View Full Version : Match Updates Livingston 2 v Hibs 1 FT

05-07-2011, 06:14 PM
Get yer updates here!!

Or you can listen in........

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110705/hibernian-tv-livingston-coverage_2262950_2386872

05-07-2011, 06:17 PM
Team warming up nicely!

No sign of CC or any 'CC gtf' chants yet!

No teams announced!

05-07-2011, 06:18 PM
Any team news?

Hows the weather?

Has anybody been booed yet?

05-07-2011, 06:20 PM
CC now been spotted!

Overcast here, bit still dry!

No booing yet, mind you CC is keeping a low profile!

05-07-2011, 06:23 PM
CC is sitting in the dugout all by his self.

05-07-2011, 06:25 PM
CC is sitting in the dugout all by his self.

Maybe we should sing him a song... :-)

05-07-2011, 06:26 PM
CC looks a lonely man in the dug out on his todd during warm up!

05-07-2011, 06:29 PM
Maybe we should sing him a song... :-):singing: All by myself
Don't wanna be
All by myself
Anymore

05-07-2011, 06:29 PM
Maybe we should sing him a song... :-)

If you dinnae want to be here get tae f***.

To the tune of happy and you know it. One of CCs favourites.

05-07-2011, 06:30 PM

Doesn't look interested... or am I reading too much into his body language???

05-07-2011, 06:31 PM
If he keeps up that body language after the whistle it won't be long till it starts!

pandahfc
05-07-2011, 06:33 PM
Brown, Hart, Stephens, Hanlon, Smith, Sproule, Scott, Murray, Galbraith, Sodje, O'Connor

Subs, Antell, Wotherspoon, Booth, Taggart, Palsson, Stevenson, Crawford, Horner, Thornhill.

Still no O'Hanlon???

05-07-2011, 06:34 PM

05-07-2011, 06:36 PM

Putting the boot in to CC?
You are probably just upset about Rod slagging your chum.

05-07-2011, 06:36 PM

I'm nowhere near CC, thank you very much.

05-07-2011, 06:38 PM
Doesn't look interested... or am I reading too much into his body language???Always thought he was a bit dour, does he look worse than normal? does he look like somebody that disnae really want tae be there?

Or does he look like the person some claim is happy tae be here :rolleyes:

05-07-2011, 06:39 PM
Brown, Hart, Stephens, Hanlon, Smith, Sproule, Scott, Murray, Galbraith, Sodje, O'Connor

Subs, Antell, Wotherspoon, Booth, Taggart, Palsson, Stevenson, Crawford, Horner, Thornhill.

Still no O'Hanlon???

O'Hanlon is there, was warming up! Signing autographs just now! Presume not playing though!

05-07-2011, 06:39 PM

Still no O'Hanlon???

He is playing the Maka role. Smiles and autographs.

HibsMax
05-07-2011, 06:40 PM

2nd verse:
Even if you stay here, get tae f***

3rd verse:
We can read your mind, so get tae f***

and so on.

I hope that every thread started on .net includes anti-CC posts. Otherwise I would never get to know how people really feel, it's so difficult to get a read....

05-07-2011, 06:41 PM
Putting the boot in to CC?
You are probably just upset about Rod slagging your chum.

Rod is a bigger chum thanks.

05-07-2011, 06:42 PM
Can we keep this to match/CC updates please :wink:

05-07-2011, 06:42 PM
Always thought he was a bit dour, does he look worse than normal? does he look like somebody that disnae really want tae be there?

Or does he look like the person some is claim happy tae be here :rolleyes:

Hard to tell, but was slouched in the dug out with hands in his pockets, whilst the players warmed up! I'm no expert, but didn't look like someone happy to be here! TV cameras were right opposite, they must have caught it!

05-07-2011, 06:43 PM
2nd verse:
Even if you stay here, get tae f***

3rd verse:
We can read your mind, so get tae f***

and so on.

I hope that every thread started on .net includes anti-CC posts. Otherwise I would never get to know how people really feel, it's so difficult to get a read....
Just a bit of humour Max. I honestly don't really care what he does but if he does stay he better start sounding commited!

05-07-2011, 06:44 PM
Hoping for a draw tonight :greengrin:wink:

HibsMax
05-07-2011, 06:46 PM
Just a bit of humour Max. I honestly don't really care what he does but if he does stay he better start sounding commited!

I know it is. I've seen enough of your posts to get an idea of where you're coming from. I can't say the same about everyone else though and it just irks me when every opportunity is turned into a dig.

05-07-2011, 06:46 PM
1-0 Livi

05-07-2011, 06:47 PM
Can someone humour me and maybe post the Livingston lineup?

Be nice to gauge what kind of opposition Hibs are up against!

The natives are getting restless already...

Rod is a bigger chum thanks.

That explains a great deal. Are you a paid agent of the club?

Simple cross into the box not defended, 1-0 Livi

05-07-2011, 06:48 PM
Ach, these foreign sides are always ahead of us at this time of year.

05-07-2011, 06:48 PM
Can someone humour me and maybe post the Livingston lineup?

Be nice to gauge what kind of opposition Hibs are up against!

No idea, but I do like their kit! Very Spurs!

05-07-2011, 06:49 PM
Any idea who scored the goal?

Won't be shocked if it was Russell...

just_joe
No shame im losing a goal to the good doctor!

That explains a great deal. Are you a paid agent of the club?

Aye, you got me.

05-07-2011, 06:51 PM
It's ok though, their manager isn't "hibs class" :agree:

All one touch passing from Livi.

Any idea who scored the goal?

Won't be shocked if it was Russell...

Kenny Deuchar

05-07-2011, 06:52 PM
All one touch passing from Livi.

No shock really. The football Bollan has had Livingston playing the past 2 seasons has been nothing short of brilliant.

05-07-2011, 06:54 PM
CC watch.

He's now standing, with hands in his pockets!

05-07-2011, 06:55 PM
No shock really. The football Bollan has had Livingston playing the past 2 seasons has been nothing short of brilliant.

If he came to Hibs he would instantly become a devotee of the long ball game.

05-07-2011, 06:56 PM
What was the kick off time?

05-07-2011, 06:57 PM
Goal just been on SSN. Back post header, looked like hart was out-jumped.

What was the kick off time?19:45

There are updates on SkySports News tonight and they also just showed the goal :agree:

Goal just been on SSN. Back post header, looked like hart was out-jumped.

Looked more like Stephens from here!

05-07-2011, 06:58 PM

Could be, just got a quick look at it on SSN, no replay.

05-07-2011, 06:59 PM
Goal just been on SSN. Back post header, looked like hart was out-jumped.one of the dumplings left from the previous incumbent then :greengrin

05-07-2011, 06:59 PM
Could be, just got a quick look at it on SSN, no replay.

Hart & Stephens were the 2 players there though!

05-07-2011, 07:00 PM

He got between Hanlon and Stephens. Looked like Stephens not close enough.

05-07-2011, 07:01 PM
Stephens almost an own goal...

05-07-2011, 07:01 PM
Stephens an inch from og!

05-07-2011, 07:02 PM
Big queues to get in and they've only got 2 gates open for Hibs fans.

DAVE1875
05-07-2011, 07:02 PM
Good thing it is still the first half, plenty of time to get back into it. Just need to remember it's only a pre-season friendly

05-07-2011, 07:03 PM
Big queues to get in and they've only got 2 gates open for Hibs fans.They have missed all the good bits so far then :greengrin

05-07-2011, 07:03 PM
Big queues to get in and they've only got 2 gates open for Hibs fans.

They've just opened the north stand for us!

05-07-2011, 07:04 PM
They've just opened the north stand for us!

Is it Livingston fans in the East stand then? Decent turnout if so!

How many do you reckon are there BH?

05-07-2011, 07:05 PM

Is that the height in feet of the centre half that we'd need not to lose goals from crosses into our box?

05-07-2011, 07:06 PM
Stephens almost an own goal...Have Hibs done anything of note in this game so far? :dunno:

05-07-2011, 07:08 PM
Good thing it is still the first half, plenty of time to get back into it. Just need to remember it's only a pre-season friendly

It's more our lack of any passing ability or cohesion that looks an issue. Along with two or three players who should have been offered an escape this summer.

05-07-2011, 07:08 PM
We have 1/2 of East and now the North! Not alot of fans in north yet! Maybe 1.5/2k so far? Typically not a great home turnout!

05-07-2011, 07:11 PM
Have Hibs done anything of note in this game so far? :dunno:

A couple of balls in behind to Sproule or O'connor to chase but nowt really. Galbraith getting wide but poor crossing or passing back the way. OConnor drive charged down there.

05-07-2011, 07:11 PM
Have Hibs done anything of note in this game so far? :dunno:

Yeah, almost score an own goal! :-)

Been some decent stuff, but not much so far! We need to use Danny/Ivan more!

05-07-2011, 07:12 PM
Scott gave away goal with dummy to no one.

05-07-2011, 07:12 PM
A couple of balls in behind to Sproule or O'connor to chase but nowt really. Galbraith getting wide but poor crossing or passing back the way. OConnor drive charged down there.
Agree that Danny needs to use the ball better!

2 - 0

05-07-2011, 07:13 PM
2-0

Peach of a strike, Iain Russell

05-07-2011, 07:13 PM
2-0 Livi

05-07-2011, 07:14 PM
This pre-season is a hoot! :rolleyes:

Some goal by Russell - poor play by us though!

Ivan should have scored...

Sproule close one on one. Still quick!

05-07-2011, 07:15 PM
Martin Scott is awful.

05-07-2011, 07:15 PM
2-0

Peach of a strike, Iain Russell

Gifted ball by Scott though!

05-07-2011, 07:17 PM
CC please GO !

05-07-2011, 07:17 PM
Oh dear...

Martin Scott must be confused, being back on old territory.

Here comes the goal on SSN...

...or not.

05-07-2011, 07:18 PM
I almost drove up in my new car, I set off for a day out with the Mrs today and honestly thought about it. :rolleyes:

2-0 down already good choice not too :agree:

05-07-2011, 07:19 PM
I think Hart is injured - looks like a sub coming on!

Hart off injured for a change.

2-0 ? In with the big boys now then.

only one thing for it, sack the manager now, solves a number of ongoing issues decisively.:wink:

Prawn Sandwich
Can't wait for the Managers interview on SSN.

05-07-2011, 07:20 PM
Scott taggart on for Hart!

05-07-2011, 07:20 PM
A few more goals for Livi and the compensation figure will be shrinking.

05-07-2011, 07:21 PM
At least we know Murray and Scott aren't the midfield answer!

Can't wait for the Managers interview on SSN.

:-)

YEAH IT IS ONLY A PRE SEASON FRIENDLY

BUT

Losing is a habit so is winning unfortunately we have a losing mentality.

looking forward to this season like looking forward to a dose of the crabs :rolleyes:

P.S. Why does EVERY team we play look hungrier and up for it whilst we Struggle with the basics ?

Think we knew that anyway.

05-07-2011, 07:22 PM

They are the answer if the question is:

What is the pishest pair that we could play in the centre of the park?

Scott off!

Should have been 3...

Woo hoo. Scott off for Thornhill.

Should have been three there.

05-07-2011, 07:23 PM
Glad I decided against driving up in favour of watching Hot Shots Part Deux on Film4!

I said it before and I'll say it again. We are about six players away from having a squad that is of the required standard.

The squad that is playing tonight will have us in serious relegation trouble.

YEAH IT IS ONLY A PRE SEASON FRIENDLY

BUT

Losing is a habit so is winning unfortunely we have a losing mentality.

looking forward to this season like looking forward to a dose of the crabs :rolleyes:

P.S. Why does EVERY team we play look hungrier and up for it whilst we Struggle with the basics ?

because our manager is an uninspiring ****.

05-07-2011, 07:24 PM
Hart off injured for a change.

Again? Injury-prone when he came from PNE. Is this what Rod meant about the "legacy" from Hughes?

05-07-2011, 07:24 PM
Glad I never allowed myself tae be talked in tae going tae this.

05-07-2011, 07:25 PM
Again? Injury-prone when he came from PNE. Is this what Rod meant about the "legacy" from Hughes?unfortunately he's one of the more expensive ones and we're stuck with him :bitchy:

05-07-2011, 07:26 PM
What has happened to Audio coverage not hearing anything

05-07-2011, 07:28 PM
Woeful free kick from Danny...

05-07-2011, 07:29 PM
What has happened to Audio coverage not hearing anything

Eh ! sorry wht did you say ?:greengrin

Apart from a bit of dodgy defending and a 'wonder' goal how are we playing in general?

Half time

season 2011-12 sure to be another disaster....

05-07-2011, 07:30 PM
Thornhill decent in his short time on.

Murray and Hart should have been found options put of here.

Half time

Ffs, it's half time on our second pre-season game!

05-07-2011, 07:31 PM
Rousing team talk about passion and commitment to follow though.

Northfield Hibby
Again? Injury-prone when he came from PNE. Is this what Rod meant about the "legacy" from Hughes?

Eh 2nd goal was the fault of Scott was it not. Is he not one of the present incumbent's signings!!!

Rousing team talk about passion and commitment to follow though.:greengrin

05-07-2011, 07:32 PM
Woeful free kick from Danny...

You got my hopes up there for a moment. At first glance, I thought you had described the free kick as "wonderful". :boo hoo:

05-07-2011, 07:33 PM
We're certs to go down at this rate..

Utterly abysmal!

That clown Calderwood standing motionless, arms folded, clearly not giving a ****..

Players totally devoid of any urgency, game plan and encouragement from te sideline!!

Hurry up and **** Off CC eh :rolleyes:

05-07-2011, 07:33 PM
Poor first half. Thornhill is making Hibs tick a bit

Northfield Hibby
05-07-2011, 07:34 PM
I said it before and I'll say it again. We are about six players away from having a squad that is of the required standard.

Unfortunately your right!:rolleyes:

05-07-2011, 07:34 PM
You got my hopes up there for a moment. At first glance, I thought you had described the free kick as "wonderful". :boo hoo:

Naw it could not have been described as that!

Do we know anyone available that can take a free kick?!

HibeeMcGinn1
05-07-2011, 07:35 PM

could not agree more, we need three or four to be at least as good as st midden and 5 or 6 to even think of top 6

05-07-2011, 07:37 PM

Granted. We've had an unprecedented opportunity to change this squad and yet it's same old dire Hibs right now.

No attempt to pass unless it's forty yards and being out run and outfought by players supposedly of lower standard.

05-07-2011, 07:38 PM
could not agree more, we need three or four to be at least as good as st midden and 5 or 6 to even think of top 6

Are final positions determined by a head count or a weight calculation?

05-07-2011, 07:38 PM
Positives so far - Smith and Thornhill

Negatives - everyone else

05-07-2011, 07:39 PM
Are final positions determined by a head count or a weight calculation?

Garry O should help with the latter. Rod's a genius!

05-07-2011, 07:39 PM

We're certs to go down at this rate.

:yawn:

DAVE1875
05-07-2011, 07:40 PM
We're certs to go down at this rate..

Utterly abysmal!

That clown Calderwood standing motionless, arms folded, clearly not giving a ****..

Players totally devoid of any urgency, game plan and encouragement from te sideline!!

Hurry up and **** Off CC eh :rolleyes:

HALF-TIME OF SECOND PRE-SEASON GAME!! Get your head out your a***!!

Northfield Hibby
05-07-2011, 07:40 PM

Aint gonnae happen when we have this situation with CC hanging over us. No amount of statements from Petrie is going to change the situation. CC doesn't want to be here so get him to F!!!

Will be interesting to see what CC has to say after the game!

05-07-2011, 07:44 PM
Murray off Stevenson on.

Booth on for Smith?

We're still 3-2 up if you take saturdays game into account! not bad for 2 away games on the bounce! ;-)

Even if they score again we'll be fine on away goals!

Palsson on at CH for Stephens.

Spot on Matty. I am at the game and tge amount of personal abuse dished out ti players already is quite pathetic.,booed off at half time in a pre season friendly where we are trying players and formations is a total joke.

Palsson on for Stephens!

05-07-2011, 07:45 PM
Ah well, the Hibs defence get a bit of a break - Iain Russell off, Colin Samuel on :wink:

05-07-2011, 07:46 PM
Brighter start!

05-07-2011, 07:47 PM
Spot on Matty. I am at the game and tge amount of personal abuse dished out ti players already is quite pathetic.,booed off at half time in a pre season friendly where we are trying players and formations is a total joke.

Must be more undercover Yams.

05-07-2011, 07:47 PM
Ridiculous over-reaction as per.

05-07-2011, 07:48 PM
Better already. Garry should have scored.

05-07-2011, 07:48 PM

did we not try that the last TEN games of last season ? You would hope he would have learned something then but alas it appears not.

Yes it is a Pre season but this is Livvy not Man Utd we should at least compete,
No ?

05-07-2011, 07:51 PM
HALF-TIME OF SECOND PRE-SEASON GAME!! Get your head out your a***!!

Yes, it is early doors and there is time for us to sign new players but the season is a little more than two weeks away, we have a poor squad which, with the exception of three players, is made up of the same players who contributed towards us having one of our worst seasons for many years.

We also have a manager who has continually passed up the opportunity to publicly commit his future to the club, despite having several chances over the past couple of weeks to do so.

Hibs are in a total mess right now and there is absolutely nothing to suggest that this coming season will be any better than the previous season.

Calvin
05-07-2011, 07:51 PM
Ah well, the Hibs defence get a bit of a break - Iain Russell off, Colin Samuel on :wink:

He's carrying a bit of weight, I thought it was Nadè!

NthCarolinaHibs
05-07-2011, 07:52 PM
What has happened to Audio coverage not hearing anythingHearing hee haw on HI :confused:

2 - 1 Garry

Booth making a difference. Good header O'connor!

05-07-2011, 07:53 PM
2-1 O'Connor

One back, O'Connor

That is unreal.

Do these morons not realise how f*****g embarrassing that is.

I find myself hating elements of our own support more than some of the munters in the away end these days.

F*nnies.

05-07-2011, 07:54 PM
2-1 O'Connor:thumbsup: good cross, good finish

05-07-2011, 07:54 PM
Good header :agree:

Perplexed why Sky never showed Russell's goal :confused:

05-07-2011, 07:55 PM
A mate at the game just phoned me at half time saying the one thing that strikes him is the lack of urgency about the team, in my view pre season games are about getting your fitness up but trying to impress the manager (:rolleyes:) at the same time and this according to my mate is simply not happening.

CC...either put up or eff off one or the other, we simply have to get this situation sorted, no more rookie managers, Strachan for me :aok:

05-07-2011, 07:55 PM
GOC

:flag::flag:

Edit - too fat, past it, injury prone and signed by Rodders.

05-07-2011, 07:56 PM
Hearing hee haw on HI :confused:

I've no heard a word either but nobody seems to care bit like the board!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

05-07-2011, 07:58 PM
Big improvement by Hibs now!

05-07-2011, 07:58 PM
They've a boy on now with a strip from the shop who makes Nade look like Kate Moss!

05-07-2011, 08:00 PM
They've a boy on now with a strip from the shop who makes Nade look like Kate Moss!

Colin Samuel - "a trialist".

05-07-2011, 08:00 PM
Danny looking much more confident now!

Another corner!

NthCarolinaHibs
05-07-2011, 08:02 PM
I've no heard a word either but nobody seems to care bit like the board!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Click on the 'live audio' and the sheep game is still there...click on the 'live audio friendlies' and nuffin :confused:

05-07-2011, 08:02 PM
Colin Samuel - "a trialist".

That's Samuel?! Jeez.

05-07-2011, 08:03 PM
Garry and Ivan off.

Spoony and some other boy who just hit top of bar.

05-07-2011, 08:04 PM
Garry and Ivan off.

Spoony and some other boy who just hit top of bar.

David Crawford.

05-07-2011, 08:07 PM
That Crawford kid is fast!

05-07-2011, 08:08 PM
Far better this half. Wish Galbraith could deliver a ball though. Spoony hits post.

05-07-2011, 08:09 PM
Galbraith off. Horner on.

05-07-2011, 08:10 PM
because our manager is an uninspiring ****.

Is that the same reason why the manager before got the same performances?

Murray off Stevenson on.

Miller off, Murray on, surely?

05-07-2011, 08:10 PM
Far more effort on show now that the laddies are on!

05-07-2011, 08:11 PM
That Crawford kid is fast!

Looks brilliant. Yellow boots though!?

05-07-2011, 08:13 PM

In a glorified bounce match? Then some ''supporters'' really do know the square root of f all about fitba. Geez.

05-07-2011, 08:13 PM
Far more effort on show now that the laddies are on!

I'll say this for CC. Thornhill looks a player. Made a difference as has Booth.

So much better without Hart, Murray and Scott slowing us up and putting us in trouble.

05-07-2011, 08:14 PM
Looks brilliant. Yellow boots though!?

These kids nowadays eh?

:-)

05-07-2011, 08:14 PM
I can just picture Luke Shanley's post match interview." Well Colin, could you comment on that pathetic display tonight?" CC - "Match performances are not important just now, you know we agreed we would just concentrate on my farcical personal situation and that's all I'm prepared to talk about." :greengrin

05-07-2011, 08:15 PM
In a glorified bounce match? Then some ''supporters'' really do know the square root of f all about fitba. Geez.

It's a measure of the effort they put in though. They won't be booed this half.

05-07-2011, 08:15 PM

So much better without Hart, Murray and Scott slowing us up and putting us in trouble.Sure you said something different towards the end of last season :wink: :greengrin

05-07-2011, 08:16 PM
Click on the 'live audio' and the sheep game is still there...click on the 'live audio friendlies' and nuffin :confused:

Still getting nothing giving up :boo hoo:

05-07-2011, 08:16 PM

So much better without Hart, Murray and Scott slowing us up and putting us in trouble.

Murray could possibly be used in a coaching capacity, Scott could be shown the door!

Agree with Thornhill, looks a player!

05-07-2011, 08:19 PM
Sure you said something different towards the end of last season :wink: :greengrin

Yes, said I hadn't seen him do much but he has looked the part tonight.

05-07-2011, 08:21 PM
Horner looks a good yin too by the way.

05-07-2011, 08:22 PM
Yes, said I hadn't seen him do much but he has looked the part tonight.I thought he had something about him, lets hope he keeps it up :thumbsup:

05-07-2011, 08:22 PM
Horner looks a good yin too by the way.

What position is he playing?

05-07-2011, 08:26 PM
What position is he playing?

Central to left midfield. Just been on a mazy.

Who said the talent had run dry? Some cracking kids out there.

05-07-2011, 08:29 PM
Sodje misses a sitter.

05-07-2011, 08:33 PM
Full time.

Much better 2nd half!

05-07-2011, 08:35 PM
Full time.

Much better 2nd half!:thumbsup:

Always like tae win but the performance is more important than the result :agree: hope there was nae booing (of the team) at the end.

Edit: wonder if there'll be another fascinating after match interview

05-07-2011, 08:40 PM

Always like tae win but the performance is more important than the result :agree: hope there was nae booing (of the team) at the end.

Edit: wonder if there'll be another fascinating after match interview

No comment.

andy1875
05-07-2011, 08:40 PM
That Gary Bollan fella must be some manager! :wink:

05-07-2011, 08:41 PM
STV journalist giving Sodje a slating. Any reason?

HibsMax
05-07-2011, 08:41 PM
Listened to the match so can't comment on actual performances but:
1. first half sounded rotten
2. players boo'd at half-time
3. much better second half

Commentators seemed pretty pleased with the 2nd half.

05-07-2011, 08:44 PM

I said towards the end of last season that I didn't think it was any coincidence that our slump happened when Thornhil got injured. He's a key part of our midfield. No doubt about it.

05-07-2011, 08:44 PM
None J.

Crowd much happier with 2nd half!

05-07-2011, 08:46 PM
None J.

Crowd much happier with 2nd half!:thumbsup::thumbsup:

05-07-2011, 08:47 PM
Listened to the match so can't comment on actual performances but:
1. first half sounded rotten
2. players boo'd at half-time
3. much better second half

Commentators seemed pretty pleased with the 2nd half.

I was there and pretty much agree with that.

A goal down before we had a touch of the ball (bar the KO) and some lethargic performances in the opening 45.

2nd half, we retained and passed the ball better, but the strike force is a worry and definately needs improving.

05-07-2011, 08:48 PM
was out tonight, come in, log in and check the score on here......we lost to Livvi but there was a "better 2nd half" ...............wow, we're really sinking low.

Have not really read the Petrie statement thread, but appears he's desperate to hold onto a manager who doesn't want to be at the club. New season is fast approaching and I can't see how we're going to have a good season with a guy not committed to us, really, back to feeling fed up with Hibs

05-07-2011, 08:49 PM
At least all this upset has not affected the results, and the team are all still playing for the man.

05-07-2011, 08:50 PM
:agree:...But wait!!..Let's make a judgment on the manager once he's had a chance to get his own players in.:rolleyes:

If we're now judging managers based on pre-season friendlies then some Hibs fans have truly lost the plot.

HibsMax
05-07-2011, 08:51 PM
I was there and pretty much agree with that.

A goal down before we had a touch of the ball (bar the KO) and some lethargic performances in the opening 45.

2nd half, we retained and passed the ball better, but the strike force is a worry and definately needs improving.

Hopefully when the guys get fitter and start to gel things will get better.

05-07-2011, 08:52 PM
If we're now judging managers based on pre-season friendlies then some Hibs fans have truly lost the plot.
A pre-season friendly only bears a passing resemblance to a proper competitive match. Some will relish the chance to stick the boot in anyway though.

HibsMax
05-07-2011, 08:53 PM
was out tonight, come in, log in and check the score on here......we lost to Livvi but there was a "better 2nd half" ...............wow, we're really sinking low.
So your suggestion is to what? Just talk about all the bad stuff that happened? There is no ignoring the result but why should we ignore the fact that the boys came out and played a much better second half?

05-07-2011, 08:56 PM
On a really serious note though what was the crowd :greengrin

05-07-2011, 08:56 PM
This thread might be considerably less hysterical if everybody was in possession of this fact before posting:

Tonight's match was a pre-season friendly.

05-07-2011, 08:58 PM
So your suggestion is to what? Just talk about all the bad stuff that happened? There is no ignoring the result but why should we ignore the fact that the boys came out and played a much better second half?

No problems, obviously I ought to be happy with a better 2nd half.

"all the bad stuff that happened" .........WTF that meant to mean.

Just stated that we have a manager that doesn't want to be our manager and I can't see how I should be excited about the new season which is 2.5 weeks from starting.

Or should a defeat from Livvy but a good 2nd half mean I should :confused:

Northfield Hibby
05-07-2011, 08:58 PM
A pre-season friendly only bears a passing resemblance to a proper competitive match. Some will relish the chance to stick the boot in anyway though.

Dry your eyes, only kiddin:greengrin

A think the point that most people are making is that we have a manager that doesn't want to be there! We don't seem to be in the market for any more players, either because we don't have any more money or because of the present situation concerning CC, the board are not backing him until it's resolved.

This is a serious position were in, especially when you looked at the amount of youngsters in the squad tonight. It looks like they done well when they came on, but if you think that over a season in the SPL against experienced sides they will perform as well, then sorry I don't see that happening.

This should never been allowed to happen, but it has, and we look like we could suffer because of this. Petrie has to bite the bullet here and get rid of CC and get someone in who can turn this shambles around.

Hibstrooper
05-07-2011, 09:01 PM
Not long back (man I wish I lived this close to ER)!

As previous posters had said, poor first half better second however the fact a lot of livi's team in the 2nd were u19 players would have helped.

I was sitting in the livi end so probably had a slightly different perspective than others. Thought Galbraith and Booth linked together really well in the 2nd however the end ball was pretty poor. Crawford added a bit of pace and energy up front when he came on.

Murray and Scott in the middle in the first didn't work and Hart was poor.

Overall decent workout, still need more up top though.

Badge
05-07-2011, 09:02 PM

What have you seen since CC took over that gives you optimism for the coming season? I haven't seen anything at all, including the run of wins that got the points to keep us in the league. He has signed 9 or 10 players and I for one am really worried about the coming season. In my opinion we, as a club, are in a bad way and we need something really positive to give the place, and us, a lift. CC should go now and let us get somebody in who might just give us the wee spark we need. The quality of the football we have watched under his management has been very poor.

05-07-2011, 09:03 PM

You probably would think that if you sat through the first half, but not if you watched the second!!!

Without getting carried away, some of these new kids are good!!!

HibsMax
05-07-2011, 09:04 PM
"all the bad stuff that happened" .........WTF that meant to mean.
"all the bad stuff that happened" was a reference to the crappy first half we had.

Just stated that we have a manager that doesn't want to be our manager and I can't see how I should be excited about the new season which is 2.5 weeks from starting.
Well I amn't as confident as you are that our manager definitely wants away from Hibs but I appreciate that I am in the minority there. I haven't heard him say he definitely wants to go but this thread is not the place for that discussion.

Or should a defeat from Livvy but a good 2nd half mean I should :confused:

You can interpret tonight's game any way you want. I've given mine. Not happy with a loss, I never am, but I am happy that players turned it around in the second half. That shows some mettle. But I do appreciate that positive thoughts are not welcome around here so much.

05-07-2011, 09:06 PM
Said in previous postings that Thornhill has no really had a proper start to his Hibs career and that he would look like a new player. That would appear to be the case. Hope we can put things through him like we did Miller and also hope he has become attached to the club and no just attached to CC.

05-07-2011, 09:07 PM
What have you seen since CC took over that gives you optimism for the coming season? I haven't seen anything at all, including the run of wins that got the points to keep us in the league. He has signed 9 or 10 players and I for one am really worried about the coming season. In my opinion we, as a club, are in a bad way and we need something really positive to give the place, and us, a lift. CC should go now and let us get somebody in who might just give us the wee spark we need. The quality of the football we have watched under his management has been very poor.

We have been rotten under him and now he doesn't want to be here, so how can we expect anything to look forward too.

We had a run out tonight with a few kids who looked ok or done well (good news don't get me wrong), but we lost and we start the new season in 2.5 weeks and I can't see us haven the required underbelly to do well in the SPL....... AS PER USUAL.

05-07-2011, 09:08 PM
This thread might be considerably less hysterical if everybody was in possession of this fact before posting:

Tonight's match was a pre-season friendly.

Think that passions were rising before we even got in, usual Livingston shambles. Friendly or not their organisation for games is a joke.

LeithBoozy
05-07-2011, 09:15 PM
I remember going through to Dunfermline last year pre-season, Hibs played a good pars team off the park. When they beat Hearts well the following week, I remember thinking we could be in for a good season. Well we all know how wrong I was to think that now, It is only to build fitness and try formations, nobody should getting it tight in a friendly. :rolleyes:

Sodje_18
05-07-2011, 09:19 PM
Just back from the game, I can honestly say livi are the dirtiest team I have ever had the displeasure of watching. Gary O'Connor received some terrible tackles, people on this board need remindind that it was a friendly, but from the looks of the livi players they also need reminding. Number 3 I think it was, blatantly dived to win a free kick and retain possesion, it's a ****ing friendly! Why would you cheat in a meaningless game? Calderwood looked bored and disintrested, no suprise there. At the risk of sounding like a conspiracy theorist, the ref didn't half seem biased to me. Clearly didn't know what obstruction was and let livi players climb all over us for a header, but we give a shoulder barge and a free kick is given.
First Half - 2, And thats being generous.
Second Half - 6 or 7
Officials - Lucky to get a 2.

05-07-2011, 09:19 PM
Thornhill was excellent and will be a big player for us this season. Other plus points Smith, Taggart and Booth all did well. GoC is getting fitter and I'm sure Ivan on one wing and Galbraith on the other will give us an attacking edge.
EDG was sitting amongst the Hibs support. Least he showed commitment to attend the game. Terrible dress sense :greengrin

Downside
Stephens was awful looks over weight
Murray-- Has actually go slower. He is not mobile enough or a good enough footballer for the SPL
Scott-- want him to do well but he is actually worse than EDG on a bad day
Hart-- He is not good enough for Hibs.

Overall we played some decent football in the second half missed a couple of chances and hit the bar and post. All in all a good pre-season work out.

05-07-2011, 09:21 PM
I've just wasted 5 mins reading this thread and some posters really need to gi them sel a shake. This was a pre-season friendly FFS:confused::taxi

At The Edge
05-07-2011, 09:24 PM
A game of 2 halves for sure,
1st half....hoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooffffffffffff ffball
Hart, Murray and a few others looked woeful

when Thornhill came on we looked a way better side

2nd half was way better, still need another striker

I do wish Brown would stop launching the ball forward, we just give away posession cheaply, esp when there are options to play from the back

overall a lot of work ahead, but promising signs esp with the youngsters

05-07-2011, 09:25 PM
Thornhill was excellent and will be a big player for us this season. Other plus points Smith, Taggart and Booth all did well. GoC is getting fitter and I'm sure Ivan on one wing and Galbraith on the other will give us an attacking edge.
EDG was sitting amongst the Hibs support. Least he showed commitment to attend the game. Terrible dress sense :greengrin

Downside
Murray-- Has actually go slower. He is not mobile enough or a good enough footballer for the SPL

Overall we played some decent football in the second half missed a couple of chances and hit the bar and post. All in all a good pre-season work out.

Please can we leave any negative comments about IM to a later date please.:greengrin

HibsMax
05-07-2011, 09:35 PM
I'm guessing it was a pre-season for Livingston as well?...And they won.And you think that's OK?..Christ!

I read his post, the one you replied to, and I didn't see him say that he thought losing to Livi was OK. Are you joining the line of people who are going to put words into people's mouths? It's a long line.

I think we're arguing over what colour the table cloths were on the Titanic. I doubt any fan thinks that losing a game is "OK" but some people will find it less necessary to reach for the pill bottle on the back of this one defeat. No, it's not OK to lose but it's hardly the end of the world. What matters is that the players grow from this. They showed us tonight that they can make changes at half time and play a different game. That's worthy of some praise. Well, to me it is.

05-07-2011, 09:37 PM
I'm guessing it was a pre-season for Livingston as well?...And they won.And you think that's OK?..Christ! I take it you weren't there, it WAS a pre-season friendly ffs - no need for the drama queen reaction then eh?

sunshine1875
05-07-2011, 09:51 PM
:ostrich:

Where is the Hibs.net "Hibs fans burying their head in the sand" smiley.

We are getting worse, a downward spiral. Yes, only a friendly, but I don't expect my team to play so poorly. We were mince, doesn't matter how you big it up. We were mince!

Yes, it could be turned around. But we have been saying that for months, years!!

Frogga
05-07-2011, 10:01 PM
Went tonight and enjoyed it despite the loss... and the delay in getting into the ground thanks to Livi only opening 3 turnstiles for a thousand Hibees.

O'Connor worked hard and deserved his goal, Smith and Taggart were solid and useful going forward, Thornhill ran our midfield when he came on, Galbraith was tricky and posed a constant threat to the Livi defence, Crawford looked useful when he came on and ran his heart out.

The one thing that struck me was that we looked really unorganised at the back and Livi got far too many shots at our goal from counter attacks. Hopefully O'Hanlon will solve this issue. Also wtf was Martin Scott moaning about to the ref when they scored the 2nd? The fact that he's just not very good?

05-07-2011, 10:08 PM
Went tonight and enjoyed it despite the loss... and the delay in getting into the ground thanks to Livi only opening 3 turnstiles for a thousand Hibees.

O'Connor worked hard and deserved his goal, Smith and Taggart were solid and useful going forward, Thornhill ran our midfield when he came on, Galbraith was tricky and posed a constant threat to the Livi defence, Crawford looked useful when he came on and ran his heart out.

The one thing that struck me was that we looked really unorganised at the back and Livi got far too many shots at our goal from counter attacks. Hopefully O'Hanlon will solve this issue. Also wtf was Martin Scott moaning about to the ref when they scored the 2nd? The fact that he's just not very good?

A result of our defence being far too young, Hart and Murray who are the more experienced options are rubbish imo. O'Hanlon will improve things but still think we need strenghtened as soon as possible (not just in defence, the entire team).

Its been like that for a few seasons now though, us being woeful at the back so not got much hope.

Haggis Hibby
05-07-2011, 10:15 PM
we defo need a RB asap.... Hart is passed it and looked a bomb scare everytime the ball went near him.... i would give scott a try there,,,,

Thornhill was MOM,,,, lewis also looked good when he came on

05-07-2011, 10:30 PM
we defo need a RB asap.... Hart is passed it and looked a bomb scare everytime the ball went near him.... i would give scott a try there,,,,

Thornhill was MOM,,,, lewis also looked good when he came on
Positives - Thought Taggart did well when he came on at RB. I would start him long way before Hart ever wore the Green again.
Vitctor strolled through the match when he came on Thornhill made the creative difference in Midfield. Crawford will be a handfull when he plays and the width that Ivan and Galbraith give when someone (thornhill in this case) puts their foot on the ball all gives me optimism for the coming season. A word for Lewis Stevenson too. Thought he had a fine contribution too. Booth is class and Hanlon looked miles better with Vic beside him so I hope O'Hanlon gets fit sooner rather than later.

Negatives - Murray looks finished. Scott lacks creativity. Gary is a couple of yards short never mind a yard and Sodje will miss more than he scores. Stevens had a mare against Deuchar. Brown flaps a lot.

Shout of the season in the bag already.
Deuchar claims for a throw in that was clearly a Hibs throw in.
"Its a good job your a bloody doctor and no an Optician" :top marks to whoever owns that line.

05-07-2011, 10:32 PM

Downside

Hart is terrible - 2 right backs are needed :agree:

Agree about Scott - why no EDG ?

Murray won't last the pace this season and will be used from the bench more often that not I would think.

WE NEED MORE PLAYERS :agree:

Pre season or not - losing to Livi is a joke with the resources we have as a club.

1987green
05-07-2011, 10:36 PM
A result of our defence being far too young, Hart and Murray who are the more experienced options are rubbish imo. O'Hanlon will improve things but still think we need strenghtened as soon as possible (not just in defence, the entire team).

Its been like that for a few seasons now though, us being woeful at the back so not got much hope.

I said Stephens was piss poor when we signed him and going on tonights showing I still think that. Hanlon aint a centre half. If we do get Garry Bollan as our new manager( tonight will have Rodders thinking about it even more) I hope he brings his two centre backs with him they were outstanding and bossed everything

05-07-2011, 10:40 PM
Hart is terrible - 2 right backs are needed :agree:

Agree about Scott - why no EDG ?

Murray won't last the pace this season and will be used from the bench more often that not I would think.

WE NEED MORE PLAYERS :agree:

Pre season or not - losing to Livi is a joke with the resources we have as a club.

On the contrary, rather than it being a joke, it's a chance to get the players match fit, into the swing of games. and not pick up needless injuries by going full pelt. We have a game against Celtic in 2 weeks which all the players will want to play in.......the same Celtic who were beaten by unknown Australian league opposition last week.

Tonight was also precious game time for young Crawford, Taggart, Smith, Stephens and Thornhill........try not to look at the result my Hibee chum. Hopefully we will have a new manager in place who wants to be here and can inject enthusiasm from the touchline and get the players in good shape for Celtic :agree:

05-07-2011, 10:46 PM
How is Hanlon not a centre half? He was fantastic last season and with O'Hanlon next to him it can only help him. He did very little wrong, it is was more Brown, Hart and Stephens that were dodgy and Murray and Scott did them no favours with their awful performances.

05-07-2011, 10:47 PM
You're quite right.I totally over reacted..I'll just mince off into the sunset and let you talk sense..,

Good. About time too.

05-07-2011, 10:52 PM
Have i got this right, we lost 2-1 to livingston and it was the kids who were already at the club that were the best players in a green and white shirt?

This club is a shambles at the minute, where is the leadership?:rolleyes:

05-07-2011, 11:03 PM
On the contrary, rather than it being a joke, it's a chance to get the players match fit, into the swing of games. and not pick up needless injuries by going full pelt. We have a game against Celtic in 2 weeks which all the players will want to play in.......the same Celtic who were beaten by unknown Australian league opposition last week.

Tonight was also precious game time for young Crawford, Taggart, Smith, Stephens and Thornhill........try not to look at the result my Hibee chum. Hopefully we will have a new manager in place who wants to be here and can inject enthusiasm from the touchline and get the players in good shape for Celtic :agree:

I agree the SPL season isn't all about pre-season but instead of players bursting a gut for plaes in the team and gaining some confidence playing a part time team we were awful 1st half and 2nd half only managed one goal - against part timers!

It's great for the younger players to get experience and I understand about not wanting to pick up injuries but having played the game - if you think about that - then that is when you do pick up injuries!

The problem I have is this is how we finished last season and getting beaten by lower league teams like Ayr is becoming more and more common - hopefully not a sign of where we are going.

Regarding the manager - not against CC as a manager as I want stability but not sure the players are fully playing for him - hopefully his future will be sorted ASAP for the good of the players and fans.

05-07-2011, 11:04 PM
I was quite surprised that Lloyds was cheaper than W'Spoons for a pint of Strongbow!

05-07-2011, 11:19 PM
well, after slating hibs for giving him a 12 month contract just before the end of last season, i'd like to say well done wee lewis stevenson, he certainly added to the urgency in the 2nd half :agree: well done wee man, as for that 1st half performance, total and utter gash :bitchy: stephens was a freakin bombscare, anyone got the stats for the last 3 season friendly results ? is it 3 or 4 wins ? funny how all the other teams we play pre-season always appear to have an urgency about them even though it's friendly games, but we always seem to be 'trying out different formations' :dizzy:

p.s. much improved 2nd half performance :wink:

p.p.s the new away tops look braw :thumbsup:

05-07-2011, 11:19 PM
So bottom 6 games are the same as pre-season games for the duration of CC's tenure?!

05-07-2011, 11:21 PM
I agree the SPL season isn't all about pre-season but instead of players bursting a gut for plaes in the team and gaining some confidence playing a part time team we were awful 1st half and 2nd half only managed one goal - against part timers!

It's great for the younger players to get experience and I understand about not wanting to pick up injuries but having played the game - if you think about that - then that is when you do pick up injuries!

The problem I have is this is how we finished last season and getting beaten by lower league teams like Ayr is becoming more and more common - hopefully not a sign of where we are going.

Regarding the manager - not against CC as a manager as I want stability but not sure the players are fully playing for him - hopefully his future will be sorted ASAP for the good of the players and fans.

I am not sticking up for the players because of a disappointing result. I am more implying that the players (or certain players) will be hugely disappointed, let down and angry that the Calderwood 'call to arms' and the 'the club is heading in the right direction' speeches (when players like GOC and O'Hanlon were signed) are now proved to be utter lilian gish..........yes, they should be professional and they should play for the fans, but there is no doubt the CC saga hampers performances.

That's why IMHO it is absolutely vital that he is either allowed to leave and we get a new manager in place immediately. We are in a shambolic state. That is not being hysterical, or being a 'drama queen'.........we only have two recognised strikers at the club FFS. What happens if either pick up an injury at the weekend ? We have (yet again) no established right back (Hart isn't even a footballer IMO)..........we have no creative midfielders. Say what you like about Jumbo Jefferies and Hearts but they did their business early, the have (in very erratic ways) rebuffed advances for Wallace and other players and are offering new deals, and they have a settled squad yet again as we enter a pre-season. Dundee United are settled despite losing key players, and Aberdeen, Well and Killie are quietly re-building as we are playing mind games and brinksmanship with our manager, B'Ham and Forest. Money/business before football yet again. Will we ever learn eh :rolleyes:

05-07-2011, 11:22 PM
Have i got this right, we lost 2-1 to livingston and it was the kids who were already at the club that were the best players in a green and white shirt?

This club is a shambles at the minute, where is the leadership?:rolleyes:

Do we not have a "Change the bleeding record" smiley yet, about time we got one :greengrin

05-07-2011, 11:28 PM
STV journalist giving Sodje a slating. Any reason?

Because, to put it mildly, Sodje tonight couldn't control a medicine ball, and as for shooting at goal - the guys in row z ducked every time he lined up to shoot. Total keek from him tonight. Cant see him and Gary O forming any sort of partnership.

05-07-2011, 11:32 PM
Do we not have a "Change the bleeding record" smiley yet, about time we got one :greengrin

Hopefully not until this imposter has pissed off? :wink: I sometimes think some of our fans will eat **** until such times as it runs out, and there is no more? Yes it was a friendly, yes they are not that important in the grand scheme of things, but we can take certain things from each performance.

another defeat from a lower league club, by all accounts there were quite a few god awful performances from certain players, players some folk think deserve to play every week.

Yet the players who are getting credit tonight are the kids and Lewis bloody Stevenson, a squad player at best.

Where is the will to win, the fight to the finish, the better football? We saw very little of that last season, none tonight. Is it any wonder when we have no leadership at the helm?

7 Hills
05-07-2011, 11:46 PM
We're aw DOOMED! :wink: Really, we shouldn't read too much into this result, it was only a "friendly" although you might not have thought so at some times, given some of the gamesmanship and physicality that some of the Livi players put into tonight's match! I thought that Hibs looked pretty good in the second half and were unlucky not to have scored a few goals, particularly with Wotherspoon's shot which almost broke the post!

And it was absolutely marvellous to see Garry and Ivan back in the Green and White! Welcome Home Lads! :greengrin

06-07-2011, 12:00 AM
I was quite surprised that Lloyds was cheaper than W'Spoons for a pint of Strongbow!

Best piece of analysis i've read since last season :agree: :greengrin:

06-07-2011, 12:03 AM
Hopefully not until this imposter has pissed off? :wink: I sometimes think some of our fans will eat **** until such times as it runs out, and there is no more? Yes it was a friendly, yes they are not that important in the grand scheme of things, but we can take certain things from each performance.

another defeat from a lower league club, by all accounts there were quite a few god awful performances from certain players, players some folk think deserve to play every week.

Yet the players who are getting credit tonight are the kids and Lewis bloody Stevenson, a squad player at best.

Where is the will to win, the fight to the finish, the better football? We saw very little of that last season, none tonight. Is it any wonder when we have no leadership at the helm?

By all accounts, stevenson was good tonight, so not sure where you are getting that criticism from.

As shocked as i was to see the score line, i'm not too bothered as it was a friendly with kids and new guys in the team, give it time and they will gel and come good

06-07-2011, 12:06 AM
By all accounts, stevenson was good tonight, so not sure where you are getting that criticism from.

As shocked as i was to see the score line, i'm not too bothered as it was a friendly with kids and new guys in the team, give it time and they will gel and come good

What do you base that on? :confused:

06-07-2011, 12:10 AM

How long?

06-07-2011, 12:36 AM

sorry mate, i dont know how u can believe that. we were absolute gash most of last season. we have had an exodus of players and only brought in three. i believe that the likes of st mirren have improved to beyond our level. we are 3-4 short of safe bottom 6 and 5-6 shot of aiming for top six IMHO of course

06-07-2011, 12:50 AM
I am not sticking up for the players because of a disappointing result. I am more implying that the players (or certain players) will be hugely disappointed, let down and angry that the Calderwood 'call to arms' and the 'the club is heading in the right direction' speeches (when players like GOC and O'Hanlon were signed) are now proved to be utter lilian gish..........yes, they should be professional and they should play for the fans, but there is no doubt the CC saga hampers performances.

That's why IMHO it is absolutely vital that he is either allowed to leave and we get a new manager in place immediately. We are in a shambolic state. That is not being hysterical, or being a 'drama queen'.........we only have two recognised strikers at the club FFS. What happens if either pick up an injury at the weekend ? We have (yet again) no established right back (Hart isn't even a footballer IMO)..........we have no creative midfielders. Say what you like about Jumbo Jefferies and Hearts but they did their business early, the have (in very erratic ways) rebuffed advances for Wallace and other players and are offering new deals, and they have a settled squad yet again as we enter a pre-season. Dundee United are settled despite losing key players, and Aberdeen, Well and Killie are quietly re-building as we are playing mind games and brinksmanship with our manager, B'Ham and Forest. Money/business before football yet again. Will we ever learn eh :rolleyes:

Always good to read your posts TH. :aok:

06-07-2011, 03:31 AM

This post makes more sense than the previous one I replied too - where it sounded like you were sticking up for the players and management -

"it's a chance to get the players match fit, into the swing of games. and not pick up needless injuries by going full pelt."

The bottom line is the players and management should be pulling in the right direction with leadership and playing for the shirt every game - not just when they pick and choose.

A winning culture at the club has to be formed - as right now I still think we have too many losers.

06-07-2011, 07:45 AM
If this drags on (which it looks like it might), then potential signings he previously identified may be lost to other clubs, meaning the youngsters on show last night would have to be pressed into first team action, perhaps too early and stalling their development.

GreenPJ
06-07-2011, 08:37 AM

Brilliant, we can take certain things from these games unless its to credit Lewis Stevenson obviously :rolleyes:

When was the last time Hibs had an unbeaten pre-season? Celtic lost to an Australian team that I had never heard of, does that mean they won't be up there challenging for the league?

06-07-2011, 09:02 AM
What do you base that on? :confused:

How long?

I'm basing that on the fact that we have signed players that are either the same level or better than the ones who have left. We replaced Nish with O'connor and Sodje, John Rankin and Liam Miller with Thornhill and Dickoh with O'Hanlon. Riordan has gone and is arguably irreplaceable, but at least Sproule shows passion and has a bit of pace, something the Deek was seriously and notably lacking in last season.

Plus Taggart, Crawford, Smith, Handling and Booth are all obviously part of CC's plans for next season, otherwise why would they be integrated into 3 pre-season games? Having only seen Booth play more than once that makes me extremely optimistic if the others are of the same caliber.

As an optimist, I'm saying by the end of pre-season we'll have gelled and found the right formula, especially by playing the likes of Blackpool, a higher level of opposition, where complacency will not be a problem

scott7_0(Prague)
06-07-2011, 09:08 AM
I'm basing that on the fact that we have signed players that are either the same level or better than the ones who have left. We replaced Nish with O'connor and Sodje, John Rankin and Liam Miller with Thornhill and Dickoh with O'Hanlon. Riordan has gone and is arguably irreplaceable, but at least Sproule shows passion and has a bit of pace, something the Deek was seriously and notably lacking in last season.

Plus Taggart, Crawford, Smith, Handling and Booth are all obviously part of CC's plans for next season, otherwise why would they be integrated into 3 pre-season games? Having only seen Booth play more than once that makes me extremely optimistic if the others are of the same caliber.

As an optimist, I'm saying by the end of pre-season we'll have gelled and found the right formula, especially by playing the likes of Blackpool, a higher level of opposition, where complacency will not be a problem

I agree, I said last week to a YAM mate who said we were in free fall that we have a tighter and better squad already to this time last year. Yes we are a bit short on numbers, which still can be a good thing as we have competition still for places yet we should now have a more settled and regular first 15 or 16.

With the departure of CC ir not a couple more squad signings should set us up for the season ahead.

What I cannot predict is where we should be aiming this year. Top3, Europe, Top6 who knows. But that's life being a Hibby, no one knows.

06-07-2011, 09:16 AM
Scott gave away goal with dummy to no one.

If you notice Scott after the goal he an Murray go to the ref to complain. My take on that is that the goal scorer shouted "leave it" and Scott dummied it not realising it was the cheating Livvi bassa that had shouted.

06-07-2011, 09:17 AM
If you notice Scott after the goal he an Murray go to the ref to complain. My take on that is that the goal scorer shouted "leave it" and Scott dummied it not realising it was the cheating Livvi bassa that had shouted.

Why is that cheating?

06-07-2011, 09:19 AM
Brilliant, we can take certain things from these games unless its to credit Lewis Stevenson obviously :rolleyes:

When was the last time Hibs had an unbeaten pre-season? Celtic lost to an Australian team that I had never heard of, does that mean they won't be up there challenging for the league?

I dont care what celtic do, just Hibs. Lewis Stevenson imo is a squad player at best. He's failed to push his way into the team as a regular since the CIS cup final. Each time he has played, he's NEVER played as well as he did in that game, and has been one of the poorest players again imo in each game he has played in.

Livingstone is probably his standard, but the SPL has been above anything he's capable of for many years. If he's a regular in our tem next season, we will struggle, again imo.

Fight and passion, will to win and fitness were all things we were said to lack with the previous manager. Do we have those attributes now? Leadership, do we have any?

06-07-2011, 09:20 AM
Why is that cheating?
I dont know if its still the case but when I played and it wasnt yesterday to be fair you were booked if you did that under ungentlemanly conduct. You always had to put your name on a shout. "Baldy fat bastirts ba" type of thing. "Leave it" or "Ma Ba" wasnt on.There had to be a name.

06-07-2011, 09:21 AM
I dont care what celtic do, just Hibs. Lewis Stevenson imo is a squad player at best. He's failed to push his way into the team as a regular since the CIS cup final. Each time he has played, he's NEVER played as well as he did in that game, and has been one of the poorest players again imo in each game he has played in.

Livingstone is probably his standard, but the SPL has been above anything he's capable of for many years. If he's a regular in our tem next season, we will struggle, again imo.

Fight and passion, will to win and fitness were all things we were said to lack with the previous manager. Do we have those attributes now? Leadership, do we have any?

That's twice G. There is no E in Livingston :grr:

06-07-2011, 09:23 AM

legends of 73
06-07-2011, 09:29 AM

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE EE:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

06-07-2011, 09:31 AM
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE EE:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

:music:E's are good, E's are good.:music:

06-07-2011, 09:36 AM
Why is that cheating?

Because its unsportmanlike behaviour.

06-07-2011, 09:38 AM

If the starting line-up is anything close to what CC (or whoever's actually making decisions around ER right now) considers a possible first team, I'm really worried.

Hart is done. Stephens was all at sea and responsible for the first goal - hadn't a clue where Deuchar was.

Murray and Scott were lost in midfield - it was all misplaced passes and a complete failure to close Livi down all through the first 45. First half was truly gruesome, except for willing performances from Smith, Hanlon, Sproule and to a lesser extent Galbraith. I couldn't judge Sodje or O'Connor at half-time - the service they were getting was dreadful.

Second half Palsson steadied the back four immediately. Thornhill looks a player. I was impressed by Crawford and Horner, and Taggart, Wotherspoon, Booth and Stevenson all stiffened the side considerably. Not all the kids are ready for regular first team places, IMO, but if we had started with the team and the attitude we showed in the second half, I think we would have won the game. Galbraith had a good second half though I'd say he needs to work on his final ball into the goalmouth.

G O'C needs games. Ivan looks sharp, but if we keep playing the long ball for him to run on to, he'll be well-sussed before August is out. In the first half our only alternative tactical plan to punting it up for Ivan was punting it long and high for Sodje/Garry O, and they were getting little or no support from midfield (what midfield, I ask?). Once we started to pass the ball keeping it down, we improved.

Livi are well-organised and played well. Russell looks a useful player, and I rather like the goalie, Bulloch. Bosses his area well - a lot better than Brownb does, I'd say.

The problem right now is CC. Either he goes or he stays but he HAS to decide this week so that we can get in the players we clearly need to complete the first-team squad. We can't go through the season with the players on show last night - too many youngsters, even if they are promising (and they are!) and not a lot of signs of leadership coming down from the top.