View Full Version : Hibs Fans March on Derby Day

21-06-2011, 09:31 PM
Right, I came up with an idea for the 1st derby of the season at Tynecastle on 27th August. Now I'm not looking for any arguments it's just a suggestion for us fans and I'd like to see what others responses are.

I considered the idea after I came across a video on YouTube of Real Betis fans gathering at their stadium a few hours before they played their arch-rivals Sevilla away from home, they then marched all the way to Sevilla's ground singing/having a laugh.

I thought it would be brilliant if we could do something like this for the next derby, I have already ran it past people and the response so far has been positive. I created an event for it on Facebook and also posted the idea on 12th Man and Radge Greens pages. A few gathering places have been suggested to me so I've took note and at the end I'll see what the most popular area to gather would be... so far I've had Easter Road Stadium, different areas in Princess Street; the West End and the Gardens, Roseburn and Murrayfield, any more suggestions as to a meeting place are welcome.

We would need a decent group of people to be able to do this and make it work, it's generally just to get the atmosphere going, get everyone fired up for the game and then carry that mood into the ground.

Thoughts and opinions would be appreciated guys. GGTTH :flag:

21-06-2011, 09:33 PM
Right, I came up with an idea for the 1st derby of the season at Tynecastle on 27th August. Now I'm not looking for any arguments it's just a suggestion for us fans and I'd like to see what others responses are.

I considered the idea after I came across a video on YouTube of Real Betis fans gathering at their stadium a few hours before they played their arch-rivals Sevilla away from home, they then marched all the way to Sevilla's ground singing/having a laugh.

I thought it would be brilliant if we could do something like this for the next derby, I have already ran it past people and the response so far has been positive. I created an event for it on Facebook and also posted the idea on 12th Man and Radge Greens pages. A few gathering places have been suggested to me so I've took note and at the end I'll see what the most popular area to gather would be... so far I've had Easter Road Stadium, different areas in Princess Street; the West End and the Gardens, Roseburn and Murrayfield, any more suggestions as to a meeting place are welcome.

We would need a decent group of people to be able to do this and make it work, it's generally just to get the atmosphere going, get everyone fired up for the game and then carry that mood into the ground.

YES! :agree:

Imagine hundreds of us strutting through the toon centre on derby day? would be carnage :greengrin

ionahibby
21-06-2011, 09:34 PM
Count me in :agree:

Simpson
21-06-2011, 09:36 PM
http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=108131135947782

facebook event for all of you up for it, who are on facebook ofcourse :thumbsup:

21-06-2011, 09:37 PM

Who are the 'Radge Greens' Sean?

21-06-2011, 09:38 PM

A group within the Singing Section who will help organise displays for games etc.

21-06-2011, 09:40 PM
A group within the Singing Section who will help organise displays for games etc.

Is this the people's front of the singing section then? :greengrin

21-06-2011, 09:44 PM

Splitters!

blairwallace
21-06-2011, 09:48 PM
I'd say meet at the area between the national gallery and the royal scottish academy on princes street or just meet at Easter road stadium?

:cgwa

21-06-2011, 10:06 PM
Good idea..... but if this gains interest then it will come to the attention of the police who will no doubt want to put a stop to it rather than work alongside you to make things go smoothly.

Another example here - c7km march to local rivals Offenbach for cup game

http://www.ultras-frankfurt.de/galerie/0910/pokal_01offenbach/004.jpg
http://www.ultras-frankfurt.de/galerie/0910/pokal_01offenbach/018.jpg
http://www.ultras-frankfurt.de/galerie/0910/pokal_01offenbach/058.jpg

This was done in co-operation with the police albeit there was some minor trouble with them - none with the locals on arrival tho as route was planned (e.g past haymarket to roseburn) to avoid majority of home fans.

Good Luck!

21-06-2011, 10:12 PM
Good idea..... but if this gains interest then it will come to the attention of the police who will no doubt want to put a stop to it rather than work alongside you to make things go smoothly.

http://www.ultras-frankfurt.de/index.php?seite=galerie/frameset&saison=0910&kat=DFB-Pokal&spieltag=1.Runde

This was done in co-operation with the police albeit there was some minor trouble with them - none with the locals on arrival tho as route was planned (e.g past haymarket to roseburn) to avoid majority of home fans.

Good Luck!

I doubt if the Police will stop it as they allow every other march to go ahead in Edinburgh despite the massive presence needed at some of them. The best bet will be to speak to them during the planning stage rather than have them find out through their normal intelligence gathering prior to the derby.

21-06-2011, 10:13 PM
sounds like the auld YLT marches to tincastle in the 70's-80's :wink::greengrin

21-06-2011, 10:14 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZGVCjf6B8c

21-06-2011, 10:15 PM

http://www.ultras-frankfurt.de/index.php?seite=galerie/frameset&saison=0910&kat=DFB-Pokal&spieltag=1. Runde&foto=004.jpg#galerie

Good Luck!

:agree: Something as organised as this would need to be given an adequate police presence and, on derby day, when their resources will already be quite stretched, don't be surprised if they refuse this request.

21-06-2011, 10:17 PM
I'd say meet at the area between the national gallery and the royal scottish academy on princes street or just meet at Easter road stadium?

Leith end of Princess Street is looking like the most popular place to meet so far mate, but I'll note down all suggestions then eventually just see what everyone thinks.

http://www.ultras-frankfurt.de/index.php?seite=galerie/frameset&saison=0910&kat=DFB-Pokal&spieltag=1. Runde&foto=004.jpg#galerie

Good Luck!

I don't mind co-operating with the police as long as it means the march can go ahead successfully, yep we were planning on going Roseburn way as there will be a lot of Hibbys kicking about there who could join in.

21-06-2011, 10:19 PM
I'll come along if we can meet outside the Roseburn Bar 10 minutes before kick-off.:thumbsup:

21-06-2011, 10:24 PM
I'll come along if we can meet outside the Roseburn Bar 10 minutes before kick-off.:thumbsup:

Well we'd be passing the Roseburn Bar at some point, although probably a fair bit earlier than 10 minutes before, we need to bring this atmosphere into the ground early doors before the match :aok:

21-06-2011, 10:26 PM

I have nothing to do with the 'People's Front of The Singing Section'....Splitters!....I dont trust them so i joined 'The Singing Section Liberation Front'

http://www.youtube.com/embed/gb_qHP7VaZE

Sodje_18
21-06-2011, 10:28 PM
I would defo be up for this, hope this happens :aok:

21-06-2011, 10:29 PM
Leith end of Princess Street is looking like the most popular place to meet so far mate, but I'll note down all suggestions then eventually just see what everyone thinks.

I don't mind co-operating with the police as long as it means the march can go ahead successfully, yep we were planning on going Roseburn way as there will be a lot of Hibbys kicking about there who could join in.

You ask the council in Edinburgh for permission to march not the Police, though it doesn't hurt to inform the Police of your intentions.

21-06-2011, 10:33 PM
You ask the council in Edinburgh for permission to march not the Police, though it doesn't hurt to inform the Police of your intentions.

Says here (http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/info/1172/permission_to_host_events/1060/marches_and_parades_notification_process/1)you have to notify the police as well

21-06-2011, 10:34 PM
You would need to apply for a licence from the Council under the Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 if you wanted to do this and with a minimum 28 days notice. I'd pick up the phone to the licensing department at the Council who should be able to give you further info.

21-06-2011, 10:35 PM
I'd definatly be up for this, count me in. Brilliant idea! :agree:

21-06-2011, 10:38 PM
It's great idea but L&BP might not be overly keen

21-06-2011, 10:40 PM
To be honest, i'd say **** them and don't bother notifying anyone. What are they really gonna do if hundreds of Hibbys descend on, say, the bit blairwallace alludes to a couple hours before kick-off? Arrest everyone? Not a chance.

Guarunteed, permission would be declined.

21-06-2011, 10:41 PM
It's great idea but L&BP might not be overly keen

Understatement of the year :agree:

Just seen .Sean.'s post before this - my thoughts exactly. Is there a 'catch the 44' option though for those that canny walk that far :wink:

21-06-2011, 10:50 PM
To be honest, i'd say **** them and don't bother notifying anyone. What are they really gonna do if hundreds of Hibbys descend on, say, the bit blairwallace alludes to a couple hours before kick-off? Arrest everyone? Not a chance.

Understatement of the year :agree:

Just seen .Sean.'s post before this - my thoughts exactly. Is there a 'catch the 44' option though for those that canny walk that far :wink:

I may just leave it then.

My only worry though is that if any trouble breaks with some erse that comes along with us, it could be me and my mate that get ****ed over for it as it is our names on the Facebook event beside who created it.

Of course, we could have a few bus stops along the way for the auld yins to join in :greengrin

21-06-2011, 10:51 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZGVCjf6B8c

That's not marching, that's standing.

21-06-2011, 10:51 PM

No, they wouldn't/couldn't arrest everyone but with the plans for this now going public on here, the police will be all over it.

They have officers who trawl sites like this, looking for intelligence and if they know that fans intend to conduct an organised march without any official permission from anywhere, they will be ready and prepared.

It's really not worth the hassle without the agreement of the appropriate organisations.

21-06-2011, 10:53 PM
No, they wouldn't/couldn't arrest everyone but with the plans for this now going public on here, the police will be all over it.

They have officers who trawl sites like this, looking for intelligence and if they know that fans intend to conduct an organised march without any official permission from anywhere, they will be ready and prepared.

It's really not worth the hassle without the agreement of the appropriate organisations.

Will they find any :wink:

21-06-2011, 10:56 PM
Will they find any :wink:

As long as they chuck in their tenner, yes. :wink:

21-06-2011, 10:58 PM

:hmmm: So how radge are the Radge Greens then :whistle:

21-06-2011, 11:02 PM
:hmmm: So how radge are the Radge Greens then :whistle:

Henceforth known as the 'ah well, let's just leave it greens'. :wink:

21-06-2011, 11:03 PM
Henceforth known as the 'ah well, let's just leave it greens'. :wink:

Harsh but true :tee hee:

21-06-2011, 11:04 PM
Henceforth known as the 'ah well, let's just leave it greens'. :wink::greengrin

blairwallace
22-06-2011, 12:11 AM
i think marching is maybe the wrong word for it to be honest, it makes it sound like its some kind of protest or hooliganism. Should be called a massive "join on the chu chu train to tynecastle" :greengrin

22-06-2011, 01:11 AM
Ill bring the drums and flares.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oXoRa9lvOI&playnext=1&list=PLE68E09A4E8229096

22-06-2011, 01:38 AM

Correct Seany boy, wouldn't risk it. More fun your way as well:greengrin

22-06-2011, 03:07 AM
How big is the away end at Tynie? Would need to be a big percentage of away fans involved to make it no look a bit pishy and that would mean notifying the council/police so that we can walk on the road. Otherwise officers and horses and the like would get involved, would take an age to walk there and would look *****.

Good idea if it can be done though.

22-06-2011, 03:30 AM
sounds like the auld YLT marches to tincastle in the 70's-80's :wink::greengrin

As a young chap, I occasionally got taken to games by an Uncle who told me that in the 60's chaps from Leith used to trek en masse from the foot of walk, picking up numbers at the East and West ends of Princess Street before descending on the PBS.

Now, with only 3,700 tickets, I doubt you'd get a huge bunch when one takes into account you can't drink in the street and there are the counter attractions of the Roseburn and Murrayfield Hotel.

22-06-2011, 06:52 AM
Eh.....just don't tell the police! They aren't going lift 40 young hibbies walking to the game.

22-06-2011, 07:29 AM
I suspect arresting or giving 40 Hibbies grief wouldn’t be any trouble at all for them. :devil:

IMO the authorities need to be on-side and with some of the marches/demonstrations that have been allowed in Edinburgh over the years I don’t see any reason why 100-500 Hibbies would be refused given that history.

Besides everything else, regarding police objections, at least they would know the exact whereabouts of 100-500 Hibbies who are going to the game are. They'd have to have a helluva lot of officers spread thinly all over town to get that number watched over effectively but along Princes Street and the rest of that route they would hardly need any and its well covered by CCTV into the bargain.

If the casuals, or any other disruptive element tried to join in, the police know who they are and once again they would to be happy to know where they were, any trouble and they'd be wheeched oot!

With the exception of the glasses non-event what's been attempted by the H12M, Singing Section etc. has been welcomed by the Club as they have seen we can 'police' ourselves. There's no reason such an event shouldn’t at least get the tacit backing of the club.

I suppose it depends on how you sell it to them.

JackRegan
22-06-2011, 07:35 AM
The way to do it is not to tell the Polis.

Green Brigade do this on our games to Hampden and it is quite a site as you caqn see

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-N-uIz-Bys&feature=related

Good Luck.

22-06-2011, 08:19 AM

My only worry though is that if any trouble breaks with some erse that comes along with us, it could be me and my mate that get ****ed over for it as it is our names on the Facebook event beside who created it.

Of course, we could have a few bus stops along the way for the auld yins to join in :greengrin

Definitely seek permission from Council and Police.

Even if they refuse on this occasion, they may provide advice for a future application for the next game.

If you don't apply for permission, the Police will clamp down on it and, depending how many folk are gathered, will probably attempt to "kettle" fans for a period of time, releasing them in small groups. The upshot of which being you will probably be late for the game.

Add to that the media reporting of such a gathering (without prior permission having been sought) would probably paint Hibs and the supporters groups involved in a bad light.

Something along the lines of "ASBO Kids Defy Police to Create Civil Unrest in support of Immigrant Agenda". :greengrin

22-06-2011, 08:24 AM

i would say this would be the best, mind you I would be in the bar at Murrayfield, cheering you all on.
I wouldnae bother about asking for a police escort, just do it.

22-06-2011, 08:32 AM
This would be class. Signing all the way. I would be up for it so long as it is what is has been described as, and not a hooligan gathering.

Don't tell the police, it's just fans making their way to the ground, not a protest.

HibbyDave
22-06-2011, 09:40 AM
That's not marching, that's standing.
Trust me that was a fantastic four mile march with 20,000 tartan army footsoldiers. The French police were also fantastic (stopping traffic etc) It was brilliant!!!!

22-06-2011, 09:45 AM
**** getting the polis and council involved. That will require planning routes, require stewards etc, and the police will no doubt KB it.

It's called a 'corteo' on the continent. Celtic's Green Brigade had one for an U19's Derby, had a good few hundred on it. All they done was name a place and a time on facebook, message forums, pubs, word of mouth etc. The police and FIO obvisouly knew about it so policed it accordingly anyway, few horses and whatever out to clear traffic etc.

Easter Road would be a bit far, also some people may be reluctant to travel East to Easter Road to then head West again over to Tynie, somewhere up central (with boozers near by off course) would be the best bet.

Can count me in!

If your worried about comebacks from the Facebook account, create a fake user profile. Sorted ;)

22-06-2011, 09:52 AM
One problem I envisage is that you get the OK from the council and L&B for the Saturday and the game is changed to the Sunday. At least it will give near enough a full day for the less mobile supporters to march there. :agree:

Infact thinking about it more there is no way this game is going to KO at 3pm Sat it will be changed for TV.

22-06-2011, 09:54 AM
Signing all the way.

Dont think it would be that popular that people would want your autograph...:wink:

EK_Hibs
22-06-2011, 10:03 AM
The way to do it is not to tell the Polis.

Green Brigade do this on our games to Hampden and it is quite a site as you caqn see

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-N-uIz-Bys&feature=related

Good Luck.

We're not "Celtc"
Were not the Green Brigade,
None of our fans will be wearing balaclavas!!! (unlike some of the MORONS in that link),
None of our fans will be singing Pro IRA songs!!!
Another thing, we CAN spell!!!!

OFGTF!

22-06-2011, 11:33 AM
What about starting in the middle of St Andrew Square?

That way, everyone could meet without causing any kind of disruption on a public right of way, so less reason for complaint.

Austria Vienna fans meet at a large square next to the Opera house in centre of Vienna and have a sing song, then make their way to the stadium. They cheat a bit, though, as they take the underground part of the way.

22-06-2011, 11:33 AM

Well said Sean, the council and L&B will simply say no, just everyone meet at the Playhouse and march from there, the Police will not be able to do anything there as there is always big crowds there, L&B will probaly deploy a van with a couple of plod in it to make sure everything is good natured until wee get to the yams ground. :aok:

22-06-2011, 11:42 AM

This isn't a public demonstration, protest or whatever, just a bunch of guys that want to walk to the game together and sing a few songs. As long as none of them let their behavior get out of hand I don't see what the problem is with that. A bit of self-policing would help in this regard (e.g. misbehave = a quick kick in the nadgers).

The Police will find out where everyone is eventually and send a couple of vans to escort them. I'm sure that's preferable, from their point of view, to fans turning up from every direction and being unable to keep an eye on them.

22-06-2011, 12:23 PM

no please dont.this is a fantastic idea and is just a bit of fun on the build up to a big game.
the police may not be overly excited about it but if it is organised with them and the council i see no problem at all.

do you think the police are happy about orange walks and the connolly march,doubt it.

i have no doubt that the hibbys that attended would behave and make sure this went off without bother as they would keep others in order if they stepped out of line.

even meeting at coates and atholl cresecnt at the west end and a walk along haymarket terrace then russell road would be amazing with little dispruption to the public.

22-06-2011, 01:30 PM
A march for everyone can take place - just check out this video from Seattle Sounders in the MLS - amazing fan base and every game they meet and march into the stadium - maybe something fans at ER could do ?

http://youtu.be/LcyPVVRUgJQ

It shows it can be done with families of young and old and men and women.

The problem with this idea may be as follows...

1. All it takes is one Ned or group of jambos and the potential for trouble is massive = bad press for Hibs.

2. Casual elements may disrupt it - even if it's innocently organised.

3. Police will be aware of the potential idea - how do they handle it ?

4. Being an away derby you get a hardcore element of the Hibs support - will they all want to march - home games may be easier as more supporters around.

5. The route - can't be too far away from stadium - somewhere easy to meet and where major traffic won't be disrupted.

22-06-2011, 04:17 PM
The likely place we are going to meet now is at Murrayfield Hotel. We can go there first for 'refreshments' if you's want. It is quiet enough making it easy to meet and it won't be disrupting much traffic. Also regardless of whether there is a march there or not this place will be mobbed with Hibs fans, meaning we don't have to ask for permission from the council/police as it's only a 10-15 minute walk from the stadium anyway.

In addition to this, people who may not be aware of the march will be kicking around this area so can easily join in, and Mick Ward has kindly offered to lend us 100 flags to use, it is easier for him to park his car around Murrayfield and hand out the flags. And finally this will suit those better who like to have a pint first and aren't so keen on a huge walk.

Opinions everyone? :thumbsup:

22-06-2011, 05:29 PM
How many are you expecting? I think 250 plus would make it good enough but you could get a lot more if advertised enough which it seems to be.

22-06-2011, 06:09 PM
How many are you expecting? I think 250 plus would make it good enough but you could get a lot more if advertised enough which it seems to be.

165 attending already on the Facebook event.

francobaresi
22-06-2011, 08:07 PM

Like it, but the Embra Polis will not allow it for the obvious reasons... Do you not need a licence for such marches???

22-06-2011, 08:19 PM
165 attending already on the Facebook event.

Good luck Sean, a spontanoeous gathering of Edinburgh rate payers or at least law abiding citizens coincidentally gathering to make their way to a game together might at best see the cops reacting by sending a few vans to keep you in line.

Its not as if you are invading Poland or anything and requiring the local militia to turn out and save the world :wink:

S.sct
22-06-2011, 08:33 PM
Why not just march back to ER after the game......It's simply the new GREEN policy to walk home. How can the police stop that......Great if we get the right result....

22-06-2011, 08:59 PM

Sean, if breaking into Swynie the night before a Derby game to stash smoke bombs and flares is the Radge Greens idea of organising displays then I would be keeping a safe distance, mate. :bitchy:

Cannae believe it's written all over a Facebook page as well. Deary me.:rolleyes:

22-06-2011, 09:10 PM
Sean, if breaking into Swynie the night before a Derby game to stash smoke bombs and flares is the Radge Greens idea of organising displays then I would be keeping a safe distance, mate. :bitchy:

Does qualify as radge though :wink:

22-06-2011, 09:18 PM
Lets all dress up in Green Lantern costumes.

Or perhaps in Stone Island and tell the authorities its an 80's theme march.

23-06-2011, 01:45 AM
Or perhaps in Stone Island and tell the authorities its an 80's theme march.

nickwhibs
23-06-2011, 10:43 AM
The yams are all over it now on the facebook page. Can you not make it a private event Sean and get rid of the yams who have posetd on it? I don't really know how it works. Although I guess the best way to deal with it is to make sure we get as many numbers as possible added to the group - I'm sure that'd soon shut them up. :lolyam:

23-06-2011, 11:55 AM
We're not "Celtc"
Were not the Green Brigade,
None of our fans will be wearing balaclavas!!! (unlike some of the MORONS in that link),
None of our fans will be singing Pro IRA songs!!!
Another thing, we CAN spell!!!!

OFGTF!

I agree with your sentiments - being a different class from the tics - but was there really any need for that?

All he did was post a link :faf:

mickki40
23-06-2011, 12:42 PM
I think it's a great idea for a march... As for breaking into Swiney the night before and planting smoke bombs noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo. The murrayfield hotel is a big place and Hibs fans usually meet there anyway. Walking to the ground is not unusual for a load of Hibs fans from there. I would suggest though to take some of the advice here, contact the council and lets see their stance. Also as courtesy, just contact the Polis anyway. If they say no it will happen anyway, at least this way they have an element of control.

23-06-2011, 12:54 PM
The yams are all over it now on the facebook page. Can you not make it a private event Sean and get rid of the yams who have posetd on it? I don't really know how it works. Although I guess the best way to deal with it is to make sure we get as many numbers as possible added to the group - I'm sure that'd soon shut them up. :lolyam:

Aye I'm not sure how to make it private, I'll see if my mate can do it the night :agree:

23-06-2011, 12:57 PM

Cannae believe it's written all over a Facebook page as well. Deary me.:rolleyes:

I don't agree with that either, don't think they'd have the guts to once it comes round to it anyway.:bitchy:

TamHibs
23-06-2011, 12:57 PM
I'd be up for this :agree:

EK_Hibs
23-06-2011, 01:02 PM
was there really any need for that?

Yes. :greengrin

I hate 'Rantic' with a passion....sue me.

23-06-2011, 05:17 PM
Interesting idea but a complete non-starter. Do Hibbies really want the embarrasment of turning up in numbers to be coralled by the polis until after kick off

That's just my guess on what will happen. They won't say no - they will just treat it as a risk to disorder, particularly from Maroon Radges

Best to think of other ideas and keep it the **** away from Facebook open pages

23-06-2011, 05:32 PM
Some people over-estimate the police.

Do you think if 400 Hibbys were in one place up town, they'd want the hassle of 'kettling' people, realeasing Hibs fans in streams along Shandwick Place then Haymarket or Dalry. Or get the 400 in one unit, take them along in a control manner, clear a route and clear any oppossing riff-raff and get them in the ground out of harms way. I'd say it'll be the latter.

Not sure on the Murrayfield Hotel idea. Most Hibbys will be coming from the East. So to get there you'd need to go past the Roseburn Bar and the opening to Russell Road round to Tynie, alot will be put off with that. Going past the route to Tynie only to come back on yourself again.

I'd say Charlotte or St Andrews square. Down to the West End, right along Shandwick Place, take a right at Haymarket then along to the Roseburn bar round to the ground.

Get a concrete place confirmed, then confirm a time when we know what time kick-off will be and the rest will take care of itself.

23-06-2011, 06:01 PM
William St off Shandwick Place is an option.

Regular meeting point for Hibs fans for games before and after Tynecastle and theres a good few bars in the same street (and others nearby) to allow plenty folk to get a beer or two beforehand.

This might also be more acceptable to the "authorities" if there's a route from there onto Haymarket Terrace avoiding the traffic (and pedestrians!) at Shandwick Place and Haymarket.

If as likely it's a c12pm kick off on the Sunday then Bank Hotel..........

23-06-2011, 06:09 PM
Have I missed something? :confused:

What are the police going to do if they see a few hundred hibby's marching and singing onto their way to the game? :confused:

23-06-2011, 06:39 PM
cracking idea, wrong game for obvious reasons in my opinion, i would rather it were organised with a home game and a march from the bottom of easter road or something like that

23-06-2011, 06:46 PM
cracking idea, wrong game for obvious reasons in my opinion, i would rather it were organised with a home game and a march from the bottom of easter road or something like that

This could always be arranged aswell, doesn't just have to be the derby it happens.

23-06-2011, 06:50 PM
This could always be arranged aswell, doesn't just have to be the derby it happens.

i do realise that,:greengrin i just dont think the derby would be a wise time to test the water on this. But if it goes ahead, good luck I hope its a success because it could turn out to be a popular thing in the coming season :aok:

23-06-2011, 07:02 PM
i do realise that,:greengrin i just dont think the derby would be a wise time to test the water on this. But if it goes ahead, good luck I hope its a success because it could turn out to be a popular thing in the coming season :aok:

Yep. I'm still taking a lot of things into consideration mate, nothing is 100% definite yet. Whether that is the venue, time, game, whether the march/corteo will even go ahead... but I'm working on it :agree:

nickwhibs
23-06-2011, 07:54 PM
Aye I'm not sure how to make it private, I'll see if my mate can do it the night :agree:

Good stuff man. I suppose the fact that it's attracting so much interest from them makes it all the sweeter if we get decent numbers. Already passed 250!

23-06-2011, 08:00 PM
Good stuff man. I suppose the fact that it's attracting so much interest from them makes it all the sweeter if we get decent numbers. Already passed 250!

Exactly mate, they can come on and slate the idea all they like but it isn't going to affect it at all. I'm sure if it was a Yam that had suggested it it would have been the greatest idea in years blah blah blah. I'm confident we can make it work well.

I'm also considering getting everyone doing it to raise even just £1 each for a charity, possibly the Dnipro appeal, this will get the club on our side and hopefully they could give us a wee hand with a bit of advertisement for it :agree:

23-06-2011, 08:31 PM
Exactly mate, they can come on and slate the idea all they like but it isn't going to affect it at all. I'm sure if it was a Yam that had suggested it it would have been the greatest idea in years blah blah blah. I'm confident we can make it work well.

I'm also considering getting everyone doing it to raise even just £1 each for a charity, possibly the Dnipro appeal, this will get the club on our side and hopefully they could give us a wee hand with a bit of advertisement for it :agree:

That is a pretty good idea. :thumbsup:

23-06-2011, 08:54 PM
Have I missed something? :confused:

What are the police going to do if they see a few hundred hibby's marching and singing onto their way to the game? :confused:

Arrest everyone of them off course. Keep them all in til Monday then have them in the courts, costing thousands of pounds and hundreds of man hours.

Or they could just follow them to the game.

nickwhibs
23-06-2011, 10:08 PM

Aye I think it'll be a great thing if we get it going - and like someone else said if we can keep it going for other matches in the season too. Definitely something a bit different! Good shout with the idea of donations. Keep up the good work

24-06-2011, 12:01 AM
That charity idea is fantastic. Really wonderful idea. I think it will quieten the yams a bit (or not as they are tubes) but will certainly attract even more to take part.

24-06-2011, 04:38 AM
Perhaps we could act really hard and march through St James's Centre and smash the windows of a card shop and push middle-aged female shoppers aside like the two world war war winning 'warriors' of the `Gorgie Aggro' did back in the late 70's/early 80's?

Ah, those halcyon days of innocent Yam pleasure before the discovery of noncing and creative accountancy changed professional football on the west side of the city for good.

24-06-2011, 07:07 AM
Perhaps we could act really hard and march through St James's Centre and smash the windows of a card shop and push middle-aged female shoppers aside like the two world war war winning 'warriors' of the `Gorgie Aggro' did back in the late 70's/early 80's?

Ah, those halcyon days of innocent Yam pleasure before the discovery of noncing and creative accountancy changed professional football on the west side of the city for good.

24-06-2011, 09:25 AM
Some people over-estimate the police.

I think some people do. Having been part of big football, Anti-Nazi, CND and Poll Tax marches over the past 4 decades I'm not one of them

The climate we are in with
The focus of football disorder
Poor track record of the last Derby at ER
Nearing the height of the summer tourist season in Edinburgh

this march will be about as welcome as a fart in a spacesuit

I'm with Gatecrasher and others. Great idea - wrong match. Get it trialled down Leith way first, make sure we can organise it properly first, then expland out to the bigger games. A big risk to our reputation if this one goes tits up IMO

I'm confident we can make it work well.

No trying to pour cold water Sean - you've been a great contributor to H12M last year. Just offering a bit of feedback. Are you going to act as main organiser yourself on this one e.g. Plan route, meet the crowd, organise them and liase with Hibs, DNipro and the authorioties?

24-06-2011, 09:48 AM
That charity idea is fantastic. Really wonderful idea. I think it will quieten the yams a bit (or not as they are tubes) but will certainly attract even more to take part.

Yip a great idea, one the yams could get involved with too, perhaps they could help by contributing a plasma telly or something similar towards this good cause?

24-06-2011, 03:29 PM
I think some people do. Having been part of big football, Anti-Nazi, CND and Poll Tax marches over the past 4 decades I'm not one of them

I'm with Gatecrasher and others. Great idea - wrong match. Get it trialled down Leith way first, make sure we can organise it properly first, then expland out to the bigger games. A big risk to our reputation if this one goes tits up IMO

No trying to pour cold water Sean - you've been a great contributor to H12M last year. Just offering a bit of feedback. Are you going to act as main organiser yourself on this one e.g. Plan route, meet the crowd, organise them and liase with Hibs, DNipro and the authorioties?

I have already suggested that we try it against Sunderland on 6th August first, just something like starting at the bottom of Easter Road and going to the stadium.

I am willing to plan the route and where the crowd will meet, unless someone else wants to decide it I don't mind? I may ask Gramo if he could get in touch with the club and maybe they could help do a wee bit advertising for it. I have nae idea how to go about raising money for Dnipro so I definitely will need someone else to set that up, but I'll gladly keep everyone updated on the news regularly about everything you just mentioned above.

24-06-2011, 04:08 PM
I have already suggested that we try it against Sunderland on 6th August first, just something like starting at the bottom of Easter Road and going to the stadium.

I am willing to plan the route and where the crowd will meet, unless someone else wants to decide it I don't mind? I may ask Gramo if he could get in touch with the club and maybe they could help do a wee bit advertising for it. I have nae idea how to go about raising money for Dnipro so I definitely will need someone else to set that up, but I'll gladly keep everyone updated on the news regularly about everything you just mentioned above.

As long as we have a trial at this I'll be a lot happier Sean. As with our show on Green Day you will need a lot of confirmed helpers. On Turnbull memorial day I'd only just got back fae Innsbruck and were were short on volunteers. Flags weren't as good as planned.

So build the team now, get loads on mobile numbers plugged in early doors. I'll help ya wi maps and flags if ye want

24-06-2011, 04:44 PM
As long as we have a trial at this I'll be a lot happier Sean. As with our show on Green Day you will need a lot of confirmed helpers. On Turnbull memorial day I'd only just got back fae Innsbruck and were were short on volunteers. Flags weren't as good as planned.

So build the team now, get loads on mobile numbers plugged in early doors. I'll help ya wi maps and flags if ye want

Yep, as long as we have decent numbers for Sunderland friendly to do it then I think that should be the game where we give it a try, when it's pre-season and most people just want a sing-song etc.

Yep I shall do, although I think I'll need to wait 'till the day and time of the game are confirmed until I can get too many volunteers. Yeah that would be brilliant if you could do that. By the way, I'll post up the videos tomorrow, could take a good few hours to do.

24-06-2011, 04:47 PM

Yep, which is exactly why if a certain number of Hibs fans were in one area, the polis would rather move them as one to the ground out the way, as opposed to having streams of Hibbys walking about Haymarket, Dalry Road etc.

24-06-2011, 04:56 PM

Don't get the club involved. It'll be too sanitised, they'll try and have facepainters and jugglers :greengrin

Too much is getting looked into it. Club, police, planning. When the Green Brigade done theirs all they done was name a time and a place. Fans turned up, polis turned up, cleared traffic, blocked traffic and got them to the ground in one piece. No attempt to block them, kettle them etc as that would be just daft.

A banner along the front, held up the whole way is a must aswell :agree: :wink:

26-06-2011, 10:24 AM

**** off
They're the singing section peoples front!
:greengrin:

Sloppy
29-06-2011, 01:00 AM

29-06-2011, 05:59 AM

I see someone has put a stop to this already!
:-)

29-06-2011, 06:11 AM
i see someone has put a stop to this already!
:-)

end of

26-07-2011, 12:31 PM
Right everyone, sorry I've not gave much details recently... but what me and Simpson are thinking is that Murrayfield Hotel is DEFINITELY the meeting place, thats where it will all start, and people can join in along the way, Roseburn Bar can be a wee pit-stop sort of thing. We want to start at 2:45, an hour before kick-off, we'll be walking pretty slow in such a big group and it will take a wee while to get through the gates in such large numbers. Spread the word to all Hibbies who you know are attending and tell them to be at Murrayfield Hotel prefferably about 2:30 if you can, obviously you can go into the bar beforehand and get reeking if you like. Please if you have any flags, scarfs, streamers, ANYTHING green and white or that has colours, bring it along with you as we want to make this look the part. If your looking for trouble with Hertz casuals/hooligans then don't bother joining in with us, that's not what this is about, just an opportunity to get everyone fired up for the game and go ****ing radge! I'll post updates on here when other things are confirmed or if there are any changes to the plans. Try your best not to tell any Jambos about this as it's most likely that some may go looking for trouble with us, we aren't about that. Will hope to see you all there on 28th August, mon the Cabbage GGTTH!

Also, if you haven't already came across the private group on Facebook then please join if you are attending: http://www.facebook.com/groups/185186294869005

And when you join that group theres a link for a page to say whether you are attending or not, please do that if you join the group, we need to know roughly the numbers that are attending so far.

Cheers everyone :flag:

26-07-2011, 12:41 PM
Try your best not to tell any Jambos about this :flag:

Good luck, but I think they might know all ready :rolleyes:

[hibs.net Main Forum]

26-07-2011, 12:44 PM
Good luck, but I think they might know all ready :rolleyes:

[hibs.net Main Forum]

Well there isn't much way around it, wouldn't have this problem if they weren't so obsessed with us.

But it's better than telling every Jambo you come across.

26-07-2011, 12:51 PM
Well there isn't much way around it, wouldn't have this problem if they weren't so obsessed with us.

But it's better than telling every Jambo you come across.

Your right. :aok:

… and you can reply on me, I’ll make sure I don’t come across ANY jambos. There is no point in engaging in casual conversation with an idiot. They just drag you down to their level then beat you with their experience! :greengrin

26-07-2011, 12:55 PM
Your right. :aok:

… and you can reply on me, I’ll make sure I don’t come across ANY jambos. There is no point in engaging in casual conversation with an idiot. They just drag you down to their level then beat you with their experience! :greengrin

Bang on man :greengrin