View Full Version : Match Updates ***East Fife 1 vs Hibernian 3 FT ***
At The Edge
09-07-2011, 04:26 PM
Cheers for all the updates, was there a big Hibs support in deepest Fife?
I'm sure the Barnsley game will see something that resembles the first 11 next Sat at ER.
DAVE1875
09-07-2011, 04:27 PM
1-1 Thornhill.
Let me know when it's 2-1 :wink:
09-07-2011, 04:32 PM
:hilarious :hilarious :hilarious
Don't normally give Union the time of day but happy to watch them stuff that shower :-)
09-07-2011, 04:35 PM
on ssn now all 3 goals, no interview
09-07-2011, 04:39 PM
How was De Graaf?
09-07-2011, 04:56 PM
:hilarious :hilarious :hilarious
Don't normally give Union the time of day but happy to watch them stuff that shower :-)
09-07-2011, 04:57 PM
Booth must score .. And misses!
Thornhill misses header for trick!
FT 3-1 Hibees!
Good workout
I'll post pics later
09-07-2011, 04:58 PM
CC Interview just on SSN.
He was saying that he is happy to be at Hibs just now, nothing has happened, he will be here until it changes through being sacked or compensation. Until such times as this happens he will get on with the job.
What he can say is Hibs is a good place to be and we have to be very careful of the fans having a negative view on the situation.
Finished by saying that a lot has been written but not a lot said by us.
09-07-2011, 05:03 PM
Goals from today, filmed from SSN, image not great but ok.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyLfong4URA
jakki
09-07-2011, 05:06 PM
How's the squirrels getting on? More updates please.
Oops sorry. Fell asleep wi little updates fae the game . I take it Thornhill should have been MOM but Booth got it.. As for my squirrels, they have chewed through one of the seed carriers whilst balancing on the suet balls.so its to the shops to buy a squirrel shield! I have to shield up our defence against those maurauders. Wish Hibs had so easy an answer!:greengrin
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyLfong4URAGood enough ..cheers ..:cheers:
HibsMax
09-07-2011, 05:08 PM
CC Interview just on SSN.
He was saying that he is happy to be at Hibs just now, nothing has happened, he will be here until it changes through being sacked or compensation. Until such times as this happens he will get on with the job.
What he can say is Hibs is a good place to be and we have to be very careful of the fans having a negative view on the situation.
Finished by saying that a lot has been written but not a lot said by us.
So, reading between the lines :wink:, he said he will be off as soon as he can? He would have been better saying, "I will be here until it changes through being sacked or compensation or until I've fulfilled the terms of my contract.". By omitting that last part it's like he's saying he doesn't expect to be here until his contract ends.
09-07-2011, 05:08 PM
Oops sorry. Fell asleep wi little updates fae the game . I take it Thornhill should have been MOM but Booth got it.. As for my squirrels, they have chewed through one of the seed carriers whilst balancing on the suet balls.so its to the shops to buy a squirrel shield! I have to shield up our defence against those maurauders. Wish Hibs had so easy an answer!:greengrin
I once had a squirrel balance on my suet balls.:agree: .................................................. .or was it a Beaver? getting auld cannae rememeber.:greengrin
09-07-2011, 05:11 PM
Thought I would try this
09-07-2011, 05:14 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyLfong4URA:thumbsup::thumbsup:
09-07-2011, 05:17 PM
Thought I would try this
Cheeky yam fud.
(Not you YBNB :greengrin)
09-07-2011, 05:19 PM
Cheeky yam fud.
The erse did it with the wrong hand. Loser!!!!!! :rolleyes:
09-07-2011, 05:22 PM
Cheeky yam fud.
****ing little hearts *******!!!!!!!!!!
09-07-2011, 05:27 PM
Booth must score...
09-07-2011, 05:34 PM
CC Interview after game from SSN, may need sound turned up high.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFRwVPBPA_Y
09-07-2011, 05:35 PM
****ing little hearts *******!!!!!!!!!!
Worked out quite well for him though, with a defeat at least he has the self-awareness to recognize what he is.
09-07-2011, 05:35 PM
Worked out quite well for him though, with a defeat at least he has the self-awareness to recognize what he is.
Spot on Matty.
09-07-2011, 05:38 PM
CC Interview after game from SSN, may need sound turned up high.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFRwVPBPA_Y
Cheers, he makes a good point at the end of the interview, imho, about a lot being said and written but not coming from hibs.
09-07-2011, 05:38 PM
Apparently both Sheridan and ridgers (East Fife GK) were lifted for fighting after today's game.D
09-07-2011, 05:39 PM
Apparently both Sheridan and ridgers were lifted for fighting after today's game.
Defo hibs class then! Get him signed up CC!
09-07-2011, 06:13 PM
The erse did it with the wrong hand. Loser!!!!!! :rolleyes:
I never noticed that at the time...
Muppet!
fife hfc
09-07-2011, 06:41 PM
Ridgers is a young gk from the yams and was pretty poor compared to the gk they had on in the first half who must have had 3 or 4 top saves. That Ogelby is a wee scroat and I wish Murray had halved him.
As for the game I felt it was an encouraging show, far from perfect but there are signs we will be better than last season. Even in the first half we controlled the game and only a silly mistake from Smith gave them their only chance. We on the other hand had about 5 or 6 good opportunities which their gk made good saves or a last ditch tackle or block prevented us from scoring.
When we brought on Booth, Thornhill and Sheridan we looked far better in the wide areas and it was only a matter of time before we scored the goals we did. Infact if we had scored 5 or 6 goals today it would not have flattered us.
As I said we are far from perfect and two things bothered me most today. How unfit and over weight does O'connor looks, and this needs to be addressed quickly and the other is how easily the Yam Scroat out paced O'Hanlon in the second half. Plus points for me were Booth, Thornhill, Stevenson and Edwin De graaf. The signing of 2 or 3 more experienced players would make a massive difference.
09-07-2011, 06:43 PM
Very few comments on De Graaf. Can only assume then he had a decent game so no point mentioning it.
09-07-2011, 06:54 PM
Very few comments on De Graaf. Can only assume then he had a decent game so no point mentioning it.
Got the full game - did some good things and some poor things.
Still not as asset IMO and I'd ship him
fife hfc
09-07-2011, 06:54 PM
I felt he done okay. very unlucky in first half with shot that was superbly saved by their GK. In the second half he sat deeper and allowed Thornhill to push forward and done evrything what was required but whether he could play that role in the SPL is another question.
09-07-2011, 06:55 PM
I wasnt very impressed with him. Think he deserves more of a chance but based on today he seemed scared to challenge for the ball and was very slow. Seemed a bit negative at times too, he had the chance to turn and go forward with the ball but instead passed it back to the defence? Dont really understand that as his passing was decent and when on the edge of the box he was ready to have a shot, brought out a really good save from the keeper.
At The Edge
09-07-2011, 06:59 PM
for those at the game, was our game a passing game, the dreaded hoofball kick and rush stylee?
How was the right back situ?
09-07-2011, 07:37 PM
for those at the game, was our game a passing game, the dreaded hoofball kick and rush stylee?
How was the right back situ?
I thought Hibs played good football throughout (or tried to). Marked difference from last season was pace. Pace on both flanks and there was a greater urgency to get the ball forward on the deck.
Second half was an excellent performance, down to the superb efforts of Thornhill in the middle, Boothy on the left flank, and latterly Sproule, who started on the right however dropped a wee bit deeper into a midfield area where he was penetrating. Galbraith did well when he came on and linked well with Booth. Sheridan for a big fella had some deft touches and looks like a very good link up player, as well as being deceptively quick when he gets a run on someone.
For me Palsson was very poor today. Always a yard off and looking for the wrong pass. Wotherspoon tried but wanted too long on the ball. First half I have to say my man of the half was Lewis Stevenson who I thought was excellent.
Murray was getting caught too often for my liking and O'Hanlon will come good when next to Paul Hanlon, who didn't put a foot wrong second half when he came on. Our young keeper looks so confident with his feet too..........very assured however not tested admittedly.
The game may have been different if Ogleby hadn't shot wildly over at 1-0. but in truth, Hibs could have scored 7 or 8 today if the shooting boots had been on. In fact, my one and only criticism of young Callum today was that he didn't seem to have the confidence to have a pop the 3 or 4 times he got deep into their box.
All in all, good show today, particularly from Matt Thornhill. As for those asking about EDG......sorry, but again, he looks very off the pace and really unsure of himself. Possession play was good, but there was no directness, no drive, no impact. It was very uncertain football from him, treating the ball like a hot tattie. Only my opinion, but I just don't like his style of football.
HibsMax
09-07-2011, 08:05 PM
As for those asking about EDG......sorry, but again, he looks very off the pace and really unsure of himself. Possession play was good, but there was no directness, no drive, no impact. It was very uncertain football from him, treating the ball like a hot tattie. Only my opinion, but I just don't like his style of football.
Do you think this is something that could change with more fitness or does he look like a lost cause?
09-07-2011, 08:11 PM
I thought Hibs played good football throughout (or tried to). Marked difference from last season was pace. Pace on both flanks and there was a greater urgency to get the ball forward on the deck.
Second half was an excellent performance, down to the superb efforts of Thornhill in the middle, Boothy on the left flank, and latterly Sproule, who started on the right however dropped a wee bit deeper into a midfield area where he was penetrating. Galbraith did well when he came on and linked well with Booth. Sheridan for a big fella had some deft touches and looks like a very good link up player, as well as being deceptively quick when he gets a run on someone.
For me Palsson was very poor today. Always a yard off and looking for the wrong pass. Wotherspoon tried but wanted too long on the ball. First half I have to say my man of the half was Lewis Stevenson who I thought was excellent.
Murray was getting caught too often for my liking and O'Hanlon will come good when next to Paul Hanlon, who didn't put a foot wrong second half when he came on. Our young keeper looks so confident with his feet too..........very assured however not tested admittedly.
The game may have been different if Ogleby hadn't shot wildly over at 1-0. but in truth, Hibs could have scored 7 or 8 today if the shooting boots had been on. In fact, my one and only criticism of young Callum today was that he didn't seem to have the confidence to have a pop the 3 or 4 times he got deep into their box.
All in all, good show today, particularly from Matt Thornhill. As for those asking about EDG......sorry, but again, he looks very off the pace and really unsure of himself. Possession play was good, but there was no directness, no drive, no impact. It was very uncertain football from him, treating the ball like a hot tattie. Only my opinion, but I just don't like his style of football.
I think we have the nucleus of a very decent team there. Just a few additions to add a bit extra... Thought Sheridan certainly looked worth a deal, albeit probably just a loan to start with!!
09-07-2011, 08:20 PM
Do you think this is something that could change with more fitness or does he look like a lost cause?
For me, the short answer is no max. Don't get me wrong, today he didn't do anything too badly. But that said, against weak opposition, you are looking for a player with his pedigree to get forward, use the ball far more productively and offensively. He didn't do much wrong purely because his passes were short, to the side, or behind. He did, give him his due, have a great strike saved. But his shot second half was nearly ending up in Buckhaven by the time I left the ground. He is dreadfully slow as well IMHO. There is nothing in his game I have seen that sees him scoring 5-10 goals, being creative, or being a real asset.
Thornhill has to be the most improved player I have seen at the club in years. He was superb today and totally dominated the midfield, as midfielders should. Booth won't be with us for long it pains me to say. He is an old head on very young shoulders. Every run he made was well times, every dribble got to the byeline or into the box, every ball he received his head was up and he was only going forward. Sproule as well did well, especially when he drifted a bit deeper to collect. And Paul Hanlon came on and restored some cohesion at the back.
What unimpressed me was some utter cretin behind me who just turne up to slate every Hibs player he could. Galbraith got it when he didn't go for a ball that Danny wouldn't have reached if he was Usian Bolt, Garry O was told on numerous occasions he should put his 'fat behind the ball', Stevenson and Murray are 'has-beens', Palsson was repeatedly told he was 'garbage'.........whoever you were/are mate, if you turned all your effort from berating the team into supporting the team, you would be an uber fan.......instead you were an uber-fanny :agree:
HibsMax
09-07-2011, 08:26 PM
For me, the short answer is no max. Don't get me wrong, today he didn't do anything too badly. But that said, against weak opposition, you are looking for a player with his pedigree to get forward, use the ball far more productively and offensively. He didn't do much wrong purely because his passes were short, to the side, or behind. He did, give him his due, have a great strike saved. But his shot second half was nearly ending up in Buckhaven by the time I left the ground. He is dreadfully slow as well IMHO. There is nothing in his game I have seen that sees him scoring 5-10 goals, being creative, or being a real asset.
Thornhill has to be the most improved player I have seen at the club in years. He was superb today and totally dominated the midfield, as midfielders should. Booth won't be with us for long it pains me to say. He is an old head on very young shoulders. Every run he made was well times, every dribble got to the byeline or into the box, every ball he received his head was up and he was only going forward. Sproule as well did well, especially when he drifted a bit deeper to collect. And Paul Hanlon came on and restored some cohesion at the back.
What unimpressed me was some utter cretin behind me who just turne up to slate every Hibs player he could. Galbraith got it when he didn't go for a ball that Danny wouldn't have reached if he was Usian Bolt, Garry O was told on numerous occasions he should put his 'fat behind the ball', Stevenson and Murray are 'has-beens', Palsson was repeatedly told he was 'garbage'.........whoever you were/are mate, if you turned all your effort from berating the team into supporting the team, you would be an uber fan.......instead you were an uber-fanny :agree:
I know what you mean. A guy of ability, even if not totally fit, should still be able to do things against lesser opponents who are presumably just as unfit as we are. If he's not doing it against East Fife, what chance is there of him doing it against SPL opposition?
09-07-2011, 08:27 PM
Got the full game - did some good things and some poor things.
Still not as asset IMO and I'd ship him
09-07-2011, 08:38 PM
Completely agree with all of this :agree:
I thought lewis was our best player in the first half and most of our play came through him. For me, Palssons passing is woeful at times and needs to keep it simple.
09-07-2011, 08:41 PM
Was impressed with EDG. Just needs to learn to header a ball.
Thornhill was best player on the park when he came on...closely followed by Boothy.
Good crowd once again from our pov. Sticking it to that junkie Ogleby was brilliant :greengrin
woody47
09-07-2011, 08:48 PM
Completely agree with all of this :agree:
I thought lewis was our best player in the first half and most of our play came through him. For me, Palssons passing is woeful at times and needs to keep it simple.
I aso thought Lewis was good first half (subbed for 2nd). Wasn't slow to come for the ball and not afraid to mix it with someone twice his size. Maybe his confidence is starting to come back after getting his extension to his contract.
Saying that, it is obvious we are still a few games short of match fitness and but there is a making of a football side there albeit mostly because of the youngsters.
09-07-2011, 08:59 PM
Apparently both Sheridan and ridgers (East Fife GK) were lifted for fighting after today's game.D
While the police involvement is unfortunate and cannot be condoned I would add that I would rather have a guy with a bit of fight about him than some of the wusses that have graced ER in recent years. Our lack of fight has been an invitation to other teams to bully us and they have done it repeatedly.
I do not know the circumstances about this incident but, unless there was some sort of totally unprovoked attack by Sheridan, this should not necessarily exclude him from signing a contract with us.
09-07-2011, 09:00 PM
Was impressed with EDG. Just needs to learn to header a ball.
Thornhill was best player on the park when he came on...closely followed by Boothy.
Good crowd once again from our pov. Sticking it to that junkie Ogleby was brilliant :greengrin
I chuckled at the irony of slagging the boy for being a "junkie" whilst applauding GOC:devil:
09-07-2011, 09:02 PM
I chuckled at the irony of slagging the boy for being a "junkie" whilst applauding GOC:devil:
S, did you see the look on Gaz's face at one point when he had the ball at his feet right on the shyline in front of our 'choir' who were singing junkie songs at Ogleby? T'was a picture :greengrin
09-07-2011, 09:05 PM
S, did you see the look on Gaz's face at one point when he had the ball at his feet right on the shyline in front of our 'choir' who were singing junkie songs at Ogleby? T'was a picture :greengrin
Never saw that J....
Reminds me of a derby at Tynie, when boy behind me called a hearts player a black ********. I pulled him up for racist comments and reminded him that MaKalambay and Thicot were playing, to which said boy says " aye, but they are hibbies"..... Irony at it very best:devil:
09-07-2011, 09:06 PM
Never saw that J....
Reminds me of a derby at Tynie, when boy behind me called a hearts player a black ********. I pulled him up for racist comments and reminded him that MaKalambay and Thicot were playing, to which said boy says " aye, but they are hibbies"..... Irony at it very best:devil:
09-07-2011, 09:08 PM
Thornhill :top marks
Oh and there's a reason why that Hearts player is playing for East Fife. Anyone care for a guess?
09-07-2011, 09:12 PM
Never saw that J....
Sorry but :faf:
09-07-2011, 09:12 PM
some of the junkie singers were also laughing about gaz and the irony:greengrin
09-07-2011, 09:20 PM
Thornhill :top marks
Oh and there's a reason why that Hearts player is playing for East Fife. Anyone care for a guess?
No guessing just http://27.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lg0xybTXNy1qav0oco1_400.jpg
09-07-2011, 09:21 PM
I saw young Kurtis today before the game nikki...........any news on how he is getting on up north ? Also I heard this week some cracking reports about a young lad who is in the 19's this season, Alex Harris.........is he someone we should be looking out for ? The lad I was talking to said he will be an absolute gem :agree:
09-07-2011, 09:27 PM
I saw young Kurtis today before the game nikki...........any news on how he is getting on up north ? Also I heard this week some cracking reports about a young lad who is in the 19's this season, Alex Harris.........is he someone we should be looking out for ? The lad I was talking to said he will be an absolute gem :agree:
kurtis is enjoying it up north and is on more wages than at hibs!
keep an eye out for news on the young lads over the next 2 weeks as they are away at a tournament.
09-07-2011, 09:35 PM
Booth was fantastic for the Hibs today. Top drawer:agree:
Sheridan is definately needing signed. He'll be a definate asset this season. Sign him up pronto please Rodders.
I was also impressed with Ivan. His game has definately come on. He is much more aware of the game, and used the ball differently from his first spell with us. Definately no' heed doon and run.
GOC is better too. He will score goals this seasonsout . Good work today.
EDG did better than I've seen from him in the past. Though he drifts around the park leaving big gaps IMO, and to be honest, his legs are in the process of "going". An honest shift from him, and he benefitted from a lot of game time. He's a tad chickenhearted aswell.
I thought Spoony was gash. Again.
Hibernian controlled today, and with a bit more fitness it would have been a cricket score. Certainly good signs:agree:
09-07-2011, 10:20 PM
Booth was fantastic for the Hibs today. Top drawer:agree:
Sheridan is definately needing signed. He'll be a definate asset this season. Sign him up pronto please Rodders.
I was also impressed with Ivan. His game has definately come on. He is much more aware of the game, and used the ball differently from his first spell with us. Definately no' heed doon and run.
GOC is better too. He will score goals this seasonsout . Good work today.
EDG did better than I've seen from him in the past. Though he drifts around the park leaving big gaps IMO, and to be honest, his legs are in the process of "going". An honest shift from him, and he benefitted from a lot of game time. He's a tad chickenhearted aswell.
I thought Spoony was gash. Again.
Hibernian controlled today, and with a bit more fitness it would have been a cricket score. Certainly good signs:agree:
Harsh.
D was much better 2nd half when he was able to link up with another footballing brain in Boothy
09-07-2011, 10:49 PM
Harsh.
D was much better 2nd half when he was able to link up with another footballing brain in Boothy
I don't think it is TBH. He's a fans favourite, there is no doubt, but I thought his passing, decision making and general all round play was pretty poor. If nish, or stevenson for example put in his general displays, there would be uproar. I think there is talent there, but I do not think he applies himself at all.
edit: I also think the superb booth was actually more in DW position, making the runs spoony should have been, rather than spoony able to link up with another football brain....
09-07-2011, 10:50 PM
1-2 Thornhill. :aok: :greengrin
09-07-2011, 10:52 PM
09-07-2011, 10:54 PM
Any sign of Jimmy Scott today or was his Livi injury keeping him out?
09-07-2011, 10:56 PM
09-07-2011, 10:58 PM
Any sign of Jimmy Scott today or was his Livi injury keeping him out?
Nae Jimmy nor Akpo Sodje.
09-07-2011, 11:00 PM
1-2 Thornhill. :aok: :greengrin
Looked a stone lighter than last season .. was very impressive, as were Booth, Lewis, Hanlon, O'Hanlon and Ivan IMO.
fife hfc
09-07-2011, 11:09 PM
I don't think it is TBH. He's a fans favourite, there is no doubt, but I thought his passing, decision making and general all round play was pretty poor. If nish, or stevenson for example put in his general displays, there would be uproar. I think there is talent there, but I do not think he applies himself at all.
edit: I also think the superb booth was actually more in DW position, making the runs spoony should have been, rather than spoony able to link up with another football brain....
That is the problem playing a player wide left as Booth likes to bomb forward into the positions a left sided wide player would be so we need to sort this out as Booth is excellent at it and therefore the wide player needs to keep out his way or draw players inside to give him more room.
09-07-2011, 11:21 PM
Like an overlapping full back? Ah! I misconstrued this as being an understanding between 2 boys with a footballing brain...
09-07-2011, 11:28 PM
Thats my baldy napper in number 7486......
09-07-2011, 11:34 PM
Just watched the highlights, thought we moved the ball about well, great to see us stretching teams and attacking down both flanks.
De Graaf looked decent, was certainly involved and got forward fairly often, going by the highlights.
Booth and Thornhill were excellent, and on that showing Sheridan would definitely be worth a contract.
It looked like we could have run up double figures if we'd been a bit more lethal in front of goal, and overall I'd say that performance coupled with the second half against Livi, is pretty encouraging.
At The Edge
09-07-2011, 11:58 PM
also just watched the highlights and by far the standout of the game was the lassie on the PA!
Petrie sign her up, comedy gold! even if we were getting humped 5-0 at ER she'd still make it sound no that bad:faf:
10-07-2011, 12:27 AM
Like an overlapping full back? Ah! I misconstrued this as being an understanding between 2 boys with a footballing brain...
Sooo predictable. Yes hes can be an overlapping fullback. Does that stop wotherspoon getting himself into dangerous positions just like he was shown over and over again by his overlapping chum?
Spoony is not progressing.
10-07-2011, 05:48 AM
also just watched the highlights and by far the standout of the game was the lassie on the PA!
Petrie sign her up, comedy gold! even if we were getting humped 5-0 at ER she'd still make it sound no that bad:faf:
She was brilliant! :faf:
10-07-2011, 05:49 AM
Sooo predictable. Yes hes can be an overlapping fullback. Does that stop wotherspoon getting himself into dangerous positions just like he was shown over and over again by his overlapping chum?
Totally agree DW is not progressing.
10-07-2011, 06:07 AM
Totally agree DW is not progressing.
10-07-2011, 06:47 AM
Wee Claire in number 7. Nice photos.
10-07-2011, 07:05 AM
''And coming on for East Fife, Stevie Crawford.....eh....no...I mean....'' :greengrin
10-07-2011, 11:06 AM
''And coming on for East Fife, Stevie Crawford.....eh....no...I mean....'' :greengrin
10-07-2011, 11:13 AM
Or when she was informing the crowd of the competition between Raith, Southend, East Fife and Dundee, she very candidly told the crowd that the third place play off would be on the Saturday, that being Raith v Dundee...........
10-07-2011, 11:30 AM
Or when she was informing the crowd of the competition between Raith, Southend, East Fife and Dundee, she very candidly told the crowd that the third place play off would be on the Saturday, that being Raith v Dundee...........
:faf: They could sell-out maist weeks if they gave her the mic for 90mins!
sven nil
10-07-2011, 11:42 AM
Apparently both Sheridan and ridgers (East Fife GK) were lifted for fighting after today's game.DSheridan got on the team bus after the game. Also I was there from 1pm till 6 pm and never seen any polis what so ever,
MIM in home end :bitchy:
I have photographic evidence :greengrin
Good to see you Mike!
Good to see you too, G. I haven't seen any evidence of your wild claim, tho.
Anyway, you didn't expect me to sit in the away end with all you ruffians, did you? :devil:
10-07-2011, 06:45 PM
Good to see you too, G. I haven't seen any evidence of your wild claim, tho.
Anyway, you didn't expect me to sit in the away end with all you ruffians, did you? :devil:
Check ma pics :wink: There's one with you or the 'dark' side :greengrin