View Full Version : NHC Celtic & their 'politics'

TheGreenMan
20-07-2011, 08:41 PM
Ok, so with the visit of them on Sunday, we will no doubt be treated to the full shebang of Irish Folk songs from the South stand. A lot of people will make noises that it is out of order, sectarian, racist etc and a lot of others don't really care what they sing. However there will be some people who would disagree that the 'Celtic Songbook' is full of sectarian songs and that they are songs from a political view point and that they actually DO have the right to be singing these songs - I know that a lot of Celtic fans spin this line regularly anyway and after a lengthy debate with a good friend of mine who is 'Cellick minded' he is adamant that there is not one ounce of bigotry or sectarianism in anything that Celtic sing as anything classed as bigoted involves 'hate speech towards another race/religion' and that they have the right to freedom of speech and should be allowed to voice their political point of view at their will. My friend also suggests that the only bigoted songs you will hear are from Rangers fans and more recently Hearts fans as they are singing songs that would fit into the 'hate speech towards another race/religion' bracket (ie: they are up to their knees...) He says that it would be pretty much impossible to arrest a Celtic fan or charge them in court for sectarianism as there are no specific references to hating/killing/being up their knees in anything of any other religion/race or colour and since I don't know the full Cellick set list I cant confirm either way although when I think of some of the ones I have heard - he would appear to be correct in this 'technicality'. Whilst I personally don't agree that any songs about the IRA should be sung at a football match - not all of them are about the IRA from what I understand(?). Do the Scottish footballing media and public just always take the Old Firm as one and are we correct in doing so when it comes to this subject?

This will no doubt be an issue (or a non-issue depending on what side of the fence you are on) come Sunday so I'd like other Hibbies opinions on how they see it.

Are Celtic being bigoted or political? And an explanation as to why you think what you do...

20-07-2011, 08:45 PM
Are Celtic being bigoted or political?

It doesn't matter which one it is, their songs have **** all to do with a Scottish football match in the 21st century and have no place at one.

Ernie Cobra
20-07-2011, 08:48 PM
Ok, so with the visit of them on Sunday, we will no doubt be treated to the full shebang of Irish Folk songs from the South stand. A lot of people will make noises that it is out of order, sectarian, racist etc and a lot of others don't really care what they sing. However there will be some people who would disagree that the 'Celtic Songbook' is full of sectarian songs and that they are songs from a political view point and that they actually DO have the right to be singing these songs - I know that a lot of Celtic fans spin this line regularly anyway and after a lengthy debate with a good friend of mine who is 'Cellick minded' he is adamant that there is not one ounce of bigotry or sectarianism in anything that Celtic sing as anything classed as bigoted involves 'hate speech towards another race/religion' and that they have the right to freedom of speech and should be allowed to voice their political point of view at their will. My friend also suggests that the only bigoted songs you will hear are from Rangers fans and more recently Hearts fans as they are singing songs that would fit into the 'hate speech towards another race/religion' bracket (ie: they are up to their knees...) He says that it would be pretty much impossible to arrest a Celtic fan or charge them in court for sectarianism as there are no specific references to hating/killing/being up their knees in anything of any other religion/race or colour and since I don't know the full Cellick set list I cant confirm either way although when I think of some of the ones I have heard - he would appear to be correct in this 'technicality'. Whilst I personally don't agree that any songs about the IRA should be sung at a football match - not all of them are about the IRA from what I understand(?). Do the Scottish footballing media and public just always take the Old Firm as one and are we correct in doing so when it comes to this subject?

This will no doubt be an issue (or a non-issue depending on what side of the fence you are on) come Sunday so I'd like other Hibbies opinions on how they see it.

Are Celtic being bigoted or political? And an explanation as to why you think what you do...

Can i just say whole heartedly....... WHO GIVES A ****? THEY ARE BOTH THE SAME AND THIS IS NOWT TO DO WITH FOOTBALL THEY ARE JUST BOTH CLARTY MINGIN DOLE COLLECTIN, SHELL SUIT WEARIN, SOAP DODGON VERMIN!!!

THIS THREAD IS DECEASED IT HAS CEASED TO BE!

20-07-2011, 08:50 PM
It doesn't matter which one it is, their songs have **** all to do with a Scottish football match in the 21st century and have no place at one.

Sums it up for me :agree:

TheGreenMan
20-07-2011, 08:55 PM
Ok, I was hoping to keep away from the 'who cares' type of replies but got to be expected I suppose.

You could say the same about a lot of songs not being fit for a Scottish Football match, and not just the OF or Hearts included but the issue that has been in the news and that has been debated is sectarianism in Scottish football. So it would seem that it is widely accepted that bigotry/sectarianism has no place in Scottish society (long way to go...) but more to the point of discussion - at football and rightly so.

What I am trying to get an opinion on, is what you would specifically class as being bigoted/sectarian.

20-07-2011, 08:57 PM
Ok, I was hoping to keep away from the 'who cares' type of replies but got to be expected I suppose.

You could say the same about a lot of songs not being fit for a Scottish Football match, and not just the OF or Hearts included but the issue that has been in the news and that has been debated is sectarianism in Scottish football. So it would seem that it is widely accepted that bigotry/sectarianism has no place in Scottish society (long way to go...) but more to the point of discussion - at football and rightly so.

What I am trying to get an opinion on, is what you would specifically class as being bigoted/sectarian.

The Celtic support that comes to ER
And the Rangers support that comes to ER.

20-07-2011, 09:03 PM
Worth a merge with the orange walk thread on The Holy Ground, keeps all this stuff in the one place.

TheGreenMan
20-07-2011, 09:10 PM
Worth a merge with the orange walk thread on The Holy Ground, keeps all this stuff in the one place.

I dont believe Celtic have any involvement in any Orange walks :greengrin

This is more to do with - is what Celtic sing actually bigoted or political? Since we are playing them on Sunday and I wanted to get others opinions but looks like it'll be the usual 'they are both the same' bla bla bla with no explanation of why anyone thinks that. Lets not bring soap dodging and shell suits into it :greengrin

20-07-2011, 09:11 PM
Stuff the singing, I just find the OF fans themselves that attend ER to be offensive.

On that basis alone, I propose they should all be locked up :greengrin

20-07-2011, 09:13 PM
... Lets not bring soap dodging and shell suits into it :greengrin

and they're all just a bunch of soap-dodging, shellsuit wearing bassas!!!

:soapbox:

TheGreenMan
20-07-2011, 09:17 PM

:soapbox:

Well this is going exactly as planned.:rolleyes:

20-07-2011, 09:18 PM
I dont believe Celtic have any involvement in any Orange walks :greengrin I think you know what I mean.

20-07-2011, 09:18 PM
Well this is going exactly as planned.:rolleyes:

Where do you stand on shell suits? :greengrin

TheGreenMan
20-07-2011, 09:19 PM

Around the thigh area, just high enough to steer clear of any blood.

20-07-2011, 09:20 PM

On the bottom of the trousers, they're usually too long.

TheGreenMan
20-07-2011, 09:20 PM
Around the thigh area, just high enough to steer clear of any blood.

Should I add a :greengrin ?

20-07-2011, 09:26 PM
Should I add a :greengrin ?

I don't think these Morons are taking your question seriously mate.

TheGreenMan
20-07-2011, 09:31 PM
I don't think these Morons are taking your question seriously mate.

Obviously not. Someone may come along with an opinion other that both of the old firm are *****.

20-07-2011, 09:35 PM

:soapbox:#

I can officially knock that rumour on the head.

My wife runs the Highland Soap Company shop in Pitlochry and the first instance of shoplifting since October last year occurred at the weekend, the start of the Glesga fair!!!

As to the question, I am on record here as reporting the **** in hoops defiling Pitlochry with ditties regarding what they would like to do to the Queen and the UDA last season when their game at Inverness was postponed.

20-07-2011, 09:36 PM
Can i just say whole heartedly....... WHO GIVES A ****? THEY ARE BOTH THE SAME AND THIS IS NOWT TO DO WITH FOOTBALL THEY ARE JUST BOTH CLARTY MINGIN DOLE COLLECTIN, SHELL SUIT WEARIN, SOAP DODGON VERMIN!!!

THIS THREAD IS DECEASED IT HAS CEASED TO BE!

20-07-2011, 09:38 PM
Obviously not. Someone may come along with an opinion other that both of the old firm are *****.

OK I'll give it a bash :greengrin

Celtc - insist their Irish folk songs are merely that and indeed play them prior to matches at Darkheid. A significant number of their fans come over from Ireland to watch them and so the support in general might feel there is an affinity with that country. As an example of what might be considered unacceptable I'd say anything that includes eff the Queen in it or glories in the actions of the IRA.

Rangers - insist on living in 1690 and singing songs about some wee effeminate guy on a white horse. Not sure they could claim their songs are of the 'folk' variety. As an example of what might be considered unacceptable I'd say anything that includes eff the Pope in it or glories in the thought of being up to their knees in Fenian blood.

As has been suggested elsewhere it is these two clubs that have the problem and IMO neither seems willing to do anything to change the ways of its supporters

20-07-2011, 09:41 PM
I don't think the OP has anything to do with Hibernian, or football in general.

20-07-2011, 09:44 PM

Don't you beat about the bush now Big Frank :greengrin

Hibs12thMan
20-07-2011, 09:44 PM
We recently held a meeting with management at Hibernian FC

Amongst the topics in scope we touched on the issue of Sectarian behaviour at the football

It was made clear that there is going to be a major crackdown right from the start of this season. Everyone from First Minister, politicians, football administrators, clubs and police are going to be working together to try and eradicate this conduct.

Keep an eye on the away end on Sunday

20-07-2011, 09:55 PM
I hope it happens, but, won't hold my breath. I'm almost 100% convinced an OF fan won't be the first person done by this new broom. Hopefully after Saturdays lunchtime fare i'll be proved wrong, but, if a few Yams get huckled, so be it!

TheGreenMan
20-07-2011, 09:57 PM

Any reason why you think this?

I am a season ticket holder btw. East Stand and have renewed for this coming season despite last season being the worst in my life of watching Hibs.

I dont think you think.

20-07-2011, 10:02 PM
I dont think you think.

I dont think you think therefore you aren't.

Des Perate..

TheGreenMan
20-07-2011, 10:03 PM
We recently held a meeting with management at Hibernian FC

Amongst the topics in scope we touched on the issue of Sectarian behaviour at the football

It was made clear that there is going to be a major crackdown right from the start of this season. Everyone from First Minister, politicians, football administrators, clubs and police are going to be working together to try and eradicate this conduct.

Keep an eye on the away end on Sunday

This is what I am getting at - this big crack down that will be happening. Would you say that the songs Celtic will be signing should be classed as bigoted? And is there a way to prove this? I just think that there will be too many loop holes in that they can use the 'political' line.

TheGreenMan
20-07-2011, 10:04 PM
I dont think you think therefore you aren't.

Des Perate..

20-07-2011, 10:06 PM

Your opening post wasn't THAT much funnier.

20-07-2011, 10:11 PM
Is The Sash a banned song? And if so, why?

20-07-2011, 10:14 PM

Ooops.

20-07-2011, 10:22 PM
If it was just some daft songs that they were singing against Protestantism, I could actually stomach it a lot more. The belief that Celtic fans don't sing sectarian songs is wrong as I have often heard them singing about "orange Bs" towards people such as Jim Jefferies and Walter Smith but that kind of stuff doesn't overly concern me too much.

What we're actually talking about is, in my opinion, a whole lot worse.

A lot of Celtic supporters openly and continually sing songs in support of a terrorist organisation which is proscribed in the United Kingdom. It is a group which has been responsible for some heinous crimes and for murdering dozens of innocent British civilians, particularly in Northern Ireland over many years. The Remembrance Day protests and demonstrations which a number of Celtic fans have held in the past couple of years have been particularly shameful, especially since many Celtic supporters have proudly served in the British army and a number of them have no doubt lost their lives in battle.

Apart from anything else, as other people have already said, these songs and demonstrations etc. are completely irrelevant to Scottish football and even Scotland in general and people should not be subjected to this garbage when they're going to watch a football match.

If I understand the law correctly, as it currently stands, glorifying the IRA is a criminal offence and is therefore illegal. That's as good a reason as any for a crackdown in the away end on Sunday when the inevitable happens and the songs start.

20-07-2011, 10:25 PM
Do Hibs fans still sing about being the Queens gigolo for 50p, after we have beaten the Spanish giants of course.

And do we still hate Dundee and are willing to fight whereever we may be because we are the mental HFC.?

Been 2 years since I got home and managed to take in a couple of games and I have to say the games were not too inspiring and there was not a lot of singing going on.

Are there any old songs that are not sung at all now?

:whistle:

20-07-2011, 10:31 PM

It is in my house! Always was, always will be.

20-07-2011, 10:38 PM
Any reason why you think this?

I am a season ticket holder btw. East Stand and have renewed for this coming season despite last season being the worst in my life of watching Hibs.

I dont think you think.

I don't think you've watched many.

20-07-2011, 10:59 PM
Do Hibs fans still sing about being the Queens gigolo for 50p, after we have beaten the Spanish giants of course.

And do we still hate Dundee and are willing to fight whereever we may be because we are the mental HFC.?

Been 2 years since I got home and managed to take in a couple of games and I have to say the games were not too inspiring and there was not a lot of singing going on.

Are there any old songs that are not sung at all now?

:whistle:

Love these threads when we can all get so RIGHTEOUS and a few of us can vent our spleens.........

I looooove singing Colin, Colin, Colin Stein!
Couldnae kick a Jellybean.

When I get the chance of course.

But then again. He was a dirty orange bassa ex-hibby and I detest those types marginally more than the other lot of ex-hibby bassas but a lot less than some of the current so called Hibby / ex Hibby / Never been near a Hibby in yer puff bassas.

Celtic? Does Lou Lou skiptomaloo yer Lou Macari still count? He has Italian heritage as well and I've never been over keen on them either. And he never played for Hibs.

What about Donald Ford? Superstar! Walks like a woman and he wears a bra!
Durty hertz transvestite beasts. Never cared much for them, like. Do they still count?

How come there's not an 'as far as I know it's not an offence to fly a Union Jack or sing Rule Brittania at the top of one's sparryheided voice' type smileys on here?
Come on. Time we had parity!

Purple & Green
20-07-2011, 10:59 PM
there is not one ounce of bigotry or sectarianism in anything that Celtic sing as anything classed as bigoted involves 'hate speech towards another race/religion' and that they have the right to freedom of speech and should be allowed to voice their political point of view at their will.

I look forward to the Celtic songbook this week on a wide range of political topics such as:

The phone hacking scandal
Government Fiscal Policy
Scottish Independence
Fisheries
Immigration

But, of course, all jocularity aside, the only political songs you will hear will be pro-irish republican and anti British, and by definition Scottish. I think the authorities are right to tackle this bizarre schizophrenic mindset but I don't know where you can even begin. BUT at least they are making the decision to begin somewhere and I hope something good comes of it.

Sodje_18
20-07-2011, 11:15 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't bigotry any form of discrimination targeted at a religion/race/political group? :confused: Septic and the Huns are pure filth, end of.

GORDONSMITH7
21-07-2011, 01:24 AM
If it was just some daft songs that they were singing against Protestantism, I could actually stomach it a lot more. The belief that Celtic fans don't sing sectarian songs is wrong as I have often heard them singing about "orange Bs" towards people such as Jim Jefferies and Walter Smith but that kind of stuff doesn't overly concern me too much.

What we're actually talking about is, in my opinion, a whole lot worse.

A lot of Celtic supporters openly and continually sing songs in support of a terrorist organisation which is proscribed in the United Kingdom. It is a group which has been responsible for some heinous crimes and for murdering dozens of innocent British civilians, particularly in Northern Ireland over many years. The Remembrance Day protests and demonstrations which a number of Celtic fans have held in the past couple of years have been particularly shameful, especially since many Celtic supporters have proudly served in the British army and a number of them have no doubt lost their lives in battle.

Apart from anything else, as other people have already said, these songs and demonstrations etc. are completely irrelevant to Scottish football and even Scotland in general and people should not be subjected to this garbage when they're going to watch a football match.

If I understand the law correctly, as it currently stands, glorifying the IRA is a criminal offence and is therefore illegal. That's as good a reason as any for a crackdown in the away end on Sunday when the inevitable happens and the songs start.

''We're the boys in Emerald Green **** King Billy and the Queen'' ..''For we will be mastered by no Orange *******s'' ........ sung at ER for decades and still are. Treason/Sectarianism, well who gives a ****. I totally agree with the senitments. My auld man who went though to Glasgow to see the Hibs in the 1950's used to tell me that what they both sang was hussssshed when the Cabbage put one over them which was a regular occurrence. A couple of quick goals this Sunday and you will hear **** all from them.

BIG G

21-07-2011, 05:14 AM
Yes, Celtc fans songs are political. Unfortunately, its the politics of hate. Their "traditional" folk songs are all about glorification of Irish Republicanism through the years which is their political stance against the Unionist feelings at Rangers. It's all about the hatred they have for each other.

21-07-2011, 07:30 AM
Yes, Celtc fans songs are political. Unfortunately, its the politics of hate. Their "traditional" folk songs are all about glorification of Irish Republicanism through the years which is their political stance against the Unionist feelings at Rangers. It's all about the hatred they have for each other.

Celtic are sectarian and relish in the fact that they can get away with it while Rangers get punished. Their leaders (Lawell and Reid) unable to address or deal with Celtic's particular type of sectarianism and support for terrorist organisatons, have tried to give their songs and beliefs legitimacy by cleverley masquerading their hatred as some sort of political cause, to sell the Celtic brand worldwide while trying to protect it from sanctions by government or football's governing bodies.

Last season saw the manufacture and implementation of his new policy.

hailhail22
21-07-2011, 08:21 AM

i THINK am right in saying here but theyve not actually came out and said what songs they class as "sectarian" :dunno: so they will still singing what they want then say they have not been told they cannot sing that and also what are the police going to do when you have 3500 blasting out the boys of the old brigade ? what can they do ? personally i dont think theese new laws will work the SFA will never act hard enough on the OF to make it stop.

21-07-2011, 09:46 AM

Are Celtic being bigoted or political? And an explanation as to why you think what you do...Northmen Southmen comrades all soon there'll be no Orangeman at all.

What kind of folk tune contains words like that?

bpw
21-07-2011, 09:59 AM
Northmen Southmen comrades all soon there'll be no Orangeman at all.

That is a *******isation of the original words of the song (Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Donegal - which you hear from Celtic fans too)- you would find many Celtic fans not happy with this version of "We're on the One Road."

21-07-2011, 10:00 AM

That's an add-on I think.

21-07-2011, 10:07 AM
That's an add-on I think.Correct and sung regularly. They can even turn a national anthem into something else.

Moody Mulder
21-07-2011, 11:49 AM

well said, and why do the two tramp clubs from glasgow always go on about joining the english league when its far more obvious the irish league would suit them both a lot better

21-07-2011, 12:12 PM
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/Hibs-Tough-chant-stance-ahead.6805122.jp

Lets see and what happens

AndyM_1875
21-07-2011, 12:22 PM
well said, and why do the two tramp clubs from glasgow always go on about joining the english league when its far more obvious the irish league would suit them both a lot better

Perhaps but the English Clubs don't want the Old Firm and have no need of them. They have a super product in the Premiership and indeed The Championship. They have no need to import two foreign clubs who would be more trouble than they are worth due to the baggage and pseudo political hate filled bulls*** they carry about.

Ask the people of Manchester what they think of the fans of Glasgow Rangers who reduced their city to a warzone when Manchester hosted the UEFA Cup Final? Then ask them how they would feel about a visit from several thousand Celtic fans chanting about and glorifying the Provisional IRA who destroyed a large part of their city less than 25 years ago?
The answers might offend.

Put simply, the Old Firm are not members of the Football Association and play in a foreign league. A move south will never happen. The only people who think it will are dunderheided Glasgow Football hacks who need to sell papers and the ultra thick Old Firm fans who have an unrealistic view on their clubs actual standing.

TheGreenMan
21-07-2011, 12:33 PM

I dont know the full ins and outs of the Ireland situation that has been and gone but are the above lines not in reference to Irish people succesfully defending their country from British rule?

I may be wrong but if this is the case then it would be difficult for anyone to portray that line in itself - which others have said is an 'add-on' - as bigoted, no?

Another point on this, IF this was deemed to be an unacceptable 'add-on' and the original words from whatever song you quote were actually used with no add-ons - Would that then be acceptable?

Its difficult to determine exactly what is and isnt sectarian and when pressed on it I dont see the SFA being able to do anything about it (if they should be doing something about it).

TheGreenMan
21-07-2011, 12:38 PM
Another thing on this - there may be clearer references of bigotry in the Rangers song book than the Celtic one but thats not to say that everything Rangers fans sing is sectarian.

For example, whilst I dont see the point in it myself nobody can actually complain at Rangers fans singing God Save the Queen or Rule Britannia etc (if no add ons are used) as although there is no point in it they have freedom of speech in that they songs do not contain anything offensive.

But obviously as soon as any of they two are started by the huns I think people automatically class it as sectarian. When in reality they are just English/British anthems.

21-07-2011, 12:57 PM
Another thing on this - there may be clearer references of bigotry in the Rangers song book than the Celtic one but thats not to say that everything Rangers fans sing is sectarian.

For example, whilst I dont see the point in it myself nobody can actually complain at Rangers fans singing God Save the Queen or Rule Britannia etc (if no add ons are used) as although there is no point in it they have freedom of speech in that they songs do not contain anything offensive.

But obviously as soon as any of they two are started by the huns I think people automatically class it as sectarian. When in reality they are just English/British anthems.

It doesn't matter if the lyrics are sectarian or not, in my opinion. They're incitive. I'm not a lawyer and don't know if it's a crime to incite general hatred, or if it's a crime to incite someone to the point of wanting to smash thier manky teeth in.

Hypothetically if I was to start singing "You're a big jobby, you're a big jobby" (not racist/sexist/disabilist/ageist/etc.) everytime I saw FJK in the street, then after the 1000th time of hearing it he punched me in the face....would he be in trouble or not?

bpw
21-07-2011, 01:20 PM
Perhaps but the English Clubs don't want the Old Firm and have no need of them. They have a super product in the Premiership and indeed The Championship. They have no need to import two foreign clubs who would be more trouble than they are worth due to the baggage and pseudo political hate filled bulls*** they carry about.

Ask the people of Manchester what they think of the fans of Glasgow Rangers who reduced their city to a warzone when Manchester hosted the UEFA Cup Final? Then ask them how they would feel about a visit from several thousand Celtic fans chanting about and glorifying the Provisional IRA who destroyed a large part of their city less than 25 years ago?
The answers might offend.

Put simply, the Old Firm are not members of the Football Association and play in a foreign league. A move south will never happen. The only people who think it will are dunderheided Glasgow Football hacks who need to sell papers and the ultra thick Old Firm fans who have an unrealistic view on their clubs actual standing.

Celtic also won a supporters award from UEFA and Rangers gans have been praised on various visits to England. And in case it has escaped your attention Celtic have frequently been invited to Manchester for testimonial games and recieve far larger ticket allocation than they would if they were ever playing most English teams on regular basis with full apporval from local authorities.

An element of truth in what you say but your point is ruined by exaggerating everything to embarasing extremes. And what you say is not true to the extent some non-OF fans want to believe it is and sanctimonious views like this do the image of Hibs fans no favours.

21-07-2011, 06:48 PM
Counterculture folk dig whits gaun oan. :agree:

21-07-2011, 08:29 PM
I dont know the full ins and outs of the Ireland situation that has been and gone but are the above lines not in reference to Irish people succesfully defending their country from British rule?

I may be wrong but if this is the case then it would be difficult for anyone to portray that line in itself - which others have said is an 'add-on' - as bigoted, no?

Another point on this, IF this was deemed to be an unacceptable 'add-on' and the original words from whatever song you quote were actually used with no add-ons - Would that then be acceptable?

Its difficult to determine exactly what is and isnt sectarian and when pressed on it I dont see the SFA being able to do anything about it (if they should be doing something about it).Defending their country from British rule? Sounds more like they want to rid the place of orangeman. Not a bad idea to rid the place of orangemen but they just move over here.

21-07-2011, 09:14 PM
I'm not sure what the op's agenda is here as its quite well hidden, but, I feel he has a lot more "knowledge" on this topic than he has let on to so far!

21-07-2011, 09:22 PM
I'm not sure what the op's agenda is here as its quite well hidden, but, I feel he has a lot more "knowledge" on this topic than he has let on to so far! Those have been my thoughts too as the thread has developed.

21-07-2011, 09:30 PM
If i'm being honest it looks like someone testing the water to see how many like minded people on here share his Irish Republican views before removing the cards from his chest and placing them on the tableau.
Could be wrong, but, he aint getting the responses he was looking for!

21-07-2011, 09:38 PM
i THINK am right in saying here but theyve not actually came out and said what songs they class as "sectarian" :dunno: so they will still singing what they want then say they have not been told they cannot sing that and also what are the police going to do when you have 3500 blasting out the boys of the old brigade ? what can they do ? personally i dont think theese new laws will work the SFA will never act hard enough on the OF to make it stop.

:aok: Cheers for the sensible reply.

CFC
19-08-2011, 08:41 PM
Celtc - A significant number of their fans come over from Ireland to watch them. I know I'm not the only one who sees the supreme irony in the Irish coming to Britain to support a faux Irish team, are the League of Ireland teams not Irish enough for them? If these people cared about Irish football they would patronise their own domestic league surely? Irish people I know have spoken about Celtic fans being "knackers" it would appear they are not highly thought of, in Scotland or Ireland.

CFC
19-08-2011, 09:11 PM
One last point re Celtic and their faux Irishness, the GAA (an authentically Irish sporting organisation) for years banned its members from playing or watching football, case in point Liam Brady was expelled from his school for captaining the Ireland under 15s. If these plastic paddies are so concerned with keeping up this pretence then perhaps they should take up hurling or gaelic rules. My issue is not with Irish people who Ive got on famously with but the duplicity that surrounds Celtic, Irish club? My arse.