View Full Version : NHC World Cup Draw

30-07-2011, 05:50 PM
Quick question, is the world cup draw being shown anywhere ?

30-07-2011, 05:54 PM
Sky sports news channel 405:agree:

from 19:00

30-07-2011, 05:55 PM

Thank you !!!

30-07-2011, 05:59 PM

European draw isn't until 8.30pm though.

30-07-2011, 06:03 PM
8.22 :wink:

30-07-2011, 06:04 PM
Very decent of them to remind us that England won the World Cup in 1966. I'd forgotten all about that.

30-07-2011, 06:04 PM
African group starting first.

30-07-2011, 06:06 PM
Don't expect the European draw any time soon. Have your tea first!!

30-07-2011, 06:14 PM

It's only on until 9 o'clock though and with the amount of f***ying about that goes on, I don't think they'd be able to draw all the Europeans in 30 minutes. It normally takes them that long to explain the draw process.

Within 3 minutes of the programme starting and they're at the "exactly 45 years to the day that England lifted the famous trophy" and "is there anyone that England should fear":rolleyes:

30-07-2011, 06:15 PM
I think I saw somewhere that the European part of the draw is scheduled to start at 8:23pm.

hibbytam
30-07-2011, 06:19 PM
Very decent of them to remind us that England won the World Cup in 1966. I'd forgotten all about that.

To quote the BBC live text thing:
"BBC 5 Live senior football reporter Ian Dennis in Rio: "Sepp Blatter points out its 81 years to the day since first World Cup final. Didn't mention it's 45 years to the day England won it in 66."

Why would he? :rolleyes:
And then the English wonder why no-one likes them. In a footballing sense, obviously.

30-07-2011, 06:20 PM
I'm following the updates from the FIFA website because the Sky Sports News coverage is disgraceful.

The African draw still hasn't started yet. The Brazilian President has just been up on the stage welcoming everyone to Rio de Janeiro.

There's no danger that the European draw will be starting in an hour's time.

30-07-2011, 06:21 PM
Apparently England won the World Cup in 1966.

30-07-2011, 06:21 PM
After re-reading the paper it states that the top seeds will be drawn around 8:40 so we'll probably be around 8pm

30-07-2011, 06:25 PM
The play offs will be between an Asian country and a South American country and the other play off will be between a nation from CONCACAF and one from Oceania.

30-07-2011, 06:32 PM
8.22 :wink:

I think I saw somewhere that the European part of the draw is scheduled to start at 8:23pm.

Keep off the beer folks. It does you no good :greengrin

30-07-2011, 06:33 PM
Round One of the African draw is as follows, which will involve the lowest ranked teams on the continent;

Seychelles vs Kenya
Guinea-Bissau vs Togo
Djibouti vs Namibia
Mauritius vs Liberia
Comoros vs Mozambique
Equatorial Guinea vs Madagascar
Somalia vs Ethiopia
Lesotho vs Burundi
Eritrea vs Rwanda
Swaziland vs Democratic Republic of Congo
Sao Tome and Principe vs Republic of Congo
Chad vs Tanzania

30-07-2011, 06:33 PM
Apparently England won the World Cup in 1966.

I never knew that... Would have thought they would have mentioned it a bit wouldnt you..?

30-07-2011, 06:42 PM
Round One of the African draw is as follows, which will involve the lowest ranked teams on the continent;Seychelles vs KenyaGuinea-Bissau vs TogoDjibouti vs NamibiaMauritius vs LiberiaComoros vs MozambiqueEquatorial Guinea vs MadagascarSomalia vs EthiopiaLesotho vs BurundiEritrea vs RwandaSwaziland vs Democratic Republic of CongoSao Tome and Principe vs Republic of CongoChad vs TanzaniaThink I'll ask the BBC if i can cover the Seychelles tie, Chick Young can do the Somalia game

30-07-2011, 06:43 PM
Round Two, which is where the higher ranked teams will come in is as follows;

Group A

South Africa
Botswana
Central African Republic
Somalia/Ethiopia

Group B

Tunisia
Cape Verde Islands
Sierra Leone
Equatorial Guinea/Madagascar

Group C

Ivory Coast
Morocco
Gambia
Chad/Tanzania

Group D

Ghana
Zambia
Sudan
Lesotho/Burundi

Group E

Burkina Faso
Gabon
Niger
Sao Tome and Principe/Republic of Congo

Group F

Nigeria
Malawi
Seychelles/Kenya
Djibouti/Namibia

Group G

Egypt
Guinea
Zimbabwe
Comoros/Mozambique

Group H

Algeria
Mali
Benin
Eritrea/Rwanda

Group I

Cameroon
Libya
Guinea-Bissau/Togo
Swaziland/Democratic Republic of Congo

Group J

Senegal
Uganda
Angola
Mauritius/Liberia

30-07-2011, 06:53 PM
Now for the Asian draw;

Group A

China
Jordan
Iraq
Singapore

Group B

South Korea
Kuwait
UAE
Lebanon

Group C

Japan
Uzbekistan
Syria
North Korea

Group D

Australia
Saudi Arabia
Oman
Thailand

Group E

Iran
Qatar
Bahrain
Indonesia

30-07-2011, 06:57 PM
Is it possible to see Phil Babb on the telly and not think of this?.........

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTzzm4sxAZM

30-07-2011, 06:59 PM
I'm following the updates from the FIFA website because the Sky Sports News coverage is disgraceful.

The African draw still hasn't started yet. The Brazilian President has just been up on the stage welcoming everyone to Rio de Janeiro.

There's no danger that the European draw will be starting in an hour's time.

You can watch it all live on the BBC website. Currently some honcho playing the piano and singing in Portuguese.

Ryan69
30-07-2011, 07:01 PM

They win it every week dont they? :smokin

30-07-2011, 07:13 PM
Onto the CONCACAF draw now.

Second round;

Group A

El Salvador
Surinam
Cayman Islands
Dominican Republic

Group B

Trinidad and Tobago
Guyana
Barbados
Bermuda

Group C

Panama
Dominica
Nicaragua
Bahamas

Group D

Canada
St Kitts and Nevis
Puerto Rico
St Lucia

Group E

Grenada
Guatemala
St Vincent and the Grenadines
Belize

Group F

Haiti
Antigua and Barbuda
Curacao
US Virgin Islands

30-07-2011, 07:17 PM
Round 3

Group A

USA
Jamaica
Winner of group E
Winner of group F

Group B

Mexico
Costa Rica
Winner of group A
Winner of group B

Group C

Honduras
Cuba
Winner of group D
Winner of group C

30-07-2011, 07:19 PM
Bring back Jeff Stelling...........that boy is an absolute twonk of the highest order.

"An English affair"...............pfft, put a wig oan ya f*****g flamer.

30-07-2011, 07:19 PM
Onto Oceania now, I promise the European draw will be coming soon! :greengrin

30-07-2011, 07:29 PM
Oceania draw;

Group A

Vanuatu
New Caledonia
Winner Round One (American Samoa/Cook Islands/Samoa/Tonga)
Tahiti

Group B

Fiji
New Zealand
Solomon Islands
Papua New Guinea

30-07-2011, 07:35 PM
Currently there is some trumpet....well playing a trumpet....:confused:

just pull the balls out :rolleyes:

30-07-2011, 07:37 PM
just pull the balls out :rolleyes: Its a family show.

30-07-2011, 07:39 PM
On the red button on BBC1

DrSpaceMonkey
30-07-2011, 07:40 PM
It's on the BBC red button, sky coverage is just awful

30-07-2011, 07:40 PM
Cant believe the size of Ronaldo! Mans not half put on the beef.

30-07-2011, 07:41 PM
holy ****...Ronaldo looks like he has eaten several balls,,,,,

30-07-2011, 07:45 PM
don't want iceland.....

30-07-2011, 07:48 PM
i hope Ronaldo is not eating the balls from pots 1, 2 & 3 off camera.....

Worst group so far would be A , already has Wales and Macedonia.....

Wales

30-07-2011, 07:49 PM
Scotland v Wales. :aok:

wales in our group

Jonah

30-07-2011, 07:50 PM
We are probably worse than the two teams from the pots below us!

Give us England as well..can you imagiene the policing :greengrin

All we need now is France and Spain :rolleyes:

David_D
30-07-2011, 07:51 PM
Belgium

30-07-2011, 07:51 PM
Good group so far I reckon!

30-07-2011, 07:52 PM
There's always 2018.

good draw for Republic so far

Best pot 6 team and best pot 5 team in our group. McGlashan would be loving this.

Brussels is a cracking place to visit.

I'd prefer to remember Ronaldo as the most explosive striker I've ever clapped eyes on as opposed to what he is now, a fat tranny-banger with knees that would decrease Paul McGrath's chances of passing a medical.

30-07-2011, 07:53 PM
They should have got Dynamo Impossible to pull out the balls instead of Ronaldo. Would have been more interesting. :wink:

30-07-2011, 07:54 PM
Serbia from pot 2

David_D
30-07-2011, 07:54 PM
Serbia

30-07-2011, 07:55 PM
Serbia.

I think we have a chance.

30-07-2011, 07:56 PM
Croatia from pot 1, booo I wanted the English

30-07-2011, 07:56 PM
bollocks

David_D
30-07-2011, 07:57 PM
Croatia :brickwall

Great draw! Can win that group!

Not as bad overall as it could have been but no diddies. We could quite easily finish last.

30-07-2011, 07:59 PM
Now for Europe!!!

Group A

Croatia
Serbia
Belgium
Scotland
Macedonia
Wales

Group B

Italy
Denmark
Czech Republic
Bulgaria
Armenia
Malta

Group C

Germany
Sweden
Ireland
Austria
Faroe Islands
Kazakhstan

Group D

Netherlands
Turkey
Hungary
Romania
Estonia
Andorra

Group E

Norway
Slovenia
Switzerland
Albania
Cyprus
Iceland

Group F

Portugal
Russia
Israel
Northern Ireland
Azerbaijan
Luxembourg

Group G

Greece
Slovakia
Bosnia
Lithuania
Latvia
Liechtenstein

Group H

England
Montenegro
Ukraine
Poland
Moldova
San Marino

Group I

Spain
France
Belarus
Georgia
Finland

England - lucky bastirts

poland v England...no trouble at that :rolleyes:

30-07-2011, 08:00 PM
It's on the BBC red button, sky coverage is just awful

Your not kidding.
Think we have a wee outside chance there. Why do England always get an easy group :grr:

David_D
Thank god we aint in Group I with Spain and France

So we have Serbia, Croatia and the improving Belgium..? We're ****ed. Good travels though!

weedgiehibbie
Hmm could have done better from pots 5 & 6 however we could have had worse from the pots aboive us, if we can get Hmapden rocking we could very well win the majority of the points from our home games, on the road could be tough though

Great draw! Can win that group!

We could quite easily finish last.

:dizzy:

30-07-2011, 08:01 PM
Not as bad overall as it could have been but no diddies. We could quite easily finish last.

Aye :agree: We could quite as easily make the playoffs as we could finish last. An interesting group atleast can see everyone taking points off each other.

30-07-2011, 08:02 PM
England - lucky bastirts

Don't know about that, I would say that's a pretty tough group

Green Man
30-07-2011, 08:04 PM
It's not impossible. If we make the most of our home games and put in some good away performances we're in with a shout.

Good draw. This is doable.

Hmm could have done better from pots 5 & 6 however we could have had worse from the pots aboive us, if we can get Hmapden rocking we could very well win the majority of the points from our home games, on the road could be tough though

:agree: Could be a few 4-6-0 formations coming up!

On the upside...Croatia, Belgium, Wales will be good trips for the TA.

30-07-2011, 08:05 PM
Have you lot forgot who is in charge of our national team? :rolleyes:

30-07-2011, 08:05 PM
Would love it if we qualified but its so hard to want Scotland to do well with that erse as a manager.

30-07-2011, 08:06 PM
good trips away...but Levein will need to be Harry Potter to get us through that.....

30-07-2011, 08:07 PM
Big rivalry between the balkan states....they'll take points off each other.:agree:

30-07-2011, 08:08 PM
That'll be us finishing fourth then :wink:

Littlest Hobo
30-07-2011, 08:09 PM
Good draw for Scotland, just a pitty we have an arse of a manager who might play "that" formation again at any given time.

30-07-2011, 08:11 PM
The Croatia-Serbia match could be exciting. :greengrin

30-07-2011, 08:13 PM
Well we couldn't have asked for a better draw. If we want to qualify, this is the year to do it.

Yet again England have a ridiculously easy group BUT, this is a group that, as a 4th seed country, we could actually challenge for. No, Italy, France, Spain, Germany or England. THIS is our chance!!!!

30-07-2011, 08:14 PM

Hey, they might both get banned and we'd be in there :greengrin

30-07-2011, 08:15 PM

And the other way around.

The TA better be on their guard cause Serbian fans are a nasty bunch!:agree:

30-07-2011, 08:16 PM
A decent draw in a winnable group.

With that erse in charge though, we'll be slugging it out with Wales for 4th spot.

30-07-2011, 08:20 PM
I think that's a very good draw for Scotland to be honest.

Hopefully Levein will be gone by then and we might actually have a chance.

I don't actually think that England will have it all their own way in that group. They're currently fighting it out with Montenegro for qualification to Euro 2012 so that won't be easy for them and Ukraine won't be pushovers either.

I would still expect them to qualify though.

30-07-2011, 08:22 PM

Yup, don't fancy going to Belgrade for that one. That could get quite mental.

30-07-2011, 08:26 PM

But the Serbian chicks...drool, drool, drool. Sometimes it's worth the risk of a kicking.

CalgaryHibs
30-07-2011, 08:29 PM
FFS how did England get that draw?

F-me!

30-07-2011, 08:31 PM
But the Serbian chicks...drool, drool, drool. Sometimes it's worth the risk of a kicking.

Are they hard nuts then, these chicks? :greengrin

PapillonVert
30-07-2011, 08:54 PM
That's not an easy group for Scotland. Can we improve enough to make it competitive? Alas, I think not but by jiminee we really do need to - but I have this uneasy suspicion that Harry Potter will pull his usual tactical masterstroke of putting out 11 defenders in the away games just to make sure we really do eff things up royally!

30-07-2011, 09:11 PM
Charlie Adam
@Charlie26Adam Charlie Adam
Tough draw but have a gd chance nothing is impossible

That's the spirit Charlie! :thumbsup:

30-07-2011, 09:41 PM
Are they hard nuts then, these chicks? :greengrin :tee hee:

30-07-2011, 09:56 PM
Great draw.

Andy74 if youve nowt positive to say then REMOVED REMOVED!!!! :rolleyes:

30-07-2011, 10:12 PM
England - lucky bastirts

I suspect you'd say that, whoever they got. :wink:

Based on current FIFA rankings (and I know the rankings aren't perfect) the group they've got is about average.

30-07-2011, 10:16 PM
Croatia
Serbia
Belgium
Macedonia
Wales

We are F*****.

Croatia vs Serbia will be exciting

30-07-2011, 10:57 PM
Croatia
Serbia
Belgium
Macedonia
Wales

We are F*****.

Croatia vs Serbia will be exciting

The 1 game that FIFA was dreading.. I wonder how they are gonna organize those fixtures ????

30-07-2011, 11:32 PM
Hopefully, this time, the SFA will avoid organising the away dates against Macedonia, Serbia and Croatia in June when it's pushing 30 degrees fahrenheit in Skopje, Belgrade and Zagreb.

Just make sure that we play away to those teams in March or October when it's considerably cooler. :agree:

It shouldn't really matter when we play away against Belgium or Wales from a weather point of view so save those matches for June and September.

31-07-2011, 12:57 AM
Hopefully, this time, the SFA will avoid organising the away dates against Macedonia, Serbia and Croatia in June when it's pushing 30 degrees fahrenheit in Skopje, Belgrade and Zagreb.

Just make sure that we play away to those teams in March or October when it's considerably cooler. :agree:

It shouldn't really matter when we play away against Belgium or Wales from a weather point of view so save those matches for June and September.

Not sure we want to be playing them in less than 30F! :greengrin

Stew the Hibee
31-07-2011, 02:34 AM
The team I'd be most interested in from that group will be Belgium. Currently they have both Romelu Lukaku and Eden Hazard, two of the highest rated youngsters in the world - so much so that their is speculation of Arsenal, Inter, Liverpool, Bayern and PSG all after Hazard, and Lukaku is described as being the next Drogba, and looks to be moving to Arsenal or Chelsea for roughly 17.5 million pounds. Defensively, they have Kompany, Vermallen and Van Buyten, so again have a lot of strength in the centre of defence.

Aside from Hazard however they don't appear to have much in the middle, so im sure our 6 man midfield will find a way of dominating the game and supply our stri... well, dominate the game.

31-07-2011, 07:14 AM
So we have Serbia, Croatia and the improving Belgium..? We're ****ed. Good travels though! Magic draw for TA away trips, cannae wait!

31-07-2011, 07:26 AM
How dare you disrespect one of football's greatest ever players.

We're going to Brazil.

TonyStokeprano
31-07-2011, 08:40 AM
The team I'd be most interested in from that group will be Belgium. Currently they have both Romelu Lukaku and Eden Hazard, two of the highest rated youngsters in the world - so much so that their is speculation of Arsenal, Inter, Liverpool, Bayern and PSG all after Hazard, and Lukaku is described as being the next Drogba, and looks to be moving to Arsenal or Chelsea for roughly 17.5 million pounds. Defensively, they have Kompany, Vermallen and Van Buyten, so again have a lot of strength in the centre of defence.

Aside from Hazard however they don't appear to have much in the middle, so im sure our 6 man midfield will find a way of dominating the game and supply our stri... well, dominate the game.

Very good young side, dont forget fellaini, also two midfielders from standard liege who are very highly rated, steven defour and axel witsel.

31-07-2011, 08:43 AM

When is it the fixtures are actually decided?

31-07-2011, 09:48 AM
But the Serbian chicks...drool, drool, drool. Sometimes it's worth the risk of a kicking. 100% right :-)

31-07-2011, 10:14 AM
Stopped off in Zagreb on the way to Maribor last year & had a couple of nights in Belgrade on the way to Macedonia the last time we played there. Both of them (and Skopje) were magic. Looking forward to these trips big time.

31-07-2011, 10:23 AM
100% right :-)

You won't be allowed daddy :greengrin