View Full Version : Scott v Welsh???

kj79
22-06-2011, 09:43 PM
liammcleod79 (http://twitter.com/#%21/liammcleod79) Liam McLeod

#Hibs (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23Hibs) midfielder Martin Scott clashed with youngster Shaun Welsh and the latter has ended up in hospital with a facial injury

2 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#%21/liammcleod79/status/83650589405356032) [/URL] (http://twitter.com/#)

http://a2.twimg.com/profile_images/1408289590/image_normal.jpg
[URL="http://twitter.com/#%21/liammcleod79"]liammcleod79 (http://twitter.com/#) Liam McLeod

BBC Scotland has learned that there was an angry clash between two #Hibernian (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23Hibernian) players whilst at a club training camp in the Borders

2 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#%21/liammcleod79/status/83650394391191552) Favorite (http://twitter.com/#) Retweet (http://twitter.com/#) Reply (http://twitter.com/#):confused::confused::confused:

Simpson
22-06-2011, 09:48 PM
Just read that anaw. :rolleyes:

HibeeMcGinn1
22-06-2011, 09:50 PM
Broken jaw I'm hearing.

22-06-2011, 09:51 PM
Just what we need.

Rolls eyes- Bitchy smilie I can't post because I'm on my phone.

22-06-2011, 09:52 PM
Oh for ****'s sake.

NthCarolinaHibs
22-06-2011, 09:52 PM
Shame if the boy is hurt, but good to see they are taking the pre season training seriously :agree:

22-06-2011, 09:53 PM
Broken jaw I'm hearing.

Thats ridiculous if true. If it was a stupid training ground bust up then Scott should know better than doing something like that to a young guy!

Hibby D
22-06-2011, 09:55 PM
Shame if the boy is hurt, but good to see they are taking the pre season training seriously :agree:

How do you come to that conclusion? :confused:

22-06-2011, 09:55 PM

#Hibs (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23Hibs) midfielder Martin Scott clashed with youngster Shaun Welsh and the latter has ended up in hospital with a facial injury

2 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#%21/liammcleod79/status/83650589405356032) [/URL] (http://twitter.com/#)

[URL="http://twitter.com/#%21/liammcleod79"]liammcleod79 (http://twitter.com/#) Liam McLeod

BBC Scotland has learned that there was an angry clash between two #Hibernian (http://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23Hibernian) players whilst at a club training camp in the Borders

2 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#%21/liammcleod79/status/83650394391191552) Favorite (http://twitter.com/#) Retweet (http://twitter.com/#) Reply (http://twitter.com/#):confused::confused::confused:

Oh dear :rolleyes:

22-06-2011, 09:56 PM
Unluckiest footballer ever the boys injury's have been horrific if true about the broken jaw

22-06-2011, 09:57 PM
Martin Scott will be gutted he is the guilty party, he could have done with some face surgery.

22-06-2011, 09:58 PM
apparently colin calderwood is in deep trouble with scott lindsay over this and has been ordered to an emergency board meeting in the morning

Is this FACT?

Apparently Colin Calderwood is in deep trouble with Scott Lindsay over this and has been ordered to an emergency board meeting in the morning

What has he done wrong though?

Broken jaw I'm hearing.

If so that is shocking, as the experienced player Scott should know better than to put a young player in hospital. After all of the injuries Welsh has had this is the last thing we need, just when you though he would get a chance in the team as well. :bitchy:

NthCarolinaHibs
How do you come to that conclusion? :confused:Has there never been a serious injury while on the training field before like?

22-06-2011, 09:59 PM
Broken jaw I'm hearing.

Beginning to think young Mr Welsh is a tad unlucky with injuries. :rolleyes:

Training camps are meant to build up team spirit? If Scott is showing that he has a temper problem, then stand by for him being the target for wind-ups this season.

Welsh hasn't been very lucky with injuries right enough. Great start to the season, if true :rolleyes: Two weeks wages fine for Scott at least.

I heard that Welsh had basically been told he was being freed fairly early on last season after a training ground fight. I can't remember the other player involved for sure, but for some reason I want to say McCormack.

Anyway, the relevant paperwork was on the Chief Exec's desk, but a last minute intervention by Hughes saved his Hibs career.

Would be a shame for Welsh if true as he'll miss a very important pre-season.

22-06-2011, 10:00 PM
Is this FACT?

Hope not. Just when you thought things were getting better and starring to get a bit more positive this happens.

The joys of being a Hibs fan.

22-06-2011, 10:00 PM
Apparently Colin Calderwood is in deep trouble with Scott Lindsay over this and has been ordered to an emergency board meeting in the morning

How do you know that?

22-06-2011, 10:01 PM
Welsh hasn't been very lucky with injuries right enough. Great start to the season, if true :rolleyes: Two weeks wages fine for Scott at least.

I think the most you can fine a player is two weeks wages:agree:

I heard that Welsh had basically been told he was being freed fairly early on last season after a training ground fight. I can't remember the other player involved for sure, but for some reason I want to say McCormack.

Anyway, the relevant paperwork was on the Chief Exec's desk, but a last minute intervention by Hughes saved his Hibs career.

Doesn't take much though does it?

22-06-2011, 10:01 PM

McCormack was released before the start of last season.

22-06-2011, 10:02 PM

I was told that it was the player who was to be up in front of Calderwood.

Might actually be Martin Scott then who has been ordered to a meeting in the morning with Scott Lindsay?

Why wait till tomorrow? Sure this could have been sorted out in the hours following the incident, but if they are waiting till tomorrow, it sounds like it might have been quite a serious incident that merits a disciplinary.

22-06-2011, 10:04 PM
Martin Scott will be gutted he is the guilty party, he could have done with some face surgery.

Horrible news. Whenever there is a piece of good news with Hibs, it has to be followed with a month of bad.

hibeeleicester
22-06-2011, 10:05 PM
Perfect excuse for us to let CC go to Forest.

Petrie paid hitman (Scott) to stick the heid into welsh. FACT

I was told that it was the player who was to be up in front of Calderwood.

Might actually be Martin Scott then who has been ordered to a meeting in the morning with Scott Lindsay?

Why wait till tomorrow? Sure this could have been sorted out in the hours following the incident, but if they are waiting till tomorrow, it sounds like it might have been quite a serious incident that merits a disciplinary.

Or a cancelled contract, I'm sure we could find better without the thuggish behaviour.

Doesn't take much though does it?

Was thinking that but couldn't remember for sure. Too easy to link DMc with a scrap.

It definitely happened but can't recall the other player involved. Apparently Welsh was totally out of line in the incident and it wasn't the first time having been warned previously.

Scott and Welsh trading blows though...just goes to show that this GB Olmpic football team is a bad idea! :greengrin

22-06-2011, 10:08 PM
Scott and Welsh trading blows though...just goes to show that this GB Olmpic football team is a bad idea! :greengrin

22-06-2011, 10:10 PM
Bad luck for Welsh, but there is a bit of me that is a little bit happier that we have that sort of aggression in the team again. It needs to be channeled better and it's clearly not appropriate to be fighting your team mates, that goes without saying.

However, if the players can get themselves passionate enough to go to that extreme in training, it may well manifest itself into an altogether more spirited and tougher team on the pitch, one with the character that has been sorely lacking for some time now, and one that doesn't just meekly accept defeat.

Probably not going to be a popular point of view, and I'll stress again that it's not appropriate to be lamping anyone, never mind a team mate, but sometimes an incident like this can be the making of a team.

22-06-2011, 10:11 PM

Class. :greengrin

22-06-2011, 10:16 PM
Bad luck for Welsh, but there is a bit of me that is a little bit happier that we have that sort of aggression in the team again. It needs to be channeled better and it's clearly not appropriate to be fighting your team mates, that goes without saying.

However, if the players can get themselves passionate enough to go to that extreme in training, it may well manifest itself into an altogether more spirited and tougher team on the pitch, one with the character that has been sorely lacking for some time now, and one that doesn't just meekly accept defeat.

Probably not going to be a popular point of view, and I'll stress again that it's not appropriate to be lamping anyone, never mind a team mate, but sometimes an incident like this can be the making of a team.

It'd be better if it was 2 folk who'll be in the first XI...

NthCarolinaHibs
22-06-2011, 10:16 PM

Probably not going to be a popular point of view, and I'll stress again that it's not appropriate to be lamping anyone, never mind a team mate, but sometimes an incident like this can be the making of a team.:top marksA wee scuffle and all of a sudden it's a bad thing :rolleyes:

22-06-2011, 10:20 PM

:agree: plus does anyone actually know what Scott has done?

22-06-2011, 10:22 PM
:top marksA wee scuffle and all of a sudden it's a bad thing :rolleyes:

Can you actually get a broken jaw from a 'wee scuffle' :dunno:

22-06-2011, 10:38 PM
How long for a broken jaw to heal?

NthCarolinaHibs
22-06-2011, 10:39 PM
Can you actually get a broken jaw from a 'wee scuffle' :dunno:Sounds like it to me, if all this actually was an accident and no an assault. More rumors floating about the now than a Fleetwood Mac album :wink:

22-06-2011, 10:46 PM
I doubt if this past incident occurred that it was anything too serious, Welsh and McCormack are good mates as far as I know.

22-06-2011, 10:55 PM
Yes lads - sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

I've been reliably informed that Calderwood specified to the board to go get players who would play for the jersey and show real fighting spirit. In his pre-training talk he pointed to Garry and Ivan and said he wanted 9 more like them. He then showed the squad videos of the Young Turks scoring for fun against Hearts and the Ugly Sisters and focused on their displays to the crowd, pumped up, veins bulging in the neck.

All this brainwashing got to the players and poor Sean and Jimmy just took this new aggressive player mentality a wee bit too far. You can hardly blame them - they wis only following orders after all

Don't shoot the messenger please!!

Should be getting a pay rise if he can instil that level of passion.

22-06-2011, 11:01 PM
Sounds like it to me, if all this actually was an accident and no an assault. More rumors floating about the now than a Fleetwood Mac album :wink:

:agree: I'd be seriously worried if players were thumping each other. If someone at my work broke my jaw for whatever reason I'd want them charged.

22-06-2011, 11:05 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/3653802/Mart-breaks-Hibs-team-mates-jaw.html

If accurate it doesn't reflect well on Scott.

NthCarolinaHibs
22-06-2011, 11:10 PM
:agree: I'd be seriously worried if players were thumping each other. If someone at my work broke my jaw for whatever reason I'd want them charged.No doubt...but no 'black and white' ..oops sorry, bad pun there...about a thumping. About time there was some news about Hibs players getting out of the 'mamby pamby' image that has got them no where.. GGTTH:flag:

22-06-2011, 11:13 PM

I've been reliably informed that Calderwood specified to the board to go get players who would play for the jersey and show real fighting spirit. In his pre-training talk he pointed to Garry and Ivan and said he wanted 9 more like them. He then showed the squad videos of the Young Turks scoring for fun against Hearts and the Ugly Sisters and focused on their displays to the crowd, pumped up, veins bulging in the neck.

All this brainwashing got to the players and poor Sean and Jimmy just took this new aggressive player mentality a wee bit too far. You can hardly blame them - they wis only following orders after all

Whilst I don't doubt your info, that is absolutely ridiculous.

Calderwood cannot be held responsible for two young men having a go at each other. It's one thing telling your squad to show more fighting spirit, it's another to advocate them twatting each other during a bounce game.

As per Matty's post, once again I agree entirely with you re: this matter. I find myself agreeing with almost every post you make, Matty, and I'm starting to worry that I'm gonna get all Craig Thomson on you........what you wearing, hotlips? :embarrass

22-06-2011, 11:18 PM
Whilst I don't doubt your info, that is absolutely ridiculous.

Calderwood cannot be held responsible for two young men having a go at each other. It's one thing telling your squad to show more fighting spirit, it's another to advocate them twatting each other during a bounce game.

As per Matty's post, once again I agree entirely with you re: this matter. I find myself agreeing with almost every post you make, Matty, and I'm starting to worry that I'm gonna get all Craig Thomson on you........what you wearing, hotlips? :embarrass

Naked apart from the shorts from season 09/10 :greengrin

Too much info?:dunno:

22-06-2011, 11:22 PM
:agree: I'd be seriously worried if players were thumping each other. If someone at my work broke my jaw for whatever reason I'd want them charged.

To be fair though Billy, football isn't the same as office work. It's a sport and it's emotive, competitive and physical. Sometimes it spills over when it shouldn't but I think most people can understand that there is an element of 'heat of the moment' in these incidents, which is why players aren't charged left, right and center for assault.

22-06-2011, 11:22 PM
Naked apart from the shorts from season 09/10 :greengrin

Too much info?:dunno:

..........................................I'm spent :greengrin

22-06-2011, 11:29 PM
To be fair though Billy, football isn't the same as office work. It's a sport and it's emotive, competitive and physical. Sometimes it spills over when it shouldn't but I think most people can understand that there is an element of 'heat of the moment' in these incidents, which is why players aren't charged left, right and center for assault.

You want to come and work at my place. I'll show you plenty heat of the moment. We have to control our emotions though.

I have had a manager who hit me, not in the face but the body as he was a short arse - it was quite a few years ago and was witnessed by quite a few people. I'm sure I would treat the situation differently if it happened now.

Where do you draw the line though. Factories, building sites, professional sportsmen? Just because you wear training gear and run about instead of a suit, shirt & tie is no excuse. Assault is assault and 'heat of the moment' is a cop out in my book.

22-06-2011, 11:29 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/3653802/Mart-breaks-Hibs-team-mates-jaw.html

If accurate it doesn't reflect well on Scott.

Trading blows is fairly common in pro football training, but it sound like Scott has landed a right dull yin.

22-06-2011, 11:38 PM
Trading blows is fairly common in pro football training, but it sound like Scott has landed a right dull yin.

It may be but for me it's unprofessional and shows a total lack of discipline, self control and maturity.

Surely you can have 'fight' without resorting to fighting your own teammates :crazy:

22-06-2011, 11:47 PM
It may be but for me it's unprofessional and shows a total lack of discipline, self control and maturity.

Surely you can have 'fight' without resorting to fighting your own teammates :crazy:

As its a common event with pro teams training I'd say it is entirely professional.

22-06-2011, 11:49 PM
As its a common event with pro teams training I'd say it is entirely professional.

So is ****ging your team mate's missus. How would you class that?

HibsMax
22-06-2011, 11:49 PM
Great News!!! :thumbsup:

Seems like it might take about 6 weeks to heal. FACT! (http://www.ehow.com/how-does_5285721_long-broken-jaw-heal.html) :wink:

I agree with Matty as well. Maybe. It really all depends on how / why the incident happened. If the guys are all fired up and raring to go, emotions running high, getting lost in the moment.....that might be OK. But that is the best case scenario (for me).

Let's hope this gets sorted ASAP.

Perhaps it's a stunt to distract the fans from all the other BS that's going on? No, I'm not serious.

22-06-2011, 11:51 PM
You want to come and work at my place. I'll show you plenty heat of the moment. We have to control our emotions though.

I have had a manager who hit me, not in the face but the body as he was a short arse - it was quite a few years ago and was witnessed by quite a few people. I'm sure I would treat the situation differently if it happened now.

Where do you draw the line though. Factories, building sites, professional sportsmen? Just because you wear training gear and run about instead of a suit, shirt & tie is no excuse. Assault is assault and 'heat of the moment' is a cop out in my book.

I'm sorry but it's totally different in an office environment to a contact sport. I agree with you about people having to show restraint, and that aggression should be channeled better, but you'll see it in five a side games, schoolboy games, amateurs, kick abouts in the street... whilst not quite something that happens regularly enough to be considered part and parcel of the game, it's still very, very common for incidents to flair up like this.

22-06-2011, 11:52 PM

How common is that, like?:confused:

22-06-2011, 11:55 PM

On the training pitch I would class it as a live porn show. :wink:

hibeeleicester
22-06-2011, 11:55 PM
Hopefully sean can still keep fit as possible with a broken jaw!

22-06-2011, 11:56 PM
I'm sorry but it's totally different in an office environment to a contact sport. I agree with you about people having to show restraint, and that aggression should be channeled better, but you'll see it in five a side games, schoolboy games, amateurs, kick abouts in the street... whilst not quite something that happens regularly enough to be considered part and parcel of the game, it's still very, very common for incidents to flair up like this.

Just because it's common doesn't make it right. I can't believe that folk on here, including yourself, think that there are any positives to be had from one of our players breaking another players jaw in training which resulted in an overnight stay in hospital. Where would you draw the line?

22-06-2011, 11:59 PM
How common is that, like?:confused:

More common than seeing headlines in the papers like we have about Scott & Welsh imo

On the training pitch I would class it as a live porn show. :wink:

:greengrin I did think I'd used a bad analogy after I'd posted

23-06-2011, 12:02 AM
Just because it's common doesn't make it right. I can't believe that folk on here, including yourself, think that there are any positives to be had from one of our players breaking another players jaw in training which resulted in an overnight stay in hospital. Where would you draw the line?

If this bust-up had happened without anyone's jaw being broken we would never have heard about it as it is just a fact of professional football life.

Surely that is where the line should be drawn?

HibsMax
23-06-2011, 12:05 AM

I think it's like, when life gives you lemons make lemonade. People trying to find a silver lining to a very big and ugly cloud.

23-06-2011, 12:15 AM

I don't know how to make it any clearer that I have already posted a few times that it wasn't acceptable and it's not appropriate to be hitting anyone, let alone a team mate.

The positive, if there can be one taken from it, is that on the face of it we might actually have a bit of fight about the team now, something that has been sorely (no pun intended) lacking in the squad for at least 2 years.

I'm not saying that we should be looking for the players to be banjoing opponents and getting red cards every week, but I certainly don't want to be sitting watching another season where Hibs are out-fought because we're too soft.

More common than seeing headlines in the papers like we have about Scott & Welsh imo

:greengrin I did think I'd used a bad analogy after I'd posted

It's only in the papers more because the incident between Scott and Welsh is so common. The thing that stands out about this one is the extent of Welsh's injury.

23-06-2011, 12:19 AM

23-06-2011, 12:32 AM
:bye:

23-06-2011, 12:36 AM

23-06-2011, 12:37 AM

Are you at the windup?

1950's hibbie
23-06-2011, 12:46 AM
I've seen a couple of people with broken jaws. It depends on how serious the break is, if bad it requires pretty heavy wiring, the mouth is locked shut and the patient lives on fluids. Training may be a possibility but the diet does not produce the best energy fuel.

You have to wonder why the emotions got this high, this early in pre season training. Surely any games they were playing would have been light contact, and therefore unlikely to cause this level of anger. I am not sure it is as good a sign as some think, but you really don't know until it all is revealed. This does not usually happen in sports, so we will all keep busy with our opinions and praise or criticism.

23-06-2011, 04:17 AM

Have to disagree Matty.

I had to perform a tombstone pile driver off the photocopier on some cocky bass from admin last week just because opinions regarding filing clashed!

Gotta protect yer office rep ken.

:take that

23-06-2011, 05:42 AM
Have to disagree Matty.

I had to perform a tombstone pile driver off the photocopier on some cocky bass from admin last week just because opinions regarding filing clashed!

Gotta protect yer office rep ken.

:take that

23-06-2011, 05:54 AM

Occupational hazard.

23-06-2011, 05:56 AM
That report in the Sun could have been made up from this messageboard and what was on the official website.

Not saying its not true for a minute though.

23-06-2011, 05:58 AM
Disgraceful IF true. I'd sack scott for that as imo its assualt plain and simple. A broken jaw!? Bye bye Martin you won't be missed.

23-06-2011, 06:01 AM

Your point is absolutely right. The unfortunate reality is that discipline and control cant be maintained 100% of the time.

When a group of guys compete against each other spats are always a possibility. Training is no exception.

No blame can be attached to Calderwood who is as professional as they come.

23-06-2011, 06:03 AM
Disgraceful IF true. I'd sack scott for that as imo its assualt plain and simple. A broken jaw!? Bye bye Martin you won't be missed.

Do you know the details? What happened exactly?

23-06-2011, 06:07 AM
I've only read the first page and a half but I see the moral guardians of the club are out again wanting heavy discipline / sackings etc etc for two young laddies having a scrap on the training pitch. Some posters on here must have been absolute angels when they were younger. One/both players will be disciplined but thankfully, Hibs aren't as reactionary as some folk on here.

As for the story about Calderwood being in hot water because of the incident, if there is any truth to that, Lindsay needs to have a serious word with himself. Lindsay shouldn't even have anything to do with player discipline until Calderwood has decided what he wants to do and tells Lindsay to do it.

Edit: Hibs have to stop these leaks from EM/ER too. Whoever is leaking this knows that this sort of **** harms the club - not behaviour that I expect from a Hibs player or employee.

23-06-2011, 06:14 AM
I've only read the first page and a half but I see the moral guardians of the club are out again wanting heavy discipline / sackings etc etc for two young laddies having a scrap on the training pitch. Some posters on here must have been absolute angels when they were younger.

As for the story about Calderwood being in hot water because of the incident, if there is any truth to that, Lindsay needs to have a serious word with himself. Lindsay shouldn't even have anything to do with player discipline until Calderwood has decided what he wants to do and tells Lindsay to do it.

100% on the button.

I would expect there is no truth whatsoever in CC being held responsible and the disciplinary procedure will happen exactly as you describe.

23-06-2011, 06:38 AM

this story needs facts. scott is getting the total blame for this.
we need to know the truth but i doubt we will be told.
ah,pre season
!!

23-06-2011, 06:40 AM
100% on the button.

I would expect there is no truth whatsoever in CC being held responsible and the disciplinary procedure will happen exactly as you describe.

on the button.how can calderwwod be at fault???

23-06-2011, 06:47 AM
[/B]

on the button.how can calderwwod be at fault???

He never said Calderwood was at fault.

Neither did I.

Read it again. Both again and show me where any of us said CC should be held responsible.

23-06-2011, 06:49 AM
:bye:

Well thought out response :rolleyes:

23-06-2011, 06:57 AM

Are you sure you are not confusing an incident(s) that involved Anthony Stokes and Darren ? Incidentally Darren also agreed and went on a course down south as a result of an accumulation of 'matters' to try and resolve his 'issues'........I don't think you are right regards Sean Welsh.

Training ground fights happen all the time. It's only because of twitter, t'internet, facebook, texts etc that we hear about them so readily and so quickly these days. Sad to see a fellow player getting a second prize but I am sure it will be resolved and the team will be stronger as a unit. Didn't do John Hartson or Eyal Berkovic's careers any harm having wee dust up's IMHO.

Liked 3pm's comment about Jimmy Scott too :greengrin made me laugh that one bud.

23-06-2011, 07:04 AM
Are you sure you are not confusing an incident(s) that involved Anthony Stokes and Darren ? Incidentally Darren also agreed and went on a course down south as a result of an accumulation of 'matters' to try and resolve his 'issues'........I don't think you are right regards Sean Welsh.

Training ground fights happen all the time. It's only because of twitter, t'internet, facebook, texts etc that we hear about them so readily and so quickly these days. Sad to see a fellow player getting a second prize but I am sure it will be resolved and the team will be stronger as a unit. Didn't do John Hartson or Eyal Berkovic's careers any harm having wee dust up's IMHO.

Liked 3pm's comment about Jimmy Scott too :greengrin made me laugh that one bud.

I seem to recall the current scotland manager hooking graeme hogg in a preseason friendly and iirc being sent off.Training ground bust ups happen at every club just sorry to hear young welsh has got a bad injury.Gives the sports writers something to write about as the transfer matket is very quiet.

Hibby D
23-06-2011, 07:09 AM
No doubt...but no 'black and white' ..oops sorry, bad pun there...about a thumping. About time there was some news about Hibs players getting out of the 'mamby pamby' image that has got them no where.. GGTTH:flag:

So you're condoning violence?

Totally agree! :agree: Neanderthal behaviour to say the least and not what I want to read about in regards to a Hibs player.

IF this turns out to be accurate and Scott has indeed thrown one because it was easier than controlling his anger, then he should be marched out the door and his contract terminated.

This isn't a sign that there's fight, spirit and determination in the team! It's a sign we have a thug in the team.

Moral guardian of our club? You bet I am.

23-06-2011, 07:14 AM

Totally agree! :agree: Neanderthal behaviour to say the least and not what I want to read about in regards to a Hibs player.

IF this turns out to be accurate and Scott has indeed thrown one because it was easier than controlling his anger, then he should be marched out the door and his contract terminated.

This isn't a sign that there's fight, spirit and determination in the team! It's a sign we have a thug in the team.

I am certainly not condoning feral or dirty behaviour on the training ground, however none of us were there so it's fair to say we cannot really comment on what happened.

Both are what we would call 'committed' players so it could be that there has been a right meaty challenge which one has lashed out at. Who knows.......I do know that we only hear a tiny tiny part of what goes on at training.......it's a passionate, emotive, challenging, hard sport to play. There are ALWAYS going to be clashes, the same as there are in a competitive game. Was Ian Murray's challenge on Black a fair challenge or an assault ? Matter of opinion, but for me it was premeditated and wrong........still didn't stop me cheering it in real time at the game......benefit of seeing it again after the game had me changing my mind.

It's all about opinions though, so fair play.

23-06-2011, 07:15 AM
One message on twitter and .net goes of on one. Nobody on here is aware of the facts of the incident. Although we've already got Scott and CC hung drawn and quartered.
This is an internal disciplinary matter and should be left there, now every tabloid will be trolling .net and printing all this hear say as fact.

23-06-2011, 07:18 AM

That has to be the biggest pile o' keek since Bobby Ewing appeared in the shower

23-06-2011, 07:22 AM

Alex Salmond has called for a summit to investigate this fully. (And get himself in lots of pics.)
Nato are standing by.
A state of emergency has been called in Peebles. Dundee has been called a state.

23-06-2011, 07:25 AM
I'm not getting involved until I've seen a picture in the Hotel lobby of Sean and Jimmy making up:wink:

23-06-2011, 07:34 AM
He never said Calderwood was at fault.

Neither did I.

Read it again. Both again and show me where any of us said CC should be held responsible.

i was agreeing with your post:rolleyes:

23-06-2011, 07:38 AM
right... Hold on a minute!!

why is everybody jumping on Scott's back here before knowing the facts!

how do you know that Welsh didnt start it, threw a few punches & Scott retaliated with one punch?

Welsh might punch like a girl and Scott like Tyson! only takes 1 punch to break a jaw!

its already been mentioned on here that welsh can be a **** stirrer!!

lets get the facts before slating anyone for a change eh?

23-06-2011, 07:41 AM

Sounds like top management to me. If this is true CC has gone right up in my estimation.

I have to say I'm not too fussed about this. This kind of thing has gone on since football started.

Hopefully CC can get Jimmy to channel the aggression a bit better. It would be best aimed at one of the Gorgie beasts on 27 August.

23-06-2011, 08:00 AM

how do you know that Welsh didnt start it, threw a few punches & Scott retaliated with one punch?

Welsh might punch like a girl and Scott like Tyson! only takes 1 punch to break a jaw!

23-06-2011, 08:07 AM
i was agreeing with your post:rolleyes:

I would make the excuse that it was early :greengrin

bob12345
23-06-2011, 08:11 AM
Have to laugh at suggestions that this shows the team has fight. In that case why not just draft in Alex Arthur to centre mid? And what a player that Nade is - what he did to Ian Black shows that he must definitely be a grafter on the park.

persevere1875
23-06-2011, 08:12 AM
Cant remember going through pre season without at least one bust up between players and I only run an under 18's team, lets be fair here, none of us have any facts other than the fact that one Hibs player is in hospital with a suspected broken Jaw.

If you bring your players in, demand to see more fight and passion from them (especially after last season), drum it into them that they're all fighting for there place in the starting line up and they take that on board and I mean Really take it on board, your bound to get the odd bust up.

Before we all go into bed wetting mode, demanding sackings, can we not just for once wait and see what actually happened

23-06-2011, 08:15 AM
Fantastic, a bit of passion in the Hibs camp. :aok: Blood (hopefully) and bit of gristle and broken bones – bring on the gladiators! :faf: Why weren't the rest scrapping :devil:

Far too early for folk to be calling for anyone to be getting the sack – we just don’t know what happened. Jaws can be broken quite easily if caught the ‘right’ way – irrent rat right glasshoppah? :wink:

Lets wait to see what the club does after the inevitable investigation.

I’ve now got a great feeling about the season coming up, push overs no more – lets get stuck into these xxxxx’s,

gerintaethum :scarf: gerintaethum :scarf: gerintaethum:scarf: gerintaethum :scarf:gerintaethum :scarf:gerintaethum:scarf: gerintaethum

TowerHibs
23-06-2011, 08:18 AM
Having trained and played with Jimmy on a full time basis, I know what a pain in the arse he can be! He trains as he plays - he is in your face, goes in pretty hard and noises people up a certain way. I personally didnt think it was a problem but I bet u certain players do!

It wasn't so long ago that this board was in uproar at the news players were fannying about at training. Nothing wrong at all with the tempo being lifted at training, players getting at each other and a bit Of fIght in the team - pretty sure that's what we all want!!!

I think Welsh has been in papers this week, Calderwood saying he is good enough to be in the team and Jimmy has maybe went in a little hard to let him know that there are others who are also looking for a midfield slot. Welsh has reacted and Jimmy has hit him.

Now I accept that broken jaws are unacceptable but there will be no one more gutted than Scott. It's not the first time both players have been involved in training ground fights but I'd say 80% of players have had some sort of stramash.

Much rather this, CC getting players wound up than the news players treating training sessions like a kick about

khib70
23-06-2011, 08:42 AM

Says it all for me

23-06-2011, 08:46 AM

Complete nonsense IMO.

23-06-2011, 08:54 AM
Fights happen all the time at football clubs, its unfortunate someone has been injured but these things go on every day at professional football clubs, and amateur side too.

Some folk wont be happy until we have a team of players who all go to church on mass every day, dont swear and only drink neat water and are tucked up in bed at 8.30pm every night.

I'm happy there seems to be a bit of intesity at east mains, i'm glad some sort of passion albeit missguided in this instance has arrived at the club.

I'm warming to CC by the minute. :wink:

23-06-2011, 08:55 AM
Welsh's jaw is NOT broken, nor did he throw a punch. The two had been arguing however and did 'square up'.

23-06-2011, 08:57 AM
For the slightly older posters I wish some of you had seen big Doug Rougvie in training. Makes Welsh and Scott look like wee pussycats.......if you want Scott charged with assault trust me, after seeing big Doug in action bounding around Seton Park you would be calling for a lethal injection. Hard, hard man......that whole Aberdeen team were mind. I would never have messed with Messr's Simpson, Miller, Cooper, Bell and McGhee.........their team didn't do too badly eh !

23-06-2011, 08:58 AM

Spot on Ritchie! :aok:

Welsh has a proven record of incredibly bad luck with Injuries, as mentioned elsewhere on the board he could have a "glass chin" and Scott could have thrown a wee jab as opposed to properly lamping anyone.

Im in no way condoning any violence within the team, but people square up and push shove have wee nicks in football at every level.

Its been mentioned that Welsh is a wind up merchant so how do we know he didnt kick it off, how do we know he didnt throw the first punch, and do we know it was actually a proper bust up and not just journo's mixing things up?

until there is an official statement from hibernian or a "blow by blow" :wink: description in a better rag than the sun, i will not be making judgements.

I believe that others should do the same, we cannot just go saying "I'd sack scott for that" or "Two weeks wages fine for Scott at least." "lack of discipline etc..."

Its just like this board to completely jump the gun. Folk seem to have written Scott from day one because he's known as a "fighter" but the conclusions some a jumping to is ridiculous.

23-06-2011, 08:58 AM
Welsh's jaw is NOT broken, nor did he throw a punch. The two had been arguing however and did 'square up'.

so did jimmy throw a punch?

heppy
23-06-2011, 09:02 AM
Sodje just posted this on twitter

'Not completely true wat the sun have printed bout trainin ground bust up. Martin scott well out of order tho'

23-06-2011, 09:03 AM

Sounds a lot like what Yogi said after the bust-up in Killie last season, and players getting in fights and hospitalising each other is not a positive thing, no matter what it may imply :no way:

Aubenas
23-06-2011, 09:08 AM

Well said D! There is a lot of keek posted on here at times but the line that says 'I don't care what players do off the pitch as long as they score goals' has to be the most imbecilic. Quite apart from wanting to support a club I can be proud of, one of the reasons Hibs have underachieved so much is because we've been full of players who didn't understand the link between lifestyle and performance. It's an ignorance that's maybe forgiveable in supporters, but totally unacceptable in professional sportsmen. Unfortunately we seem to live in a country that doesn't get it - hence we are keek at most sports. Young men who want the glory but not the hard work and commitment to reach the top.
Rant over.

23-06-2011, 09:13 AM

'Not completely true wat the sun have printed bout trainin ground bust up. Martin scott well out of order tho'

Sodje posting that (assuming he did, Ive never tweeted in my life) is definitely NOT going to be good for team morale. Stupid thing to make public whether its true or not.

ElginHibbie
23-06-2011, 09:20 AM

"Sodje" has just posted: "Omg! Didn't see tht cummin. Thnks 4 memories calderwood. Gd luck with assistant job at birmingham"

And has previously posted: "Cav 2nite ppl!!! Lets go raj!!"

I am gonna go out on a limb and say it isn't really him

aljo7-0
23-06-2011, 09:24 AM
Good. I've broken my jaw before and it's peeping painful. 6 weeks healing time too. I never realised just how much your jaw moves in normal life - walking was a bit sore, brushing your teeth was a very careful experience and sneezing was excrutiating!

23-06-2011, 09:27 AM
Well said D! There is a lot of keek posted on here at times but the line that says 'I don't care what players do off the pitch as long as they score goals' has to be the most imbecilic. Quite apart from wanting to support a club I can be proud of, one of the reasons Hibs have underachieved so much is because we've been full of players who didn't understand the link between lifestyle and performance. It's an ignorance that's maybe forgiveable in supporters, but totally unacceptable in professional sportsmen. Unfortunately we seem to live in a country that doesn't get it - hence we are keek at most sports. Young men who want the glory but not the hard work and commitment to reach the top.
Rant over.

So when the British Lions beat the Wallabies, but at line-outs there are punch up's and tear up's in the scrums, that means there is 'thuggery' and players that don't understand lifestyle and performance ?

As I mentioned, the Aberdeen team under Sir Alex and Archie Knox were nuggets. Each and every one of them, bar Eric Black and John Hewitt :greengrin They succeeded all over Europe. Are most repsected in the game.......does every world manager not cite Sir Alex as one of the greatest managers of all time ?

Did Ned Turnbull not chin Joey Harper ?

I wholeheartedly agree that we should not be taking 'street' attitudes into the world of sport and training. However when you are working in, and training in, a passionate, emotive, hard, contact sport......you are going to get 'casualties'. Doesn't make it right for sure, but you are going to get clashes.

Are big John Beattie or John Jeffreys any less respected because they chinned a few All Blacks, Englishmen or Australians......on the field of play and in front of the TV cameras. As Bill McLaren would say 'arms and legs flailing like a demented octopus'........it's sport, things like this happen.....we move on.

23-06-2011, 09:31 AM
So when the British Lions beat the Wallabies, but at line-outs there are punch up's and tear up's in the scrums, that means there is 'thuggery' and players that don't understand lifestyle and performance ?

As I mentioned, the Aberdeen team under Sir Alex and Archie Knox were nuggets. Each and every one of them, bar Eric Black and John Hewitt :greengrin They succeeded all over Europe. Are most repsected in the game.......does every world manager not cite Sir Alex as one of the greatest managers of all time ?

I wholeheartedly agree that we should not be taking 'street' attitudes into the world of sport and training. However when you are working in, and training in, a passionate, emotive, hard, contact sport......you are going to get 'casualties'. Doesn't make it right for sure, but you are going to get clashes.

Are big John Beattie or John Jeffreys any less respected because they chinned a few All Blacks, Englishmen or Australians......on the field of play and in front of the TV cameras. As Bill McLaren would say 'arms and legs flailing like a demented octopus'........it's sport, things like this happen.....we move on.

Sorry lads - didnae think my post needed the :wink: smiley to be taken for sarcasm

Bad taste mibbies

That is not actually Akpo Sodje I am pleased to announce. Someone must have a rather dull life to pose as a footballer on a Social Network :rolleyes:

23-06-2011, 09:32 AM
Good. I've broken my jaw before and it's peeping painful. 6 weeks healing time too. I never realised just how much your jaw moves in normal life - walking was a bit sore, brushing your teeth was a very careful experience and sneezing was excrutiating!

Givin BJ,s must have been a nightmare then.

23-06-2011, 09:43 AM
"Sodje" has just posted: "Omg! Didn't see tht cummin. Thnks 4 memories calderwood. Gd luck with assistant job at birmingham"

And has previously posted: "Cav 2nite ppl!!! Lets go raj!!"

I am gonna go out on a limb and say it isn't really him

Well deduced Sherlock :rolleyes:

23-06-2011, 09:43 AM
My first reaction was so what, as was my second and third. These things will happen all of the time in football, granted maybe not to the extent of a broken jaw - perhaps that is a reflection of what Welsh is made of!

We have asked for the players to have a bit of fight, passion and committment, provided that can be channelled appropriately by the manager then I have no issue with this.

We must also remember this is the gutter press just looking for any excuse to write a story about hibs and bring up the speculation about CC.

23-06-2011, 09:45 AM
so did jimmy throw a punch?Sorry, could've made it clearer. Scott hit Welsh, who spent last night in hospital. Jaw not broken though.

23-06-2011, 09:48 AM
That is not actually Akpo Sodje I am pleased to announce. Someone must have a rather dull life to pose as a footballer on a Social Network :rolleyes:

especially when they are posing to be Sodje.... hahaha!!

if your going to pose as a footballer you could at least pose as a decent well known one..... like Alan O'Brien!

23-06-2011, 09:50 AM
Well deduced Sherlock :rolleyes:

He's more on the ball than some on here who seemed to assume that the twitter account was genuine.

23-06-2011, 09:51 AM

It's one thing posing as a footballer. It's another thing posing as Akpo Sodje.

23-06-2011, 09:56 AM

Your post doesn't convince me in the slightest: most of the "sporting activities" you allude to took place between opposing players/teams: in our case, we have two guys on our team fighting - we won't win anything if our own team gets decimated by its own players - I'd put money on that...not that we win much anyway:greengrin

23-06-2011, 10:11 AM
Your post doesn't convince me in the slightest: most of the "sporting activities" you allude to took place between opposing players/teams: in our case, we have two guys on our team fighting - we won't win anything if our own team gets decimated by its own players - I'd put money on that...not that we win much anyway:greengrin

I agree that having players in a fight at training is not the best but it should always be put into context and also discussed when all facts are known. I suppose my previous post summed up my position better. I was lucky enough to be able to watch the Aberdeen team train first hand, when they were up to their ankles in mud on Seaton Park. There were scraps, dust up's and square up's all the time. I was just a youngster and as luck would have it also lived next to Eric Black.

That Aberdeen team however were by far and away the most competitive, skillful, industrious and more importantly 'united on the park' team from their era. They won trophies here and abroad. Some however didn't like each other off it and that showed at training.

So in short, a fight in the training ground doesn't mean instant thuggery, doesn't mean that assault charges should follow, doesn't mean that there are root and branch problems at the club........it's two grown men who have had a disagreement and sadly fists seem to have been thrown. It goes on at every club, professional, juvenile or amateur. Passions/emotions sometimes fly high.

I do however agree that it's not an ideal scenario. My point about the rugby players was does it make them 'thugs' ? Some say yes, I would say no.......off the field they are respected people, some university educated, some now on television as experts/pundits/presenters. As I said, McLaren would often brush punches off with some magical one liners and phrases, thus condoning it and making light of it. It's an occupational hazard that comes with a contact sport, regardless of what team and who it is against.

23-06-2011, 10:20 AM
He's more on the ball than some on here who seemed to assume that the twitter account was genuine.

I assume that was directed at me.
A thousand apologies for my naivite, and
thanks for being so 'on the ball'.

23-06-2011, 10:28 AM
I agree that having players in a fight at training is not the best but it should always be put into context and also discussed when all facts are known. I suppose my previous post summed up my position better. I was lucky enough to be able to watch the Aberdeen team train first hand, when they were up to their ankles in mud on Seaton Park. There were scraps, dust up's and square up's all the time. I was just a youngster and as luck would have it also lived next to Eric Black.

That Aberdeen team however were by far and away the most competitive, skillful, industrious and more importantly 'united on the park' team from their era. They won trophies here and abroad. Some however didn't like each other off it and that showed at training.

So in short, a fight in the training ground doesn't mean instant thuggery, doesn't mean that assault charges should follow, doesn't mean that there are root and branch problems at the club........it's two grown men who have had a disagreement and sadly fists seem to have been thrown. It goes on at every club, professional, juvenile or amateur. Passions/emotions sometimes fly high.

I do however agree that it's not an ideal scenario. My point about the rugby players was does it make them 'thugs' ? Some say yes, I would say no.......off the field they are respected people, some university educated, some now on television as experts/pundits/presenters. As I said, McLaren would often brush punches off with some magical one liners and phrases, thus condoning it and making light of it. It's an occupational hazard that comes with a contact sport, regardless of what team and who it is against.

Good post! Fair points about context and overreaction and emotion/passion.

It's the management team's job to channel any aggression and excess motivation into success and strength on the park. Last season our team played completely devoid of any team spirit - this sort of juvenile nonsense doesn't really help to foster it - but without it we will not succeed at anything, even in the SPL.

23-06-2011, 10:28 AM

Yep, plus all teams (in whatever walk of life) if anyone has studied any theory on it all supposedly go through certain stages.

Forming, storming, norming, performing etc.

As this is a new set of guys they are probably forming and potentially storming. This is the stage where there will be altercations and disagreements with everyone jostling for their position in the new team and finding their voice and possibly pushing their physical authority.

Even more likley to actually be physical manifestations of these things in a tough physical environment with lots of contact.

23-06-2011, 10:35 AM

:agree: Some folk have already made their minds up that Scott is "not Hibs class" and they will have the knives out for him no doubt.

As you point out, it only takes one punch to break a jaw - fisticuffs are not to be encouraged between teammates but lets not get carried away as these things do happen on occasion and this incident should not be considered indicative of a general outbreak of anarchy on the Hibs training field.

Does anyone know if it's a confirmed broken jaw or just suspected? Hope it's not broken as that will probably rule Welsh out for most of the pre-season - regardless of rumours of **** stirring I'd like to see this guy in action - I've heard he's a very promising talent.

23-06-2011, 11:26 AM
I assume that was directed at me.
A thousand apologies for my naivite, and
thanks for being so 'on the ball'.

Nope, it wasn't directed at you. Until I read your post, I wasn't even aware that you had fallen for it.

This is especially for you though! Useful reading (http://www.thesite.org/healthandwellbeing/mentalhealth/otherconditions/paranoia)

23-06-2011, 11:34 AM
Nope, it wasn't directed at you. Until I read your post, I wasn't even aware that you had fallen for it.

This is especially for you though! Useful reading (http://www.thesite.org/healthandwellbeing/mentalhealth/otherconditions/paranoia)

I swear to god i just spat my coffee out. :faf::faf::top marks

23-06-2011, 12:06 PM

I'm not paranoid. That doesnt mean you're not all out to get me though.

23-06-2011, 12:14 PM
I don't think anyone on here really knows the facts of what went on here and I certainly wouldn't want to take the word of a journalist desperate for a sensational story as being gospel. I'm sure the club will take appropriate action if anybody has acted out of order.

ano hibby
23-06-2011, 12:38 PM
Having trained and played with Jimmy on a full time basis, I know what a pain in the arse he can be! He trains as he plays - he is in your face, goes in pretty hard and noises people up a certain way. I personally didnt think it was a problem but I bet u certain players do!

It wasn't so long ago that this board was in uproar at the news players were fannying about at training. Nothing wrong at all with the tempo being lifted at training, players getting at each other and a bit Of fIght in the team - pretty sure that's what we all want!!!

I think Welsh has been in papers this week, Calderwood saying he is good enough to be in the team and Jimmy has maybe went in a little hard to let him know that there are others who are also looking for a midfield slot. Welsh has reacted and Jimmy has hit him.

Now I accept that broken jaws are unacceptable but there will be no one more gutted than Scott. It's not the first time both players have been involved in training ground fights but I'd say 80% of players have had some sort of stramash.

Much rather this, CC getting players wound up than the news players treating training sessions like a kick about

All makes sense to me:agree: Good post

O'Brien[11]
23-06-2011, 01:19 PM
This is blown out of proportion. Training ground bust ups happen all over the world, I know jimmy very well and he's not that kind of fella, although very passionate about his football, and it shows he cares if liam miller had the attitude of jimmy he would have been a star!

HibsMax
23-06-2011, 01:49 PM

If we did that we would never have 20+ page-long threads. :)

HibsMax
23-06-2011, 01:57 PM
Fights happen all the time at football clubs, its unfortunate someone has been injured but these things go on every day at professional football clubs, and amateur side too.

Some folk wont be happy until we have a team of players who all go to church on mass every day, dont swear and only drink neat water and are tucked up in bed at 8.30pm every night.

I'm happy there seems to be a bit of intesity at east mains, i'm glad some sort of passion albeit missguided in this instance has arrived at the club.

:shocked::shocked::shocked::shocked::shocked:

:)

23-06-2011, 03:35 PM
I don't think anyone on here really knows the facts of what went on here and I certainly wouldn't want to take the word of a journalist desperate for a sensational story as being gospel. I'm sure the club will take appropriate action if anybody has acted out of order.My earlier post is bang on, came from a player who witnessed said incident.

HibsMax
23-06-2011, 04:47 PM
My earlier post is bang on, came from a player who witnessed said incident.

Do you know what they were fighting over? Or can you find out? :D

23-06-2011, 05:00 PM
I think any positivity that's coming from this is a little bit misguided if I'm being honest.

Let's show the passion on the football field please, as opposed to anger - and knocking lumps out of each other.

23-06-2011, 05:48 PM

Every rugby team had a line out call that basically kicks off a fight the most famous of which was the Lion's "99" call in South Africa. When faced with a much bigger and more physical opponent it is a very useful tool psychologically in a very physical game. Lets see how much they want it. Telfer was master of when to apply it. The Lions, Scotland 1984 and 1990 are all examples of what can be achieved against a more formidable foe.

The downside being that sometimes you get your arse kicked. Hey Ho. :greengrin

HibsMax
23-06-2011, 06:47 PM
I think any positivity that's coming from this is a little bit misguided if I'm being honest.

Let's show the passion on the football field please, as opposed to anger - and knocking lumps out of each other.

I genuinely believe that nobody thinks that what happened is a good thing. But I think it's somewhat expected behaviour, although it's not expected all the time. Nobody can even say because we don't know why it happened. There are all sorts of reasons to punch someone in the face, some more "acceptable" than others.

24-06-2011, 04:56 AM

Dammit. Outed again.

It's not that dull. I thought I gave a pretty stirring talk on the life of an antiques dealer to the local Rotary Club.

24-06-2011, 04:59 AM
I genuinely believe that nobody thinks that what happened is a good thing. But I think it's somewhat expected behaviour, although it's not expected all the time. Nobody can even say because we don't know why it happened. There are all sorts of reasons to punch someone in the face, some more "acceptable" than others.

Nonsense! Read the posts. Quite a few people are taking great pains to state that what happened IS a good thing.

But they care nothing for the game and can only lead us back to the grim, depressive days of the 80's, with their self-indulgent love of violence etc etc etc.

ecky1875
24-06-2011, 05:18 AM
Showing a bit of fight in training is ok, but not breaking another hibs players jaw :agree:
the boy ain't that good anyway i wid get rid of him, no place for that in the hibs squad......:taxi

24-06-2011, 05:27 AM
Showing a bit of fight in training is ok, but not breaking another hibs players jaw :agree:
the boy ain't that good anyway i wid get rid of him, no place for that in the hibs squad......:taxi

I thought it had been confirmed that Welsh's jaw isn't broken. If so, you basically want a Hibs player sacked because of a scrap at training?

7Hero
24-06-2011, 08:57 AM
Scott has tackled welsh, welsh has taken offence t this.

After training welsh has chased Scott giving him some abuse.

Welsh has made to hit Scott and before he has Scott has done him.

Self defence, sounds like welsh needs to grow up.

Nobody meant to break anyones jaw bY the sound of things..

24-06-2011, 09:18 AM
I thought it had been confirmed that Welsh's jaw isn't broken. If so, you basically want a Hibs player sacked because of a scrap at training?

He has a broken cheek bone. He is my mates nehew.

24-06-2011, 09:58 AM
Scott has tackled welsh, welsh has taken offence t this.

After training welsh has chased Scott giving him some abuse.

Welsh has made to hit Scott and before he has Scott has done him.

Self defence, sounds like welsh needs to grow up.

Nobody meant to break anyones jaw bY the sound of things..

If true, it sounds reasonable to me. I doubt most folk, who jumped in to criticise Scott immediately, would allow themselves to be harassed and then assaulted without defending themselves.

He has a broken cheek bone. He is my mates nehew.

If the other quoted post is true, let's hope it teaches Welsh not to act the big man with folk who can break his cheek bone with one punch.

I've still heard no justification for sackings or heavy punishment. Sounds like Scott has a reasonable defence and Welsh has suffered enough and probably learned a shedload of life lessons.

24-06-2011, 01:39 PM

Well hurry up, he's off soon.

Hiya Sean, Hiya Pal. How's the hospital?

25-06-2011, 12:04 AM
http://sport.scotsman.com/sport/Martin-Scott39s-future-hangs-in.6790949.jp

25-06-2011, 01:24 PM

:faf: Quality son :thumbsup:

26-06-2011, 09:13 AM
http://sport.scotsman.com/sport/Martin-Scott39s-future-hangs-in.6790949.jp

That sounds like they're trying to find a way to get rid.

26-06-2011, 10:31 AM
Couple of ways to look at this I suppose but the last action is Scott deciding to injure Welsh. Not shove him over, not pin him down. If he is man enough to decide to do this, he is man enough to take whatever punishment the club sees fit. Plenty posters suggesting that we need to accept that these things happen in a man's environment? Well fast forward to the opening game, and Welsh gets laid out with a broken jaw by a Celtc midfielder. So we are all on our feet going, " his telling the ref he is really sorry so don't send him off?"

26-06-2011, 12:15 PM
Couple of ways to look at this I suppose but the last action is Scott deciding to injure Welsh. Not shove him over, not pin him down. If he is man enough to decide to do this, he is man enough to take whatever punishment the club sees fit. Plenty posters suggesting that we need to accept that these things happen in a man's environment? Well fast forward to the opening game, and Welsh gets laid out with a broken jaw by a Celtc midfielder. So we are all on our feet going, " his telling the ref he is really sorry so don't send him off?"

The Celtic midfielder would be sent off, banned and disciplined by the club. He wouldn't be sacked.

hibb1
26-06-2011, 11:16 PM
Hope he isnae sacked,He is a hard player but a good guy and very good at what he does on the pitch and im certain he didnae want to fek welshy up,punch got thrown but sometimes it does more damage than u think not an excuse but reality.
Hope they can both get over it and be great for us:flag: