View Full Version : Away kit?

19-06-2011, 06:58 PM
Am I right in saying this is being revealed tommorow? Looking forward to a black kit this year:thumbsup:

19-06-2011, 07:52 PM
Am I right in saying this is being revealed tommorow? Looking forward to a black kit this year:thumbsup:

As long as it's not as skin tight as that home one.

NorthfieldHibee
19-06-2011, 07:59 PM
Don't know if i'm reading too much into this or not but here goes, I was in the clubstore the other day and spotted that they had the kit numbers behind the counter. They had white ones, for the home kit one would assume, and also black ones, which would suggest to me that the away kit won't be black.

Make of that what you will. :flag:

19-06-2011, 08:00 PM

Eat less. Exercise more.

19-06-2011, 08:00 PM

Agreed!!

19-06-2011, 08:21 PM
Don't know if i'm reading too much into this or not but here goes, I was in the clubstore the other day and spotted that they had the kit numbers behind the counter. They had white ones, for the home kit one would assume, and also black ones, which would suggest to me that the away kit won't be black.

Make of that what you will. :flag:

Or Goalie Strips not seen them however.

19-06-2011, 10:30 PM
I heard it's exactly the same as the home strip with the slope uphill instead of downhill :greengrin

Leishy1995
19-06-2011, 10:33 PM
We should go for something completely random this year :D:wink:

19-06-2011, 10:39 PM
I heard it's exactly the same as the home strip with the slope uphill instead of downhill :greengrin

did the not scrap that and just have a flat line along instead :greengrin

DAVE1875
19-06-2011, 10:53 PM
did the not scrap that and just have a flat line along instead :greengrin

That's the third kit ya fool :greengrin

Taz_hibee
20-06-2011, 08:25 AM
Its under the heading of Pitch Black on club store web site although no photos as yet so good chance it is all black

20-06-2011, 08:31 AM
Its under the heading of Pitch Black on club store web site although no photos as yet so good chance it is all black

Or it could just have a big picture of Vin Diesel on it. That would be totally random.

http://77.78.0.147/movies/pic1/Pitch%20Black.jpg

20-06-2011, 08:31 AM
Great if its black! Dont usual buy tops but the last black Hibs top I had got wrecked so might get this one.

Manxhibs
20-06-2011, 08:32 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110620/pitch-black_2262950_2378859

Looks like we will have to wait

20-06-2011, 08:32 AM
You can pre order strip now, however it wont be unveiled until Friday? Seems strange to say you can pre order it, without seeing what it looks like, seems it will be all black though.....Real Madrid away possibly?? Sounds smart anyway:wink:

20-06-2011, 08:40 AM
As an aside, was watching part of the New Zealand vs Uzbekistan U17 game earlier, seems like the Uzbekistanies used to have a sloping pitch too and wanted to show it off on their Puma made strip, what a co-incidence huh! :greengrin

20-06-2011, 08:49 AM
Who's idea was it to open the shop for an HOUR between midnight and 1am. They need shot! What a waste of money and time

20-06-2011, 09:29 AM
Who's idea was it to open the shop for an HOUR between midnight and 1am. They need shot! What a waste of money and time

It's a nice wee publicity stunt, the kind of thing we keep accusing the club of not doing.
Hibs launches new Away strip,not that exciting so a few lines in the Evening paper. Fans queue outside club shop at midnight to be first to get new strip, a better news story and a picture opportunity. Possibly?

20-06-2011, 09:29 AM

What a strange marketing campaign. Right, we're opening the shop at midnight for you to buy a top you've not even seen yet. By all means do the midnight option but at least give folk the chance to see what they're buying :hilarious

Also, is the 'a' in pitch black supposed to represent a corner flag or a ginger girls booby?

cwilliamson85
20-06-2011, 09:39 AM
It match's the "pitch black" theme they are tryign to push with the midnight opening.

We ask the club to do things a little different and when they do they get shot down!

20-06-2011, 09:51 AM
I quite like the idea, its only an hour they are open for and goes along with the theme of the launch.

20-06-2011, 10:09 AM
I hope theyre paying the staff double time for such antisocial hours. Except for the yam who works there, obviously:na na:

20-06-2011, 10:43 AM
hopefully they will have the socks in stock for away strip after the farce with the home ones

20-06-2011, 10:50 AM

Mine! :fuming::fuming::fuming:

20-06-2011, 10:52 AM
Maybe it'll be a really dark blue...

20-06-2011, 10:54 AM
May aswell take a wee drunken stroll doon :greengrin

DAVE1875
20-06-2011, 11:09 AM
Is Vin Diesel going to be modeling the kit in his Riddick attire?

20-06-2011, 11:09 AM
May aswell take a wee drunken stroll doon :greengrin
i'll be in that part of town so might as well :greengrin

ivan03
20-06-2011, 11:16 AM
IVAN03 can reveal that Hibernians away kit for the season 11/12 will be... ALL BLACK.

Carrick Hibs
20-06-2011, 11:19 AM
As an aside, was watching part of the New Zealand vs Uzbekistan U17 game earlier, seems like the Uzbekistanies used to have a sloping pitch too and wanted to show it off on their Puma made strip, what a co-incidence huh! :greengrin

funny that, as I was watching the Moscow Derby yesterday and Locomotiv must be paying tribute to their own sloped (astro) pitch too!! :wink:

itchy07
20-06-2011, 11:23 AM
IVAN03 can reveal that Hibernians away kit for the season 11/12 will be... ALL BLACK.

Or PITCH BLACK

20-06-2011, 11:26 AM
Or PITCH BLACK

20-06-2011, 11:35 AM
What a strange marketing campaign. Right, we're opening the shop at midnight for you to buy a top you've not even seen yet. By all means do the midnight option but at least give folk the chance to see what they're buying :hilarious

Also, is the 'a' in pitch black supposed to represent a corner flag or a ginger girls booby?

:agree: Can't believe that the shop will be opening on midnight on Friday for people to buy the new strip without people having the opportunity to see it beforehand.

Not only that but there's the option for people to pre-order it right now, without knowing what it looks like or anything.

Very strange. :confused:

20-06-2011, 11:42 AM
What a truly horrific piece of typography in that Pitch Black thing! Looks like it was done in MS Paint!

Pretty sure I'll want this black kit, but still aint paying for / ordering anything without seeing it first!

20-06-2011, 11:42 AM
This has all the makings of an embarrassing failure...

Or a great marketing ploy!!!

Can you imagine going up there, waiting for midnight then proclaiming 'Thats bogging...!'!!!

brythehibby
20-06-2011, 11:48 AM
:agree: Can't believe that the shop will be opening on midnight on Friday for people to buy the new strip without people having the opportunity to see it beforehand.

Not only that but there's the option for people to pre-order it right now, without knowing what it looks like or anything.

Very strange. :confused:

Thats just what i thought. Why would anyone pre-order something when they dont know what it looks like?

20-06-2011, 11:50 AM

Can you imagine going up there, waiting for midnight then proclaiming 'Thats bogging...!'!!!

Let's get Macar first in the queue then :greengrin

20-06-2011, 11:58 AM
Thats just what i thought. Why would anyone pre-order something when they dont know what it looks like?
Plenty folk order new albums from bands without ever hearing them?

On a side note, my money is on Morag being first in the queue. :greengrin

20-06-2011, 12:13 PM

Yes but they will be a fan of their previous music so they'll think that they'll like it. Or maybe some well respected music critics will have heard the album and will have given it a positive review.

Albums also don't cost £40.

No-one outside of the club has the foggiest idea what this strip will look like, apart from knowing that it will be black, will have a Hibs crest on it, will have a Crabbie's logo on it and will have a kit sponsor of Puma.

I suppose that, for some, that will be enough and there are people out there who would be prepared to buy anything, as long as it has a Hibs badge on it.

20-06-2011, 12:24 PM
Wondering if they have found a cupboard full of the last black away top we had and hope to sell it as the new one under the cover of darkness to a bunch of fans who've been sitting in the multitude of pubs of Easter Road all night waiting for the shop to open...just remember that Whyte & Mackay don't sponsor us anymore and don't buy anything from that bloke with the shifty looking tache... :greengrin

brythehibby
20-06-2011, 12:25 PM

I see your point but as Falkirk says, you roughly know what your getting from bands etc. Hopefully this is a master marketing ploy and not a big failure!

20-06-2011, 12:33 PM
50p says its like this with green bits instead of white

http://www.nufc.co.uk/articles/20110602/back-in-black_2281670_2370238

20-06-2011, 12:36 PM
50p says its like this with green bits instead of white

http://www.nufc.co.uk/articles/20110602/back-in-black_2281670_2370238

Probably, but that would be rather dull. Anyway, not happy, we are due a nice purple one again!! :greengrin

20-06-2011, 12:44 PM
Yes but they will be a fan of their previous music so they'll think that they'll like it. Or maybe some well respected music critics will have heard the album and will have given it a positive review.
No-one outside of the club has the foggiest idea what this strip will look like, apart from knowing that it will be black, will have a Hibs crest on it, will have a Crabbie's logo on it and will have a kit sponsor of Puma.
I suppose that, for some, that will be enough and there are people out there who would be prepared to buy anything, as long as it has a Hibs badge on it.

20-06-2011, 01:03 PM
The only sportsmen who should wear black are NZ rugby players and refs.

I'd rather Hibs wore red.

DAVE1875
20-06-2011, 01:10 PM
I'll buy the shirt if I get a free pair of Riddick goggles with them.

Note: I did post a picture of the goggles on this thread but for some reason the picture was deleted

http://images.cosplay.com/photos/12/1206130.jpg

20-06-2011, 01:16 PM
The torn-faced brigade are out in force again I see:aok::hibees

scott7_0(Prague)
20-06-2011, 01:26 PM

Aye but then in a drunken state you spend 100quid on other stuff.

Seems the marketing is working, it's got people talking about it. :-)

squire
20-06-2011, 01:46 PM
Today is only Monday. Perhaps the club will publish photo's before the midnight launch on Friday?

Then there would be nobody turning up without seeing the kit first

20-06-2011, 02:13 PM
So, after a wee visit to Scorpio, you can nip round to the Club Shop and get humped out of another £40!

Brilliant!

20-06-2011, 02:16 PM
Today is only Monday. Perhaps the club will publish photo's before the midnight launch on Friday?

Then there would be nobody turning up without seeing the kit first

I know who will have some pics :greengrin

healfyhibee
20-06-2011, 02:25 PM

It is quite nippy though!

20-06-2011, 02:47 PM

Beefster loves folk referring to themselves in the third person. Always makes Beefster smile.

20-06-2011, 03:00 PM
Judging by the reaction on this thread so far it might be quite quiet so I think I might go up. :greengrin

(((Fergus)))
20-06-2011, 03:53 PM
What a truly horrific piece of typography in that Pitch Black thing! Looks like it was done in MS Paint!

Pretty sure I'll want this black kit, but still aint paying for / ordering anything without seeing it first!

It's supposed to be shapes from a football pitch - arcs and lines - hence "Pitch Black" (sorry if that was already obvious).

I would also think there might be a teaser photo before Friday night.

(((Fergus)))
20-06-2011, 03:55 PM

Good spot :greengrin

20-06-2011, 04:14 PM

The club are trying something a bit different but instead of embracing it it's getting moaned about (again)

20-06-2011, 04:18 PM
The club are trying something a bit different but instead of embracing it it's getting moaned about (again)
No like Hibs.net that, eh :rolleyes:

HibeeMcGinn1
20-06-2011, 06:08 PM
Stop greetin

20-06-2011, 06:16 PM
Beefster loves folk referring to themselves in the third person. Always makes Beefster smile.

Meh agrees with Beefster.

20-06-2011, 06:42 PM
I see it now, Scotlands answer to the all blacks :greengrin 'king cheeky wee haka before the game should liven things up......

20-06-2011, 06:52 PM
It's supposed to be shapes from a football pitch - arcs and lines - hence "Pitch Black" (sorry if that was already obvious).

I would also think there might be a teaser photo before Friday night.

Indeed, but not very well executed!

A teaser photo would make a lot of sense.

20-06-2011, 07:13 PM
Indeed, but not very well executed!

A teaser photo would make a lot of sense.

The website has just released this small snippet of the top, looks good.

http://img3.fotoalbum.virgilio.it/v/www1-5/149/149625/245645/sony_ericsson_black_diamond_3-vi.gif

20-06-2011, 07:27 PM

http://img3.fotoalbum.virgilio.it/v/www1-5/149/149625/245645/sony_ericsson_black_diamond_3-vi.gif

:hilarious:

20-06-2011, 08:36 PM

We've found a way to complain about anything. Fletcher's lack of a right foot. The 'body language' of our management. Our marketing campaigns, our typography.

Why cant we find something that is REALLY shocking, like the pies?:confused:

20-06-2011, 08:45 PM
We've found a way to complain about anything. Fletcher's lack of a right foot. The 'body language' of our management. Our marketing campaigns, our typography.

Why cant we find something that is REALLY shocking, like the pies?:confused:

You have to admit it is a tad silly doing a midnight launch for something no one has seen. Can you imagine if you went along and it was the most god awful strip you'd ever seen so you went home empty handed?

Midnight launch :aok:
Not showing off the kit before it http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc15/fabian365/f365%20smilies/bravo.gif

hibs4eve
20-06-2011, 08:52 PM
Its obviously going to be a balck strip with pitch lines and stuff as in the font on the A in black is a corner spot and the word Pitch so my guess is a squit mint green pitch below the badge

20-06-2011, 08:55 PM
Its obviously going to be a balck strip with pitch lines and stuff as in the font on the A in black is a corner spot and the word Pitch so my guess is a squit mint green pitch below the badge

If the kit was like you just described I wouldn't blame them for not revealing it until people get there:greengrin

20-06-2011, 09:00 PM
You have to admit it is a tad silly doing a midnight launch for something no one has seen. Can you imagine if you went along and it was the most god awful strip you'd ever seen so you went home empty handed?

Not showing off the kit before it http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc15/fabian365/f365%20smilies/bravo.gif

Would you get more excited or less excited on christmas eve if you already knew what your presents were going to be?:xlol

TamHibs
20-06-2011, 09:43 PM
So is it released Thursday/Friday or Friday/Saturday?

20-06-2011, 09:48 PM
So is it released Thursday/Friday or Friday/Saturday?

Friday/Saturday

21-06-2011, 12:13 AM

Brilliant! That's a good black.

HibsMax
21-06-2011, 12:25 AM

Same goes for video games of which we've only seen video footage (NOT game footage) and people go frickin' bananas over that.

When Lord of the Rings opened, people lined up for hours.

It happens all the time.

I haven't seen one but I want one!! So there!

HibsMax
21-06-2011, 12:27 AM

Maybe Hibs think fans of the club will but it anyway? I'm sure I'm not the only person who owns that nasty purple and green striped top!

Here's my advice. Go to bed early on Thursday night and sleep through the whole thing. Sorted. :wink:

EDIT : do we really need to pick the club apart at every end and every turn????

HibsMax
21-06-2011, 12:31 AM
You have to admit it is a tad silly doing a midnight launch for something no one has seen.

No I / we don't. :wink:

If you think the marketing sucks, stay in bed and wait until you can see a photo (which may even appear before Thursday night as others have suggested).

21-06-2011, 12:38 AM
No I / we don't. :wink:

If you think the marketing sucks, stay in bed and wait until you can see a photo (which may even appear before Thursday night as others have suggested).

I wouldn't be surprised if there is a cheeky wee photo on the backpage of the EEN on Thursday with Ivan/GOC sporting this all black kit.

H18Y GW
21-06-2011, 05:17 AM

Looking at that, its Black with green piping :thumbsup:

21-06-2011, 06:54 AM
Brilliant! That's a good black.

I think we should use a darker black. So that it's like, how much more black could this be? And the answer is none. None more black.

21-06-2011, 07:02 AM

Can you imagine anybody that is interested enough to go along at midnight on Friday not being interested enough to buy the strip? Nobody will go along at that time and decide it's not for them. Or if they do they want their bumps felt.

Rossco1875
21-06-2011, 05:27 PM
working over the road from er on friday so may pop over and have a wee look :thumbsup: