View Full Version : an offer to BBC Radio Scotland

31-07-2011, 01:56 AM
Dunno if it was read out today (as I switched off the BBC radio coverage at the same time) but I was so sick of yet *another* Jambo clown being put on the Hibs game on open all mics, that I sent the BBC team a text.

It was 15 mins into 2nd half and I hadn't heard one single update from Inverness since half time.

So I asked the Beeb "are you paying Jambo Clown and Romanov Mouthpiece Charlie Mann today? He hasn't spoken for a long time. I am willing to donate to BBC Children in Need this year if in return I can cover a Hearts game for O.O.M., and I will similarly give no updates to your listeners unless the opposition look like scoring. I too will over-egg any lame penalty appeals from the opponents, just like Charlie Mann and Allan Preston specialise in. Look forward to hearing from you" etc.

Will keep you posted.

As mentioned, I turned off the Beeb coverage at that moment. They seem to want to aggravate the Hibs support with their constant weird Jambo pundit choices. I could imagine the look on Mr Mann's coupon as he had to presumably 'fess up that Hibs had scored and won.

Not even a pitstop at the fabulous Ralia Services on the A9 would cheer him up, I imagine :flag::greengrin

Nitten Hibee
31-07-2011, 02:12 AM
listen online mate dodge open all mics at all costs :greengrin

31-07-2011, 04:35 AM
Despite the occasionally biased one way or the other reporters I think OAM is a fun and enjoyable show. I honestly truly believe that if neither of them screamed anything in the opening 15 mins then nowt much happened. Dinnae be a para tim noo!

31-07-2011, 05:34 AM
I quite like OAM - save for the mammories that are Preston and Dick Dung.

31-07-2011, 06:28 AM
Dunno if it was read out today (as I switched off the BBC radio coverage at the same time) but I was so sick of yet *another* Jambo clown being put on the Hibs game on open all mics, that I sent the BBC team a text.

It was 15 mins into 2nd half and I hadn't heard one single update from Inverness since half time.

So I asked the Beeb "are you paying Jambo Clown and Romanov Mouthpiece Charlie Mann today? He hasn't spoken for a long time. I am willing to donate to BBC Children in Need this year if in return I can cover a Hearts game for O.O.M., and I will similarly give no updates to your listeners unless the opposition look like scoring. I too will over-egg any lame penalty appeals from the opponents, just like Charlie Mann and Allan Preston specialise in. Look forward to hearing from you" etc.

Will keep you posted.

As mentioned, I turned off the Beeb coverage at that moment. They seem to want to aggravate the Hibs support with their constant weird Jambo pundit choices. I could imagine the look on Mr Mann's coupon as he had to presumably 'fess up that Hibs had scored and won.

Not even a pitstop at the fabulous Ralia Services on the A9 would cheer him up, I imagine :flag::greengrin

Wasting your time mate. They put Jambos on Hibs games deliberately for the "controversy" as they think "controversy" is the way to build an audience.

Preston (don't think I've heard Charlie Mann) is as funny as losing a toenail. He's also got one of those voices that makes you think "snide" as soon as he opens his small reptilian gob. Being a balloon must run in the family.

Teletext is funnier than these guys.

31-07-2011, 06:54 AM
I think Charlie Mann follows one of the Dundee teams but I totally agree with your comments on Preston.

31-07-2011, 07:18 AM
Know what you mean Springbank.
I listened to the prog too and was beginning to wonder if the Hibs game was actually on. Hardly heard a peep out of Charlie Mann throughout the 90 mins. Plenty Oooooh's and Aaaaah's from the other reporters, particularly from Yam motor-mouth, Allan Preston, even though the game he attended (Killie v M'well) finished 0-0. And how Derek Ferguson was even considered for a reporting job is beyond me.
Let's face it, unless you have the mother and father of all stammers or suffer from tourette syndrome, you couldn't be any worse than some of the guys on OAM.
Let us know if Radio Scotland ever take you up on your offer.

31-07-2011, 08:21 AM
Wasting your time mate. They put Jambos on Hibs games deliberately for the "controversy" as they think "controversy" is the way to build an audience.

Preston (don't think I've heard Charlie Mann) is as funny as losing a toenail. He's also got one of those voices that makes you think "snide" as soon as he opens his small reptilian gob. Being a balloon must run in the family.

Teletext is funnier than these guys.

You are absolutely spot on there. The BBC in its childlike naivety think its "edgy" to introduce a bit of conflict. If they think it will generate more listeners they are wrong as usual. These jambos must switch off more punters than they attract.

OAM is embarrassing. If I want to hear inarticulate wallies screaming about average saves and near misses I'll go down the pub.

Gala Foxes
31-07-2011, 08:48 AM
if you tuned in to Radio Scotland, not knowing who Alan Preston was, you would assume he was some sort of Scottish footballing superstar that had played at the top level, won loads of medals and was in the Scotland Hall Of Fame.

You would not believe that he was an average at best player that could'nt get a regular first team place at St Johnstone, Dundee Utd & Hearts and who was a failed manager at Livingston. 197 games between 1985 + 2000 is an average of 14 games a season - says it all

His smug "know it all" arrogance knows no limits

31-07-2011, 09:18 AM
The really insulting thing is that Rangers and Celtic broadcast games frequently feature pundits from "the other side" such as Billy Dodds or Murdo McLeod. The difference is that not only are they more articulate but they are scrupulously unbiased in their remarks - politically correct if you will.

No such respect is accorded to the rest of us. Hence the undisguised delight in the voices of types like Preston. If he was working at Old Firm games he'd have had death threats by now!

31-07-2011, 09:19 AM
if you tuned in to Radio Scotland, not knowing who Alan Preston was, you would assume he was some sort of Scottish footballing superstar that had played at the top level, won loads of medals and was in the Scotland Hall Of Fame.

You would not believe that he was an average at best player that could'nt get a regular first team place at St Johnstone, Dundee Utd & Hearts and who was a failed manager at Livingston. 197 games between 1985 + 2000 is an average of 14 games a season - says it all

His smug "know it all" arrogance knows no limits

Why do they call him "biscuits"?

shagpile
31-07-2011, 09:30 AM
The really insulting thing is that Rangers and Celtic broadcast games frequently feature pundits from "the other side" such as Billy Dodds or Murdo McLeod. The difference is that not only are they more articulate but they are scrupulously unbiased in their remarks - politically correct if you will.
No such respect is accorded to the rest of us. Hence the undisguised delight in the voices of types like Preston. If he was working at Old Firm games he'd have had death threats by now!

Billy Dodds is as bad as the rest. & i wish he would get his sinuses powerhosed. If it is his adenoids then i will gladly extract them free of charge.

The only person in the whole team fit to commentate is Richard Gordon, the rest are pathetic.

31-07-2011, 09:33 AM
Why do they call him "biscuits"? Because he's a hob knob?

31-07-2011, 09:40 AM

Think it was because his dad used to work in a biscuit factory.

I used to play in the same team as him as just called him it, never really asked why he was called that !

For the record, he grew up as a Rangers fan and was never ever a Hearts fan.....this Hearts fan nonsense was invented for the benefit of the Hearts fans by The Evening News when he signed for Hearts.

I actually don't mind listening to him on the radio :tin hat:

31-07-2011, 09:42 AM
Because he's a hob knob? :-) so true....

Hibby D
31-07-2011, 09:55 AM
I listened to Hibs TV commentary yesterday - worth every single penny of the £1.99 it's cost me for a month :greengrin

There's a wee soundbite on the front page of the fishy site if you want to hear some proper, totally biased, oohs and aaahs :aok:

31-07-2011, 10:25 AM

Will keep you posted.
To be fair, the problem with Open All Mics is that it's competitive. You have a variety of different contributors, many of whom love the sound of their own voice and who would gladly rabbit on for the full two hours about nothing at all. People constantly talk over one another.

Hence as a goal is being reported elsewhere, the news is drowned out by Chick Young screaming for attention because he's just witnessed a throw-in and 'Biscuits' Preston giving his considered view on the relative merits of Killie and 'Well and whether they will offer sufficient competition to the Yams this season.

Meanwhile quieter contributors (and Charlie Mann is one of them) wait for more meaningful developments and gaps in the others' monlogues before vying for airspace. I'm amazed how Richard Gordon keeps it all together.

Something about always crumbling in the box. :wink:

31-07-2011, 10:37 AM
Look I complained to the BBC last year about the yam git and him laughing at us getting beat telling everyone he had betted against us.

They got back to me saying that this was not the case ENDOF.

Shows you the mentality

MGmick
31-07-2011, 11:54 AM
Despite the occasionally biased one way or the other reporters I think OAM is a fun and enjoyable show. I honestly truly believe that if neither of them screamed anything in the opening 15 mins then nowt much happened. Dinnae be a para tim noo!

Paranoid folk ken whit's gaun oan. Or do they?

31-07-2011, 12:55 PM
If I can't be there and can't get to the on-line commentary then OAM is the best way to get updates. There's simply good and bad. If I were a producer of a programme and had the choice of limiting the expenses by sending Preston to Inverness or up the road from the house to the game in Edinburgh, it's really simple. John Robertson was doing Dinwall, Inverness and Aberdeen before going back to managment. It's geography. Complaining about him just makes us as bad as Celtic -everywhere- and the Yams - look at the EN. Every other post is about bias - yet hundreds of them still post. If you scratch it it won't get better - ignore it and it eventually goes away. :aok:

31-07-2011, 03:02 PM
If I can't be there and can't get to the on-line commentary then OAM is the best way to get updates. There's simply good and bad. If I were a producer of a programme and had the choice of limiting the expenses by sending Preston to Inverness or up the road from the house to the game in Edinburgh, it's really simple. John Robertson was doing Dinwall, Inverness and Aberdeen before going back to managment. It's geography. Complaining about him just makes us as bad as Celtic -everywhere- and the Yams - look at the EN. Every other post is about bias - yet hundreds of them still post. If you scratch it it won't get better - ignore it and it eventually goes away. :aok:

I guess you're right. I just get annoyed at the BBC because we're all paying for it ultimately and they shouldn't be winding us up.

31-07-2011, 03:13 PM
Can't stand Open All Mics.

It's a poor imitation of a radio version of Gillette Soccer Saturday. One minute you're listening to a report from Pittodrie and then all of a sudden somebody from East End Park interrupts and screams down the radio and tells you that there's been a shot whistling over the bar.

31-07-2011, 03:18 PM
You have to say that Preston has the perfect face for radio though. BBC footie guys are fairly rank altogether. Hard no to see the irony when James Traynor bemoans the SFL, SPL, SFA set ups as too many people taking money out without contributing anything back in. Murdo McLeod is the resident " expert" cos he played in Germany? Some of his input is cretinous. You are as likely to heat reasoned debate, as you are to hear Craig Paterson interropt without starting woth ......welllll.

Newhaven
31-07-2011, 04:40 PM
BBC - Biased Broadcasting Corporation. Just look at the Rangers farce last week.

As for Preston - I switch off when he comes on.

scuttle
31-07-2011, 04:56 PM
Prestons wee squeeky voice is more annoying than Jim Traynor talking over everyone else

Arch Stanton
31-07-2011, 05:14 PM
I'm sure it used to be better - I remember a lot of whizzing around catching up with the goalmouth incidents at all the SPL games - the last couple of times there seems to be a lot more studio chat and updating on action in the lower divisions - like anyone cares!

31-07-2011, 05:34 PM
Alan Preston is (without prejudice), in terms of journalistic nous, irrelevant, incompetent, incoherent and illiterate. Maybe the BBC should be employing properly and appropriately qualified journalists as opposed to these guising simpletons who once kicked a baw around for a living.

31-07-2011, 06:22 PM

Will keep you posted.

Think your over reacting just a tad. It's only a game and OAM is really quite entertaing.

31-07-2011, 06:53 PM
Think your over reacting just a tad. It's only a game and OAM is really quite entertaing.

One ma's entertaing is another's irritaing.

31-07-2011, 06:53 PM
Dreadful programme on a dreadful channel.

Does no one in BBC Scotland hierarchy listen to how amaterish the lot of them are on Sportsound?.

I only now listen before kicks off for the teams. Couldn't put up with that Open All Mikes/Commentaries any longer.

31-07-2011, 08:03 PM
It's a home for people who can't hack it in the game-get sacked and you're on Radio Scotland the following week telling people like Walter Smith and Craig Brown how to do the job.

01-08-2011, 11:28 AM
Open All Mikes is terrible, the problem is that the miority (I hope!) are quite vocal about liking it so the BBC think it's a winner. It's a load of never has-beens trying to outdo eachother for air time IMO - don't get me started on the lassie that screeches every now and again.

They'd be better having Richard Gordon and a couple of proper (i.e. literate and probably not tabloid) journalists on having a blether with goal updates as they come. they're sending 3 reporters to each game so they can cover online commentary and the OAM - far too many. it's our licence fee that's being squandered on these fannies.

01-08-2011, 11:42 AM
The coverage of Scottish football on the whole is amateurish at best. Seen Sportscene last night and it's a piece of cringeworthy tosh.

aberhibsfc
01-08-2011, 12:36 PM
To be fair, the problem with Open All Mics is that it's competitive. You have a variety of different contributors, many of whom love the sound of their own voice and who would gladly rabbit on for the full two hours about nothing at all. People constantly talk over one another.

Hence as a goal is being reported elsewhere, the news is drowned out by Chick Young screaming for attention because he's just witnessed a throw-in and 'Biscuits' Preston giving his considered view on the relative merits of Killie and 'Well and whether they will offer sufficient competition to the Yams this season.

Meanwhile quieter contributors (and Charlie Mann is one of them) wait for more meaningful developments and gaps in the others' monlogues before vying for airspace. I'm amazed how Richard Gordon keeps it all together.

Something about always crumbling in the box. :wink:

As another poster pointed out Preston may be a Hun, but he tries unashamedly pimp his affections towards the Jambos and through S***e tinted spectacles berate Hibs as much as possible, even if he does compliment us you can hear the pain in his voice. He's attempting to attain folklore status with the Jambo's as he could never manage this as a player. Whilst the Jamboids will enjoy his Hibs mockery, they probably still see him as a whining Elmer.

Sportsound comes across as a Scottish sports presenters benevolent organisation. Lost yer Sky deal, got sacked from the SFA, jump on board, well until the Michty Gers find you a new joab.

It always makes me laugh when these football experts exert the same sycophantic tendencies as the British press lavished on Winehouse. Alive she was a disaster, dead and they cannie go 5 songs without putting her on. These guys can't earn a crust in football so they hang around the periphery and give it everythings great then when their views backfire they jump on the critical bandwagon.

Football foalk ken whits goan oan likes.

Makes me chuckle when they feel they have exclusive views on football and punters are just well, punters. There's many a hardened terracer that could speak technically or colourfully interesting more than the served up likes of Chick Dung. But the pros close ranks because we didnae spray ralgex in our Y's at half time, have they no heard of Pie and Bovril.

01-08-2011, 01:04 PM
It's a home for people who can't hack it in the game-get sacked and you're on Radio Scotland the following week telling people like Walter Smith and Craig Brown how to do the job.

Interested to hear Yogi dispensing wisdom about keeping the head down and getting on with your business when things are/aren't going well.

sunshine1875
02-08-2011, 06:46 AM
:hmmm: I wonder if we will see another ex-Yam in the BBC Scotland line-up. You can see Jeffries working for the BBC! However, I wouldn't mind seeing his sidekick Brown as a summariser.

02-08-2011, 09:54 AM
The coverage of Scottish football on the whole is amateurish at best. Seen Sportscene last night and it's a piece of cringeworthy tosh.

That is a grave dis-service to cringeworthy tosh.

02-08-2011, 12:34 PM
Hear Allan Preston and Yogi won the Duddingston Golf Club 4s competition. Can't believe Yogi mixing with THAT! Probably getting tips for the radio though.

02-08-2011, 12:40 PM
:hmmm: I wonder if we will see another ex-Yam in the BBC Scotland line-up. You can see Jeffries working for the BBC! However, I wouldn't mind seeing his sidekick Brown as a summariser.

How about Billy Brown as a sidekick to CC? He's allegedly a Hibby although I find that difficult to believe.

Stranger things have happened - or have they?

02-08-2011, 12:58 PM
Hear Allan Preston and Yogi won the Duddingston Golf Club 4s competition. Can't believe Yogi mixing with THAT! Probably getting tips for the radio though.

They're related.