View Full Version : Match Updates Kilmarnock 4 v Hibs 1

Pages : 1 [2]

AllyF
14-08-2011, 12:40 PM
The defence is that bad I feel like we're playing with 10 men.

EasterRoad4Ever
We're going to lose more goals with this defence.

Ell_Chrisso
David Wotherspoon can **** off

David Wotherspoon has been sh*t for months mate.

Squad player at best. Needs replaced

14-08-2011, 12:41 PM
excellent chance for killie to improve there goal difference today, most teams playing us will have the same opportunity:agree: our defence are truly laughable, keystone cops stuff

Booths getting taught a lesson today.

We could be on the end of a proper doing here.

Booth looking shaky now every time that Dayton boy runs at him.

lugz
David Wotherspoon can **** off

He's absolutely useless!! Complete waste of space and has been for last season and a bit.

Wotherspoon looks great going forward sometimes but doesn't seem to be able to defend...

Frustrating Hibs

Thats that then.

Stupid foul by the enigma that is Wotherspoon and we're dead and buried.

Must admit I foolishly went into this game feeling quite optimistic, not expecting another trouncing.

14-08-2011, 12:42 PM
second best all day, defence is as bad as ever.

Palsson's p1sh.

14-08-2011, 12:43 PM
De graaf on for spoony please, Murray at CB push boothy up to left mid and hanlon or stephens to left back.

Thats that then.

Stupid foul by the enigma that is Wotherspoon and we're dead and buried.

Feel sorry for Wotherspoon, most other clubs would introduce talents like wotherspoon slowly, we just chucked him in as a regular and its now effected him. Hope it doesnt happen with Booth as well.

team has no shape. we should have taken the 300k for cc and run

Really need to take Spoon off.

Spoony again, sub him CC

stevensons-fan
He's absolutely useless!! Complete waste of space and has been for last season and a bit.

Get him off before he gets sent off, what an earth is he playing at?!

No excuses now for CC. His players, his tactics, his team. Maybe if he'd signed his players before the season started instead of whoring himself to all and sundry, they might have been fit enough to start a game by now and might actually know their team mates.

is CC watching this f*** game ? get wotherspoon off NOW fer the luv o ****

Spoony is an idiot.

Get Wotherspoon to **** before he gets sent off.

****ing idiot.

I think all the people berating fans for not turning up need to be forced to watch this defending over and over and realise why people are not prepared to spend the best part of £30 attending hibs games. I want to go back to some games but if we are being realistic as long as they are playing like this, it is not worth it.

Come on hibs 4 goals and we go .4th.

14-08-2011, 12:44 PM
Dear God.

4-1

:brickwall

4-1 now, a shambles

Christ almighty.

stevensons-fan
Oh dear.

and now....truly embarrassing

Ell_Chrisso
FFs man. Defence is an absolute bombscare

**** off. ****ing shambles!

Get Wotherspoon off it he will be sent off.4-1 now !!!!! Rubbish rubbish defence

Really

**** off hibs

gash

What a shambles.........

EasterRoad4Ever
This is going to be 7 or 8

Dayton's been the best player by a mile in this game. Our defence is a disgrace, I don't know if Calderwood has been listening to some of the people on this forum who are always raving about Hanlon because he's been far worse than his usual average performance. Oh and Killie have just scored again, surprise surprise.

hibernian95
what a joke, gonna be another hot/cold season i see, 9th

EasterRoad4Ever
14-08-2011, 12:45 PM
Worst defence in SPL by a country mile.

is CC watching this f*** game ? get wotherspoon off NOW fer the luv o ****

and now he finally does

The who defence has been shocking today. Turned into a thumping here.

Worst defending for years absolutely pathetic, even the jumbo's will murder us with this defence.

Dreadful.

Shocking defending, I wouldn't berate every player though GOC has played well and Ivan has done ok, too late to be putting Airey on for Wotherspoon - that should have happened a while ago

14-08-2011, 12:46 PM
Dayton's been the best player by a mile in this game. Our defence is a disgrace, I don't know if Calderwood has been listening to some of the people on this forum who are always raving about Hanlon because he's been far worse than his usual average performance. Oh and Killie have just scored again, surprise surprise.

Who else were we going to play at centre half?

Dirkster23
No leaders in the team.

AllyF
Grim.

This is going to be 7 or 8

7 is a good number though :wink:

Deary me. Seems like the (fans) have found a replacement for Nish already.

KiddA
WHAT A ####ING JOKE WE CAN'T DEFEND FOR #### LONG SEASON AHEAD WITH THIS BACK FOUR 4-1 WHAT A EMBARRASSMENT :rolleyes:

14-08-2011, 12:47 PM
This is an embarassment.

Booth getting taught a lesson today, Hanlon and Stephens all over the shop, midfield in the 1st half looked like they had never met each other, 2nd half not much better, Pallson never a right back.

All the positivity of the last few days destroyed in 70 minutes.

what a joke, gonna be another hot/cold season i see, 9th

9th? Bit optimistic are you not?:greengrin

Nice to see we have recaptured last years end of season form no problem:rolleyes:

Ell_Chrisso
Please let this mean Airey will play instead of spoony from now on.

14-08-2011, 12:48 PM
Embarrassing result today. Killie are just walking through us. Terrible defending. Need palsson back in midfield, someone to play right back and get murray, stevenson, and wotherspoon on the bench at best.

hibbytam
Calderwood, take you bag of sweets and f*** off,

The derby should be fun.

What a joke! ****ing embarrassment!

Stevenson has been woeful Wotherspoon started terribly but has grown into the game. Stephens is having a mare. Palsson is not the answer at right back. The defense are not working as a unit. Killie were controlling the midfield at the end of that half and deserve to be in front. Thornhill hasn't kicked the ball. Nor has Ivan. Booth's been good again. For the 2nd half we need another striker up there. Move Thornhill back to centre mid where he can get his foot on the ball, take off Stevenson and bring on Airey/Agogo. Do that and we could still win this 5-6.

Not today he hasn't.

Embarrassing result today. Killie are just walking through us. Terrible defending. Need palsson back in midfield, someone to play right back and get murray, stevenson, and wotherspoon on the bench at best.

Pretty much summed up.

14-08-2011, 12:49 PM
come on full time before this gets worse

and Hanlon is vastly over rated by majority of Hibs fans, average on a good day

The happy clappers can have a week of this week it seems.

Palsson is a midfielder not a full back, woefully decision to play him there.

NYHibby
On the plus side, at least our new signings who aren't match fit are seeing some playing time.

Calderwood, take you bag of sweets and f*** off,

What a peculiar post :confused:

hibernian95
14-08-2011, 12:50 PM
9th? Bit optimistic are you not?:greengrin

Nice to see we have recaptured last years end of season form no problem:rolleyes:

:P just annoyed, i was very optamistic leading up to this game, singing looks posative, etc. but he needs to get rid off stevenson, hes had his chance he has to go, 4-5-1 is NOT the fromation for us, doesnt take a genius to work it out, and defence, well enogh said. if the team doesnt gell quickly dont think its going to be too fun a season

gavhfc10
14-08-2011, 12:50 PM
utter shambles!!

14-08-2011, 12:51 PM

We should have signed two CBs, Hanlon and Stevens are both totally unreliable.

On the plus side, at least our new signings who aren't match fit are seeing some playing time.

Osbourne looks quite promising.

delbert
Six signings, same old crap, its quality that counts, not quantity - did somebody say our manager used to be a centre half?? At least they can go down to East mains holiday camp for a wee rest next week, because clearly there is sod all work getting done on the training pitches, bet they are in great condition. There was an earlier thread this week about right back options, how about buying one, and get O'Hanlon out there broken toe our not, how we need an organiser, Paul hanlon is not the answer and never ever will be. Once again the soft touches of the SPL and we get exactly what we deserve, utterly miserable, lots of players talking the talk, not one of them with the exception of O'Connor can walk the walk. Oh yes and Thornhill, playmaker !!! - you are having a laugh.

Not today he hasn't.

Well, he was good in the first half.

14-08-2011, 12:52 PM
One thing is for sure, the cheque book definately needs to come out again.

14-08-2011, 12:52 PM
My Grandad has said all along he doesn't understand how a man who used to play in defence cannot organise our defence!

14-08-2011, 12:53 PM
We should have signed two CBs, Hanlon and Stevens are both totally unreliable.

For once, I agree with you. I haven't seen enough of Stevens to be sure that he's no better than average but Hanlon is no better than lower-SPL standard. Our goals against last season and the games so far this season have confirmed that.

Dirkster23
This is an embarassment.

Booth getting taught a lesson today, Hanlon and Stephens all over the shop, midfield in the 1st half looked like they had never met each other, 2nd half not much better, Pallson never a right back.

All the positivity of the last few days destroyed in 70 minutes.

:agree: it's the Hibs way!

Six signings, same old crap, its quality that counts, not quantity - did somebody say our manager used to be a centre half?? At least they can go down to East mains holiday camp for a wee rest next week, because clearly there is sod all work getting done on the training pitches, bet they are in great condition. There was an earlier thread this week about right back options, how about buying one, and get O'Hanlon out there broken toe our not, how we need an organiser, Paul hanlon is not the answer and never ever will be. Once again the soft touches of the SPL and we get exactly what we deserve, utterly miserable, lots of players talking the talk, not one of them with the exception of O'Connor can walk the walk. Oh yes and Thornhill, playmaker !!! - you are having a laugh.

Must be the youngest back 4 in the SPL

I'll give it a go.

14-08-2011, 12:54 PM
no goals conceded in the last 9 mins, well done hibs

Too many poor performances ..

Spoony (needs dropped)
Lewis (last season at Hibs)
Booth - off day
CHs - no communication/leadership

Pass marks to GOC, Stack and Nid IMHO

10 minutes to score 4 goals, nae bother

Latapy1911
14-08-2011, 12:55 PM
booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooooooooooo

14-08-2011, 12:55 PM
What I find very worrying is that Killie look like scoring in every attack...

14-08-2011, 12:56 PM
Should have been 5

WHAT A MISS! Hibs lucky!

Nearly 5 !!!

Should be 5 - Heff sitter!

Defence is garbage. Should be 5-1.

gotta be miss of the season!

EasterRoad4Ever
What an utter shambles.

How did the Killie player miss that? Hibs class miss

come on full time before this gets worse

and Hanlon is vastly over rated by majority of Hibs fans, average on a good day

not a first pick for me either

fife hfc
We desperately need to add a couple of old heads in defence and fast. You build from the back and we have not done that. Very disappointing and its an absolute shambles and CC has to take some of the blame.

This is revenge for the cup final aint it.

14-08-2011, 12:57 PM
Sproule losing it a bit

no goals conceded in the last 9 mins, well done hibs
Posts like this are usually the "kiss of death" so here comes No 5.......

Good to see Sproule has matured in the last few years. Did he not learn antything from his red card against Hearts at Hampden?

legends of 73
Can anyone tell me what Ivan brings to this team:confused::confused:

What a let off.

Hanlon, Stephens and Booth all out of position at the same time, brilliant.

Good to see Sproule has learned to keep his discipline too, that was nearly the Scottish Cup semi final all over again.

14-08-2011, 12:58 PM
Can see Ivan and Garry having words with others at full time. None of them have shown any passion apart from these two and you can see them getting frustrated.

The happy clappers can have a week of this week it seems.

On another thread they want us to buy a season ticket

We desperately need to add a couple of old heads in defence and fast. You build from the back and we have not done that. Very disappointing and its an absolute shambles and CC has to take some of the blame.

understatement of the day, why did we not just let him F off to Forest or Birmingham?

Matty_Jack04
Don't think we've played too badly it's been inexperienced defending that's cost us, certainly highlighted the need for a right back and a left midfielder

Spoonys played his best football for hibs at right back why he's not in there is beyond me really, osbourne although unfit looks a good bit of business agogo looking a bit lost now but started 2nd half well

Just hope we can pick ourselves up after this

stevensons-fan
This is absolutely dreadful viewing. Total and utter shambles at the back, some things never change....

Osbourne looks quite promising.

In what way?

SneakersO'Toole
14-08-2011, 12:59 PM
Stephens looks like he has never played football in his life.

Absolute shambles. Hanlon just as bad.

Wotherspoon needs dropped ASAP. Terrible. Sproule has been completely ineffective.

Pass marks for O'Connor and even that is minimal.

14-08-2011, 01:00 PM
Too many poor performances .. Spoony (needs dropped) Lewis (last season at Hibs)Booth - off dayCHs - no communication/leadershipPass marks to GOC, Stack and Nid IMHOCan't see how nid gets pass marks. He is supposed to break up play and stop killie coming through this and has failed miserably. Killie have been much better than us today. Can't complain at all with the result, in fact we are lucky killie haven't put seven or eight past us. I hope this is a bad day rather than a sign of things to come.

KiddA
Too many poor performances

Spoony (needs dropped)
Lewis (last season at Hibs)
Booth - off day
CHs - no communication/leadership

Pass marks to GOC, Stack and Nid IMHO

Have to agree not sure why he has been given a deal he has been rank this year. I also agree with everything else

CC also said we don't need a RB Stevie Wonder could see that we need a RB ffs

Ooft - miss of the season right there...

4-1 doesn't quite tell the tale of the game.

We were undone by poor defending in the first half and then some sublime football from Dayton unlocked us to put us 2-1 down. We were always going to come out the traps and push far up the park to try and get level, so it's no real surprise they caught us going forward. Same again for the 4th.

Our defense is an obvious weak point - no RB to speak off (if only it was as simple as "go and buy one"), and a poor CH combination of Hanlon and Stephens - neither one willing to take command and work the defense as a unit. The only one who looks comfortable at the back is Booth, but he's struggled badly against Dayton - partially because he was constantly exposed by Wotherspoon not helping out.

O'Connor looks fit, Sproule has gotten down the flank well in the second half. Hard to judge Agogo, Osbourne and Airey based on <45 minutes of football, especially when they're coming into a side which was facing such an uphill struggle.

If we can improve the defense (O'Hanlon returning would be a great start, but playing on a broken toe could have repercussions later on) and find a better balanced midfield, we'll pick up.

Over to you CC.

14-08-2011, 01:01 PM
In what way?

Loosk like the only midfield player who has had any time on the ball - thats no accident

14-08-2011, 01:02 PM
On another thread they want us to buy a season ticket Imagine that! Hibs fans wanting people to support the team. Whatever next!?

Total Embarrassment
Killie havent won in 9 GAMES
WE NEED TO SIGN EXPERIENCED DEFENDERS
cc was a defender,, if this is hibs being
a team hard to beat god help us the rest of season!!!!

In what way?

Put in a couple of good tackles. Set up a couple of attacks. Showed a bit of passion.

Quite like the look of him aswell.

Can anyone tell me what Ivan brings to this team:confused::confused: Neither his discipline nor his shooting seem to have improved.

sbell1875
14-08-2011, 01:03 PM
Why does Stevenson start? He's not kicked a ball in 3-4 years. He should have been released in the summer. Also, Wotherspoon he hasn't done a thing in 18 months. Today highlights the need for serious changes at the back. This is far from a great Kilmarnock team yet they are destroying us.

SneakersO'Toole
14-08-2011, 01:03 PM
Sign Mark Reynolds ASAP please.

14-08-2011, 01:04 PM
In what way?

Welcome back Spike :wink:

Ooft - miss of the season right there...

4-1 doesn't quite tell the tale of the game.

We were undone by poor defending in the first half and then some sublime football from Dayton unlocked us to put us 2-1 down. We were always going to come out the traps and push far up the park to try and get level, so it's no real surprise they caught us going forward. Same again for the 4th.

Our defense is an obvious weak point - no RB to speak off (if only it was as simple as "go and buy one"), and a poor CH combination of Hanlon and Stephens - neither one willing to take command and work the defense as a unit. The only one who looks comfortable at the back is Booth, but he's struggled badly against Dayton - partially because he was constantly exposed by Wotherspoon not helping out.

O'Connor looks fit, Sproule has gotten down the flank well in the second half. Hard to judge Agogo, Osbourne and Airey based on <45 minutes of football, especially when they're coming into a side which was facing such an uphill struggle.

If we can improve the defense (O'Hanlon returning would be a great start, but playing on a broken toe could have repercussions later on) and find a better balanced midfield, we'll pick up.

Over to you CC.

I Agree, but to put it into simple terms about what you are saying, we need a decent defence and midfield along with better tactics? Thats how big a task it seems. Its not a case of having a weak link in defence and midfield its a case of 3 of the 4 in defence are not up to it, and nobody IMO in midfield deserve pass marks.

Ivan's had some good crosses into the box but a few errors too...two shooting chances fluffed, needs to be able to keep calm and keep the ball down and on target

The quicker Hibs get shot of players like Ivan Sproule and David Wotherspoon the better...

Shocking defending, I wouldn't berate every player though GOC has played well and Ivan has done ok, too late to be putting Airey on for Wotherspoon - that should have happened a while ago

Sorry but Ivan has been dire, final ball as usual lets him down all the time.

SaudiHibby
14-08-2011, 01:05 PM
Better first half than second half with three of our superstar signings on the pitch. Nice :rolleyes:

So we've sacrificed creativity for being hard to beat and been absolutely roasted by a team that hasn't won in forever. Brilliant stuff.

Can't see how nid gets pass marks. He is supposed to break up play and stop killie coming through this and has failed miserably. Killie have been much better than us today. Can't complain at all with the result, in fact we are lucky killie haven't put seven or eight past us. I hope this is a bad day rather than a sign of things to come.

:agree: He's been as bad as anyone but some folk just can't or won't see it.

Too many poor performances ..

Booth - off day

Understatement. He was the worst player on the park.

4-1 FT and that was a let off!

only 4 goals against the keystone cops ? how bad are killie eh

14-08-2011, 01:06 PM
Understatement. He was the worst player on the park.

That's unfair, their winger was absolutely brilliant. Booth didn't actually do all that much wrong. Wotherspoon was atrocious.

I Agree, but to put it into simple terms about what you are saying, we need a decent defence and midfield along with better tactics? Thats how big a task it seems. Its not a case of having a weak link in defence and midfield its a case of 3 of the 4 in defence are not up to it, and nobody IMO in midfield deserve pass marks.

I don't think we need any new players in midfield - we have good personnel, they're just not being well utilised.

We're still maybe 2 signings away from having a decent defense and I'm quite confident CC will have recognised that today. I wouldn't lay all of the blame at the feet of the defense today though - left exposed by a very slow, weak midfield on too many occasions.

Imagine that! Hibs fans wanting people to support the team. Whatever next!?

What team have I missed something

14-08-2011, 01:07 PM

Did you expect anything else? He was avaerage at best first time around and a liability regularly. Nice guy he may be but give me a team of complete pricks that can play football please.

14-08-2011, 01:07 PM
Well that performance won't encourage people to turn up at ER next week, or any other week unless there is a vast improvement.

14-08-2011, 01:08 PM
In what way?

Looks like he can find a pass and get forward but it is really obvious that he isn't anywhere near fit enough to be starting games.

14-08-2011, 01:09 PM
Better first half than second half with three of our superstar signings on the pitch. Nice :rolleyes:

Do you seriously expect them to transform us into Barcelona with 45/20 minutes respectively on the park?

Maybe Rodders will get the old cheque book out now. Unlikely but you never know. That was a discrace. Cast your mind back, when was the last time Hibs skelped a team by 3 more more goals. Ibrox last year, was the last time we comfortably won a game.

I don't think we need any new players in midfield - we have good personnel, they're just not being well utilised.

We're still maybe 2 signings away from having a decent defense and I'm quite confident CC will have recognised that today. I wouldn't lay all of the blame at the feet of the defense today though - left exposed by a very slow, weak midfield on too many occasions.

That just doesnt make sense! You think we have the right personnel but they are just not being utilised well. Is it Calderwoods tactics that make them very slow and weak?

Ivan Sproule is terrible .. If he couldnt run at 5000000000mph then he wouldnt be a football player..

sbell1875
14-08-2011, 01:10 PM
That's unfair, their winger was absolutely brilliant. Booth didn't actually do all that much wrong. Wotherspoon was atrocious.

Wotherspoon was the worst player on the pitch against Celtic opening day. He can't play out wide, doesn't track back to help the defence, can't deliver a good ball into the box, doesn't chip in with enough goals and perhaps the most concerning thing for me, doesn't look in any danger of being dropped.

14-08-2011, 01:11 PM
hanlon a center back does not cut it for me need a strong jones like center half along side o'hanlon stephans is a bad player any way

hibees till i die through thick and thin come on hibs pick our selves up and pump the hearts:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::f lag:

He defended poorly and went forward poorly. So what if the Killie boy played well, he's not Messi, Booth should have done much better against a truly average player who was on form. Everytime he went forward he lost the ball, ran straight into someone. He did plenty wrong.

Lets not just big him up when he's good but not point out he was poor when he's poor. I'm not saying he should be dropped, I'm not saying he won't develop into a quality player, I am saying today he was shocking.

Welcome back Spike :wink:

Don't be so cynical Mr Falcon. :greengrin

I am sitting in a room with no tv, no radio and this is my only way of keeping up with what's going on. I genuinely just meant in what way was he promising?

Honestly, you **** one shhep......:wink:

14-08-2011, 01:12 PM
What a let off.

Hanlon, Stephens and Booth all out of position at the same time, brilliant.

Good to see Sproule has learned to keep his discipline too, that was nearly the Scottish Cup semi final all over again.

He was the same in the celtc game, rush of blood and gave away a penalty that day.

legends of 73
what a load of s***e

stack- slow at first goal/some good saves
pallson-never a right back
booth -got skinned a few times but he'll learn
hanlon-mare
stevens-mare
spoony-mare
stevenson-mare
thornhill-was he playing
sproule-not good enough
murray-meant to be breaking up attack never done it once
goc-tried hard good goal

aggo-put himself about
ozzy-tried to put his foot on the ball should have started
airey-game was **** when he came on

it's going to be a long hard season

SaudiHibby
Looks like Hibsnet have found their Nish for this season in a young player being asked to play out of position. :rolleyes:

14-08-2011, 01:13 PM
I'm already having nightmares at the thought of Hanlon and Stephens in central defence against hearts. Stephens needs to realise that 1 good game doesnae make you the finished article and Hanlon is so over-rated its unreal. His error started it all today and he was awful throughout.

Like Agogo though, but Osbourne looks some way off fitness-wise.

14-08-2011, 01:13 PM
only 4 goals against the keystone cops ? how bad are killie eh Have you not been paying attention? We're not the Keystone Cops, we're the Creepy Coop.

14-08-2011, 01:14 PM
Agogo looked Nade.

14-08-2011, 01:14 PM
Don't think we've played too badly it's been inexperienced defending that's cost us, certainly highlighted the need for a right back and a left midfielder

Spoonys played his best football for hibs at right back why he's not in there is beyond me really, osbourne although unfit looks a good bit of business agogo looking a bit lost now but started 2nd half well

Just hope we can pick ourselves up after this

Are you having a laugh, wee were dire today, it could have been 7-1 easily.

14-08-2011, 01:15 PM
Agogo looked Nade.

What pish. Did you see that run near the end when every other player in a green jersey had chucked it?

sbell1875
14-08-2011, 01:15 PM
He needs to scrap this 4-5-1 formation. It just does not work. That's 3 games now where we quite easily could have lost 3,4 or 5 goals. Palsson is our best midfielder and Christ knows why Blunderwood plays him at right back. I'd put Wotherspoon there if only to get him out of midfield where recently he has looked shocking. I'd also get Brown back in between the sticks.

14-08-2011, 01:16 PM
He defended poorly and went forward poorly. So what if the Killie boy played well, he's not Messi, Booth should have done much better against a truly average player who was on form. Everytime he went forward he lost the ball, ran straight into someone. He did plenty wrong.

Lets not just big him up when he's good but not point out he was poor when he's poor. I'm not saying he should be dropped, I'm not saying he won't develop into a quality player, I am saying today he was shocking.

What does it matter how he usually plays? He was immense today and most left backs in the league would have had a terrible afternoon against him. Booth was alert, determined and he worked his socks off, he got taught a lesson by their man but he wasn't our worst player.

14-08-2011, 01:18 PM
A team who has to depend on Murray for creativity in the middle is always going to be second best. Wotherspoon was woeful, left booth far too exposed all day and when he did get back he was about as much use as an ash tray on a motorbike. Stephens and Hanlon just do not work together I'm afraid.

We need a creative but combative midfielder to allow Murray to get back to defending, a left midfielder and a right back (but we've needed one of them since whittaker so nothing new there).

14-08-2011, 01:21 PM
That just doesnt make sense! You think we have the right personnel but they are just not being utilised well. Is it Calderwoods tactics that make them very slow and weak?

We do have decent personnel to run our midfield, but yes, I feel that they aren't being used properly - Ian Murray needs to play as a holding midfielder, as he doesn't have the legs to get up and down the park for 90 minutes. Wotherspoon is NOT a LM player and him being played there left a gaping hole for Dayton to run at Booth all game. That position requires a player who is able to track back and tackle, without getting sucked into the middle - Wotherspoon is guilty of not doing all three!

Players like Osbourne and Thornhill will add to our midfield and if we can get a RB signed, Palsson back into midfield will also bolster it somewhat.

Sproule on the right is fine - he's quick, can get passed players and get balls into the box.

Once Calderwood learns where these guys are best played and derives a system to suit, we'll have a good midfield and forward line.

14-08-2011, 01:21 PM
Looks like Hibsnet have found their Nish for this season in a young player being asked to play out of position. :rolleyes:

If you are referring to Wotherspoon then it might interest you to know he played left midfield with the under 19s very regularly.

I was full of praise for him when he was playing well but just because he's young doesn't exempt him from criticism when he's poor. This is his 3rd season as a first team player, he's not an inexperienced player now and should be performing a lot better than that regardless of where he is asked to play.

14-08-2011, 01:24 PM
;2886120']A team who has to depend on Murray for creativity in the middle is always going to be second best. Wotherspoon was woeful, left booth far too exposed all day and when he did get back he was about as much use as an ash tray on a motorbike. Stephens and Hanlon just do not work together I'm afraid.We need a creative but combative midfielder to allow Murray to get back to defending, a left midfielder and a right back (but we've needed one of them since whittaker so nothing new there).Starting with stevenson and murray was fine when we had no other options, but we can't start with them again if we have any ambitions of finishing high up the league. Slow and ineffective over 90 minutes, they were horribly exposed today. Add into that wotherspoon, who hasn't had a good game in months and you start to see the problems.

We do have decent personnel to run our midfield, but yes, I feel that they aren't being used properly - Ian Murray needs to play as a holding midfielder, as he doesn't have the legs to get up and down the park for 90 minutes. Wotherspoon is NOT a LM player and him being played there left a gaping hole for Dayton to run at Booth all game. That position requires a player who is able to track back and tackle, without getting sucked into the middle - Wotherspoon is guilty of not doing all three!

Players like Osbourne and Thornhill will add to our midfield and if we can get a RB signed, Palsson back into midfield will also bolster it somewhat.

Sproule on the right is fine - he's quick, can get passed players and get balls into the box.

Once Calderwood learns where these guys are best played and derives a system to suit, we'll have a good midfield and forward line.

Ah so its the system that makes the midfield slow and weak, not the players.

Sadly today young Callum was found out. Both him and Palsson stood off too often, young Hanlon was far too off the pace, Stephens looked nervous.

Midfield again way way too narrow, hence our full backs were exposed.

What worried me most......the complete lack of shape, and lack of positional sense. Like 11 players thrown together.

You set up effectively 4-5-1......it's a slight admission to the opposition that we are negative and counter attacking......for me its as good as an invite to the opposition to attack from the off. Especially when it's Murray and Stevenson in midfield, with no pace or power from the other three.

Wotherspoon was also awful today. For me, the energy of Scott was missing, and has been for a while.

Only positive......Osbourne looks comfy on ball and a ball winner.

Poor tactics today and all in all, every player left their talents on the bus.

sbell1875
14-08-2011, 01:26 PM
After last season's issues with defending for him to have signed 1 defender is nigh on embarrassing. As a former international defender that would be one thing I though we would have improved on but since day one we have not. I genuinely fear for this season as I cannot see us keeping a lot of clean sheets. He just cannot notice things which are glaringly obvious to everyone in the stands, for example, Wotherspoon as a left midfielder.

My thoughts are still as they were after the Ayr debacle, CALDERWOOD OUT NOW!!!

14-08-2011, 01:27 PM
How often do Hibs managers trot out the "we must learn from this defeat" line? Stop saying it and start doing it FFS!

14-08-2011, 01:32 PM
Hibs are totally stuck with Calderwood now, would cost a fortune to relieve him of his post

14-08-2011, 01:33 PM
Ah so its the system that makes the midfield slow and weak, not the players.

I'm not referring to individual pace and tackling.

As a UNIT, the players don't move efficiently, as they look unbalanced and unsure of what they're expected to be doing. They also look weak because we have players trying to deal with opposition whilst out of position (my earlier reference to Wotherspoon trying to keep pace with and tackle Dayton).

14-08-2011, 01:35 PM
petrie played hardball to get a bigger fee for CC, hope it doesnt come back to haunt him, i think it will :agree: playing VP at RB was a CC masterstroke:rolleyes:

sbell1875
Hibs are totally stuck with Calderwood now, would cost a fortune to relieve him of his post

What would be more costly though, sacking him or being relegated from the SPL?

Bobo
On that performance today, little has changed from last season to indicate that there's been any progression. The majority of our players look unfit /slow and were second best all over the park. The defence is dire, midfield lacks bite and creativity and up front 1 man will see us score very little over the course of the season.

Notably poor performances from a number of player, namely Wotherspoon, Sproule, Palsson, Stevens & Stevenson. Ian Murray is unfortunately finished too, he has a big heart but doesn't have the legs anymore.

Big disapointment for me is how we allow teams so much time and space on the ball also being far too soft in the tackle when we do attemp to put a foot in. Lack of creativity is also a huge worry.

There wasn't really a decent Hibs performer and to go down without much fight is not acceptable! A number of players in the last 25 minutes looked disinterested to me and not up for the fight. Calderwood has a lot of work to do to redress this.

We were beaten by a far better team on the day, who deserved their win, so no complaints from me in that respect. We need to take it on the chin and hope to regroup and come out fighting next week.

14-08-2011, 01:39 PM
What would be more costly though, sacking him or being relegated from the SPL?

We had the chance of £300k and should have taken it, now we haw to get on with things, there's not many great proven managers ready to take on a job in the SPL.

Any new manager is a gamble really...Hibs are not rolling in cash and it's only going to get worse with crowds decreasing every week

14-08-2011, 01:43 PM
We had the chance of £300k and should have taken it, now we haw to get on with things, there's not many great proven managers ready to take on a job in the SPL.

Any new manager is a gamble really...Hibs are not rolling in cash and it's only going to get worse with crowds decreasing every week

Did we ? :dunno:

14-08-2011, 01:45 PM
Can we please hold off the 'CC must go' chat for bit longer at least.

I'm as critical as anyone today after that performance but CC had O'Hanlon and Sodje out injured and Osbourne, Airey and Agogo either short of match fitness or signed too late to make a real big impact today. These players were all CCs signing and will all be big players for us this year, if wee're still turning in performances like that in 8 or 9 weeks then we have issues, lets wait until we get the new guys in the team and has beens and never gonna bes like Murray and Stevenson onto the bench before we write the whole season off.

sbell1875
14-08-2011, 01:48 PM

With Petrie's track record of giving the last 2 managers 18 months where top 6 finishes were obtained in each season I don't personally see how he can justify keeping Calderwood employed any longer.

We have in no way improved since sacking Yogi and I still fully believe Yogi was sacked far too prematurely especially after the board allowed the sale of Stokes on deadline day with Yogi given virtually no time to find a replacement.

HibeeSince85
14-08-2011, 02:00 PM
So we got pumped by Killie, I'm as pissed off as anyone, wasn't at the game but the players never turned up, bad bad day all round but 3 games into the season with a new team and we are already slaughtering the team, they're all push etc n Calderwood or as has already been said Blunderwood(very witty)

Get a bloody grip, either this site is full of people who's real pleasure is tearing into Hibs or as a support we are bi-polar.

We got hammered, it happens in football, we move on and improve, we don't go shouting for another manager and ripping the players a new one after one bad defeat.

14-08-2011, 02:06 PM
So we got pumped by Killie, I'm as pissed off as anyone, wasn't at the game but the players never turned up, bad bad day all round but 3 games into the season with a new team and we are already slaughtering the team, they're all push etc n Calderwood or as has already been said Blunderwood(very witty)

Get a bloody grip, either this site is full of people who's real pleasure is tearing into Hibs or as a support we are bi-polar.

We got hammered, it happens in football, we move on and improve, we don't go shouting for another manager and ripping the players a new one after one bad defeat.

14-08-2011, 02:15 PM
First chance I've had tae check the score, oh dear, wish I hadnae bothered :bitchy:

sbell1875
14-08-2011, 02:16 PM

One bad defeat? I could name about a half dozen bad defeats in his tenure. The Aberdeen home defeat around Christmas time last year, the new year derby where we were awful, the Rangers game in January where we were awful again, the Ayr cup matches, the Hamilton defeats at the end of the season, the Celtic match where we didnt have a single effort on goal and today.

I think you need to get a grip and understand my frustration at witnessing our great team become a laughing stock.

HibeeSince85
14-08-2011, 02:30 PM
One bad defeat? I could name about a half dozen bad defeats in his tenure. The Aberdeen home defeat around Christmas time last year, the new year derby where we were awful, the Rangers game in January where we were awful again, the Ayr cup matches, the Hamilton defeats at the end of the season, the Celtic match where we didnt have a single effort on goal and today.

I think you need to get a grip and understand my frustration at witnessing our great team become a laughing stock.

It is with this team, 3 games in, I'm not getting carried away in the negativity, once great team? As in the 50's? Mowbrays team?

I've seen us take doings with every manager and every team, it's early days, problem is sites like this and social networks in general give a voice to people who just want to take their gripe to a new level.
Be annoyed at the defeat, I am, but I knew what work needed done and I knew it was never a quick fix, it's either one way or another with some, no realism. That's where my grip is.

14-08-2011, 02:32 PM
Can we please hold off the 'CC must go' chat for bit longer at least.

I'm as critical as anyone today after that performance but CC had O'Hanlon and Sodje out injured and Osbourne, Airey and Agogo either short of match fitness or signed too late to make a real big impact today. These players were all CCs signing and will all be big players for us this year, if wee're still turning in performances like that in 8 or 9 weeks then we have issues, lets wait until we get the new guys in the team and has beens and never gonna bes like Murray and Stevenson onto the bench before we write the whole season off.

:agree: Hopefully, CC will also be able to get one or two more in before the window closes - and hopefully at least one is an experienced defender. A back four of Palsson Stephens Hanlon and Booth is too young, too inconsistent and too inexperienced to be starters for the majority of the season (although I feel sorry for them being left exposed by midfielders who don't track back). O'Hanlon will make a difference, but I worry he may be injury-prone.

14-08-2011, 02:39 PM

:agree: Didn't notice much leadership on the park either. Too many players happy to hide and avoid taking responsibility.

I wonder if Mr O'Hanlon might have had a word or six with his teammates if he were the one left exposed by others failing to track back.

14-08-2011, 02:40 PM
:agree: Didn't notice much leadership on the park either. Too many players happy to hide and avoid taking responsibility.

I wonder if Mr O'Hanlon might have had a word or six with his teammates if he were the one left exposed by others failing to track back.:agree:

14-08-2011, 07:31 PM
We need a RB and a CB in before the window shuts.