View Full Version : From 2005 - "The Adults have to take the responsibility"

26-06-2011, 09:45 PM
VLADIMIR Romanov, the owner of Hearts, will tonight claim that a 15-year-old girl sexually abused by Graham Rix duped him into having sex with her for financial gain.

The latest controversial intervention by the Lithuanian multi-millionaire provoked a furious reaction last night from a leading children's charity and politicians.
Rix's appointment earlier this month as George Burley's successor at Tynecastle was widely condemned.

The new head coach of the Edinburgh football club served six months of a 12-month sentence in 1999 after pleading guilty to one charge of unlawful sex and another of indecent assault on the girl. He was placed on the sex offenders' register for 10 years.

In tonight's BBC Scotland Frontline documentary, Ro-manov says: "Here (in Scotland) I was surprised at the tabloid press getting involved. When a girl comes and tricks a hero such as this coach and says she is older than she is and then sells her story for hundreds of thousands of pounds and then the story comes to life a second time . . .

"The first time they trick the English and then the Scottish public, which I think is a systematic crime, involving all those who want to make money out of it."

However, the judge's sum-ming up at Rix's trial at Knightsbridge Crown Court contradicts such views.

The judge said: "There is no evidence in this case at all to suggest . . . that this girl deliberately set out to get you . . . no evidence that she was the one that made all the running, and no evidence of her initiating any sexual activity, merely the response of the teenage girl to your flattery."

Margaret McKay, chief executive of Children 1st, Scotland's leading child welfare charity, said: "I don't think it is at all helpful for Mr Romanov to get himself involved in this. You don't blame children and young people for actions that adults perpetrate on them. The adults have to take the responsibility."

Roseanna Cunningham, an advocate and SNP MSP, said: "I think someone should take Mr Romanov to one side and tell him 'When you are in a hole' – which he is already by employing Graham Rix – 'you should stop digging'."

Rosie Kane, Scottish Socialist MSP, said: "It is very worrying that a powerful and wealthy man like Vladimir Romanov does not understand that it is up to men to know the boundaries . . . The onus is not on a young girl. It is ridiculous and out of order for him to suggest such a thing."

Fantic
26-06-2011, 10:10 PM
That guy gives me the creeps

NthCarolinaHibs
26-06-2011, 10:14 PM
How many more times will this happen at this horrible club...absolutely disgusting :agree:

26-06-2011, 10:39 PM
Quite a troubling outlook, the implication is that it might be okay where he comes from or has been, hopefully it is peculiar to the man rather than something bigger.

Nae doubt there will be a few who are comfortable with all this down Gorgie way because its what big teams do, the man owns a bank, he disnae really charge us for the debt etc, but christ almighty there's a line to be drawn, if this was the view of the owner / influencer at my club I genuinely would not stand for it.

26-06-2011, 10:40 PM
So how come this post is ok but the one about "Wee Airdrie Jambo" got binned :confused:

26-06-2011, 11:09 PM
So how come this post is ok but the one about "Wee Airdrie Jambo" got binned :confused:

You know how it works Fenton :agree:

27-06-2011, 01:03 AM

Its not and is now deleted. Next time try reporting it.

27-06-2011, 09:00 AM

I asked the admin the same question, this board seems to have members who can pretty much write what they want and nothing happens. I was asking an honest question about who this person was and it got binned.

Jay
27-06-2011, 09:04 AM
I asked the admin the same question, this board seems to have members who can pretty much write what they want and nothing happens. I was asking an honest question about who this person was and it got binned.

You got your answer before it was binned no? Cant see what your problem is. Do you not think another thread on child sex offenders is not really what we (as in hibs.net) are about. Its just constant on here just now, its hard reading on one thread without more popping up. You asked a question and got your answer then as far as I saw it just went the same way as all the others.

27-06-2011, 09:31 AM
You know how it works Fenton :agree:

how does it work?

27-06-2011, 09:46 AM
Mrs S, yip i was told who it was before it was binned. I have no objection to something being binned if its common practice but when references are made to tjis person constantly and the posts stay then it seems some people can say what they want. And forgive me if im wrong and not looking for an arguement but its a message board is it not? If we have only to post on all things hibs/football then it should say so in the rules

Jay
27-06-2011, 09:57 AM
Mrs S, yip i was told who it was before it was binned. I have no objection to something being binned if its common practice but when references are made to tjis person constantly and the posts stay then it seems some people can say what they want. And forgive me if im wrong and not looking for an arguement but its a message board is it not? If we have only to post on all things hibs/football then it should say so in the rules

I think the odd post naming his username in jest is different to raking up old news especially with all the other threads on the same subject just now. Its not up to me what the rules are and I think it would be a very boring place if we kept it to just football but at the moment its just who the next manager is and sex offenders connected to the yams.

Not the cheeriest reading with my morning coffee :coffee:

I was just pointing out that I dont think the thread was deleted on personal grounds where some people can say what they want and others cant- all in my opinion of course :greengrin

27-06-2011, 10:15 AM
I think the odd post naming his username in jest is different to raking up old news especially with all the other threads on the same subject just now. Its not up to me what the rules are and I think it would be a very boring place if we kept it to just football but at the moment its just who the next manager is and sex offenders connected to the yams.

Not the cheeriest reading with my morning coffee :coffee:

I was just pointing out that I dont think the thread was deleted on personal grounds where some people can say what they want and others cant- all in my opinion of course :greengrin

Surely this thread should be deleted then as its raking over old ground again? I actually thought that superhibs point was about why this whole thread was allowed, rather than individual posts on it.

27-06-2011, 10:27 AM
Surely this thread should be deleted then as its raking over old ground again? I actually thought that superhibs point was about why this whole thread was allowed, rather than individual posts on it.

Exactly, that was my point :agree:

Graham Rix = Convicted Beast
Ian Freeman = Convicted Beast
Craig Thomson = Convicted Beast

But you can only post about 2/3 :confused:

Jay
27-06-2011, 11:09 AM

You post away then I was only giving my opinion. If it was up to me I would delete the whole lot of them and then there would be even more to moan about. Its not up to me though. I thought his post was about a deleted thread last night and why some people can and some people cant post certain things and stated that I didnt think that was the case but hey ho nothing like a guid greet eh?

27-06-2011, 11:27 AM
You post away then I was only giving my opinion. If it was up to me I would delete the whole lot of them and then there would be even more to moan about. Its not up to me though. I thought his post was about a deleted thread last night and why some people can and some people cant post certain things and stated that I didnt think that was the case but hey ho nothing like a guid greet eh?
I was actually agreeing with you.:rolleyes:

Jay
27-06-2011, 11:28 AM
I was actually agreeing with you.:rolleyes:

:confused:really?

Did you get that I am not picking that up? :greengrin

HNA12
27-06-2011, 11:33 AM
Raking over old ground AND wildly off topic.

Thread Closed.