View Full Version : Riordan Signs For Shaanxi Chanba.

07-07-2011, 10:36 AM
Derek passed a medical early this morning with Chinese club Shaanxi Chanba and has just signed a contract with club, i am led to believe it is a two and a half year contract and he will play his first game on Sunday against Chris Killens team. :aok:

07-07-2011, 10:38 AM
Good luck, Deek.

Enjoy the money.

07-07-2011, 10:39 AM
Good luck deeko

07-07-2011, 10:41 AM
Deeks in China - who'd have thunk it!? Best of luck.

If they want goals then this should be a profitable signing for them :agree:

07-07-2011, 10:45 AM
Gutted but good luck Deek.

07-07-2011, 10:46 AM
All the best Derek, to you and your family. :greengrin

leithsansiro
07-07-2011, 10:49 AM
Interestingly, Rafael Scheidt (former Celtic superstar!) played there a couple of years ago. By reputation, the manager at Shaanxi doesn't take kindly to players who arse around. Good luck Deek.

Let's hope you are able to make a name for yourself for the right reasons. Loads of talent, questionable professionalism.

07-07-2011, 10:51 AM
Well done deek. Not show them how to score goals.

leithsansiro
Actually, thinking about it - given that two of our big earners (Miller and Riordan) have now moved to Australia and China respectively, is this the level and standard of football that the SPL is really competing with? That doesn't bode well...

cam75
good luck thanks for the goals,see you in 2.5 years for a new contract.

Were we linked with Ex-Blackpool striker Marlon Harewood looks set to reject interest from Millwall and Reading - to sign for Chinese second division club Shenzhen Phoenix this is from Bbc gossip.

I never knew that CK was in China thought he went down to EL1?

07-07-2011, 11:10 AM
Actually, thinking about it - given that two of our big earners (Miller and Riordan) have now moved to Australia and China respectively, is this the level and standard of football that the SPL is really competing with? That doesn't bode well...

Money/lifestyle don't equal level.

Kazackhstan or similar countries are tempting players like rivaldo in the twilight of their careers with huge money offers which dwarf a lot of epl wages. Doesn't mean that it's better than the epl.

07-07-2011, 11:11 AM
Good luck deeko.

Well done Deeks. Hope you can deliver the goods.

GreenPJ
07-07-2011, 11:12 AM

Think it may have more to do with wages on offer as opposed to the significantly better technical abilities of the Australian and Chinese leagues.

07-07-2011, 11:31 AM
They get crowds of 30k plus and it seems Deek is a bit bored of the SPL, like many of us.

Shaanxi Chanba are currently seventh in the Chinese Super League after 13 games, 10 points off top spot in the 16-team division.

Speaking ahead of his trip to China, Riordan said he was bored with life playing in Scotland and said the prospect of a bumper contract appealed.

“It's a good deal with good wages and a chance to set up my family,” he told the Scottish Sun. “You have to look at that when you're coming towards the end of your career.

“I'm keen to try something different. I've been playing in the SPL for a long time and it's getting a bit boring.

“They get gates of about 30,000, which is bigger than any club here outside the Old Firm. I'm looking forward to finding out more.

“I remember sitting on the bench at Hamilton last season and there were about 2,000 punters there. That wasn't great.

“I enjoyed my time at Hibs but I think it's time for something different.”

http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/hibernian/261572-derek-riordan-completes-move-to-chinese-club-shaanxi-chanba/

07-07-2011, 11:40 AM
Good luck Deeks, but with the massive cultural, lifestyle and language differences between here and there, I give it 1 year tops before he's back in more familiar territory playing in the UK.

BurghHibby
07-07-2011, 11:41 AM
Deek will now be known as Spare Ribs in the greater chinese community, number 10 on chinese menus ....

http://www.mingrestaurant.co.uk/Menu_Gen.html

Best of luck to him, always a hero, especially against the dark side :not worth

07-07-2011, 11:45 AM
Good luck Deeks, but with the massive cultural, lifestyle and language differences between here and there, I give it 1 year tops before he's back in more familiar territory playing in the UK.

Agreed but I really hope he can stick it out. Fantastic opportunity with fantastic wages. Totally different way of life though.

Have a heard a couple of people rave about the place but it's down to individual tastes.

Good on him for trying something different.

EasterRoad4Ever
07-07-2011, 11:48 AM

:agree: Hope it works out for hism and is the making of the man. However, I'll give it 3 months !

07-07-2011, 11:49 AM
We can only wish Deeks all the best and I hope he takes that league by storm. :aok:

07-07-2011, 11:53 AM
deleike liaodon will wear the No 11 top for his new club.

07-07-2011, 11:53 AM

:agree: Amazed that it's taken Deeks 10 years to discover that the SPL is boring. He'll be back in 9-12 months saying how much he has missed it.

(((Fergus)))
07-07-2011, 11:57 AM
Looks like a very good move, hope it works out.

07-07-2011, 11:59 AM
:agree: Hope it works out for hism and is the making of the man. However, I'll give it 3 months !

Yep you are right, i give it 3 months to and he will be back home, thats when there season ends. :greengrin

07-07-2011, 12:11 PM
Good luck Derek. Hibernian legend.

07-07-2011, 12:13 PM
Good luck Deek. What's the odds that after his stint in China, he'll come back to Hibs with his family set for life?

07-07-2011, 12:13 PM
Good for him. A bit of an adventure and no shortage of cash! Certainly beats heading along the M8 or going down south.

I have a feeling we'll see him again, though.

Petrie's Tache
07-07-2011, 12:16 PM
Good Luck Deeks.

2 1/2 years of big bucks different culture and perhaps a new level of discipline?

Come back to Hibs a better player!:wink:

ggth
07-07-2011, 12:19 PM
Good Luck Deek

hope you stick it out!
but If I could I would put
a bet on you being homesick and back within 6 months

07-07-2011, 12:24 PM
Some pics I took when in Xi'an - the city Shaanxi plays in - and the nearby Terracotta Army site about three weeks ago:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=7630853&l=ddd93a5941&id=531167480
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=7630834&l=3cfbe11580&id=531167480
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=7630844&l=5fe490f904&id=531167480
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=7630850&l=5ebe2605c9&id=531167480
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=7630851&l=88971ac081&id=531167480
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=7631106&l=a6ab01d560&id=531167480
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=7630849&l=e71c409644&id=531167480
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=7630843&l=8cd84435ab&id=531167480

07-07-2011, 12:27 PM
What will the club be called next season? They change their name more frequently than we change managers.

1995-98: Shanghai Pudong (上海浦东)
1999: Shanghai Pudong Whirlpool (上海浦东惠而浦)
2000: Pudong Lianyang 8848 (浦东联洋 8848)
2001-03: Shanghai COSCO Huili (上海中远汇丽)
2003-05: Shanghai International
2006: Xi'an Chanba International (西安浐灞国际)
moved to Xi'an City and were renamed
2007: Shaanxi Baorong Chanba (陕西宝荣浐灞)
2008-09: Shaanxi Neo-China Chanba (陕西中新浐灞)
2010: Shaanxi Zhongjian Chanba (陕西中建地产浐灞)[4]
2011-: Shaanxi Renhe Commercial Chanba (陕西人和商业浐灞)[5

07-07-2011, 12:29 PM
2.5 years at £30k a week, £3.9M over the contract. Well done to him.

Riordans Boots
07-07-2011, 12:30 PM
Derek passed a medical early this morning with Chinese club Shaanxi Chanba and has just signed a contract with club, i am led to believe it is a two and a half year contract and he will play his first game on Sunday against Chris Killens team. :aok:

Good luck Derek and all the best :agree::thumbsup:

You will always be one of our own :not worth:flag:

07-07-2011, 12:31 PM
Good luck deeks, hope it works out for ye.

07-07-2011, 12:33 PM
Good luck Derek and all the best :agree::thumbsup:

You will always be one of our own :not worth:flag:

Aye he will be missed.
typical hibs get garry o back but lose deek at the same time.

07-07-2011, 12:38 PM
Watch out for bitter hearts fans deek, they are everywhere!

07-07-2011, 12:48 PM
Good luck Deeks and :applause: on securing what I believe can be an excellent move for you. You will be away from the distractions and hazards of the village of edinburgh with your party animal mates and all the Yamtard bouncers and should be able to focus fully on your football while setting yourself up for life!

I think the standard of football will be at least as good as the SPL - may you go forth and score goals in abundance :thumbsup:

aberhibsfc
07-07-2011, 12:57 PM
I'm a bit saddened by this news, I hope he got a good deal and enjoys his time there.

My feelings are that he should never have been away from ER. Given the current management questions just now, I had hoped if CC did go we could our new manager would have an opportunity to review DR's situation.

I hope that he still comes back and finishes his career with us.

All the best Derek, as far as I am concerned you will be seriously missed. You've also put a gas in the pip of those who had you down as a home boy and wouldn't venture. That said, haste ye back.

07-07-2011, 01:03 PM

I'm a bit saddened by this news, I hope he got a good deal and enjoys his time there.

My feelings are that he should never have been away from ER. Given the current management questions just now, I had hoped if CC did go we could our new manager would have an opportunity to review DR's situation.

And offer him £3.9m over 2.5 years?

07-07-2011, 01:07 PM

:agree::agree:

Are the posters who wanted to keep him the same ones that were saying we have no money to spend, thus going heavily into debt to keep DR?:devil:

Anyway sounds like a quality move for DR which will set him and his family up for life..............:wink:

07-07-2011, 01:11 PM
What will the club be called next season? They change their name more frequently than we change managers.

1995-98: Shanghai Pudong (上海浦东)
1999: Shanghai Pudong Whirlpool (上海浦东惠而浦)
2000: Pudong Lianyang 8848 (浦东联洋 8848)
2001-03: Shanghai COSCO Huili (上海中远汇丽)
2003-05: Shanghai International
2006: Xi'an Chanba International (西安浐灞国际)
moved to Xi'an City and were renamed
2007: Shaanxi Baorong Chanba (陕西宝荣浐灞)
2008-09: Shaanxi Neo-China Chanba (陕西中新浐灞)
2010: Shaanxi Zhongjian Chanba (陕西中建地产浐灞)[4]
2011-: Shaanxi Renhe Commercial Chanba (陕西人和商业浐灞)[5

I think we're tied on 7 in 10 years each. Looks like we're about to pip them though. GIRUY Shaanxi Renhe Commercial Chanba. :greengrin

07-07-2011, 01:14 PM
Delighted for him.:agree:

Sodje_18
07-07-2011, 01:39 PM
Well done Deeks :agree:

07-07-2011, 01:51 PM
:agree: Well Done

07-07-2011, 02:01 PM
Good luck Derek, I will miss your spectacular goals, haste ye back if it doesn't work out for you

:not worth

07-07-2011, 02:32 PM
Good luck to Derek but I feel he should have moved abroad earlier in his career when there was notable interest from foreign teams. To have wasted the best years of his career stuck in Scotland is a sin for the talent he had. Still at least the money will be very good and secure his and his families future.

HibsMax
07-07-2011, 02:35 PM
Good luck to him! That'll be quite a culture shock I'm sure. Wish he had come to the US, then I could have seen him again. Oh well.

07-07-2011, 02:58 PM
Good luck to Derek but I feel he should have moved abroad earlier in his career when there was notable interest from foreign teams. To have wasted the best years of his career stuck in Scotland is a sin for the talent he had. Still at least the money will be very good and secure his and his families future.

I'm glad he spent most of his career so far with the team he loves banging in the goals for them. The years weren't wasted as far as I'm concerned and I doubt he'd see it that way apart from his stint at Darkheid.

Good luck and thanks for the memories :flag:

07-07-2011, 03:00 PM
Maybe Levein will pick him for Scotland now.

sixtwo
07-07-2011, 03:01 PM
Good Luck Deeks.

2 1/2 years of big bucks different culture and perhaps a new level of discipline?

Come back to Hibs a better player!:wink:

THIS:agree:

Sandy
07-07-2011, 03:09 PM
Good luck Deek's mate, haste ye back after you have made your fortune :not worth

.Whitey.
07-07-2011, 03:27 PM
Congradulations mr Riordan! it has been a pleasure watching you play and a special thanks for supplying some of the best goals i have ever witnessed.

You will always be remembered as a Hibs Legend

Good Luck :aok:

07-07-2011, 03:36 PM
Good Luck Derek. See you in 2014.

07-07-2011, 03:45 PM
Does this mean that Deek is now a ****ing refugee? :wink:

Best of luck and haste ye back wee man!

07-07-2011, 03:53 PM
Does this mean that Deek is now a ****ing refugee? :wink:

Best of luck and haste ye back wee man!

:rules:

That will be Lefugee...!! :wink:

Best of luck to the best finisher I have seen at ER since Jimmy O'Rourke.

07-07-2011, 04:14 PM
Best wishes Derek but something tells me you will be back to torment the Jam Tarts again!

Remember that goal! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHMPpUe2TZU

tooley
07-07-2011, 04:31 PM
Good Luck Deek, but what a loss to British Football.
Hope he is home soon linking up with GOC:flag:

07-07-2011, 04:33 PM
Good luck DR; got my white away top wi Riordan on the back on just now. : )

Good luck and thanks for the memories!

07-07-2011, 04:34 PM
Thanks for the great times and fantastic goals Deek

Good luck, I hope youu stick it out earn a few quid invest it wisely and enjoy yourself.

07-07-2011, 04:36 PM

Agreed. Set himself up for life and an experience to boot

Platini is killing football not deeks.

I hate how football is becoming but you cant blame anyone fore looking after their family as long as you play nice

All the sneakers and sooks GIRUY

Riorden= Hibernian Legend

07-07-2011, 04:46 PM

Sad but true :agree:.

07-07-2011, 05:04 PM
Good luck deeks hope you do well over there, bang them in son

Hibby D
07-07-2011, 05:14 PM
All the very best Derek. Always a Hibee :flag:

Haste ye back, but only once you've filled your boots with all that lovely lolly :drool:

07-07-2011, 05:19 PM
Really didn't expect this news, it's come as a huge surprise to me that he's moved to somewhere like China.

I have my doubts that he'll last out there for the full two years but good luck to him anyway for having the bottle to try something totally different.

07-07-2011, 05:36 PM
I had a look on the Shaanxi Chanba forum to see what their supporters made of it.

今年年初,壹人壹本信息科Riordan技有限公司低调发布了旗下最新产品E人E本T3全手写电脑,也是 其继E人E本T1、T2之后的第三代平板作品。E人E本T3在平板界前所未有地采用了8寸TFT屏幕,成为 全球首款8寸平板电脑。
  外..

Another take is this one

2010年减肥产品Riordan市场上的一大热门黑马—左旋肉碱,在很大的维度上引起包括消费者、专家、 媒体和国家药监部门Hibernian的高度关注。左旋肉碱一扫曲美等减肥药被禁售的阴霾,率先占领减肥市 场的空白,成为人们减肥的重要选择.

07-07-2011, 05:42 PM
Any body thinking of importing a batch of shirts with his name on the back?

What's the capital of china now? ..... Deek-King?

07-07-2011, 05:43 PM
I had a look on the Shaanxi Chanba forum to see what their supporters made of it.

Another take is this one

Good luck Deeks, My favourite player ever.

West Stand View
07-07-2011, 05:47 PM
Hope it works out but adapting to a totally different culture will not be easy. Maybe should have check with GOC.

07-07-2011, 05:48 PM

Another take is this one

Here's the official announcement on their website.

http://chanba.hsw.cn/system/2011/07/07/051027524.shtml

I couldn't agree with them more. :agree:

The English translation of that page according to Google translate;

Huashang News Today (July 7) 18:00 pm, Chanba club held a press conference to introduce the new foreign aid Riordan Scottish nationality. It is reported that Riordan will be wearing a jersey on the 11th, replacing the current team striker Saviola Horowitz position. Scored three goals this season, Slovakia striker Saviola Horowitz team due to injuries will be abandoned.

As Riordan has just arrived in Xi'an today, got off the plane to attend the press conference, so the press conference on Riordan looks very tired. Reporters learned that Riordan contract period of two years, weekly earnings up to £ 30,000, the second is a super high salaries. Tomorrow, Riordan and the club will sign the contract, and after to join the team in Liaoning.

Riordan information

Full name: Bradley Christopher Audain (Derek Riordan)

Nationality: Scotland

Date of Birth: January 16, 1983

Position: Forward

Height: 181CM

Professional experience:

149 2001-2006 Hibernian played the ball into the 68

2006-2008 Celtics played 32 times into the 8-ball

2008-2011 Hibernian played the ball into the 40 114

Collective honor:

Scottish Premier League Champions 2006-2007 season

2007 Scottish Cup

Honors:

Rookie of the Scottish Premier League season 2004-2005

Scottish Premier League history, the third overall scorer (95 goals)

07-07-2011, 05:57 PM
Rodders! Get a batch of Hibs strips with Deek on the back in the shops of that Shaanxi Chanba place and up our profile ...

..... and howz about arranging a wee friendly at ER?

Sodje_18
07-07-2011, 06:31 PM

Another take is this one
:greengrin :hilarious

My favourite ever hibs player, and the best striker of a ball I've seen at ER. Thanks for the memories Deek, good luck! :not worth

07-07-2011, 06:38 PM
:agree: Hope it works out for him and is the making of the man. However, I'll give it 3 months !

I think Paul Gascoigne stuck it out in China for three days.

Three weeks for Deek?

07-07-2011, 06:45 PM
Here's the official announcement on their website.

http://chanba.hsw.cn/system/2011/07/07/051027524.shtml

I couldn't agree with them more. :agree:

The English translation of that page according to Google translate;

Huashang News Today (July 7) 18:00 pm, Chanba club held a press conference to introduce the new foreign aid Riordan Scottish nationality. It is reported that Riordan will be wearing a jersey on the 11th, replacing the current team striker Saviola Horowitz position. Scored three goals this season, Slovakia striker Saviola Horowitz team due to injuries will be abandoned.

As Riordan has just arrived in Xi'an today, got off the plane to attend the press conference, so the press conference on Riordan looks very tired. Reporters learned that Riordan contract period of two years, weekly earnings up to £ 30,000, the second is a super high salaries. Tomorrow, Riordan and the club will sign the contract, and after to join the team in Liaoning.

Riordan information

Full name: Bradley Christopher Audain (Derek Riordan)

Nationality: Scotland

Date of Birth: January 16, 1983

Position: Forward

Height: 181CM

Professional experience:

149 2001-2006 Hibernian played the ball into the 68

2006-2008 Celtics played 32 times into the 8-ball

2008-2011 Hibernian played the ball into the 40 114

Collective honor:

Scottish Premier League Champions 2006-2007 season

2007 Scottish Cup

Honors:

Rookie of the Scottish Premier League season 2004-2005

Scottish Premier League history, the third overall scorer (95 goals)

pretty funny, well made me laugh out loud

NthCarolinaHibs
07-07-2011, 06:47 PM
His new teams game is online next Thursday :agree:

07-07-2011, 06:51 PM
Good Luck Deek, but what a loss to British Football.
Hope he is home soon linking up with GOC:flag:
WTF! I can understand the love in with regard to his time at Hibs but lets get real eh!

07-07-2011, 06:52 PM
Hope that the Chinese move revitalises what is one of the finest talents this country of ours has produced in many a long year.

Can't wish him anything but the best.

Aye Derek, enjoy your sojourn East, but remember as the chant goes you'll always be 'one of our own'.

07-07-2011, 06:59 PM
Great player for Hibs, and one of us, and the usual caveats aside, anyone who doesn't wish him well out in China is a total Roger Hunt in my book.

It's great money for him at this stage of his career, but it won't be easy. I'm a reasonably well-traveled sort with three lingo's at a decent level, who has visited China about four times in the last seven or eight years on business, and as fascinating as I found it, I'm being honest when I say I doubt I could cut living there for 2.5 years.

I he thought not getting into clubs in Edinburgh was an isolating experience, he's in for a big shock.

07-07-2011, 07:08 PM
Does this make Derek a f****** refugee?

07-07-2011, 07:14 PM
Can't find a forum but found this.

http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?hl=en&prev=/search%3Fq%3D%25E9%2587%258C%25E5%25A5%25A5%25E4%2 5B8%25B9%26hl%3Den%26prmd%3Divnsu&rurl=translate.google.co.uk&sl=zh-CN&u=http://sports.hsw.cn/system/2011/07/06/051025087.shtml&usg=ALkJrhi8t1DFiirQ0ENN5PWcN-7SnJ8HEg

07-07-2011, 07:16 PM
I think we're tied on 7 in 10 years each. Looks like we're about to pip them though. GIRUY Shaanxi Renhe Commercial Chanba. :greengrin

Next season they are changing there name to Shaanxi's ponys. On account they have to make their own way to the games.

07-07-2011, 07:21 PM
Does this make Derek a f****** refugee?

:tsk tsk:

07-07-2011, 07:29 PM
Just found this article... there is some serious cash floating around out there! Makes me fancy strapping on the boots and giving it a go myself... if some no mark who has never played for his country or even in europe can get this sort of deal..!

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2931/go-global/2011/07/07/2564642/how-a-chinese-club-now-boasts-the-worlds-third-highest-paid

07-07-2011, 07:34 PM
Next season they are changing there name to Shaanxi's ponys.

That's Deeks career doon the pan. :wink:

Seriously, thanks for the memories Deek. Good luck & ching! ching!

(Remember to fly the :flag:)

07-07-2011, 07:37 PM
Just popped into Hibs.net for a minute coz am workin.

Want to say ....Am velly preased for you Delek. Rets hope you can show 'em the potensho rat we know you have. I watch you plogless wiff intelest.

Now ............. back to work.........

Lickshaw for Codderwoot ???

:taxi

07-07-2011, 07:58 PM
Just popped into Hibs.net for a minute coz am workin.

Want to say ....Am velly preased for you Delek. Rets hope you can show 'em the potensho rat we know you have. I watch you plogless wiff intelest.

Now ............. back to work.........

Lickshaw for Codderwoot ???

:taxi

:agree: Asso! He fowr (dis)onerabwal chopsticks velly soon :greengrin

07-07-2011, 09:22 PM
:agree: Asso! He fowr (dis)onerabwal chopsticks velly soon :greengrin

proud_and_green
07-07-2011, 10:36 PM

You should have finished that before the "but...". Just get over it. I hope it goes well for him, i've never been his biggest fan but he has gone and i hope it does work out for him.

He owes us nothing, he scored a barrow load of goals for us and we paid him the square root of **** all (in comparison to what others are paid). His loyalty is to his family so just be pleased for him!!

TPAKA
07-07-2011, 10:51 PM

2nd half mibbes or last 20 mins or so to make his introduction. Expecting a crowd of around 40,000+. :aok:

Good luck buddy, Silver & I will see you in China as soon as I can sort my leave out & persuade T..... :greengrin

hibsfan7
07-07-2011, 11:05 PM
good luck derek and thanks for all the fantastic goals that you scored for us

a hibs legend

:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

07-07-2011, 11:47 PM
Evidently he has said..."Great Wall of China? No problem ! I'll still bend a free kick round it into the top corner!!"

Good luck to him.

08-07-2011, 12:34 AM
2nd half mibbes or last 20 mins or so to make his introduction. Expecting a crowd of around 40,000+. :aok:

Good luck buddy, Silver & I will see you in China as soon as I can sort my leave out & persuade T..... :greengrin

Yep mate, deleike liaodon mania has already started in Xi'an, and the Wolves will turn out in there numbers to see him on Sunday. :greengrin

Yeah, wee will get out to see you soon Deek, good luck and have a great time. :aok:

08-07-2011, 12:36 AM
Evidently he has said..."Great Wall of China? No problem ! I'll still bend a free kick round it into the top corner!!"

Good luck to him.

08-07-2011, 01:00 AM
Really wish him good luck and although last season wasnt his best I think that overall there is no other Hibs player who has given me as many memorable moments in the 30 years I've supported them.

08-07-2011, 01:22 AM
Good Luck Derek.

Hibernian Legend.

08-07-2011, 05:58 AM
Okay then, there goes:

"If you shrink that it brig ren Cha-ray Nico-ras has shringed a con-rackt for..."

etc etc

08-07-2011, 07:09 AM
So much for going on to better things football wise! Semi retirement.

08-07-2011, 07:48 AM
I think this is a great move for Derek. Face it, he's 28 now & lost a bit pace so unlikely to move up to Prem or Championship. This gives him financial stability & hopefully sets him up for life. I've been watching Hibs for over 50 years & IMO the 2 most natural finishers (from a huge cast, including my hero, Joe Baker), were Derek & Ally McLeod.
Good luck Derek, or possibly Au Revoir & thanks for everything.
PS, will Derek sometime in near future ask his new teammates if they fancy going out for a Scotty?

RoscoHibby
08-07-2011, 08:00 AM
All the best to him, sure most of us would play in Timbuktu for that kinda cash.

Just thought, with him being 5"11 and about 12st, he's probably gonna be on the bigger size of the chinese player spectrum? So if it seems he has added strength and pace compared to who he's playing against, could score a scary amount of goals!

Regardless of what anyone says, D.Riordan - modern day Hibernian Legend. Good luck to you lad, thanks for the goals and memories, none more so than 'Riordan shaping for THE SHOT.........:jamboak:

:not worth

08-07-2011, 09:52 AM
Deek's welcome press conference in China:

http://chanba.hsw.cn/system/2011/07/08/051028129.shtml :greengrin Good luck to the guy!

08-07-2011, 10:16 AM
Deek's welcome press conference in China:

http://chanba.hsw.cn/system/2011/07/08/051028129.shtml :greengrin Good luck to the guy!

Did a double take when that video played, surely that's PC Stamp's chinese cousin on the mike :greengrin

Franck is God
08-07-2011, 11:40 AM
I hope he does ok but I have my doubts as the game is likely to be too quick for him and will simply pass him by.

I'm happy that he's there though as it means he can definitely not re-sign for us

08-07-2011, 11:44 AM
I hope he does ok but I have my doubts as the game is likely to be too quick for him and will simply pass him by.

I'm happy that he's there though as it means he can definitely not re-sign for us

What the **** was the point posting this?

08-07-2011, 11:58 AM
You should have finished that before the "but...". Just get over it. I hope it goes well for him, i've never been his biggest fan but he has gone and i hope it does work out for him.

He owes us nothing, he scored a barrow load of goals for us and we paid him the square root of **** all (in comparison to what others are paid). His loyalty is to his family so just be pleased for him!!

Get over what? :confused:

I hasten to add, my saying that I think he'll back back within 12 months wasn't a slight on Deek's character. I think for anyone who has lived in Scotland all their life to move out to such a culturally/linguistically distant country as China, without their family, would be tough.

Fair play to him for giving it a shot though - I am pleased for him.

08-07-2011, 01:25 PM
i give him 6 months tops, at least hes being well paid:aok:

08-07-2011, 01:38 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHMPpUe2TZU

:not worth:top marks

08-07-2011, 01:43 PM
What the **** was the point posting this?

Maybe he posted it because he didn't want Derek to be signed again and is now pleased that this isn't an option?

That's allowed without getting sworn at isn't it?

08-07-2011, 01:52 PM

Yeah he must be devestated.

At least he will have plenty time to count his cash. :greengrin

08-07-2011, 01:54 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHMPpUe2TZU

:not worth:top marks

That is an absolute screamer from Riordan :agree:

I havent seen many strikers in my time at Easter rd have the audacity to strike it from there and curl it into the top corner leaving 9 Million man Craig Gordon getting nowhere near it!.

Sublime doesnt come close.

08-07-2011, 01:58 PM
Did a double take when that video played, surely that's PC Stamp's chinese cousin on the mike :greengrin

Roughly translated - Derek, you're one of us......... :greengrin

Franck is God
08-07-2011, 04:59 PM
Maybe he posted it because he didn't want Derek to be signed again and is now pleased that this isn't an option?

That's allowed without getting sworn at isn't it?

Thank you.

08-07-2011, 05:14 PM

I'm happy that he's there though as it means he can definitely not re-sign for us:yawn:

Cannae help yersel, he's gone but you've still got tae have your dig at him. You'll need tae find a new favourite topic now.

Nazz
09-07-2011, 12:51 AM
Well I'm pleased he's decided to sign. My weekend TV watching is going to be much more interesting. I'll be there when his team comes to town.

I really hope he sticks it out. Sure it's going to be tough for him in a foreign country but the locals are friendly and will be fascinated by him. I know from experience. Believe me, he won't be able to nip out for a quiet pint. It's a great country and if he comes with an open mind, he will do very well, I'm sure.

I am waiting eagerly to know how they will translate his name into Chinese. Every foreigner has a Chinese name based on the sound of your name. Might be this 里奥丹 but don't quote me.

Some photos: http://slide.sports.sina.com.cn/n/slide_2_789_13322.html

09-07-2011, 10:59 AM
Well I'm pleased he's decided to sign. My weekend TV watching is going to be much more interesting. I'll be there when his team comes to town.

I really hope he sticks it out. Sure it's going to be tough for him in a foreign country but the locals are friendly and will be fascinated by him. I know from experience. Believe me, he won't be able to nip out for a quiet pint. It's a great country and if he comes with an open mind, he will do very well, I'm sure.

I am waiting eagerly to know how they will translate his name into Chinese. Every foreigner has a Chinese name based on the sound of your name. Might be this 里奥丹 but don't quote me.

He never looks very cheery.
I hope it works out for him but is it not usually the wives of the players who feel the isolation most.

09-07-2011, 11:20 AM
Might be this 里奥丹 but don't quote me.Little chance of that!!

aberhibsfc
09-07-2011, 11:33 AM

Obviously, you'll see by my post I wasn't aware of the details of the deal. A very good one at that. If he can handle the time away it will set him up very nicely.

I still hope that when he's bagged that money he'll come back and end his playing days at ER.

09-07-2011, 12:46 PM

Cheers for the photo's. :thumbsup:

Maybe you could help me, i have tried looking for a fans message board for Shaanxi Chanba but cant find anything apart from something through the press.If you can help that would be great mate. :aok:

09-07-2011, 01:02 PM
Shannxi Chanbas new strikeforce Derek Riordan and Amadou Konte :wink:

No joke :wink:

09-07-2011, 01:20 PM
Shannxi Chanbas new strikeforce Derek Riordan and Amadou Konte :wink:

No joke :wink:

Has someone been tampering with his Wiki page?

09-07-2011, 08:20 PM
Apologies if already in post but not had chance to read right thro.

Does anybody know how much he is getting a week. Heard it was 30K. if so fantastic deal for him.

Good luck Deek.... You have been the best and most skilful finisher I've seen in my 40years supporting the Hibees.

See you in a couple of years when you come back to team up with GOC and add to your incredible goals tally

FTH

09-07-2011, 09:04 PM
anybody know where you can buy the top??

10-07-2011, 08:49 PM
anybody know where you can buy the top??
China

10-07-2011, 08:50 PM
Sounds like a bit of a waffler too.:wink:

11-07-2011, 11:19 PM

So yer still having a dig and haveny stopped since yer love in wi the blessed saint tony of mowbray and the whole "its no tony's fault - he had to work out why he needed our top scorer of many seasons or not" pish???

Ach, get over it.

yer pish is boring.

He still rattled in plenty goals, one ***** season aside (within which, he still rattled in more than abody else) and is still a well loved player by maist true Hibbys.

Good luck Deek son. Aw the best. Batter in the goals and never forget 2 things;
1) Never sign for rangers
2) Never sign for hearts

ENDOF

TheDude
12-07-2011, 05:39 PM
Bit of a surprise this one.

China's an amazing place but moving your life out there having spent all your years as a local boy in the burgh is a tough ask of anyone.

I would have thought the move to Houston might have been a less intensive one, adapting to life in Texas is a lot easier than China! Although, as always money talks and I'm sure the cash being splashed will set the guy up very nicely for the rest of his life.

There's not a great track record of British players plying their trade abroad, its hard to nail exactly what makes them less adaptable to living out with the UK compared to the legions of players that come over here to play.
Hopefully he ends up more in the Lambert/Collins mould than the typical Brit abroad of Owen/Gazza. (There's a great story of Owen driving for 45 minutes everyday to Madrid airport to get hold of the English papers, had he bothered to walk ten minutes he could've bought them at his local shop!)

12-07-2011, 05:56 PM
Really want one of these tops with Riordan on the back, if anyone finds any give me a shout!

P.S He's also made his debut

http://sports.hsw.cn/system/2011/07/11/051030283.shtml

Fast forward to about 1-45.

12-07-2011, 06:29 PM
So yer still having a dig and haveny stopped since yer love in wi the blessed saint tony of mowbray and the whole "its no tony's fault - he had to work out why he needed our top scorer of many seasons or not" pish???

Ach, get over it.

yer pish is boring.

He still rattled in plenty goals, one ***** season aside (within which, he still rattled in more than abody else) and is still a well loved player by maist true Hibbys.

Good luck Deek son. Aw the best. Batter in the goals and never forget 2 things;
1) Never sign for rangers
2) Never sign for hearts

ENDOF

Sorry BM, but the above is inexcusable !

It's

1) Never sign for Hearts
2) Never sign for Rangers
3) Never sign for Hearts

May seem a small point but if we let these small points remain uncorrected they'll soon become big points........:wink:

12-07-2011, 08:19 PM

It's

1) Never sign for Hearts
3) Never sign for Hearts

May seem a small point but if we let these small points remain uncorrected they'll soon become big points........:wink:

Good to see you posting Tom, hope all is well in San Fran!

(((Fergus)))
12-07-2011, 10:23 PM
Here's the Chanba.net thread about Riordan's goals. Hard to tell but I think they like him.

http://bbs.hsw.cn/read-htm-tid-2883530-page-1.html

Darth Hibbie
12-07-2011, 10:29 PM
Here's the Chanba.net thread about Riordan's goal. Hard to tell but I think they like him.

Its hard to tell even when you let google translate for you :greengrin

Aircraft hard it! Lee two eggs very powerful! Unlimited expectations into more ball!

13-07-2011, 05:01 AM
If Deeks uses GoogleMaps for directions to get to away games he might be in for a shock.

Try this...
1 - Open Google Maps (directions)
2 - Type China as your starting point
3 - Type Taiwan as your destination.
4 - Read step 48
5 - When you stop laughing, think about poor Deeks :greengrin

13-07-2011, 05:07 AM
ach it's just 165km :thumbsup:

13-07-2011, 05:20 AM
Good to see you posting Tom, hope all is well in San Fran!

Might be out of here soon. 20 years in the U.S. might be long enough. Hoping to become ParisHibs soon.....although that might mean I'll turn up in Mississippi or Alabama.....

Hope you are well !

13-07-2011, 11:41 AM
shot on location shooting the ball can go in and look forward to two eggs flying in the Super Stadium.

I get the impression 'two eggs' means Riordan.

Nazz
13-07-2011, 12:57 PM
Here's the Chanba.net thread about Riordan's goals. Hard to tell but I think they like him.

李二蛋~~~最新上传到优酷的Derek Riordan(里奥丹)的进球视频

Translated as
Li Er Dan~~~uploaded the latest video of Derek Riordan's goals to Youku.

Note Li Er Dan is the poster's web name. Youku.com is Chinese video hosting site

Online translators for Chinese/English and English/Chinese are very poor.

13-07-2011, 04:07 PM
"Feeling good in front of Italy, shot a strong desire"

http://bbs.hsw.cn/images/post/smile/default/QQ/R31.gif Also, Wtf is this emote?:wink:

EDIT another-"Aircraft Lee released two eggs "

13-07-2011, 08:56 PM

http://bbs.hsw.cn/read-htm-tid-2883530-page-1.html Those goals look great. Wish we had a player like him in our team.

13-07-2011, 11:16 PM
"Feeling good in front of Italy, shot a strong desire"

http://bbs.hsw.cn/images/post/smile/default/QQ/R31.gif Also, Wtf is this emote?:wink:

EDIT another-"Aircraft Lee released two eggs "

It's this one that worries me!

http://bbs.hsw.cn/images/post/smile/default/QQ/R03.gif

14-07-2011, 09:05 PM

It's

1) Never sign for Hearts
3) Never sign for Hearts

You forgot:

4) Never sign for Rangers :greengrin