View Full Version : Hibs v St Mirren - predictions and suggested teams?

18-08-2011, 11:26 PM
How do you think we'll do on Saturday, and how do you think CC will line the players up?

I think we'll win, starting with a 4-4-2 of

Stack

Palsson
Stephens
Hanlon
Booth
Sproule
Osbourne
Thornhill
Scott
Agogo
O'Connor

18-08-2011, 11:28 PM
We will play a 4-2-3-1

we will win 2-1

Ht 1-0

GOC & Thornhill to score

18-08-2011, 11:36 PM
2-1 to the cabbage.

I'd start with

Stack (GK)
Spoony (RB)
O'Hanlon (CB)
Hanlon (CB)
Booth (LB)
Sproule (RM)
Osbourne (CM)
Thornhill (CM)
Crawford (LM)
O'Connor (CF)
Agogo (CF)

Loopz
18-08-2011, 11:36 PM
Stack

Stephens
Hanlon
O Hanlon
Booth

Sproule
Palsson
Thornhill
Galbraith

O'Connor
Agogo

19-08-2011, 07:33 PM
I think we'll go with a 3 + 2 - 8 x 4 / 1 to the power of 6.

Stack

Palsson
O'Hanlon
Hanlon
Murray

Sproule
Thornhill
Osbourne
Booth

G'OC
Agogo

19-08-2011, 07:37 PM
The team should be;

Stack

Booth
Hanlon
O'Hanlon (If fit)
Palsson

Osbourne
Thornhill
Murray
Sproule

Agogo
O'Connor

SUBS

Brown
Stephens
Stevenson
Wotherspoon
Scott
de Graaf
Airey

I'll go for a nerve-jangling 2-1 win for Hibs.

19-08-2011, 07:47 PM
Stack

Wotherspoon
o'hanlon
Hanlon
Booth

Sproule
Palsson
Osbourne
Thornhill

Agogo
O'connor

The last time wotherspoon looked like a fitba player he was at rb so it's a wacky zany idea but I'd try him there. It might just work.

19-08-2011, 08:05 PM
Stack

Palsson
Murray
O'Hanlon
Booth

Sproule
Thornhill
Osbourne
Scott

Agogo
GOC

Subs

Brown
Smith
Stephens
Crawford
Taggart
Airey
Galbraith

Time to give Spoony and Hanlon a wee rest. Both been near constants for two years. Still young, look stale and I'm hoping a wee rest for a few weeks will see them maybe get a bit of a spark back.

Hibs to bounce back and win 4 - 1. Agogo GOC Thornhill and Airey

sunshine1875
19-08-2011, 08:13 PM
Stack

Palsson
Murray
O'Hanlon
Booth

Sproule
Thornhill
Osbourne
Scott

Agogo
GOC

Subs

Brown
Smith
Stephens
Crawford
Taggart
Airey
Galbraith

Time to give Spoony and Hanlon a wee rest. Both been near constants for two years. Still young, look stale and I'm hoping a wee rest for a few weeks will see them maybe get a bit of a spark back.

Hibs to bounce back and win 4 - 1. Agogo GOC Thornhill and Airey

You on drugs!!

19-08-2011, 08:32 PM
You on drugs!! Aye a mad moment with the score prediction but that's the team i want out

19-08-2011, 08:44 PM
Stack

Palsson
Hanlon
Stephens
Booth

Ivan
Thornhill
Osbourne
Crawford

O'Connor
Agogo

Subs:
Brown
Wotherspoon
Smith
De Graaf
Scott
Airey
Galbraith

19-08-2011, 10:47 PM
There is two changes from killie gamein Osbourne and Galbraithout Stevenson and Thornhill

19-08-2011, 11:23 PM
Cant believe that nobody fancies giving Murray and Stevenson another go at pulling the strings in the middle of the park this week!

19-08-2011, 11:50 PM
Cant believe that nobody fancies giving Murray and Stevenson another go at pulling the strings in the middle of the park this week!

With the greatest respect to both players, that's a midfield combination that I hope to never see again.

20-08-2011, 12:06 AM
no-ones done the "realistic" approach yet so i'll save you the trouble.

4-0 garry o first goal :greengrin

20-08-2011, 06:26 AM
Stack
Wotherspoon
O'Hanlon
Hanlon
Booth
Sproule
Palsson
O'Sbourne
Galbraith
Agogo
O'Conner

The rest.

20-08-2011, 08:46 AM
---------------------------------stack--------------------------
airey---------------o'hanlon------------hanlon-----------booth

-------------------osbourne----------murray-------------

-------sproule------------------------------------galbraith

-----------------------sodje----------------------

------------------------------o'connor--------

3-1 hibs sodje 2 and galbraith

Expecting Rain
20-08-2011, 08:50 AM
Stack
Wotherspoon
O'Hanlon
Hanlon
Booth
Sproule
Palsson
O'Sbourne
Galbraith
Agogo
O'Conner

The rest.

I agree with this line up, some confidence has to be injected into Wotherspoons game, last weeks midfield had to be replaced hopefully never to combine again and Galbraith really needs to show the fans that he wants to beat a man and get to the byline, we are playing at home and this is his chance, if he can`t do that he should at least effect the game by working hard and playing for 90 minutes.

20-08-2011, 08:54 AM
Stack

Pallson....o'hanlon......hanlon.....booth

Airey......Osbourne....Thornhill.....Galbraith

Agogo.....GoC

IMO Sproule is a better impact player coming off the bench than a starter and i don't think he's done enough from what i've seen to be an automatic first choice so i'd give Airey a start on the right, I also think Wotherspoon hasn't has a good game in ages so why not give Galbraith a go, far more direct then Wotherspoon so if he and Airey can get running at the fullbacks and getting crosses in then we've got two up front capable of putting them away.

Dissapointed we're still having to persevere with Pallson at right back but there really isn't anyone else so until we get someone else in he'll have to do.

20-08-2011, 08:57 AM
This team isn't the same one I just posted on the .net fb page, I just changed my mind:greengrin

Stack

Spoon
O'Hanlon
Hanlon
Booth

Sproule
Palsson
Osbourne
Scott

Agogo
O'Connor

Hopefully Galbraith and Sodje on at some point as well..

Score Hibs 2-1 St Mirren

O'Connor to continue his scoring form and get both goals:agree:

C'mon the Cabbage :flag:

down the slope
20-08-2011, 09:05 AM
If O'hanlon is playing we might get a draw , if not a 2-1 defeat, why should anything change ?.

20-08-2011, 09:10 AM
Stack

Palsson o'hanlon hanlon booth

Sproule osbourne murray airey

GOC Agogo

20-08-2011, 09:11 AM
If O'hanlon is playing we might get a draw , if not a 2-1 defeat, why should anything change ?.

Well it changed between playing inverness and killie so why couldn't it change between last week and this week?

Other than that i'd say it could change because we're at home, we've got more than one fit striker, Osbourne is another week fitter, Airey has been with the squad more than a couple of days, as you say O'hanlon might be back plus IMO killie are better than St Mirren so i'd say there were a few reasons to think it could be different from last week.

20-08-2011, 09:21 AM
Sorry but we cannot under estimate the Paisley saints. We need to be on our game and GOC needs some support. For me we cannot play Murray and Stevenson in the same team. too similar. Team for me is

Stack

Wotherspoon Hanlon O Hanlon (if fit if not Murray) Booth
Sproule Pallsson Osbourne Thornhill

GOC Agogo

or 3 5 2

Stack
Hanlon O Hanlon (if not fit Stephens) Murray (Auld Heed with the laddies doing the running)
Sproule Pallsson Osbourne Thornhill Booth
GOC Agogo

think we have the personell to play a 3 5 2 and think it would give us a bit of balance and support at the same time for the support for the front 2.

I really think we should try and play a 3 5 2 as we would have the speed on the wings to supply the front 2, We really need to try something else. Thought the MF was totally overrun last weekend and Murray struggled a bit so playing at the back (sweeping) may suit him better.

Looking for a vast improvement with commitment and attitude to show us that last week was a 1 off. For me a very close game with a 2 - 1 win for the mighty cabbage.

hibernianyank
20-08-2011, 09:22 AM
Stack

Palsson
O'Hanlon (if fit)
Murray
Hanlon

Sproule
Thornhill
Osbourne
Booth

GOC
Sodje (if fit)/ Agogo (if sodje is not fit)

and a 3-1 win for the cabbage with goals from GOC, Thornhill, and Booth :thumbsup:

20-08-2011, 10:10 AM
Dont think we will entertain this 3 at the back option or even two up front to start. I would go with something like;

Stack

Palsson / Stephens / Hanlon / Booth

Sproule / Osbourne / Murray / Stevenson

Thornhill

O'Connor

If we need to bring on another striker I would move Murray to the left, take off stevenson in place of Agogo, or if fit Sodje. Our back four will hopefully be chocking on putting right last week, I would like to see our CH's show a bit more agression and fight.

Fingers crossed we get things back on track following last week.

Baker9
20-08-2011, 10:23 AM
Assuming Stack in goals, what kind of team could we put out with only CC signings in it? Is it practical?

Postman
20-08-2011, 10:44 AM
---------------------------------stack--------------------------
airey---------------o'hanlon------------hanlon-----------booth

-------------------osbourne----------murray-------------

-------sproule------------------------------------galbraith

-----------------------sodje----------------------

------------------------------o'connor--------

3-1 hibs sodje 2 and galbraith

Am I missing something here? Airey at right back??!

20-08-2011, 10:46 AM
Dont think we will entertain this 3 at the back option or even two up front to start. I would go with something like;

Stack

Palsson / Stephens / Hanlon / Booth

Sproule / Osbourne / Murray / Stevenson

Thornhill

O'Connor

If we need to bring on another striker I would move Murray to the left, take off stevenson in place of Agogo, or if fit Sodje. Our back four will hopefully be chocking on putting right last week, I would like to see our CH's show a bit more agression and fight.

Fingers crossed we get things back on track following last week.

I don't want to see Murray or Stevenson anywhere near our starting team today.

AJWisme
20-08-2011, 11:07 AM
Stack
Spoony Ohanlon Hanlon Booth

Sproule Palsson Osbourne Galbraith

Oconnor Agogo

Everyone in their better positions, who would ever do that? :wink:

20-08-2011, 12:13 PM
Sorry i think we will lose 2-1. Hope im proved wrong

Mikey_1875
20-08-2011, 12:34 PM
Not what id pick but think we will line up

Stack
Pallson
O hanlon
Hanlon
Booth
Sproule
Osbourne
Murray
Spoony
Goc
Agogo

would like to see goc and sodje start though. Reckon it'll be 0-0 today.

down the slope
20-08-2011, 06:02 PM
Well it changed between playing inverness and killie so why couldn't it change between last week and this week?

Other than that i'd say it could change because we're at home, we've got more than one fit striker, Osbourne is another week fitter, Airey has been with the squad more than a couple of days, as you say O'hanlon might be back plus IMO killie are better than St Mirren so i'd say there were a few reasons to think it could be different from last week.

My prediction down to the final score , wish i had been to ladbrokes. Never mind Rod has nailed his colours to the mast with his latest choice so only six more games out of my ten for me before both have to go.

21-08-2011, 09:25 AM
Am I missing something here? Airey at right back??!

he can play at right back

21-08-2011, 10:10 AM
he can play at right back

He can't play at all for a month.

21-08-2011, 10:12 AM
He can't play at all for a month.

So is he injured or what? I noticed CC said he was going back to Newcastle for Rehab or something?

21-08-2011, 10:17 AM
So is he injured or what? I noticed CC said he was going back to Newcastle for Rehab or something?

Must be. Calderwood said he'll be out for 3-4 weeks.

Becoming a bit worrying how all of our new signings pick up injuries so easily.

sunshine1875
21-08-2011, 02:44 PM
So is he (Airey) injured or what? I noticed CC said he was going back to Newcastle for Rehab or something?

Must be. Calderwood said he'll be out for 3-4 weeks.

Becoming a bit worrying how all of our new signings pick up injuries so easily.

Not injured, at all. He played the "I'm a professional footballer, get me out of this amatuer set-up" card!