Scott, Hart, Sodje + 1 other are out on SSN

Sunshine on Leith the day.....

McKenzie
24-07-2011, 09:20 AM
Welsh the other one out on ssn

DAVE1875
24-07-2011, 09:21 AM
More importantly - whats the pitch like :agree:

Rectangular, made of grass, had white lines surrounding it, white lines forming a box, a six-yard box and a white penalty spot at each end. It also has a line running through it from the main stand to the east stand, in the middle is a centre spot which is surrounded by a big centre circle.

Hope this clears things up :wink:

JustSimplyHibs
24-07-2011, 09:22 AM
Welsh the other one out on ssn

That's the one

Brown out for Septic due to suspension :thumbsup:

24-07-2011, 09:26 AM
Rectangular :wink:
There's always one.

Rectangular, made of grass, had white lines surrounding it, white lines forming a box, a six-yard box and a white penalty spot at each end. It also has a line running through it from the main stand to the east stand, in the middle is a centre spot which is surrounded by a big centre circle.

Hope this clears things up :wink:
There's always one. (is there an echo in here :greengrin)

You both missed out 'green' so I'll assume it's a shambles then.

24-07-2011, 09:29 AM

Thought Calderwood had said Scott was fit -has that changed now?

24-07-2011, 09:33 AM
Its live on Setanta in OZ.

Gotta be honest, not expecting to go to work the morra with a spring in the step..but here's hoping.

DAVE1875
24-07-2011, 09:51 AM
There's always one.

There's always one. (is there an echo in here :greengrin)

You both missed out 'green' so I'll assume it's a shambles then.

...Well grass is naturally green :rolleyes: Unless of course your wanting to play beach football or on a court in a park that doubles for a basketball court aswell

24-07-2011, 09:53 AM
...Well grass is naturally green :rolleyes: Unless of course your wanting to play beach football or on a court in a park that doubles for a basketball court aswell

Unless you're at that stadium in Motherwell surely?

24-07-2011, 09:56 AM
or unless you've seen the previous pictures of ER :greengrin

24-07-2011, 09:57 AM

Thank God :thumbsup::wink:

DAVE1875
24-07-2011, 09:59 AM
Unless you're at that stadium in Motherwell surely?

That's a stadium? I thought it was one of those places that they auction off cattle and have car-boot sales at during the weekdays?

24-07-2011, 10:01 AM
Mon the Hibs. :flag:

24-07-2011, 10:01 AM
Awful lot of sarcasism on here today, ffs the poster was just asking about the state of the pitch as previous reports state it is in a bad way for start of season and he gets all that crap, have a word wi'yersels, attacking fellow Hibby's like that is childish and not wanted.

24-07-2011, 10:03 AM
Awful lot of sarcasism on here today, ffs the poster was just asking about the state of the pitch as previous reports state it is in a bad way for start of season and he gets all that crap, have a word wi'yersels, attacking fellow Hibby's like that is childish and not wanted.

Thank you sir. :greengrin

Don't worry - I'll treat those young (well - one young and one realy really old) whipper-snappers with the contempt they deserve :wink: :thumbsup:

24-07-2011, 10:04 AM
Awful lot of sarcasism on here today, ffs the poster was just asking about the state of the pitch as previous reports state it is in a bad way for start of season and he gets all that crap, have a word wi'yersels, attacking fellow Hibby's like that is childish and not wanted. It's someones time of the month !

24-07-2011, 10:16 AM
Sarcasm makes the world go round.

Calgary, good luck and let's hope you get off to a winning start (though I reckon I would take a draw now)

Weather on the Slave Coast is bloody awful! How the heck can they keep telling me there is a drought in Africa? Come to bloody Escravos pal!

:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa

24-07-2011, 10:16 AM
I thought these threads were for updates, not "guff".

Sorry, Kenny! :wink:

GraniteCityHibs
24-07-2011, 10:22 AM
Awful lot of sarcasism on here today, ffs the poster was just asking about the state of the pitch as previous reports state it is in a bad way for start of season and he gets all that crap, have a word wi'yersels, attacking fellow Hibby's like that is childish and not wanted. We should all just stop being so SARCASASTIC!

DAVE1875
24-07-2011, 10:24 AM

http://plinkplunk.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/facepalm.gif

Ireallywasthere
24-07-2011, 10:36 AM
Pitch looking great - apart from a narrow strip next to the east stand

24-07-2011, 10:38 AM
Brown
Palsson
O'Hanlon
Hanlon
Booth
Wotherspoon
Murray
Stevenson
Thornhil
Sproule
O'Connor

24-07-2011, 10:40 AM

Thought it was just light-hearted banter myself, but OK - as I'm watching Hibs TV too I can assure you the condition of the pitch looks terrific - the sun is shining - they're watering the pitch, there's few guys out on the park with a ball and there's a few seagulls flying around - but very few fans in the the stadium yet, from what I can see?

24-07-2011, 10:45 AM
Brown
Palsson
O'Hanlon
Hanlon
Booth
Wotherspoon
Murray
Stevenson
Thornhil
Sproule
O'Connor

Palsson at RB?? will be interesting.

Not sure about the creativity in midfield, but get intae them Hibees, c'mon :cgwa:flag:

24-07-2011, 10:47 AM

Not sure about the creativity in midfield, but get intae them Hibees, c'mon :cgwa:flag:

Is this really the answer to the RB problem: give everyone a shot at it?

24-07-2011, 10:48 AM
Pitch looks excellent on ESPN.....:aok:

Come on the Hibees!

:cgwa

24-07-2011, 10:49 AM

Has played there before only not for us yet.

A lot of scope for flexibility in that line up and I would expect (hope?) Thornhill will provide the creativity.

Is that the team that was posted on here last night? Cant find the thread now.

Brown
Palsson
O'Hanlon
Hanlon
Booth
Wotherspoon
Murray
Stevenson
Thornhil
Sproule
O'Connor
Why Palsson? Why not swap Palsson and Spoony?

fife hfc
Would have been far happier with Stack in goal and Palsson sitting in defensive midfield but not getting a right back leaves us few options.

HNA6
I thought these threads were for updates, not "guff".

Sorry, Kenny! :wink:Yip ..ive let it slip Dave ..slept in for my shift this morn .. ..:greengrin..ah well ..the guff will have tae stay, cant be ersed goin through the thread again ..:greengrin

24-07-2011, 10:50 AM
Why Palsson? Why not swap Palsson and Spoony?

We dont know that till they line up.

24-07-2011, 10:52 AM
Is this really the answer to the RB problem: give everyone a shot at it?

I suppose we could start with Wotherspoon there instead, have to see how they line up.

Did not think we would have Palsson at RB.

24-07-2011, 10:53 AM
We dont know that till they line up.

They did say on ESPN that it's Palsson at RB

Bob Box Fish
24-07-2011, 10:54 AM
If that's the team was that not the same as the one that was posted last night ?

24-07-2011, 10:55 AM
murray for miller

24-07-2011, 10:55 AM
whit times kickoaf

24-07-2011, 10:57 AM
Not a cloud in the sky. cant wait for the inevitable 3 points.

Ireallywasthere
24-07-2011, 10:58 AM
Stack is in goals

24-07-2011, 10:58 AM
whit times kickoaf

12:30

24-07-2011, 10:59 AM
Stack is in goals

No he's not !

24-07-2011, 10:59 AM
Sprinklers on when - arrived.....the irony

24-07-2011, 11:00 AM
Sunshine, pitch looks class. Hibs12th man already had their first song. :thumbsup:

24-07-2011, 11:01 AM
I suppose we could start with Wotherspoon there instead, have to see how they line up.

Did not think we would have Palsson at RB.

He's been used there often by Iceland u21's and also played there a lot for Liverpool.

24-07-2011, 11:03 AM
No he's not !

Yes he is.

24-07-2011, 11:04 AM
"Hibs Manager Neil Lennon" Gag.

24-07-2011, 11:06 AM
Official site does have Stack starting - http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110724/hibernian-v-celtic_2262950_2400544 ESPN obviously got it wrong earlier.

24-07-2011, 11:09 AM
New era begins with Murray and Stevenson in midfield.

Darth Hibbie
24-07-2011, 11:10 AM
Stack defo in goals

24-07-2011, 11:11 AM
Official site does have Stack starting - http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110724/hibernian-v-celtic_2262950_2400544 ESPN obviously got it wrong earlier.

From BBC site

HIBERNIAN TEAM NEWS: Stack, Wotherspoon, O'Hanlon, Hanlon, Booth, Murray, Sproule, Palsson, Thornhill, Stevenson, O'Connor. Subs: Brown, Galbraith, Scott, Stephens, Taggart, Crawford, De Graaf.

24-07-2011, 11:12 AM
From BBC site

HIBERNIAN TEAM NEWS: Stack, Wotherspoon, O'Hanlon, Hanlon, Booth, Murray, Sproule, Palsson, Thornhill, Stevenson, O'Connor. Subs: Brown, Galbraith, Scott, Stephens, Taggart, Crawford, De Graaf.

Now looks like it will be Spoonie at RB. :agree:

Thomson
"Hibs Manager Neil Lennon" Gag.

I heard this too so i rewound it and i think he says "Hoops Manager Neil Lennon"

a midfield of:

Wotherspoon Murray Thornhill Stevenson

Deary me thats poor.

24-07-2011, 11:13 AM
CELTIC TEAM NEWS: Zaluska, Mark Wilson, Loovens, Kelvin Wilson, Izaguirre, Kayal, Ki, Ledley, Commons, Hooper, Stokes. Subs: Cervi, Matthews, Samaras, Maloney, Mulgrew, Forrest, Wanyama.

24-07-2011, 11:20 AM
a midfield of:

Wotherspoon Murray Thornhill Stevenson

Deary me thats poor.

Or:

Palsson
Sproule Thornnhill Murray Stevenson

Which I dont think is too bad.

24-07-2011, 11:21 AM
Pitch looking great, wonderful weather today.

http://a.yfrog.com/img612/2535/4e2wnq.jpg (http://yfrog.com/h04e2wnqj)

24-07-2011, 11:23 AM
From BBC site

That's a shame. No chants today of "Mar-tin Scott, bites yer ankles"

24-07-2011, 11:28 AM
Or:

Palsson
Sproule Thornnhill Murray Stevenson

Which I dont think is too bad.

the left hand side is a shocker - even with that line up in midfield

i guess we may go 5 across with Sproule, Spoony, Murray, Thornhill, Lewis

who knows...fing out in 2

come on the Hibees

24-07-2011, 11:29 AM
Boozy is co-commentator on Hibs TV today - he seems right up for the game!

24-07-2011, 11:29 AM
Good crowd?

Mon the Hibees:flag:

24-07-2011, 11:30 AM
I'm nervous!

24-07-2011, 11:30 AM
That Celtic strip is minging, making my eyes go funny.

C'mon the Hibees :cgwa:flag::cgwa:flag:

24-07-2011, 11:31 AM
Why we swapped dug outs?

24-07-2011, 11:31 AM
Its looking quite empty IMO.

AJWisme
24-07-2011, 11:32 AM
LETS GET INTO THEM!!! :flag::flag::flag::flag:

24-07-2011, 11:33 AM
radio commentary - "new groundsman - one of the best in the business..."

24-07-2011, 11:36 AM
Celtic singing IRA songs already...

24-07-2011, 11:36 AM
The pitch looks to have a few patches on it to me.

24-07-2011, 11:37 AM
Stack looks in great condition. A lot leaner than last season.

24-07-2011, 11:40 AM
Celtic singing IRA songs already...

:agree: Celtic fans already chanting "Ooh ah, up the RA."

HibeeDave
The pitch looks to have a few patches on it to me.

yeah, looks poor for first game of the season

Brown
Palsson
O'Hanlon
Hanlon
Booth
Wotherspoon
Murray
Stevenson
Thornhil
Sproule
O'Connor

:hide:

24-07-2011, 11:41 AM
I wonder how many Celtic fans got arrested them?....probably none

24-07-2011, 11:41 AM
Yes he is.

My apologies !

24-07-2011, 11:42 AM
Sproule looking very very quick and direct!

24-07-2011, 11:42 AM
Good old Ivan :thumbsup:

24-07-2011, 11:43 AM
Just like Ivan of old, great run then passes to the opposition. :greengrin

Great to have him back though.

24-07-2011, 11:43 AM
Positive enough start...Thornhill always looking for the ball.

24-07-2011, 11:44 AM
Good start from Hibs, holding our shape well, preventing Celtic from playing and we've had one or two good forward moves..

24-07-2011, 11:45 AM
Looks like they were a few queuing outside ticket office still.

Just like Ivan of old, great run then passes to the opposition. :greengrin

Great to have him back though.

Just what I thought!

Showed a clip of big queues outside the Ticket Office which might explain a few gaps?

does the east look as empty as the west looks??

24-07-2011, 11:46 AM

Aye - quite sparse.

Edit: Why is Commons able to play? I thought he was sent off in the last game of last season?

0-1 Stokes.

Some nice play by us at the moment, keep it up Hibees, let's get the 1st goal. :flag:

are you watching on tv? that is the east stand you are looking at

Cheshire Hibee
We not scored yet? C'mon Petrie this is shocking get a grip.

24-07-2011, 11:47 AM
ffs Stack
0-1 Stokes

Commons free kick into the box, Stack comes to collect but slips through his hands and Stokes hits it into the open goal.

Spoke to soon, mistake by Stack, 1-0 to Celtic :rolleyes:

ForeverHibs93
F***sake Stack

Stack fumbles in 5-yards area - Stokes scores!

AJWisme
First set piece. Christ.

24-07-2011, 11:48 AM
Terrible from Stack. First sniff and they've scored. There's the difference I think.

24-07-2011, 11:48 AM
will we ever learn how to defend set pieces???

FFS.

24-07-2011, 11:49 AM
Goal out of nothing there, we were doing well up until then.

Can't afford to gift Celtic goals.

24-07-2011, 11:49 AM
Why we swapped dug outs? Maybe it's part of correcting the previous incumbent's legacy.

Bob Box Fish
24-07-2011, 11:50 AM
Same old hibees

northgreen24
was feeling pretty positive up till then ,

what can you do when its a goalie blunder :( :(

was feeling pretty positive up till then ,

Cry???

24-07-2011, 11:51 AM
are you watching on tv? that is the east stand you are looking at ahm in the east, mair or less on ma own.

24-07-2011, 11:51 AM

Not leave Stokes unmarked for a start!

northgreen24
24-07-2011, 11:52 AM
Cry???

na just remember that the goalie problem has always been there , one question why was he not in goal against falkirk:confused::confused::confused: if he was going to play today ??????????

24-07-2011, 11:53 AM
Some good passing moves from us. They've kept their heads up despite the goal. I started typing a post at the first goal.

Going to stop now!

24-07-2011, 11:53 AM
Going forward, we look fine. Defending at the free kick was shocking, as was the goalkeeping. Other than that, our defense hasn't been strenuously tested.

24-07-2011, 11:55 AM
It's fine though, we done the right thing getting rid of a Goalscorer like that. He causes unrest in the dressing room.

fife hfc
24-07-2011, 11:56 AM
Stack is one of the more reliable players we have and when we need him to be so again he fails. Aaaaaaaahhhhhh

northgreen24
24-07-2011, 11:56 AM
It's fine though, we done the right thing getting rid of a Goalscorer like that. He causes unrest in the dressing room.

he didnt want to stay!!!!!!!

o wait neither does the manager

24-07-2011, 11:58 AM
So how many tims have been emptied from the away stand thus far then?

I can hear it quite clearly on the TV, so it must be audible to those in the ground.

Typical lip service.

24-07-2011, 11:59 AM
he didnt want to stay!!!!!!!

o wait neither does the manager

I'm not sure the manager is going to his boyhood heroes for 12 times the wages though?

We should have had a whip round.

24-07-2011, 12:01 PM
My post was more tongue-in-cheek than serious btw. A bit of light humor

northgreen24
24-07-2011, 12:02 PM
I'm not sure the manager is going to his boyhood heroes for 12 times the wages though?

We should have had a whip round.

true:greengrin

also i was sad to see stokes go as he had a great record with 20 goals , CC record is abismal so :bye: in that:taxi

24-07-2011, 12:03 PM
What was wrong with playing the advantage?! Sproule is looking lively but I think O'Connor needs a little more support.

24-07-2011, 12:03 PM
Good chance ther Sproule could not pick out Spoonie, maybe should have had a shot.

24-07-2011, 12:04 PM
ref needs the advantahge rule explained to him.

24-07-2011, 12:06 PM
I think Hibs have played quite well so far.

24-07-2011, 12:06 PM
What was wrong with playing the advantage?! Sproule is looking lively but I think O'Connor needs a little more support.

exactly !...O'Connor was clean thru ffs, if he's going to pull him back, at least book the celtc player.....what a joke

Hibby D
24-07-2011, 12:07 PM
Boozy is a hoot to listen to on Hibs TV live commentary. So enthusiastic :aok:

24-07-2011, 12:07 PM
O'Hanlon done well up to now. :agree:

24-07-2011, 12:10 PM
Booth looking good, Spoony looking a bit lost.

24-07-2011, 12:11 PM
O'Connor is NOT a lone striker. Can't run the channels, not getting into space. He needs support.

24-07-2011, 12:13 PM
O'Connor is NOT a lone striker. Can't run the channels, not getting into space. He needs support. Got a good bit of strength about him though. Him and Sodje could be a decent partnership.

24-07-2011, 12:14 PM
Hibs playing better than expected for me.

BUT

Gifted celtic a goal VERY poor goal keeping
But for 2 close call calls for offside it could be 3 nil
We are TOOTHLESS

For me same old same old LONG season ahead

24-07-2011, 12:17 PM
Booth is impressive. Suppose he'll be off to Glasgow soon.

24-07-2011, 12:17 PM
This has been decent so far. If we were a bit nippier up front I think we would have scored by now.

24-07-2011, 12:19 PM
We're playing decently, feeling a bit more positive about this season!

24-07-2011, 12:20 PM
to be fair, we have given a decent account of ourselves - i thought the worst after losing the earsly goal

Booth is our best player so far

24-07-2011, 12:21 PM
We need to try and retain possession a bit instead of giving it away all the time. Not the worst half in the world though and plenty of encouraging signs.

Solid performance so far. Like the 451, not sure about palsson out at right back though. Hanlon and ohanlon faultless so far.

AJWisme
Goalkeeping error for goal, but the 2nd was never offside, so it should be two unfortunately.
However Celtic aren't threatening too much, yet neither are we.
Spoony needs off the left, it's not working.

24-07-2011, 12:22 PM
I think we've done okay so far bar a couple of defensive lapses. Certainly been much more even than I'd expected.

Ell_Chrisso
What the hell has happened to Wotherspoon? Almost as if he peeped too soon in his career. Cant pass a ball and his delivery is terrible. We would have caused Celtic far more problems had we have a decent delivery from the left side!

We're playing decently, feeling a bit more positive about this season!

Would never judge hibs after playing one of the OF, either we play well or herendous, and its never usually an indicator on how we will play against the rest of the teams.

I still think we will struggle badly, there is 0 depth, if anyone in the starting 11 gets hurt there is no suitable replacement of a similar skill level.

24-07-2011, 12:23 PM
Hibs playing better than expected for me. BUT Gifted celtic a goal VERY poor goal keeping But for 2 close call calls for offside it could be 3 nil We are TOOTHLESSFor me same old same old LONG season aheadSame old same old? If it was same old same old we WOULD be three-nil down by now. If it was last season our heads would go down after they scored. Instead we've kept playing and had some decent chances.That's a welcome difference imo

24-07-2011, 12:23 PM
Not that bad at all for me. Played some decent stuff and created opportunities. Bad keeping mistake though. A bit more up front and this may not be that bad a season. Looking forward to the second half a bit more now...

Bob Box Fish
24-07-2011, 12:24 PM
Played fairly well in the first half apart from stacks clanger. Does look a bit Yogi esk with lots of short passes and no end product.

GOC needs support up front as he is struggling on his own.

Can't see where a goal would come from. . . .

24-07-2011, 12:25 PM
Hibs playing better than expected for me.

BUT

Gifted celtic a goal VERY poor goal keeping
But for 2 close call calls for offside it could be 3 nil
We are TOOTHLESS

For me same old same old LONG season ahead

Despite saying that we are palying "better than expected" , and being down to one goalkeeping error, you are still expecting the worst based on the 45 minutes you have seen?

I think we are playing and passing well and, based on the first half, we are much "better than expected"

Someone commented on our "weak" left side and I was wondering if they still felt that?

24-07-2011, 12:26 PM
Celtic are poor, we're OK, but we haven't really threatened apart from Ivan's run where he pulled back to find no-one in the box. O'Connor's timing in the air is completely off; Wotherspoon is having an awful game, Sproule has only had once decent run at them - but we seem unable to use him - he could pose real problems. Otherwise we have held our shape well, moved forward well, but we seem totally unable to cross a ball into the box when we approach the penalty area - this doesn't help our striker and we end up losing possession.

Be interestinbg to see how the manager motivates them for the 2nd half and the changes he makes.

Dan Sarf
24-07-2011, 12:26 PM
Booth is impressive. Suppose he'll be off to Glasgow soon.

Just what I was thinking. How sad is that?

John_the_angus_hibby
24-07-2011, 12:27 PM
ESPN pundits...Hartson fair doo's as Celtic is playing, but Hateley??????!!!!

Garry defo needs support and better balls from the left required.

C'mon Hibs.

Sent from another universe!

24-07-2011, 12:28 PM
Celtic are poor, we're OK, but we haven't really threatened apart from Ivan's run where he pulled back to find no-one in the box. O'Connor's timing in the air is completely off; Wotherspoon is having an awful game, Sproule has only had once decent run at them - but we seem unable to use him - he could pose real problems. Otherwise we have held our shape well, moved forward well, but we seem totally unable to cross a ball into the box when we approach the penalty area - this doesn't help our striker and we end up losing possession.

Be interestinbg to see how the manager motivates them for the 2nd half and the changes he makes.

Switch Sproule to the left? He's not getting much joy where he is.

John_the_angus_hibby
24-07-2011, 12:29 PM
Switch Sproule to the left? He's not getting much joy where he is.

Good shout. Spoons was better on the right last season.

24-07-2011, 12:30 PM
Played better than expected first half

bad goal to lose

Wotherspoon seems off the pace - literally

Bit stereotyped in our attacking approach - expcting Gary Oçonnor to get everythign in the air.

I'd move Ivan in a bit into the middle and try and go through the middle..Oonnor needs someone to lay off to.

24-07-2011, 12:30 PM
Playing well. Stupid goal to lose. Diving from Celtic.

steviehibsleith
24-07-2011, 12:31 PM
Think first 45mins as gone Ok 1 goalkeeping error is only goal of the game. Maybe Galbraith will come on for wotherspoon who is struggling . Bit of luck and a bit more belief and could get something from this from what ive seen.

24-07-2011, 12:31 PM
Celtic fans fighting.

24-07-2011, 12:32 PM
Much better than I expected, we could sneak something here.

Expecting Rain
Would never judge hibs after playing one of the OF, either we play well or herendous, and its never usually an indicator on how we will play against the rest of the teams.

I still think we will struggle badly, there is 0 depth, if anyone in the starting 11 gets hurt there is no suitable replacement of a similar skill level.

Absolutely spot on.

Played better than expected first half

bad goal to lose

Wotherspoon seems off the pace - literally

Bit stereotyped in our attacking approach - expcting Gary Oçonnor to get everythign in the air.

I'd move Ivan in a bit into the middle and try and go through the middle..Oonnor needs someone to lay off to.

Agree with all of that Freddie boy

24-07-2011, 12:33 PM
ESPN, same as Setanta, Old Firm TV, to them all other clubs are irrelevant other than as slight obstacles to the two horse race....

Let's get Hateley to give the hun point of view as after all everyone in Scotland supports one if those teams...

Pish

24-07-2011, 12:33 PM
Despite saying that we are palying "better than expected" , and being down to one goalkeeping error, you are still expecting the worst based on the 45 minutes you have seen?

I think we are playing and passing well and, based on the first half, we are much "better than expected"

Someone commented on our "weak" left side and I was wondering if they still felt that?

Wotherspoon is there....he certainly is not a left midfielder....so yes.

Palsson has done ok at RB....done nothing obiously wrong.

Thonhill will be our main man.

Boothy just oozes class

Our squad depth is quite shocking tho

24-07-2011, 12:34 PM
Solid performance so far. Like the 451, not sure about palsson out at right back though. Hanlon and ohanlon faultless so far.

24-07-2011, 12:35 PM
ESPN pundits...Hartson fair doo's as Celtic is playing, but Hateley??????!!!!

Garry defo needs support and better balls from the left required.

C'mon Hibs.

Both are actually very decent and fair pundits. I used to despise Hately as a player but he seems a pretty reasonable guy. Hartson is IMO the best pundit to cover the SPL.

24-07-2011, 12:36 PM
Celtic fans fighting.

With who?

fife hfc
24-07-2011, 12:36 PM
One mistake from Stack and to me that is the only thing we have done wrong. We know we are struggling in the forward area but the plus to me is that the defence has looked fairly comfortable.

norhfc
24-07-2011, 12:37 PM
Old Firm tv,amazing how they just dismiss all others.No longer any "opposition" point of view...disgrace
for Scottish football in these hard times.

24-07-2011, 12:37 PM
Provisional IRA v the real IRA in the Celtic end?

24-07-2011, 12:38 PM
Agree with all of that Freddie boy

çheers Moray

24-07-2011, 12:40 PM
Ivan playing further up this half.

John_the_angus_hibby
24-07-2011, 12:40 PM
Cmon hibs.

24-07-2011, 12:42 PM
Booth has been our best player today imo. The only problem is that if continues to shine in a poor to average team is only a matter of time until the cheque books come out.

Wotherspoon is there....he certainly is not a left midfielder....so yes.

Palsson has done ok at RB....done nothing obiously wrong.

Thonhill will be our main man.

Boothy just oozes class

Our squad depth is quite shocking tho

Yet he played all through the youth system at LM?

John_the_angus_hibby
Pen!!!! Nooooo! Well done Sproule. Unlucky.

Superb pass from Booth, Ivan should have scored.

Or at least got a shot in.

24-07-2011, 12:47 PM
Couple of shocking decisions from the ref there. Maybe not a pen but Sproule was definately pulled back. Commentator described it as good defending :blah:

24-07-2011, 12:47 PM
What a complete waste of a free kick there. Passed it across and then it gets launched down and out. What's wrong with chipping it forward to the edge of the box?

Or am I being old-fashioned?

24-07-2011, 12:51 PM
Looking like no celtic players being booked today. Ref has been pretty tolerating and of their fouling.

Same old same old? If it was same old same old we WOULD be three-nil down by now. If it was last season our heads would go down after they scored. Instead we've kept playing and had some decent chances.That's a welcome difference imo

and but for a wrong decision by the linesman we probably would be.
P.S. Celtic have been RANK Average and we have not had ONE effort at goal if you think that is improvement you are far mor positve than me.

I find it utterly cringeworthy that a Hibs support would sing "We Are The People".

O'Hanlon off injured. Great.

fife hfc
24-07-2011, 12:52 PM
We are going through a dodgy spell at the moment and need to hang in there. Bugger O'Hanlon is going off. BUGGER.

Moody Mulder
24-07-2011, 12:52 PM
Old Firm tv,amazing how they just dismiss all others.No longer any "opposition" point of view...disgrace
for Scottish football in these hard times.

don't subscribe to espn, sky or anyone else,.......... setanta tried their best to alienate all other supporters with their brown nosing of the old firm and that didnt exactly work for them as they went bust thus proving that the old firm subs are not enough to sustain them............ also had sky on the phone a few weeks ago asking if I wanted a half price sports deal for 6 months told them I was not an old firm fan and put the phone down on them.

24-07-2011, 12:53 PM
O'Hanlon injured.
Stephens on.

0-2 Tims.

Dug munching git.

O'Hanlon off with a foot injury, great pity as he has had a solid game, hopefully ok for next week.

Stephens on, very young defence now.

That has unsettled us and we are now 2-0 down, nightmare.

0-2! OFFS.... :grr:

John_the_angus_hibby
24-07-2011, 12:54 PM
Crap.

Bob Box Fish
Game over

Stevenson getting poorer and poorer as the game goes on.

Will people just stfu about booth leaving. He's a young lad still.

When spoony first came into the team we had people selling him to the old firm for 4 million.

Just distracts from the game.

Another goal mid post.

AJWisme
That'll be that then.

24-07-2011, 12:56 PM
Stevenson ffs why just why?

Fresh air shot from O'Connor.

Hopefully he at least stamped Loovens' baws up into his neck.

This game has revealed our lack of squad depth, we need a few more signings.

O'connor completely misses the ball!

Officials have been ok, today...

24-07-2011, 12:57 PM
Sorry, but that is just not good enough. LS has hit stray passes all day, but for them to score almost unchallenged is very poor. This is basic football that is tripping us up.

24-07-2011, 12:57 PM
no cutting edge, no defense, shady goalkeeping, weak in midfield.

We look like we still need a whole new team, the team look as flat as they did in January.

Sproule is hit or miss but at least hes trying to do something, id much rather have that than nothing.

O'Hanlon going off killed the game, we have no depth to the squad at all.

24-07-2011, 12:58 PM
Pen...:grr:

**** SAKE WE'VE ****ING CRUMBLED. Pen to celtic and most likely 3-0.

This could end up about 0 6!

No arguments.

Definite penalty.

bigstu
Thanks hibs, let me down as usual! Half way around the world in Oz hoping to shut up a pub full of celtic fans & its not happening, i feel sick!

24-07-2011, 12:59 PM
Stack :not worth

Great save.

Hurrah for Stack!

Good save.

What a ****ing save haha! Graham Stack - brilliant.

FFS penalty now to Celtic, trip by Sproule

Hooper to take it and misses, hits post and Stack palms away still 2-0.

one day maybe...
24-07-2011, 01:00 PM
well done stack
Mon the Hibs get Crawford on lets have go at them for whats remaining of the game.

24-07-2011, 01:01 PM
Good save!

CalgaryHibs
24-07-2011, 01:01 PM
Something positive well done Stack

24-07-2011, 01:02 PM
well done stack
Mon the Hibs get Crawford on lets have go at them for whats remaining of the game.
Is it no Galbraith?

24-07-2011, 01:04 PM
WTF? Passing has been keek... :rolleyes:

one day maybe...
24-07-2011, 01:05 PM
Is it no Galbraith?

Yeah it is but I was wanting Crawford on up front to support O'Connor. :greengrin

24-07-2011, 01:07 PM
Yeah it is but I was wanting Crawford on up front to support O'Connor. :greengrin
I see...:greengrin

24-07-2011, 01:07 PM
World's worst set-piece defenders...

Gerard
24-07-2011, 01:09 PM
World's worst set-piece defenders...

Clearly the team needs additional players or this season will just be last.
G

24-07-2011, 01:09 PM
Spoony is so slow!

24-07-2011, 01:13 PM
Samaras goes close for Celtic.

24-07-2011, 01:14 PM
Boozy for Manager! I'm listening to his commentry on Hibs TV and he's absolutely priceless.

24-07-2011, 01:14 PM
Clearly the team needs additional players or this season will just be last.
G

Ever?

24-07-2011, 01:15 PM
Free-Kick. :greengrin

Easy bloody collection. :grr:

24-07-2011, 01:16 PM
Murray off Crawford on.

Hooper off Maloney on.

24-07-2011, 01:16 PM
Celtc will not have an easier game all season. Have we had a single decent effort on goal?

We're Donald Ducked!

Gerard
24-07-2011, 01:17 PM
Ever?

In terms that we finish bootom six, do not get to a cup final. I would like to be wrong in this opinion:wink:

Twiglet
24-07-2011, 01:17 PM
Another wee rendition of "ooh ah up the ra" from the Celtic fans there.

fife hfc
24-07-2011, 01:18 PM
We will not play aginst too many teams with two quality strikers like Stokes and Hooper

Thomson
24-07-2011, 01:19 PM
Just checked the BBC stats and according to that, we have not had a single shot. I think we have been fairly good today but it just shows that garry o on his own is not going to get us anywhere

Dan Sarf
24-07-2011, 01:19 PM
Who is this idiot "summarising" on ESPN?

24-07-2011, 01:20 PM
Who is this idiot "summarising" on ESPN?

Stephen Craighan

24-07-2011, 01:20 PM
We will not play aginst too many teams with two quality strikers like Stokes and Hooper
That team will boaby us at darkheid...buckle up guys, this is gonna be a long season.

24-07-2011, 01:22 PM
I really hope we get a shot at goal against Inverness, that would be a big improvement on today.

What utter garbage!

24-07-2011, 01:24 PM
Hibs should never play 4-5-1 at home against anyone.

Dan Sarf
24-07-2011, 01:25 PM
Stephen Craighan

"That would have been the final nail in the coffin for man of the match."

Brilliant.

AJWisme
24-07-2011, 01:26 PM
Rank.

DAVE1875
24-07-2011, 01:26 PM
So Hibs awarded a free-kick inside the box until the referee remembered it was Celtic we're playing and decides to end the game

one day maybe...
24-07-2011, 01:28 PM
Oh well, a defeat for us today that probably most expected. Don't think we played to badly up until the point we gifted them a goal. After that it was always going to be hard. Need to get shots on target though boys. Hopefully get a couple of more players in before the window shuts.

hibee_patty
plenty positives to take from that game and a major improvement from last year

So Hibs awarded a free-kick inside the box until the referee remembered it was Celtic we're playing and decides to end the game

aye that was a good one eh ?......same old same old....brines is a **** stain

Dan Sarf
24-07-2011, 01:29 PM

Agree. Two more players and we would have a team.

24-07-2011, 01:30 PM
aye that was a good one eh ?......same old same old....brines is a **** stain

the defender clearly kneed it back to the keeper.....well done Brines in correcting his initial wrong call.

dunfyhibby
24-07-2011, 01:31 PM
at least 4 players needed urgently

Spoony is so slow!

hes rank

Oh well, a defeat for us today that probably most expected. Don't think we played to badly up until the point we gifted them a goal. After that it was always going to be hard. Need to get shots on target though boys. Hopefully get a couple of more players in before the window shuts.

2-0, plus good goal ruled offside & pen miss, Celtic keeper not tested, game certainly went as predicted.

Celtc will not have an easier game all season. Have we had a single decent effort on goal?

We're Donald Ducked!

When we start games with Murray and Stevenson you know its going to be a long day.

24-07-2011, 01:32 PM

Agree with this - we desperately need a couple of players - especially up front.

Also while I liked O'Hanlon, I'm really worried about what appears a lack of pace at the back.

And is Wotherspoon usually that slow!!??

euro Hibby
24-07-2011, 01:32 PM
not very good. Home game no shots on goal and no final ball. Long season ahead.

24-07-2011, 01:33 PM
2-0, plus good goal ruled offside & pen miss, Celtic keeper not tested, game certainly went as predicted.

I had Celtic for 4 nil today, so close....

24-07-2011, 01:33 PM

Really? I didn't see any positives except maybe Booth. No efforts of note, the one CC signing of the close season injured, yet another keeper blunder and Celtc winning so easily they never needed to get out of 2nd gear. Compare our performance to Hearts' yesterday.

24-07-2011, 01:34 PM

And they would be........

24-07-2011, 01:34 PM
When we start games with Murray and Stevenson you know its going to be a long SEASON.

Fixed that for you.

24-07-2011, 01:35 PM
Hibs should never play 4-5-1 at home against anyone.

Unfortunately we only have one striker. However, don't worry, cos CC said he has a couple of targets in mind that are much better than Sheridan.

This game was far too early for us, as we are a long way off from rebuilding the squad. I just hope we actually do it before the season starts proper in mid August (I've given up hope we'll manage this for next Saturday)

24-07-2011, 01:35 PM
No shots on target, no corners - no saves from their goalkeeper - we can't defend set pieces, we can't make use of set pieces, we're are unable to pass the ball to players more than 5 yards away in our team and we have no creativity at all except for the young lad Booth who had a good game. At the end an easy 3 pts for Celtic.

24-07-2011, 01:38 PM
Stats say it all really without a single attempt on target and not 1 corner to us.

Not good enough at home.

Possession
Hibs 41% Celtic 59%

Attempts on Target
Hibs 0 Celtic 4

Attempts off target
Hibs 0 Celtic 2

Corners
Hibs 0 Celtic 6

24-07-2011, 01:39 PM
plenty positives to take from that game and a major improvement from last year Only positives i saw were o'hanlon and booth but even then he was caught out of position a lot. Probably not his fault more down to lack of ability in front of him. Stevenson, galbraith and spoony never going to be great players. Top end first division standard. Long season ahead

24-07-2011, 01:44 PM
cant see how it was an improvement on last year to be honest, atleast we had a shot on target last year,relegation material at the moment. Soon find out how good we are against ICT.

Thomson
24-07-2011, 01:48 PM
No interview with Calderwood on ESPN? They interviewed Lennon But no Calderwood. Wanted to see what he had to say

24-07-2011, 01:50 PM
No interview with Calderwood on ESPN? They interviewed Lennon But no Calderwood. Wanted to see what he had to say
Just been interviewed on Radio Scotland.

He did mention that we would need to show more attacking flair (or words to that effect) next week at ICT.

24-07-2011, 01:52 PM
Just been interviewed on Radio Scotland.

He did mention that we would need to show more attacking flair (or words to that effect) next week at ICT.

more or ANY??? :rolleyes: