View Full Version : Yams Hearts Play Off Opponents (Spurs)

Camo
05-08-2011, 08:36 AM
I know everyone likes a laugh at us over the road,

Have a look at our possible opponents in the draw this afternoon.

Group 3
Seeds - Non seeds
Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG) -Trabzonspor AŞ (TUR)
FC Spartak Moskva (RUS) - FC Karpaty Lviv (UKR)
Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) - Heart of Midlothian FC (SCO)
Athletic Club (ESP) - Legia Warszawa (POL)
PAOK FC (GRE) - FK Ekranas (LTU)

So you can pretty much guarantee that we'll be off to Russia. Great European trips to Hungary and Russia. :rolleyes:

05-08-2011, 08:48 AM
I'm not being funny (and it was a good result for you lot last nite) but spurs could be a sore one. I could imagine reverses of 4-0 at white hart lane, 3-0 at tynecastle

05-08-2011, 08:55 AM
Why is the draw put into groups and how are the groups decided?

05-08-2011, 08:56 AM
I know everyone likes a laugh at us over the road,

Have a look at our possible opponents in the draw this afternoon.

Group 3
Seeds - Non seeds
Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG) -Trabzonspor AŞ (TUR)
FC Spartak Moskva (RUS) - FC Karpaty Lviv (UKR)
Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR) - Heart of Midlothian FC (SCO)
Athletic Club (ESP) - Legia Warszawa (POL)
PAOK FC (GRE) - FK Ekranas (LTU)

So you can pretty much guarantee that we'll be off to Russia. Great European trips to Hungary and Russia. :rolleyes:

Thought you lot would feel right at home in Easter Europe.

Didn't your boss used to drive around that neck of the woods in his company U-Boat? Surely he's still got enough contacts to make sure you get the right result :hmmm:

Nudge nudge, wink wink, horses head in the bed, say no more.

Camo
05-08-2011, 09:11 AM
The teams have been divided into seven groups for the draw – four of ten teams and three of 12. Within the seven groups an equal number of sides are seeded and unseeded in accordance with the club rankings established at the beginning of the season.

The seeding system is a pile of sheeiittee.

Stoke haven't been in Europe since the 70's and they're seeded because they're English.

Rest of the groups are here.

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/news/newsid=1656289.html

05-08-2011, 09:15 AM
Fair play to you - you beat the team put in front of you.....thats all you can do (unless you are Hibs of course :rolleyes:)

If I were in your position I would want Spurs..big day out - decent allocation under UEFA rules:rolleyes:(maybe £50 a ticket of course :wink:) pig payday for the club / TV etc...and nothing to lose....and the possibility of biggest result in history...

Spurs would not fanct a Full Tynie with the breath of the peasants so close :greengrin

All of that more prefferable than possibility of falling at last hurdle before groups to some unknown / unfancied team...something we have the T-Shirt for

05-08-2011, 09:16 AM
The teams have been divided into seven groups for the draw – four of ten teams and three of 12. Within the seven groups an equal number of sides are seeded and unseeded in accordance with the club rankings established at the beginning of the season.

Stoke haven't been in Europe since the 70's and they're seeded because they're English.

They should also get rid of country protection, which is a similar protection racket.

I think Hearts would have a decent chance against either the Israeli or Greek teams. Spurs, Athletic or Spartak, not so much. At least Romanov would get a decent cheque from TV for Spurs.

05-08-2011, 09:17 AM

Its all about money and saving the cartel of big clubs interests....your Loon owner would be correct if he directed some of his rants toward the less than transparent systems of UEFA

Camo
05-08-2011, 09:18 AM
Fair play to you - you beat the team put in front of you.....thats all you can do (unless you are Hibs of course :rolleyes:)

If I were in your position I would want Spurs..big day out - decent allocation under UEFA rules:rolleyes:(maybe £50 a ticket of course :wink:) pig payday for the club / TV etc...and nothing to lose....and the possibility of biggest result in history...

Spurs would not fanct a Full Tynie with the breath of the peasants so close :greengrin

All of that more prefferable than possibility of falling at last hurdle before groups to some unknown / unfancied team...something we have the T-Shirt for
Purely for selfish reasons I want Bilbao or Spurs.

Let's be honest we're not going to have any effect on the group stages anyway, it will just hinder us (more so than normal) in the league.

I'm based in Egypt and if we get a decent draw i'll be away for either of them.

Spurs will obviously make us the most money, with the whole Scotland v England idea. We'd get *****ed all over though.

05-08-2011, 09:34 AM
Maribor and Dnipro could play the Huns

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/14418019.stm

05-08-2011, 09:45 AM
Agreed that Moscow is the best outcome.

Defeat likely, not the best away day for the offenders (visa rejection likely of course to protect the Moscow women and kids) and more importantly, the locals will be very "welcoming".

05-08-2011, 09:57 AM
absolutely zero chance and I hope you get gubbed ya jambo git

05-08-2011, 10:01 AM
As mentioned, seeding is rank. I'm not a fan of it in any competition.

05-08-2011, 10:12 AM
I hope you get raped off whoever you're drawn against.

05-08-2011, 10:15 AM
Maribor and Dnipro could play the Huns

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/14418019.stm

Bit of an unfair advantage that they're both playing the huns:greengrin:wink:

son of haggart
05-08-2011, 10:17 AM
Cheers guys - good to see your rooting for us:wink:

Spurs for me (apart from the obvious that I am in London I have a few Spurs season ticket holding mates so a good time would be had

then Bilbao - don't fancy the travel to the others or the potential for fun and games

05-08-2011, 10:24 AM
Hope you get Moscow with the away tie second before facing us on the 28th :wink:

05-08-2011, 10:28 AM
Some great looking trips there. I'll be very jelous if they end up going to Moscow or Tel Aviv. They'd be fantastic trips. Games against Spurs or Athletico will also be huge for them. Lets hope the away leg is 2nd!

05-08-2011, 10:50 AM
Moscow :pray:

Whoever they get though I hope they get a right humping. A few injuries wouldnt go a miss either :wink:

05-08-2011, 10:52 AM
Moscow :pray: Whoever they get though I hope they get a right humping. A few injuries wouldnt go a miss either :wink: As good a post as I'm likely to read all day! :greengrin

05-08-2011, 10:53 AM
Cheers guys - good to see your rooting for us:wink:

Spurs for me (apart from the obvious that I am in London I have a few Spurs season ticket holding mates so a good time would be had

then Bilbao - don't fancy the travel to the others or the potential for fun and games

You don't want Bilbao - it's like Bellshill with sun.

hibernian95
05-08-2011, 11:01 AM
What time is the draw and does anyone have a link where I could possibly watch the draw? be intresting to see if they get Spurs that would be a fun game to watch, 6-0http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/taunt%20smiley.gif

05-08-2011, 11:33 AM
You don't want Bilbao - it's like Bellshill with sun. :agree: or grangemouth

05-08-2011, 11:39 AM
What time is the draw and does anyone have a link where I could possibly watch the draw? be intresting to see if they get Spurs that would be a fun game to watch, 6-0:na na:

Live on Eurosport now

patlowe
05-08-2011, 11:41 AM
What time is the draw and does anyone have a link where I could possibly watch the draw? be intresting to see if they get Spurs that would be a fun game to watch, 6-0http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/taunt%20smiley.gif

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2012/draws/index.html

05-08-2011, 11:45 AM
Hearts get Spurs :bye:

05-08-2011, 11:46 AM
Spurs!

Spurs :greengrin (home leg 1st I think)

Spurs!

legends of 73
05-08-2011, 11:47 AM
com on ye spurs:greengrin

Huns get Maribor

:faf: Bye Bye.

05-08-2011, 11:48 AM
My English team playing the team I hate more than any, happy as larry :greengrin

05-08-2011, 11:49 AM
:hilarious Hearts will get pumped rotten.

05-08-2011, 11:49 AM
It' Spurs :greengrin

05-08-2011, 11:50 AM
Spurs!

Lucky f***ing scoundrels. Yes, they'll got papped out, but that's a plum tie against a class side. Would love to be travelling to WHL to watch Hibs in a European tie.

TamHibs
05-08-2011, 11:50 AM
Wish it was Hibs getting Spurs!

05-08-2011, 11:51 AM
Celtic get FC Sion.
No? Me neither :greengrin

05-08-2011, 11:54 AM
Celtic get FC Sion.

Changed trains there once, didn't know they had a team.

Mikeystewart
05-08-2011, 11:55 AM

Huns get Maribor

Really?

I'm jelous, some of my best mates are huge Jambos and I'll have to listen to them prattling on all weekend about their big adventure they'll be going on. Still, at least Hearts will get battered.

A great tie for them, something for their fans to look forward to and fret about the outcome!

Wonder if Vlad will move game to Murrayfield?

bringbackbenny

Agreed, would love a visit to a top Premiership ground with Hibs.

The one consolation is they won't be going any further :greengrin

05-08-2011, 11:56 AM
That'll be that then....phew (and not even a trip for them...lol)

05-08-2011, 11:56 AM
Really?

Yep :agree:

05-08-2011, 11:57 AM
spurs! yes :greengrin

Austinho
A nice trip to White Hart Lane, but not much fun when you're already 3 or 4 nil down after the first leg.

CapitalHibs
Some of us..er older posters may remember Dave Mackay who was a fantastic player for both Hertz and Spurs.

05-08-2011, 11:58 AM

Yep, wish it was us

I wonder how long before 'a battle of britain' is mentioned by the mafia media monkeys?

05-08-2011, 11:58 AM
Hope they get absolutely leathered on and off the pitch.

05-08-2011, 11:59 AM
My English team playing the team I hate more than any, happy as larry :greengrin

Ditto.

I am planning to go to this game, in the home end, with my Hibs shirt on!

YIDDO, YIDDO, YIDDO, YIDDO!!!!

2belhaven
05-08-2011, 11:59 AM
Rednapp described this competition as a "distraction" this week so i expect he will play mostly reserves which is a worry !!

Or maybe not .........:wink:

05-08-2011, 12:02 PM

No Europa league for the maroon balloons then.

Shame really.

05-08-2011, 12:04 PM
Spurs are very pally with Aberdeen, should Spurs get a few thousand tickets (don't think they qualify for the full Roseburn) I reckon it could be carnage. Potential for mega bother anyway.

Their beach balls will come in handy for London

Spurs are very pally with Aberdeen, should Spurs get a few thousand tickets (don't think they qualify for the full Roseburn) I reckon it could be carnage. Potential for mega bother anyway.

Why would Aberdeen bother?

05-08-2011, 12:05 PM
No Europa league for the maroon balloons then.

Shame really.

They'll make a bit of cash I suppose.

Wonder how easy it will be to get tickets.....

Come on you Spurs!!!

05-08-2011, 12:08 PM
And I see the Huns have been drawn against our old pals from Maribor. That should be interesting.

05-08-2011, 12:09 PM
Jealous much.

05-08-2011, 12:09 PM
Huns to play Maribor. Celtic play Sion of Switzerland. Fulham play Dnipro. Brum play Nacional of Portugal and Stoke play FC Thun.

05-08-2011, 12:10 PM
They'll make a bit of cash I suppose.

Wonder how easy it will be to get tickets.....

Come on you Spurs!!!

Not so much as they would have made if they qualified for the group stages though.

05-08-2011, 12:10 PM
Really embarassing that Hearts fans would rather get a "glamour tie" against Tottenham than play a team who they have a decent chance of getting past.

Typical wee team mentality.

TheEastTerrace
05-08-2011, 12:11 PM
Happy to admit I'm quite envious - cracking tie.

C'MON YE SPURS!! :greengrin

05-08-2011, 12:18 PM
'mon spurs!

05-08-2011, 12:18 PM
Tottenham - Hearts
Rangers - Maribor
Celtic - Sion
Birmingham - Nacional
Fulham - Dnipro
Stoke - Thun

Sort of Hibs feel to that draw :greengrin

05-08-2011, 12:19 PM
Brilliant draw for them. Bassas.

PeeKay
05-08-2011, 12:21 PM
Been speaking with a jambo at work who is happy to get a big pay-day against Spurs and then drop out of the Europa, "So we can concentrate on the league". Where realistically they will aim for 3rd place, for which the reward is..............a place in the Europa Cup :crazy:

05-08-2011, 12:29 PM
The kind of draw that makes 3rd place in the SPL worthwhile.

They're fortunate the home leg is first as it could easily have been meaningless had the first leg been at White Hart Lane. Hopefully the 2nd leg will be meaningless after a thrashing for Hertz at Tiny.

05-08-2011, 12:31 PM
wish it was us playing spurs

05-08-2011, 12:31 PM
Hearts will get absolutely roasted! No doubt their dullard supporters will disgrace themselves in London too.

05-08-2011, 12:33 PM
Hearts and Huns will get knocked out, Celtc will go through.

05-08-2011, 12:35 PM
I can see this being moved to muddyfield to fleece as many fan nies as possible :agree:

05-08-2011, 12:35 PM
Agreed that Moscow is the best outcome.

Defeat likely, not the best away day for the offenders (visa rejection likely of course to protect the Moscow women and kids) and more importantly, the locals will be very "welcoming".

Why would women be at risk? :confused:

Leishy1995
05-08-2011, 12:38 PM
here m8 i can see us struggling at white hart lane but maybe okay at home but we shall see in 2 weeks

My hearts "mate" on facebook, I hope they get physically abused by a real "big" team. He also thinks that it will be good to see how Hearts "cope" with a good team.... It will be more how many they conceed to how they cope.

05-08-2011, 12:41 PM
Great tie for them.

Would love Hibs to be playing spurs.

Green forever
05-08-2011, 12:42 PM
The sub mariner will make a fair bit of cash from that one, don't think Glorious Ape will see any of the profits.

Will they move it to Muddyfield or keep it at the PBS for that "special atmosphere" that Neil Lennon and Deeks are always praising..

Brummie_Hibs
05-08-2011, 12:45 PM
I'm already arranging to go to the game. I live 15 mins bus drive to WHL, and I am mates with several Spurs fans.

05-08-2011, 12:47 PM
If wonder if glorious ape and his Jackass inspired absence of eyebrows will dedicate this one to Jumbo?

05-08-2011, 12:48 PM
We’re from the capital, you're from a er erm capital too :rolleyes:

05-08-2011, 01:03 PM
The section N nazi's will have a good time discussing the merits of tottenham's jewish links.

05-08-2011, 01:04 PM
Wish it was us!

Aye they'll get pumped but are they no playing Spuds same week we've got Berwick!

05-08-2011, 01:07 PM
Wish it was us!

Aye they'll get pumped but are they no playing Spuds same week we've got Berwick!

They always play spuds.

05-08-2011, 01:08 PM

Ah well my wish came true :rolleyes:

Cool_Hand_Luke
05-08-2011, 01:10 PM
Hate to say this...but i'm sure Redknapp has come out and said he will play a weakened team in the Europa League so they can concentrate on the league.

Hopefully their weakened team will still pump them though...mon the Spurs :thumbsup:

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/3731821/Harry-Redknapp-Europa-League-can-ruin-Tottenhams-Premier-League-title-bid.html

05-08-2011, 01:19 PM
Been speaking with a jambo at work who is happy to get a big pay-day against Spurs and then drop out of the Europa, "So we can concentrate on the league". Where realistically they will aim for 3rd place, for which the reward is..............a place in the Europa Cup :crazy:

:agree: I have never understood that mentality...heard it with other clubs to

Quite jealous...would love us to be playing them at the finished ER rammed to the roof and then a trip to that other capital....:boo hoo:

I actually think as i stated before draw that Spurs will not fancy Tynie one bit...will be interesting to see if the greater chance of a first leg up set....or more dosh wins (Tynie or Murrayfield)

If it was Murryfield and could get in Spurs end would go as would like to see them in the flesh....

05-08-2011, 01:20 PM
Exciting draw for sure, sure is a shame they're going to get a thorough dicking.

Mary Hinge
05-08-2011, 01:22 PM
A great tie for them, something for their fans to look forward to and fret about the outcome!

Wonder if Vlad will move game to Murrayfield?

Murrayfield is a rugby stadium, they should play it in their own little hovel.

05-08-2011, 01:27 PM
Thats Hearts oot, Deeeeeeelighted!!..****bos are getting tae nae group stages!.

05-08-2011, 01:40 PM
Hearts have now advanced to the stage of the Europa League that a second place finish in last season's SPL would have got them. Beating Spurs (apart from being one of the greatest results in their history) would get them as far as Craig Levein managed to take them under Chris Robinson's reign, before Romanov took over and started the crazy spending.

It's funny how things work out sometimes.

05-08-2011, 01:44 PM
Celtic get FC Sion.

Got a recollection that Aberdeen may have played them in a Euro tie a few years back?

05-08-2011, 01:45 PM
Hearts will get brought back down to earth once Spurs destroy them, would be a great away trip though.

Maribor will knock out the Huns :agree:

05-08-2011, 01:54 PM
How is Spurs a good draw for them?

They will get battered, and again the non-OF Scottish team will fail to make the group stage.

05-08-2011, 01:56 PM
I'm already arranging to go to the game. I live 15 mins bus drive to WHL, and I am mates with several Spurs fans.

Would love to go myself, must try and get tickets.
'Mon the Spurs...

05-08-2011, 01:56 PM
I think it will be closer than a lot of folk are suggesting. I would fancy us to give Tottenham a good game at Easter Road.

Obviously I hope that the Gorgie mutants get smashed though.

05-08-2011, 01:57 PM
I'm jelous, some of my best mates are huge Jambos and I'll have to listen to them prattling on all weekend about their big adventure they'll be going on. Still, at least Hearts will get battered. off the pitch too! (if spurs can be bothered turning out against one of Scotland's weakest mobs)

05-08-2011, 02:06 PM
Bitter ravalry and the game to one side, should be a cracking trip for them. I know I always enjoy my wee London jaunts to see The Hammers!

05-08-2011, 02:09 PM
wonder if the Yid army will turn up in numbers for this one?

05-08-2011, 02:13 PM
I think it will be closer than a lot of folk are suggesting. I would fancy us to give Tottenham a good game at Easter Road.

Obviously I hope that the Gorgie mutants get smashed though.

:agree:As a Spurs member its a wee bit worrying the statments Redknapp has come out with about the Europa league, eg distraction, a pain having to play Thursday/Sunday etc, coupled with the fact that Hearts will be 4 or 5 competitive games ahead of Spurs - really all depends on Spurs attitude and the team Harry picks I suppose.

05-08-2011, 02:15 PM
250 guests viewing :faf:

"We got a good tie, let's celebrate by watching what Hibs think about it"

khib70
05-08-2011, 02:18 PM
off the pitch too! (if spurs can be bothered turning out against one of Scotland's weakest mobs)
Yet another thread going well until you post an idiotic comment.:rolleyes::bye:

05-08-2011, 02:26 PM
They'll get well beat.

As we would but I'm rather envious...

05-08-2011, 02:38 PM
Yet another thread going well until you post an idiotic comment.:rolleyes::bye:

05-08-2011, 02:47 PM
Hopefully Gareth Bale rips them a new one :pray:

05-08-2011, 02:48 PM
Hopefully Gareth Bale rips them a new one :pray:

I'd be amazed if Bale played in either leg tbh, Europa League isn't high priority for Spurs.

05-08-2011, 02:53 PM
TBH I'm pretty envious of this tie. A great game out. Its a difficult one in the fact that i want hearts to get pumped but want them to do enough to make sure people don't think scottish football is that embarrassing. Hopefully a loss but a narrow one so scottish football's name is not dragged even further through the mud.

05-08-2011, 02:53 PM
I'd be amazed if Bale played in either leg tbh, Europa League isn't high priority for Spurs.

But surely any game against the BIG team should be seen as number 1 priority. :confused:

scuttle
05-08-2011, 02:54 PM
A great draw for them,plenty cash from two big gates, money from tv rights and plenty of publicity. And if the unimaginable happens and they win through then the group stage awaits. If they loose they were on a hidding too nothing anyway.If they do loose its makes Scottish fitbaw look crap and if they win think of them gloating for months.
A great draw for them possible disaster for us

05-08-2011, 02:56 PM
TBH I'm pretty envious of this tie. A great game out. Its a difficult one in the fact that i want hearts to get pumped but want them to do enough to make sure people don't think scottish football is that embarrassing. Hopefully a loss but a narrow one so scottish football's name is not dragged even further through the mud.

I agree, I hope the defeat is narrow.....

:na na: I hope they get hammered at least 7-0 in both legs! They've already embarassed Scottish football in many other ways. What difference is a couple of drubbings going to make. Scottish football couldn't fall any lower if it tried anyway. fk'em. :thumbsup:

05-08-2011, 02:58 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Lp4m0N39Do&feature=player_embedded :greengrin

05-08-2011, 03:08 PM
Fair play to Hearts for getting a fantastic tie. Have to admit I am quite jealous but maybe next year with a bit hard work and some luck it will be us looking forward to a European tie in our family home which is more than ready for such events!

bruno
05-08-2011, 03:26 PM
off the pitch too! (if spurs can be bothered turning out against one of Scotland's weakest mobs)

That's pathetic on a day when we get to experience a European tie agaist a top team in the Premiership some sad people think it's about some battle off the pitch... get a life.

I will be travellingdown with my 13 year old to experience someting we may never see again.

Yes we will probably get humped but he will aways remember the trip. Do you think most people care if our team has idiots following that may want to meet up with idiots from another city to fight. I think not and if it means we got a weak "mob2, good , means we have less neds following us than other teams.

Camo
05-08-2011, 03:42 PM
Before the draw was made I knew we would be going out.

Let's be honest, no Scottish team outside the OF will make an impact on any European Competition.

We've ended up with a cracking tie financially, which if exploited properly will make us a fair bit of cash.

I fancy us to give them a decent game at Tynie, but at WHL we'll get spanked.

Even Redknapp's reserves should be good enough to pump us out.

Can't wait though.

05-08-2011, 03:43 PM
What are they going to do with all that sun cream they bought :dunno:

05-08-2011, 03:43 PM
I fully agree with you there Bruno, except for the less neds part. Hearts do have a bad ned problem as demonstrated last year by your knuggledragging fan attacking Lennon. Plus they never can stay off the pitch, can they?

Sadly, these big games will attract the jakie elites to don their finest Kappa tracksuits and hightail it down to London.

Off topic I know but since the server upgrade my IPad no longer auto justifies text as you can see in the above paragraphs.

05-08-2011, 03:50 PM
How come they can now play euro games at the PBS? Thought it wasnt good enough for these type of games

05-08-2011, 04:04 PM
That's pathetic on a day when we get to experience a European tie agaist a top team in the Premiership some sad people think it's about some battle off the pitch... get a life.

I will be travellingdown with my 13 year old to experience someting we may never see again.

Yes we will probably get humped but he will aways remember the trip. Do you think most people care if our team has idiots following that may want to meet up with idiots from another city to fight. I think not and if it means we got a weak "mob2, good , means we have less neds following us than other teams.

No probably about it, You will.

05-08-2011, 04:06 PM
Get your passports out yams :faf:

Glamour tie or not - reality is the yams would make more cash from the group stages so happy that they should get beaten :agree:

Spurs do have a big enough squad to put out a decent reserve team.

I do find it funny how in the SPL clubs try and get 3rd then play maybe 2 or 4 games in total then all the work of getting 3rd is forgotten about very quickly - surely teams should be doing better.

05-08-2011, 04:41 PM
Delighted the yams are going out, but also gutted and jealous as what a trip WHL would be, and what an atmosphere it will be at Tynie.

05-08-2011, 04:50 PM
I'm sitting in the Spurs section at Tynie. Should be fun. :greengrin

05-08-2011, 04:57 PM
How come they can now play euro games at the PBS? Thought it wasnt good enough for these type of gamesHas it been confirmed as being played at the pink bus shelter ?

EDIT: Just been confirmed, game on at the PBS

05-08-2011, 05:00 PM
Hearts will get tonked by Spurs home and away, but I'll admit this much - I'm jealous. A competitve tie against a Premiership team? A great day out for the Yams at least.

05-08-2011, 05:00 PM
I'm sitting in the Spurs section at Tynie. Should be fun. :greengrin

How did you get a ticket?

McHibby
05-08-2011, 05:02 PM
I'll be in the Home section at White Hart Lane :D I really like Spurs and have been meaning to go and see them since I moved to England - I could not think of a better game!

05-08-2011, 05:02 PM
How did you get a ticket?
Sorry mate, didny mean to write that I meant I'm hopefully getting a ticket, lol!

05-08-2011, 05:22 PM
That's a good draw in terms of the financial benefits and for the fans as well, it'll be good to watch that kind of opposition in a competitive setting, rather than just a friendly.

However, unfortunately there is a high risk of some bother at both ties. You'll always have the Scotland-England rivalry at matches like these and with a train journey from Edinburgh-Kings Cross only taking a few hours, there's the potential for a lot of drink-fuelled nonsense.

Still wish it was us, though.

Oh and, eh, they'll get pumped.

05-08-2011, 05:28 PM
Great draw for Los Yambolinos, and to be fair they deserve it for doing what few Scottish clubs do - hump average teams early season to qualify.

Glamour and fun, though in some ways it's a bit short-sighted, as there were other teams in the pot they could have scabbed a result against and got into the Europa League.

05-08-2011, 05:33 PM
Good trip for the yams, should be a full hoose at Tiny, and some cash for Vlad's back pocket from the tv companies.

I predict a 0-1 at Tiny, and 3-0 at WHL

Mon the SHPURSH.

05-08-2011, 06:01 PM

05-08-2011, 06:03 PM
Totally envious.

In recent times they have made the Europa league sections, Champions league play off against AEK and some other decent games. Despite the madness of Vlad their recent european record put our poor attempts in the shade.

This should be Hibs boards most acheivable goal in the near future, regular European football with some years including more than one game and the chance to net an attractive tie like this one.

Monkey Harris
05-08-2011, 06:13 PM
Glad the 1st leg is at ***********, as Spurs will want to kill the tie in the 1st leg. And won't take their foot off the gas in front of their own fans in the 2nd leg. It'll be a cricket score:-)

Monkey Harris
05-08-2011, 06:23 PM
I
Totally envious.In recent times they have made the Europa league sections, Champions league play off against AEK and some other decent games. Despite the madness of Vlad their recent european record put our poor attempts in the shade.The only time they reached the group stage was pre Mad Vlad. Aberdeen actually made it though the group stages only to lose to byern Munich, that's a European run to be aim for.

EK_Hibs
05-08-2011, 06:25 PM
I'm glad this draw means the Yams wont be progressing to the money spinning group section in the Europa. But I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a bit jealous. I'd LOVE to see Hibs play a Premiership team in a competitive game down there.
Anyway, I wouldn't be at all surprised if Hertz scraped some sort of result at Tynecastle...
But White Hart Lane? We're talkin 4 or 5 nil home win easy.... especially if Sergio Whatshispuss wants to play attractive passing football and open up.

05-08-2011, 06:27 PM
IThe only time they reached the group stage was pre Mad Vlad. Aberdeen actually made it though the group stages only to lose to byern Munich, that's a European run to be aim for.

Aye, wisnae sure about that. We are well overdue some consistent European football at ER and I think the fans deserve it. As I say this should be the most attainable future for the club if we can get it right on the park more often than not.

05-08-2011, 07:20 PM
Fantastic draw for Hearts and they had to beat the kind of duff team that we can't beat in order to get the chance of this tie.

Yes, laugh about the passports, but they have already been used to get to Hungary.

I would absolutely have loved this draw for Hibs, but would we have got past the Hungarian p!sh?

Hearts will do well in this tie (but not too well, hopefully).
I would expect them to draw or win narrowly at Pinkcastle and lose by 2 or 3 goals at WHL.

Also, 'arry may have decide to dip out of this competition before the group stage. :rolleyes:

05-08-2011, 07:39 PM
Fantastic draw for Hearts and they had to beat the kind of duff team that we can't beat in order to get the chance of this tie.

:agree: Scottish teams over the last few years have struggled against the pishy teams that they pumped last night.

Also, 'arry may have decide to dip out of this competition before the group stage. :rolleyes:

That's what I'm worried about as well. Spurs want to get back into the CL and playing in diddy Europe doesn't help you do that.

05-08-2011, 09:08 PM
Really embarassing that Hearts fans would rather get a "glamour tie" against Tottenham than play a team who they have a decent chance of getting past.

Typical wee team mentality.

You are having a laugh surely? It's a fantastic game for them. I'm sure most of us would settle for something similar.

LeithBoozy
05-08-2011, 09:15 PM
The fact that Spurs might play a reserve team, might make it even more difficult for Hearts. They are not like the type of players we think of as reserves. Most of them are worth millions, young ,fresh and out to make a name for themselfe's. It could be very hard for our closest rivals, no matter what team Spurs decide to play. :greengrin

05-08-2011, 09:16 PM
Hibs playing one of the English top teams would be a superb incentive. Suppose the only benefit is that the Yams will be royally pumped twice, bit I'd love it to be Hibs against the Yids., aye!

05-08-2011, 09:17 PM
You are having a laugh surely? It's a fantastic game for them. I'm sure most of us would settle for something similar.
I would most certainly settle for being in the same round, but the opposition is a disaster.

05-08-2011, 10:01 PM
Before the draw was made I knew we would be going out.

Let's be honest, no Scottish team outside the OF will make an impact on any European Competition.

We've ended up with a cracking tie financially, which if exploited properly will make us a fair bit of cas

I fancy us to give them a decent game at Tynie, but at WHL we'll get spanked.

Even Redknapp's reserves should be good enough to pump us out.

Can't wait though.

Make you a fair bit of cash?

What, when you factor in the £8 or 9 million additional wages you paid above everyone else to get to this match?

Aye, raking it in right enough on this one.

Your financial model would need you to win the thing for it to make any sense. Even then it'd still probably run you a loss.

05-08-2011, 10:07 PM

Not sure we all play all season for one 'glamour' game. ( not that Spurs will see it that way).

Hearts in particular the cash they spend and the way they talk should be looking to progress and challenge in the competition. They even hired a manager based on needing experience in Europe.

Good one off game no doubt but I'm sure when qualifying most Hearts fans would have been looking at playing in the group stages.

05-08-2011, 10:29 PM
Not sure we all play all season for one 'glamour' game. ( not that Spurs will see it that way).

Hearts in particular the cash they spend and the way they talk should be looking to progress and challenge in the competition. They even hired a manager based on needing experience in Europe.

Good one off game no doubt but I'm sure when qualifying most Hearts fans would have been looking at playing in the group stages.

The way our past few adventures in Europe have been it mainly amounts to one tie anyway. I'd rather have a glamour tie than be pumped by some tricky team from the far flung coreners of Europe. The home tie itself would be a guaranteed sell out. Couldn't really care about Hearts and their finances but they've got a good draw with this imo. Bit of a bonus that there's little chance of them making it beyond this play-off.

7Hero
05-08-2011, 10:34 PM
the difference is that hearts can pump the tricky team and get a plum tie.

we fall at the tricky team because we are too worried about the "finances"..

wee team mentality i believe they call it...

in tom we trust !!!!

05-08-2011, 10:46 PM

Yes, laugh about the passports, but they have already been used to get to Hungary.

I would absolutely have loved this draw for Hibs, but would we have got past the Hungarian p!sh?

Hearts will do well in this tie (but not too well, hopefully).
I would expect them to draw or win narrowly at Pinkcastle and lose by 2 or 3 goals at WHL.

Yes - no denying they did what they had to do last night, but they're not that much better than us. I reckon we'd have got through as well.

05-08-2011, 11:35 PM
Yes - no denying they did what they had to do last night, but they're not that much better than us. I reckon we'd have got through as well.

Yeah definitely, Maribor had about 10000 fans while Paksi had about 1000, the difference in support shows the difference in size of club

05-08-2011, 11:52 PM

No idea if he's having a laugh, but I'd much rather have 'beatable' opposition than a glamour tie in any round of a European competition. You know, so that you might get to play in the next round.

new malkyhib
05-08-2011, 11:58 PM
Make you a fair bit of cash?

What, when you factor in the £8 or 9 million additional wages you paid above everyone else to get to this match?

Aye, raking it in right enough on this one.

Your financial model would need you to win the thing for it to make any sense. Even then it'd still probably run you a loss.

It's a great tie, whatever way you want to dice it. This is the kind of game that was synonomous with us in the times when we played in Europe every year. This is where we should be aspiring to...some on here are using two fairly bland interviews with Lindsay and Hyland as the herald of a new dawn, and a stick to beat the "doom and gloomers" with...

Give me a European tie with Tottenham or Arsenal or Liverpool and i'll buy into your utopian fantasy after one away win against Inverness.

I cannae stand H**rts, but you know what? I'm glad they've drawn Spurs in this tie - coz that's the kind of game we should be striving to host at ER.

Over to you, Petrie.

BS44
06-08-2011, 12:10 AM
Has it been confirmed as being played at the pink bus shelter ?

EDIT: Just been confirmed, game on at the PBS

I don't think the J.T's could have moved the game to Murrayfield. I'm pretty sure you have to state where you will be playing your home games before the start of the competition.

06-08-2011, 12:26 AM
It's a great tie, whatever way you want to dice it. This is the kind of game that was synonomous with us in the times when we played in Europe every year. This is where we should be aspiring to...some on here are using two fairly bland interviews with Lindsay and Hyland as the herald of a new dawn, and a stick to beat the "doom and gloomers" with...

Give me a European tie with Tottenham or Arsenal or Liverpool and i'll buy into your utopian fantasy after one away win against Inverness.

I cannae stand H**rts, but you know what? I'm glad they've drawn Spurs in this tie - coz that's the kind of game we should be striving to host at ER.

Over to you, Petrie.

:hilarious we could ask Lindsay and Hyland to do a dance or something next time, to liven the interviews up and that. They are targeting the very same thing - European qualification through either the cup or league placing (or both!).

We are aspiring to it, in fact we're probably aspiring beyond that because I'd imagine that the board would rather we made the group stages rather than being emptied (again) at the qualifying rounds.

THFC6061
06-08-2011, 06:22 AM
I think drawing Hearts was good for Spurs, as we don't have to schlep to some far-flung corner of Europe.

While not underestimating Hearts, I think Spurs should get comfortably through to the Europa League Group Stage as we're playing the second leg at White Hart Lane, which has become a fortress for us in Europe with just four defeats there in 70 matches played so far.

Spurs have met Scottish opposition in Europe twice before and won both ties:

Rangers 8-4 in the 1962-63 Cup Winners' Cup and Aberdeen 5-2 in the 1973-74 UEFA Cup.

In fact, Tottenham Hotspur were the first British club to win a major European trophy and we've won as many major European competitions (3) as all the Scottish teams combined.

Tottenham Hotspur in Europe 1961-62 to 2011-12 (http://www.myfootballfacts.com/TottenhamHotspurinEurope1961-62to2010-11.html)

06-08-2011, 08:51 AM
The Spurs/Rangers tie was brilliant. Huge crowds at both legs and great players on show. Floodlit games. Jumpers for goalposts. Magic.

06-08-2011, 10:30 AM
Whats the chances of getting a ticket for the Spurs end at Tynie???

bruno
06-08-2011, 12:51 PM
Yeah definitely, Maribor had about 10000 fans while Paksi had about 1000, the difference in support shows the difference in size of club

No idea how good/bad Maribor were/are but Paksi were poor. A team would exect most SPL sides to beat at home.If you relate it to fans they also had 28 supporters at the game in the Roseburn at the start of the match. This did swell to approx 50 by the second half though.

bruno
06-08-2011, 12:54 PM
Whats the chances of getting a ticket for the Spurs end at Tynie???

Vary slim they are getting 1200 tickets and currenty only open to heir platinum and god memebrs.

They also have silver, bronze and lily whites!!! as next stages and website says highly unlikely there will be a public sale.

06-08-2011, 01:37 PM
Vary slim they are getting 1200 tickets and currenty only open to heir platinum and god members.

They also have silver, bronze and lily whites!!! as next stages and website says highly unlikely there will be a public sale.Heaven's above ..whatever next !! :rolleyes:

06-08-2011, 04:38 PM
No idea if he's having a laugh, but I'd much rather have 'beatable' opposition than a glamour tie in any round of a European competition. You know, so that you might get to play in the next round.

What, like Hibs?
At least they're in it in the first place, bottom 6 simply isn't good enough, in saying that we don't have budgets anywhere near theirs so unlikely we'll finish above them in the forseeable

06-08-2011, 06:29 PM
What, like Hibs?
At least they're in it in the first place, bottom 6 simply isn't good enough, in saying that we don't have budgets anywhere near theirs so unlikely we'll finish above them in the forseeable

My point was about hoping for a 'big' team in the draw or a team that you have a good chance of beating. Don't see the connection to what you're on about.

07-08-2011, 07:41 AM
Good news the return leg is just before the Derby. Hope Hearts still have some dreams of getting a result and field a strong team that gets mauled.

gringojoe
07-08-2011, 08:11 AM
Rioting in Tottenham just after Hearts draw them, locals must be annoyed about the 400,000 jumbos heading their way.

itchy07
07-08-2011, 08:14 AM
It looked like world war 3 down there last night, the yams can go and win that one as well!

07-08-2011, 09:48 AM
Vary slim they are getting 1200 tickets and currenty only open to heir platinum and god memebrs.

They also have silver, bronze and lily whites!!! as next stages and website says highly unlikely there will be a public sale.

I thought they were entitled to 10% of the ground?? Are you saying the big teams ground only holds 12,000 surely not.

07-08-2011, 10:52 AM
I thought they were entitled to 10% of the ground?? Are you saying the big teams ground only holds 12,000 surely not.

It was a 12,000 sell-out crowd on Thursday night. :wink:

07-08-2011, 11:39 AM
It was a 12,000 sell-out crowd on Thursday night. :wink:

I'm sure for UEFA games they'll have to close off all sections of the stadium that have been classified as "a complete HAZMAT health hazard" by the Department of Health, which would make 12,000 about the capacity of that dump.

07-08-2011, 01:57 PM
i got a call from one of my jambo mates yesterday offering me a ticket for the hearts end for the tynecastle leg...he was online early and got a few spare tickets just because he could....i have thought long and hard about accepting the ticket and when i saw on kickback that there are a lot jambos that look like they are going to miss out on this sellout match it made me think i should give it up to allow a real fan the opportunity to see their team in europe...but then i thought...if i can ruin just one jambo's night then i owe it to myself to accept my mates offer....so i have....i will of course be wearing a hibs jersey under my spurs jersey under my coat...i look forward to supping from the devils cup and i will post up a full report on my experiences behind enemy lines.

THFC6061
08-08-2011, 03:53 AM
Kevin Bond on Spurs v Hearts...

Kevin Bond insists we’re under no illusions as to the difficulty of our Europa League play-off against Hearts.

We were drawn against the team that finished third in the Scottish Premier League last season in the play-off over two legs on Thursday, August 18, when we travel to Edinburgh and back at the Lane a week later on August 25.

Hearts, who picked up a draw at champions Rangers in their SPL opener, cruised into the play-off thanks to a 5-1 aggregate win over Hungarian runners-up Paksi on Thursday.

“It will be a tough tie,” said Kevin. “This will be a proper game over two legs and in no way, shape or form will we underestimate the challenge.”

08-08-2011, 08:43 AM
Kevin Bond on Spurs v Hearts...

Kevin Bond insists we’re under no illusions as to the difficulty of our Europa League play-off against Hearts.

We were drawn against the team that finished third in the Scottish Premier League last season in the play-off over two legs on Thursday, August 18, when we travel to Edinburgh and back at the Lane a week later on August 25.

Hearts, who picked up a draw at champions Rangers in their SPL opener, cruised into the play-off thanks to a 5-1 aggregate win over Hungarian runners-up Paksi on Thursday.

“It will be a tough tie,” said Kevin. “This will be a proper game over two legs and in no way, shape or form will we underestimate the challenge.”

Have I missed something???

09-08-2011, 01:00 PM
I would imagine Spurs will play a less than full strength team in the first leg and then see what they think they will need in the return. Dont think Spurs will fancy it too much in the first leg as personally think they they have a few primadonnas in their squad and can be got at away from home. Could see Hearts getting a result in first leg but losing narrowly overall. 1-0 Hearts, 3-1 Spurs.

09-08-2011, 01:01 PM
I would imagine Spurs will play a less than full strength team in the first leg and then see what they think they will need in the return. Dont think Spurs will fancy it too much in the first leg as personally think they they have a few primadonnas in their squad and can be got at away from home. Could see Hearts getting a result in first leg but losing narrowly overall. 1-0 Hearts, 3-1 Spurs.

Eh?...you been having a liquid lunch mate?

4/5-0 agg score for Spurs

09-08-2011, 01:06 PM
Eh?...you been having a liquid lunch mate?

4/5-0 agg score for Spurs

Unfortunately no. :greengrin

Hearts will give Spurs a game in the first leg no doubt in my mind. Some of the Spurs overrated makeweights wont fancy playing at Tynecastle that is for sure.

09-08-2011, 01:13 PM
Not sure the Met will fancy a Scotland v England clash in Tottenham so soon after all the chaos in that area...

all the cup games cancelled in London this evening as well as England match at wembley tomorrow

Exiled Hibby
09-08-2011, 01:13 PM
not such a glamorous tie now. The area has been turned into a third world war site, the locals are running amok causing fear and horror to decent folk. I wonder what London's like?:greengrin

09-08-2011, 08:14 PM
i got a call from one of my jambo mates yesterday offering me a ticket for the hearts end for the tynecastle leg...he was online early and got a few spare tickets just because he could....i have thought long and hard about accepting the ticket and when i saw on kickback that there are a lot jambos that look like they are going to miss out on this sellout match it made me think i should give it up to allow a real fan the opportunity to see their team in europe...but then i thought...if i can ruin just one jambo's night then i owe it to myself to accept my mates offer....so i have....i will of course be wearing a hibs jersey under my spurs jersey under my coat...i look forward to supping from the devils cup and i will post up a full report on my experiences behind enemy lines.

In a week when businesses and perhaps entire communities are being destroyed by wanton selfishness and greed, it's a relief to know that some peeps' behaviour is still governed by a strong sense of moral duty. :thumbsup: