View Full Version : Ritchie Towell starts for Celtic in Sydney

02-07-2011, 09:46 PM
Ritchie Towell Played at right midfield and was on from the start, in Celtic's 1-0 loss to the Central Coast Mariners in Sydney..

The 'greatest supporters in the world di'd their bit too...as this press cutting relays.

Police expressed disappointment with the behaviour of a minority of the crowd of more than 17,000.

New South Wales Police said that nine men and two women had been arrested after "jumping the fence in an attempt to invade the pitch".

Police added that 47 people had been refused entry because of drunkenness and 27 people had been ejected for the same reason. One man was charged with assaulting police while another man was charged with assault.

You can take the boys out of glasgow etc etc....

HibsMax
02-07-2011, 09:48 PM
Does this mean that Towell is away from Hibs for good or do we just need to wait and see what Celtic decide to do with him?

02-07-2011, 10:52 PM
Does this mean that Towell is away from Hibs for good or do we just need to wait and see what Celtic decide to do with him?maybes aye,maybes naw, on the other hand,he may be weighing up his options/he is looking into 2 bags o' sweeties/his agent says etc etc.

02-07-2011, 10:55 PM
I doubt if we'll be seeing Towell back at Hibs any time soon, considering that Calderwood will almost certainly be leaving the club in the next few days.

Perhaps our new manager will fancy him but it was Calderwood who brought him in so if he goes, I don't expect to see Towell back.

02-07-2011, 11:02 PM
http://images.smh.com.au/2011/07/03/2468572/ipad-art-wide-soccer-hooligan-420x0.jpg

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/football/11-arrested-as-footy-fans-get-too-close-20110703-1gwr7.html#ixzz1QyT0hDhq

02-07-2011, 11:08 PM
**** im

02-07-2011, 11:21 PM
Good for him...................

We will wait and see what transpires............

03-07-2011, 12:07 AM
http://images.smh.com.au/2011/07/03/2468572/ipad-art-wide-soccer-hooligan-420x0.jpg

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/football/11-arrested-as-footy-fans-get-too-close-20110703-1gwr7.html#ixzz1QyT0hDhq

Wait for our resident Celtc fan to turn up and explain that it's a hun in that photo.:agree:

03-07-2011, 12:26 AM
Maybe the rules are a little bit tighter over there concerning football matches?

Probably over zealous policing.

Or maybe this guy was arrested because they couldn't tell if he was black, irish or a combination of both.

03-07-2011, 12:31 AM
1 Maybe the rules are a little bit tighter over there concerning football matches?

2 Probably over zealous policing.

3 Or maybe this guy was arrested because they couldn't tell if he was black, irish or a combination of both.

1 NO

2 Can't comment wasnt there, but magine if you ran on the pitch at Ibrox/Parkhead/Easter Road/Hampden you would also gét arrested.

3 But he could definitley be identified as an erse.

03-07-2011, 12:45 AM
1 NO

2 Can't comment wasnt there, but magine if you ran on the pitch at Ibrox/Parkhead/Easter Road/Hampden you would also gét arrested.

It was tongue in cheek mate.

But can you imagine if he was head to toe in maroon. He could invade any pitch he wanted to and escape any punishment...especially ours!

03-07-2011, 01:06 AM
1 NO

The Jambo who ran on the pitch and gave all 3 home stands the GIRFUY at the last Derby never got arrested, just kicked out unbelievably.

Graham Law
03-07-2011, 02:30 AM
The Jambo who ran on the pitch and gave all 3 home stands the GIRFUY at the last Derby never got arrested, just kicked out unbelievably.

I was at the game and he was one of the poorest players on the park. Out of position so many times - granted it was a pre-season game but he was miles of the pace the whole game.

As for the greatest fans in the world - disgusting behaviour from their fans (granted not them all - but not the minority either).

The fans running on the pitch and getting lifted was actually the highlight of the game and to be honest not the worst crime ever as they all done it in high spirits.

What is unacceptable is smoking - you would not believe how many of them where. And don't get me started on the ones that were drinking there beer then just p!ss!ng in the cup and throwing it away - disgusting and it was like being back in the 70-80s again. Quite rightly so the police had zero tolerance to this and thus why so many got arrested.

Other than that it was a good weekend and I never got hassled once from any celtic fans for wearing my Hibs tops all weekend and again at the match.

I often thought that Scotand is living in the past when it comes to know drinking at games but they may well have it spot on.

03-07-2011, 05:54 AM
I was at the game and he was one of the poorest players on the park. Out of position so many times - granted it was a pre-season game but he was miles of the pace the whole game.

As for the greatest fans in the world - disgusting behaviour from their fans (granted not them all - but not the minority either).

The fans running on the pitch and getting lifted was actually the highlight of the game and to be honest not the worst crime ever as they all done it in high spirits.

What is unacceptable is smoking - you would not believe how many of them where. And don't get me started on the ones that were drinking there beer then just p!ss!ng in the cup and throwing it away - disgusting and it was like being back in the 70-80s again. Quite rightly so the police had zero tolerance to this and thus why so many got arrested.

Other than that it was a good weekend and I never got hassled once from any celtic fans for wearing my Hibs tops all weekend and again at the match.

I often thought that Scotand is living in the past when it comes to know drinking at games but they may well have it spot on.

Still finding it very very funny that they lost to CCM :greengrin

HibeeMcGinn1
03-07-2011, 06:25 AM

What an absolute tool

Prawn Sandwich
03-07-2011, 07:09 AM
Back to the original theme of the thread about Richie Towell...... I read about six months ago or longer an interview with Neil Lennon about the Celtic youth set up. He said that it was beginning pay dividends mentioning Forrest in the first team and he singled out Towel as one to watch. So I think Towell has a future with Celtic or they would be along silly money for him if Hibs were wanting to sign him permanently.

03-07-2011, 07:49 AM
Twenty-seven people were ejected for being intoxicated, while 47 people were refused entry because of drunkenness.

What's the difference between being intoxicated and drunkenness? How did they determine which is which. Do they have a scanner which comes up with a reading which confirms whether "Fully sozzled" or "Partly sozzled"?

Answers on a postcard.

03-07-2011, 07:57 AM
I hope not because I would love to Richie back at the club

Towell is never going to get a regular run in the celtic team in my opinion so he should look at Hibs to put himself in the shop window.

03-07-2011, 08:31 AM
Still finding it very very funny that they lost to CCM :greengrin

To a cracking Troy Hearfield goal!? WTF!

Here's the goal, and Celtic denied (another) penalty :faf: bizarrely set to 'Just Cant Get Enough'... http://youtu.be/orJKi8I9Fr4

03-07-2011, 08:36 AM
Wait for our resident Celtc fan to turn up and explain that it's a hun in that photo.:agree:

Actually, I think the giant green jujube in the photo may well BE our resident Celtc fan. :greengrin

03-07-2011, 08:44 AM
To a cracking Troy Hearfield goal!? WTF!

Here's the goal, and Celtic denied (another) penalty :faf: bizarrely set to 'Just Cant Get Enough'... http://youtu.be/orJKi8I9Fr4

You are kidding, Hearfield scored, this just gets better and better!!!! :faf::rotflmao:

03-07-2011, 08:53 AM
I hope not because I would love to Richie back at the club

Towell is never going to get a regular run in the celtic team in my opinion so he should look at Hibs to put himself in the shop window.

I'd like Celtic to keep him. It appears that I'm in a minority of one but I think he's vastly over-hyped on here. Good crossing, long throw-ins, poor defender. We need a good defender above everything else.

There has to be better available out there.

03-07-2011, 09:04 AM

I bet Tennant's are delighted with their global publicity ?

They should have known - sponsor the Manks and get your Company Logo dragged into the gutter with them. :greengrin

CapitalHibs
03-07-2011, 12:41 PM
I'd like Celtic to keep him. It appears that I'm in a minority of one but I think he's vastly over-hyped on here. Good crossing, long throw-ins, poor defender. We need a good defender above everything else.

There has to be better available out there.

I agree. Think this is celtc lifting their leg and peeing on us again.:na na:

HibsMax
03-07-2011, 01:39 PM
maybes aye,maybes naw, on the other hand,he may be weighing up his options/he is looking into 2 bags o' sweeties/his agent says etc etc.

JackRegan
04-07-2011, 08:23 AM
SPoke to a mate of mine who was at the game and he said Towell looked very decent.

He also said that the entire Celtic support had been on the bevvy all day, some for even more as the Fiji, New Zealand and PNG CSCs were over for this game.

Very much a case of Glasgow/Belfast not being taken out the Bhoys. :greengrin

That said Ozzie Radio said good things about.

You think that's bad? In Braga last season the Polis were breathalysing some of us before we went in the ground :agree:

ALthough, when you see some of the pish heids they missed, you could see why the McCanns don't rate them. :greengrin

04-07-2011, 11:14 AM
SPoke to a mate of mine who was at the game and he said Towell looked very decent.

He also said that the entire Celtic support had been on the bevvy all day, some for even more as the Fiji, New Zealand and PNG CSCs were over for this game.

Very much a case of Glasgow/Belfast not being taken out the Bhoys. :greengrin

That said Ozzie Radio said good things about.

You think that's bad? In Braga last season the Polis were breathalysing some of us before we went in the ground :agree:

ALthough, when you see some of the pish heids they missed, you could see why the McCanns don't rate them. :greengrin

And yer team got whipped by a no more than average A league team :na na::na na::greengrin

Dr Jimmy
04-07-2011, 11:20 AM

Very classy comment, now go away please

HibeeMG
04-07-2011, 11:52 AM

It's quite fitting that he's dressed up as a condom because he's obviously a complete c**k! :greengrin

aberhibsfc
04-07-2011, 11:58 AM

Didn't realise that Arteta is that much of a hun that he's got a security job at Celtic games just incase he gets the chance to manhandle a Celtc fan.

There's no point in the Celtc fan dressing up as morph either, we all know his name is going to be along the lines of Henrk-Moravck John-Paul Lsbon Lon with the obligitory silent 'i's'

04-07-2011, 12:01 PM
Towell was a decent loan signing, but I'm not bothered if he doesn't return to us.

JackRegan
04-07-2011, 12:58 PM
Very classy comment, now go away please

You're right mate. The internet is serious business.

I now consider myself suitably chastised and defenestrated.

JackRegan
04-07-2011, 01:05 PM
And yer team got whipped by a no more than average A league team :na na::na na::greengrin

Yeah, cracked crests in the Daily Record await if we lose again down there. :greengrin

JackRegan
04-07-2011, 01:08 PM
I bet Tennant's are delighted with their global publicity ?

They should have known - sponsor the Manks and get your Company Logo dragged into the gutter with them. :greengrin

Are Celtic sponsored by a different Tennents Lager :confused:

This is publicity Gold for the TL.