View Full Version : amy winehouse dead

23-07-2011, 04:29 PM
amy winehouse found dead in her flat (sky news)

23-07-2011, 04:36 PM
Wish I could say I'm surprised.

She had a decent voice, but such a self-destructive drive, it's no real shock.

23-07-2011, 04:39 PM
Tragic.

Judy Garland all over again.

23-07-2011, 04:40 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-14262237

23-07-2011, 04:41 PM
Think most people could see that coming a mile away.

23-07-2011, 04:41 PM
Poor Aim.

Seemed a genuinely troubled girl who certainly didn't get the care she needed and was definitely in the wrong game for somebody with mental health issues.

Hope she finds the peace that was most certainly denied her in life.

23-07-2011, 04:42 PM
Think most people could see that coming a mile away.

Ehm...no, actually. I didn't see it coming at all.

23-07-2011, 04:42 PM
Sad news, such a waste.

Just said on sky news that her father hasn't been informed yet as he is on a plane, how tragic that it is in the national news before her own dad knows about it.

23-07-2011, 04:48 PM
Ehm...no, actually. I didn't see it coming at all.

Well it was always likely she could overdose on drugs or something.

It's a shame to see it happen, but she was hardly a healthy women.

23-07-2011, 04:51 PM
Enjoyed her music a lot, and ignored the celeb carcrash nonsense. A real shame.

23-07-2011, 04:52 PM
The brightest stars burn for the shortest time. Thanks for doing it your way Amy.

23-07-2011, 05:05 PM
Biggest crowd at t in the park when I went a couple of years ago.

23-07-2011, 05:09 PM
This is not a surprise to me in the slightest.

I know it's not great to speculate on the cause of someone's death before anything's been confirmed but she clearly lead a very troubled life with alcohol and drug related problems.

It was really only a matter of time before this happened.

Still sad that someone so young has died in such circumstances though.

23-07-2011, 05:41 PM
She should have gone to rehab. Silly girl.

23-07-2011, 05:42 PM
I seem to remember her dad asking fans not to buy her songs as she'd only spend money on drugs and drink. Sad but I'm not surprised if she has indeed died due to what she's been pumping into herself.

23-07-2011, 05:43 PM
a troubled soul not helped by those she surrounded herself with...another tragic rock'n'roll burnout..R.I.P.

23-07-2011, 05:54 PM
She should have gone to rehab. Silly girl.

Yeah, that would have made everything better. Celeb rehab is the biggest com invented, patch them up so they can get back out and keep earning, and the public and press get all this pseudo born-again repentance bull*hit they crave.

23-07-2011, 06:03 PM
This is not a surprise to me in the slightest.It was really only a matter of time before this happened. http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,2017200,00.htmlTotal myth. Drunks can live for years and years, look at keith richards et al.

23-07-2011, 06:04 PM
Yeah, that would have made everything better. Celeb rehab is the biggest com invented, patch them up so they can get back out and keep earning, and the public and press get all this pseudo born-again repentance bull*hit they crave.
Is Celeb Rehab different to proper rehab Bob?

23-07-2011, 06:36 PM
Amazing how much people know about this girl's life and death, and her body isn't even cold yet. Still at least we know now that drink and drugs can be fatal - it wasn't all in vain Amy.

LALthehibeeGAL
23-07-2011, 06:47 PM
The brightest stars burn for the shortest time. Thanks for doing it your way Amy.

Couldn't have put it better myself :agree:- really the modern day singers can only dream about that sort of talent.

Yes self destruct and troubled but a raw talent and way too young to die.

R.I.P Amy

Lal:wink:

23-07-2011, 08:10 PM
http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,2017200,00.htmlTotal myth. Drunks can live for years and years, look at keith richards et al.

I think that article's actually quite misleading. It ends with talking about "moderate drinking". I think most people would accept that there is nothing harmful about the moderate consumption of alcohol. However I don't think there was anything "moderate" about Amy Winehouse's drinking habit. The various news channels have been talking about her concert last month in Belgrade where she was so drunk, she could barely stand up and could not remember the lyrics to her own songs.

Then there was also her drug addiction as well, which also could hardly be described as occasional.

All these things, more often than not, catch up with your body. There's not many people who can abuse their body in the way that Amy Winehouse has done in recent years and live to see their later years. I have someone in my family who is an alcoholic, they drank constantly for about 20 years and just over 20 years ago, they came very close to death. They were told there and then that if they drank another drop of alcohol they would die. They have been sober ever since and will celebrate their 65th birthday later this year. They now have various problems related to their alcohol abuse but otherwise there are no fears over their health.

Of course there are people who have these problems, you've cited the example of Keith Richards who is fast approaching 70 years old, who go on to live quite a long life. However, with the way things were going with Amy Winehouse, it didn't seem to me that she would live a long life and although I find her story incredibly sad, I cannot say that I was shocked at all when I heard about her death a few hours ago.

There seemed to be a sense of inevitability about her life ending sooner rather than later. She clearly had many demons deep within herself and I just hope that she has now found the peace that she could never find during her relatively short life.

23-07-2011, 08:31 PM
She should have gone to rehab. Silly girl.:top marks

She had 2 album's hardly a great talent, how good would she have been without the addiction's? Singers come and go she knew the perils, and was wise to the perils, but chose to ignore them, all the youngsters should be alerted to the facts that just because the star's [ Winehouse, Docherty and the like's] do drugs, that it's not cool, Schools should start there drink's and drug's education round this and maybe save a few youngsters from following the same trail.

23-07-2011, 08:50 PM
The Hawley Arms about 400 yds away from London Hibs meeting place at Quinns will now become a morbid gathering point for all the weirdos in London, which is a shame cos its a decent boozer.

23-07-2011, 08:55 PM
Poor Aim.

Seemed a genuinely troubled girl who certainly didn't get the care she needed and was definitely in the wrong game for somebody with mental health issues.

:agree: A fantastic talent. Back to Black one of my all time favourite albums.

RIP Amy

23-07-2011, 09:03 PM
Poor Aim.

Well said.

23-07-2011, 09:08 PM
Such a waste of a very talented singer...

R.I.P.

23-07-2011, 09:53 PM
Such a waste of a very talented singer...

R.I.P.

Yup - real shame. RIP

23-07-2011, 10:16 PM
Rip

EskbankHibby
23-07-2011, 10:54 PM
My wife and i met her on our honeymoon, she was staying in the same place in early 2009.

Had some of the weirdest conversations ever with her, amazingly short but incredibly fit and very attractive (beehive was not her real hair, just a bob). Pished most of the time but there with her dad when we were there and they seemed very happy.

We missed an impromptu performance by her one night in one of the bars (piano and her) which was apparently superb, my wife is yet to forgive me for that.

Very sad to hear of her passing.

RIP.

cad
24-07-2011, 01:09 AM
This girl needed help for years , sadly she didnt get it

RIP Amy

24-07-2011, 01:40 AM
Don't get it. There are young boys out there laying down their lives so that others might have the chance to live in peace and without fear. Nobody seems to give a flying who these guys are or what sacrifices they make. Their passing goes with a few lines on page 17 of the paper and maybe a small photo.

On the other hand a semi talented junkie whose whole life revolved around herself dies of an overdose and it's world news.

I really fail sometimes to understand this world we live in.

24-07-2011, 07:04 AM
A very reasonable point.

24-07-2011, 07:31 AM
Don't get it. There are young boys out there laying down their lives so that others might have the chance to live in peace and without fear. Nobody seems to give a flying who these guys are or what sacrifices they make. Their passing goes with a few lines on page 17 of the paper and maybe a small photo.

On the other hand a semi talented junkie whose whole life revolved around herself dies of an overdose and it's world news.

Fair points IMO but people remember (or think fondly) about the folk that have given them great pleasure and who have a public legacy that can continue to be enjoyed but can't about the people that we have never seen, who haven't done something publicly and have nothing to remember them by. That's why guys like Jim Morrison, Bob Marley, James Dean, Janis Joplin, Keith Moon and countless others continue to be remembered (and revered) whilst soldiers (or even charity workers) are, in the main, only remembered by those who knew them personally.

Twa Cairpets
24-07-2011, 07:48 AM
Fair points IMO but people remember (or think fondly) about the folk that have given them great pleasure and who have a public legacy that can continue to be enjoyed but can't about the people that we have never seen, who haven't done something publicly and have nothing to remember them by. That's why guys like Jim Morrison, Bob Marley, James Dean, Janis Joplin, Keith Moon and countless others continue to be remembered (and revered) whilst soldiers (or even charity workers) are, in the main, only remembered by those who knew them personally.

Perfect explanation.

The life and death of Amy Winehouse has virtually no effect upon me. I didnt like her voice or her music, and the glorification of her and (to an extent) her lifestyle and (apparent virtual beatification) on the TV and radio already is distatsteful and (to me anyway) bizarre.

24-07-2011, 08:24 AM
Never having heard her sing I have not a clue if she was good or not. Only tragic thing to me is the unnecessary death of a 27 year old female.

24-07-2011, 09:15 AM
:top marks:top marks

She had 2 album's hardly a great talent, how good would she have been without the addiction's? Singers come and go she knew the perils, and was wise to the perils, but chose to ignore them, all the youngsters should be alerted to the facts that just because the star's [ Winehouse, Docherty and the like's] do drugs, that it's not cool, Schools should start there drink's and drug's education round this and maybe save a few youngsters from following the same trail.

You don't measure talent by the number of records someone produces. I actuallly believe that the things that make some artists into drinkers and drug addicts are also the same things that are the source of their talent.

I think you are right though, maybe we should start to educate youngsters about how bad drugs are. I reckon we should tell them to "just say no".

24-07-2011, 09:19 AM

I think that is lacking in dignity. The two things are totally unrelated , yet you choose to score a cheap point for another cause.

The death of one person doesn't make the death of another any more or less tragic. Perhaps you would prefer that we use our freedom to screen 24 hour popaganda films glorifying Our Boys, and extolling the virtues clean Christian living?

Perfect explanation.

The life and death of Amy Winehouse has virtually no effect upon me. I didnt like her voice or her music, and the glorification of her and (to an extent) her lifestyle and (apparent virtual beatification) on the TV and radio already is distatsteful and (to me anyway) bizarre.

Can't say I've seen anything glorifying her so far, just balanced reports. I think it's fair to say that many people believe Amy Winehouse had a rare and exceptional talent that set her aside from others. It is one of the more newsworthy celebrity deaths IMO.

24-07-2011, 12:39 PM
I think that is lacking in dignity. The two things are totally unrelated , yet you choose to score a cheap point for another cause.

The death of one person doesn't make the death of another any more or less tragic. Perhaps you would prefer that we use our freedom to screen 24 hour popaganda films glorifying Our Boys, and extolling the virtues clean Christian living?

Can't say I've seen anything glorifying her so far, just balanced reports. I think it's fair to say that many people believe Amy Winehouse had a rare and exceptional talent that set her aside from others. It is one of the more newsworthy celebrity deaths IMO.

It's got absolutely nothing to do about scoring cheap points rather an honest question about the priorities and the values of our society.

I fail to understand the fact that an egocentric smack-head would appear to be more deserving of a public outpouring of grief than someone who has sacrificed their life/time/family/friends/security in an attempt to aid others. And by that I do mean as you so provocatively put "Our Boys", but also the countless aid workers who risk all in far flung hell holes, firemen, nurses, doctors, paramedics, blockade breakers, journalists and other everyday folks who go out and try and make the difference.

Amy Winehouse's hunger for acclamation and fame was probably the driving force behind her rise to fame just as surely as her egoistic indulgences were a part of her downfall.
I also think your snipe at my alleged lack of dignity is laughable in a thread regarding the life and death of Amy Winehouse.

24-07-2011, 01:55 PM
Is Celeb Rehab different to proper rehab Bob?

Yes, you're correct, sweeping generalization on my part to rubbish all the models and forms of rehab, some of which have been proven to be effective.

I was just watching that charlatan Dr Drew, that's why I reacted so strongly. What a callow chancer that man is with his tacky reality car crash TV show!

24-07-2011, 02:16 PM
Another one for the 27 club...

24-07-2011, 02:27 PM
Another one for the 27 club...

Just out of interest, how old is Pete Doherty?

24-07-2011, 03:02 PM
It's got absolutely nothing to do about scoring cheap points rather an honest question about the priorities and the values of our society.

I fail to understand the fact that an egocentric smack-head would appear to be more deserving of a public outpouring of grief than someone who has sacrificed their life/time/family/friends/security in an attempt to aid others. And by that I do mean as you so provocatively put "Our Boys", but also the countless aid workers who risk all in far flung hell holes, firemen, nurses, doctors, paramedics, blockade breakers, journalists and other everyday folks who go out and try and make the difference.

Amy Winehouse's hunger for acclamation and fame was probably the driving force behind her rise to fame just as surely as her egoistic indulgences were a part of her downfall.
I also think your snipe at my alleged lack of dignity is laughable in a thread regarding the life and death of Amy Winehouse.

I fail to understand why you feel the need to compare the sad death of Amy Winehouse, to the sad deaths of other people. Regardless of what you think of her and her character, it is a tragedy for her friends and family, and a great waste of a talented singer.

24-07-2011, 03:03 PM
Just out of interest, how old is Pete Doherty? Early thirties.

24-07-2011, 11:26 PM
I fail to understand why you feel the need to compare the sad death of Amy Winehouse, to the sad deaths of other people. Regardless of what you think of her and her character, it is a tragedy for her friends and family, and a great waste of a talented singer.
Agreed, however I wasn't actually comparing her death with anyone elses, instead I was questioning the public outpouring of grief to her death compared to to the apparent disinterest in the fate of many people who in my opinion are more worthy of such tributes.

25-07-2011, 07:24 AM
This girl needed help for years , sadly she didnt get it

RIP Amy

From what I can gather she had lots of help, but if the person themselves doesn't want help then what happened on Saturday is inevitable I'm afraid.

Another member for the 27 club along with Cobain, Morrison, Joplin, Hendrix & Jones.

Incidentally Russel Brand had a great piece on his website about her.

http://www.russellbrand.tv/2011/07/for-amy/

Twa Cairpets
25-07-2011, 07:29 AM

I was driving back from the Highlands on Saturday, and the coverage on the radio was verging on reverential.

As for talent, it is entirely a matter of taste - I didnt get it myself, and have always found her voice irritating. I also suspect that a great deal of her appeal was her image and the "flawed genius" type tag.

25-07-2011, 12:01 PM
Find myself agreeing with everyone on this thread, no matter what side you're putting across, on the one hand I'm amazed she lived to see 27, but on the other it's a bloody tragedy, I realise she wasn't everyones cup of tea, even I wasn't her biggest fan, but that voice...........

Would like to see a bit more understanding from people regarding addiction (Whether it be heroin or a coffee every single morning). To be honest this story I wouldn't have given a monkeys about 5 years ago but now that I've got my own kids, stories like this touch a nerve, you just hope that you'll never have to go through anything remotely like this, I feel for the family and friends and the pieces they'll be currently picking up.

25-07-2011, 06:44 PM
Agreed, however I wasn't actually comparing her death with anyone elses, instead I was questioning the public outpouring of grief to her death compared to to the apparent disinterest in the fate of many people who in my opinion are more worthy of such tributes.

Thanks for your balanced replies, my retort to your post was a bit below the belt. I can see where you are coming from to an extent - but I actually think that the soldiers who die do get much of the respect they deserve.

I can only speak for myself on the Amy Winehouse subject. To me she was an example of the sort of artistic genius that comes from what some people would call madness. Many people would argue that without the troubled side of her personality she couldn't have sung the way she did, and put such soul into the songs. That is the tragedy, in experiencing her talent, we were also hearing her troubles.

Some of the criticisms on here smack of people who feel that she got what she deserved because she didn't follow the righteous path. I don't think there is any need. Amy wasn't asking anyone to be like her, just to let her be the way she was. Whether we like it or not, self destruction was her choice.

It was a newsworthy event, I don't think it has been overplayed. It is in much the same vein as the way the deaths of Hendrix, or Brian Jones were reported. There is an almost damning glee in some people's statements.

25-07-2011, 06:45 PM
I was driving back from the Highlands on Saturday, and the coverage on the radio was verging on reverential.

As for talent, it is entirely a matter of taste - I didnt get it myself, and have always found her voice irritating. I also suspect that a great deal of her appeal was her image and the "flawed genius" type tag.

:dunno: Blues and soul folk ken whit was gaun oan. She was popular in those circles long before she got headlines for other reasons.

As for the radio coverage, was it by any chance on a pop station aimed at the younger end of the listening audience?

Twa Cairpets
25-07-2011, 08:41 PM
:dunno: Blues and soul folk ken whit was gaun oan. She was popular in those circles long before she got headlines for other reasons.

As for the radio coverage, was it by any chance on a pop station aimed at the younger end of the listening audience?

No, I cant remember the last time I listened to a music channel, and it must be 20+ years since Radio One held any appeal - I suspect I'm somewhat outwith their target demographic now. The only stations you can get any type of decent reception on between Crianlarich and Callander are Radio 4 LW and Five Live, and it was the latter that had a series of reverential interviews with former musical collaborators, fans and music journos.

khib70
26-07-2011, 08:23 AM

Excellent post

No one should be taking any pleasure in the death of a young woman, but people make choices and they are ultimately responsible for them.

Having first hand experience of living with an addict, I believe that addiction is the ultimate expression of selfishness. No one ever became addicted to anything to help others or enhance their lives. To the addict, only they have any importance.

There are those who will benefit from her death. For her record company and others, a tragic martyr is so much more of a saleable proposition than a disfunctional walking disaster who can barely stand on stage.

26-07-2011, 11:07 AM
Excellent post

No one should be taking any pleasure in the death of a young woman, but people make choices and they are ultimately responsible for them.

Having first hand experience of living with an addict, I believe that addiction is the ultimate expression of selfishness. No one ever became addicted to anything to help others or enhance their lives. To the addict, only they have any importance.

There are those who will benefit from her death. For her record company and others, a tragic martyr is so much more of a saleable proposition than a disfunctional walking disaster who can barely stand on stage.

Sharing one's life with an 'addict' can connote many vastly differing vagaries and while I can empathise, I feel that to put all 'addicts' in the same box would require a box of massive dimensions.

I would argue that some addicts are indeed created in order to enhance their lives and those around them. Obviously this is a small amount in the big picture but to denounce all addicts in the same pejorative classification is clearly misinformed. What about the amputee (for the sake of argument) who has become dependent on opiate based analgesia as a consequence of suffering mind-blowing agony? Or the alcoholic who started out enhancing his/her life by enjoying a night out and engaging with alcohol to a point (initially) where he/she became a popular, funny, engaging member of the company - thus enhancing, albeit in small doses, the lives of those around them. Not everyone chooses to become addicted and while many addicts do behave despicably selfishly, this is certainly not the case over the board.
As for Winehouse, all we know about her is what is fed into the public domain and afforded us by a sensationalist media machine. With this lack of proper information, I'm certainly in no position to judge her; and with the same paltry information available...who is?

26-07-2011, 11:59 AM

Too simplistic imo. An addiction may not benefit others, but that's not to say that an addict is incapable of selfless acts.

27-07-2011, 03:32 PM
Excellent post

I agree with this, but I think in many cases (certainly not all) you're mistaking cause and effect.

01-08-2011, 11:13 AM
Just out of interest, how old is Pete Doherty?

32, why do you ask?

(((Fergus)))
01-08-2011, 11:25 AM
Excellent post

You have a point there. Drugs are for self-pleasure only. Addiction is therefore total commitment to self pleasure above all else = ultimate in self-centredness. That's not to say that (we) addicts were always so or have to remain so forever.

I didn't much the lady's studio music, but some of her demos are pretty powerful...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUxjll2iddk

01-08-2011, 09:59 PM
32, why do you ask?

Ah well, maybe he can make club 33. Most famous member Jesus Christ!

02-08-2011, 07:44 AM
Tanya Gold wrote this in The Guardian:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2011/jul/24/amy-winehouse-alcoholism-addiction

This is a good reply from Phil Barker:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2011/jul/25/addiction-myth-amy-winehouse?INTCMP=ILCNETTXT3487

I think Tanya is wide of the mark saying that it is a mental illness. I also think Barker is wide of the mark saying that it is a matter of choice.

Personally, I don't know. I think that the treatment for addiction is much the same as the way that Barker thinks mental illness should be treated - his Tidal Model borrows a lot from the principles of the AA.

At the end of the day we are talking about getting people to where they want to be. It is too simple to say that addicts can choose where they want their lives to go, in much the same way that people with depression can choose not to be depressed.

06-08-2011, 10:19 PM
Just watching Jools Hollands retrospective on her tonight. 'Heard it through the grapevine' duet with Paul Weller blew me away. She was an unbelievable talent. What a voice.

07-08-2011, 08:49 AM
Just watching Jools Hollands retrospective on her tonight. 'Heard it through the grapevine' duet with Paul Weller blew me away. She was an unbelievable talent. What a voice.

I think when Jools Holland puts her alongside Bessie Smith and Edith Piaf, it is a strong testimony for how talented the girl was. The word legend is thrown around too readily in our culture, but Amy Winehouse was definitely one of the greats.

08-08-2011, 10:37 PM
I visited her home with my daughter last Wednesday in Camden Square.

Despite Camden Council clearing the flowers, candles etc away on there were lots of flowers, letters, poems etc left on Wednesday alone. There were tens of people there and this was 8pm, 11 days after her death. There must have been thousands of visitors/mourners on the preceeding days.

As we left and walked down the neighbouring streets baack to Camden Road there were loads of people asking for directions to her house.

BTW, the house had a 24 hour guard.

Twa Cairpets
09-08-2011, 03:47 PM
I visited her home with my daughter last Wednesday in Camden Square.

Despite Camden Council clearing the flowers, candles etc away on there were lots of flowers, letters, poems etc left on Wednesday alone. There were tens of people there and this was 8pm, 11 days after her death. There must have been thousands of visitors/mourners on the preceeding days.

As we left and walked down the neighbouring streets baack to Camden Road there were loads of people asking for directions to her house.

BTW, the house had a 24 hour guard.

Out of curiosity TQM, why did you go her house? Not having a pop, but I've never understood the desire for people to go the site where a famous person has dies. What do you (and/or your daughter look to get out of it?).

Why leave flowers and/or poems/letters etc? It seems an odd thing to do and, well, kind of self-absorbed. Would it not be better donating the fiver spent on a bunch of Tesco flowers (which are going to be binned and wont be appreciated by the person they are ostensibly for) to a charity for drug addiction?

It seems very mawkish to me, but each to their own.

10-08-2011, 11:28 AM
Out of curiosity TQM, why did you go her house? Not having a pop, but I've never understood the desire for people to go the site where a famous person has dies. What do you (and/or your daughter look to get out of it?).

Why leave flowers and/or poems/letters etc? It seems an odd thing to do and, well, kind of self-absorbed. Would it not be better donating the fiver spent on a bunch of Tesco flowers (which are going to be binned and wont be appreciated by the person they are ostensibly for) to a charity for drug addiction?

It seems very mawkish to me, but each to their own.

My daughter wanted to go to see the tributes .. it is not an every day occurence :greengrin

hibbytam
23-08-2011, 03:03 PM
Just been reported that there were no illegal drugs involved in her death.

23-08-2011, 03:54 PM
Did it mention legal drugs or did stopping drinking kill her?