View Full Version : NHC Dundee buzzing

21-07-2011, 04:56 PM
Just driven through Dundee and initially thought that Celtc were in town.

Closer inspection showed that it was European opponents draped in the green and white .. maybe Polish?? (I'll do a quick google shortly)

Looked to be quite a few of them in town .. and also going by their appearance and numbers I think it might get quite "meaty" at the game tonight.

21-07-2011, 05:05 PM
Quite a big Polish contingent up here. One or two that I know are going to the game tonight.

wearethehibs
21-07-2011, 05:06 PM
Its the 2nd leg of the europa tie, polish team 1-0 up from the 1st leg.

Watched some of it last week and the fans in green looked pretty mad, singing and bouncing throughout the game.

Newhaven
21-07-2011, 05:20 PM
A large police presence at haymarket too and they were holding some of the fans

tamsonsbairn
21-07-2011, 05:21 PM
Just arrived in dundee, place is jumpln wi slask fans. Looking forward tod a good game.

21-07-2011, 05:24 PM
Is it oan the tv nut? :dunno:

tamsonsbairn
21-07-2011, 05:29 PM
Just arrived in dundee, place is jumpln wi slask fans. Looking forward tod a good game.

21-07-2011, 05:33 PM
5k Poles expected, only 2k of tickets. There were clashes with the Polis earlier apparently.

Top Pans Hibby
21-07-2011, 05:40 PM
Ah.... a European game....if only...

and going by the current shambles at ER it may be some time before we savour another European night

wearethehibs
21-07-2011, 06:09 PM
They were trying to interview the Utd manager on the radio pitch side but you couldn't hear him cause of all the poles singing in the ground an hour before kick off.

If only Hibs fans were like that.

21-07-2011, 06:14 PM
Is it oan the tv nut? :dunno:

anyone.

21-07-2011, 06:15 PM
Not on the TV, no.

21-07-2011, 06:18 PM
Tell a lie actually, it's on Premier Sports (Sky 433), but that's it.

21-07-2011, 06:23 PM
Tell a lie actually, it's on Premier Sports (Sky 433), but that's it.

Is that a pay per view channel?

21-07-2011, 06:26 PM
What time is kick-off?

Yeah, it requires a subscription. Can't imagine they have many subscribers either...

What time is kick-off? 7:45

21-07-2011, 06:28 PM
Yeah, it requires a subscription. Can't imagine they have many subscribers either...

There may be a link?...............

21-07-2011, 06:28 PM
Yeah, it requires a subscription. Can't imagine they have many subscribers either... My mate Justin will probably have it on for free. Will need to give him a call :agree:

21-07-2011, 06:32 PM
Past dozens of them on the way through town.
A couple of them were holding each other up, they were that drunk.
Some hassle earlier in the day when (allegedly) there was fisticuffs with a big-issue vendor.
Most of them seemed to be drinking cases of beer in the town square.

ah - european adventures :greengrin

21-07-2011, 06:35 PM
My mate Justin will probably have it on for free. Will need to give him a call :agree:

Ma pal Justin couldn't find it on his telebox - he recorded the first leg, but wouldn't give me anything to help with the second leg!

Edit: Got the radio coverage on - what a ****ing racket the Poles are making! Very impressive.

21-07-2011, 06:38 PM
live on Radio :agree:

And other selective live options :wink:

21-07-2011, 06:42 PM
Should be a good stream for it on here http://atdhe1.net/

21-07-2011, 06:42 PM
live on Radio :agree:

And other selective live options :wink:

I've been trying to source said live options, but no joy - I'll settle for the radio.

Was going to go along actually, but was too late getting back into Dundee tonight.

21-07-2011, 06:45 PM
1 nil Arabs

Poles strip is EXACTLY the same as ours by the looks of it.....
Utd scored

1-0 Arabs :thumbsup:

21-07-2011, 06:48 PM
2-0 Arabs! Explosive start :thumbsup:

21-07-2011, 06:49 PM
Utd 2 up, Goodwillie

21-07-2011, 06:49 PM
Nice finish...tannadice looks bouncing.

21-07-2011, 06:52 PM
watching it :greengrin

21-07-2011, 06:54 PM
Seems a decent crowd at tannadice, 2 good finishes and the pitch looks in very good shape despite having 4 stands surrounding it.

I can't find the game on radio

It's a great start for United but one goal for Slask puts them out on away goals.

They'll need a 3rd, possibly even a 4th, before they'll feel safe.

21-07-2011, 06:55 PM
cant beleive one whole Untd stand are all sitting down...:rolleyes:

21-07-2011, 06:56 PM
Ahhh European fitba' ... When will we see you again?!

21-07-2011, 06:57 PM
I can't find the game on radio

You can't get it online, you'll need to find a radio and tune it to 810MW.

I've found a link

It's a great start for United but one goal for Slask puts them out on away goals.

They'll need a 3rd, possibly even a 4th, before they'll feel safe.

2-1. Game on!

21-07-2011, 06:58 PM
2-1, Dundee Utd are going out as things stand.

21-07-2011, 06:58 PM
2-1 Slask

21-07-2011, 06:59 PM
Polish fans seem quite happy :greengrin

21-07-2011, 07:01 PM
tv pics hard to watch as stand is bouncing up and down

21-07-2011, 07:05 PM
Apparently "two-footed tackles" were John Rankin's "trademark" when he was at Hibs.

21-07-2011, 07:09 PM
Watching this, it kinda shows Scottish fans to be right boring barstewards! :agree:

21-07-2011, 07:23 PM
Watching this, it kinda shows Scottish fans to be right boring barstewards! :agree: always have been. poles ken how to have fun

21-07-2011, 07:27 PM
Pen to Utd :thumbsup:

Daly :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Penalty for United.

3-1, United back in front.

21-07-2011, 07:29 PM
Excellent!

As a complete aside (as I'm watching other updates on SSN) - who is the presenter on Sky Sports News just now? :greengrin

21-07-2011, 07:31 PM
This is a very good game, united set off like a house on fire to go 2 up, then the polish lot took control for 20 minutes before the penalty, and could just have made it 4-1 with a header that missed by inches from Daly. HT 3-1

21-07-2011, 07:31 PM
Half time, 3-1 to Dundee Utd.

Dundee Utd lead 3-2 on aggregate.

They need another goal though because another goal from Slask puts United out again.

21-07-2011, 07:32 PM
Fantastic to see a Scottish team like Dundeeehhh UTD competing well in Europe:thumbsup:

Good game to watch however it does bring a slightly large bit of jealousy that it isn't us!

21-07-2011, 07:32 PM
You can't get it online, you'll need to find a radio and tune it to 810MW.

Oh yes you can. Good game.

21-07-2011, 07:33 PM
i wish we had a euro adventure.....:rolleyes:

Still can't beleive with the standard of attacking play that most untd fans are sitting watching and chatting.....

Remember the AEK Athens game ...best ER atmoshphere i have ever ben at...

21-07-2011, 07:34 PM

Could you PM me alink please?:greengrin

21-07-2011, 07:36 PM

You have a PM :aok:

21-07-2011, 07:36 PM

Me too. :aok:

21-07-2011, 07:37 PM
It's Hearts v Paks in the next round to qualify for the group stage, as they have won 3-0 tonight, Hungarian team, I think.

21-07-2011, 07:39 PM
Me too. :aok:

You have a PM :aok:

21-07-2011, 07:46 PM

I'm talking about listening to it on the radio through the BBC Radio Scotland website. It's not available through that method.

I'm aware that you can watch tonight's game through various streams on the internet. :agree:

21-07-2011, 07:49 PM
Half time, 3-1 to Dundee Utd.

Dundee Utd lead 3-2 on aggregate.

They need another goal though because another goal from Slask puts United out again.

Is that you Sherlock?

21-07-2011, 07:51 PM
always have been. poles ken how to have fun Heard from an Arab mate there's been a lot of bother in town. Alk Poles banned from pubs and fighting in Tannadice Street.

21-07-2011, 07:52 PM
Is that you Sherlock?

:agree: I worked it all out on my own as well.

No calculator or anything! :wink:

21-07-2011, 07:52 PM
Excellent! As a complete aside (as I'm watching other updates on SSN) - who is the presenter on Sky Sports News just now? :greengrin Not sure what his name is!

21-07-2011, 07:53 PM
Not sure what his name is!

He's Ed Chamberlain (I think) - I don't recognise his co-presenter and she's not listed on SSN's website!

21-07-2011, 07:54 PM
Who is that boy Rankin have playing in midfield, he looks quite a tidy player. :rolleyes:

21-07-2011, 07:55 PM
You can't get it online, you'll need to find a radio and tune it to 810MW. Or DAB :wink:

21-07-2011, 07:56 PM
Heard from an Arab mate there's been a lot of bother in town. Alk Poles banned from pubs and fighting in Tannadice Street.

aye, apparently they ransacked a Tesco too! :agree:

21-07-2011, 07:56 PM
Who is that boy Rankin have playing in midfield, he looks quite a tidy player. :rolleyes:

he is playing well so far hope he doesnt come back and bite us the wee scrote

21-07-2011, 07:58 PM
he is playing well so far hope he doesnt come back and bite us the wee scrote

That was my thoughts exactly, he has looked assured and composed on the ball.

Just waiting for a 45 yrd squiggler on his return to ER !!

21-07-2011, 08:01 PM
aye, apparently they ransacked a Tesco too! :agree:

Some of them were caught in the frozen food section throwing bags of frozen vegetables at the staff.

They have been charged with Breach of the Peas. :agree:

21-07-2011, 08:09 PM
Some of them were caught in the frozen food section throwing bags of frozen vegetables at the staff.

They have been charged with Breach of the Peas. :agree:

I liked that.

21-07-2011, 08:10 PM
The united fans haven't been great tonight, almost a whole stand sitting down and there is hardly any noise coming from them.

21-07-2011, 08:13 PM
3-2 What a goal

3-2, United going out.

Oh dear. Game on.

3 - 2 screamer

21-07-2011, 08:24 PM
anyone pm me with link to watch last 10mins

21-07-2011, 08:33 PM
Full time, Dundee Utd 3-2 Slask Wroclaw.

Dundee Utd are out of Europe on away goals.

21-07-2011, 08:37 PM
Full time, Dundee Utd 3-2 Slask Wroclaw.

Dundee Utd are out of Europe on away goals.

Decent effort though. Unlucky.

21-07-2011, 08:37 PM
FT

Unlucky Utd

21-07-2011, 08:38 PM
Shame. Utd tried but looked totally knackered at the end. Too early to start our season :greengrin

21-07-2011, 08:41 PM
I reckon that United were very unlucky in the draw. Being seeded they could have hoped for much weaker opposition.

21-07-2011, 08:42 PM
These Polish b******s are causing all sorts of havoc en route back from the stadium - fighting in the streets, launching things at both United fans and passers by alike.

The police have just came motoring up the street with full riot gear on - I'm absolutely nowhere near the city centre too!

21-07-2011, 08:43 PM
One question. If the poles vandalise Dundee would anyone notice.

21-07-2011, 08:49 PM
Scottish football = laughing stock

21-07-2011, 08:51 PM
One question. If the poles vandalise Dundee would anyone notice. john rankin = loser loser loser serial loser. I wanted him,hogg and nish outa er in 2009. It was a long 2years

21-07-2011, 08:52 PM
john rankin = loser loser loser serial loser. I wanted him,hogg and nish outa er in 2009. It was a long 2years

21-07-2011, 08:55 PM
john rankin = loser loser loser serial loser. I wanted him,hogg and nish outa er in 2009. It was a long 2years

Is that you Mixu?

21-07-2011, 08:57 PM
These Polish b******s are causing all sorts of havoc en route back from the stadium - fighting in the streets, launching things at both United fans and passers by alike.

The police have just came motoring up the street with full riot gear on - I'm absolutely nowhere near the city centre too!

Wheres the Utility when you need them? :greengrin

21-07-2011, 10:13 PM

At home washing their dungarees and ironing their Benneton rugby tops. :wink:

21-07-2011, 10:22 PM
Police seemed to be 'kettling' a crowd of them at Haymarket when I past about 545pm!!

21-07-2011, 10:23 PM
Took the wee man to the game tonight. Good stuff from both sides - especially Arabs early on. Great atmosphere. Poles were very lively. A fair few in the home end also. Rankin did ok tbh. Poles had some clever/technically gifted players.

21-07-2011, 10:25 PM
Great game tonight. Dundee like a ghost town after the game. All pubs closed. Saw Gareth Evans at the game with John Brown - maybe checking out that talented utd midfielder- I think he's called Rankin.

21-07-2011, 10:45 PM
Took the wee man to the game tonight. Good stuff from both sides - especially Arabs early on. Great atmosphere. Poles were very lively. A fair few in the home end also. Rankin did ok tbh. Poles had some clever/technically gifted players. Complimentary tickets TQM? :wink:

21-07-2011, 10:50 PM

Saw some ne'er do well Slask types at Haymarket at about 4.30pm, one with a bloodied face, all absolutely blootered and having a close eye kept on them by the Police. I'd be surprised if the crowd I saw were allowed to board a train to Dundee.

21-07-2011, 11:11 PM
Complimentary tickets TQM? :wink:

No - GF lower. Plenty neutrals - at least two Huns there.

21-07-2011, 11:22 PM
Saw some ne'er do well Slask types at Haymarket at about 4.30pm, one with a bloodied face, all absolutely blootered and having a close eye kept on them by the Police. I'd be surprised if the crowd I saw were allowed to board a train to Dundee.

There's been police cars screaming towards the city centre for most of tonight. Quiet now mind you.

Heading into town tomorrow, so hoping the majority of them have pissed off and won't be hanging around for the 3rd day straight!

legends of 73
22-07-2011, 01:02 AM
Police seemed to be 'kettling' a crowd of them at Haymarket when I past about 545pm!!

they stuck them into taxis and sent them up to dumpdee all the boys got paid and no hassle and i missed a good fare again:grr:

legends of 73
22-07-2011, 01:09 AM
a bit of an over reaction from the old bill tonight at haymarket and waverley,there were about 15 bizzie vans at each station waiting for the poles to head back to the big city. copper came over and said to us on the rank that there were some nasty looking guys coming doon fae dumpdee and we were to take care

i thought the old firm were in town anyway a wee bit of training for the new season lol

22-07-2011, 07:20 AM
Bumped into a couple of their fans this morning at 6am outside Tesco in Duke Street, still had their scarfs on and were still trying to cause bother with anything that moved :faf:

22-07-2011, 08:49 AM
Bumped into a couple of their fans this morning at 6am outside Tesco in Duke Street, still had their scarfs on and were still trying to cause bother with anything that moved :faf: Duke Street? What town's that in?

22-07-2011, 09:20 AM
Duke Street? What town's that in?

Leith :smug:

22-07-2011, 09:21 AM
Duke Street? What town's that in?

Leith Town :wink:

Was one of those things that only seems to happen to me, went down to Tesco at 6 as soon as it opens to get medicine as my Hayfever is rotten just now, but bumped into two bear sized pished Poles that were looking to skelp anything, luckily for them they were too drunk and I would have been taking liberties(Aye right haha I would have got mauled) :faf:

22-07-2011, 09:24 AM
Dundee gets 90 minute makeover as 2000 Polish migrants set about improving the city.

22-07-2011, 10:38 AM
Polish fans are crazy. Anyone seen them on Ross Kemp on gangs?

Unlucky for United, wanted them to do well.

Hawthorn
22-07-2011, 11:22 AM
Couldn't get organised before the game & were over-run by the 400 Polish hooligans Slask had with them. Some were wearing balaclava's, others carrying knifes, bottles of peroxide & bottles of ammonia. Reports of a couple of lads slashed & others having clothing slashed.

Bit more organised afte the game & with even numbers apparently the Utility did more than okay.

Heard all this in Greggs this morning :wink: