View Full Version : Cillian Sheridan (MERGED)

Mark79
08-07-2011, 08:36 AM
Says on BBC gossip we are looking at signing him as he is unsettled in Bulgaria? Thoughts?

08-07-2011, 08:43 AM
Says on BBC gossip we are looking at signing him as he is unsettled in Bulgaria? Thoughts?

I think you beat me to posting it and I'm no happy!!! :wink:

Would be a great signing.

Rivers Cuomo
08-07-2011, 08:44 AM
Would be delighted with this signing.

08-07-2011, 08:48 AM
Another big guy to fit in with our 'style' of play I suppose.

08-07-2011, 08:49 AM
Would be delighted with this signing.

:agree::agree:

Decent addition if he signs.........

08-07-2011, 08:51 AM

Yup .. and we need a mix. CS does suggest a similarity to GOC and Sodje.

08-07-2011, 08:59 AM
From BBC gossip page:

Hibernian are eyeing a move for former Celtic striker Cillian Sheridan, who is keen to return to Scotland after failing to settle in Bulgaria with CSKA Sofia. (Daily Record)

08-07-2011, 09:00 AM

08-07-2011, 09:03 AM
I'm past caring what style we play I just want to win

Mark79
08-07-2011, 09:07 AM
Hope he doesn't suddenly sign for Birmingham or there will be a meltdown on here.

Dr Jimmy
08-07-2011, 09:08 AM

Couldn't agree more!

sven nil
08-07-2011, 09:10 AM
buy one get one free!

08-07-2011, 09:14 AM

FastEddieFelson
08-07-2011, 09:16 AM
Hope he doesn't suddenly sign for Birmingham or there will be a meltdown on here.

08-07-2011, 09:19 AM
Just because a laddie is over 6 ft tall, he's like Sodje or O'Connor. :rolleyes:
Sheridan is a number 10.

Hoof that 'baw.

Ah, but would this be a CC's or RP's move?

08-07-2011, 09:20 AM

We'd be better with Tommy Sheridan.

08-07-2011, 09:27 AM
Hoof that 'baw.

Aye chic charnleys every week will do me fine

08-07-2011, 09:28 AM
As I said on the pm board garry was just fine playing alongside mixu and brewster so this Target man tag he gets lumped with is in my opinion a myth

08-07-2011, 09:33 AM
As I said on the pm board garry was just fine playing alongside mixu and brewster so this Target man tag he gets lumped with is in my opinion a myth

Despite his considerable build, GOC has never been a target man - in fact, one of the reasons that people had serious doubts about him early in his Hibs career was because Williamson tried to utilise him as one.

Apparently he is better all round now (and better in the air he says), but I would be hugely disappointed if CC thought he was a target man.

08-07-2011, 09:54 AM

....playing "Inside" Forward I presume.

08-07-2011, 09:57 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/14078009.stm?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter. On trial with us now

08-07-2011, 10:06 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cillian_Sheridan

19 goals in 92 career appearances. Not exactly prolific.

08-07-2011, 10:09 AM
Aye chic charnleys every week will do me fine

In all seriousness, Sheridan would be a good signing. And its perfectly possible to play an attractive passing game even with two bruisers up front. As long as youve got quality passers behind them. It just depends how the manager tells them to play (is he a Mowbray or a Mixu).

PeeKay
08-07-2011, 10:10 AM
If he signed a three year deal just last year, won't that mean there will need to be transfer money paid? Or has he been released?

Mark79
08-07-2011, 10:12 AM

If your no fast you are last. GIRFUY!

Mikeystewart
08-07-2011, 10:18 AM

:faf::faf::faf:

08-07-2011, 10:20 AM
If he signed a three year deal just last year, won't that mean there will need to be transfer money paid? Or has he been released?

I think that they paid a fee for him, so can't see him being released, and would imagine a fee from us would be required. I would presume that if things have gone as far as us having him on trial, that we have sounded out his club and both parties are at prepared to try and complete a deal.

Would be happy with this signing.

Mikeystewart
08-07-2011, 10:21 AM

correct me if im wrong, if hes on trial it means he either has been released or will be if someone wants him. i think...

cwilliamson85
08-07-2011, 10:27 AM
With all this height up front should be good for when we get corners and set pieces around the box.

08-07-2011, 10:31 AM

Or Cillian Murphy.

hibs4eve
08-07-2011, 10:33 AM
Could he play against East Fife then?

08-07-2011, 10:33 AM
Ultimately, I think that the arrival of Cillian Sheridan would boost the number of strikers we have available at the club.

08-07-2011, 10:47 AM
A couple of articles here, would be a good signing IMO, hopefully we can secure a deal. :agree:

http://www.scotzine.com/2011/07/cillian-sheridan-joins-hibernian-on-trial/

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/14078009.stm

08-07-2011, 10:54 AM

I seem to remember they paid quite a bit for him, was it £800k?????

08-07-2011, 10:56 AM
Ultimately, I think that the arrival of Cillian Sheridan would boost the number of strikers we have available at the club.

Essentially thats true.

hibs4eve
08-07-2011, 11:02 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-ZHK9vRAgo

NGP
08-07-2011, 11:08 AM
With all this height up front should be good for when we get corners and set pieces around the box.

I hope so.

We had numerous corners against Livi and alomost all ended up with them on the counter attack - seemed to be lack of clarity to who should be taken them.

Back to the OP - would be good signing IMO, not an out and out goal scorer, but has a bit of skill to him.

08-07-2011, 11:12 AM
Could he play against East Fife then?

Was wondering that.

hibs4eve
08-07-2011, 11:17 AM
Berwick played a trialist against us so i think it should be ok

08-07-2011, 11:27 AM
Berwick played a trialist against us so i think it should be ok

People at the game should watch out for a big guy in the warm-up, IIRC he is about 6 feet 4 or 5.

08-07-2011, 11:27 AM
Or Cillian Murphy.

I don't think this is going to reach 100 pages :wink:

Seriously though this could be a good signing. I'm not sure about Calderwood's commitment but I have some faith in his eye for a player.

McHibby
08-07-2011, 11:38 AM
I remember being quite impressed with him when he played for Celtic, I'd be happy with this TBH. Could it be a loan deal, or would they not bother with a trial for a loan signing? (genuine question)

08-07-2011, 11:39 AM

Yes. Having strikers up front will assist us to score goals.

08-07-2011, 11:46 AM

I'm manipulating the figures. Well if Rodders can do it then so can I. :agree:

Sheridan has scored 10 goals in his last 32 appearances with St Johnstone and CSKA Sofia so obviously he's finding the net more regularly or starting more games than he did in the earlier part of his career. If he could chip in with 10-15 goals in a season then he would be a handy addition to the squad.

Don't forget that he scored twice for the Saintees when they pumped us 5-1.

08-07-2011, 11:46 AM
I'd be very happy with this signing.

Good, solid goal scorer, something we've been missing in the last year - with Deeks not being on form and Stokes heading to Celtic.

With him, O'Connor, Sodje and Sproule on the books then I don't think we'll be short of goals next season.....

08-07-2011, 11:50 AM
I'm manipulating the figures. Well if Rodders can do it then so can I. :agree:

Sheridan has scored 10 goals in his last 32 appearances with St Johnstone and CSKA Sofia so obviously he's finding the net more regularly or starting more games than he did in the earlier part of his career. If he could chip in with 10-15 goals in a season then he would be a handy addition to the squad.

Don't forget that he scored twice for the Saintees when they pumped us 5-1.

My granny could have scored twice for the Saintees that night! :greengrin

08-07-2011, 11:51 AM
Strange that the EN haven't picked this up. I was expecting it to be tacked on to the end of the O'Hanlon story.

08-07-2011, 11:56 AM

Three big guys that won't get knocked off the ball easily and play best with a through ball on the ground.

Seems good to me. Just need a midfield player to play it through.

08-07-2011, 11:57 AM

Agreed but 42 games in the SPL with 12 goals (3 against us) and 5 assists (2 against us) looks a Rod better. :wink:

I think that they paid a fee for him, so can't see him being released, and would imagine a fee from us would be required. I would presume that if things have gone as far as us having him on trial, that we have sounded out his club and both parties are at prepared to try and complete a deal.

Would be happy with this signing.

I seem to remember they paid quite a bit for him, was it £800k?????

From the records I’m looking up it was closer to 400 Euros.

08-07-2011, 12:01 PM

Well that's us lost out on another potential signing.

08-07-2011, 12:02 PM
I am a bit perplexed as to why a trial is required?

From what I can remember he was/is exactly the type of player we've been missing.

08-07-2011, 12:03 PM
Sillyname Sheridan. haha a haha

08-07-2011, 12:05 PM

Ooops! :rolleyes:

400k Euros. :aok:

08-07-2011, 12:06 PM

We paid more for Stokes, Riordan and Alan O'Brien. If he is homesick and not settling then CSKA probably just want to cut thier losses with an unhappy player and will accept thier money back so not outwith our budget IMO.

and he is still a young player with sell-on potential which is where we tend to direct our transfer fee's when they are paid.

08-07-2011, 12:07 PM
Sillyname Sheridan. haha a haha

Is this the beginning of a song, perhaps?

cam75
08-07-2011, 12:08 PM
I am a bit perplexed as to why a trial is required?

From what I can remember he was/is exactly the type of player we've been missing.

He will be looking at us,no trial required get him on 2 year deal,before hearts step in with a £7grand pw deal,is he hibs class tho!:agree:

08-07-2011, 12:08 PM
We paid more for Stokes, Riordan and Alan O'Brien. If he is homesick and not settling then CSKA probably just want to cut thier losses with an unhappy player and will accept thier money back so not outwith our budget IMO.

and he is still a young player with sell-on potential which is where we tend to direct our transfer fee's when they are paid.

At 400 euros :wink: I'm not disagreeing with you.

08-07-2011, 12:12 PM
He'd be a decent signing for us , however I think we are in more need of a creative midfielder or 2 and a right back.

08-07-2011, 12:18 PM
Essentially thats true.

In effect, I'm of the opinion that this can only be a good thing in terms of scoring goals at the end of the day.

08-07-2011, 12:21 PM
Is this the beginning of a song, perhaps?

It would make an excellent chant, right enough. Mr Sheridan might think it a bit odd, though.

08-07-2011, 12:27 PM
He'd be a decent signing for us , however I think we are in more need of a creative midfielder or 2 and a right back.

Well he's left footed so every chance he'll end up playing right back for us.

08-07-2011, 12:27 PM
I'm not sure there will be any transfer fee. Was Sheridan not released because CSKA couldn't afford to pay his wages?

08-07-2011, 12:30 PM
Good signing if we take him :agree:

aberhibsfc
08-07-2011, 12:37 PM

Not unless we're playing Real Madrid!! In the Bernabau!!!

aberhibsfc
08-07-2011, 12:38 PM
Good signing if we take him :agree:

08-07-2011, 12:45 PM
At long last, a thread with [perhaps] good news , and not just speculation about "is he going / is he staying". From what I recall Sheridan is a goog, quick, skilfull old fashioned "inside-left" type of player with an eye for goal. Would be a welcome addition to our team/squad and would compliment whichever strike partner he was teamed up with.

Shaggy
08-07-2011, 12:48 PM
I am excited aboot this, hope he works oot quick and is signed/ or on loan.

he would defo improve our frontline eveo further compared to last season

For those who say we need some creativeness in midfield from what im hearing thornhill has the potential to fill this void no?

also eremenko has been released from his club. over to you rodney :wink:

would like sheridan though always seemed liek he was a half decent player and showed he can score goals

08-07-2011, 12:50 PM
The last Sheridan trial ended badly:rolleyes:

08-07-2011, 12:51 PM
Good news if this comes off, always liked him.

08-07-2011, 12:56 PM
Id be well chuffed if we got him :agree:

Very decent addition and can mix it up.

08-07-2011, 01:13 PM
In all seriousness, Sheridan would be a good signing. And its perfectly possible to play an attractive passing game even with two bruisers up front. As long as youve got quality passers behind them. It just depends how the manager tells them to play (is he a Mowbray or a Mixu).

Judging by the contrasting approaches of the teams at Lingston this week we haven't been away working on an attractive passing game!!

08-07-2011, 01:22 PM
Judging by the contrasting approaches of the teams at Lingston this week we haven't been away working on an attractive passing game!!

Dont worry, there's plenty of time before the serious stuff starts, Calderwoods on the ball, wont be long before we are back where we belong. :rolleyes:

08-07-2011, 01:24 PM
The boy Sheridan was identified by Hibs previously as I recall....during a previous manager's reign.

Apparently he didn't get paid whilst at CSKA so Hearts will be favourites to secure his signature I would've thought.

cam75
08-07-2011, 01:43 PM
And we thought we had it bad,no wonder he is looking for a new club.

http://www.hoolsworld.net/t290-cska-sofia-boycott

LOL just got txt saying Our next managers is Mark Mcghee and thats why CS is going to hibs,he has huge respect from when he was at Motherwell.Please no...

08-07-2011, 02:03 PM
And we thought we had it bad,no wonder he is looking for a new club.

http://www.hoolsworld.net/t290-cska-sofia-boycott

LOL just got txt saying Our next managers is Mark Mcghee and thats why CS is going to hibs,he has huge respect from when he was at Motherwell.Please no...

Don't believe it for a second but McGhee is the one man who would make me consider handing my ST back. Absolute balloon of a man.

08-07-2011, 02:05 PM
In effect, I'm of the opinion that this can only be a good thing in terms of scoring goals at the end of the day.

When all's said and done, putting the ball in the onion bag is the bottom line moving forward, goals-wise.

08-07-2011, 02:17 PM
Usually on these threads we get a good percentage of posters insisting that the player in question is crap (Sutton and Higdon for example, even GOC) - but not here. Is this because Sheridan is a cut above every other player we've been linked to, or just that we're happy to still be in the market for players given all the nonsense that's going on?

I would like him at Hibs.

Matty_Jack04
08-07-2011, 02:41 PM
SSN reporting he's on trial now quite happy with this looked a good player when he was with motherwell also shows that CC is still attempting to build a squad and the board are actively backing him

Good news all round right back next tho eh

08-07-2011, 02:42 PM
We could get him fit, then sell him on and and make an absolute cillian.

08-07-2011, 02:42 PM

Think most people just want to see a consistent/difficult to beat/mentally tough/winning Hibs side just now.

'Attractive' football comes second.

Not too much to ask is it?:wink:

08-07-2011, 02:44 PM
The last Sheridan trial ended badly:rolleyes:

Depends if you were a SSP member or not:greengrin

08-07-2011, 02:48 PM
We could get him fit, then sell him on and and make an absolute cillian.

As ideas go Bob, that's a Silly'un.

08-07-2011, 02:50 PM
or we could sell him to Palermo and make him a Sicilian Cillian

08-07-2011, 03:00 PM
or we could sell him to Palermo and make him a Sicilian Cillian

For a millian?

08-07-2011, 03:02 PM
:pray:

Hibiza
08-07-2011, 03:07 PM
Be a good signing . :flag:

08-07-2011, 03:14 PM
Sell Sicilain Cillian for a millian?

Thats Lillian..... :greengrin

08-07-2011, 03:19 PM

Get him a motorbike and let him ride Pillian :greengrin

08-07-2011, 03:20 PM

Especially if you're listening to Marillion. :agree:

purvesa
08-07-2011, 03:39 PM

st east mains for 8 day trial

08-07-2011, 03:46 PM
st east mains for 8 day trial

Get the boy signed up!!! He clearly has the skills to add to our forward line.

This will be Rod avoiding paying his wages for a week before he signs.

08-07-2011, 03:48 PM

Get the boy signed up!!! He clearly has the skills to add to our forward line.

This will be Rod avoiding paying his wages for a week before he signs.

Let's hope he wins the Euromillions (with a ticket paid for by someone else, obviously).

gringojoe
08-07-2011, 03:54 PM
My granny could have scored twice for the Saintees that night! :greengrin

Can your granny lay on balls too?

08-07-2011, 03:59 PM
Can your granny lay on balls too?

His mither or faither wouldn't have been there if she didnae.

08-07-2011, 04:36 PM

Fair enough but am sick to death of watching our strikers get rogered by other CH's, particularly Yam CH's, and would appreciate if we could at least hold our own in that department. Horses for courses and all that.

08-07-2011, 05:40 PM

Watch this space, these positions will be filled prior to start of season.

08-07-2011, 06:00 PM
Watch this space, these positions will be filled prior to start of season.

Are you what they call in the know?? :wink:

08-07-2011, 06:13 PM
Yes please:agree:

Good addition to Hibernian if it comes off:agree:

08-07-2011, 06:34 PM
Are you what they call in the know?? :wink:

Nope, no source or any inside info, just that if you, me and the farmers dug can see what is required, then stands to reason those in power at the Club can also. FWIW I think CC will remain as manager and will sign players over next two weeks now that the english clubs have returned to pre-season training.

sixtwo
08-07-2011, 06:38 PM
I started to read this thread and was quite happy. A few posts in and I started to get annoyed.

Cillian Sherridan would be a good addition to our team. He would score goals in the SPL and would be a great partner for o'connor.

I find it strange that a hibs fan would be negative about a move for a player of his calibre

08-07-2011, 06:46 PM
I really think Sheridan would be an excellent addition to the squad....he has a bit of pace and can finish a bit.

Get it done.

08-07-2011, 06:51 PM
I started to read this thread and was quite happy. A few posts in and I started to get annoyed.

Cillian Sherridan would be a good addition to our team. He would score goals in the SPL and would be a great partner for o'connor.

I find it strange that a hibs fan would be negative about a move for a player of his calibre

I don't think anyone is denying he has ability and I would be very pleased if we were to sign him, but GOC, Sodje and Sheridan are similar players and we maybe need to sign a poacher type player.

08-07-2011, 06:52 PM

Why do people keep overlooking Sodje, after all his goals to games ratio for Hibs since he has been here aint too shabby? Not a tab harsh on the lad?

edwards
08-07-2011, 06:54 PM
He has proved it before and will prove it again if Hibs get their finger oot and get him to put pen to paper.

Just get a right back while we are at it.

Mark McGhee I used to rate him and while with Motherwell thought Hibs should have had him in before Hughes, but after his poor showing at Aberdeen I don't think he would be a wise choice. :confused:

08-07-2011, 06:55 PM
Why do people keep overlooking Sodje, after all his goals to games ratio for Hibs since he has been here aint too shabby? Not a tab harsh on the lad?

True, but he's well, how do you put it politely, agricultural? If he played for Hertz people on here would have a field day:greengrin

08-07-2011, 06:56 PM
Get him a motorbike and let him ride Pillian :greengrin

That would be brillian :thumbsup:

08-07-2011, 06:57 PM
I really think Sheridan would be an excellent addition to the squad....he has a bit of pace and can finish a bit.

Get it done.

:agree:I concur. Some people think GOC's just going to 'come good', if he doesn't we'd be Donald... I think he would defo add something to this squad...

08-07-2011, 07:00 PM
I don't think anyone is denying he has ability and I would be very pleased if we were to sign him, but GOC, Sodje and Sheridan are similar players and we maybe need to sign a poacher type player.

I dont think they are similar players TBH. Sheridan is a quick left sided forward who can run at defenders, Sodje is a strong centre forward who can tussle with defenders and can play as a target man and O'Connor is a right sided striker that tries to get in behind defenders to get the ball played to him.

Seems a pretty good mix of skill-sets IMO with the added advantage of the three of them being strong enough to hold thier own in a SPL hack-fest and tall enough to cause problems at set-pieces.

08-07-2011, 07:01 PM
If GOC was to become a guest of Her Majesty it might be wise to have a few surplus strikers.

sixtwo
08-07-2011, 07:01 PM

I'm not overlooking sodje. I have had the pleasure of watching both Akpo and garry and it is my opinion that Garry is he better player.

if sherridan signs, I think he will partner garry. Akpo will be a sub if all three are fit. I think akpo is a decent enough player but cillian offers something a bit different. Garry will / should be the main striker. I'll be happy with the competition for places as I reckon all three have the ability to hit 20 goals if given the chance.

I don't buy into the argument that they are all too similar. Sherridan is tall but very comfortable with the ball at his feet and more mobile that akpo. I'll be delighted if he signs!

Onwards and upwards

08-07-2011, 07:15 PM

Not saying he would be a poor signing but what exactly is his calibre ?
He played a cameo at celtic and scored 2 for St Johnstone against the poorest hibs team in a very long time.

I would say he would be a reasonable signing with potential but has it all to prove.

08-07-2011, 07:22 PM
I dont think they are similar players TBH. Sheridan is a quick left sided forward who can run at defenders, Sodje is a strong centre forward who can tussle with defenders and can play as a target man and O'Connor is a right sided striker that tries to get in behind defenders to get the ball played to him.

A bit too subtle an assessment for some people, mate. All three are tall strikers, therefore they are "same type of player". Handing out facts like you have leaves them with nothing to moan, whinge, or worry about.

08-07-2011, 07:23 PM
I'm not overlooking sodje. I have had the pleasure of watching both Akpo and garry and it is my opinion that Garry is he better player.

if sherridan signs, I think he will partner garry. Akpo will be a sub if all three are fit. I think akpo is a decent enough player but cillian offers something a bit different. Garry will / should be the main striker. I'll be happy with the competition for places as I reckon all three have the ability to hit 20 goals if given the chance.

I don't buy into the argument that they are all too similar. Sherridan is tall but very comfortable with the ball at his feet and more mobile that akpo. I'll be delighted if he signs!

Onwards and upwards

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

I will have a pint of what your on :greengrin

How often do Hibs strikers score 20 a season in good teams ?

If any of them get to 15 I will be shocked

HibeeSince85
08-07-2011, 07:24 PM
His mither or faither wouldn't have been there if she didnae.

08-07-2011, 07:35 PM
He played a cameo at celtic and scored 2 for St Johnstone against the poorest hibs team in a very long time.

I would say he would be a reasonable signing with potential but has it all to prove.

I tend to agree with this to be honest, what has he actually proven to date? I still think he is young and has potential and probably could do with finding the right club to make a name for himself over say the next 2-3 seasons to get his career back on track.

08-07-2011, 07:48 PM

Trappatoni has capped him for Eire ahead of Anthony Stokes- another who came to ER with it all to prove.

People as usual are being too demanding. We might be signing a 22 year old with good potential, who has played at big clubs and is already a full international- is this seriously not a decent prospect for a club our size?

I also disagree that he, Sodje and O'Connor are at all alike apart from all being quite tall! I guess the naysayers would agree that Riordan, Nish and Duffy were all 'different' but we didn't exactly fill the net with goals last season.

08-07-2011, 07:51 PM
Trappatoni has capped him for Eire ahead of Anthony Stokes- another who came to ER with it all to prove.

People as usual are being too demanding. We might be signing a 22 year old with good potential, who has played at big clubs and is already a full international- is this seriously not a decent prospect for a club our size?

I also disagree that he, Sodje and O'Connor are at all alike apart from all being quite tall! I guess the naysayers would agree that Riordan, Nish and Duffy were all 'different' but we didn't exactly fill the net with goals last season.

That is exactly what he is, not proven but a decent prospect I wish him all the best.

08-07-2011, 07:56 PM
A bit too subtle an assessment for some people, mate. All three are tall strikers, therefore they are "same type of player". Handing out facts like you have leaves them with nothing to moan, whinge, or worry about.

I'm not moaning or whinging I'm simply stating my opinion, and I'm not having a go at what MyJo said but how was it a "fact"? It wasn't a fact it was an opinion.

08-07-2011, 08:10 PM
That is exactly what he is, not proven but a decent prospect I wish him all the best.

I agree he is not proven. Sadly for us, we'll never be in a position to sign proven internationalists- I cant understand why some folk (not you by the way) think otherwise. In many ways this is as good as it gets. Personally I think this could be very beneficial for all concerned- he looks a very awkward player to play against and I don't think he'll have any problems getting a decent goals return in the SPL.

08-07-2011, 08:17 PM
Yes. Having strikers up front will assist us to score goals.

:agree: So long as we have the means to get the round thing to them I think this could be a new strategy for the coming season.

08-07-2011, 08:23 PM
I agree he is not proven. Sadly for us, we'll never be in a position to sign proven internationalists- I cant understand why some folk (not you by the way) think otherwise. In many ways this is as good as it gets. Personally I think this could be very beneficial for all concerned- he looks a very awkward player to play against and I don't think he'll have any problems getting a decent goals return in the SPL.

Agree with all you say, it is just about as good as it gets. We can't even hope to sign Adam Rooney from ICT as he has proved himself. By the way I dont think Rooney would score 15 - 20 year on year. Hopefully "Tommy" will get 30 odd goals in 2 years for Hibs and we can get 500k for him. :greengrin

08-07-2011, 08:23 PM
:agree: So long as we have the means to get the round thing to them I think this could be a new strategy for the coming season.

Exactly, I still think we could do with another 1 maybe 2 creative midfielders. We cant rely on Ivan producing the good all the time and dont really see anyone else that would stick out, hopefully Thornhill could fill the void but feel we still need someone else.

sixtwo
08-07-2011, 08:25 PM
Is it a coincendence that 'simply the best' is the rangers fans anthem, and you have an unhealthy suspicion of hibs signing an ex celtic player?

The boy done well in a st johnstone team. He scored twice aganst us when they hammered us 5-1. you might say that we were poor at that time but they also beat rangers 4-1 during his short spell there.

He is a republic of Ireland international. He is a good age.

He will be a good signing for us.

08-07-2011, 08:40 PM
Is it a coincendence that 'simply the best' is the rangers fans anthem, and you have an unhealthy suspicion of hibs signing an ex celtic player?

The boy done well in a st johnstone team. He scored twice aganst us when they hammered us 5-1. you might say that we were poor at that time but they also beat rangers 4-1 during his short spell there.

He is a republic of Ireland international. He is a good age.

He will be a good signing for us.

Sorry read my posts mate and come back again.
I have been a Hibby probably longer than you have been alive.
My user name is unfortunate but a joined the night George Best died I had taken a drink :greengrin and was not thinking about my user name, if I could change I would.

08-07-2011, 08:48 PM
My user name is unfortunate but a joined the night George Best died I had taken a drink :greengrin and was not thinking about my user name, if I could change I would.

Jeez, the sooner the season starts the better then we can get back to having a go at the team / manager / players/mascot/pets (amend as appropriate) got to be better than pulling up a 3000 plus poster on the strength of a name........

For the record, my Boston is in Lincolnshire rather than USA where there tends to be Celtic loyalties........

08-07-2011, 09:06 PM
Jeez, the sooner the season starts the better then we can get back to having a go at the team / manager / players/mascot/pets (amend as appropriate) got to be better than pulling up a 3000 plus poster on the strength of a name........

For the record, my Boston is in Lincolnshire rather than USA where there tends to be Celtic loyalties........

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

08-07-2011, 09:07 PM
I'm not moaning or whinging I'm simply stating my opinion, and I'm not having a go at what MyJo said but how was it a "fact"? It wasn't a fact it was an opinion.

It's a fact Sheridan is left sided.

It's a fact O'Connor is right footed.

It's a fact Akpo is better played through the middle.

Those are what I meant by facts.

Your opinion can't change those facts.

08-07-2011, 09:09 PM

Might not be a great signing but not a silly yin either.:offski:

08-07-2011, 09:14 PM
Might not be a great signing but not a silly yin either.:offski:

Except it's pronounced killian :wink:

08-07-2011, 09:29 PM
It's a fact Sheridan is left sided.

It's a fact O'Connor is right footed.

It's a fact Akpo is better played through the middle.

Those are what I meant by facts.

Your opinion can't change those facts.

The first two are facts. Yes.

It's not a fact Sodje is best played in the middle, thats your opinion.(and mines too!)

08-07-2011, 09:36 PM

You can, just ask an Admin :agree:

08-07-2011, 09:40 PM

I'd sooner he was a hibs player than a killie un.

08-07-2011, 09:40 PM
You can, just ask an Admin :agree:

thanks jonny i am thinking of a new name as we speak :greengrin

08-07-2011, 09:41 PM

Like Killa Black?

08-07-2011, 09:44 PM

How about Big John Greig? :wink:

08-07-2011, 09:51 PM
How about Big John Greig? :wink:

was thinking of - BostonGers :greengrin

08-07-2011, 09:52 PM

How about "Formerly Simply the Best"

08-07-2011, 09:55 PM
'green is the colour'?

08-07-2011, 10:04 PM
Isaac Refvik

thats gonna be my new name anyone remember him ?

08-07-2011, 10:07 PM
Isaac Refvik

thats gonna be my new name anyone remember him ?Dinnae use an underscore in between the names though :greengrin

http://www.hibs.net/member.php?342-Isaac_Refvik

08-07-2011, 10:10 PM
Apparently he is delighted (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/14078009.stm) & free (http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/soccer_irish/37833/?)

ruthven_raiders
08-07-2011, 10:15 PM
Isaac Refvik

thats gonna be my new name anyone remember him ?

Yep remember him and Sven mathieson good players but run into visa problems

08-07-2011, 10:18 PM
Dinnae use an underscore in between the names though :greengrin

http://www.hibs.net/member.php?342-Isaac_Refvik

Oh No !

I will think again

ruthven_raiders
08-07-2011, 10:21 PM
Just remembered that Sven mathieson died no that many years ago, still young, good classy players who would do well today

08-07-2011, 10:22 PM
Oh No !

I will think againat least somebody else remembered him though

Edit: he actually played in the 1st game I ever attended :agree: but I was nearly new :greengrin back then so I dinnae particularly remember him.

JoeT_WasTheBest
08-07-2011, 10:24 PM
Oh No !

I will think again

Thorsten Schmugge?

08-07-2011, 10:30 PM
It's not a fact Sodje is best played in the middle

Yes it is.

08-07-2011, 11:04 PM
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Cillian-Sheridan-lands-trial-with.6798559.jp

FORMER Celtic striker Cillian Sheridan is set to play as a trialist for Hibs this afternoon as he bids to win a move to the SPL club.

Macaroon
08-07-2011, 11:32 PM
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Cillian-Sheridan-lands-trial-with.6798559.jp

FORMER Celtic striker Cillian Sheridan is set to play as a trialist for Hibs this afternoon as he bids to win a move to the SPL club.

Might head down to see it actually, aint seen them play yet this [pre] season.

08-07-2011, 11:54 PM

If the game goes ahead :wink:

09-07-2011, 12:02 AM
If the game goes ahead :wink:

Care to expand?

09-07-2011, 12:03 AM
Care to expand?

you not seen the weather? East Fife hardly gonna bust a gut to get Bayview ready for a friendly :greengrin

09-07-2011, 12:05 AM
you not seen the weather? East Fife hardly gonna bust a gut to get Bayview ready for a friendly :greengrin

It's fine here. :greengrin

09-07-2011, 05:40 AM
at least somebody else remembered him though

Edit: he actually played in the 1st game I ever attended :agree: but I was nearly new :greengrin back then so I dinnae particularly remember him.

Was one of the fist games I can remember aswell. Think it was against Morton on what must have been a mid week match, I'm thinking this because my dad always took me to the north stand for night games for some reason. Pretty sure we played strasburg in the uefa around the same time.

sven nil
09-07-2011, 06:05 AM
We'd be better with Tommy Sheridan.Aye at corners they tell me he does good inswingers

09-07-2011, 07:37 AM
Aye at corners they tell me he does good inswingers

something about the phrase 'away strip' and tommy sheridan

09-07-2011, 09:53 AM
Just remembered that Sven mathieson died no that many years ago, still young, good classy players who would do well today

Didn't know that, what a shame. I remember him & Isaac from quite a few matches, would both have went on to be good players for us, especially Isaac who was a real live wire.

Back on subject, certainly wouldn't mind us taking a punt on Sheridan.

09-07-2011, 10:30 AM

beg to differ, with a decent amount of hibs supporters set to attend i would imagine they would burst a gut, stitch it and burst it again to get the friendly on. cash is king after all.

09-07-2011, 01:16 PM
Was one of the fist games I can remember aswell. Think it was against Morton on what must have been a mid week match, I'm thinking this because my dad always took me to the north stand for night games for some reason. Pretty sure we played strasburg in the uefa around the same time.My 1st game was the Smeltic game 3 days after that Morton game. Morton game 15/11/78 which was a Wednesday, Smeltic game 18/11/78.

According tae iHibs the Strasbourg game you mention was on 01/11/78

09-07-2011, 02:12 PM
From what I've seen of him this he could be a VG signing - he has shown he can score goals and compete at SPL level anwhow, and at 22 should have his best years ahead of him. :thumbsup:

Hibiza
09-07-2011, 02:58 PM
no messing about, tache. Just sign him.

09-07-2011, 04:23 PM
no messing about, tache. Just sign him.

Absolutely!

09-07-2011, 04:33 PM
I have had a change of heart, sign him up!

09-07-2011, 04:40 PM
I have had a change of heart, sign him up!

....and if he didn't score or assist in the next match what knee jerk reaction would you rush to next?

09-07-2011, 04:51 PM
....and if he didn't score or assist in the next match what knee jerk reaction would you rush to next?

It isn't a knee jerk reaction, I always thought he looked a decent player but thought he was too similar to what we have, but thinking about it, he isn't really and i was wrong in that respect. That's what I meant when I said I had a change in heart.

edwards
09-07-2011, 05:40 PM
I think we may be setting our sights to high as before the game we were ready to push Sheridan to one side as some of you felt he wasn't good enough.
Hold on he scored and he hasn't put pen to paper so we put him in the shop window for everyone to see so they can sign him, a slightly stupid thing to do. :rolleyes:

09-07-2011, 05:49 PM
Presumably he's only available on loan as he still has 2 years on his contract-unless we buy him of course.

10-07-2011, 03:45 PM
Presumably he's only available on loan as he still has 2 years on his contract-unless we buy him of course.

Well CC's phone has been hacked because the NOTW are reporting that he wants to sign him and it's all about selling him on a move to the club.

Fingers crossed.:flag:

10-07-2011, 03:46 PM

He's been released.

10-07-2011, 03:58 PM
apart from his goal how did he play yesterday?

10-07-2011, 04:04 PM

I wasn't at the game, but from the Hibs TV highlights he looked good.

10-07-2011, 04:05 PM

Played well had a couple of runs at defenders very confident on the ball and would be a great addition to our squad :agree:

10-07-2011, 04:12 PM
Played well had a couple of runs at defenders very confident on the ball and would be a great addition to our squad :agree:

Looked like he'd be a great addition to the squad, played very well, quick feet for such a tall guy!

The chant of 'Petrie, Petrie, sign him up' would indicate that most of the fans there yesterday would agree!

10-07-2011, 04:14 PM

seemed good with the ball at his feet for a big lad. defo worth a deal:aok:

10-07-2011, 06:04 PM

Off topic. O'Connor has two R's in his first name. Pedo only has the one. :wink:

10-07-2011, 06:47 PM
I was also quite impressed with his off the ball running. He is clearly an intelligent player as there were a few times he dragged men wide, or indeed made runs which Hibs players didn't spot. Either way, he also stayed onside and when I was looking at how he read the line he was always checking his positioning and playing off the last man. One instance where he picked up and ran at the East Fife left back showed he is also deceptively quick. Early days but very good signs.

10-07-2011, 07:03 PM
He's been released.
Don't think so.

11-07-2011, 07:40 AM
I was also quite impressed with his off the ball running. He is clearly an intelligent player as there were a few times he dragged men wide, or indeed made runs which Hibs players didn't spot. Either way, he also stayed onside and when I was looking at how he read the line he was always checking his positioning and playing off the last man. One instance where he picked up and ran at the East Fife left back showed he is also deceptively quick. Early days but very good signs.

Defo not Hibs Class then:greengrin.

Wot a CF that can run the line, stay on side and stay on his feets...surely no!!!!

11-07-2011, 08:47 AM
Defo not Hibs Class then:greengrin.

Wot a CF that can run the line, stay on side and stay on his feets...surely no!!!!

And 6'5" :wink:

11-07-2011, 10:35 AM
If he does come to Hibs for next season, will this be a loan deal?

11-07-2011, 10:56 AM

Dont think so, never heard of a player being given a trial for a loan deal?

11-07-2011, 11:18 AM

From todays Scotsman seems he is still under contract with CSKA but we are hopeful of working something out.

http://sport.scotsman.com/football/Hibs-striker-Sodje-to-miss.6799526.jp

However, Calderwood could make a move for former Celtic hitman Cillian Sheridan who played the second 45 minutes of Saturday's 3-1 win against East Fife as a trialist, scoring Hibs' third goal after Matt Thornhill had struck twice. The 6ft 5in Republic of Ireland forward is currently with Bulgarian outfit CSKA Sofia having signed a three-year deal last summer, but that move has turned sour and he's seeking a new club.

Sheridan has already turned out for Seattle Sounders and Portland Timbers in the United States' MLS, but Calderwood appears hopeful he can add the 22-year-old to his squad in Edinburgh.

He said: "I thought he did all right although he's obviously short of real fitness. He's travelled pretty much all round the world, he's been in America, back to Bulgaria and now he is here. I think his club are willing to do something with his contract and we have the luxury of having him over to see him train. We know pretty much everything there is but if you can get that opportunity, I think we should take it. What we have to do is sell the place to him."

11-07-2011, 12:45 PM
I believe that Caldo is still looking to increase his strike options by preparing a deal to secure the signature of Phil Airey on a loan deal as well as Sheridan to give him the most selection for his choice of two talisman marksmen prolific clinical strike partners to spearhead the Easter Road offensive attack threat for the coming season.

Good to know that Caldo spotted this player and not Rodrico.

11-07-2011, 12:50 PM
I believe that Caldo is still looking to increase his strike options by preparing a deal to secure the signature of Phil Airey on a loan deal as well as Sheridan to give him the most selection for his choice of two talisman marksmen prolific clinical strike partners to spearhead the Easter Road offensive attack threat for the coming season.

Good to hear, if we sign Airey, Sheridan and a rb then I could see us doing well next year.

11-07-2011, 12:56 PM
Good to hear, if we sign Airey, Sheridan and a rb then I could see us doing well next year.

No comment on the deliberate jounalistic football cliches?

Ok...well then I agree that the acqusition of a dependable stalwart at Right Back would galvanize the Easter Road rearguard for the upcoming campaign.

11-07-2011, 01:11 PM

Ok...well then I agree that the acqusition of a dependable stalwart at Right Back would galvanize the Easter Road rearguard for the upcoming campaign.

Thats the business Speeders, nothing like galvanizing the old rearguard for an upcoming campaign. Good stuff.

11-07-2011, 01:12 PM

We also must swoop for someone with a great engine, a cultured right foot and always gives 110%
any good? :dunno:

11-07-2011, 01:36 PM

Did you hear anything regards Airey very recently speedway, because I have heard Aberdeen are looking to get him too.

11-07-2011, 01:36 PM

Is he an actual target / option?

11-07-2011, 01:51 PM
Tried to get the lad in January IIRC?

11-07-2011, 01:58 PM
Thats the business Speeders, nothing like galvanizing the old rearguard for an upcoming campaign. Good stuff.

That's the spirit!!

We also must swoop for someone with a great engine, a cultured right foot and always gives 110%

Top drawer!! We've got to bring in people who can do a job for Hibernian Football club before the window SLAMS shut. Any player of quality who signs on the dotted line after being deadlocked in negotiations with club chairman Rod Petrie will be a real fillip for the incumbant of the manager's hotseat and will send a warning signal for other teams that Hibs will be setting their stall out to get results in the coming fixtures.

Did you hear anything regards Airey very recently speedway, because I have heard Aberdeen are looking to get him too.

Very recently as in today, no.

11-07-2011, 02:39 PM

You dont get cultured right feet, only left ones! :agree:

Hibiza
11-07-2011, 02:57 PM
C'mon the "tache", cheque book time. Ivan on the wing , cillian and gaz, looks good. :flag:

CapitalHibs
12-07-2011, 12:04 PM
Looks like some good news.

http://sofiaecho.com/2011/07/12/1121909_cska-sofia-striker-sheridan-close-to-a-hibernian-switch-report?ref=rss&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+rss2%2Fall-news+%28The+Sofia+Echo%29

12-07-2011, 12:11 PM
Looks like some good news.

http://sofiaecho.com/2011/07/12/1121909_cska-sofia-striker-sheridan-close-to-a-hibernian-switch-report?ref=rss&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+rss2%2Fall-news+%28The+Sofia+Echo%29

From the Record, two sticky points in bold, but let's hope something can be worked out. :agree:

HIBS boss Colin Calderwood is set to step up his bid to capture Cillian Sheridan after being left with just one fit first-team striker ahead of the start of the SPL season.
Akpo Sodje is likely to miss the capital club's curtain raiser against Celtic on July 24 with suspected medial knee ligament damage.
That leaves fans' favourite Garry O'Connor as the only recognised marksman at Calderwood's disposal.
Sheridan impressed in Saturday's 3-1 win at East Fife - scoring the third - and Calderwood has admitted he is keen on the Republic of Ireland international.
However, Hibs might have to pursue a loan agreement with the forward's club CSKA Sofia as the Bulgarians are keen to recoup much of the £350,000 they shelled out to sign the player from Celtic last summer.
The 22-year-old's wages could also prove difficult but he looks set to feature in Saturday's friendly at home to Barnsley in a bid to cement his place in Caldo's plans.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/hibernian/2011/07/12/colin-calderwood-hoping-to-agree-deal-for-cillian-sheridan-as-hibs-face-striker-sos-86908-23265430/

12-07-2011, 12:16 PM
Doubt Hibs will pay the spin offs the £275k to settle CSKA's debt to them

12-07-2011, 12:27 PM
Doubt Hibs will pay the spin offs the £275k to settle CSKA's debt to them

Perfect lever for any CC compo deal though lucky. Getting money and Sheridan for Calderwood.......I would bite their hand off.

12-07-2011, 12:30 PM
Hmmm.

We get £350k for (possibly) CC and Sofia want that much to release him!

Brum, make the cheque payable to them and save us some banking fees...

12-07-2011, 12:41 PM
Hmmm.

We get £350k for (possibly) CC and Sofia want that much to release him!

Brum, make the cheque payable to them and save us some banking fees...

I was more thinking £350,000 for CC AND £250,000 for Sheridan.......bill B'Ham for the whole amount !

Brebners Bookie
12-07-2011, 04:04 PM
This would be our best signing so far if you ask me. Was always imoressed by this guy and he's still only 22. You can do it Rod!:aok:

Monkey Harris
12-07-2011, 04:15 PM
Young Sheridan is a good player with bags of pace, and an eye goal.

Would be a great addition.

12-07-2011, 06:02 PM
I understand Brum are looking to take Sheridan on trial.

Ultimately, I think that if Hibernian Football Club don't sign him then we run the very real risk of potentially losing out on him to another club.

12-07-2011, 06:15 PM

Ultimately, I think that if Hibernian Football Club don't sign him then we run the very real risk of potentially losing out on him to another club.

Can you imagine the carnage on here if that happens...?

14-07-2011, 05:18 PM
Any more news on this guy?

14-07-2011, 07:22 PM
You dont get cultured right feet, only left ones! :agree:

Oh well it sounds good anyway!

edwards
14-07-2011, 07:54 PM

This is a wind up right, if this was to happen and Calderwood left shortly afterwards then Petrie should just close the door on the way out enough is enough I am not caring how much he has done for the club.

14-07-2011, 08:08 PM

Blimey!

one day maybe...
15-07-2011, 10:19 AM
Are we/Can we afford/Will we be trying to at least offer this guy some sort of deal to join Hibs? Or do others like I do, feel we will miss out on him if he ain't signed by Monday?

15-07-2011, 10:48 AM
Are we/Can we afford/Will we be trying to at least offer this guy some sort of deal to join Hibs? Or do others like I do, feel we will miss out on him if he ain't signed by Monday?

I will be VERY annoyed if we don't sign him. He is exactly the type of player we need.

I suppose we will see if he plays tomorrow.....

15-07-2011, 12:53 PM
Going on the comments in the Agogo evening news story...I say we cant match Sheridans wage demands...he will need to drop them I reckon

15-07-2011, 03:48 PM
This is a wind up right, if this was to happen and Calderwood left shortly afterwards then Petrie should just close the door on the way out enough is enough I am not caring how much he has done for the club.

Whoosh.

15-07-2011, 03:54 PM
Going on the comments in the Agogo evening news story...I say we cant match Sheridans wage demands...he will need to drop them I reckon

Sheridan's agent will have done all the groundwork and found out how much Hibs are able to offer and wouldn't allow him to be on trial for us for whole week if there wasn't the possibility of us being able to afford his wages. They might play hardball a bit and negotiate for a better deal thanks to good performances in the friendlies and the situation with Sodje but If he wanted £10k a week and we could only offer £2k he would be nowhere near east mains.

15-07-2011, 05:27 PM

15-07-2011, 05:50 PM
Lifted from Mark Benstead's twitter feed
markbenstead Mark Benstead
#hibs cc says Gillian (sic) Sheridan will play tomorrow - hopeful of deal - would b loan

Make of that what you will.

15-07-2011, 06:15 PM
Lifted from Mark Benstead's twitter feed
markbenstead Mark Benstead
#hibs cc says Gillian (sic) Sheridan will play tomorrow - hopeful of deal - would b loan

Make of that what you will.

I take from that that it's likely Sheridan will play for us against Barnsley, and that either he or Hibs (or both) are hopeful we can do a deal, which would probably be a loan deal.

15-07-2011, 06:18 PM
I take from that that it's likely Sheridan will play for us against Barnsley, and that either he or Hibs (or both) are hopeful we can do a deal, which would probably be a loan deal.

When are we playing barnet? When you are trying to be clever, its alway good if you get every detail correct. :greengrin

15-07-2011, 06:24 PM
When are we playing barnet? When you are trying to be clever, its alway good if you get every detail correct. :greengrin
Dunno what you're talking about... :whistle:

15-07-2011, 06:29 PM
Dunno what you're talking about... :whistle:

15-07-2011, 06:34 PM

seven nowt
15-07-2011, 08:05 PM
I'd take Sheridan now. Don't even want to watch Agogo. Take him anyway.

But Sheridan knows what he's doing.

15-07-2011, 08:08 PM
I suspect it depends on the deal we can do with the Bulgarians and how much of his wages we have to pay-don't think that there is a scoobies that we'll buy him-do they want him off the books for nothing instead of a loan-if so can we offer him a better deal-lot of ifs.

CapitalHibs
15-07-2011, 08:33 PM
I suspect it depends on the deal we can do with the Bulgarians and how much of his wages we have to pay-don't think that there is a scoobies that we'll buy him-do they want him off the books for nothing instead of a loan-if so can we offer him a better deal-lot of ifs.

As long as it's no a six month loan

15-07-2011, 08:41 PM

Blah blah blah blah blah Cillian Sheridan! Blah blah blah blah blah....