View Full Version : Yams Would you support a boycott on attending games at Tynie...

Benny Brazil
25-06-2011, 09:36 AM
until that vile club do the right thing and sack Thomson and then retract their statement of support?
Yes or no?

25-06-2011, 09:40 AM
Yip, it is disgusting that they dont seem bothered about what he has done, hopefully fans dnt show up and hit them where it hurts

25-06-2011, 09:40 AM
Definitely.

25-06-2011, 09:42 AM
I already do, I've no been tae the place for a derby in over 20 years anyway.

Benny Brazil
25-06-2011, 09:44 AM
Yip, it is disgusting that they dont seem bothered about what he has done, hopefully fans dnt show up and hit them where it hurts

Thats another issue for me - paying money to Hearts which in turn is helping pay the wages of Thomson.

25-06-2011, 09:45 AM
No, firstly because it would never gain enough momentum to actually happen.

Secondly what hearts do is their business and has little to do with us.

Reaper
25-06-2011, 09:51 AM
Funny situation. Do you boycott the games to punish Hearts and end up punishing Hibs players by not being there to support them?

The problem is, now they've said he's staying and literally no action (that I know of) will be taken against him by the club would mean that were they to sack him halfway through the season cos it's affecting their ticket sales (should they take note of any boycotts protests) would surely open the gates for him to sue the club?

I disagree with their actions but I feel any protests / boycotts may prove futile. Romanovs made his decision and I've no doubt he'll stand by it.

25-06-2011, 09:54 AM
Yes

25-06-2011, 09:59 AM
Tricky one. Like Dan it's been many years since I've been there and I have no intention of going any year soon.

But should the support go along and support our team while shouting the truth at theirs to put them off? Tricky one.

25-06-2011, 10:00 AM
yes.

25-06-2011, 10:05 AM
Funny situation. Do you boycott the games to punish Hearts and end up punishing Hibs players by not being there to support them?

The problem is, now they've said he's staying and literally no action (that I know of) will be taken against him by the club would mean that were they to sack him halfway through the season cos it's affecting their ticket sales (should they take note of any boycotts protests) would surely open the gates for him to sue the club?

I disagree with their actions but I feel any protests / boycotts may prove futile. Romanovs made his decision and I've no doubt he'll stand by it.

:agree: its a tricky one, but I would probably say no, I don't think its fair to punish hibs by not being there to support them, as I said though its a tough one.

hailhail22
25-06-2011, 10:11 AM
wouldnt see the point and could see it affecting our players on the park more than anything, do you really think they would care if no hibs fans showed up for one derby ? and also there fans seem pritty ashamed by it themselfs we should leave this for them to deal with.

25-06-2011, 10:39 AM
I go to the pbs to support the Hibs, so no I would not boycott it. What good would it do....hee haw. Does anyone actually think that Romanov cares what we do and whilst the yams may be morally bankrupt they haven't broken any law from what I can gather by not sacking him.

25-06-2011, 10:41 AM
A resounding no from me.

I go to Tynecastle without fail, irrespective of circumstance.

I remember a lot of people not going to the Casper game because we were going to get hammered. Me an Brooster went and it was one of my favouite wins there, purely because of the no chance of victory brigade being silenced. Obviously in years to come there will be 20000 Hibs fans all claiming to have went.

Bottom line is HOMOFC can do what they want, I go to support Hibs and that's the way it will stay.

Do you seriously think Hibs players deserve to run out the tunnel to an empty away end because of Craig Bloody Thomson?

MountcastleHibs
25-06-2011, 10:43 AM
A resounding no from me.

I remember a lot of people not going to the Casper game because we were going to get hammered. Me an Brooster went and it was one of my favouite wins there, purely because of the no chance of victory brigade being silenced. Obviously in years to come there will be 20000 Hibs fans all claiming to have went.

Bottom line is HOMOFC can do what they want, I go to support Hibs and that's the way it will stay.

Do you seriously think Hibs players deserve to run out the tunnel to an empty away end because of Craig Bloody Thomson?

I've not missed a derby at the PBS for seven years, and I don't plan on this putting me off going.

As you say, I go to support the Hibs, and only the team will suffer with any boycott.

Zondervan
25-06-2011, 10:52 AM
A resounding no from me.

Well said Scoopy Scoopy Doo.

Edit - I was one of the 20000 at the Casper game!

25-06-2011, 10:56 AM
I think the OP should have asked the question, "if you regularly go to the PBS, would you now boycott going?". No point in folk coming on here answering 'yes' and being morally outraged when they haven't set foot in gorgie for years, if ever?

25-06-2011, 10:56 AM
A resounding no from me.

:agree::top marks

25-06-2011, 11:07 AM
A resounding no from me.

i was for a boycott and voted in favour til i had a good think about the bit in bold. spot on scoop :agree:

25-06-2011, 11:13 AM

No for the same reason

25-06-2011, 11:22 AM
Nope.

The level of hysteria on here over this really is reaching new heights.

25-06-2011, 11:26 AM

I want to watch Hibs no matter the circumstances

Benny Brazil
25-06-2011, 11:27 AM
A resounding no from me.

I understand what your saying scoop - I was merely asking the question.

For me I couldnt go and pay money to a club who is trying to defend / justify the actions of a convicted child sex criminal - irrespective of whether it means my team runs out to an empty away end.

Makaveli
25-06-2011, 11:49 AM
No way. The team needs our support there more than anywhere.

Edit to add: how many voting "yes" actually go to away derbies anyway?

25-06-2011, 11:56 AM
A resounding no from me.

Yep. Best response.

Incidentally, I have missed one derby since I have been working (full time employment) which is 14 years ago. That was the game I missed and ticket / health / family issues permitting I'll never miss another.

25-06-2011, 12:12 PM
What, and miss the chance to sing abusive songs at the dirty beggar? Definitely not. I have the interests of Hibs, and only Hibs at heart. (no pun intended)

I will support Hibs at the Swine regardless of Mercer's antics or those of Thomson.

Besides; how many of us boycotted the PBS when Rix was manager?

25-06-2011, 12:16 PM
I already do, I've no been tae the place for a derby in over 20 years anyway.

Same here, that manky mob aren't getting any of my hard earned to help reduce their debt.

25-06-2011, 12:20 PM
No, we have a bad enough record there as it is, no fans turning up is not going to help that.

Rossco1875
25-06-2011, 12:41 PM
no i want to support and watch my team play:flag:

25-06-2011, 12:42 PM
No easy answer here.
It invites us to disassociate our footballing allegiance from our day to day existence when normally these two elements are combined.
I voted in support purely because it would make me a hypocrite to hand over any of my money (and money is how we measure most things in our daily lives) to an institution which wantonly flouts the basic tenets of common decency.
I am trying hard to remain balanced and circumspect but the more I absorb regarding the situation at Tynecastle, the more incredulous I become.

Is there latitude for the powers that be (SFA, SPL) to invoke some kind of exile for an affiliated organisation which has explicitly brought a great deal of disrepute to our game?

25-06-2011, 01:04 PM

For me I couldnt go and pay money to a club who is trying to defend / justify the actions of a convicted child sex criminal - irrespective of whether it means my team runs out to an empty away end.

I just don't get this bit at all, when I go to watch Hibs I consider the money I have spent as being spent to follow Hibs. Not once do I ever consider who or what club the money is going to in justifying wether or not to spend it. If it's spent on my enjoyment I consider it well spent!

25-06-2011, 01:09 PM

25-06-2011, 01:27 PM
until that vile club do the right thing and sack Thomson and then retract their statement of support?
Yes or no?

Sorry, can't help with this one. Already on a personal 20 year long boycott of the tramps home. Refuse to give them my hard earned cash, sooner put it in a charity box.

Made an exception for the semi in 2007 , what an effin' dump !:greengrin

25-06-2011, 02:35 PM

I have no problem with the question you asked, or your take on matters.

However I do think the poll has been distorted by people voting yes who never go anyway.

People who are saying they don't go because they don't want to give them money, or hate Mercer or simply hate Tynecastle shouldn't be voting yes because that was not the question.

The question was would you not go because of their latest paedo.

HibeeDaz6270
25-06-2011, 02:45 PM
No. Thats for the HOME support to do.

We turn up in our numbers, and make sure we put a message across.

Brebners Bookie
25-06-2011, 03:05 PM
A resounding no from me.

Definitley this.

dont think could forgive myself if i missed a win at PBS.

A boycott wouldnt have any affect unless all clubs in the league boycotted away games there. Only missing the 1/2 games hibs play there in a season wouldnt even make Vlad look up from his unicorn blood.

25-06-2011, 03:14 PM
No. Thats for the HOME support to do.

We turn up in our numbers, and make sure we put a message across.

Agree, however I think by the time we play them at Tynie, any protest by Hearts fans would have been done at ealier games.

If we were to boycott, that will just play into Hearts hands for the game. Our players need our support on the day and this I feel is more important than not turning up for the game.

25-06-2011, 03:28 PM
No , i didnt boycott the pbs when rix[who was also on the child sex offender register] was the manager ,so i couldnt give a flying duck who does or does not play for them!
If scotlands shame hire a manager thats already on the csor , is it really a surprise that they keep a player that is also on it !:rolleyes:

25-06-2011, 03:58 PM
No. I support Hibs, and therefore will back them as much as I can. That involves paying to watch derbies at Tynecastle.

25-06-2011, 04:16 PM
Big fat no from me. Too many cheap shots about reasons for not turning up for games. Would like to see the club donate the proceeds of the away end for our next home game with them to the NSPCC.

Ernie Cobra
25-06-2011, 04:24 PM
he/thomson/beast, should be banned from Easter Road, on the grounds that we are a family club and encourage children to come along. Would you invite a Peadophile into a childrens playground or onto a school bus? **** him the dirty little rodent, and **** his dirty little rodent club. VERMIN!

davcar
25-06-2011, 10:04 PM
My own point of view would be to go to support my team, but last time out my 8 yo son went, would i want to take him to that atmosphere? :confused:

As they seem to be unable to do the morale thing, I would encourage all clubs to ask for a ban on CT entering their own stadiums in a bit to drive his actions out of this country.

25-06-2011, 10:14 PM
Nope.

The level of hysteria on here over this really is reaching new heights.

I was probably going to say no until I read your post, the guy is a peado, he groomed a 12 and 14 year old. He is a professional footballer who if he went out to a club could flash his cash and name and get legal fanny left right and centre. But he chose to sit in his bedroom and contact under age girls on facebook.

Hell if he was that desperate for a **** he could have picked up the phone and called a number and had an escort in no time at all, be a lot cheaper than 4K as well, but he didnt!!

Aye, it's all ****ing hysteria:confused:

If hearts won't take a stand then the rest of the spl should and ban him from there grounds, refuse him entry to ER at the next home derby.

25-06-2011, 10:16 PM
he/thomson/beast, should be banned from Easter Road, on the grounds that we are a family club and encourage children to come along. Would you invite a Peadophile into a childrens playground or onto a school bus? **** him the dirty little rodent, and **** his dirty little rodent club. VERMIN!

25-06-2011, 10:18 PM
I have no problem with the question you asked, or your take on matters.

However I do think the poll has been distorted by people voting yes who never go anyway.

People who are saying they don't go because they don't want to give them money, or hate Mercer or simply hate Tynecastle shouldn't be voting yes because that was not the question.

The question was would you not go because of their latest paedo.

Surely not going because of any of there peados is relevant?:wink:

25-06-2011, 11:36 PM
Derby wins at Tynecastle are not a regular occurrence, so I`m certainly not going to miss enjoying any in the foreseeable future.

Of course, Tynecastle is a very dangerous place to go now, but while the chances are that I will be sexually abused across there, it is a small price to pay should we manage what is always an enjoyable victory.

dhmf
26-06-2011, 03:20 AM
not at all,Hibs need every fan behind them and to not attend a derby in my opinion would only benefit Hearts amd would be to the detriment of Hibs. The chances of Thomson actually playing for Hearts in a derby, though i could be wrong, is low.

26-06-2011, 03:30 AM
I was probably going to say no until I read your post, the guy is a peado, he groomed a 12 and 14 year old. He is a professional footballer who if he went out to a club could flash his cash and name and get legal fanny left right and centre. But he chose to sit in his bedroom and contact under age girls on facebook.

Hell if he was that desperate for a **** he could have picked up the phone and called a number and had an escort in no time at all, be a lot cheaper than 4K as well, but he didnt!!

Aye, it's all ****ing hysteria:confused:

If hearts won't take a stand then the rest of the spl should and ban him from there grounds, refuse him entry to ER at the next home derby.

How do you know he hasn't?

And yes, the reaction of some is bordering on hysterical IMO.

26-06-2011, 07:15 AM
Of course, Tynecastle is a very dangerous place to go now, but while the chances are that I will be sexually abused across there, it is a small price to pay should we manage what is always an enjoyable victory.

26-06-2011, 07:21 AM
How do you know he hasn't?

And yes, the reaction of some is bordering on hysterical IMO.

I don't, I do know he has been grooming teenage girls for sex!!

26-06-2011, 08:24 AM
I don't, I do know he has been grooming teenage girls for sex!!

Exactly, that's what you do know. I'm asking how you know the other bit you mentioned. Doesn't matter though!

Ernie Cobra
26-06-2011, 08:38 AM
Exactly, that's what you do know. I'm asking how you know the other bit you mentioned. Doesn't matter though!

What doesnt seem to matter is the need for logic in your posts, the guy was grooming a 12 year old girl, how can this seem like its hysteria or an over the top reaction. I am completely disgusted by this and heart of midlothian football clubs stance on this. Where in your mind can his actions seem, misunderstood/not of great importance. What he did was absolutely abhorrent and downright sickening. If his club dont act all other clubs should, hew is a sewer dwelling ****in rat!

26-06-2011, 09:07 AM
What doesnt seem to matter is the need for logic in your posts, the guy was grooming a 12 year old girl, how can this seem like its hysteria or an over the top reaction. I am completely disgusted by this and heart of midlothian football clubs stance on this. Where in your mind can his actions seem, misunderstood/not of great importance. What he did was absolutely abhorrent and downright sickening. If his club dont act all other clubs should, hew is a sewer dwelling ****in rat!

Whilst I agree it is sickening what CT has down and I hate Hertz as an establishment, it certainly wont put me off from attending one of the biggest games of the season.....

27-06-2011, 05:39 AM

Ah so if he had been going out and ****ging elsewhere as well as grooming 12 year olds that would be ok?

Hibs On Tour
27-06-2011, 05:47 AM
Yes, simply because its a far bigger issue than team rivalry or support. Hardly "hysteria", just folk realising this *IS* a bigger issue than the normal backwards-and-forwards derby banter...

27-06-2011, 06:04 AM
Yes, simply because its a far bigger issue than team rivalry or support. Hardly "hysteria", just folk realising this *IS* a bigger issue than the normal backwards-and-forwards derby banter...

Exactly, I won'y pay a peados salary and I won't be seen to condone his or his clubs behaviour in this matter.

I don't take exception with people wanting to go as it is a personal choice but defo a no for me.

27-06-2011, 07:25 AM
Exactly, I won'y pay a peados salary and I won't be seen to condone his or his clubs behaviour in this matter.

Went over to kickboke to see what's what and for once found a well-argued thread there, including this point:
It's very likely that Tesco will have employees who are or have been on the sex offenders' register. Would this stop you shopping at their stores? You would likewise be paying a paedo's salary.

27-06-2011, 08:23 AM
Went over to kickboke to see what's what and for once found a well-argued thread there, including this point:
It's very likely that Tesco will have employees who are or have been on the sex offenders' register. Would this stop you shopping at their stores? You would likewise be paying a paedo's salary.

It's a fairpoint, I think each case needs to be considered seperately but if I was to give blanket answer then I would say no I wouldn't.

Each case is different however and so a blanket response doesn't work, however in the case of CT and hearts conduct in handling it I am convinced enough that he should not be around kids and therefore I won't play my part in allowing him to do that.

Some people will think that going to tynie and abusing him for 90 minutes is a better way of doing it, I personally feel an empty away stand at each of there home games would deliver a far more powerful message.

27-06-2011, 09:52 AM
Ah so if he had been going out and ****ging elsewhere as well as grooming 12 year olds that would be ok?

Not what I said.

27-06-2011, 10:42 AM
Not what I said.

well what are you saying because I really can't distinguish any sort of logical point from your comments?

27-06-2011, 10:54 AM

Its not a fair point.

Kids don't look up at people behind tills as their role models.

One part of being a footballer is to set an example to the youth. That's the major difference here.

27-06-2011, 12:46 PM
Its not a fair point.

One part of being a footballer is to set an example to the youth. That's the major difference here.

100% correct.

If we do go though we can give him abuse from start to finish.

27-06-2011, 12:53 PM
Its not a fair point.

Not sure I agree that footballers are or should be role models any more than anyone else in the sporting or entertainment industry. If I thought my kids were going to take their behavioural and moral code from a footballer, pop star, actor or reality tv star then I'd never let them out the house and consign the telly to the tip.

27-06-2011, 02:27 PM
Its not a fair point.

The point was about paying the salaries of people that you disapprove of, not about role models. I can't offhand think of any fitballer that would be useful as a role model for life, and John Terry, Ashley Cole, Wayne Rooney, Rio Ferdinand and Ryan Giggs would be spectacularly good examples of people on whom children should strive very hard not to model themselves. If children are 'looking up' to those people, they need way better guidance from parents.

27-06-2011, 02:31 PM
I'm not suggesting that footballers make good role models. But they are still icons that children choose to look up to.

27-06-2011, 02:33 PM
The point was about paying the salaries of people that you disapprove of, not about role models. I can't offhand think of any fitballer that would be useful as a role model for life, and John Terry, Ashley Cole, Wayne Rooney, Rio Ferdinand and Ryan Giggs would be spectacularly good examples of people on whom children should strive very hard not to model themselves. If children are 'looking up' to those people, they need way better guidance from parents.

That may be true. But you ask most youngsters these days who they see as their hero and I bet a high number of them would mention a footballer.

27-06-2011, 02:40 PM
I think most kids would like to play like their idols first and foremost and kids from the age 6 up really dont spend alot of time thinking about players sex/private lives, its us the adults that do that, IMO.

27-06-2011, 04:25 PM
A resounding no from me.

Up there with the best i've attended. Under 2000 there but what a night J :agree:

FWIW, I wouldn;t boycott as I go there to support Hibs. A boycott wouldn't make a difference, I think there are always going to be at the very least around 2000 up for the trip to Tynecastle so it would be pretty pointless.

27-06-2011, 04:30 PM
No I wouldn't boycott it. I go to watch Hibs nothing else!
I think it's upto the authorities and Hearts to sort this out anyway

27-06-2011, 05:00 PM
No, I would not boycott the away derby. If every other team in the SPL joined I think it would have more impact as that way financially it would really hurt them, and on that basis I would join in for a season. However, one game with a reduced hibs support is not going to make any difference other than help the home team - if I thought I was doing that in any way I would end myself! And in any event the best case result would be some sort of "apology", the guy getting sacked and that would be it - the biggest issue is that after debate and consideration the people that run that club think the decision they made is okay!

The thought of giving money to them to pay the boys wages is however minging, so I can understand the dilemma for many.

The reality is guys like Vlad are never going to come out and issue a statement/apology, they may under extreme pressure try and say it was misinterpreted or the club spokes person may issue an apology on behalf of the club, but lets be honest, what weight does that really carry - none with me that is for sure.

I do not believe that this decision was made overnight so it was on that basis well considered and reflective of how they feel the club should respond and conduct themselves. It says miles more about them then it ever could about an away fan turning up, or not, at a game.

Whilst some fans may chose to vote with there feet, and I would hope that is more home fans than away, I am surprised the football gods that are the SFA appear not to have done anything yet other than say they will look into the statement that was issued - note to the high heid yins - the statement is more comedy than anything else, what about the important facts?!

I will leave it to the hertz and their own fans to sort out the mess which is there club - after the past few months and Friday they can be as "big" as they want, I would be happy for Hibs to be playing on a tattie field if it meant not being involved in any of this carry on. More so it has made me realise that whilst we give our board a hard time we at least support a club that runs itself with integrity, pride and thought for its own players and more importantly fans.

27-06-2011, 06:19 PM

It's nothing like that. Tescos "may"\"might have" a convicted sex pest working for them? Well I'd better avoid Tescos then, eh? Either that or Tescos don't have any convicted sex pests working for them at present.

I don't recall any situation where a Tescos employee was convicted of harassing 12 year old girls then kept their job. I suspect very much Tescos would have let that particular staff member go.

A more spurious comparison I'll never likely read.

wazoo1875
27-06-2011, 06:23 PM
No way , what the fudleys do is nowt to do with me, no matter how debauched it is. I go to the PBS to watch Hibs and will continue to do so.

davym7062
27-06-2011, 06:32 PM
hibs should ban him from easter road as should evry other club in the country

27-06-2011, 06:53 PM
I'll be at the first derby of the season at Tiny. I doubt Thomson will be there though.

27-06-2011, 06:56 PM

Correct.

27-06-2011, 07:09 PM
No way , what the fudleys do is nowt to do with me, no matter how debauched it is. I go to the PBS to watch Hibs and will continue to do so.

Devils advocate here: You pay Hearts £27 to watch the Edinburgh Derby at the PBS, ergo you are a customer of Hearts who employ said deviant. Now it is something to do with you.

27-06-2011, 07:43 PM
It's nothing like that. Tescos "may"\"might have" a convicted sex pest working for them? Well I'd better avoid Tescos then, eh? Either that or Tescos don't have any convicted sex pests working for them at present.

I don't recall any situation where a Tescos employee was convicted of harassing 12 year old girls then kept their job. I suspect very much Tescos would have let that particular staff member go.

A more spurious comparison I'll never likely read.

Who said it was anything like that? :confused: The yams' point was about paying over money which would end up in the hands of bad people. Tesco is a very big employer and there are about 30,000 people currently on the SOR. I don't know how many are paedos and I don't know how many paedos have been on the SOR and are now no longer. But if you suspect none of them work for Tesco, that's certainly good enough for me. :agree:

27-06-2011, 07:46 PM
Who said it was anything like that? :confused: The yams' point was about paying over money which would end up in the hands of bad people. Tesco is a very big employer and there are about 30,000 people currently on the SOR. I don't know how many are paedos and I don't know how many paedos have been on the SOR and are now no longer. But if you suspect none of them work for Tesco, that's certainly good enough for me. :agree:

I suspect Tesco would empty an employee in the same circumstance Hearts have shown they wouldn't, that's all.

27-06-2011, 08:07 PM
I suspect Tesco would empty an employee in the same circumstance Hearts have shown they wouldn't, that's all.

Pretty much everyone, not just Tesco, would. The yams are further down the road in thinking about this than we are, however, imo. They nearly all want Thomson emptied, but they don't all agree with wrecking the club, though it's acted wrongly. That nice refugee that plays for them, for example, is not guilty of any crime. There's a few .netters who post as if they won't be happy until Thomson's dangly bits are put on show in a jar in the memorial room at Hearts' new stadium. Even faxing him to Kaunas isn't that well thought through, as there are almost certainly underage teenage girls in Lithuania. Would suggest that not paying £27 or whatever to Mr Vlad doesn't really solve very much.

Unless of course keeping Thomson on is part of Mr Vlad's exit strategy, and mass boycotts will hasten the demise of HOMFC. In that case, withholding the £27 or whatever is completely the right thing to do. :lurksub:

27-06-2011, 08:10 PM

I can't think of any reputable employer who wouldn't dismiss a member of staff who they knew had been prosecuted for child sex offences.

28-06-2011, 09:27 AM
It's possible the Hibs end could be the only populated part of Tynecastle come derby day!

SmokieJoe
28-06-2011, 09:47 PM
Yes in a word, the last time i went, i got tickets mailed to me, cost me £100 or so and they were duplicates, me, my Mrs and 2 friends travelled, needless to say, didn't get a seat (which has its advantages at a game) but to be asked by every ***kin stewered and plod, in the stadium (every 2 mins explaining duplicate schnidie yam ****s) i vowed never again.

Fantic
28-06-2011, 10:16 PM
You got to go down there and tell them how it is.

14,000 boring *******s

29-06-2011, 11:19 PM
I wouldn't be part of any boycott. Our performances at Tynecastle are typically bad enough without our players coming out to only a few hundred fans in the Roseburn.

Hearts need to take a long, hard look at themselves over the way they have dealt with the Craig Thomson situation but that is for them to deal with and for the people who are connected with the club both in a professional and a supporting capacity to decide how they are going to cope with it.

I go to Tynecastle to support Hibs and internal matters within Hearts won't affect that at all.