View Full Version : Whatever happened to....

21-06-2011, 06:15 PM
OK, we've had a few threads like this about players before but I just thought I'd start one about some of the more obscure or unusual aspects of the game.

Is there anything related to football, besides the players, manager, etc that you thought "I wonder whatever happened to....."?

I'll start off with one from the missus. She said, "I wonder whatever happened to... Henrik Larrson's hair braids".

I think I'll leave it to the shrink to work out why she'd be interested, but, anyway, over to you....

21-06-2011, 06:19 PM
The Likely Lads!

21-06-2011, 06:25 PM
All of the heroes?

Seriously though

all the wee blue invalid cars you used to see on MOTD in the 70's parked round the edge of the pitches!

sixtwo
21-06-2011, 06:32 PM
White dog poo:confused:

used to be loads of that when i was a kid!:agree:

21-06-2011, 06:35 PM
Toaods?

21-06-2011, 06:39 PM
Macaroon bars!

21-06-2011, 06:42 PM
The Electronic Scoreboard Above The Shed

21-06-2011, 06:44 PM
Wallace Mercer

and his ill-conceived plans for Edinburgh sport

21-06-2011, 06:45 PM
The Electronic Scoreboard Above The Shed

Good one!

In a similar vein, what about that big manual scoreboard that used to be between the terracing and the Dunbar End? Is it in someone's back garden :greengrin

21-06-2011, 06:46 PM
Prawn Cocktail Hola Hoops. Beef ones are great but prawn ones used to be different class. :agree:

21-06-2011, 07:22 PM
Full size chocolate bars/sweets/weetabix/shredded wheat/farleys rusks........they've all shrunk!!!

21-06-2011, 07:23 PM
Full size chocolate bars/sweets/weetabix/shredded wheat/farleys rusks........they've all shrunk!!!

Naw, yer hands got bigger :greengrin

heidtheba
21-06-2011, 07:25 PM
Pac-a-macs

heidtheba
21-06-2011, 07:27 PM
And also...

Shake and vac
Smash (as in 'for mash get...')

Football wise?

Tenants sixes - i liked them!
Jerren Nixon - Ivan Golac's 10 million pound man
Ivan Golac

and wee Tommy McLean

21-06-2011, 07:32 PM
Good one!

In a similar vein, what about that big manual scoreboard that used to be between the terracing and the Dunbar End? Is it in someone's back garden :greengrin

I couldn't possibly say :whistle: :greengrin (I wish)

Macaroon bars (as mentioned) and spearmint chewing gum :agree:

21-06-2011, 07:40 PM
Tab Clear - the clear cola by Coca-Cola.

21-06-2011, 07:43 PM
all the wee blue invalid cars you used to see on MOTD in the 70's parked round the edge of the pitches!

I was in a way responsible for these wee blue things.

The mobility scheme saw the back of them thankfully. A dedicated crew at Astley Ainslie used to keep them on the road, sometimes using redundant medical equipment like endoscopes to keep them going.

You wouldn't get me in one of them.

21-06-2011, 07:45 PM
Tab Clear - the clear cola by Coca-Cola.

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::top marks:top marks:top marks

HibsMax
21-06-2011, 07:50 PM
I was in a way responsible for these wee blue things.

The mobility scheme saw the back of them thankfully. A dedicated crew at Astley Ainslie used to keep them on the road, sometimes using redundant medical equipment like endoscopes to keep them going.

You wouldn't get me in one of them.

Did you work at Astley Ainslie?

Lots of football-related suggestions above. :wink:

Whatever happened to those flags at each side of the pitch on the halfway line? Or is my memory playing tricks on me?

21-06-2011, 07:52 PM
Anybody remember Fizzy Lizzy chew bars?:drool:

21-06-2011, 07:56 PM
Creamola foam

Jules

sundo1875
21-06-2011, 07:56 PM
vanilla coca cola

21-06-2011, 07:59 PM
Did you work at Astley?

No, Scottish Office.

Torto7062
21-06-2011, 08:02 PM
Chelsea Whoppers?

Hard Suckable lollies with different flavoured
chewing gum in the middle?

Black Midget Gems?

21-06-2011, 08:07 PM
Lots of football-related suggestions above. :wink:

Indeed!

21-06-2011, 09:08 PM
No, Scottish Office.

New St Andrews House, James Craig Walk, The Old Hoose, Calton House and Pentland House spent time in them all happy days 92-94

HibsMax
21-06-2011, 09:08 PM
No, Scottish Office.

OK. Just asking because my Mum worked there a while ago.

machibby
21-06-2011, 09:13 PM
hearts

I know,I'm ahead of my time.

21-06-2011, 09:34 PM
New St Andrews House, James Craig Walk, The Old Hoose, Calton House and Pentland House spent time in them all happy days 92-94

All of them and a few others.

Simpson
21-06-2011, 09:35 PM
The West Stand / Famous Five singing?

21-06-2011, 09:35 PM
OK. Just asking because my Mum worked there a while ago.

I know a few folk there, canny mind the names of the wee blue car boys though.

21-06-2011, 09:39 PM
Creamola foam

JulesI'm surprised you never asked about :greengrin

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_zZrk_4LHcDM/TLCCfJqfADI/AAAAAAAAAy0/lfa***Z4yCY/s1600/wham!.jpg

21-06-2011, 09:52 PM
Irn-bru bars. There dissapearance just made no sense..

Calvin
21-06-2011, 10:33 PM
Irn-bru bars. There dissapearance just made no sense..

I've enquired about this before. Millar McCowan said that they stopped making them because the Irn Bru license was withdrawn by Barr.

Seemed strange to me, but maybe a campaign to Barr could see them being made again.

21-06-2011, 10:42 PM
Lyndsay Muir...an obscure player but i have wondered what became of him for some unknown reason...same goes with Mike McDonald...where do these guys go after football?...gym teachers?...building sites?...prison wardens?...art critics for the guardian?....i'd love to know..oh, and Pat Caroll...they leave Hibs and disappear forever into a black hole of forgotten footballers..

NthCarolinaHibs
21-06-2011, 11:22 PM
The boy in the East, that used to always shout.." C'mon ma bonnie boys!! "

22-06-2011, 07:37 AM
I've enquired about this before. Millar McCowan said that they stopped making them because the Irn Bru license was withdrawn by Barr.

Seemed strange to me, but maybe a campaign to Barr could see them being made again.

I seem to recall a campaign by the country's dentists to have them banned, something to do with them being the single most destructive thing there's ever been on the planet as far as children's teeth were concerned. :greengrin <<< In fact if that smilie had been a child at the time the number of irn bru bar gaps would have it looking like a weegie junkie!

22-06-2011, 01:47 PM

1997 - 2000

Aztec bars
Chopper bikes
Jumpers for goal posts
The Black and White Minstrel Show :rolleyes:
Mike Yarwood

22-06-2011, 01:59 PM
All very amusing but you lot obviously have trouble reading.

"Is there anything related to football..."

Anyway, the Easter Road Slope. Has anyone seen that recently (other than on every top made by Puma at the moment)? I'd love to think that it was put out to pasture somewhere and is having a nice life in the countryside.

Also, whatever happened to Ernie Walker's Thinktank? This was obviously going to be the saviour of Scottish Football as we know it so I imagine it'll be making a re-appearance soon...
...unlike Mr Walker himself, obviously.

derekHFC
22-06-2011, 02:12 PM
Is there anything related to football, besides the players, manager, etc that you thought "I wonder whatever happened to....."?

The Leith Lynx Mascot?

The Pink Newspaper?

22-06-2011, 02:13 PM
I heard a rumour that Henrick Larson was spotted on his way to the hairdresser in a blue car, drinking a can of Tab Clear and chewing on an Irn Bru bar.....oh and listening to Wham!

In response to the OP, I think they cut them off!

22-06-2011, 02:15 PM
Terence Trent D'Arby

22-06-2011, 02:28 PM
I heard a rumour that Henrick Larson was spotted on his way to the hairdresser in a blue car, drinking a can of Tab Clear and chewing on an Irn Bru bar.....oh and listening to Wham!

In response to the OP, I think they cut them off!

Terence Trent D'Arby

Right, that's it, you're all REALLY getting on my nerves now! Football Related, I said - Football Related!!

:fuming:

Hibee Daz
22-06-2011, 02:37 PM
Skol Lager :dunno:

22-06-2011, 02:41 PM
Kahoonas?
The Brokeback raffle telly?

22-06-2011, 02:43 PM
The Scottish Cup.

derekHFC
22-06-2011, 02:45 PM
Kahoonas?
The Brokeback raffle telly?

Wee Airdrie Jambo knows about the tv :agree:

How about the bogs at Brockville? :jamboak:

22-06-2011, 02:52 PM
The **** in S****horpe?

Hibee Daz
22-06-2011, 02:54 PM
The Scottish Cup.

As if we all need reminding.:tsk tsk:

22-06-2011, 03:16 PM
The Leith Lynx Mascot?

The Pink Newspaper?

Loved The Pink.

Always bought at the local chippy with a bottle of Irn Bru and a sausage supper just before i nipped home after the game. Read up about the Hibs game then check the juniors and seniors results, read about the kids football then use it to stuff inside my football boots to dry them out.

It's just not the same having to wait for the Sundays.

22-06-2011, 03:24 PM
The police control room between the old main stand and FF.

Robert Prytz

Paddington bear painted in your team's colours

All the junk that collected behind the old east stand

The bowling green behind the dunbar end

EDG's pace

Mass Hibsteria

The big undersoil heating generator with the McEwan's Ad painted on it

Player's shorts that were so tight you could tell what religion he was

Robert Prytz

22-06-2011, 03:28 PM
The old ER announcer

'mumble, mumble, mumble Keeeeeeeeiiiiiiitttttthhhhh Wright! mumble, mumble, mumble'

22-06-2011, 03:32 PM
The bucket of cold water and a magic sponge that every teams trainer brought onto the pitch to cure all injuries from concussion to a broken leg!!

22-06-2011, 04:20 PM
The police control room between the old main stand and FF.

Robert Prytz

Paddington bear painted in your team's colours

All the junk that collected behind the old east stand

The bowling green behind the dunbar end

EDG's pace

Mass Hibsteria

The big undersoil heating generator with the McEwan's Ad painted on it

Player's shorts that were so tight you could tell what religion he was

Robert Prytz

:faf::faf:

22-06-2011, 04:29 PM
"Shawfield" the real home of Clyde FC

22-06-2011, 05:00 PM
Lyndsay Muir...an obscure player but i have wondered what became of him for some unknown reason...same goes with Mike McDonald...where do these guys go after football?...gym teachers?...building sites?...prison wardens?...art critics for the guardian?....i'd love to know..oh, and Pat Caroll...they leave Hibs and disappear forever into a black hole of forgotten footballers..

Still alive and well and working in the same office as me.

He'll be delighted to be described as an obscure player :greengrin

22-06-2011, 05:08 PM

Here I go again with me old favourite - whatever hapened to the "big step" on the east terracing? Also, whatever happened to stamping on the boards in the old North stand at floodlit games? Brilliant atmosphere it created.

BTW, Lyndsay Muir used to work in the same place as a rellie of mine - Llyods down Orchard Brae way. Don't know if that company still operates there now.

22-06-2011, 05:15 PM
Here I go again with me old favourite - whatever hapened to the "big step" on the east terracing? Also, whatever happened to stamping on the boards in the old North stand at floodlit games? Brilliant atmosphere it created.

BTW, Lyndsay Muir used to work in the same place as a rellie of mine - Llyods down Orchard Brae way. Don't know if that company still operates there now.

Yep, still there.

22-06-2011, 06:54 PM
Hibs.net's 'Down the slope' hosted by Jonnyboy and recorded in Hibby D's caravan

22-06-2011, 07:01 PM
Hibby D!

DAVE1875
22-06-2011, 07:11 PM
http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/41576_218647424631_5287559_n.jpg

duncandonuts36
22-06-2011, 07:12 PM
Airtex football shirts - always thought the Hibs and Scotland shirts from the late 70s were amazing....but not seen shirts like this for ages...

http://www.oldfootballshirts.com/img/shirts/168/hibernian-home-football-shirt-1977-1980-s_11423_2.jpg

22-06-2011, 07:17 PM
The 2 world cup stars?

The 51m new stand?

22-06-2011, 07:20 PM
Whatever happened to the gadges that used to come around at HT with trays with Macaroon bars and stuff on in the 70s - I miss my Macaroon bars :drool:

22-06-2011, 07:28 PM
Still alive and well and working in the same office as me.

He'll be delighted to be described as an obscure player :greengrin

obscure was just a polite way of saying something else...

could you ask him for his games/goals stats please....and who he played for after hibs...?

22-06-2011, 07:32 PM
as well as lyndsay muir i also miss the train track that used to run across the entrance to the car park on the main terrace...we would walk over lochend park, climb the wall onto the railway side, tumble down the hill and scramble up the other side, jump the wall into the car park where the car boot sale used to be and then pay into the ground and start climbing again....going to see the hibs back then was a full lower body workout.

22-06-2011, 07:33 PM
Whatever happened to the gadges that used to come around at HT with trays with Macaroon bars and stuff on in the 70s - I miss my Macaroon bars :drool:

Last seen by me at Brockville back in 1998, walking around the terracing on the day Sauzee made his debut.

heidtheba
22-06-2011, 07:38 PM
Loved The Pink.

Always bought at the local chippy with a bottle of Irn Bru and a sausage supper just before i nipped home after the game. Read up about the Hibs game then check the juniors and seniors results, read about the kids football then use it to stuff inside my football boots to dry them out.

It's just not the same having to wait for the Sundays.

Possibly one for another thread but how many of us can remember the awful pun like headlines?

Hibhibhooray
Heart-ache
Jambo-ree

etc etc etc

22-06-2011, 07:41 PM
Possibly one for another thread but how many of us can remember the awful pun like headlines?

Hibhibhooray
Heart-ache
Jambo-ree

etc etc etc

"Good Evans its Gareth" was a particular favourite

not pun related but " Millers hails Hibs - Archie hails taxi " Steve Archibald dropped at Fir Park I think and promptly got a taxi home - class

22-06-2011, 07:50 PM
there was always the old classic if kano scored...Kane is Able....lazy journalism but they all used it at one time...

my particular favourite from the pink was after hibs beat rangers 4-2 in a cup tie (maybe the dryburgh)

Hot Shot Hibs Run Rangers Ragged.

NthCarolinaHibs
22-06-2011, 08:13 PM

Hibhibhooray
Heart-ache
Jambo-ree

etc etc etc' And Sauzee all of us' :thumbsup:

22-06-2011, 08:26 PM
Others (not Hibs) were
"Bye Bye Blues" (Rangers humped out of Europe yet again)
"A-revie-deci" (Don Revie's Ingurland humped by the Eye-ties)
"Swedes 2 Turnips 1" (Ingurland again)
but ....
"Super Caley etc"... was the best ever IMO

What about that famous headline in the EEN (when John 'the Jambo' Ayres was sports editor) the day after the the Napoli 5-0 game?
The back page headline was "Townsend Doubtful For Saturday" :grr:

22-06-2011, 09:36 PM
What about the wee pontoon/fruit machine gambling cards ?
Yellow cards with 3 tear off strips to reveal your prize.

10p a shot iirc.

NthCarolinaHibs
22-06-2011, 09:43 PM
" Excursion" buses to away games that SMT used to put on..

Mixu62
23-06-2011, 01:00 AM
Whatever happened to.....

All those yellow anoraks we used to hand out in the old dunbar end when the temporary seats went in.

Big Francks' front teeth.

half.time.draw.
23-06-2011, 01:41 AM
The guy selling' hats scarfs flags, macaroon bars'