View Full Version : Greggs Hibs Offered Deek £1,600 per week

Ken
23-06-2011, 08:13 PM
Heard 3rd hand, but originally from Deek himself (unless it's a wind up), that this was Hibs' offer to Deek.

Seems pretty pathetic if true! Surely he's worth £3k+ considering his contribution to the club.

23-06-2011, 08:15 PM
My understanding is that.....

........ Derek never talks about his offers or contracts

........ Hibs never made him an offer at all

Sounds like a load of nonsense then eh.

23-06-2011, 08:16 PM
But having said that, you'd better make sure there's plenty room on your bandwagon. There'll be a few jumping on.

23-06-2011, 08:20 PM
Heard 3rd hand, but originally from Deek himself (unless it's a wind up), that this was Hibs' offer to Deek.

Seems pretty pathetic if true! Surely he's worth £3k+ considering his contribution to the club.

Nothing against you but I think what you have heard is nonsense.

But no, at Hibs, Riordan isn't worth £3k+ a week, considering he's only performed anywhere near ability in one season of the last three. I'm sure he'll get £3k+ elsewhere though.

23-06-2011, 08:20 PM

His current contribution? Seems fair enough to me.

Ken
23-06-2011, 08:21 PM
Mikey, your info is probably far more reliable than mine but just thought I'd share what I've heard...

23-06-2011, 08:21 PM
Nothing against you but I think what you have heard is nonsense.

But no, at Hibs, Riordan isn't worth £3k+ a week, considering he's only performed anywhere near ability in one season of the last three. I'm sure he'll get £3k+ elsewhere though.

:agree::agree:

23-06-2011, 08:22 PM
£1600 PW eh ? thats £83200 a year, not bad for someone that just had one of his worst seasons in a Hibs jersey ever. I would love to earn that as a basic wage. Anyway I will believe Mikey that we didnt make an offer. He didn't deserve a new contract and I am one of his biggest fans.

23-06-2011, 08:24 PM
I could probably believe that would be about the level he was offered based on other things I have heard, however, I think it is probably fair. Where is the bench mark 3k per week coming from anyway?

Even if it was the figure what about the add ons?

But having said that, you'd better make sure there's plenty room on your bandwagon. There'll be a few jumping on.

10 Pages in 24 hours.....and it's all a tarradiddle.

23-06-2011, 08:25 PM
I don't think he was made an offer at all.
Kind of funny though that a basic wage of £83 000 a year can be called pathetic in one thread whilst another thread will have people moaning about the cost of watching SPL football.

Ken
23-06-2011, 08:25 PM
His current contribution? Seems fair enough to me.

Well I'd rather spend a few grand a week on Deek rather than 2 or 3 average players.

I take it you have forgotten the partnership Deek and GOC used to have?

23-06-2011, 08:26 PM
£83k a year sounds like rather a lot for a player who contributed very little since his return to the club. But I do hope he gets a lot more somehwere else

23-06-2011, 08:30 PM

The bandwagon should be the ridiculous situation that NO offer was made.

23-06-2011, 08:33 PM
Well I'd rather spend a few grand a week on Deek rather than 2 or 3 average players.

"Used to have" Fair point.

Ken
23-06-2011, 08:35 PM
:agree::agree:

Well from someone who wants the club to show ambitions, you think paying our top scorer in all but 1 of his seasons with Hibs less than £3k, I'd like to hear who you think we could get for that money!!

23-06-2011, 08:38 PM

Used to, aye.

I think we may have been over this ground before. I could be wrong. :greengrin

Ken
"Used to have" Fair point.

A goal in every 3 games since his return isn't too shabby and his best season was when he had a decent strike partner in Stokes.

GOC worked well before and would again.

23-06-2011, 08:39 PM
Well from someone who wants the club to show ambitions, you think paying our top scorer in all but 1 of his seasons with Hibs less than £3k, I'd like to hear who you think we could get for that money!!

O'Connor has just signed a contract.

moredun
23-06-2011, 08:42 PM
I can't believe some of the utter garbage rumours that get put up on here.

****s at the wind up and people run here and post it up.
Some, sorry 95% of them all are just laughable, even sometimes the OP says it is garbage, but still post it up.
Are Hibs fans that naive?
Certainly not deluded like the Paedophile bus shelter brigade, but deary me, there are a lot of beauties on the site just now.
So easy to get a lot of Hibs Fans biting and getting their pants all wet.

moredun
23-06-2011, 08:43 PM
Used to, aye.

Thought that was obvious:greengrin

23-06-2011, 08:48 PM
£1600 PW eh ? thats £83200 a year, not bad for someone that just had one of his worst seasons in a Hibs jersey ever. I would love to earn that as a basic wage. Anyway I will believe Mikey that we didnt make an offer. He didn't deserve a new contract and I am one of his biggest fans.

Garry Oconnor has just ended one of his worst seasons ever although not for Hibs so he was offered a contract on him turning that around I presume. I belive DR was/is capable of doing that also.

moredun
23-06-2011, 08:53 PM

I agree Smurf, but if you listen to most on here, Deeks was on a par with De Graaf last season:rolleyes:.

As a Hibby i wouldn't want to be near this club if i was a pro player.
Without a shadow we must be the most critical and abusive towards our players on the sites AND at the game.
Where and what has happened to Hibs??
I know we were garbage last season and a half, but since when was it ok to turn on a player who has scored over 100 ####### goals for us??
I despair i really do
And i aint interested in "aye but that was in the past, he is past it now brigade"

We will never ever buy a player that will score 100 goals for us, our loss imo.

£1600 per week:faf::faf:

Do people not have a think, or do they just post any old gash that they hear, from which is likely to have come from a ****.

Christ Booth is probably getting at least that

moredun
23-06-2011, 08:54 PM
Garry Oconnor has just ended one of his worst seasons ever although not for Hibs so he was offered a contract on him turning that around I presume. I belive DR was/is capable of doing that also.

So do i mate.

Pity our manager doesn't think so, our loss

23-06-2011, 08:58 PM

didn't it turn out to be the case that he didn't want to stay rather than we just didn't offer him a deal cause petrie was too tight or we didn't have another car park to sell or some other *****e that someone will post and you'll twist it around to try and suck what little morale is left out of the support :aok:

23-06-2011, 08:58 PM
I agree Smurf, but if you listen to most on here, Deeks was on a par with De Graaf last season:rolleyes:.

Without a shadow we must be the most critical and abusive towards our players on the sites AND at the game.
I know we were garbage last season and a half, but since when was it ok to turn on a player who has scored over 100 ####### goals for us??
I despair i really do
And i aint interested in "aye but that was in the past, he is past it now brigade"

Do people not have a think, or do they just post any old gash that they hear, from which is likely to have come from a ****.

How is thinking that the wage that Riordan would demand could be better spent on improving the team 'turning on' Riordan?

Has anyone dismissed or even questioned his contribution to Hibs, especially the spell before he left for Celtic?

23-06-2011, 09:09 PM
If Hibs pay so poorly why is it we have the 4th biggest wage bill in the SPL? Hibs fans love to rip into the club. What a bunch of moaning face gits. Deeks was a hero to most for most of his Hibs career. He finished top scorer in the worst Hibs team in a decade yet he is crap. Gies peace you bunch of tits!!!:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

Ken
23-06-2011, 09:13 PM
O'Connor has just signed a contract.

...and what wage do you think he's getting? Probably a few grand a week and deservedly so...

...although a total of 20 goals in the past 5 seasons since he left, so how is he good enough and Deek isn't.

23-06-2011, 09:18 PM
I heard it was £16k a calendar month. :agree:

HibsMax
23-06-2011, 09:18 PM
More speculation and more bickering. I think I'll just sit back and watch this one play out.

23-06-2011, 09:23 PM
...and what wage do you think he's getting? Probably a few grand a week and deservedly so...

...although a total of 20 goals in the past 5 seasons since he left, so how is he good enough and Deek isn't.

Is that question really relevant? Has anybody on here suggested that either of them is more deserving? Maybe O'Connor needs to be at Hibs at this stage of his career more than Deeks does. :dunno:

23-06-2011, 10:02 PM

I despair i really do

Booth is on nothing like £1,600 p/w

HibsMax
23-06-2011, 10:03 PM

Hey, you! Don't let facts get in the way of a speculative rant!!!!

23-06-2011, 10:04 PM

Agreed, if he is on half of that I would be surprised.

23-06-2011, 10:09 PM
Agreed, if he is on half of that I would be surprised.

I wouldn't.

moggie
23-06-2011, 10:28 PM

im glad you used the word "used"

Hibby 2005
23-06-2011, 11:20 PM
Taking a chance on Garry O'Connor is fine, but Riordan too is just silly money as we all know the real problems lie in defence. Getting that sorted is more important.

Anyway, Sodje was probably more prolific than Riordan last season given the number of games he played.

Barman Stanton
23-06-2011, 11:42 PM

Totally agree. Incredible how much everyone has turned on Riordan aften a bad season (which he was still top scorer). But clearly he is not wanted at the club, our loss Im sure.

24-06-2011, 04:40 AM
Totally agree. Incredible how much everyone has turned on Riordan aften a bad season (which he was still top scorer). But clearly he is not wanted at the club, our loss Im sure.

Riordan was the only constant in attack all season (unless you think that Duffy, Trakys or Nish played enough games to be top scorer). If he wasn't top scorer, there would be something far wrong.

Drama queens keep saying 'everyone has turned on him after just one bad season'. As I said earlier, thinking that Riordan is no longer value for the money he would want, after two poor seasons in the last three (he was unfit and overweight for most of the first season back), isn't the same as 'turning on him'.

24-06-2011, 09:53 AM
If Hibs pay so poorly why is it we have the 4th biggest wage bill in the SPL? Hibs fans love to rip into the club. What a bunch of moaning face gits. Deeks was a hero to most for most of his Hibs career. He finished top scorer in the worst Hibs team in a decade yet he is crap. Gies peace you bunch of tits!!!:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

Thats a strange one, i cant work it out either? Instead of asking for more money to be spent, i'd like to know why we spend what we do have so badly.

24-06-2011, 09:57 AM
My understanding is that.....

........ Derek never talks about his offers or contracts

........ Hibs never made him an offer at all

Sounds like a load of nonsense then eh.

For a change Mikey calls this one correct. :thumbsup:

24-06-2011, 10:16 AM
I'm pretty sure if our football director (Scott/Rod) had wanted to keep Derek they would have made him a better offer than that. I'm pretty sure they will have offered Ivan and Garry more than that

Still not convinced that the team coach gets much say in the big deals. I've lost count over recent seasons of the number of times managers tell us via the press of what they would like to see happening re signings. Unless it's all just a smokescreen of course

hibsquaker
24-06-2011, 10:53 AM
What does "(Greggs)" mean ?

Joy Zipper
24-06-2011, 11:13 AM
What does "(Greggs)" mean ?

Greggs is the largest specialist retail bakery chain in the United Kingdom. When mentioned in this chatroom it is connected with the fact that there is no substancial evidence to the claim being made - call it a rumour.

I'm not too clear of the origins of it though, I think that it may have started when a rumour thread included the words "xxxxx is signing for us - I have just heard it from my friend whom I bumped into whild buying a steak bake in Greggs".

Greggs or Michelin Star - Greggs every time !:wink:

24-06-2011, 11:13 AM

It wasn't as pathetic as his performance last season. It's more than I would have offered him:agree:

Franck is God
24-06-2011, 11:26 AM
In the second half of last season CC gave Riordan every chance to step up and be Hibs main striker and show he was the top man at the club and the player to build a team around.

Quite simply he didn't do that so therefore was offered a contract based on his current worth to the team.

He has been paid very well for his service to Hibs, has scored a reasonable number of goals for the games he has played and a good number of them were pretty special but he has gone now and it is time to move on.

24-06-2011, 11:32 AM

Not everyone.

24-06-2011, 11:50 AM
What I would like to discuss is not wether Hibs offered or didnt offer him a deal what I would like to talk about is the people on here whom agree Hibs shouldnt have kept DR or are not bothered he is going based on his form of last term and are happy about GOC who had arguably worse form.

Why is he more worthy of a contract in your eyes? I am not against GOC at all I hope he plays like he used too and that would have been my thoughts for DR.

So why is GOC form less of a concern than DR? maybe smart money was on letting DR go and not bothering with GOC. I wonder could Garry be bringing a fresh determination after rejoining that DR might not have as only extending contract?

For me GOC is a signing on memory and a hope he can get it back, DR would have been the same. If I had to choose 1 or other I would keep DR and hope he recaptured his form in the manner GOC hopefully will.

aberhibsfc
24-06-2011, 11:55 AM
Riordan was the only constant in attack all season (unless you think that Duffy, Trakys or Nish played enough games to be top scorer). If he wasn't top scorer, there would be something far wrong.

Drama queens keep saying 'everyone has turned on him after just one bad season'. As I said earlier, thinking that Riordan is no longer value for the money he would want, after two poor seasons in the last three (he was unfit and overweight for most of the first season back), isn't the same as 'turning on him'.

Didn't help that the rest of the team was pi$h as well.

24-06-2011, 12:06 PM

I despair i really do

complete p1sh

24-06-2011, 12:09 PM
There's not much to be discussed, or need for contracts to be offered, if the player says ‘TBH I’m not that fussy about playing in the SPL anymore. I want to try my hand elsewhere.’ Which is what its coming over as to me.

I would hope however that if Deeks, for any reason, decides outside Scotland is not an option then he’ll have a chat and give us first refusal.

I’ve heard, although probably among the worst case of Greggs there's been, that since GOC has returned Deeks is a lot more keen to return to Hibs than before.

24-06-2011, 12:47 PM
Didn't help that the rest of the team was pi$h as well.

I'm sorry but I've been hearing this excuse all season. You're right - it didn't help but I'm old fashioned in that, when we're pish, I expect the most talented players, especially when they are taking one of the highest wages out of the club, to drag the team up. Riordan either wasn't capable of that or couldn't be arsed.

I still don't think we should be offering Riordan a big contract, Hibs-relative, just because 'everyone else was ***** too'.

24-06-2011, 12:52 PM
I'm sorry but I've been hearing this excuse all season. You're right - it didn't help but I'm old fashioned in that, when we're pish, I expect the most talented players, especially when they are taking one of the highest wages out of the club, to drag the team up. Riordan either wasn't capable of that or couldn't be arsed.

I still don't think we should be offering Riordan a big contract, Hibs-relative, just because 'everyone else was ***** too'.

Darren Jackson and Jim Leighton single-handedly [edit: double-handedly? :greengrin] saved us from relegation in 1996/97.

They left, we went down a year later.

24-06-2011, 01:43 PM
In the second half of last season CC gave Riordan every chance to step up and be Hibs main striker and show he was the top man at the club and the player to build a team around.

Quite simply he didn't do that so therefore was offered a contract based on his current worth to the team.

He has been paid very well for his service to Hibs, has scored a reasonable number of goals for the games he has played and a good number of them were pretty special but he has gone now and it is time to move on.

No he wasn't.

24-06-2011, 01:43 PM

Darren Jackson and Jim Leighton single-handedly [edit: double-handedly? :greengrin] saved us from relegation in 1996/97.

They left, we went down a year later.

Correct, gentlemen. To be fair I heard the 'crap team' excuse used more in Liam Miller's defence than DR's, but quality players perform well no matter what, and bring out the best in those around them - regardless of the quality of the other players.

24-06-2011, 01:50 PM
There's not much to be discussed, or need for contracts to be offered, if the player says ‘TBH I’m not that fussy about playing in the SPL anymore. I want to try my hand elsewhere.’ Which is what its coming over as to me.

I would hope however that if Deeks, for any reason, decides outside Scotland is not an option then he’ll have a chat and give us first refusal.

I’ve heard, although probably among the worst case of Greggs there's been, that since GOC has returned Deeks is a lot more keen to return to Hibs than before.

If i remember correctly he didn't say that until the season had finished, Hibs should have offered him a contract by then, but i dont think it matters anymore, i dont see Riordan being at Hibs next season.

24-06-2011, 02:13 PM
My approach to Hibs.net is that unless I have personal knowledge of something I assume that all the rest are fairy tales-in particular those that involve "a mate who works at ER","a mate sent me a text" and "a player told a mate".:greengrin

24-06-2011, 02:21 PM

So what was Deek to do Beefster, he cant do it all on his own, he needed other players to help out as well, he cant cross the ball in to the box and then magically appear in the box to put it in the net, he wasn't the only highest paid player at the club, DeGraff Hart Miller Nish, did they step up and show there talent and dig deep, top goal scorer and most assists as well for Deek, our next top goal scorer was Miller i think and a few of them were penalties, i will keep saying it but our midfield were rank rotten and were to slow in moving the ball forward if they ever tried to do it, no service at all for the guys that played upfront, as i have said only Booth could get pass marks for his half a season in the team.

The bit in bold, i am sure he is capable but he cant do it on his own so it is a bit unfair to shoulder most of the blame on him when there was other players making more than him last season who didnt do to good, DeGraff, loaned out, Hart, what can i say, and Miller who should have been our top player last season rather than being one of the worst, call me old fashioned but i prefer 11vs11 than 11vs1. :greengrin
He picked up more yellow and red cards last season than any other season in the SPL, commited more fouls, but from January onwards something went wrong his mind was not on the game and i dont think it had anything to do with not being arsed, football players are not robots, they have problems just like everyone else.

24-06-2011, 03:08 PM
So what was Deek to do Beefster, he cant do it all on his own, he needed other players to help out as well, he cant cross the ball in to the box and then magically appear in the box to put it in the net, he wasn't the only highest paid player at the club, DeGraff Hart Miller Nish, did they step up and show there talent and dig deep, top goal scorer and most assists as well for Deek, our next top goal scorer was Miller i think and a few of them were penalties, i will keep saying it but our midfield were rank rotten and were to slow in moving the ball forward if they ever tried to do it, no service at all for the guys that played upfront, as i have said only Booth could get pass marks for his half a season in the team.

The bit in bold, i am sure he is capable but he cant do it on his own so it is a bit unfair to shoulder most of the blame on him when there was other players making more than him last season who didnt do to good, DeGraff, loaned out, Hart, what can i say, and Miller who should have been our top player last season rather than being one of the worst, call me old fashioned but i prefer 11vs11 than 11vs1. :greengrin
He picked up more yellow and red cards last season than any other season in the SPL, commited more fouls, but from January onwards something went wrong his mind was not on the game and i dont think it had anything to do with not being arsed, football players are not robots, they have problems just like everyone else.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not pinning everything on Riordan. He's only one of a cast that was responsible for last season.

As for the players you mention, I'm gutted Hart is still here, am quite happy to see Nish and Miller away and if de Graaf's contract had been up then I'd have wanted him moved on. The renewal of Stevenson and Galbraith was a mistake too. Tbh, I was quite happy for the vast majority of the out-of-contract players to move on.

Riordan, I would have been happy for him to stay - just not on the contract he would undoubtedly demand.

24-06-2011, 03:14 PM
A goal in every 3 games since his return isn't too shabby and his best season was when he had a decent strike partner in Stokes.

GOC worked well before and would again.

It worked well when Riordan had a bit of pace about him, changed days unfortunately :boo hoo:

24-06-2011, 03:33 PM
For a change Mikey calls this one correct. :thumbsup:

If Hibs never made him an offer then that in itself is rather worrying.

On the other hand perhaps DR made it clear to the board at an early stage that he had no intention of signing a new deal therefore no need for an offer to be made?

Ach who knows I guess...

seven nowt
24-06-2011, 04:04 PM
Not finding it fair some of the bitter comments i'm seeing here. How's Riordan not worth 3k + a week, especially when comparing him to any Kaka's, Messi's or Ronaldo's.

Just cause he's left, doesn't make him less valuable. He's been brilliant for Hibs and he surely would be a bit frustrated with the service he got, but it is evident, he's not had an amazing season but he'll bang in about 15 or so goals for whatever team he goes to.

Bitter.

Hibiza
24-06-2011, 04:07 PM
£1600 . baws

24-06-2011, 04:45 PM
Heard 3rd hand, but originally from Deek himself

Bit of a contradiction?

24-06-2011, 05:12 PM
I'd imagine the club asked Derek what he wanted, and never made an offer as it was way above what we can afford?

24-06-2011, 05:39 PM
Gary MacKay must be involved.