View Full Version : Yams Craig Thomson (merged threads)
17-06-2011, 01:37 AM
People stating on Twitter that Thomson is being placed on the sex offenders list tomorrow (well today).
17-06-2011, 03:46 AM
People stating on Twitter that Thomson is being placed on the sex offenders list tomorrow (well today).
Read something about it on hibs mad as well............lol
MontrealHibs
17-06-2011, 05:14 AM
True
17-06-2011, 06:11 AM
I ken a guy who was put on it for slapping a barmaid on the arse in a drunken night out. So I have learned that the criteria is not that hard and never slap a barmaid on the arse.
17-06-2011, 06:25 AM
I ken a guy who was put on it for slapping a barmaid on the arse in a drunken night out. So I have learned that the criteria is not that hard and never slap a barmaid on the arse.
What was he charged and convicted of?
17-06-2011, 06:31 AM
There was a guy in the Borders put on it for mooning at a cop car.
The guy appealed and while the conviction stood his name was removed from the SOR.
17-06-2011, 06:36 AM
Front page on Daily Record. He has been caught grooming a 12 year old and another girl of 14. Showing off his tackle and stuff! You just couldnt make it up! Hahaha
17-06-2011, 06:40 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2011/06/17/hearts-star-craig-thomson-put-on-sex-offenders-register-after-pestering-girls-aged-12-and-14-for-sex-on-facebook-86908-23207046/
17-06-2011, 06:44 AM
What was he charged and convicted of?
Pestering 12 & 14 year old lassies for sex, whilst being fully aware of their age.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2011/06/17/hearts-star-craig-thomson-put-on-sex-offenders-register-after-pestering-girls-aged-12-and-14-for-sex-on-facebook-86908-23207046/
17-06-2011, 06:45 AM
he wont be pullin on a hearts shirt again then. Mug
17-06-2011, 06:45 AM
Beast!!!!!!
17-06-2011, 06:55 AM
I'll bet he does. Being on the register didn't stop them giving rix the managers job.
17-06-2011, 06:56 AM
"The management and all the staff at Tynecastle have been different class with me. That has helped enormously."
aye thats the spirit hertz, breed some more beasts!!!
17-06-2011, 06:56 AM
Pestering 12 & 14 year old lassies for sex, whilst being fully aware of their age.
Outrageous.
After criticising Zemmama for legally marrying someone and then O'Connor because of unsubstantiated rumours, the Hearts fans have been made to look proper tits by Thomson (and Rix) and Black.
17-06-2011, 06:57 AM
Pestering 12 & 14 year old lassies for sex, whilst being fully aware of their age
Kinda blows the defence that was being used when the story came out that they were just under sixteen.
What a weirdo.
17-06-2011, 06:57 AM
I dont think uncle Vlad will be too happy about this shameful act. Cant see him playin again for them
17-06-2011, 06:58 AM
He'll probably be captain next year:rolleyes:
17-06-2011, 06:59 AM
Just heard it reported on radio Scotland. Sounds like he got a £4k fine as well as going on the sex offenders list for 5 years.
Won't click that DR link on a point of principle :bitchy:
17-06-2011, 07:01 AM
Outrageous.
After criticising Zemmama for legally marrying someone and then O'Connor because of unsubstantiated rumours, the Hearts fans have been made to look proper tits by Thomson (and Rix) and Black.
Statstically every sex offender that is convicted has committed 30 more offences for which a conviction cant be obtained. Is this guy the one thats a Hibs fan?
17-06-2011, 07:05 AM
Outrageous.
And don't forget to add Jordan Morton (racial abuse), Lee Wallace (firearms charges and breach of the peace) and John Borthwick ('borrowing' money from the Willie Bauld charity) to their list of shame.
An utterly morally corrupt club to the core.
17-06-2011, 07:06 AM
he will pay the fine at 300 quid per month???
wtf??
17-06-2011, 07:07 AM
Just the latest in a very long line of sex offenders associated with Hertz so no real surprise.
Should this not be a jailing offence in view of the fact that he knew their ages and as it happened with two different underage girls he is clearly a serial offender and a risk to the community.
As I have stated previously, their entire customer database and staff should be placed on the register immediately to protect our proud nation.
HoMFC.........you disgust me.
17-06-2011, 07:11 AM
And don't forget to add Jordan Morton (racial abuse), Lee Wallace (firearms charges and breach of the peace) and John Borthwick ('borrowing' money from the Willie Bauld charity) to their list of shame.
An utterly morally corrupt club to the core.
You forgot to add the guy who attacked Neil lemon for being catholic :agree:
Thomson also said "this has been a huge learning curve"
Cant make this up!
Despite being a talented player Hearts need to take a stand here and throw the book at him!
17-06-2011, 07:21 AM
You forgot to add the guy who attacked Neil lemon for being catholic :agree:
There are others as well - the guy that tried to attack Riordan after he had the audacity to score against them, and IIRC there was another one that was convicted of flashing his chopper at a woman passing by his car.
Offenders managing the team, offenders playing for the team, fans who are nothing but Rangers fans in training, and yet they feel they're in a position to moralise at us?
I don't even know where to start. I'm sure Wee Airdrie Jambo will agree with that.
17-06-2011, 07:21 AM
There are some things that you can put down to being a daft wee laddie, but this is beyond that.
EskbankHibby
17-06-2011, 07:22 AM
So to summarise:-
Convicted sex offenders amongst managers (Rix), players (This boy) and fans (wee Airdrie Jambo). It's the Hearts way.
Sprinkle in some sectarianism, the worst disciplinary record in Scottish football history and a set of fans who can't keep away from the playing surface during a game (Deeks derby, last derby at ER and Lennon game) and you have a club Hearts fans can be proud of.:aok:
Lets not mention holding payments to den mothers, local small businesses and Arbroath, pure class from our lovely neighbours.
17-06-2011, 07:23 AM
What a beast.
itchy07
17-06-2011, 07:26 AM
Isn't it true that sex offenders are often victims of sexual abuse when they were younger? Should the police be looking at Rix or was it just young girls he was into?
17-06-2011, 07:29 AM
Convicted sex offenders amongst managers (Rix), players (This boy) and fans (wee Airdrie Jambo). It's the Hearts way.
Sprinkle in some sectarianism, the worst disciplinary record in Scottish football history and a set of fans who can't keep away from the playing surface during a game (Deeks derby, last derby at ER and Lennon game) and you have a club Hearts fans can be proud of.:aok:
Lets not mention holding payments to den mothers, local small businesses and Arbroath, pure class from our lovely neighbours.
You weren't saying that when they won the war for us. :tsk tsk:
17-06-2011, 07:31 AM
Alan Lithgow is the other player - Clyde rightly pointed out back then that the offences occurred before he signed for them.
That's the risk in signing a Jambo I suppose, full medical, criminal record search and check of their PC's should be part of the diligence process.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2009/01/29/sex-pest-footballer-alan-lithgow-spared-jail-86908-21079557/
Hibs07p
17-06-2011, 07:33 AM
Statstically every sex offender that is convicted has committed 30 more offences for which a conviction cant be obtained. Is this guy the one thats a Hibs fan?
Correct. It's amazing the things that happen when you are influenced by goings on over at the dark side.
17-06-2011, 07:34 AM
When the story came out it made it sound like the girls were 15ish and could genuinely have looked over 16. (Which wouldn't excuse it though.) Can't believe they were actually 12 & 14 and openly had this on there Facebook profiles though. :jamboak:
17-06-2011, 07:41 AM
When the story came out it made it sound like the girls were 15ish and could genuinely have looked over 16. (Which wouldn't excuse it though.) Can't believe they were actually 12 & 14 and openly had this on there Facebook profiles though. :jamboak:
Had it been a one off I am sure we would have heard no more about it. Legally it appears the age you become responsible in this arena appears to be 22 for some bizarre reason so, had he been able to prove he was unaware of their ages, nothing would have happened. He was very obviously aware particularly of the 12 years old.
Only in football could someone continue with this in their background.
17-06-2011, 07:42 AM
I'm no expert but do you not have to be 16 or 18 to open a facebook account?
17-06-2011, 07:43 AM
I thought it was 13, but maybe it's changed. :dunno:
17-06-2011, 07:48 AM
Whats the kickback response been? Dinnae like venturing over there, last time I did it I had to soak my PC with disinfectant, It didnae work after that!
17-06-2011, 07:50 AM
Don't think so. My son was 13 when he set his up. For the record, I'm not on Facebook.
17-06-2011, 08:01 AM
I've no idea but the paper says it had there D.O.Bs on it?
robinp
17-06-2011, 08:02 AM
Whats the kickback response been? Dinnae like venturing over there, last time I did it I had to soak my PC with dissinfectment, It didnae work after that!
http://theoverflowroom.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/nothing_to_see_here.jpg
Whats the kickback response been? Dinnae like venturing over there, last time I did it I had to soak my PC with dissinfectment, It didnae work after that!
He should be emptied and never touch the jersey again.
No justification when he openly knew there ages and pleaded guilty. Especially as it when over substantial amount of time.
Very silly boy who after beginning to settle in has now ruined his own career.
17-06-2011, 08:05 AM
You weren't saying that when they won the war for us. :tsk tsk:
Both wars:wink:
biggie1875
17-06-2011, 08:06 AM
Didn't think my post was any worse than other comments not ott in my opinion
17-06-2011, 08:11 AM
Nada!:ostrich:
17-06-2011, 08:31 AM
No justification when he openly knew there ages and pleaded guilty. Especially as it when over substantial amount of time.
No, the Chuckle Brothers are silly boys.
Thomson is disgusting and a disgrace. If the Yams had any integrity left in their shambles of a club then he'd be out on his arse this morning.
17-06-2011, 08:35 AM
Facebook you must be 13 to register. CT would have known that Facebook is awash with kids much younger than 13. Im just glad im not part of this facebook nonsense. Its not a place i want to be. Its all thats wrong with society.
Thomson is disgusting and a disgrace. If the Yams had any integrity left in their shambles of a club then he'd be out on his arse this morning.
17-06-2011, 08:40 AM
we need to get a song together for the derby games,that will really cheese them off big time:thumbsup:
the beasts of midlothian
17-06-2011, 08:42 AM
still sing a song though!
17-06-2011, 08:45 AM
Didn't think my post was any worse than other comments not ott in my opinionI thought it was quite good :agree:
17-06-2011, 08:45 AM
Whats the kickback response been? Dinnae like venturing over there, last time I did it I had to soak my PC with disinfectant, It didnae work after that!
I risked my PC to go and have a look:
He didn't even get any of them smashed I bet. What a waste of getting put on the register imo
I think ken Clarke has the right idea on this keep of think! ;.)
For the people calling him to be sacked, get a grip. He may be a bit of a creep but are you telling me lads his age arent doing the same ****?
If the bursd was tidy he should have walked IMO
Those were on the first couple of pages on the thread.
biggie1875
17-06-2011, 08:50 AM
I thought it was quite good :agree:
Same shame really will just have to start singing it instead :greengrin
17-06-2011, 08:52 AM
Considering how they don't have to balance the books, writing off this boy's contract shouldn't cause them any problems. I wonder what he means when he says that the people at the club have been great to him.
17-06-2011, 08:53 AM
I hope if he does manage to get a game this season that someone snaps him, most normal people hate people like this and if it was me i would happily take a few games banned to make sure he was in pain
17-06-2011, 08:56 AM
I risked my PC to go and have a look:
Jezza:
He didn't even get any of them smashed I bet. What a waste of getting put on the register imo
Those were on the first couple of pages on the thread.
So it would have been alright if Thomson had "smashed" a 12 year old. Pervert.
Those clowns are quick enough to have a go (sometimes physically) at opponents (Lennon, Riordan) who have been convicted of nothing in their lives. Yet they openly support people who have been convicted of sexual offences. Perverse perverts.
17-06-2011, 08:57 AM
Considering how they don't have to balance the books, writing off this boy's contract shouldn't cause them any problems. I wonder what he means when he says that the people at the club have been great to him.
It surely wouldnt cost them anything to get rid of him? He could be sacked.
17-06-2011, 08:58 AM
Facebook you must be 13 to register. CT would have known that Facebook is awash with kids much younger than 13. Im just glad im not part of this facebook nonsense. Its not a place i want to be. Its all thats wrong with society.
He actually knew the girl personally so the fact it was on Facebook doesn't even matter. He knew she was 12 and would have known her age before he was pals with her on Facebook. :agree:
17-06-2011, 08:58 AM
So it would have been alright if Thomson had "smashed" a 12 year old. Pervert.
Those clowns are quick enough to have a go (sometimes physically) at opponents (Lennon, Riordan) who have been convicted of nothing in their lives. Yet they openly support people who have been convicted of sexual offences. Perverse perverts.
Yep. Although it's hardly surprising that a club that regularly employs beasts should have beasts amongst their support.
17-06-2011, 08:59 AM
Heart of Midlothian are morally and financially bankrupt
17-06-2011, 09:18 AM
Pretty disgusting tbh.
Haggis Hibby
17-06-2011, 09:30 AM
Sick perv should never play football at any level again.. if the reports are true... if he had done any of the with my kids i would now be doing time and he wouldnt be able to play again...
I know its Hearts but it could be any team... i just hope they deal with it in the correct manner...
17-06-2011, 09:35 AM
I wonder what he means when he says that the people at the club have been great to him.
Clear implication there that a supply of underage East Europeans is being provided for him at this time of need. :agree:
Benny Brazil
17-06-2011, 09:40 AM
A couple of weeks in Saughton is what this guy deserves - they will know how to treat people like him.
If he keeps his "job" then it's an absolute disgrace.
cam75
17-06-2011, 09:44 AM
Break his legs every 6-8 weeks,BEAST Hate them all couple years inbeside some big hairy brutes in Saughton teach them the raw side of life,should be booted from the club no pass and go,REMOVED BY ADMIN
17-06-2011, 09:57 AM
Sick perv should never play football at any level again.. if the reports are true... if he had done any of the with my kids i would now be doing time and he wouldnt be able to play again...
I know its Hearts but it could be any team... i just hope they deal with it in the correct manner...
It is true, Its a FACT. So said the Judge @ Edinburgh Sheriff Court No. 5 :agree:
Im like you. If he had done that trick with my daughter i'd look him up and have a talk about it :wink:
17-06-2011, 09:59 AM
we need to get a song together for the derby games,that will really cheese them off big time:thumbsup:
the beasts of midlothian
sex case sex case, hang um hang um hang um.
Suburban Hibby
17-06-2011, 10:03 AM
sex case sex case, hang um hang um hang um.
The old ones are the best ones- macVicar- great movie.
17-06-2011, 10:04 AM
According to the Scotsman, Thomson asked to see the 12 year old bairn's chest during a web-chat and starting talking about sexual acts too. As if sending photos of your whanger to all and sundry weren't bad enough...
He's an active paedophile. No question. I wonder how far he'd have gone if not caught when he was.
It's going to go down a treat at supporter functions. "Eh Craig, could you come over and do a few photos with these mad keen Hearts fans?". "Hoi, if that **** comes within 14 feet of ma bairn, I'll ****ing chin the beast".
17-06-2011, 10:13 AM
According to the Scotsman, Thomson asked to see the 12 year old bairn's chest during a web-chat and starting talking about sexual acts too. As if sending photos of your whanger to all and sundry weren't bad enough...
He's an active paedophile. No question. I wonder how far he'd have gone if not caught when he was.
It's going to go down a treat at supporter functions. "Eh Craig, could you come over and do a few photos with these mad keen Hearts fans?". "Hoi, if that **** comes within 14 feet of ma bairn, I'll ****ing chin the beast".
You actually raise a good point though beefster.
There may be conditions on Thomson that he is not to be near or have contact with children under a certain age. That would mean clearly that he would not be the best player to send to places like the Sick Kids, schools etc when they do their press calls and various gigs in the community.
It's for this very reason I find the comments attributed to him, saying that the management and staff have been 'different class' absiolutely astonishing in this day and age. They are employers and have a responsibility to not only protect their other employees, but those that the business comes into contact with, namely impresionable young fans.
That said, there by the grace of god. I am sure there are other players from a host of other clubs that abuse their position as pro footballers. Whatever happens, Thomson's behaviour is nothing short of disgraceful.
HNA12
17-06-2011, 10:15 AM
Please don't post up the dodgy 'funny' songs on here.
Cheers.
17-06-2011, 10:16 AM
C'mon folks. The irony being that kids use this site too.
17-06-2011, 10:24 AM
Poll on sickbag:
Should Hearts sack Craig Thomson?
YES (71 votes [91.03%])
NO (7 votes [8.97%])
17-06-2011, 10:25 AM
If the disgusting club don't sack him then there's something seriously wrong. They do like their paedophiles are we know though.
They'll soon have more nonces than war heros :agree:
17-06-2011, 10:31 AM
I dont think uncle Vlad will be too happy about this shameful act. Cant see him playin again for them
Romanov described Rix as a 'hero' when asked about employing someone who'd had sex with a child so I wouldn't bet on it.
17-06-2011, 10:32 AM
C'mon folks. The irony being that kids use this site too.
Wheres the irony in that?
Surely it'd only be ironic if we were slating him, and at the same time as sending pm's to the younger members of this forum making lewd suggestions...
17-06-2011, 10:32 AM
Defended him until the facts were known, however if these are the true facts than it's indefensible and pretty bizarre behaviour.
I will, however, trust that the courts have dished out the correct punishment and won't buy into ideas about how those great guys in Saughton would 'teach him a lesson' :rolleyes:
17-06-2011, 10:34 AM
Please don't post up the dodgy 'funny' songs on here.
Cheers.
I haven't posted any songs up, but I'm interested in what the problem was with the last one? It's no longer unsubstantiated rumour so theres no problem from that angle but I didn't think it was, lyrically, that offensive either. It could have been a lot worse.
17-06-2011, 10:35 AM
Steve -O You always seem to defend these people, do you have kids? Imagine if that was your 12 year old daughter who he had been contacting on the internet.
Do you think a fine and put on a register is punishment?
HNA12
17-06-2011, 10:46 AM
I haven't posted any songs up, but I'm interested in what the problem was with the last one? It's no longer unsubstantiated rumour so theres no problem from that angle but I didn't think it was, lyrically, that offensive either. It could have been a lot worse.
This place has always been kept as family friendly as possible. (Ironic given the topic here.) I don't think songs poking fun at paedophiles fall in to that category do they? It's a difficult subject as it is, all we ask is for a little bit of restraint here as you discuss this case.
17-06-2011, 10:48 AM
Steve -O You always seem to defend these people, do you have kids? Imagine if that was your 12 year old daughter who he had been contacting on the internet.
Do you think a fine and put on a register is punishment?
Saying something is indefensible is defending something now is it?
I'm just happy to trust the Justice system to deal with it in the way they think appropriate.
Too many people are just happy to jump to the argument of 'chuck him in jail and see what happens in there'.
It's not been deemed serious enough to warrant a sentence of imprisonment, end of.
Edit - I'd also say a fine, being put on the sex offenders register, and having the crime made public knowledge in a national newspaper is a reasonable punishment, yes! Not to mention the likely sacking that will follow.
Benny Brazil
17-06-2011, 10:51 AM
Defended him until the facts were known, however if these are the true facts than it's indefensible and pretty bizarre behaviour.
I will, however, trust that the courts have dished out the correct punishment and won't buy into ideas about how those great guys in Saughton would 'teach him a lesson' :rolleyes:
So putting a paedophile on a register and fining him is suitable punishment?
Let me ask you - if it were your 12yrd old daughter he was trying to groom would you be happy with this?
17-06-2011, 10:53 AM
This place has always been kept as family friendly as possible. (Ironic given the topic here.) I don't think songs poking fun at paedophiles fall in to that category do they? It's a difficult subject as it is, all we ask is for a little bit of restraint here as you discuss this case.
Surely better they are the subject of ridicule than hidden away no?
Anyway my new idea for a song is..................
TRUST YOU MR O!!!!!!! - my song idea was edited!!!! Just think of a well known Hun song and insert the word 'Jim' instead o 'Jock'...
biggie1875
17-06-2011, 10:56 AM
He is a beast end of and should be hung ! In my opinion
17-06-2011, 10:58 AM
So putting a paedophile on a register and fining him is suitable punishment?
Let me ask you - if it were your 12yrd old daughter he was trying to groom would you be happy with this?
Well clearly it is because that's the punishment he got!!
Do you think Judges are dishing out lesser punishments just to annoy people?
17-06-2011, 11:01 AM
I wonder why only 5 years on the register if he hasn't been made to seek treatment. Do the Authorities assume he will simply grow out of being a sick; twisted pervert?
17-06-2011, 11:04 AM
There are others as well - the guy that tried to attack Riordan after he had the audacity to score against them, and IIRC there was another one that was convicted of flashing his chopper at a woman passing by his car.
Offenders managing the team, offenders playing for the team, fans who are nothing but Rangers fans in training, and yet they feel they're in a position to moralise at us?
I don't even know where to start. I'm sure Wee Airdrie Jambo will agree with that.
any more for any more
http://www.thesun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/1972836/Dirty-faker.html
http://news.stv.tv/scotland/east-central/229096-hearts-player-charged-with-shouting-racial-abuse/
http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/scotland/Romanov-claims-girl-lied-to.2682542.jp
http://www.thefreelibrary.com/RIX+THE+HERO%3B+Vlad+says+schoolgirl+victim+cheate d+Hearts+sex+offender...-a0139239677
http://sport.scotsman.com/heartofmidlothianfc/Former-Hearts-player-admits-being.4804327.jp
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Man-admits-sex-act-with.3745817.jp
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2009/05/25/hearts-star-lee-wallace-in-court-over-nightclub-gun-threat-86908-21388042/
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/6113888.stm
http://news.scotsman.com/scotland/Hearts-say-sorry-for-fans.2617377.jp
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1386164/Celtic-boss-Neil-Lennon-attacked-Hearts-fan-Tynecastle.html
http://ifyouknowtheirhistory.blogspot.com/2009/05/mark-walters-talks-about-debut-at.html
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/heart_of_midlothian/1094452.stm
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/religiousissuesinscotland/Seven-Hearts-fans-are-arrested.2830580.jp
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/edinburgh/Hearts-fan-banned-for-sectarian.3780980.jp
http://news.scotsman.com/glasgow/Hearts-fans-arrested-over-claims.6703907.jp
http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4156/is_20010114/ai_n9626195/
Benny Brazil
17-06-2011, 11:12 AM
Well clearly it is because that's the punishment he got!!
Do you think Judges are dishing out lesser punishments just to annoy people?
No I don't they are obviously following some guidelines - but the law is then at fault - he should be punished more heavily. I made the remark about him spending a few weeks in Saughton as he would get a more reasonable "punishment" in there.
You didnt answer my second question?
17-06-2011, 11:18 AM
Hertz MUST end this guys contract.
Despicable person.
Any Hertz fan who defends him is a disgrace. 12 & 14 years old. FFS
17-06-2011, 11:18 AM
Once all the terms and conditions are explained to his legal people and his employers, HOMFC may find themselves in a difficult position where they have to manipulate situations so that Thomson can stay on their books. This is a world away from providing a driver for someone who has lost their license, or anger management or addiction counselling. The club cannot surely hold his hand and help him through this. A sacking has to come.
17-06-2011, 11:19 AM
That's digusting, shamefull he appears to have got of so lighlty.
What also dissapoints me is the attitude of some on here, who appear (to me anyway) to be reveling in this, because it is a stick to beat Hearts with and "good for the banter".
Just my opinion, and I'll say no more on the matter. (not that my opinion is worth much mind :greengrin)
17-06-2011, 11:30 AM
:confused: A tad harsh
17-06-2011, 11:37 AM
Personnaly he knew what he was doing and should be put in jail for a spell not just a fine and put on sex offenders list.
biggie1875
17-06-2011, 11:45 AM
:confused: A tad harsh
I don't think so I have two young daughters and if anyone did that to ether of them hanging would be the least of there worries . Far too soft on peadofiles put them on register give them fine a year or so in jail to mingle with like minded perverts oh yes that's really going to stop them
WellingtonHibby
17-06-2011, 11:48 AM
meh...he seems to have been a silly laddie. He has done something incredibly stupid, but he is barely an adult himself. His whole life and or career is ****ed now, il bet he is kicking himsellf up and down gorgie road. Its indefensible, but he is only young himself. A waste of talent andf a life..
17-06-2011, 11:51 AM
What also dissapoints me is the attitude of some on here, who appear (to me anyway) to be reveling in this, because it is a stick to beat Hearts with and "good for the banter".
Got to agree. Doesnae matter who he plays for (or supports for that matter) he is a convicted nonce. Hopefully his employers will do the right thing.
17-06-2011, 11:52 AM
I don't think so I have two young daughters and if anyone did that to ether of them hanging would be the least of there worries . Far too soft on peadofiles put them on register give them fine a year or so in jail to mingle with like minded perverts oh yes that's really going to stop them
the thing about the achingly hip liberals is they tend to change their minds on this type of topic when they become parents. I am uncomfortable about this vile creature being at liberty to strike again.
17-06-2011, 11:53 AM
Meaning thomson
17-06-2011, 11:58 AM
meh...he seems to have been a silly laddie. He has done something incredibly stupid, but he is barely an adult himself. His whole life and or career is ****ed now, il bet he is kicking himsellf up and down gorgie road. Its indefensible, but he is only young himself. A waste of talent andf a life..
says in the paper he's 20 years old,,,, that's not barely an adult.....
17-06-2011, 12:01 PM
You're being serious? :confused:
_hucks_
17-06-2011, 12:02 PM
Seems like people on here are taking sick pleasure in the one-upsmanship of this whole situation. Complete lack of perspective to use this as a way of 'getting one up the hearts'.
17-06-2011, 12:08 PM
Sick beastin' *******! Hope the wee prick gets his legs broke. BEAST!
17-06-2011, 12:09 PM
Being young is not an excuse IMO, he is 20 years old and going after a 12 year old isnt just a silly mistake. 12 year olds are still in primary school, so there is no reason he should be socialising with them. Not only is it terrible that he engaged with girls of that age, talking about sex over the internet but asking for them to show him pictures and showing them pictures before telling her he wanted to have sex with her is disgusting.
He should never be able to play football again, footballers are banned for taking weight loss pills, so he shouldnt be able to get away with what he has done!
Newry Hibs
17-06-2011, 12:09 PM
Not in any way wanting to condone or defend either him or the Yams - but can they actually and legally sack him?? What if he worked in a bank or shop etc etc?
17-06-2011, 12:10 PM
Not in any way wanting to condone or defend either him or the Yams - but can they actually and legally sack him?? What if he worked in a bank or shop etc etc?
St. Johnstone sacked Kevin Thomas (another Yam) and George O'Boyle for sniffing coke in a toilet.
17-06-2011, 12:12 PM
At 20 he is an adult. My 14 yr old son knows better!
Again a waste of talent but he knew what he was doing.
17-06-2011, 12:13 PM
Seems like people on here are taking sick pleasure in the one-upsmanship of this whole situation. Complete lack of perspective to use this as a way of 'getting one up the hearts'.
Not sure what the issue is here.
Are you arguing that if everyone shows dignity and respect towards HOMFC, that will somehow diminish the frequency of child sex offending? :confused:
If not, what exactly is the good that will come of showing dignity and respect towards HOMFC in the circumstances? :dunno:
Newry Hibs
17-06-2011, 12:15 PM
St. Johnstone sacked Kevin Thomas (another Yam) and George O'Boyle for sniffing coke in a toilet.
I would expect either a resignation or a sacking. Sacking first I would hope.
biggie1875
17-06-2011, 12:18 PM
The level of risk of re offending I'm sure when rix was with hearts there was something put in place that he wasn't allowed to train the youth team ? I may be wrong but with all jobs does it not state in your contract that can't be seen to be doing anything to harm the reputation of your employers ?
17-06-2011, 12:24 PM
No I don't they are obviously following some guidelines - but the law is then at fault - he should be punished more heavily. I made the remark about him spending a few weeks in Saughton as he would get a more reasonable "punishment" in there.
You didnt answer my second question?
I don't think any victim of crime is ever happy with the punishment dished out so it's an irrelevant question and the reason that victims do not dish out sentences.
Why is it that people think people already in prison are somehow morally superior to other criminals?
It's your opinion that the law is at fault however you seem to state it as a fact? If Thompson never reoffends then won't it have been proven not to be at fault? Only time will tell.
17-06-2011, 12:26 PM
He's a convicted sex offender, end of, I would hope Hibs would have the balls to do what HomoFC haven't and thats boot the sicko out..............
17-06-2011, 12:26 PM
What do you suggest? A life sentence for sending a photo on Facebook?
17-06-2011, 12:28 PM
Not sure what the issue is here.
Are you arguing that if everyone shows dignity and respect towards HOMFC, that will somehow diminish the frequency of child sex offending? :confused:
If not, what exactly is the good that will come of showing dignity and respect towards HOMFC in the circumstances? :dunno:
Hearts now have the full set. Manager, player, supporters all convicted in the courts of sexual contact with minors. One incident even took place in their own stadium.
When the man at the top describes such behaviour as "heroic" you have to start asking some serious questions about what is going on over there.
17-06-2011, 12:29 PM
I think being convicted of a criminal offence is grounds for gross misconduct but presumably they'd have to go through some sort of process before it could happen. Clearly he's kept them informed throughout so who knows what will happen.
They'll probably get rid of him to avoid the bad press, and fair enough really.
17-06-2011, 12:31 PM
says in the paper he's 20 years old,,,, that's not barely an adult.....
He would've been 18-19 at the time. That is barely an adult IMO. Depends on the person really. Some grow up at 16, others don't. Clearly he didn't.
17-06-2011, 12:33 PM
Saying something is indefensible is defending something now is it?
I'm just happy to trust the Justice system to deal with it in the way they think appropriate.
Too many people are just happy to jump to the argument of 'chuck him in jail and see what happens in there'.
It's not been deemed serious enough to warrant a sentence of imprisonment, end of.
Edit - I'd also say a fine, being put on the sex offenders register, and having the crime made public knowledge in a national newspaper is a reasonable punishment, yes! Not to mention the likely sacking that will follow.
How can you say that, i bet the parents of these kids were wanting a prison sentence for this kind of crime, he is a very lucky person that he is not having lunch with the rest of the sex offenders at Saughton Prison.
If he wasn't a footballer and some unemployed person he would be having lunch in Saughton right now.
A predator groomer beast, he should be in jail. :aok:
biggie1875
17-06-2011, 12:39 PM
So it's ok to send pictures of your genitals to under age girls now is it and also to ask them to expose them selfs to you ? I'm saying the law isn't hard enough on these beasts it don't matter if he was 18 at the time or 50 it's wrong it's bloody kids ffs what would you suggest
17-06-2011, 12:40 PM
Once all the terms and conditions are explained to his legal people and his employers, HOMFC may find themselves in a difficult position where they have to manipulate situations so that Thomson can stay on their books. This is a world away from providing a driver for someone who has lost their license, or anger management or addiction counselling. The club cannot surely hold his hand and help him through this. A sacking has to come.
I'm glad you said hold his hand. Maybe they could employ somone to hold his camera when he gets his tackle out.
17-06-2011, 12:45 PM
How can you say that, i bet the parents of these kids were wanting a prison sentence for this kind of crime, he is a very lucky person that he is not having lunch with the rest of the sex offenders at Saughton Prison.
If he wasn't a footballer and some unemployed person he would be having lunch in Saughton right now.
A predator groomer beast, he should be in jail. :aok:
What do you mean how can I say that? I can say that because it is what has happened, it is a fact. It has NOT been deemed serious enough to warrant imprisonment. I didn't make the decision, you didn't make the decision, the parents didn't make the decision, nor did any other lynch mob make the decision. A Judge, who is not in such a position through luck, made a decision based on all the facts (which we don't have) and presumably years of experience FFS!
Never ceases to amaze me how many would be Judges there are on here. Maybe you should all go for a change of career if you are such experts on law and order?
Dr Jimmy
17-06-2011, 12:46 PM
What about the effect this is having on the victims and their families? He is an adult and his victims are children, regardless of the waste of his football talent think about the day to day effect this will have on the individual victims, the despair their parents must be going through and will continue to go through knowing that an adult tried to groom their child.
I ****ing despair of people who continue to see the innocent in the guilty (yes he plead GUILTY!). He is a pervert and a danger to children regardless of what he does for a living and should be treated as such!!!
17-06-2011, 12:49 PM
This is not a case of just sending a photo on facebook, its much much more serious than that. He exposed himself to them, asked them questions no 12 or 14 should ever have asked to them especially from a 20 year old and was looking to one of them for sex. Luckily he was caught before it went any further, it might not have went any further, but the intent at that time was there.
I would say a prison sentance for exposing himself, asking for the girls to expose themselves and stating he wanted to have sex with them, one of which is a girl of primary school age, is not over the top.
17-06-2011, 12:50 PM
So it's ok to send pictures of your genitals to under age girls now is it and also to ask them to expose them selfs to you ? I'm saying the law isn't hard enough on these beasts it don't matter if he was 18 at the time or 50 it's wrong it's bloody kids ffs what would you suggest
Maybe you should go to prison for defamation of my character since you are talking out of your erse about what I actually said. Not once did I ever say it was "ok" in any way to do what he's done.
I would suggest we let experienced professionals dish out the appropriate sentence rather than baying for blood about how we'd "do time" or whatever else "if it was my daughter".
And, in the eyes of the law it clearly would matter if they were 18 or 50 given that there is a much larger age gap between 12/14 and 50. The punishment would be worse.
17-06-2011, 12:52 PM
What do you mean how can I say that? I can say that because it is what has happened, it is a fact. It has NOT been deemed serious enough to warrant imprisonment. I didn't make the decision, you didn't make the decision, the parents didn't make the decision, nor did any other lynch mob make the decision. A Judge, who is not in such a position through luck, made a decision based on all the facts (which we don't have) and presumably years of experience FFS!
Never ceases to amaze me how many would be Judges there are on here. Maybe you should all go for a change of career if you are such experts on law and order?
Perhaps we couldnt go for a change of career because we wouldnt be able to live with ourselves when we cant put people away for the crimes they commit with sentances we believe are reflective of the crime because of the flaws in the law or governments pushing alternative means of punishment due to overcrowding prisons!
17-06-2011, 12:55 PM
Aye..... but no by the neck. :wink:
People are often comparing Hearts to Rangers, but am I the only one that thinks they are starting to reach a whole different level than that? :dunno:
17-06-2011, 12:56 PM
This is not a case of just sending a photo on facebook, its much much more serious than that. He exposed himself to them, asked them questions no 12 or 14 should ever have asked to them especially from a 20 year old and was looking to one of them for sex. Luckily he was caught before it went any further, it might not have went any further, but the intent at that time was there.
I would say a prison sentance for exposing himself, asking for the girls to expose themselves and stating he wanted to have sex with them, one of which is a girl of primary school age, is not over the top.
Sorry but I disagree someone should go to prison for saying something. Exposing himself, perhaps, but for a first offence it is still fairly harsh. Let's not kid ourselves that he's 'gotten away with it' because he clearly hasn't. He's made the national news (I bet there are cases like this fairly regularly that don't even get near the news), could get sacked from a high profile job, and is now a registered sex offender which I imagine is quite a fall from grace.
He may still be a danger, but I thought the whole purpose of the register was to keep him monitored to try and mitigate any further risk? Obviously the Judge agrees the risk is manageable out in the community, or he would be in prison. Simple as that really.
If he goes on to actually abuse anyone then of course he will go to prison. Or even if he reoffends in this way again he'd probably be at risk of a short stint.
17-06-2011, 12:57 PM
5 pages of giving it tight to the Jambo's "happy days" :greengrin
17-06-2011, 12:58 PM
That is not what happened though, is it.
17-06-2011, 12:59 PM
Hertz MUST end this guys contract.
Despicable person.
Any Hertz fan who defends him is a disgrace. 12 & 14 years old. FFS
17-06-2011, 01:00 PM
I wonder what the rest of the Hearts first team squad and other employees are thinking? If someone at my work had done that, I couldn't see my bosses handling it the way HOMFC seem to be. I suppose that this is one of those times, where football is not the same as other businesses.
17-06-2011, 01:01 PM
It well and truly beats any Garry or Deeks story hands down. Win win
cam75
Sorry but I disagree someone should go to prison for saying something. Exposing himself, perhaps, but for a first offence it is still fairly harsh. Let's not kid ourselves that he's 'gotten away with it' because he clearly hasn't. He's made the national news (I bet there are cases like this fairly regularly that don't even get near the news), could get sacked from a high profile job, and is now a registered sex offender which I imagine is quite a fall from grace.
He may still be a danger, but I thought the whole purpose of the register was to keep him monitored to try and mitigate any further risk? Obviously the Judge agrees the risk is manageable out in the community, or he would be in prison. Simple as that really.
If he goes on to actually abuse anyone then of course he will go to prison. Or even if he reoffends in this way again he'd probably be at risk of a short stint.
THE LAW IS WRONG HE SHOULD BE JAILED,it sends a wrong message out to other would be peados,i have 3 kids and would do jail time if anything like that happend to them.
Perhaps we couldnt go for a change of career because we wouldnt be able to live with ourselves when we cant put people away for the crimes they commit with sentances we believe are reflective of the crime because of the flaws in the law or governments pushing alternative means of punishment due to overcrowding prisons!
Maybe they are pushing for alternative means of punishment because PRISON DOESN'T ALWAYS WORK. Ever thought of that in between frothing at the mouth and wishing every person convicted of an offence was locked up and key thrown away?
Whatever you may think, the preference is that we try and get these people to become productive members of the community without offending - chucking everyone in jail for every crime where they can meet more hardened criminals does not tend to help with this process.
17-06-2011, 01:03 PM
THE LAW IS WRONG HE SHOULD BE JAILED,it sends a wrong message out to other would be peados,i have 3 kids and would do jail time if anything like that happend to them.
Well you'd be a great father to them in prison wouldn't you...:rolleyes:
Think about what you are saying for a minute. Your kids have some weirdo sends them some dodgy pics on Facebook, they are upset. You go mental and kill the guy that did it and are put away for life. Do you REALLY think they'd thank you for that?
biggie1875
17-06-2011, 01:04 PM
Maybe you should go to prison for defamation of my character since you are talking out of your erse about what I actually said. Not once did I ever say it was "ok" in any way to do what he's done.
I would suggest we let experienced professionals dish out the appropriate sentence rather than baying for blood about how we'd "do time" or whatever else "if it was my daughter".
And, in the eyes of the law it clearly would matter if they were 18 or 50 given that there is a much larger age gap between 12/14 and 50. The punishment would be worse.
My daughter or not a fine of £4000 and 5 years on the register is not punishment enough for some one grooming children as for the punishment difference between someone of 18 or 50 in my eyes it should be the same I'll just shut up now then shall I since "I'm talking out my arse " quote !
17-06-2011, 01:05 PM
That is not what happened though, is it.
Alright, some photos, and some lewd comments. A life sentence? 10 years? 5 years?
You'd think that he'd raped and killed these kids with the way some folk are going on.
17-06-2011, 01:07 PM
My daughter or not a fine of £4000 and 5 years on the register is not punishment enough for some one grooming children as for the punishment difference between someone of 18 or 50 in my eyes it should be the same I'll just shut up now then shall I since "I'm talking out my arse " quote !
You are entitled to your opinion on the law, fair do's. You WERE talking out your arse when you suggested I said it was ok to do what Thompson did, because I didn't say that at all!
I'd also suggest that there's a difference between say, a 17 year old having sex with a 15 year old, and a 50 year old having sex with a 15 year old - wouldn't you? That's the kind of angle I am getting at.
17-06-2011, 01:09 PM
He has had to sign the sex offenders register which doesnt mean he will be monitored it means that he has signed it to agree he understands what restrictions he is now under. You are taking the stance of this is what the law states and what the judge has handed therefore it is fair and just. What I and others are saying is that in their opinion he should receive a jail term. You have toned down what actually happened with comments like ' A jail term? for sending a picture on facebook? ' without actually looking at the impacts of the photos and what else want along with it. Dont forget what impact these sorts of things can have on the victims lifes. The victims may be very wary now of anyone stopping them having a normal relationship with anyone their age. Their parents will probably be incredibly strict with them now and bring their children up in a very different way. When people break the law which has effects on people like this I would say in deserves a jail term more than when people get sent down for defrauding a bank out of a few thousand which in the grand scheme of things doesnt really effect anyone.
17-06-2011, 01:12 PM
Alright, some photos, and some lewd comments. A life sentence? 10 years? 5 years?
You'd think that he'd raped and killed these kids with the way some folk are going on.
I've not read all of this thread but having now read what he was found guilt of involved a 12 year old girl that he knew for a number of years sheds a whole new light on what was originally quoted, ie that the other girl was in her late teens and it was mutual. This is someone grooming a 12 year old for sex, given half a chance you can bet that the next stage would've been asking to meet up.
I'm actually quite shocked at your comments above, if it did progress as CT wanted then it may well have been a statutory rape charge on a 12 yo.
cam75
17-06-2011, 01:14 PM
Well you'd be a great father to them in prison wouldn't you...:rolleyes:
Think about what you are saying for a minute. Your kids have some weirdo sends them some dodgy pics on Facebook, they are upset. You go mental and kill the guy that did it and are put away for life. Do you REALLY think they'd thank you for that?
yes i would do time and i never said i would kill id him be out in 5 years,,i cant belive your views,you say WEIRDO i say cut them off with a rusty blunt knife,as a father you hope they are safe from WEIRDOS like this but if it happens then you protect them from harm and danger,are you a dad?
biggie1875
17-06-2011, 01:14 PM
You are entitled to your opinion on the law, fair do's. You WERE talking out your arse when you suggested I said it was ok to do what Thompson did, because I didn't say that at all!
I'd also suggest that there's a difference between say, a 17 year old having sex with a 15 year old, and a 50 year old having sex with a 15 year old - wouldn't you? That's the kind of angle I am getting at.
Agree there but that's not the issue Craig Thomson sent inappropriate pics to a 14 year old child and made sexually explicate remarks to a 12 year old CHILD like someone else said if he hadn't been a footballer he would have been jailed all crimes against children should be delt with harsh sentences in my opinion
17-06-2011, 01:16 PM
He has had to sign the sex offenders register which doesnt mean he will be monitored it means that he has signed it to agree he understands what restrictions he is now under. You are taking the stance of this is what the law states and what the judge has handed therefore it is fair and just. What I and others are saying is that in their opinion he should receive a jail term. You have toned down what actually happened with comments like ' A jail term? for sending a picture on facebook? ' without actually looking at the impacts of the photos and what else want along with it. Dont forget what impact these sorts of things can have on the victims lifes. The victims may be very wary now of anyone stopping them having a normal relationship with anyone their age. Their parents will probably be incredibly strict with them now and bring their children up in a very different way. When people break the law which has effects on people like this I would say in deserves a jail term more than when people get sent down for defrauding a bank out of a few thousand which in the grand scheme of things doesnt really effect anyone.
Fair enough. I think you may be overstating the effect on these particular victims slightly (of course I don't know for certain what effect it will have).
I didn't mean to minimise it with what I was saying, was just trying to prove the point that some on here are probably going a tad too far with their rhetoric!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Violent_and_Sex_Offender_Register
Having just read this, it seems there'll be a fairly close eye being kept on him and I doubt he'll be up to no good on Facebook anytime soon as he surely now knows the consequences.
Nobody can say for certain, but this might've just been a wake up call for him and possibly the last time he's before the courts.
17-06-2011, 01:19 PM
I've not read all of this thread but having now read what he was found guilt of involved a 12 year old girl that he knew for a number of years sheds a whole new light on what was originally quoted, ie that the other girl was in her late teens and it was mutual. This is someone grooming a 12 year old for sex, given half a chance you can bet that the next stage would've been asking to meet up.
I'm actually quite shocked at your comments above, if it did progress as CT wanted then it may well have been a statutory rape charge on a 12 yo.
The point is though, it did not progress. You can't convict and punish someone on the basis of what MIGHT have happened.
Grooming is one thing, progressing to the next level is quite another, and the punishment reflects this.
Ollie Reed
17-06-2011, 01:21 PM
Just hope Hearts do the decent thing. Inexcusable behaviour.
cam75
17-06-2011, 01:21 PM
The point is though, it did not progress. You can't convict and punish someone on the basis of what MIGHT have happened.
Grooming is one thing, progressing to the next level is quite another, and the punishment reflects this.
Are you a father?
17-06-2011, 01:22 PM
yes i would do time and i never said i would kill id him be out in 5 years,,i cant belive your views,you say WEIRDO i say cut them off with a rusty blunt knife,as a father you hope they are safe from WEIRDOS like this but if it happens then you protect them from harm and danger,are you a dad?
Sorry but I don't see going to jail for 5 years as protecting your kids?
Not a dad but I still don't see what that's got to do with the fact you'd find it pretty damn hard to protect anyone while you were locked up.
Don't get me wrong, not saying you wouldn't or shouldn't be absolutely raging at whoever did whatever they did, however getting yourself an even bigger jail term than the perpatrator does not, to me, seem like the best way to handle things. Probably would be better being there to support the kids no?
gringojoe
17-06-2011, 01:22 PM
He would've been 18-19 at the time. That is barely an adult IMO. Depends on the person really. Some grow up at 16, others don't. Clearly he didn't.
If you dont know by 18 that sending pics of your cherry popper to 12 and 14 year old children is wrong you're going to end up spending some serious time in jail.
cam75
17-06-2011, 01:23 PM
Are you a father?
So you are saying that having a knife on you is ok you might use it or maybe not?
17-06-2011, 01:24 PM
Agree there but that's not the issue Craig Thomson sent inappropriate pics to a 14 year old child and made sexually explicate remarks to a 12 year old CHILD like someone else said if he hadn't been a footballer he would have been jailed all crimes against children should be delt with harsh sentences in my opinion
I don't know why him being a footballer would make a difference to be honest? I very much doubt this is the case.
cam75
17-06-2011, 01:25 PM
Sorry but I don't see going to jail for 5 years as protecting your kids?
Not a dad but I still don't see what that's got to do with the fact you'd find it pretty damn hard to protect anyone while you were locked up.
Don't get me wrong, not saying you wouldn't or shouldn't be absolutely raging at whoever did whatever they did, however getting yourself an even bigger jail term than the perpatrator does not, to me, seem like the best way to handle things. Probably would be better being there to support the kids no?
If you have kids your views will change
Its not the best way to deal with it but the law does not work
17-06-2011, 01:26 PM
If you dont know by 18 that sending pics of your cherry popper to 12 and 14 year old children is wrong you're going to end up spending some serious time in jail.
You'd be surprised at what some people think and do, believe me. Although most of the people I am talking about are doing serious time in jail to be fair :greengrin
Mr Thompson obviously has something strange going on that needs to be addressed. All I am saying is that jail maybe isn't necessarily the place to address it!
17-06-2011, 01:26 PM
Do you have children? If you do then i find your views on this very bizarre but it seems like you have no kids
HIBERNIAN 1875
17-06-2011, 01:27 PM
In all seriousness though, this guy clearly has some serious issues, especially given he's been caught twice. :agree:
17-06-2011, 01:29 PM
If you have kids your views will change
Its not the best way to deal with it but the law does not work
I can guarantee my views will not change.
As much as I'd probably like to get revenge on anyone who hurt anyone close to me, I am not going to do so and make the whole situation even worse by getting myself banged up as well!
How do you know the law does not work? If you are saying it doesn't act as a deterrent then you are probably overestimating the deterrent effect with some people. The deterrent of going to prison doesn't work with you going on your revenge mission, and the same thing is true of other people too. That's why the death sentence doesn't work - people still commit those crimes anyway!
17-06-2011, 01:33 PM
Do you have children? If you do then i find your views on this very bizarre but it seems like you have no kids
You are surprised that I don't want the guy beaten to a pulp and thrown in prison at the first opportunity to be battered by those fine upstanding citizens of the community - other prisoners?!
Not entirely sure why people who are parents seem to think their opinions are more valid on these matters. If anything they are less valid as they can't help but bring the "if it was my kids" argument into it when the law has to be more objective than that. I'm sure many Judges, law makers, police, juries, probation officers etc all have kids you know?
17-06-2011, 01:35 PM
So you are saying that having a knife on you is ok you might use it or maybe not?
Eh?
I am sure that carrying a knife is some sort of crime these days, but actually using it to stab someone is another. That's why those 2 crimes carry completely different punishments!
17-06-2011, 01:46 PM
I am off to bed but so I am not defamed and misquoted in my absence I will try and explain what I am saying!
What Craig Thompson did is NOT ok and is much worse than how this story was previously reported (didn't know their ages etc). He is now a convicted sex offender, and rightly so. What he did is bizarre to say the least for any reasonable person to comprehend.
The sentence handed down was deemed appropriate by people who deal with this sort of thing DAILY. It's their job. I'm happy to place my trust in these people to have done the right thing and trust that if he was truly a risk to the community, he would be in prison now.
Let's not forget he did not carry through with his intentions. Whether this was because he was caught in time or not is irrelevant, he still didn't do it, and can't be charged, convicted or hung, drawn and quartered for something that didn't actually occur.
I am not a father but I can still tell you that I would not "do time" for any goddamn paedophile, much as I would absolutely no doubt want to. As stated in a number of posts, it would hardly help the kids recover to have their dad sent to prison for a number of years. Seems to make perfect sense to me but others would rather go to prison and leave their kids without a dad for years on end on top of the other trauma?! That's up to you guys I suppose, but not for me.
Anyhow, that's it from me, so nae calling me a Thompson sympathiser while I am away!! :greengrin
Big Jim Knew.
modsquad
17-06-2011, 02:09 PM
There is currently a poll on KB which shows about 90% want rid of him.
In all honesty, if Hearts don't act, I would not go back to Tynecastle.
I didn't want Rix at the club and I certainly don't want CT at the club. His behaviour crossed so far over the line, he can't even see the line.
Hopefully the clubs lawyers will be looking at this over the next few days and act in the correct manner to ensure that once they empty him, there is no way CT can sue for wrongful dismissal
17-06-2011, 02:20 PM
It wont have ruined his career as hertz the club have no morals and they will definitely not sack him, its the norm over there to be a sex fiend and be paid for it.
oh aye
"Football is my life and I will focus on that before anything. This has been a learning curve," he said.
he means, so next time he wont get caught
"The management and all the staff at Tynecastle have been different class with me. That has helped enormously."
which class, primary 1,2,3 or four ya beast?
Of course they would support you they are all in it together, most dispicable ***** in Scotland.
17-06-2011, 02:23 PM
I think you need to read the press reports of the court case. He sent photos, asked a 12 year to get her chest out in a web-chat and was talking about sexual acts to two kids. He was grooming kids for sexual contact - pure and simple. That's all that has been reported so you can guarantee that there is more too.
To suggest that this was a silly, young laddie sending a 'risque' photo is just inaccurate.
Edit: I see, subsequently, that I'm just making the same point as many others have made in response to this post.
17-06-2011, 02:26 PM
12 Years old, Jeez lets put some perspective on this for Steve-o's benefit as, to me, he needs some. Depending on when they turned 12, they could easilly be PRIMARY 7 FFS.
He is 1 dirty swine and couldn't care who he plays for or what his mental state is, he should be sent to the big house for a lie down:agree:
17-06-2011, 02:28 PM
It was definitely on the road to statutory rape.
I'd suggest that your attitude towards grooming of kids and the punishment of offenders will change if/when you have kids of your own to protect.
17-06-2011, 02:32 PM
Sorry, as much as my favourite thread, the Calendar Signing one, was an farce, this one is just cringeworthy.
I would have thought the admins would have the sense to have deleted it and stopped the feeding frenzy.
17-06-2011, 02:39 PM
Sorry, as much as my favourite thread, the Calendar Signing one, was an farce, this one is just cringeworthy.
I would have thought the admins would have the sense to have deleted it and stopped the feeding frenzy.
Why would the admins want to shut down discussion of something that is being widely reported in the press today?
Considering some of the stuff that is discussed on here regarding race, religion and bigotry in general, I don't think discussing convicted paedophiles and their sentence, especially when he is a professional football at our main rivals, is over the top.
17-06-2011, 02:40 PM
he makes the child catcher look like santa claus
17-06-2011, 02:43 PM
Steve-O, if we have to leave the judgements of crimes to those qualified to do so, i.e. judges, are we to leave the managing of football teams to those qualified, i.e managers?
17-06-2011, 02:49 PM
Why would the admins want to shut down discussion of something that is being widely reported in the press today?
Considering some of the stuff that is discussed on here regarding race, religion and bigotry in general, I don't think discussing convicted paedophiles and their sentence, especially when he is a professional football at our main rivals, is over the top.
No, discussing it in itself is not over the top. But all this "i'd gladly pull the lever myself" sort of stuff is just grim.
But you know, I don't have to read it etc. Just a wee bit OTT in some places.
17-06-2011, 02:52 PM
No, discussing it in itself is not over the top. But all this "i'd gladly pull the lever myself" sort of stuff is just grim.
I agree but it's a very emotive subject.
Every time I read someone say "I'd do time", I do think of Private Eye though!
17-06-2011, 02:58 PM
I can guarantee my views will not change.
As much as I'd probably like to get revenge on anyone who hurt anyone close to me, I am not going to do so and make the whole situation even worse by gettin
g myself banged up as well!
In that case you're not objecting to vigilante justice morally, you just don't fancy getting punished for it...
17-06-2011, 03:01 PM
What an absolute creep. What in god's name is he on about - "a learning curve".
If you don't know, by the age of 20 or whatever he is, that pestering underage kids on Facebook and sending them lewd photos of your John Thomas is completely unacceptable, then he should be removed from HoMFC, and society in general, for his own good, and - more importantly - for the safety of the umpteen innocent youngsters who have a social networking account.
That HoMFC haven't summarily sacked him already speaks volumes on that rancid institution.
17-06-2011, 03:03 PM
There is currently a poll on KB which shows about 90% want rid of him.
In all honesty, if Hearts don't act, I would not go back to Tynecastle.
I didn't want Rix at the club and I certainly don't want CT at the club. His behaviour crossed so far over the line, he can't even see the line.
Hopefully the clubs lawyers will be looking at this over the next few days and act in the correct manner to ensure that once they empty him, there is no way CT can sue for wrongful dismissal
Scary that 10% of Hearts fans think its ok to groom 12 year olds.
17-06-2011, 03:03 PM
I agree but it's a very emotive subject.
Every time I read someone say "I'd do time", I do think of Private Eye though!
It makes me think of FilledRolls. And I've heard he wouldn't need an alarm clock the next morning...
17-06-2011, 03:47 PM
Not at all surprising. Knowing those creeps as I do, I'm more surprised that 90% want rids of him.
Still, I agree its worrying that there are 40,000 paedophillies or their sympathisers in the city.
17-06-2011, 03:48 PM
Disgusting club. Disgusting fans. Disgusting players. No matter how bad Hibs ever get I still wake up and thank the gods that I am not associated with that revolting organisation.
17-06-2011, 03:56 PM
There was a post suggesting that the 10% were undercover hobos trying to discredit HoM.
17-06-2011, 04:04 PM
Erm, yes you can and I think your find the word 'Conspiring or conspiracy' to commit the offence in the charge.
Grooming a child to have sex and being caught before it actually happens should be NO different to actually progressing to the actual act of statutory rape of a minor.
17-06-2011, 04:04 PM
Sorry but I disagree someone should go to prison for saying something. Exposing himself, perhaps, but for a first offence it is still fairly harsh.
I have to say I am required to do child (and adult) protection training through my job and while it may be the first offence he was convicted off it is highly unlikely, to the point of being absolutely unique, if it is truly his first offence.
If it is 12 year old girls that float his boat then I would predict, quite comfortably based on the evidence of past behaviours, that he will re-offend and he will actually abuse someone. The stats would even suggest that the chances of this already having happened are possible to probable.
But nobody can be convicted of anything they might have done, or might yet do, and the only thing that saved him from prison is the fact that no actual contact took place. The Law is still catching up with the interwed and there appears to be, psychologically at least, a barrier between webcams and reality and a line that appears, to some at least. difficult to transcend.
17-06-2011, 04:06 PM
I'm going to pass up the opportunity to put the boot into Hearts as paedo club with no morals whatsoever (whoops - dammit...) and try and and look at the case in its merits.
I don't agree that he's just a 'silly wee laddie.' Yes, we know the internet and the Facebook phenomenon constitutes a relatively a relatively new media, but most 18, 19, 20 or 13 or 14 year olds have developed enough sense of morality/sexual proprietry/intelligence/respect for others/understanding of issues of sexuality etc etc not to expose themselves to young girls or make lewd remarks and grooming propositions.
This young man is not on any learning curve, all he learning from his behaviour and the despicable reaction of his employers, is that he must be more sneaky and underhand and NOT GET CAUGHT the next time he indulges his nefarious impulses to the detriment of children.
I don't know if he's being monitored by social services and counseled by professionals, but he should be.
Yes, he's still a young man, but this has happened twice, and as far as I know he's expressed no remorse towards the children he was grooming, or expressed any understanding of how he accepts this behaviour is wrong and potentially damaging to others. All that seems to be happening is the self-centred, 'they got me, I'll have to be cleverer in the future.'
The crux of the matter is that children have to be protected from this type of behaviour and those who perpetrate it.
As for the behaviour of Hearts as a club, well, the fact that they're so out of step with even their own fan base says it all.
17-06-2011, 04:11 PM
This is totally different to what I originally read about the case.
I'm sure it was claimed that the girls concerned were 15 (although it would still have been illegal for him to contact girls of this age in such a way, a 19 year old and a 15 year old doesn't seem too strange) and that he thought they were at least 16.
However, what he has now admitted to, and been found guilty of, is asking girls of around 12 years old to expose their breasts to him and discussing having sex with them and also about exposing his genitals.
He knew the 12 year old personally so he was fully aware of her age.
Not only should he undoubtedly have got a custodial sentence for this offence but Hearts surely now have no other option but to sack him for gross misconduct.
In no other sector would someone convicted of this kind of offence stay in their job.
17-06-2011, 04:18 PM
He WILL be monitored and WILL be subject to MAPPs meetings and the like. He will not be allowed a computer or internet access. He will not be allowed a mobile phone that can access the internet and will not be allowed to send MMS messages. He will be disqualified from mixing with groups that could be considered vulnerable without special dispensation or monitoring. He will NEVER be allowed to work alone with any kids or adullts who come under ASPA legislation again. Ever.He will be allocated a liaison officer (usually a police officer who is known as "the BeastMaster"" in the trade) who will report back to the MAPPs meetings on his behalf and check his compliance with the courts instructions. If he even wants to go to the baths or cinema he will have to clear it with his Beastmaster. His name will be on the Register of Sex Offenders (Scotland) for five years. If
The consequences of his actions will last a lifetime.
17-06-2011, 04:21 PM
This is totally different to what I originally read about the case.
I'm sure it was claimed that the girls concerned were 15 (although it would still have been illegal for him to contact girls of this age in such a way, a 19 year old and a 15 year old doesn't seem too strange) and that he thought they were at least 16.
However, what he has now admitted to, and been found guilty of, is asking girls of around 12 years old to expose their breasts to him and discussing having sex with them and also about exposing his genitals.
He knew the 12 year old personally so he was fully aware of her age.
Not only should he undoubtedly have got a custodial sentence for this offence but Hearts surely now have no other option but to sack him for gross misconduct.
In no other sector would someone convicted of this kind of offence stay in their job.
I agree this seems as clear case of 'grooming' to me and indecent exposure. Sure there must be a good legal reason he wasn't jailed.
None the less he was surely aware that the child was underage when he was sending her pictures and to me that is more than good enough for a period behind bars.
This story shows he got off lightly when he was at ER last time out, god knows what abuse he will get in future if Hearts continue to stand behind him and play him.
17-06-2011, 04:51 PM
I just wonder how much Hertz were aware of the case i.e. the details of the allegations made. I'd guess not much or they wouldn't have been using him as one of the posterboys for their new away strip.
Would they? :hmmm:
KiddA
17-06-2011, 04:56 PM
If he did this in the U.S he would be in jail and they should push for that in the uk too.
I can't believe he never got jail for his actions
17-06-2011, 05:09 PM
Leading story on Scotland Today with some Hearts fans calling for him to be sacked. :applause:
LeithBoozy
17-06-2011, 05:18 PM
Im led to believe his dad is a ST holder at ER. More victims, why dont they stop and think before ruining lots of Inocent lives FFS.
17-06-2011, 05:50 PM
Fat Jim Knew!
17-06-2011, 05:55 PM
He WILL be monitored and WILL be subject to MAPPs meetings and the like. He will not be allowed a computer or internet access. He will not be allowed a mobile phone that can access the internet and will not be allowed to send MMS messages. He will be disqualified from mixing with groups that could be considered vulnerable without special dispensation or monitoring. He will NEVER be allowed to work alone with any kids or adullts who come under ASPA legislation again. Ever.He will be allocated a liaison officer (usually a police officer who is known as "the BeastMaster"" in the trade) who will report back to the MAPPs meetings on his behalf and check his compliance with the courts instructions. If he even wants to go to the baths or cinema he will have to clear it with his Beastmaster. His name will be on the Register of Sex Offenders (Scotland) for five years. If
The consequences of his actions will last a lifetime.
Have you seen the terms of his charge? Not all people on the sex offenders register have internet access removed, not all have to check in as frequently as you suggest either. There is also the fact that convicted sex offenders that are not allowed to use the internet can still access it quite easily which has forced the government to start using some software to track them but its proving difficult. There is also the problem of over 20,000 on the register already which means tracking and policing them all very difficult. I get what you are saying in that they are all MEANT to be tracked etc, but this isnt the case as there are too many now with little resource to track them.
Stick them in jail, its easier to track them in there.
17-06-2011, 06:28 PM
[QUOTE=hibs13681;2832127]
Have you seen the terms of his charge?
Not all people on the sex offenders register have internet access removed,
For this type of offence they do.
not all have to check in as frequently as you suggest either.
He will initally but this may relax a bit as time passes.
There is also the fact that convicted sex offenders that are not allowed to use the internet can still access it quite easily which has forced the government to start using some software to track them but its proving difficult.
Correct.
There is also the problem of over 20,000 on the register already which means tracking and policing them all very difficult.
Correct
I get what you are saying in that they are all MEANT to be tracked etc, but this isnt the case as there are too many now with little resource to track them.
Most are now tracked by using other agencies. Failure to engage with support services would usually have repercusions at the Public Protection meetings. It's been a bit of a dogs dinner but is much better now.
An emotive yet understandable viewpoint.
Kevvy1875
17-06-2011, 07:38 PM
Ughhhhhh. I have a daughter at 11yr old. Disgusting to think that these kind of predators are let off with a slap on the wrist like this and even worse allowed to continue their career in the public eye as if nothing happened.
17-06-2011, 07:44 PM
Is this post headline the hipocracy that brass eye were on about?
17-06-2011, 07:49 PM
17-06-2011, 07:51 PM
This beggars belief. His life will be misery from this point on. It's bad enough for an ordinary Joe, but a pro footballer? Can't see how he can live with the constant abuse.
I met a guy who made some inappropriate remarks to some girls when he was bladdered. As Randall J. McMurphy said, "14 going on 44". He cannot move without the Sex Offenders people knowing, Thomson will suffer OK.
Not taking any extra pleasure here cos he is a Yam. This is so serious bringing in football rivalry just trivialises it.
17-06-2011, 07:52 PM
Player of the Year already I think :greengrin
17-06-2011, 07:54 PM
Do you have that in a bigger size mate? I would love to send that to my jambo mates.:wink:
17-06-2011, 07:56 PM
Do you have that in a bigger size mate? I would love to send that to my jambo mates.:wink:
PM me an email address and I'll send you the files I have :thumbsup:
17-06-2011, 08:06 PM
Beast.
Horrible beast.
loanheadhibby
17-06-2011, 08:13 PM
Beast.
Horrible beast.
I was at the loanhead childrens parade tonight with my daughter and was on the look out for the wee perv incase he was prowling about the primary 7s.
nonce
17-06-2011, 08:44 PM
Have you seen the terms of his charge? Not all people on the sex offenders register have internet access removed, not all have to check in as frequently as you suggest either. There is also the fact that convicted sex offenders that are not allowed to use the internet can still access it quite easily which has forced the government to start using some software to track them but its proving difficult. There is also the problem of over 20,000 on the register already which means tracking and policing them all very difficult. I get what you are saying in that they are all MEANT to be tracked etc, but this isnt the case as there are too many now with little resource to track them.
:top marks Totally agree.
I am completely opposed to spending time, money and resources trying to track the daily movements of convicted sex offenders.
These things are set up to protect the public in case of reoffending. If the authorities suspect that these people continue to pose a real threat to society then they should be jailed for an indefinite period of time and not released until the authorities are happy that they pose absolutely no risk of reoffending.
If they are no longer considered to pose a threat to society then they should be released and shouldn't face any further sanctions with regards to tracking their movements etc unless they are found to be reoffending again.
17-06-2011, 08:46 PM
This beggars belief. His life will be misery from this point on. It's bad enough for an ordinary Joe, but a pro footballer? Can't see how he can live with the constant abuse.
I met a guy who made some inappropriate remarks to some girls when he was bladdered. As Randall J. McMurphy said, "14 going on 44". He cannot move without the Sex Offenders people knowing, Thomson will suffer OK.
Not taking any extra pleasure here cos he is a Yam. This is so serious bringing in football rivalry just trivialises it.
I'm surprised he can live with himself anyway, pursuing girls who he knew to be underage and doing what he did. He's brought every last bit of abuse he gets on himself.
Re: the highlighted bit, I have no idea who Randall J. McMurphy is, but it rather seems that you are lining up a ready made excuse for the likes of Thomson that if a girl looks/acts older than she actually is, that can be considered a mitigating factor that lessens the severity of their repugnant behaviour??
I sure hope that's not the case............
17-06-2011, 08:55 PM
i'm surprised he can live with himself anyway, pursuing girls who he knew to be underage and doing what he did. He's brought every last bit of abuse he gets on himself.
Re: The highlighted bit, i have no idea who randall j. Mcmurphy is, but it rather seems that you are lining up a ready made excuse for the likes of thomson that if a girl looks/acts older than she actually is, that can be considered a mitigating factor that lessens the severity of their repugnant behaviour??
I sure hope that's not the case............
jfgi!!
17-06-2011, 08:57 PM
You are surprised that I don't want the guy beaten to a pulp and thrown in prison at the first opportunity to be battered by those fine upstanding citizens of the community - other prisoners?!
Not entirely sure why people who are parents seem to think their opinions are more valid on these matters. If anything they are less valid as they can't help but bring the "if it was my kids" argument into it when the law has to be more objective than that. I'm sure many Judges, law makers, police, juries, probation officers etc all have kids you know?
I am sorry but are you at the wind up, either that or you are a bloody social worker.
What the guy did is inexcusable, the fact that he knew full well that the younger of 2 girls was that age, makes is umpteen times worse.
Dont you get that his actions to the point of getting caught were designed specifically to get to the point where he did actually have sex with them? He had propositioned them after all.
Your comments indicate that there was no real harm done. and almost indicate that we should almost have waited and seen what happened before judging him too harshly.
The fact that you have no children of your own makes you IMO incredibly poorly positioned to tell folk they are over reacting.
I promise you that from the first moment you hold your child in your arms, your world and your view of the wider world changes hugely.
Its no longer you standing up and fighting all comers for yourself.
You have a sacred duty to protect that child and for the more responsible adults in society it awakens in you the need to look out for other children who dont have anyone to do so for them
RSPCA, Childline etc etc?
I really dont give a flying **** if he was the nicest laddie in the school, good to animals and old folk and the treasurer of the kirk, what he did is so far off the moral compass that he should be locked up and the key thrown away until they are certain he has zero risk of re-offending.
**** like him lose all right to the niceties of legal jurisprudence, the minute they cross that line.
Do gooding apologists like you championing their rights and diluting the severity of their crimes and where they could lead, are naive beyond belief and really need to get out their and smell the coffee.
17-06-2011, 09:08 PM
I think it's totally understandable to feel vengeful towards people who do harm towards those who are unable to defend or speak up for themselves.
I don't have any children but if I did I'm sure I would feel just like the parents on here who have kids around the age of 11/12. However I do have an elderly grandparent, who does not keep very well and has a lot of illnesses. If anyone harmed her then I would feel like seeking revenge on the person responsible and I wouldn't be shy in admitting that, nor would I be apologising for feeling that way.
steviehibsleith
17-06-2011, 09:20 PM
This young footballer would have had very good representation in court and what the yams should really be looking it is the fact that the judge has imposed such a severe penalty as in a fine, restrictions, and on the sex offenders register. For him to say it was a learning curve beggers belief i would say he is a serious risk to children in the judges opinion. As a easily recognisable face about the town then surely he will have to leave as does any sex offender when they are known in the community they live in.
just_joe
17-06-2011, 09:28 PM
If hearts keep him on then they are basically condonin peadophilia (sp). His career is all but over in my opinion. Silly boy.
gringojoe
17-06-2011, 09:55 PM
http://youtu.be/Pvk0uSQY3PQ
17-06-2011, 10:18 PM
I am sorry but are you at the wind up, either that or you are a bloody social worker.
No, he's studying to be a judge in New Zealand, I believe. :soapbox:
biggie1875
17-06-2011, 10:27 PM
If he stays should they give him the squad number 666 ?
17-06-2011, 10:30 PM
wow :greengrin
17-06-2011, 10:32 PM
wow :greengrin
Storar :not worth :greengrin
17-06-2011, 10:50 PM
The worrying thing is while 2 cases have been proved, its likely there were lots more. I can see why people think a custodial sentence would be appropriate but he will definitely suffer, his life is effectively ruined. 18 year old boy -14 year old girl, as a 17 year old boy there's been cases of guys that age having sex with girls that age at my school, its shocking how often stuff like this happens, anyone else go to a school where there's been a similar age difference?
17-06-2011, 11:14 PM
No, he's studying to be a judge in New Zealand, I believe. :soapbox:
Ha ha, I wish! Besides, you have to become a lawyer first to become a Judge.
Neale
17-06-2011, 11:27 PM
Get this sick individual tae ****
I might be a Hearts supporter on your forum but im sure we are all in agreement that this guy has no place in football or any form of society.
The scary thing is, if the girl hadnt told her mum, how far would it have gone?
17-06-2011, 11:27 PM
I am neither.
What the guy did is inexcusable, the fact that he knew full well that the younger of 2 girls was that age, makes is umpteen times worse.
I'm not excusing it in any way.
Dont you get that his actions to the point of getting caught were designed specifically to get to the point where he did actually have sex with them? He had propositioned them after all.
Yes I do get it, but luckily it never got to that point so there's little point in speculating about what MIGHT have happened now, is there? Lets just be thankful that it did not happen. Even with the grooming, it is still impossible to say that he definitely would've followed through on what he appeared to want to do.
Your comments indicate that there was no real harm done. and almost indicate that we should almost have waited and seen what happened before judging him too harshly.
I don't see how my point indicates that at all. It is a good thing he was caught before things went any further. Compared to what could have happened, there was no REAL harm done. No physical harm, at least. Hard to say how the kids will be affected but kids are probably more resilient than you give them credit for and hopefully there will be no lasting effect.
The fact that you have no children of your own makes you IMO incredibly poorly positioned to tell folk they are over reacting.
Sorry but I disagree. I'm not going to suddenly think vigilante justice is legitimate simply because I now have a child. As stated earlier, it might even put me in a better position as I am able to be more objective than emotive as people can't help but think "if it was my kids I would...". I still wouldn't be prepared to go to prison for 5 years just for some revenge. A dad who stays with the kids to help them get through it, or a dad who is in prison - which is better? Please do not even try to say the latter.
I promise you that from the first moment you hold your child in your arms, your world and your view of the wider world changes hugely.
Its no longer you standing up and fighting all comers for yourself.
You have a sacred duty to protect that child and for the more responsible adults in society it awakens in you the need to look out for other children who dont have anyone to do so for them
RSPCA, Childline etc etc?
I really dont give a flying **** if he was the nicest laddie in the school, good to animals and old folk and the treasurer of the kirk, what he did is so far off the moral compass that he should be locked up and the key thrown away until they are certain he has zero risk of re-offending.
Sorry but nobody can ever be proven to have a ZERO risk of reoffending so you are now saying this guy should be in prison for the rest of his days?
**** like him lose all right to the niceties of legal jurisprudence, the minute they cross that line.
Do gooding apologists like you championing their rights and diluting the severity of their crimes and where they could lead, are naive beyond belief and really need to get out their and smell the coffee.
I am not a "do gooding apologist" and I am not championing rights or diluting severity - I can just look at things a bit more objectively and not get caught up in the lynch mob mentality that is so prevalent on here when anything like this happens.
I am simply prepared to trust the system to do what's right. If they think prison is not warranted, that's good enough for me. Funnily enough, these people tend to know what they are doing. We hear about all the bad cases where reoffending has occurred, what we never hear of are the many more where reoffending does not happen.
17-06-2011, 11:29 PM
If he did this in the U.S he would be in jail and they should push for that in the uk too.
I can't believe he never got jail for his actions
The highest prison population per head in the world and yet one of the worst crime rates in the Western world? Why do people always think the US 'do it right'? They don't.
17-06-2011, 11:30 PM
Steve-O, if we have to leave the judgements of crimes to those qualified to do so, i.e. judges, are we to leave the managing of football teams to those qualified, i.e managers?
Ha ha, not a bad point but I'd suggest that Judges are slightly more qualified in their roles than a lot of football managers are in theirs - i.e. played for Hibs in the past and went to Largs for a couple of weeks...:wink:
17-06-2011, 11:34 PM
In that case you're not objecting to vigilante justice morally, you just don't fancy getting punished for it...
That's not the case. I disagree with vigilante justice. My point was trying to say that I understand why parents of those affected might want to dish out their own form of justice. However, I don't think this would ever help the situation.
What I don't get is people who are not even affected in any going off their nut and suggesting they'd do time and kill/assault the person concerned, as well as the old favourite about them being 'taught a lesson in prison' by the fine upstanding residents of Saughton etc :blah:
17-06-2011, 11:39 PM
I have to say I am required to do child (and adult) protection training through my job and while it may be the first offence he was convicted off it is highly unlikely, to the point of being absolutely unique, if it is truly his first offence.
If it is 12 year old girls that float his boat then I would predict, quite comfortably based on the evidence of past behaviours, that he will re-offend and he will actually abuse someone. The stats would even suggest that the chances of this already having happened are possible to probable.
But nobody can be convicted of anything they might have done, or might yet do, and the only thing that saved him from prison is the fact that no actual contact took place. The Law is still catching up with the interwed and there appears to be, psychologically at least, a barrier between webcams and reality and a line that appears, to some at least. difficult to transcend.
Agree with your first point.
Not so sure on the second one - where are these stats? I'm sure I've read or heard (from work) that the risk of first time sex offenders of this nature re-offending is actually very low. I can't back this up with stats of my own right now but I am sure this is apparently the case.
I'd be surprised if he did this again. The irony is that sending him to prison, losing his job, being socially isolated is actually more likely to lead him to reoffend, but nobody thinks about this as long as he's out of sight for a while. Everyone forgets that these people eventually have to get out of prison.
17-06-2011, 11:44 PM
It was definitely on the road to statutory rape.
I'd suggest that your attitude towards grooming of kids and the punishment of offenders will change if/when you have kids of your own to protect.
You cannot say with any certainty that a statutory rape would have occurred though can you? It is one thing to be saying something on the internet and a very different thing to carry it through. Look at people on forums like this everywhere saying they'll do this and that to people they're arguing with - how many of these instances lead to actual physical violence?
I wish people would stop telling me my views will change. I am not suddenly going to revert to the "throw them in jail" argument simply because I have kids! Trust me on this. Jail is not a good place and many come out worse than when they went in for a variety of reasons! Like I've said on other posts above, I am happy to trust the people employed to deal with these situations more than the emotive opinions of the general public.
17-06-2011, 11:48 PM
12 Years old, Jeez lets put some perspective on this for Steve-o's benefit as, to me, he needs some. Depending on when they turned 12, they could easilly be PRIMARY 7 FFS.
He is 1 dirty swine and couldn't care who he plays for or what his mental state is, he should be sent to the big house for a lie down:agree:
Funny, I think I do have some perspective on this!
Agree, 12 is extremely young and for an 18/19 year old, it is still extremely young. I am in no doubt it is terrible behaviour. Once again though, if the authorities don't think jail is the correct course of action, then that's fair enough.
If they had decided it deserved imprisonment, I would not be on here saying it didn't. I think that is where some people are misunderstanding me on this thread!
18-06-2011, 12:27 AM
The worrying thing is while 2 cases have been proved, its likely there were lots more. I can see why people think a custodial sentence would be appropriate but he will definitely suffer, his life is effectively ruined. 18 year old boy -14 year old girl, as a 17 year old boy there's been cases of guys that age having sex with girls that age at my school, its shocking how often stuff like this happens, anyone else go to a school where there's been a similar age difference?
Yes but you're talking about two different scenarios. If the 14 year old had been entirely comfortable with the situation then I'm quite sure Thomson wouldn't have been arrested and then charged, even although the contact would still have been inappropriate and illegal.
The point is, she was made to feel uncomfortable and didn't want this kind of attention from Thomson. Still, he carried on regardless, requesting all sorts of perverse things from her.
You are talking about two people at the same school, where there is about 4 year age gap and the two of them are "in love" and they are both quite willingly going out together.
This "relationship" was completely one-way traffic.
Don't forget, he was also targeting a 12 year old, a girl Thomson had known since she was very young and she was also made to feel very uncomfortable by Thomson.
There was nothing "normal" about this case at all.
I think the judge took the information in your first paragraph into consideration when passing sentence.
If white van man had commited these offences then I reckon the chances of going to jail would be higher. All it means is that the other part of the punishment for white van man...the public naming and shaming, the loss of earning potential etc...would be less of a factor compared to what the hearts player will have to endure.
I reckon the judge has looked at what lies ahead for this Thomson and given out a non-custodial sentence to balance out the impact it would have on the offenders life.
I'm a father myself but I'm with SteveO in a lot of what he says. I would slit the throat of anyone who interfered with my kid and I'd hand myself in covered in blood to the nearest police station. In all honesty I don't think I am in the prime position to look at a case of child abuse and give an honest assesment without bringing my own personal feelings into the equation.
Judges are trained to do just that and when they appear to get it wrong one time (to the public eye) they get it right one hundred times in my opinion. Even if they do get it wrong there are mechanisms in place to challenge on the grounds of undue leniency.
I think the sentence was right in this case when you look at the overall punishment the guilty party is about to recieve.
18-06-2011, 05:49 AM
Ha ha, not a bad point but I'd suggest that Judges are slightly more qualified in their roles than a lot of football managers are in theirs - i.e. played for Hibs in the past and went to Largs for a couple of weeks...:wink:
:tsk tsk: Disagree, the managers have done a 15-20 year apprenticeship learning how to play the game (no matter how badly), then badges etc so a helluva lot more qualified than we are.
18-06-2011, 07:40 AM
Yes but you're talking about two different scenarios. If the 14 year old had been entirely comfortable with the situation then I'm quite sure Thomson wouldn't have been arrested and then charged, even although the contact would still have been inappropriate and illegal.
The point is, she was made to feel uncomfortable and didn't want this kind of attention from Thomson. Still, he carried on regardless, requesting all sorts of perverse things from her.
You are talking about two people at the same school, where there is about 4 year age gap and the two of them are "in love" and they are both quite willingly going out together.
This "relationship" was completely one-way traffic.
Don't forget, he was also targeting a 12 year old, a girl Thomson had known since she was very young and she was also made to feel very uncomfortable by Thomson.
There was nothing "normal" about this case at all.
Re bits in bold above. Where are you getting this information from?
18-06-2011, 07:58 AM
Get this sick individual tae ****
I might be a Hearts supporter on your forum but im sure we are all in agreement that this guy has no place in football or any form of society.
The scary thing is, if the girl hadnt told her mum, how far would it have gone?
If it was any normal club then I think you would be right. But hearts are a club who appointed a convicted sex offender as manager, declared him a hero and came out in the press blaming the wee lassie. Theyll probably make Thompson captain and give him squad number 12 for a laugh likes.
I think its interesting that there as those law makers who want a mandatory 5 year sentence for carrying a knife - because of the perceived intention of using it.
Grooming children will hopefully have the same logic applied.
Steve-o I do feel for you that you have never been responsible for something so precious to you, you would think the way these parents are describing.
18-06-2011, 10:30 AM
I think its interesting that there as those law makers who want a mandatory 5 year sentence for carrying a knife - because of the perceived intention of using it.
Grooming children will hopefully have the same logic applied.
Steve-o I do feel for you that you have never been responsible for something so precious to you, you would think the way these parents are describing.
Not a chance there will be a 5 year sentence for simply carrying a knife. Completely absurd idea.
Thanks for your patronising comment at the end but I don't need your sympathy.
Can't wait to become a parent and then I will officially know everything!
18-06-2011, 10:41 AM
What this guy did was despicable and given the circumstances he was old enough to realise that what he was doing was wrong.
It depends to an extent whether or not he is a classic paedophile. As I understand it these people firmly believe that kids are able to make decisions in sexual matters in the same way as adults and it is extremely difficult to move them from this mind set.
Unfortunately because of this prison or constant supervision ( often life long ) is the only way to prevent their activities.
I understand the emotive reaction to this case from the people on here with kids. But that is why in an intelligent and for the most part decent society the relatives of victims or people with a vested interest are not allowed to take part in the legal process. If this were allowed to happen society would be the poorer.
Before anybody on here starts calling me a do gooding Liberal who doesnt know what he is talking about I can assure you I have personal experience of this sort of situation ( not Paedophile related ) but I just cant subscribe to the vigilante approach.
As for the ' lets get the decent lags in Saughton to sort him out ' approach to this stuff. My 85 year old mum still sleeps with a hammer by her bedside after her house was burgled over 20 years ago. So I for one dont think these folk have any right to be in the queue to judge folk for what they have done, and certainly not to dish out punishment, they are part of the problem, not the solution to it !!!
Finally .... I for one will not be standing up at ER next season singing songs about either hearts, or their supporters, being Paedos or kiddie fiddlers or anything else. This subject is far too serious for that and its a step too far to use it to get one over the Yams.
moredun
18-06-2011, 10:55 AM
Not a chance there will be a 5 year sentence for simply carrying a knife. Completely absurd idea.
Thanks for your patronising comment at the end but I don't need your sympathy.
Can't wait to become a parent and then I will officially know everything!
You have fought your corner well, even though i don't necessaily agree with it, but that statement is just very petty, you will NEVER know what it is like till you have kids mate, that is a fact, everything in your mindset and the world changes re your kids.
You cannot possibly know how anyone feels about kids, till you have your own, as said, it changes everything, something you cannot possibly feel until you have your own kids.
moredun
18-06-2011, 10:57 AM
How disgusting a club are they.
Their fans, players and staff and the whole club are likes peas in a pod, sick sick sick
18-06-2011, 11:06 AM
The highest prison population per head in the world and yet one of the worst crime rates in the Western world? Why do people always think the US 'do it right'? They don't.
What's your point?
I'm guessing you are one of these people that confuses justice with managing prison population.
I was amazed that there are only around 80,000 prison spaces in the UK. Out of 65,000,000 are there seriously only that many bad people at one time? No chance.
We should have the number of spaces for the number of bad people.
In this country we manage down to fit what we already have rather than try to 'accommodate' what we should.
18-06-2011, 11:26 AM
What's your point?
I'm guessing you are one of these people that confuses justice with managing prison population.
I was amazed that there are only around 80,000 prison spaces in the UK. Out of 65,000,000 are there seriously only that many bad people at one time? No chance.
We should have the number of spaces for the number of bad people.
In this country we manage down to fit what we already have rather than try to 'accommodate' what we should.
What my point is is that despite the US tendency to throw people in jail at the drop of a hat, their crime rate is not low in any way, shape, or form. Thus, does it work?
18-06-2011, 11:46 AM
What my point is is that despite the US tendency to throw people in jail at the drop of a hat, their crime rate is not low in any way, shape, or form. Thus, does it work?
Whether it lowers the crime rate or not is irrelevant. I'd be confident enough to state it would be higher if they didn't have people locked up.
I'd guess that your thought is that the law is there as a deterrent. I see it as being there to protect people.
People will always commit crime on all levels and the law should be used to protect. Not just put people off.
18-06-2011, 12:39 PM
Agree with your first point.
Not so sure on the second one - where are these stats? I'm sure I've read or heard (from work) that the risk of first time sex offenders of this nature re-offending is actually very low. I can't back this up with stats of my own right now but I am sure this is apparently the case..
Then be sure. Left to their own devices they will. He is not a first time sex offender but this is his first conviction so that kindof blows that argument. The risk of re-offending is very high. I will dig out the stats if you want. I suspect his offence will be off the catefory 3 variety.
I'd be surprised if he did this again. The irony is that sending him to prison, losing his job, being socially isolated is actually more likely to lead him to reoffend, but nobody thinks about this as long as he's out of sight for a while. Everyone forgets that these people eventually have to get out of prison.
Dont be. He already has unless he started grooming all three girls at exactly the same time. And these are what we know off. The not guilty plea for the third was probably part of some deal that was done to save money and save the child the trauma of a court appearance. They had their guily plea so it made no real difference to the sentence and, I would imagine, the defence would be saying that their client did not know this particular girl was under 16. Her facebook page probably had a false DOB. Hypothetical but, in my experience, highly probable. There may have been others that the fiscal decided she could not prove and instead went with what she felt she could prove.
I would add that Social Work will be all over Thomson and his family like a rash as statistics (again) show that as many as 80% of abusers have themselves been victim's of abuse.
18-06-2011, 01:09 PM
Finally .... I for one will not be standing up at ER next season singing songs about either hearts, or their supporters, being Paedos or kiddie fiddlers or anything else. This subject is far too serious for that and its a step too far to use it to get one over the Yams.
I can't believe it when i see grown men smiling ,cheering and clapping when singing songs about paedophiles.
It turns my stomach.
18-06-2011, 03:52 PM
If my vet will cut off my dog's knackers just for humping a few folk's legs, I'm sure he'll do Thomson for grooming 12 year olds.
Sorted.
Disclaimer: My dog hasn't actually had his knackers cut off. Yet. I'm also fairly sure that my vet wouldn't touch Thomson.
18-06-2011, 06:27 PM
From what I've read of Thompson's behaviour, it's repellent stuff. I don't think anyone doubts he was capable of knowing the potential consequeces of his actions. The level of sanction meted out is based on a number of factors, more than most of us (including me) will consider and there's probably a good thread to be had from debating what actually should be considered.
Some of the reactions to Steve O's posts are grim reading though. Just because someone on here managed to fertilise an egg once doesn't mean they speak for all parents, or even for all 'good' parents :greengrin
18-06-2011, 06:55 PM
Re bits in bold above. Where are you getting this information from?
It was mentioned in articles yesterday after the conviction was announced that when Thomson began asking the girl to expose herself, she reported it to her mother, who then called police.
I don't think she would have reported it to her mum if she had been entirely comfortable with the nature of Thomson's online conversations.
There was also no suggestion that either of the girls involved did anything to encourage Thomson's behaviour, hence my "one-way traffic" comment.
This was completely different from a high school romance with an age gap of a few years.
18-06-2011, 07:09 PM
It was mentioned in articles yesterday after the conviction was announced that when Thomson began asking the girl to expose herself, she reported it to her mother, who then called police.
I don't think she would have reported it to her mum if she had been entirely comfortable with the nature of Thomson's online conversations.
There was also no suggestion that either of the girls involved did anything to encourage Thomson's behaviour, hence my "one-way traffic" comment.
This was completely different from a high school romance with an age gap of a few years.
I'm not going to apologise for being pedantic here but what articles?
I think you (and others) are reading between the lines and adding arms and legs onto the very limited information that was given by the media.
18-06-2011, 09:10 PM
I think you (and others) are reading between the lines and adding arms and legs onto the very limited information that was given by the media.
The stuff about the grooming of the 12 year old was in the Scotsman.
Getting back to the player himself, his career is as good as over.
Even if hearts do decide to keep him he will tear the dressing room apart and will eventually have to go. There are bound to be players who will detest him for what he did.
Even if he is sold who will touch him and want his toxic presence in the dressing room?
Vlad will be raging right now because he knows this asset is now worth nothing. He's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.
What a mess.
18-06-2011, 09:44 PM
http://news.scotsman.com/scotland/Hearts39-Craig-Thomson-guilty-of.6786618.jp
Direct quotes from the prosecuting lawyer on both articles and both also mention how the girl reported the conversations that Thomson had been having with her to her mother, who then contacted police.
18-06-2011, 10:05 PM
Getting back to the player himself, his career is as good as over.
Even if hearts do decide to keep him he will tear the dressing room apart and will eventually have to go. There are bound to be players who will detest him for what he did.
Even if he is sold who will touch him and want his toxic presence in the dressing room?
Vlad will be raging right now because he knows this asset is now worth nothing. He's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.
What a mess.
Hearts have no option but to sack him. They cannot possibly keep him on.
What happens when Hearts uphold their community responsibilities by visiting local schools and holding summer camps for children etc? Craig Thomson will not be legally allowed to be involved in initiatives like this anymore as convicted sex offenders like him are banned from working with children under the age of 16.
Giving him a second chance will end up being a complete PR disaster for the club as there will be a massive number of parents who would refuse to take their children anywhere near a Hearts game again, whilst Thomson is playing.
As you say, if he does get sacked, his career in the UK is almost certainly over as no club that considers itself to be a family club will touch someone like this with a bargepole.
I could be wrong but I think he would struggle to get a club abroad as I don't think many countries would grant someone on the sex offenders register a visa to work in their country.
Sacking him is an absolute no-brainer, it's the only possible conclusion that Hearts can come to. I'm just really surprised that it's taken so long for them to announce it.
18-06-2011, 10:14 PM
Hearts have no option but to sack him. They cannot possibly keep him on.
What happens when Hearts uphold their community responsibilities by visiting local schools and holding summer camps for children etc? Craig Thomson will not be legally allowed to be involved in initiatives like this anymore as convicted sex offenders like him are banned from working with children under the age of 16.
Giving him a second chance will end up being a complete PR disaster for the club as there will be a massive number of parents who would refuse to take their children anywhere near a Hearts game again, whilst Thomson is playing.
As you say, if he does get sacked, his career in the UK is almost certainly over as no club that considers itself to be a family club will touch someone like this with a bargepole.
I could be wrong but I think he would struggle to get a club abroad as I don't think many countries would grant someone on the sex offenders register a visa to work in their country.
Sacking him is an absolute no-brainer, it's the only possible conclusion that Hearts can come to. I'm just really surprised that it's taken so long for them to announce it.
If he's still allowed to play football why would they sack him? It'll be last months news when the season starts and the only folk who will cast it up is us when we play them. The media will soon lose interest when the next sectarian incident happens.
18-06-2011, 10:43 PM
http://news.scotsman.com/scotland/Hearts39-Craig-Thomson-guilty-of.6786618.jp
Direct quotes from the prosecuting lawyer on both articles and both also mention how the girl reported the conversations that Thomson had been having with her to her mother, who then contacted police.
Yip, just as I thought. Go back and read the articles, then your post that I highlighted. It was the 12 year old that told her mother, not the 14 year old.
I am trying to make a point here but not very well. Let me put it another way.
I do not condone what he has done and he has been unbelievably stupid. But let me play devil's advocate here. Let's say he was chatting to the 12 year old as has already been explained and sent Dodgy photos. and she thought nothing of it and her mother just happened to see what was going on.12 year old then changes tune when mother gets police involved. Perfectly plausible. When the police start looking into this, they see he's been having similar chats with a 14 year old, who also may not have been bothered about what was being said to her. They get in contact with her and her parents, she also says she wasn't happy with What was being said coz she don't want to get in the **** with her parents.
I'm not saying this happened, but you never know. Just a different slant on what I read in the papers.
Some people on here don't seen to realise just how street smart some kids are nowadays. They grow up way too fast imo.
19-06-2011, 02:08 AM
Whether it lowers the crime rate or not is irrelevant. I'd be confident enough to state it would be higher if they didn't have people locked up.
I'd guess that your thought is that the law is there as a deterrent. I see it as being there to protect people.
People will always commit crime on all levels and the law should be used to protect. Not just put people off.
Well I'd suggest your confidence could be misplaced. There are plenty of other countries with lower imprisonment rates and lower crime rates. I think Finland (or one of the Scandanavian countries definitely) has a very low crime rate after deciding to try alternative punishments to prison. It has apparently worked very well.
Jail is not the only protection to the general public. It is effectively the last resort to send someone to prison. Thompson is not at that stage it seems. If he does anything more, then I'd fully expect prison to be on the agenda.
edit - appears it is Finland - http://www.nytimes.com/2003/01/02/world/caught-red-handed-let-it-be-in-finland.html
Interesting that apparently there are about 3500 prisoners in Finland out of 5.5 million people, and yet here in New Zealand there are over 8000 prisoners out of 4 million people. NZ has the second highest rate of imprisonment behind USA. I'll let you guess which countries crime rate is lower (hint: it ain't NZ)! Of course there are perhaps cultural reasons and other factors that cause this, but it's interesting none the less.
I think people think jail teaches people a lesson. This is the case for some people, but in many other cases it makes things worse and they go onto commit more/worse crimes after release. Although a lot on here would be happy to see people go to prison and treated like dirt, battered, eating bread and water...none of these things actually help someone rehabilitate and often makes them feel victimised by 'the system' etc. I know people will be thinking "so what?", but I say again, these people have to come out of prison, and if they come out with a chip on their shoulder, what has really been achieved? They've been punished for their initial crime, and the community has been safe for 'x' amount of years, but now they are out and potentially more of a risk than when they went in!
I also saw someone say they didn't think money and resources should be spent on monitoring these sex offenders. Not sure if people realise it costs something like 40,000 pounds a year PER PRISONER? And guess who pays for this?
19-06-2011, 02:25 AM
From what I've read of Thompson's behaviour, it's repellent stuff. I don't think anyone doubts he was capable of knowing the potential consequeces of his actions. The level of sanction meted out is based on a number of factors, more than most of us (including me) will consider and there's probably a good thread to be had from debating what actually should be considered.
Some of the reactions to Steve O's posts are grim reading though. Just because someone on here managed to fertilise an egg once doesn't mean they speak for all parents, or even for all 'good' parents :greengrin
Thank you for your sense.
19-06-2011, 09:27 AM
Well I'd suggest your confidence could be misplaced. There are plenty of other countries with lower imprisonment rates and lower crime rates. I think Finland (or one of the Scandanavian countries definitely) has a very low crime rate after deciding to try alternative punishments to prison. It has apparently worked very well.
Jail is not the only protection to the general public. It is effectively the last resort to send someone to prison. Thompson is not at that stage it seems. If he does anything more, then I'd fully expect prison to be on the agenda.
edit - appears it is Finland - http://www.nytimes.com/2003/01/02/world/caught-red-handed-let-it-be-in-finland.html
Interesting that apparently there are about 3500 prisoners in Finland out of 5.5 million people, and yet here in New Zealand there are over 8000 prisoners out of 4 million people. NZ has the second highest rate of imprisonment behind USA. I'll let you guess which countries crime rate is lower (hint: it ain't NZ)! Of course there are perhaps cultural reasons and other factors that cause this, but it's interesting none the less.
I think people think jail teaches people a lesson. This is the case for some people, but in many other cases it makes things worse and they go onto commit more/worse crimes after release. Although a lot on here would be happy to see people go to prison and treated like dirt, battered, eating bread and water...none of these things actually help someone rehabilitate and often makes them feel victimised by 'the system' etc. I know people will be thinking "so what?", but I say again, these people have to come out of prison, and if they come out with a chip on their shoulder, what has really been achieved? They've been punished for their initial crime, and the community has been safe for 'x' amount of years, but now they are out and potentially more of a risk than when they went in!
I also saw someone say they didn't think money and resources should be spent on monitoring these sex offenders. Not sure if people realise it costs something like 40,000 pounds a year PER PRISONER? And guess who pays for this?
It seems from reading that article that they've always taken that approach and have built a mutual respect with the public.
That doesn't work here and probably never will. The guy in the article says that it's probably a result of cultural differences.
If you have hard criminals and soft punishment then I think they'll commit again.
It does cost a lot but what's the price of innocent people's freedom.
Propositioning 12 year olds for sex fully knowing their age is one worth paying for.
Number69
19-06-2011, 10:08 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-13808562
Well lets be honest, I'd rather be gay then be a dirty stinking beast :greengrin
19-06-2011, 10:12 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-13808562
Well lets be honest, I'd rather be gay then be a dirty stinking beast :greengrin
When did this happen? News to me.
19-06-2011, 10:15 AM
news travels fast in perth!
Number69
19-06-2011, 10:16 AM
Oh sorry i do apologise then :rolleyes:
Admin delete thread if need be.