View Full Version : Compare yourself to a professional footballer.......

17-06-2011, 10:32 PM
I'm getting back into Sunday League football down here, and sent an e-mail to the manager of my local team, asking about their pre-season for next season etc.

Anyway, he got back to me and asked "who would you compare yourself to in the modern game". Obviously, it wasn't like a serious "job interview" style question, but at the same time I'd have come across like a prick if I'd just gone "a cross between Ronaldo and Messi"

So, for those who play football regularly, trying to be semi-serious, which player would you compare yourself with?

I - rather ambitiously - went for Darren Fletcher/Park Ji Sung just cos I can run about a bit and don't score many (aka any) goals!!

17-06-2011, 10:33 PM
Tarquin...

17-06-2011, 10:39 PM
Tarquin...

Haha, thought I'd get a few cheeky comments from you etc. Just a bit of pre-season fun. I was thinking maybe Cafu might have been more appropriate tho................

17-06-2011, 10:43 PM
Brian Kerr:boo hoo:

17-06-2011, 10:46 PM
Compared to a proffesional - I'm ****.

17-06-2011, 10:48 PM
Haha, thought I'd get a few cheeky comments from you etc. Just a bit of pre-season fun. I was thinking maybe Cafu might have been more appropriate tho................

You're more like a poor mans white De La Cruz..

17-06-2011, 10:52 PM
Whittaker or Nade

17-06-2011, 11:07 PM
Scott Brown/Xavi.

Bustling attacking midfielder who chips in with a good few goals.

When in goals, naturally Iker Casillas. :agree::greengrin

Leishy1995
17-06-2011, 11:22 PM
On the wing, Arron Lennon, up front Hernandez.... in goals, Heskey:flag:

17-06-2011, 11:25 PM
On a good day, Leighton Baines. On most days, Abderrouf Zerabi.

I think i am similar to Lewis Stevenson as i am small, play LB, LM or CM and i am decent at passing and tackling. In training my shooting is class but in games i lose all composure.

17-06-2011, 11:33 PM
definately brian kerr

17-06-2011, 11:41 PM
We've had this thread before...i'm definitely Ross Chisholm. Lots of pointing at who my teamates should be marking and doing nothing myself.

Liam_Hibs
17-06-2011, 11:44 PM
A poor mans Konte.

Torto7062
18-06-2011, 01:20 AM
Joe Tortolano-

Just like Super Joe- an average player who gives
110% and would die for the shirt.

And if need be when getting beat turn into a
Willie Miller making sure nae-b***a would get past
me on the Auld Slope.

18-06-2011, 01:23 AM
I think no matter what position you played when you were younger you like to think of yourself ideally suited to a certain position when you are an old fart.
That position is the old fart one, sitting just in front of the back four dictating play.

If you are over thirty and are asked this question say Didier Deschamps..... or Barry Ferguson because the boy running the team might be a of a certain persuasion.

18-06-2011, 07:00 AM
Definitely Leo Messi...short with a crap haircut.

18-06-2011, 07:02 AM
Franck sauzee :greengrin well we both have stopped playing :greengrin
ok its the tank hurtardo ,big strong and murder !

18-06-2011, 07:28 AM
I always try and summon the spirit of Darren Jackson for my one game a year.

At fives it's the Franck Sauzee role although executed more in the stlye of Larry Grayson.

18-06-2011, 07:38 AM
Shana Hadji

18-06-2011, 08:27 AM
The combination of a really harsh winter and a scarcity of grit for the pavements meant that I was Colin Nish from November until February.

millarco
18-06-2011, 09:04 AM

More HKT than Cafu...

DAVE1875
18-06-2011, 09:06 AM
That Dia guy Southampton signed a whileback, cause I'm absolute sh** at football

18-06-2011, 09:25 AM
More HKT than Cafu...

Piss off!!! HKT could only dream of connecting "too well" with volleys like I've been known to.

INCOMING!!!!! :panic:

18-06-2011, 09:44 AM
I'm more american football player the fridge these days. :boo hoo:

18-06-2011, 09:49 AM
I'm Beckham without the workrate. Basically, a flash b****rd, playing hte quarterback role who was capable of 50 yard diagonals, great set-pieces, the odd flashpoint and very little else.

I'd like to say I let the ball do the running but truth be told I was a lazy git who kept his position table-football style and only got involved when the ball was within a yard of me.

18-06-2011, 09:53 AM
When he was still playing, Makelele.

Just do the simple stuff well, pull the strings in the middle and play some lovely through balls :wink:

18-06-2011, 09:55 AM
I'm Davie Weir but without the pace.

18-06-2011, 10:03 AM
Berbatov, but less lazy :wink:

18-06-2011, 10:03 AM
wayne rooney .................................................. .................................................. .

and then i wake up

justlikebrazil
18-06-2011, 10:04 AM
Im like Ally (benny) Brazil without his skill!!

18-06-2011, 10:14 AM
Piss off!!! HKT could only dream of connecting "too well" with volleys like I've been known to.

INCOMING!!!!! :panic:

Indeed, for all his sins I'm sure poor Thierry has never troubled the ducks in Victoria park with a wayward shot.

18-06-2011, 10:16 AM
Robbie savage. When I was fit I'd harass, wind players up, get stuck in and be a ball winner. Odd flashes of skill and a few through balls.

Now I'm unfit I'm basically *****. Missed an open goal at fives on Tuesday. Got motm though.:greengrin

Brads Laing
18-06-2011, 10:16 AM
Xabi Alonso

18-06-2011, 10:17 AM
Joey Barton:wink:

Prawn Sandwich
18-06-2011, 10:17 AM
Who I would describe myself like? I always get blootered on a Friday night, so Anthony Stokes and I couldn't pick up a thing, so any Hibs goalkeeper in the last 10 seasons. :wink:

TrickyNicky
18-06-2011, 10:24 AM
When he was still playing, Makelele.

Just do the simple stuff well, pull the strings in the middle and play some lovely through balls :wink:

Does that no make you Ukulele ?

TrickyNicky
18-06-2011, 10:30 AM
Ah'm more the Alan Ormen style ay player however I thought it would be nice to list a player who encapsulate you're very being as a human also!

Being that I fancy mahsel as a ladies man I opted for Ed De Graff - box tae box type!

stubru59
18-06-2011, 10:46 AM
I'm a legend in my own head - or so the wife keeps telling me.

18-06-2011, 10:48 AM
I'm Davie Weir but without the pace.

:faf::faf::faf:

Curly1875
18-06-2011, 10:59 AM
Zidane...................................

......cause I head butted someone once :greengrin

18-06-2011, 11:07 AM
Vinnie Jones.

DAVE1875
18-06-2011, 11:31 AM
Vinnie Jones.

That cause you always got your hands on some else's nuts? :wink:

18-06-2011, 11:52 AM
The ******* son of zibby and simon brown

18-06-2011, 12:28 PM
The ******* son of zibby and simon brown

Ouch - possibly overdoing the "brutal honesty" there Colin :greengrin

Sodje_18
18-06-2011, 01:28 PM
Have to go with Stacky for me, bit of a psychopath in goals :greengrin

Outfield depends, when I played for a team somedays I played like Fabregas other days like Fernando Rickson.

18-06-2011, 01:40 PM
Truthfully probably more of a Jim leighton can't come for crosses really can't kick but not a bad shot stopper :-)

18-06-2011, 02:07 PM
Craig Brewster

Tonez
18-06-2011, 07:28 PM
The guy out the John Smiths advert:wink:

HAVE IT!!!!

18-06-2011, 07:59 PM
I'm a bit like Arthur Boruc, fat, have a big arse, always make mistakes but occasionally come up with some nigh impossible save, normally by accident.

18-06-2011, 08:19 PM
Encouragingly, no comparisons with Craig Thomson.

Calvin
18-06-2011, 08:50 PM
Yannick Zambernardi.

A bit shorter than your average defender and very prone to mistakes. However, after mistakes he doggedly tried to make up for it and had a fantastic sliding tackle.

18-06-2011, 08:54 PM
Had a kick about earlier today, and would probably make a fair comparison with Christie Brown, from off of My Left Foot.:agree:

18-06-2011, 09:12 PM
Andy Watson....nae flair, nae hair :wink:

Walter
18-06-2011, 09:25 PM
A heavier drinking Barry Lavety

18-06-2011, 09:29 PM
Gary Neville. Only I'm far better looking.

Mikeystewart
19-06-2011, 10:04 AM
Has to be Mikey Stewart for me :devil:

nipping at peoples heels and is in a constant state of pish and superb.

19-06-2011, 11:15 AM
Id like to think Guillemme Beuzlin. :thumbsup:

19-06-2011, 11:38 AM
Jack Wilshire. Confident with the ball, Always willing to make that telling pass, Doesnt hide and solid in the tackle, And a 6 pack to die for.

19-06-2011, 11:43 AM
Craig Thomson without the laptop.

heidtheba
19-06-2011, 03:59 PM
Awww does it have to be a pro footballer? That rules steven hawking and the wee penguin off of Happy Feet.

Erm...closest I'd say would be

Christian Nade! And I'm so not proud to admit it...

19-06-2011, 04:30 PM
Jack Wilshire. Confident with the ball, Always willing to make that telling pass, Doesnt hide and solid in the tackle, And a 6 pack to die for.

Yir having a laugh are Ye not, crunching tackle my erse, Jesus yir built like the side of a crisp :-)

19-06-2011, 04:37 PM
Yir having a laugh are Ye not, crunching tackle my erse, Jesus yir built like the side of a crisp :-)

Solid muscle Cha :wink:

19-06-2011, 04:55 PM
Craig Thomson without the laptop.

heard he was signing for falkirk... he said its always been his ambition to play with the bairns. :greengrin

19-06-2011, 06:40 PM
would like to say roy keane. have the temper but maybe not the skills:greengrin

19-06-2011, 09:40 PM
Amadou Konte with concussion

20-06-2011, 12:00 AM
Amadou Konte on crack with concussion

I'm Charlie Miller with a little bit of Brian Kerr thrown in.

20-06-2011, 12:08 AM
;2834026']:agree:

I'm Charlie Miller with a little bit of Brian Kerr thrown in.

Nobody can see you but you're good at cutting hair?:greengrin

21-06-2011, 11:07 AM
That cause you always got your hands on some else's nuts? :wink:It was said to me when that picture became famous that I should've had the copyright well before then. Nobody needed their crack and sack waxed after playing against me. Amazing how much a few hairs getting pulled out put them off their game.:greengrin

21-06-2011, 11:18 AM
Being a bit of an all-rounder, either Jim Leighton or Crunchie. Unfortunately Leighton couldnae kick a ball straight and I don't imagine Crunchie was very good in goals.

hibee81
21-06-2011, 11:30 AM
Ian Murray i would say, can play left back, centre half, left mid, centre of the park moan like ****, get booked alot and have lost all pace i ever thought i had (hence getting booked alot). Jack of all trades, genious in none.

21-06-2011, 11:55 AM
Fat Ronaldo