though

Even Andy?:greengrin

I used to get stick for being too supportive of all things Hibs. It's just CC I don't rate and would rather see the back of. If we can translate this to teams at our own level that will go a long way to proving me wrong. Which would be great as Hibs winning and playing well is the main thing.

23-08-2011, 07:45 PM
Doing ok, hard to up the pace against a Berwick side that tbh looks fairly disinterested. Brown's kicking has been a bit dodgy and the midfield is quite disjointed but Galbraith and Sproule are always looking for the ball.

Scott's corners have been good (O'Hanlon looks a threat) and his goal was a peach. GOC was strong in assisting Sodje who took his well.

Crowd 4.5-5.5k from where I'm sitting but we'll see.

Never :O

23-08-2011, 07:45 PM
Only conclusion I can make at HT is that opposition are so weak that praise or criticism of team would be irrelevant . Watching on Hibernian TV and crowd in East and FF doesn`t look that small . There must be 100 to 200 Berwick fans and suppose we have some in West so maybe 4000 in total ? In Spanish Cup in some rounds team from lower division automatically plays at home . If we`d been away , crowd would have been even smaller ( about 1200 probably ) but chance of Berwick win would have been greater so TV might have been interested .

hibee
23-08-2011, 07:46 PM
Booth off, scott smith on for 2nd half

cjward2
23-08-2011, 07:47 PM
Scott Smith on as LB for his first appearance.

23-08-2011, 07:47 PM
So, have they found their level tonight then? :devil:

bornahibby
23-08-2011, 07:48 PM
Anyone know why Stack has been dropped? He didn't seem to do much wrong at the weekend.

23-08-2011, 07:48 PM
Booth off for 2nd half

Was he injured or does this explain the rumour about Scott Smith?

23-08-2011, 07:51 PM
Even Andy?:greengrinI used to get stick for being too supportive of all things Hibs. It's just CC I don't rate and would rather see the back of. If we can translate this to teams at our own level that will go a long way to proving me wrong. Which would be great as Hibs winning and playing well is the main thing. Sorry pal. I'll lay off your case (for a while) (can't figure out how to add smilies on my phone)

23-08-2011, 07:51 PM
Anyone know why Stack has been dropped? He didn't seem to do much wrong at the weekend.

Probably resting him for our visit to Tynie on Sunday. Just guessing.

hibee
23-08-2011, 07:52 PM
Was he injured or does this explain the rumour about Scott Smith?

Booth didn't look injured and don't know what the rumour is?

23-08-2011, 07:53 PM
3-0 hibs gazza, 4-2 st.mirren at morton

23-08-2011, 07:54 PM
Great cross from Sproule - O'Connor scores - Boozy is in 7th heaven!

Goan Gazza:thumbsup:

3 - 0 another goal for Gary O

cjward2

:flag::flag: Gaun yersel Garry O

23-08-2011, 07:55 PM
We want 5

cjward2
23-08-2011, 07:56 PM
Good shot by Galbraith. Nice to see ivans cross finding someone. Good pressure by Hibs.

23-08-2011, 07:56 PM
East fife 2 Dunfy 1

23-08-2011, 07:57 PM
Preston is a complete twat. O'Connor scores and he makes the big 'me,me' statement "I said on Saturday that O'Connor would score goals this season." Nothing like stating the obvious and taking credit for it. :greengrin

23-08-2011, 07:57 PM
3-0 :flag:

It may only be Berwick Rangers but a win just ahead of the Yams game is good for the teams confidence.

23-08-2011, 07:58 PM
Creeping towards the five. Good game to get with Hearts about to be sodomised again on Thursday.

Jambo on my flight back up today paid £100 for a ticket for Thursday prior to last week. Felt for the guy. :wink:

23-08-2011, 07:58 PM
Great cross from Sproule - O'Connor scores - Boozy is in 7th heaven!

It's brilliant listening to him, worth the money alone. He gets so excited and some of the sounds he makes...:)

23-08-2011, 07:59 PM
4-0 hibs jimmy scott :wink:

cjward2
Obvious confidence. Scott smith shoots and hits bar.

4-0, Scott!!!:flag::cgwa

hibernianyank
23-08-2011, 08:00 PM
Goal 4-0 Scott

23-08-2011, 08:00 PM
:flag::flag:

cjward2
23-08-2011, 08:01 PM
Smith provided the leg work for that last goal.

That makes it 4 for Hibs - Scott again !!

JoeTortolanoFanClub
Boozy's commentary is brilliant. :thumbsup:

sbell1875
23-08-2011, 08:02 PM
It's brilliant listening to him, worth the money alone. He gets so excited and some of the sounds he makes...:)

I'd sign him as a player again.

hibeeswph
23-08-2011, 08:05 PM

wish he was still fit enough.but he loves the hibbeess
:not worth:hibees:flag:

23-08-2011, 08:05 PM

Glad your not the manager then !!

cjward2
23-08-2011, 08:06 PM
Great cross from smith but sodje misses it and runs into the post. Smith is impressive.

23-08-2011, 08:07 PM
Sodge - miss of the season, apparently.

cjward2
23-08-2011, 08:08 PM
Gaz off, Crawford on.

bigell
23-08-2011, 08:09 PM
[QUOTE=iwasthere1972;2896228]Probably resting him for our visit to Tynie on Sunday. Just guessing.[/QUOTE

Calderwod said Brown was playing in this cup competition.

hibeeswph
23-08-2011, 08:09 PM
Sodge - miss of the season, apperently.

a bet we will here that quote again before the end of august:greengrin

23-08-2011, 08:11 PM
a bet we will here that quote again before the end of august:greengrin

This is not aimed at you but there has been a lot of people saying that we need another striker as Sodje is not Hibs class, if he keeps scoring the rate he is and Garry O keeps up his fine scoring run, we will not be too far away from where we want to be if we can tighten up at the back.

cjward2
23-08-2011, 08:12 PM
:cgwa
Good to hear the fans singing.

23-08-2011, 08:12 PM
Richard Gordon, joker, cracks big joke ..."With Hibs winning, does our national coefficient go up?" :rolleyes:

23-08-2011, 08:13 PM
:cgwa
Good to hear the fans singing.nice for them tae have something tae sing about :wink: even if it is just Berwick.

23-08-2011, 08:13 PM
Richard Gordon, joker, cracks big joke ..."With Hibs winning, does our national coefficient go up?" :rolleyes:

Tbf to him it was a letter than came in..

23-08-2011, 08:14 PM
I'm also an Aberdeenist:greengrin

23-08-2011, 08:14 PM
Tbf to him it was a letter than came in..

That was delivered quickly!:greengrin

23-08-2011, 08:15 PM
I'm also an Aberdeenist:greengrin

Ditto :aok:

hibeeswph
23-08-2011, 08:15 PM
This is not aimed at you but there has been a lot of people saying that we need another striker as Sodje is not Hibs class, if he keeps scoring the rate he is and Garry O keeps up his fine scoring run, we will not be too far away from where we want to be if we can tighten up at the back.

did not mean any hibs players, its just a saying that pisses me off so early in the season (GOAL OF THE SEASON,MISS OF THE SEASON,SAVE OF THE SEASON,etc etc) :wink:

cjward2
23-08-2011, 08:16 PM
Sodje off, thorn hill on.

23-08-2011, 08:17 PM
Cries of "can we play you every week" emanate from the home dugout.

23-08-2011, 08:19 PM
Cries of "can we play you every week" emanate from the home dugout.

23-08-2011, 08:20 PM
Sodje missed another chance but at least he's getting in the positions. Bodes well if he starts putting in the chances at the rate he did during the tail end of last season

23-08-2011, 08:20 PM
Sodje missed another chance but at least he's getting in the positions. Bodes well if he starts putting in the chances at the rate he did during the tail end of last season

sbell1875
23-08-2011, 08:23 PM

Therein lies the problem though. I don't think the current defenders we have at the club are capable of keeping us tight at the back. He needed to sign a right back pre-season and with Hart injured and the issues caused by Palsson playing in that position I think it highlights the need even more.

hibeeswph
23-08-2011, 08:25 PM
did not mean any hibs players, its just a saying that pisses me off so early in the season (GOAL OF THE SEASON,MISS OF THE SEASON,SAVE OF THE SEASON,etc etc) :wink:

forgot to say i heard that last weeks game at tincastle was defeat of the season ( i am hoping that will be beaten this week in london):greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:aok::aok::ao k:

23-08-2011, 08:26 PM
Therein lies the problem though. I don't think the current defenders we have at the club are capable of keeping us tight at the back. He needed to sign a right back pre-season and with Hart injured and the issues caused by Palsson playing in that position I think it highlights the need even more.

Wouldnt disagree with a word of that ! :aok:

hibeeswph
23-08-2011, 08:28 PM
Wouldnt disagree with a word of that ! :aok:

23-08-2011, 08:29 PM
Ivan:flag::thumbsup:

23-08-2011, 08:29 PM
5-sproule

23-08-2011, 08:30 PM
5 - 0 it is !!!!

SPROULE

23-08-2011, 08:31 PM
He's here, he's there:thumbsup::flag::thumbsup::flag:

I love boozys commentary. Im gonna have to sit near him in the West stand. Its ace.

woo hoo :greengrin:flag::flag:

23-08-2011, 08:32 PM
Okay. That'll do.

23-08-2011, 08:33 PM
Okay. That'll do.

23-08-2011, 08:34 PM
FT - We march on to the next round !

23-08-2011, 08:35 PM
Well done the boys. Professional and a morale boost!

23-08-2011, 08:35 PM
:flag::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::flag:

23-08-2011, 08:36 PM
FT - We march on to the next round !

East Fife at Bayview please. :greengrin

23-08-2011, 08:38 PM
:flag: Great result. Solid and a much needed confidence booster.

O'Hanlon lasted the 90 minutes, a confident debut from young Smith and, looking ahead, we have Osbourne and Agogo to return from injury.

Well done, lads! :thumbsup:

:flag:5-0, I'll take that, and what I would do to have that score against the Yams this weekend!:flag:

When are the highlights up?

23-08-2011, 08:39 PM
Good start. Should be four or five tonight.

Impressive Andy. Is this the first time you've been right about anything on here? :)

23-08-2011, 08:43 PM
Woop woop! Bring on the world now! Hehe good morale booster ahead of the derby!

KB1
23-08-2011, 08:45 PM
When is the draw for the next round???

23-08-2011, 08:46 PM
Impressive Andy. Is this the first time you've been right about anything on here? :)

Easy tiger. :greengrin

23-08-2011, 08:48 PM
:flag:5-0, I'll take that, and what I would do to have that score against the Yams this weekend!:flag:

Be carefull what you wish for. With our defence leaking goals it might just end up 5-0 :-)

23-08-2011, 08:52 PM
Calderwood praises Scott Smith highly for his play and superb crosses and in the same breath says "we'll have to get him out on loan". Surely if he's good enough he should stay and contribute to our league campaign.:dunno:

23-08-2011, 08:57 PM
Be carefull what you wish for. With our defence leaking goals it might just end up 5-0 :-)

That thought went through my head just after I posted..........so I'll add in 5-0 in our favour!:thumbsup:..........but to be fair I'd take 1-0

23-08-2011, 09:02 PM

And CC :thumbsup:

23-08-2011, 09:11 PM
East Fife at Bayview please. :greengrin

:confused::shhhsh!: Last team last place last manager I'd want to go near.

23-08-2011, 09:19 PM
How did Fraser Mclaren play for Berwick? Good pal of mine.

23-08-2011, 09:22 PM
:confused::shhhsh!: Last team last place last manager I'd want to go near.

Its impossible for us to get East Fife.

23-08-2011, 09:23 PM
How did Fraser Mclaren play for Berwick? Good pal of mine.

Welcome back by the way:)!

23-08-2011, 09:24 PM

:agree: Notwithstanding the opposition, a lot of positives. Not one bad performance, Palsson looked more involved, a steady stream of good crosses and far more controlled shooting than we saw on Saturday - a lot on target and we could have had several more but for their goalie. Nice debut by Smith and good to see O'Hanlon back.

23-08-2011, 09:27 PM
Its impossible for us to get East Fife.

Unless at least two of Motherwell (away to Clyde), St. Johnstone (home to Livi) and Inverness (away to Ayr) lose tomorrow night.

23-08-2011, 09:29 PM
Unless at least two of Motherwell (away to Clyde), St. Johnstone (home to Livi) and Inverness (away to Ayr) lose tomorrow night.

Right enough, I was forgetting there was games tomoro night as well.

EasterRoad4Ever
23-08-2011, 09:40 PM
:agree: Notwithstanding the opposition, a lot of positives. Not one bad performance, Palsson looked more involved, a steady stream of good crosses and far more controlled shooting than we saw on Saturday - a lot on target and we could have had several more but for their goalie. Nice debut by Smith and good to see O'Hanlon back.

Palsson was my MOTM. Absolutely strolled through the game, spraying passes all over the pitch and competing well in midfield. Was much more comfortable than at LB. Accepted that he had plenty of time on the ball, but was IMHO his best all round performance for Hibs to date.

Young Smith at LB had a great 45 mins. I liked that he competed well for the 50/50s and threw himself into challenges. But it was his crosses and attacking flare that caught the eye - wicked ! If he continues to develop, will be a player.

O'Hanlon had a dodgy start but gradually worked himself into the game. He looked a bit rusty after the lay-off, but great to have him back in the defence. He is key to us having a decent season.

But yet again,. the 2 players who have impressed me most this season for lots of reason are GOC and Ivan. Hunger, effort, awareness, drive and decent amount of skill. It is absolutely brilliant to have them back at ER. They have a good understanding and both have improved as players while away. GOC in particular looks to have matured into a much more rounded player, often dropping back to help the midfield and team. 4 goals in the last 4 games also shows he still has an eye for goal. If he carries on like this, he will find his way back into Scotland squad, and his move to a bigger club next summer - hopefully not the OF. Really impressed with his and Ivan's work rate and attitude - could not be better.

IFONLY
23-08-2011, 09:41 PM
Anyone who guessed less than 1000 is in with a shout of the £25 voucher I reckon :-))

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=55.961693,-3.164865

Crowd was 4936 according to orange sport on my phone

Thomson
23-08-2011, 09:42 PM
Will the highlights be on tv or online?

23-08-2011, 09:42 PM
O'Connor looks different class.

23-08-2011, 09:47 PM

Did you not see our defense being cut open time after time ??

Capt Mainwaring
23-08-2011, 09:49 PM
Palsson was my MOTM. Absolutely strolled through the game, spraying passes all over the pitch and competing well in midfield. Was much more comfortable than at LB. Accepted that he had plenty of time on the ball, but was IMHO his best all round performance for Hibs to date.

Young Smith at LB had a great 45 mins. I liked that he competed well for the 50/50s and threw himself into challenges. But it was his crosses and attacking flare that caught the eye - wicked ! If he continues to develop, will be a player.

O'Hanlon had a dodgy start but gradually worked himself into the game. He looked a bit rusty after the lay-off, but great to have him back in the defence. He is key to us having a decent season.

But yet again,. the 2 players who have impressed me most this season for lots of reason are GOC and Ivan. Hunger, effort, awareness, drive and decent amount of skill. It is absolutely brilliant to have them back at ER. They have a good understanding and both have improved as players while away. GOC in particular looks to have matured into a much more rounded player, often dropping back to help the midfield and team. 4 goals in the last 4 games also shows he still has an eye for goal. If he carries on like this, he will find his way back into Scotland squad, and his move to a bigger club next summer - hopefully not the OF. Really impressed with his and Ivan's work rate and attitude - could not be better.

Don't disagree with any of that. Would give a lot of credit to Jimmy Scott however. Thought he had a great game and has played his way into the team for Sunday IMO. Great energy , movement and paired up well with Palsson in the middle of midfield. Well deserved MOTM

23-08-2011, 09:53 PM
O'Connor looks different class.

:agree: Absolutely delighted that we've got him back, even if it is just for a season (how good would it be if we could get him to sign a longer contract.... :greengrin ).

23-08-2011, 09:55 PM
Garry O running the game for us, coming back and doing the midfields job for them.

:thumbsup: Great to hear that GOC is continuing to show he's a considerably better player than the one that left us for Russia 5 years or so back - think he's going to be a very big player us this season :thumbsup:

23-08-2011, 09:58 PM
Did you not see our defense being cut open time after time ?? I was there so saw the chances berwick had. We left space at the back and players got caught out of position at times. You expect the opposition to create chances in every game and given that we were attacking for most of the game I don't mind that we conceded several chances. If I looked harder I'm sure I'd find negatives but I'm really not minded to do so.

23-08-2011, 10:06 PM
Welcome back by the way:)!

Haha, thanks bud. :aok:

23-08-2011, 10:09 PM
Just what we needed tonight, an easy game to help with confidence. :thumbsup:

23-08-2011, 10:23 PM
Lee currie ( Sean Welsh's mate) had a few pops at Martin Scott

23-08-2011, 10:23 PM
I thought O Connor dud really well. We kinda lost our shape a bit when he departed. Decent team display tonight. Need to do it against the teams who we should be beating in the SPL though. A good boost for the lads.

I reckon either as a group or individually Calderwood kaid it on the Line to Palsson and Galbraith. Along the lines of here is the opportunity show me you can do it.
I also reckon he gave Sodje a rocket at half time along the lines of "you wont get match fit standing around in the middle"
Smith did really well when he came on but worry about his lack of hieght fir a full back. He nay struggle to contain a Lafferty or a Samaras in the air. Fantastic going forward and much better delivery than Booth. Wouldlike to see him under a bit of pressure with quality opposition befire getting too excited about him.

23-08-2011, 10:24 PM
Lee currie ( Sean Welsh's mate) had a few pops at Martin Scott I noticed that but reckon there would be only one winner there.

23-08-2011, 10:27 PM
I thought O Connor dud really well. We kinda lost our shape a bit when he departed. Decent team display tonight. Need to do it against the teams who we should be beating in the SPL though. A good boost for the lads.

I reckon either as a group or individually Calderwood kaid it on the Line to Palsson and Galbraith. Along the lines of here is the opportunity show me you can do it.
I also reckon he gave Sodje a rocket at half time along the lines of "you wont get match fit standing around in the middle"
Smith did really well when he came on but worry about his lack of hieght fir a full back. He nay struggle to contain a Lafferty or a Samaras in the air. Fantastic going forward and much better delivery than Booth. Wouldlike to see him under a bit of pressure with quality opposition befire getting too excited about him.

Agree with all of that Lex.

O'Connors form is going to have him quoted for Scotland again pretty soon which will probably mean him signing a pre-contract somewhere else in January which I suppose is exactly why he signed.

Hopefully 1 good season out of him will be worth it.

Defense is STILL a worry for me.

Enjoyable night though.

Leishy1995
23-08-2011, 10:28 PM
To be honest, they could have scored 4 if they were a good team, none the less midfield onwards was brilliant!:flag:

23-08-2011, 10:37 PM
To be honest, they could have scored 4 if they were a good team, none the less midfield onwards was brilliant!:flag:
And we could have scored 9 or 10, apparently.

23-08-2011, 10:50 PM
Delighted with what I'm hearing about the performance tonight with morale boosting contributions coming from all over he park.

It's interesting that the midfield partnership of Palsson and Scott, so successfull in Feb's 5 game winning streak, was reunited to great effect in this game. Together with the much suggested return of Wotherspoon to RB that seems to have worked a treat! Scott has been much criticised after some lacklustre passing displays but he does add a lot of energy to the midfield and it's great to see him banging in a couple of goals which might improve his confidence and settle him a bit.

On top of that we have morale boosting goals for Sproule, Sodje (delighted to hear the big guy's back BTW) and the increasingly impressive O'Connor with special mentions for Scott Smith. i remember him being a standout as perhaps the smallest centre half I'd ever seen in the U-19's cup win vs the huns at Hamden and it's very encouraging to hear he had such a good game.

I'm not getting carried away about our prospects for the derby but a resounding vicory like this can do the team's confidence no harm at all - I'm a lot more hopeful that we can take something from the fixture than I was this time yesterday - Bring it On!!!!!! :hibees

Billy
23-08-2011, 11:13 PM
When are the highlights up?

Will the highlights be on tv or online?

The only camera there tonight was the Hibernian TV camera.

At present I am just starting on producing a highlight package, so hopefully I will have it online for around 3-4am.

23-08-2011, 11:23 PM
Agree with all of that Lex.

O'Connors form is going to have him quoted for Scotland again pretty soon which will probably mean him signing a pre-contract somewhere else in January which I suppose is exactly why he signed.

Hopefully 1 good season out of him will be worth it.

Defense is STILL a worry for me.

Enjoyable night though.

You'd like to think so, wouldn't you? I heard the guys on the radio talking up O'Connor's chances for getting back into the Scotland squad but I just don't see Levein picking him.

I agree with you on the defence. For a 10 minute spell in that second half tonight, a half decent side would have taken 3 or 4 off us. I realise the game was done and dusted by that point but we shouldn't be allowing a team of Berwick Rangers' standard so many easy opportunities to score.

Big90inOz
24-08-2011, 01:44 AM
The only camera there tonight was the Hibernian TV camera.

At present I am just starting on producing a highlight package, so hopefully I will have it online for around 3-4am.

Worth the money just to hear Boozy's commentary :greengrin Guy obviously still has a great love for the club :agree:

Once again the Hibs TV delivered a fantastic service, it's been a few years now since I last worried about getting a good stream :agree:

Billy
24-08-2011, 01:50 AM
upload taking a wee bit longer. However, The 1st and 3rd goals as well as Smith's great effort can now be viewed via the freeview screen on the official website www.hibernianfc.co.uk

25 minutes of highlights now up.

24-08-2011, 05:27 AM
In my opinion cup matches should still be included in the season ticket price. For tonight though, all admission prices should have been set at £5.

It was included in the season ticket if you renewed like my by 1st April

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=56.147352,-3.856503

24-08-2011, 06:39 AM
upload taking a wee bit longer. However, The 1st and 3rd goals as well as Smith's great effort can now be viewed via the freeview screen on the official website www.hibernianfc.co.uk (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk)

"MAGNIFICENT, MAGNIFICENT OH MY GOD!" :greengrin:thumbsup:

24-08-2011, 06:50 AM
upload taking a wee bit longer. However, The 1st and 3rd goals as well as Smith's great effort can now be viewed via the freeview screen on the official website www.hibernianfc.co.uk

Flash doesn't work on Ipad Billy:grr:

Get it sorted!

24-08-2011, 08:12 AM
"MAGNIFICENT, MAGNIFICENT OH MY GOD!" :greengrin:thumbsup:

:greengrin Think I'm gonna sign up - Boozy is worth it all by himself :flag::not worth