View Full Version : Sheridan signs for ST Johnstone...WTF??
22-07-2011, 03:51 PM
Very possibly and I can believe that Sheridan 'tried it on' or didn't get back within a certain timeframe. Calderwood's statement have been inconsistent though over the course of this week.
I just think we might have cut our nose off to spite our face by not taking him when he did get back in touch, considering our striker situation. Time will tell, I suppose.
Its not the fact we didnt get Sheridan, I'm not totally gutted about that, its that we appear to have wasted valuable time on him. I suspect that's what CC's pissed about.
22-07-2011, 03:51 PM
Very possibly and I can believe that Sheridan 'tried it on' or didn't get back within a certain timeframe. Calderwood's statement have been inconsistent though over the course of this week.
I just think we might have cut our nose off to spite our face by not taking him when he did get back in touch, considering our striker situation. Time will tell, I suppose.
It most certainly will, and it certainly feels a lot more than 26 hours have passed since it was announced that CS was signing for ST. Johnstone.
We may have made a big mistake, I remember Craig Levein at Dundee Utd imposed a deadline on Chris Porter's potential transfer to Dundee Utd and then pulled out when CP didn't give him a decision - CP then signed for Motherwell and scored many goals in helping them finish 3rd.
I believe CC and it falls into line with what he said at the start of the pre-season about not allowing players to play us off other clubs by imposing short deadlines on the expiration of our offer.
22-07-2011, 03:53 PM
22-07-2011, 03:55 PM
Is that what Matty said?
He said that Colin Calderwood had said he got the feeling that Sheridan did not want to be at Hibs and when he didn't hear back from him, he decided to cancel the deal and look elsewhere. Later on, Sheridan phoned Calderwood up to say that St Johnstone had made him an offer and he was off there instead.
I would certainly take from those comments that Sheridan has chosen a move to St Johnstone over Hibs.
What would your take on it be?
That is one way to interpret it, if you want to have a sad, sad day.
Really, just one way? How else would you interpret those comments from Calderwood?
It sure looks like, to me, that Cillian Sheridan preferred a move to St Johnstone over Hibs. I never said I wanted to have a sad, sad day, I said it was a sad, sad day and if a club like St Johnstone is now a more appealing club to sign for than Hibs then I completely stand by that comment.
22-07-2011, 04:13 PM
He said that Colin Calderwood had said he got the feeling that Sheridan did not want to be at Hibs and when he didn't hear back from him, he decided to cancel the deal and look elsewhere. Later on, Sheridan phoned Calderwood up to say that St Johnstone had made him an offer and he was off there instead.
I would certainly take from those comments that Sheridan has chosen a move to St Johnstone over Hibs.
Really, just one way? How else would you interpret those comments from Calderwood?
It sure looks like, to me, that Cillian Sheridan preferred a move to St Johnstone over Hibs. I never said I wanted to have a sad, sad day, I said it was a sad, sad day and if a club like St Johnstone is now a more appealing club to sign for than Hibs then I completely stand by that comment.
I've already explained my interpretation of what was said.
22-07-2011, 04:15 PM
My take would be that CS tried to bounce one of the other to get a better deal for himself, fair enough, and CC made it clear months ago he would not get involved in stuff like that. So CC, rather than get invoved in an auction walked away. Not saying I am right but thats my take on it.
22-07-2011, 04:35 PM
My take would be that CS tried to bounce one of the other to get a better deal for himself, fair enough, and CC made it clear months ago he would not get involved in stuff like that. So CC, rather than get invoved in an auction walked away. Not saying I am right but thats my take on it.
I don't think your fair off, Hibs went in too low and gave CS the chance to look elsewhere.
Is it a fair assumption that the same happened with Rooney, Hehmed, Hamill, Kyle, Webster. I dunno, let others decide on that one.
22-07-2011, 04:50 PM
I don't think your fair off, Hibs went in too low and gave CS the chance to look elsewhere.
Is it a fair assumption that the same happened with Rooney, Hehmed, Hamill, Kyle, Webster. I dunno, let others decide on that one.
Agree with this Paul........
22-07-2011, 05:03 PM
:faf: :faf: :faf:From the uberfanny who had a pop at me for not going to Celtc park because of the stewards. At least you cheered me up :greengrin
I was younger, naiive and enthusiastic about all things Hibs. Last season and the shenanigans that have occurred this summer have sapped the majority of my enthusiasm.
Apolgies for the upset caused, ya fanny :aok:
22-07-2011, 05:20 PM
So Calderwood had a feeling Sheridan was playing us up against St Johnstone, so decided to end it. Well well CC, pot and REMOVED kettle springs to mind. Was someone being a little economical with the truth with you Colin, its not nice is it?:rolleyes:
22-07-2011, 05:25 PM
He said pretty much that he didn't get the feeling that cs wanted to come that much, and when he didn't hear back from cs he decided to walk away from the deal. Cs subsequently phoned him to say saints had made an offer and both parties ended it there.
Did he mention how we're going to get through our tough start to the season with just one striker? Heaven help us if Garry picks up an injury. :rolleyes:
mikethehibee69
22-07-2011, 05:42 PM
I hope tae god its because we have another striker lined up, because IF all it came down to was penny pinching then all I can say is thank REMOVED ah didnae buy a season ticket and REMOVED you very much tache man.
Yeah I totally agree, unfortunately I have renewed my season ticket:wink:, but if that is the case then is:confused: Petrie is defrauding us all
22-07-2011, 05:44 PM
Did he mention how we're going to get through our tough start to the season with just one striker? Heaven help us if Garry picks up an injury. :rolleyes:
Garry is not even fit now, never mind if he gets an injury. We dont have one fit striker at the club apart from the kids. A shocking situation to find ourselves in.
darwenhibby
22-07-2011, 06:08 PM
Garry is not even fit now, never mind if he gets an injury. We dont have one fit striker at the club apart from the kids. A shocking situation to find ourselves in.
It will be ok stop causing unnecessary panic.:wink:
22-07-2011, 06:18 PM
It will be ok stop causing unnecessary panic.:wink:
Its ok Duane even clueless agree's with me. :na na::faf:
22-07-2011, 06:37 PM
I was younger, naiive and enthusiastic about all things Hibs. Last season and the shenanigans that have occurred this summer have sapped the majority of my enthusiasm.Apolgies for the upset caused, ya fanny :aok: :agree: :thumbsup:
22-07-2011, 08:04 PM
I've already explained my interpretation of what was said.
Fair enough, I was obviously writing that post at the same time as your post.
Needless to say, I completely disagree with your interpretation of what was said.
22-07-2011, 08:28 PM
In the end CS has strolled across to Perth to get a deal.
The board gets stick if we sign a player from the lower leagues in England. Imagine if we'd signed a CS Stroller and stuck him in the first team!
It may yet come to that.
22-07-2011, 09:05 PM
Fair enough, I was obviously writing that post at the same time as your post.Needless to say, I completely disagree with your interpretation of what was said. Why say it then?
22-07-2011, 09:36 PM
Anyone that signs for St Johnstone (loan or not) deserves everything they get!
22-07-2011, 11:27 PM
Why say it then?
:confused: When I began to write that message, you hadn't offered your interpretation of what Calderwood meant with his statement. Obviously during the course of me writing my post, you replied to someone else, saying what you thought about what Calderwood meant.
By the time I clicked on "submit reply" you had obviously got in before me, without me realising.
Only 5 minutes separates your interpretation and my post asking for your interpretation, so it is possible!
I wouldn't get too hung up about it to be honest, I'm certainly not!
It's a difference of views, that's all. Nothing more, nothing less.
new malkyhib
22-07-2011, 11:52 PM
HT, if you can find me a positive post for every negative one, or even get within 10 of the negatives, which equals some semblence of balance; I'll apologise and retract the opinion.
This site feeds off negativity.
I'm one of your beloved "board haters" on here whose "hatred" for the club is such that I spend the thick end of £600 for a season ticket for me and my old man every year.
I also "hate" Hibs to the extent that the DOZEN or so lapsed Hibees that I know (that have turned their collective backs on Hibs in the last few years), i'm on at them all the time to return to the fold at Easter Road to try and put some much-needed money into the club.
Where does that sit in your perpetual rants against those of us that dare to question our esteemed leader's "vision" for the club?
Oh and one last point, your point in a previous post about "repressed Catholics" WTF? I think you need to lie doon in a darkened room, pal.
23-07-2011, 01:46 AM
I'm one of your beloved "board haters" on here whose "hatred" for the club is such that I spend the thick end of £600 for a season ticket for me and my old man every year.
I also "hate" Hibs to the extent that the DOZEN or so lapsed Hibees that I know (that have turned their collective backs on Hibs in the last few years), i'm on at them all the time to return to the fold at Easter Road to try and put some much-needed money into the club.
Where does that sit in your perpetual rants against those of us that dare to question our esteemed leader's "vision" for the club?
Oh and one last point, your point in a previous post about "repressed Catholics" WTF? I think you need to lie doon in a darkened room, pal.
:top marks:top marks
How anyone can defend the esteemed leaders now, is beyond me
23-07-2011, 05:20 AM
:confused: When I began to write that message, you hadn't offered your interpretation of what Calderwood meant with his statement. Obviously during the course of me writing my post, you replied to someone else, saying what you thought about what Calderwood meant.
By the time I clicked on "submit reply" you had obviously got in before me, without me realising.
Only 5 minutes separates your interpretation and my post asking for your interpretation, so it is possible!
I wouldn't get too hung up about it to be honest, I'm certainly not!
It's a difference of views, that's all. Nothing more, nothing less.
Alternative interpretation:
You wrote "Needless to say, blahblahblah"
The bollocks spouter supreme replied, more or less rhetorically, "Why say it then?"
23-07-2011, 05:24 AM
Imposters, every single one of them.
23-07-2011, 08:16 AM
HT, if you can find me a positive post for every negative one, or even get within 10 of the negatives, which equals some semblence of balance; I'll apologise and retract the opinion.
This site feeds off negativity.
Maybe,just maybe for once there isn't anything to be ****ing positive about. ****ing shambles!
23-07-2011, 08:44 AM
Well I personally have come to the conclusion that there are so many double negatives going around, it must be a positive
GGTTH. Bring on Sunday!
:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa
23-07-2011, 08:47 AM
Maybe,just maybe for once there isn't anything to be ****ing positive about. ****ing shambles!
It makes no difference. If we had Sheridan and Agogo it would be the lack of a right back. If we had a right back, it would be that De Graaf hasn't been punted, if we had everything it would be the quality of everything that's not good enough. Then the strip is crap, the sponsor comes off in the wash....waaaaaaa waaaaaaaaa ****in' waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
We go into battle in just over 24 hours. Dry your eyes and grow a pair.
23-07-2011, 08:49 AM
We go into battle in just over 24 hours. Dry your eyes and grow a pair.Post of the milennium.
23-07-2011, 09:21 AM
It makes no difference. If we had Sheridan and Agogo it would be the lack of a right back. If we had a right back, it would be that De Graaf hasn't been punted, if we had everything it would be the quality of everything that's not good enough. Then the strip is crap, the sponsor comes off in the wash....waaaaaaa waaaaaaaaa ****in' waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Aye we go into battle in just over 24 hours, our manager knows this too, and will send us into this battle without bullet proof vests helicopters and machine guns.
23-07-2011, 09:33 AM
Aye we go into battle in just over 24 hours, our manager knows this too, and will send us into this battle without bullet proof vests helicopters and machine guns.
We have what we have. All the whining in the world isnt going to change that.
We could tell the players that they're not good enough to wear the jersey and boo every misplaced pass or mistake (we will make plenty) and boo some more when they lie down and whimper like a whipped puppy.
Or we could tell them they are the future if Hibernian and drive them to step up to the plate, get behind them and roar encouragement to the young guys to make them feel ten feet tall. Encourage them to get stuck in like a lion and harass the dodgers over every inch of grass.
Celtic wont have bullet proof vests, helicopters or machine guns either so lets look them in the eye and find out how much they want it, how much they are prepared to fight for it. GGTTH
23-07-2011, 12:28 PM
So don't bother trying or fighting lads, just lie down, the reinforcements have already surrendered.
23-07-2011, 12:33 PM
So don't bother trying or fighting lads, just lie down, the reinforcements have already surrendered.
No you prepare properly, and send the troops in when you have. On D day would you have asked everyone to swim the channel before they fired a bullet?
23-07-2011, 12:50 PM
No you prepare properly, and send the troops in when you have. On D day would you have asked everyone to swim the channel before they fired a bullet?
What on earth are you on about? :confused:
23-07-2011, 12:54 PM
What on earth are you on about? :confused:
:faf: I know. :wink:
23-07-2011, 01:02 PM
Contalmaison folk ken whit's gaun oan...........
23-07-2011, 04:59 PM
Ach come on man - don't be ridiculous. I know there's plenty on here who don't need much excuse to have a good moan, but the facts are that having been put through the wringer re our manager all summer, we now find ourselves in a situation where we are opening the season with only one semi fit recognised striker because the board/manager have refused to get into a bidding war with the mighty financial powerhouse of St Johnstone!!!
The opportunity was there to improve the mood of the fans going into this fixture but it was spurned. I am not usually one to mump and moan but personally I am feeling pretty exasperated at this moment in time. You may be happy to pretend everything is hunky dory but I don't blame folk for whinging at all - we have every right to be unhappy as things stand.
I'll be there supporting the team tomorrow and will be right behind them, but if the game starts going against us and the boo-boy fraternity start to let their feelings be known, for once I will not blame them at all.
discman
23-07-2011, 07:16 PM
We could tell the players that they're not good enough to wear the jersey and boo every misplaced pass or mistake (we will make plenty) and boo some more when they lie down and whimper like a whipped puppy.
Or we could tell them they are the future if Hibernian and drive them to step up to the plate, get behind them and roar encouragement to the young guys to make them feel ten feet tall. Encourage them to get stuck in like a lion and harass the dodgers over every inch of grass.
Celtic wont have bullet proof vests, helicopters or machine guns either so lets look them in the eye and find out how much they want it, how much they are prepared to fight for it. GGTTH
Once the discussion is over and the game starts..... this is what we have to do or people will think crap manager,crap team and crap supporters and are we prepared to allow any support to come to our ground and mock us because we cant get behind our team??? If we think were the best fans in the SPL, and were Hibs so we must be, we have to show the opposition and our team why........tomorrow we make a lot of noise irrespective of whats going on the pitch,especially if were struggling, we have no control over some things but we can control the amount of noise we make!!!!!! :flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::f lag::flag:
23-07-2011, 07:33 PM
The manager didn't exactly do that with his interview yesterday.
23-07-2011, 07:33 PM
That last sentence will do for me.
24-07-2011, 07:13 AM
The manager didn't exactly do that with his interview yesterday.
I'll do it then Beefster :greengrin
I've experienced a few of Jim Telfer's and, in full flow, he was a sight and sound to behold.
25-07-2011, 01:51 PM
I see St J's have added another decent forward see below from Sky Sports.
Make you wonder what the F we are doing to bring in decent players to ER as this guy would have been a good signing for us.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
St Johnstone have bolstered their strike force with the addition of Spanish forward Francisco Sandaza.
The former Brighton and Dundee United man has signed a one-year deal with the Perth club.
Sandaza spent time in Valencia's reserves, before going on to two years with The Tangerines in Scotland's top flight.
The 26-year-old helped Brighton win promotion last season, although he scored just twice in 15 appearances. The striker could now make his Saints debut in this coming Saturday's clash with SPL champions Rangers.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_7060959,00.html?utm
25-07-2011, 01:54 PM
A fit Sandaza would have been an excellent addition, was brilliant for United and has SPL experience. Im not that surprised we werent in for him tbh :rolleyes:...