Fiery.

23-07-2011, 11:23 AM

23-07-2011, 11:24 AM
lots of empty spaces :agree: 14,861

LeithBoozy
23-07-2011, 11:33 AM
The Hibbys that want to support the lads will be there, I hope the doommongers stay away. As you are no help to the team whatsoever.

23-07-2011, 11:36 AM

I would hate to see it if against St Mirren etc.

23-07-2011, 11:37 AM
14007 nailed on.

23-07-2011, 11:40 AM
The Hibbys that want to support the lads will be there, I hope the doommongers stay away. As you are no help to the team whatsoever.

So how many then?

LeithBoozy
23-07-2011, 11:50 AM
16,280, the usual things conspiring against a big crowd, on TV, Sunday, 12;30 ko.

23-07-2011, 11:52 AM
:cgwa:flag::hibees

Who gives a flier whether there are 100 of us or 10,000 as long as we are making some NOISE!! :greengrin

23-07-2011, 12:07 PM
17,770 :agree:

Plus the millions watching at home...

23-07-2011, 12:18 PM
The Celtic end will be full so that's at least approximately 3,500.

I would say that the attendance will be about the 15,000 mark.

Titch
23-07-2011, 12:21 PM

23-07-2011, 12:22 PM

yekimevol
23-07-2011, 12:25 PM

23-07-2011, 12:39 PM

I think their cash would be very helpful.

23-07-2011, 12:42 PM

As a sidenote does anyone know the last time ER was sold out or near to? Can't remember a game when the ground was ever near 20k mark.

Bob Box Fish
23-07-2011, 12:57 PM
Approx 7k season ticket holders, 3800 Celtic fans and 1200 walk up I'd say 12000.

23-07-2011, 01:09 PM

As a sidenote does anyone know the last time ER was sold out or near to? Can't remember a game when the ground was ever near 20k mark.

Think our highest was against the Yams in April. 17,793

Our opening fixture against the Huns last season was just a bit less than that at 17,145

AJWisme
23-07-2011, 02:04 PM
Well I'll definitely be a gap, had ACL reconstruction on Wednesday so this is too soon :boo hoo:

23-07-2011, 06:19 PM
Assuming their end is full, going by the online ticket site, we could be looking at about 14,500.

23-07-2011, 06:23 PM
An embarrassing 14,000. Hope I am wrong, but holidays and TV watchers will play a big part.

23-07-2011, 06:26 PM

Would have been 15,472 but I've got an interview in Munich on Monday.

I know, part-timer, glory hunter, etc, etc.

23-07-2011, 06:28 PM

A packed away end and very embarassing gaps in the East and FF.

23-07-2011, 07:03 PM

hope the we can make a big roar for the teams comign out to get the hibees up for it:flag::flag::flag:

23-07-2011, 07:25 PM
Less than 14,000

one day maybe...
23-07-2011, 07:29 PM
Four and a dug :greengrin

Sorry childish I know.. :tee hee:

23-07-2011, 08:23 PM
How come you can't access the stadium plan that tells you how many seats are available in each block for this game?

I remember last season people were doing it for a match (against Hearts I think? :dunno:) so it can't be because this is a cat A match.

hibsfan7
23-07-2011, 09:08 PM

and 400,000 hearts fans coming down and locked out just to see us beat celtic 2-0

jarre1875
24-07-2011, 08:37 AM

HibbyDave
24-07-2011, 08:42 AM
I'll go for 11,569.

24-07-2011, 08:58 AM

24-07-2011, 09:57 AM
11916 I see what you've done there! ;-)

Bob Box Fish
24-07-2011, 01:53 PM
Less than 9k hibbies there today.

24-07-2011, 01:57 PM
Less than 9k hibbies there today.

9000 more than the club deserve.

24-07-2011, 02:02 PM
Not to say we told you so , but, WE TOLD YOU SO.
Game live on the telly, 28 quid a ticket not including the customary ripoff booking fee, a manager who would rather be elsewhere, team full of kids(not bad for long term) crap KO time, GP on the telly, 1 striker. Its nae wonder folk dinnae gie a 5hit anymore. I was thinking that folk would start turning their backs on Hibs but not to this extent. Petrie you only huv yirsel tae blame.

micksoo
24-07-2011, 02:05 PM
What was it?

MUPPET
24-07-2011, 02:07 PM
9000 more than the club deserve. Were you in the 9000?

24-07-2011, 02:18 PM
Not to say we told you so , but, WE TOLD YOU SO.
Game live on the telly, 28 quid a ticket not including the customary ripoff booking fee, a manager who would rather be elsewhere, team full of kids(not bad for long term) crap KO time, GP on the telly, 1 striker. Its nae wonder folk dinnae gie a 5hit anymore. I was thinking that folk would start turning their backs on Hibs but not to this extent. Petrie you only huv yirsel tae blame.

this

Bobo
24-07-2011, 02:25 PM
What was it?

12523 according to BBC

24-07-2011, 02:25 PM
Were you in the 9000?

No

In order to have gone to the game today I would have had to:

Organise a baby sitter due to the missus working this afternoon
Swap my shift as I'm working in half an hour
Drive the 260 mile round trip at a cost of £50 for petrol due to the fact that there are no trains on a Sunday that arrive in Edinburgh in time for the early kick off.

Don't get me wrong, if I thought we had a team that was worth it, I'd have happily done all that as I have many a time in the past. Having said that, if I thought we had a team worth it (or even a manager that wanted to be at the club) I might not have bought a season ticket for the 26th season.

24-07-2011, 02:33 PM
Time to increase the size of the away end. We could have had an extra 3500 paying customer in the ground today.

24-07-2011, 02:36 PM
Lots of gaps showing on the telly....and lots of bare patches on the park.

seems we can't even get the park rady for the kick off!

24-07-2011, 02:39 PM
Time to increase the size of the away end. We could have had an extra 3500 paying customer in the ground today.

Sadly that's where we'll be heading if people continue to stay away.

24-07-2011, 02:42 PM
Build it and they will come.

24-07-2011, 02:42 PM

Yes your right Mikey, but a situation brought about entirely by our under achieving board. Time for a change to re energise the place and get a proper footballing strategy together.

24-07-2011, 02:49 PM
Depressing numbers today in the home end.

Despite folk being quite rightly P'd off I'm disappointed so many are voting with their feet.

The board have overall responsibility and you wonder what their strategy if any is.

The increase in the cost of a season ticket this season against the economic environment and last season was a huge mistake.

24-07-2011, 02:54 PM
Build it and they will come.

A team yes, a ground no.

24-07-2011, 02:54 PM
Over the 6 cat A games increasing the size of the away end would bring in an extra £0.5m. Enough to fund another Striker. Get it done Rod.

Top Pans Hibby
24-07-2011, 02:58 PM
Less than 9000 Hibbies at the game today might actually be a blessing in disguise.

Cash is the only language Petrie understands. 4000 x £28 lost due to the shambles that was our pre season resulting in the embarrassment that we do not have one single shot on goal at a game at Easter Road.

24-07-2011, 02:58 PM
Am I correct that the opening fixture against Rangers last season had 17500 in attendance? That's around 5000 lost fans from the home end. At an average of say £22 per ticket, taking into account concessions, that's £110,000 lost today. Surely the CEO of any company would be under pressure with figures like that!

24-07-2011, 03:01 PM
Am I correct that the opening fixture against Rangers last season had 17500 in attendance? That's around 5000 lost fans from the home end. At an average of say £22 per ticket, taking into account concessions, that's £110,000 lost today. Surely the CEO of any company would be under pressure with figures like that!

I'm pretty sure you are right. :agree:

The board made noises after the new East stand opened about how they were going to target increasing the home support, I'd love to know what their master plan for that is now, the decrease from the beginning of last season is absolutely shocking.

24-07-2011, 03:15 PM

And the incentive to come along is that we can all trust the board to invest our season ticket money to give us something worth watching on the park.

I had a season ticket for the last three seasons, so did my bit. However, I could count on the fingers of one hand the number of games that I really enjoyed going to. If the investment the fans made did not result in a team worth watching in those three seasons, what guarantee is there that it'll be any different this time? Maybe if the club announce that they'll get partial refunds on the ST money if the games turn out to be as miserable as last year.

We have a good stadium and, by all accounts, a very good training centre. I doubt very much that people want to pay in the region of £400 per year to stare at them.

I admire your enthusiasm in encouraging as many people to attend as possible but the only thing that'll make them want to turn up is if they think they're going to watch a decent team getting reasonable results. The supporters have spoken, they don't think it's worth it.

24-07-2011, 03:26 PM
I was there on a cracking day for footie....Pleased to see so many kids and women at the game...much more pleasant fellow fans than some of you greeting faced stay away barstewards :devil:

24-07-2011, 04:28 PM
It doesn't bear thinking about what the attendance might be for our next next home league match against St Mirren.

We could be looking at about 7,000 people turning up for that.

24-07-2011, 04:41 PM
It doesn't bear thinking about what the attendance might be for our next next home league match against St Mirren.

We could be looking at about 7,000 people turning up for that.

What about the Sunderland game....not part of ST so that will be a real tester.........

24-07-2011, 04:44 PM
From watching on TV in London I thought attendance would be in region of 14-15,000. Yes there were plenty gaps but for Hibs to only have about 8,400 fans there means our 3 stands were only 50% full. They looked about 60-70% full. I would appreciate thoughts from those who were there.

24-07-2011, 04:47 PM
What about the Sunderland game....not part of ST so that will be a real tester.........

With Sunderland's splash in Transfer Market it wouldn't surprise me if they have more fans than us. I still think this friendly is a crazy idea & ( perhaps wrongly ) assume it's the brainwave of RP?

24-07-2011, 04:50 PM
From watching on TV in London I thought attendance would be in region of 14-15,000. Yes there were plenty gaps but for Hibs to only have about 8,400 fans there means our 3 stands were only 50% full. They looked about 60-70% full. I would appreciate thoughts from those who were there.

Nah gaps were all over..very few parts where every seat was taken....

Its another whole debate, but plenty visitors to Edinburgh getting tops from shop...but no way to get into match due to Database issue...crazy really

24-07-2011, 05:05 PM

Although I'm going to that match, I'm not really fussy about how many people turn up for that. It will probably be about 8,000 and a large number of them will probably be Sunderland supporters.

It's ridiculous that our (home) match vs St Johnstone has been postponed for this game to take place.

I am concerned about our number of fans at league matches and apart from games against the Old Firm and Hearts, we could be looking at attendances being constantly well below 10,000 for the remainder of this season, unless we see a massive upturn in performances and results.

24-07-2011, 05:18 PM
aye credit to rod as another post says

24-07-2011, 05:25 PM
12523 according to BBC

What a truly ***** attendance for the opening game of the season.

24-07-2011, 05:29 PM

It might make the club realise how disillusioned large swathes of the support is though so every cloud and all that.

24-07-2011, 06:05 PM
I see what you've done there! ;-) aye, a deft touch in consideration of todays guests.

24-07-2011, 07:46 PM
It might make the club realise how disillusioned large swathes of the support is though so every cloud and all that.

Either that or it will make them realise what a fickle fan base they have!! Ironic really, as I am typing my Hibs callendar sits proudly on the wall behind the computer, a picture of Bamba moaning at the ref about something and if my memory serves me correct around 17,500 people in a stadium, and that was after we went on a downward sprial in the second half of the season before.

I know holidays and the fact that was the first game with the new east stand will have played a part, but it is pretty sad.

24-07-2011, 07:50 PM
Either that or it will make them realise what a fickle fan base they have!! Ironic really, as I am typing my Hibs callendar sits proudly on the wall behind the computer, a picture of Bamba moaning at the ref about something and if my memory serves me correct around 17,500 people in a stadium, and that was after we went on a downward sprial in the second half of the season before.

I know holidays and the fact that was the first game with the new east stand will have played a part, but it is pretty sad.

Hardly, A number of fans are totally fed up and have made their feelings known by voting with their feet..... Fickle maybe, hacked off definitely...........

24-07-2011, 07:52 PM

Shows how bad a job CC has done.

We did have very poor form end of season before last but we could also still point at being able to score six away from home, albeit losing six ourselves!

We still thought we could come and try and see some attacking football.

Doesnt say much for CC that with the fans getting their wish to change the manager, empty most of the unpopular players and sign almost a whole new team that very few people are interested in coming. We've now got the chicken and egg thing. We won't be able to get more players in on these crowds.

crash
24-07-2011, 08:04 PM

We did have very poor form end of season before last but we could also still point at being able to score six away from home, albeit losing six ourselves!

Doesnt say much for CC that with the fans getting their wish to change the manager, empty most of the unpopular players and sign almost a whole new team that very few people are interested in coming. We've now got the chicken and egg thing. We won't be able to get more players in on these crowds.

At the end of the day you have to provide entertainment if you want to attract customers, havent seen a great game at ER for years. This negative pub team garbage under Calderwood is painful to watch and is plunging us into a downward spiral.

24-07-2011, 08:05 PM

:applause: Keep on banging that tambourine for Yogi. Someone has to until he gets another job. :greengrin

Analysis of this post:
CC and the fan base - are criminally negligent and wholly at fault for the club's current predicament.
Board and Yogi - are innocent of all charges.

Problem with this post:
The Board clearly believe that Yogi contributed significantly to the current problems and have stated so publicly.

hibbymac
24-07-2011, 08:14 PM
At the end of the day you have to provide entertainment if you want to attract customers, havent seen a great game at ER for years. This negative pub team garbage under Calderwood is painful to watch and is plunging us into a downward spiral.

:agree: ....however, some on here seem to think zero shots on target, zero shots off target zero corners and restricting Celtic to a 2-0 victory is fine, .... we should do these :ostrich: in green and white.

24-07-2011, 08:31 PM
:applause: Keep on banging that tambourine for Yogi. Someone has to until he gets another job. :greengrin

Analysis of this post:
CC and the fan base - are criminally negligent and wholly at fault for the club's current predicament.
Board and Yogi - are innocent of all charges.

Problem with this post:
The Board clearly believe that Yogi contributed significantly to the current problems and have stated so publicly.
This is about CC and there's no excuse about anything the previous manager left.

Quite how so many people who rounded on the previous guy can find so many excuses for CC is a bit puzzling.

He's been here a while now and I've yet to see what others seem to.

24-07-2011, 08:44 PM
This is about CC and there's no excuse about anything the previous manager left.
No, you've also roped in the fans. Here:

You continue to blame the support for having ousted Yogi from his post.

Quite how so many people who rounded on the previous guy can find so many excuses for CC is a bit puzzling.

Oh, and you've just done it here as well.

Ants
24-07-2011, 09:00 PM
Hardly, A number of fans are totally fed up and have made their feelings known by voting with their feet..... Fickle maybe, hacked off definitely...........

Any queries about the pitiful attendance should be emailed to the board, They have been addressing the emails throughout the closed season, without any results.
A good few posters have made our concerns to the board, they ignored themand it is the pitiful attendance that is now doing the talking.

MUPPET
24-07-2011, 09:04 PM
No

In order to have gone to the game today I would have had to:

Organise a baby sitter due to the missus working this afternoon
Swap my shift as I'm working in half an hour
Drive the 260 mile round trip at a cost of £50 for petrol due to the fact that there are no trains on a Sunday that arrive in Edinburgh in time for the early kick off.

Don't get me wrong, if I thought we had a team that was worth it, I'd have happily done all that as I have many a time in the past. Having said that, if I thought we had a team worth it (or even a manager that wanted to be at the club) I might not have bought a season ticket for the 26th season.

Allrighty then!!!!

24-07-2011, 09:08 PM

Summer football :devil:.

In all seriousness the attendance today was shocking. To drop 5k fans in under a year aint good and clearly points that someone isn't doing their job right. God only knows what the crowds will be like against Sunderland and St Mirren. I for one wont be there.

Purple & Green
24-07-2011, 10:11 PM
I posted this up on the bounce, but I think it's worth posting here also - this is all our attendances v Celtic in the last 10 or so years lower than todays crowd. A bit perspective, if you like:

5 3 2000 SPL 25 H W 2 1 12236
6 5 2001 SPL 36 H L 2 5 8728
2 2 2002 SPL 27 H D 1 1 12315
4 12 2002 SPL 18 H L 0 1 12042
27 9 2003 SPL 7 H L 1 2 12032
18 12 2003 League Cup QF H W 9246
21 3 2004 SPL 27 H L 0 4 9456
4 4 2010 SPL 32 H L 0 1 10523

And back in 1997, when we played Celtic on opening day the crowd was 13051. Not that different from yesterday.

Hibs07p
25-07-2011, 06:02 AM
I posted this up on the bounce, but I think it's worth posting here also - this is all our attendances v Celtic in the last 10 or so years lower than todays crowd. A bit perspective, if you like:

5 3 2000 SPL 25 H W 2 1 12236
6 5 2001 SPL 36 H L 2 5 8728
2 2 2002 SPL 27 H D 1 1 12315
4 12 2002 SPL 18 H L 0 1 12042
27 9 2003 SPL 7 H L 1 2 12032
18 12 2003 League Cup QF H W 9246
21 3 2004 SPL 27 H L 0 4 9456
4 4 2010 SPL 32 H L 0 1 10523

And back in 1997, when we played Celtic on opening day the crowd was 13051. Not that different from yesterday.

And if I remember correctly, we were relegated the following year. Doesn't bode well for the future.

25-07-2011, 10:11 AM
[QUOTE=Hibs07p;2868517][/B]

And if I remember correctly, we were relegated the following year. Doesn't bode well for the future.

Ah, but we won that day - the Chic Charnley goal!! We should be alright this time! :wink:

25-07-2011, 10:23 AM
There are six of us have season tickets together and four of us are still on holiday. We hav'nt cost the club a penny, unless you want to count a couple of pies and a couple of quid for the youth tickets.

Saying that I probably miss a few more games than before but I'll always buy my Season Ticket.

25-07-2011, 10:34 AM

If they don't know their arse from their elbow, they may well conclude that. Anyone running a business who doesn't already realise that customers will only put up with dross product for so long is incompetent.

25-07-2011, 04:07 PM

I was a Yogi supporter who defended him when most were against him. By the end of it I accepted the decision to start anew. I'm also a CC backer and think that there has been improvement in the side since he came in.

As for yesterday's performance, while I'm bitterly disappointed in not having a shot, I don't think we were all to bad. I thought Celtic were very impressive and will wipe the floor with most teams so ICT/Killie & St.M shall be the better tests of which to judge our position.

25-07-2011, 04:27 PM
If they don't know their arse from their elbow, they may well conclude that. Anyone running a business who doesn't already realise that customers will only put up with dross product for so long is incompetent.

:agree::agree:

The Board must be cognisant of why the attendance was so low, otherwise their heads must be zipped up at the back

25-07-2011, 04:28 PM

As is the lack of transfer activity