View Full Version : Garry O'connor has signed for Hibs (1 Year Deal Confirmed)

15-06-2011, 04:20 PM
just got a text from Hibs big Gary is home. 1 year deal

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110615/oconnor-returns-home_2262950_2376860

The_Sauz
15-06-2011, 04:20 PM
On a season long deal :agree:

moredun
15-06-2011, 04:21 PM
just got a text from Hibs big Gary is home

From Hibs?

Nowt on the official site

The_Sauz
Snap :greengrin

On a season long deal :agree:

SAUCE?!

:rules:

Happy days. Welcome home, Gaz.

The_Sauz
15-06-2011, 04:22 PM
From Hibs?

Got my info on the dog & bone

15-06-2011, 04:22 PM
From Hibs?

it is now. Go to offical site and sign up for texts get the news first :thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 04:23 PM
From Hibs?

It's on the official site.

:pray:

WOW just WOW. C'mon big man repay us and play the way we know you can. **** me Iam excited by that. Hopefully more to come as well.

That'll do.

ano hibby
15-06-2011, 04:24 PM

Ya ****in dancer!

15-06-2011, 04:25 PM
Not gonna lie, I opened this expecting it to be some other gadgy named O'Connor and deliberately didn't get my hopes up.

15-06-2011, 04:26 PM
Superb. :thumbsup:

It really must p1ss those working on these things off to have to read all the drama queen stuff for weeks on end. Well done all and seems like Garry has been told about other players coming in.

hibeeleicester
Now just ****ing sign DEEK!

15-06-2011, 04:27 PM
Hehehehehehehe :greengrin

Well done Hibs.

moredun
15-06-2011, 04:27 PM
it is now. Go to offical site and sign up for texts get the news first :thumbsup:

It's on the official site.

Sergio sledge
15-06-2011, 04:28 PM
Ya ****in dancer!

:agree: I must admit I wasn't sure about this signing when it was rumoured, but now that it has actually happened I can't help but be excited about it! Brilliant!

HibsMax
:flag::top marks:cgwa

Shame Deek left.Kin you imagine the old Garry O , Deek partnership ?.

No putting a dampner oan it tho am delighted Garry O has come hame :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Hopefully can keep fit and score a few goals, im happy with this signing

15-06-2011, 04:29 PM
Some nice quotes from Gary on the official site

Always wanted to return

Can't wait to play

I think Hibs are going to get the best out of me

Can't wait, hopefully this will encourage a few more decent signings

Welcome home Gary. :thumbsup::flag:

15-06-2011, 04:30 PM
****ING YAAASSS!!:flag::flag::flag:

15-06-2011, 04:30 PM
Absolutely delighted, welcome home Garry :hibees

hibee1994
15-06-2011, 04:31 PM
Not expected at all!

After his agent said there was little hope of a return to Easter Road, i lost all hope but oh my word. This signing just has to be good for the team and good to see he believes in Colin Calderwood's vision for the club. Shows he actually has one.

Welcome Home :flag:

Hibbie_Cameron
15-06-2011, 04:32 PM
Thrilled by this signing:thumbsup:

Well done CC and the board, hopefully that will shut some people up

15-06-2011, 04:33 PM
Thrilled by this signing:thumbsup:

Well done CC and the board, hopefully that will shut some people up

Fife Hyland's face must've been a bloody picture when writing that email knowing this was in the offing...

It really must p1ss those working on these things off to have to read all the drama queen stuff for weeks on end. Well done all and seems like Garry has been told about other players coming in.

I'm sure the club officials working on signing don't take much notice of what is posted on here. They'll get the credit now so I'm sure they won't have taken some posters' anguish about the lack of news to heart.

Let's not turn it into yet another reason to bash Hibees though.

Good news, good player, now perhaps all the doom & gloom bed wetters will cheer up - perhaps even make some of them renew their s/t.
Welcome home Gary. :greengrin

15-06-2011, 04:35 PM
GET IN THERE YA DANCER :agree: WELCOME HOME GARY

This is a great signing. Not bad for a club that only pays £2k per week and signs players at the last day of the transfer window. Two experienced forwards in Sproule and O Connor. Now for a center half and midfielder. What the excuses now from the anti board brigade? Time to get the season tickets bought.

IN ROD WE TRUST

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

Stuarty1875
Great news :thumbsup:

Welcome home Garry :flag:

15-06-2011, 04:36 PM
If ever there was an argument for re-signing Riordan, this has to be it.

Garry and Deek had a telepathic understanding and neither was as good, imho, without the other.

15-06-2011, 04:36 PM

Or offer him a deal?

Superb news on big Garry.

Benny Brazil
15-06-2011, 04:37 PM
Brilliant news - now screw the nut Gary and get back to being the player we know you can be!:hibees

db03
One year deal, wish it was longer but hey its a start. Now keep them coming please Rod!! :thumbsup:

HibsMax
I'm sure the club officials working on signing don't take much notice of what is posted on here. They'll get the credit now so I'm sure they won't have taken some posters' anguish about the lack of news to heart.

Let's not turn it into yet another reason to bash Hibees though.

Why not? There are more than a few Hibees on here that got bashed for not panicking in the first place.

But I know exactly what you mean and this thread should remain positive and upbeat!

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

Don Giovanni
Delighted with this news.

An impressive signing for us.

Ollie Reed
Welcome home, Garry.

Naw!

DoonTheSlope
Congrats to the Hibernian Board. I am certain GO will be a huge success in the SPL.
Doom and Gloom starting to lift?

15-06-2011, 04:38 PM
If ever there was an argument for re-signing Riordan, this has to be it.

Garry and Deek had a telepathic understanding and neither was as good, imho, without the other.

We need someone with pace to compliment O'Connor IMO. Whether that means Sproule up front, Vaz Te or someone else, I don't know.

Hibsdawg
15-06-2011, 04:38 PM
Welcome Hame Gary Tank Commander!

:aok::cgwa:agree::thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 04:39 PM
I'm DELIGHTED!!!! :greengrin

**** Porter and Rooney, get Riordan signed up NOW!! :agree:

15-06-2011, 04:40 PM
ye can shove yer john sutton right up yer ring! :cgwa:flag::cgwa:flag:

15-06-2011, 04:40 PM
We need someone with pace to compliment O'Connor IMO. Whether that means Sproule up front, Vaz Te or someone else, I don't know.

Deek has never had pace.

woodythehibee
15-06-2011, 04:42 PM
Would have loved a longer contract but I suppose a year deal works best for both parties.

Well done CC and the board :flag:

15-06-2011, 04:43 PM
Great news.

I really hope he screws the nut in pre-season and gets back to the form he had under Mowbray before he left. Added to this the experience he has gained abroad he will be some threat to have.

15-06-2011, 04:44 PM
Nobody seemed to know this was happening today so hopefully we have a few more rabbits to pull out of the hat this week.

At only 28 Gary has still a lot to offer if remaining injury free, great news.

:cgwa:flag:

15-06-2011, 04:45 PM
Outstanding news :flag:

feel like a bairn who just opened a better than expected xmas pressie or something..........

Welcome back Garry :aok:

EasterRoad4Ever
15-06-2011, 04:46 PM
I'm gobsmacked :shocked::scarf: At 28, he's probably at the peak of his career. Hibs have no right to be able to sign a player of GO's ability - easily the most exciting signing of the summer by Hibs !

Jees, still can't believe that - great to have him back at ER.

15-06-2011, 04:46 PM

Deek maybe heard Garry wis on his way :devil:

I wonder what will happen if Garry gets subbed by Ivan during a game? :greengrin

Bear in mind that the big man was dropped by McLeish and released by Barnsley so it's a fair whiley since he showed half decent form. Here's hoping he wis just homesick !!

Riordans Boots
15-06-2011, 04:48 PM
Ya Flocking Dancer :thumbsup::flag:

15-06-2011, 04:49 PM
At Last some good news :greengrin

15-06-2011, 04:50 PM
Nice surprise. Hopefully he's fit and bangs them in next season.

15-06-2011, 04:51 PM
Fair play to Brooster who called this two weeks ago.....well done bud.

15-06-2011, 04:54 PM
I'm DELIGHTED!!!! :greengrin

**** Porter and Rooney, get Riordan signed up NOW!! :agree:

Funny that, this was my first thought too.

15-06-2011, 04:55 PM
Sodje and O'Connor up front will be a powerful pair.

Probably one more up there to come as well and Sproule and Galbraith kicking about.

Add in a powerful centre half in O'Hanlon and it's already shaping up not too shabbily.

15-06-2011, 04:56 PM
Oconnor signed for Hibs today.
Rooney announced tomorrow,with Caldwell.

Skacel will be told this week that he wont get his contract renewed..

Amazing how a few days can change things!
Above is according to sangriaboy in the Scotsman, how great would that be if true. :thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 04:56 PM
Fair play to Brooster who called this two weeks ago.....well done bud.

Excellent call Brooster :aok:

15-06-2011, 04:58 PM
Sodje and O'Connor up front will be a powerful pair.

Probably one more up there to come as well and Sproule and Galbraith kicking about.

Add in a powerful centre half in O'Hanlon and it's already shaping up not too shabbily.

I said the same when I heard it was happening, a couple of battering rams, that will give defences no end of problems.....

15-06-2011, 04:59 PM
Sure I called him 'yesterday's man' a while ago. Anyway, welcome back GOC. Look forward to you proving me wrong. Shall we start the "cmon petrie, give him a new deal" thread now?

HibeeMG
15-06-2011, 05:00 PM
ye can shove yer john sutton right up yer ring! :cgwa:flag::cgwa:flag:

Very good point actually.

The amount of people who were casting envious glances across the city when they signed Sutton was understandable.

The signing of a pretty good but still unproven SPL player pales into insignificence when compared to the signing of a player who has racked up £millions of transfer fees in his career and has played and scored in the EPL.

15-06-2011, 05:01 PM
I said the same when I heard it was happening, a couple of battering rams, that will give defences no end of problems.....

It's certainly an option but I'd prefer another forward to compliment O'Connor.

Any news on Michael Stewart yet?

Top Pans Hibby
15-06-2011, 05:02 PM
Could make for an interesting season if Riordan was to have a rethink !! Chances ??

Rooney (& Caldwell) would make a welcome addition though.

15-06-2011, 05:06 PM

Very reminiscent of the magpies when Calderwood was there, with Carroll and Ameobi. :agree:

DAVE1875
15-06-2011, 05:10 PM
Welcome Home Gaz!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjMK2oRF1Z8

15-06-2011, 05:14 PM
YES! Welcome home!

15-06-2011, 05:16 PM
This is a great signing. Not bad for a club that only pays £2k per week and signs players at the last day of the transfer window. Two experienced forwards in Sproule and O'onnor. Now for a center half and midfielder. What the excuses now from the anti board brigade? Time to get the season tickets bought.

IN ROD WE TRUST

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

What a wonderful coincidence that the best options for those positions happened to be popular fans favourites. Well at least Sproule has maintained a loyal following, O'Connor used to get pelters here when Blobby was in charge. It is like the Blues Brothers puttin the old band back on the road.

15-06-2011, 05:16 PM
Absolutely gobsmacked!! 10x more surprised by this than I was by Riordan resigning.

What a coup!!!!

15-06-2011, 05:17 PM
Tremendous news.

Bring on the jambos :greengrin

15-06-2011, 05:18 PM
What a wonderful coincidence that the best options for those positions happened to be popular fans favourites. Well at least Sproule has maintained a loyal following, O'Connor used to get pelters here when Blobby was in charge.

And had hero status when TM took over. :thumbsup:

Hibbie_Cameron
What a wonderful coincidence that the best options for those positions happened to be popular fans favourites. Well at least Sproule has maintained a loyal following, O'Connor used to get pelters here when Blobby was in charge.

Was hardly a target man though was he? When Mowbray came in O'Connors game came on leaps and bounds

GoC's ability outstrips any player Hearts have signed this summer.

I hope the plethora of maroon gimps who are viewing this thread are aware of that and are now feeling silly for their "belly-aching" laughs at our expense over the past few weeks.

With Skacel soon to be released they'll be feeling pretty down in the dumps later this week.

15-06-2011, 05:19 PM

No putting a dampner oan it tho am delighted Garry O has come hame :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Maybe this will entice him to come back too..... again! :greengrin:thumbsup:

I must admit I wasn't too fussed whether Garry came back or not but now that he is back I am delighted, just hope he can stay fit.

Ya effin beauty. If he can recapture his previous hibs form even potter might have to consider him for scotland ! Absolutely delighted with this. GGTTH

Great news, I think it could be seen as a gamble by both sides. Fingers crossed we have an automatic right to extend his contract if everything works out like we all hope it will.

Well done to the board and CC. Hopefully this will cut down on the emails that you recieve!!

15-06-2011, 05:24 PM
GoC's ability outstrips any player Hearts have

You could have just stopped at that :greengrin

15-06-2011, 05:24 PM
That'll do.

Very nicely :thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 05:26 PM
This is all down to Baldy Foghorns email campaigns. Credit where its due.:aok:

15-06-2011, 05:26 PM
Welcome Home Gaz!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjMK2oRF1Z8

I remember not long before that goal shouting "Move it Gaz ya lazy bashturt", boy did he listen. :thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 05:27 PM
YASS! Welcome home! :thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 05:27 PM
Oconnor signed for Hibs today.
Rooney announced tomorrow,with Caldwell.

Skacel will be told this week that he wont get his contract renewed..

Amazing how a few days can change things!
Above is according to sangriaboy in the Scotsman, how great would that be if true. :thumbsup:
If Rooney and Caldwell are announced tomorrow, and O'Hanlon is confirmed, I will probably jizz in my pants.

15-06-2011, 05:28 PM
Amazing how much difference one signing can make. Welcome home Garry!

15-06-2011, 05:29 PM
:thumbsup: :flag: :thumbsup:

I see they have him advertising ST sales :greengrin

Brilliant news, well done Hibs:thumbsup: Keep it coming.

;2829766']I remember not long before that goal shouting "Move it Gaz ya lazy bashturt", boy did he listen. :thumbsup:

That goal was the best feeling EVER:flag:
never forget it.

MountcastleHibs
Welcome back Garry!!!

My yam supporting mates are already showing their jealousy by suggesting he's a junkie, desperate for cash and will ultimately be a flop.

Get it right round them. Best signing of the summer in the spl so far.

moredun
15-06-2011, 05:32 PM
GoC's ability outstrips any player Hearts have signed this summer.

I hope the plethora of maroon gimps who are viewing this thread are aware of that and are now feeling silly for their "belly-aching" laughs at our expense over the past few weeks.

With Skacel soon to be released they'll be feeling pretty down in the dumps later this week.

Aye, take Skacel out their side last season and they would have been kak, he saved their skin a good few times

HibsMax
15-06-2011, 05:33 PM
:thumbsup: :flag: :thumbsup:

I see they have him advertising ST sales :greengrin

I noticed that too. Very subtle.

fife hfc
Excellent signing and though a gamble based on recent events, if fit and motivated should certainly cause SPL defences plenty of problems.

This is all down to Baldy Foghorns email campaigns. Credit where its due.:aok:

Either that or the tables have turned and those so deperate for an apology may have to give one to the club for the lack of faith!!

I'm sick of us signing former players......:greengrin

Absolutely delighted. Got a phone call from a mate thinking he was asking about golf again until he said "Garry O'Connor has signed for us." Great news, already looking forward to pre-season after just this signing alone, and Ivan obviously. :thumbsup:

:cgwa Welcome home Garry! :flag:

15-06-2011, 05:34 PM
I'm quite pleased with this news but I can't pretend that I don't have a few reservations.

His career has taken a bit of a nosedive over the past couple of years and obviously there was his recent arrest for drugs possession, which as far as I'm aware is still to be fully resolved.

I think we are taking a bit of a risk with this signing but, having said that, it is only for one year so if it doesn't work out for whatever reason then I don't suppose we'll be losing out too much. I suppose given the kind of market that clubs like Hibs operate in for players means that we will always be taking risks with the players that we sign.

What I will say is, if he can recapture the form that he showed at Hibs when he was a youngster that encouraged Lokomotiv Moscow to spend nearly £2 million on him then we will have a good player on our hands for next season.

I would still like to see at least two more strikers coming into the club because, as much as people will be pleased to see the return of an old hero, I'm not sure that we can afford to be relying on the services of a striker who has managed just 23 goals in the past five years since he left Hibs.

Welcome back, Garry, and I wish you all the best back at Hibs. :aok:

moredun
15-06-2011, 05:34 PM
Welcome back Garry!!!

My yam supporting mates are already showing their jealousy by suggesting he's a junkie, desperate for cash and will ultimately be a flop.

Oh and Black and their teenage cokeheed are not then, bitterness

Gus
15-06-2011, 05:35 PM
A mate just updated his facebook status with the following.......

O'Connor scored 20 goals in 107 apps since leaving Hibs, Christian Nade scored 21 in 108 in the same time, to put that into perspective -

Jealous Jambo

15-06-2011, 05:35 PM
Welcome home Garry :not worth

15-06-2011, 05:36 PM
I'm quite pleased with this news but I can't pretend that I don't have a few reservations.
:

FH.....that practically passes for unconfined joy from you. This must be a decent piece of business. :thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 05:37 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::

15-06-2011, 05:37 PM
Welcome Home Gaz :thumbsup:

RoscoHibby
15-06-2011, 05:38 PM
At this moment I'd like to quote Mark Renton:

Yaaaaaaaasss, ya ****in dancer!

Gaun the big Gaz, get tore right in.

HibeePaj
15-06-2011, 05:39 PM
great signing,,, hope he keeps the heid whilst hes here...

gve us more of this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjMK2oRF1Z8&feature=related

15-06-2011, 05:39 PM
Welcome back Garry!!!

That's kinda like the pot calling the kettle (Ian) Black, is it no?

15-06-2011, 05:49 PM
Yes please!
http://images.mylot.com/userImages/images/postphotos/1859795.jpg

Welcome home Garry!

15-06-2011, 05:50 PM
Welcome home gazza! :thumbsup::cgwa

15-06-2011, 05:52 PM
BBC Scotland's news style so rubbish that the one piece of library footage they show is O'Connor lobbing wide of an empty net for Scotland.

Jesus....

djs69
15-06-2011, 05:52 PM
To quote big marv....happy as larry!!!

15-06-2011, 05:55 PM
To quote big marv....happy as larry!!!

Never been happier :thumbsup:

moredun
15-06-2011, 05:57 PM

O'Connor scored 20 goals in 107 apps since leaving Hibs, Christian Nade scored 21 in 108 in the same time, to put that into perspective -

Jealous Jambo

I hope you posed the question...
Did Nade score the winner in the Russian cup final?

Did nade get anywhere near the premiership? Or even the Championship?

And at what level did Nade manage to score?

West Upper
15-06-2011, 06:02 PM
Welcome Home Gaz

:cgwa:flag:

15-06-2011, 06:04 PM
FH.....that practically passes for unconfined joy from you. This must be a decent piece of business. :thumbsup:

:greengrin You obviously didn't read my posts on the "Ivan Sproule has come back to Hibs" thread.

I don't want to give the impression that I'm unhappy that he's returned, I'm probably just not quite as delighted and ecstatic that a lot of people seem to be.

I can understand that view because he was a popular player, who came up through the ranks at Hibs and was part of the so called "golden era" under Mowbray but I think his record over the past couple of years is a relevant point.

However, like I say, with the budgets that clubs like Hibs operate within, this is the kind of signing that clubs such as ours are always going to be making. With it only being a one year deal, it does minimise the risk.

Let's be honest, if he had been a major success in Russia and also in the Premiership at Birmingham then Garry O'Connor would be nowhere near Easter Road this evening.

I'm looking forward to seeing Sproule and O'Connor back at Hibs next season and I just hope Calderwood decides to replace O'Connor with Sproule the next time we visit Ibrox with half an hour left...:thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 06:04 PM
Grandad will be pleased :greengrin

Bob Box Fish
15-06-2011, 06:08 PM
Two ex has beens that have already peaked ......

Only joking, welcome back big man :)

15-06-2011, 06:09 PM
Happy about this, ER is the place to sort himself out, grab the chance Garry, welcome home.

Sandy
15-06-2011, 06:11 PM
Welcome home Garry mate, brilliant news :flag::top marks:cgwa

15-06-2011, 06:12 PM
Am laughing my socks off reading over on peadoback, how carefully they forget that two of they're players were caught red handed by the cops with hard drugs, such fools of the highest order on that apology for a football fan website

:jamboak:

15-06-2011, 06:16 PM

Jealous Jambo

Tell your Yam mate their hero Skacel scored 10 goals in 109 appearances since leaving them in 2006.

Of course, he is a Left Mid player. But it's still good to stick it into them :greengrin:

15-06-2011, 06:17 PM
It is a very good bit of business if it works out, I hope there is an option for extension as it would be poor form if we brought him on again only to leave. The deal being shorter though is probably best but Hibs MUST ensure any more recruits are signing for the long haul we cannot be sitting here in 12mths rebuilding again IF all goes well as the new boys had short deals.

Simpson
15-06-2011, 06:21 PM
welcome home Garry!!!! :flag::flag:

15-06-2011, 06:22 PM
I must say i'm surprised on 2 fronts.

First he has signed for us, never thought we could get him back and.......

Secondly it's only a 1 year contract, thought Hibs would try for longer so they could at least try and get 2 good seasons out of him.

However, Well done to the board, CC and lastly, Gary welcome back.....

moredun
15-06-2011, 06:25 PM
Tell your Yam mate their hero Skacel scored 10 goals in 109 appearances since leaving them in 2006.

Of course, he is a Left Mid player. But it's still good to stick it into them :greengrin:

He only scored 4 goals in 88 games for southampton

bruno
15-06-2011, 06:25 PM
I hope you posed the question...
Did Nade score the winner in the Russian cup final?

Did nade get anywhere near the premiership? Or even the Championship?

And at what level did Nade manage to score?

No he didn't play in Russia so O'connor beats him there

Nade did play in the premiership in he time period quoted scoring a massive 3 goals in a season

There is no doubt that if Hibs have signed the same quality of player that left them for Russia they will have signed a player in the top 3 strikers in the SPL.

I doubt he will be same level but if he an get his appetite and fitness back then he will comfortably be a top striker again.

I hope for his sake and Scottish footballs sake he can return to something like his best and start to enjoy his football again

HibsMax
15-06-2011, 06:29 PM
It is a very good bit of business if it works out, I hope there is an option for extension as it would be poor form if we brought him on again only to leave. The deal being shorter though is probably best but Hibs MUST ensure any more recruits are signing for the long haul we cannot be sitting here in 12mths rebuilding again IF all goes well as the new boys had short deals.

My eventual hope is that Hibs get to a level where players actually want to come play for us AND stay rather than using us as a stepping stone. Of course that depends on Hibs having the required finances to do that. We shall see.

15-06-2011, 06:30 PM
Hopefully tomorrow will see another two or three new faces, or old faces back, and then we start working on the close season. All the ifs' ands or buts are now irrelevant now that O'Connor is a Hibernian player. Best way to answer all critics as always, is to screw the nut, contribute and stick that ball in the net.

15-06-2011, 06:56 PM
Mixed feelings about this. His off-field antics are well documented, but that said we all know his talents. Which leads to another negative, if he does really well he'll be gone again for free next season.

Not that I'm a glass half-empty kinda guy.

15-06-2011, 07:02 PM
58 goals for Hibs....anyone know how many hes scored against Hertz? Can inly think of two off the top of my head but must be more than that?

15-06-2011, 07:07 PM
58 goals for Hibs....anyone know how many hes scored against Hertz? Can inly think of two off the top of my head but must be more than that?

I can think of at least 6 :agree:

15-06-2011, 07:10 PM
I wonder if this short term deal has been hastily arranged as we have perhaps missed out on Rooney and Hemed.:dunno:

Nevertheless good to have Garry back:flag:

15-06-2011, 07:10 PM
No he didn't play in Russia so O'connor beats him there

Nade did play in the premiership in he time period quoted scoring a massive 3 goals in a season

There is no doubt that if Hibs have signed the same quality of player that left them for Russia they will have signed a player in the top 3 strikers in the SPL.

I doubt he will be same level but if he an get his appetite and fitness back then he will comfortably be a top striker again.

I hope for his sake and Scottish footballs sake he can return to something like his best and start to enjoy his football again

:agree: at least some of you are honest:greengrin

15-06-2011, 07:12 PM
I wonder if this short term deal has been hastily arranged as we have perhaps missed out on Rooney and Hemed.:dunno:

and we're off. that took longer than i thought it would though.

15-06-2011, 07:13 PM

Hastily. You serious?

15-06-2011, 07:14 PM
Welcome home Garry :thumbsup: great signing :agree:

Sherlock Jones
15-06-2011, 07:14 PM

6 goals in 14 matches (1 of those as sub).

15-06-2011, 07:19 PM
Hastily. You serious?

Yeah. This deal could have been thrown together after more protracted deals fell through. Only surmising due to shortness of deal and rumours of other strikers sought . :dunno:

15-06-2011, 07:20 PM
Amazing news. Welcome back Garry.

I really hope that we have a plan to try and keep him longer though but this is brilliant news. Well done Petrie. :top marks

15-06-2011, 07:26 PM
just got a text from Hibs big Gary is home. 1 year deal

yee ****en ha !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

delighted,really decent bloke having met him a few times

welcome home gary:thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 07:27 PM

:agree: He has scored 6 goals against Hearts.

1-March '02 (Hibs 1-2 Hearts)
2-August '03 (Hibs 1-0 Hearts)
3-April '05 (Hearts 1-2 Hibs)
4-April '05 (Hibs 2-2 Hearts)
5-October '05 (Hibs 2-0 Hearts)
6-January '06 (Hearts 4-1 Hibs)

Not a bad little record. He's scored in 3 derby victories over Hearts in the space of almost 4 years.

15-06-2011, 07:31 PM
and we're off. that took longer than i thought it would though.

Not being negative just speculating as to how deal was arrived at. Some people just spoiling for a fight on every thread:wink::devil:

sixtwo
15-06-2011, 07:31 PM
I'm delighted, impressed and slightly aroused

Welcome home son. Get fit and you'll score 25 goals against the *****y defences in this league!

Hibeesb0unc3
15-06-2011, 07:36 PM
I hope im proved wrong but after only making 22 appearances in 2 seasons i think he will need to shake off a lot of rustiness and get match fit again. But hopefully once all this happens he starts producing the performances and goals just like he used to and become a crowd favourite again:flag::flag:

15-06-2011, 07:37 PM

Yeah. This deal could have been thrown together after more protracted deals fell through. Only surmising due to shortness of deal and rumours of other strikers sought . :dunno:

Or maybe someone emailed Fife this morning and told him to get his finger out :dunno:

15-06-2011, 07:37 PM
Welcome home Gazza!!! Here's hoping you pick up where you left off the last time you were at Hibs and that is scoring goals and causing havoc to the opposition defence with your strength and pace. I couldn't give a flying **** what has happened off the pitch. As long as you do the business on the pitch then that will do for me.

Also credit has to go to CC and the board for allowing this move to happen. A RB, 1 more CB, creative MID and 1 more striker and we are ready. Bring on the new season!!!

:cgwa

15-06-2011, 07:38 PM
Another exciting signing :agree:

Welcome home Garry........I am sure you and Ivan will link up well together, just like you did the last time ! :thumbsup:

Hibs Till I Die. :flag:

15-06-2011, 07:38 PM
Or maybe someone emailed Fife this morning and told him to get his finger out :dunno:

You are clearly ill informed:greengrin

15-06-2011, 07:39 PM
You are clearly ill informed:greengrin

15-06-2011, 07:41 PM
Welcome home Gazza!!! Here's hoping you pick up where you left off the last time you were at Hibs and that is scoring goals and causing havoc to the opposition defence with your strength and pace. I couldn't give a flying **** what has happened off the pitch. As long as you do the business on the pitch then that will do for me.

Also credit has to go to CC and the board for allowing this move to happen. A RB, 1 more CB, creative MID and 1 more striker and we are ready. Bring on the new season!!!

Great Post :thumbsup: :top marks

15-06-2011, 07:42 PM
Welcome home big Gaz,stick a few more winners in the jambos net:thumbsup::flag:

15-06-2011, 07:44 PM

Towell
Caldwell
Alan Smith
Porter/Airey/Rooney

If they can pull something like this out of the bag, I'll rip the heid oaf it for weeks. :nerd:

15-06-2011, 07:45 PM
Towell
Caldwell
Alan Smith
Porter/Airey/Rooney

If they can pull something like this out of the bag, I'll rip the heid oaf it for weeks. :nerd:

Too much info Mr Pedant:greengrin

15-06-2011, 07:45 PM
I take it the police are not going to charge him then?

Great signing though i reckon he will work well with deeks up front :)

15-06-2011, 07:46 PM

jeez,get a grip. some decent news at last and a huge boost for us fans and some are still being negative

15-06-2011, 07:47 PM
jeez,get a grip. some decent news at last and a huge boost for us fans and some are still being negative

Calm doon dear! I refer you to answer above

15-06-2011, 07:48 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9FKz-p11Qlo&feature=player_embedded#at=12

no sure if this has been posted :thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 07:50 PM
Calm doon dear!

ok then :greengrin

15-06-2011, 07:50 PM
Great news :flag: Get Towell signed and a creative midfielder and they'll be fighting to get season tickets :wink:

15-06-2011, 07:51 PM
Delighted that he's come back. Have to say I didn't think it would happen and other than noting one or two folk's posts who I know get good info, I thought it was just idle speculation.

I reckon GOC will do very well this time round.

Welcome home, Garry.:thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 07:59 PM
Towell
Caldwell
Alan Smith
Porter/Airey/Rooney

If we get those players signed up then I will just....... gosh words can't describe how I will feel. Ticket sales will start to increase. Gosh I have not seen this much excitement on .net for a long, long time. Long may it continue!!!

15-06-2011, 08:01 PM
Magic news and well done Hibs. This is much more like it :greengrin

Who gives a dogs dangly if he's been mucking around wi cops and suchlike. If he can knuckle down, get back to his best and bang in the goals then happy days indeed :thumbsup:

And he just loves scoring against the Yams :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin - :greengrin

15-06-2011, 08:02 PM
Excelent news! This is just the kind of signing we have been crying out for to put a spring back in our step - some great positive vibes coming from Gary in the interview on the fishul site as well which is just what the doctor ordered - welcome home Gaz :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

SmokieJoe
15-06-2011, 08:06 PM
Welcome HOME Gaz!!

Stay for longer than just the one year pls pls pls pls:greengrin

moredun
15-06-2011, 08:09 PM

Cheers for putting that up

"He(CC) wants me to be a leader, an example on and off the pitch, he made that pretty clear"

"The players he is bringing, sorry trying to bring in is good, Rod is helping him there"

15-06-2011, 08:14 PM

Nice one Gaz. Welcome back big fella.

You are well capable of scoring a barrowload in the SPL.. standard has dropped dramatically since you were last here

Let's no forget he donated his chunk of the russian transfer towards that very training centre.

Another winning goal in the first derby .... wot odds on that !

HibeeSince85
15-06-2011, 08:24 PM
Great signing, Sproule, Gaz n O'Hanlon - really pleased with the start we've made, if we can continue to add quality I'll be more excited for the coming season.

Don Giovanni
15-06-2011, 08:29 PM
What a wonderful coincidence that the best options for those positions happened to be popular fans favourites. Well at least Sproule has maintained a loyal following, O'Connor used to get pelters here when Blobby was in charge. It is like the Blues Brothers puttin the old band back on the road.

... on a mission from God ...

15-06-2011, 08:31 PM

Unless O'Connor is telling needless porkies, this interview also rather puts to bed the "who did he support as a boy" debate.

Unprompted, he said he supported Hibs as a boy :thumbsup:

15-06-2011, 08:35 PM

Cheers for that :aok:

Is that a rippling 6 pack or a little gut - lower belly area?

No doubt he'll be carrying a little extra weight, in the face too he looks like he'll need the pre-season coming up.

Anyway, he looks happy and ready to go...... I've been out playing badminton had a couple of beers and got back an hour ago, since the news earlier, and I'm on cloud 9 TBH........With him and Sproule back, I honestly can see weekends being something we'll forward to again, to see the cabbage ripping in and about teams........

15-06-2011, 08:45 PM
Hopefully can keep fit and score a few goals, im happy with this signing

Reserving judgement - could be really good, could be a disaster.

It'll do me if he keeps sober. :rolleyes:

Don Giovanni
15-06-2011, 08:47 PM
Cheers for that :aok:

Is that a rippling 6 pack or a little gut - lower belly area?

No doubt he'll be carrying a little extra weight, in the face too he looks like he'll need the pre-season coming up.

Ah ken!
Have you seen the size o' his tats anaw?

Much bigger than last time he was here.

15-06-2011, 08:47 PM
Towell
Caldwell
Alan Smith
Porter/Airey/Rooney

Looks like it'll be you that pulls somethig out of the bag.

That said, I think we can all look forward to enjoying at least a semi with GOC back in the side.

15-06-2011, 08:50 PM

He's got a lot ot do in the pre-season - he looks bloated. :rolleyes:

Hank Schrader
15-06-2011, 08:50 PM
That said, I think we can all look forward to enjoying at least a semi with GOC back in the side.

I have already experienced a few this evening with more due later on tonight :wink::greengrin

15-06-2011, 08:54 PM
I have a question

where in the hell did the Alan Smith thing come from. (I am aware that he is a chum of CC)

Heard he is off to Leeds and if not Leeds the Huns??

O and as for the Israeli guy that was a non starter...that guy was never going to sign for us ENDOF.

Feet firmly on the ground now...will we sign the likes of Porter/Rooney after signing Gazza??

Hope so says me.

15-06-2011, 08:55 PM
I have a question

where in the hell did the Alan Smith thing come from. (I am aware that he is a chum of CC)

Heard he is off to Leeds and if not Leeds the Huns??

O and as for the Israeli guy that was a non starter...that guy was never going to sign for us ENDOF.

Feet firmly on the ground now...will we sign the likes of Porter/Rooney after signing Gazza??

Hope so says me.

We certainly need one or other of them. :agree:

15-06-2011, 09:00 PM
Just need to complete the Stewart signing and add Murphy and Zibi and we're cooking with gaz.

15-06-2011, 09:05 PM
Just need to complete the Stewart signing and add Murphy and Zibi and we're cooking with gaz.

Yeah right. You been drinking Speeders???

15-06-2011, 09:16 PM
He's got a lot ot do in the pre-season - he looks bloated. :rolleyes:

I thought he was looking a bit "chunky". Time will tell, but I'm still a happy Hibbie with this signing

15-06-2011, 09:16 PM

:faf: Nooooooooooo! :greengrin

Horse
15-06-2011, 09:21 PM
This is as big a signing as we can make given our budget. Of course there is no guarantee that Garry will be a success but he seems happy to be here and if we can get his full potential out of him he'll score loads against generally poor SPL defences.

Can I ask all of those who have proudly proclaimed that they had lost their passion for Hibs and wouldn't be back next season if they are now having a rethink?

Get it sorted Petrie!

15-06-2011, 09:31 PM

The interesting thing in that HTV interview is that he states he has been out training with the Hibs fitness coach.

With questions had been asked about his fitness I doubt that he would have been signed if the fitness coach had any misgivings about his fitness levels.

15-06-2011, 09:33 PM
The interesting thing in that HTV interview is that he states he has been out training with the Hibs fitness coach.

With questions had been asked about his fitness I doubt that he would have been signed if the fitness coach had any misgivings about his fitness levels.

Ex fitness coach.

Anyway he's got pre-season to get sharper and plenty pre season friendlies to also get some game time and sharpness.

15-06-2011, 09:35 PM
COMMENT REMOVED

Loved him when he was first with us and fingers crossed he'll be just as influencial as his first spell, mon the gazza!

EDIT - He's a Hibs player now and he's innocent until proved otherwise. So he gets our support. ANY comments like that will be removed. If anyone thinks it's a good idea to do it repeatedly then they'll be removed.

HibsMax
15-06-2011, 09:36 PM
He does look a little chunky but I think he's slouched a little as well? However, he's not *that* slouched. ;)

I'm happy that he's at least saying all the right things and if he has any intention at all of using Hibs to springboard his career again then he will have to put words into action as well.

Yeah, the wheels might fall off but I have a good feeling about this.

The_Sauz
15-06-2011, 09:38 PM

It was the former fitness coach :wink:

15-06-2011, 09:40 PM
Loved him when he was first with us and fingers crossed he'll be just as influencial as his first spell, mon the gazza!

Why even bother with the 1st bit :rolleyes:

This has the potential to be a superb signing :top marks

15-06-2011, 09:41 PM
my avater is becoming more relevant with every signing...maybe i should superimpose messi in there on the off chance that its a weird self fulfilling prophecy type avater from the twilight zone.

15-06-2011, 09:44 PM
What's the 6th? I count 5...

Last minute winner...
First at Tynie in a 2-1 win...
Opener at ER in a 2-2 draw...
First in the 'unbeatable' derby...
Consolation in a 4-1 humping at the PBS...

15-06-2011, 09:50 PM
Given our transfer / wages budget this is about top of the tree for us.

Sure G O'Cs career has stumbled a bit, but given the fact that he has been unable to get a starting place in an EPL team ( see the brilliant David Murphy ) and then has ended up out on loan to a less than glamerous club its not hard to see why he has struggled a bit.

Hopefully the fact that he is now in a league he can easily score in with a club he wants to play for we will see the G O'C of old.

Now geeza decent centre half and a ball playing midfieldr and I for one will start to get excited about next season.

15-06-2011, 09:53 PM
Why even bother with the 1st bit :rolleyes:

This has the potential to be a superb signing :top marks
I see some peoples sence of humour has gone walkabouts..

15-06-2011, 09:55 PM

Last minute winner...

Someone posted it up earlier all of them, and even with dates.

But I know of the top of my head, he put us in front at ER and we lost 2-1 with a late elvis penalty.....

15-06-2011, 09:56 PM

Last minute winner...

His first derby goal when the filth won 2-1 at ER. Think he celebrated with Riordan who was in the West with his scarf on!

Brummie_Hibs
15-06-2011, 10:02 PM
"He(CC) wants me to be a leader, an example on and off the pitch, he made that pretty clear":
I found that statement quite interesting - it made me think whether CC and Rod have put a deal on the table; If Garry shows that he can knuckle down, stop his nonsense and shows that he is a leader on the park and in the changing room, then Hibs would at first make him captain and start getting involved with coaching youth teams, then offer to pay for his coaching badges, etc.

Thus keeping him playing at Hibs past the one year to maybe 4-5, and then maybe as an assistant coach and ultimately manager. He is still only 28, and you cannot map out a football player's future in 2 years time, let alone 5-7 years, as would be in this case. However, if Garry felt that he was happy being back in Scotland with a young family and that he's seen his fair share of European league football, then he may be thinking where his football future lies in 4 years time.

15-06-2011, 10:20 PM
I see some peoples sence of humour has gone walkabouts..

My sense of humour is right here ta..

That just wasnt funny in the slightest, sickbag might like it though :jamboak:

15-06-2011, 10:29 PM
good signing for us, welcome home garry o:thumbsup: just watched his interview on youtube, seems happy enough to be back, shame its a 1 year deal, fitness issues still a doubt perhaps?

15-06-2011, 10:39 PM
Tell you what ......... this is a major coup for us. Well done everyone involved in bringing GOC back to Easter Road.

Now Gary ............repay the faith matey ! :aok:

15-06-2011, 11:13 PM
I'm sure the club officials working on signing don't take much notice of what is posted on here.

According to you the other day, they were "contemptously dismissing it". Which is it then?

I hope all those who were throwing the toys out the cot at Fife's supposed comments, and making all sorts of ludicrous comments of their own criticising the club maybe just pause to reflect, and think about being a bit more patient in future.

And I really hope that's as patronising as it sounded while I was typing it :agree:

TrickyNicky
15-06-2011, 11:16 PM
Brilliant signing, well done Hibs !

A lot of people saying he looks bloated and chunky - I think we're just used tae seein tattooe'd fitbaw players in underpants in shop windows up the toon!

It'll be like Davie Ginola and his fitness saga - muscles will be flexed at doubters in the stands, Arnie Schwartzenegger style.

So watch oot when it happens, he might just impregnate you !!

15-06-2011, 11:19 PM
good signing for us, welcome home garry o:thumbsup: just watched his interview on youtube, seems happy enough to be back, shame its a 1 year deal, fitness issues still a doubt perhaps?

No, apparently we're just keeping him until Celtic are ready to take him on. :rolleyes:

marleyhib
15-06-2011, 11:47 PM
Brilliant, welcome back Garry

Would love to see him and Deek up front against the yams again, has Deek gone?

15-06-2011, 11:55 PM

16-06-2011, 05:50 AM
Not for a nanosecond did I doubt we would bring in "name" players.

Welcome home big man. Rip this league to ****in shreds!!!!

supersauzee
16-06-2011, 06:27 AM
Excellent signing, couldnt be happier with that! I am sure he will be as good as he was for us before if not better after the experience he has gained the last few years! All I can say is I have spoken to him and he is delighted to be back!:thumbsup:

He does look a little chunky but I think he's slouched a little as well? However, he's not *that* slouched. ;)

I'm happy that he's at least saying all the right things and if he has any intention at all of using Hibs to springboard his career again then he will have to put words into action as well.

Yeah, the wheels might fall off but I have a good feeling about this.

To say he looks a little chunky is silly! I have trained with him a few times since he has come back home and he is far from that, GOC is pure muscle and in perfect physical condition!! He is still as quick as before too so looking forward to seeing him torment the yams!! :greengrin

16-06-2011, 06:37 AM
To say he looks a little chunky is silly! I have trained with him a few times since he has come back home and he is far from that, GOC is pure muscle and in perfect physical condition!! He is still as quick as before too so looking forward to seeing him torment the yams!! :greengrin

Saw him at EM and thought he looked about 80-90% but a good pre season should see to that. For the first time in a long time Hibs, with Sodje and GOC up top at least have a bit of dig about them. Watching Hibs forwards repeatedly gang raped by some Yam orcs has really pissed me off lately. At least opposition centre halfs are going to know their there.

Sodje is no slouch either which is an added bonus. While we will bring in others this is looking quite good so far and all that faffing about is now showing that CC does appear to have a clue after all.

16-06-2011, 07:21 AM
According to you the other day, they were "contemptously dismissing it". Which is it then?

I hope all those who were throwing the toys out the cot at Fife's supposed comments, and making all sorts of ludicrous comments of their own criticising the club maybe just pause to reflect, and think about being a bit more patient in future.

And I really hope that's as patronising as it sounded while I was typing it :agree:

If you dismiss someone's opinion then I'd have thought that you definitely, by default, don't let it get to you. Have a think about that and get back to me if you need me to explain it slower.

I'm not sure either how Hyland dismissing website users is connected to patience regarding signings but in your mind, I'm sure it all fits together nicely. I was never panicking about signings though so that comment washes over me, to be honest.

Good try on the patronising front though. It's the first time that I've heard you deviate from a press release so it's definite progress.

16-06-2011, 07:29 AM

Last minute winner...
Boozy scored the first in the unbeatable derby. O'Connor scored a couple of minutes later. :agree:

16-06-2011, 08:35 AM
The Return of the King!

16-06-2011, 08:41 AM
The Return of the King!

Can't wait for him to put the orcs to the sword:agree:

16-06-2011, 08:43 AM
GoC song

Boy I think about it every night and day
I'm addicted wanna you to strike inside the box
I wouldn't wanna have it any other way
I'm addicted and I just can't get enough

I just can't get enough

16-06-2011, 08:50 AM
Can't wait for him to put the orcs to the sword:agree:

Aye, to have genuine threat will do wonders for the whole teams confidence and sodje will benefit greatly from GOC. I can see the sodje creating mayhem and space and GOC finishing the job in a clinical way. I just cant wait for the season to start!

16-06-2011, 08:54 AM
my avater is becoming more relevant with every signing...maybe i should superimpose messi in there on the off chance that its a weird self fulfilling prophecy type avater from the twilight zone.

Dont ask man just do it get his face on there pronto.

16-06-2011, 08:55 AM

I don't really care who said what on here over the past few weeks. The future now looks that little bit brighter, something each and every one of us can enjoy. :thumbsup:

16-06-2011, 08:57 AM
I cant stop posting I am just over the moon (and a wee bit emotional)

Get into them GOC!

16-06-2011, 08:59 AM

Get into them GOC!

You don't say.

number 27
16-06-2011, 09:03 AM

Maybe you could read some of the comments again and this time try to properly understand them. As far as I am concerned the fact that people like you are using this good news to once again attack fellow supporters simply confirms what I have been trying to say about the way this forum is going.

Great news about signings so far, two more needed for me.

16-06-2011, 09:04 AM
It would have been business suicide if Hibs had not signed someone who whet the fans appetite. Hopefully the ones who were holding back on buying their season ticket will now part with their hard earned cash.

Okay Garry hasn't exactly been at the top of his form for the past few seasons but I would be very surprised if he doesn't managed to score a barrow load of goals in the SPL. We know what he is capable of doing and he'll certainly give us 100%.

Looking forward to perhaps seeing more signings this week.

:flag: :flag: :flag:

16-06-2011, 09:06 AM
Maybe you could read some of the comments again and this time try to properly understand them. As far as I am concerned the fact that people like you are using this good news to once again attack fellow supporters simply confirms what I have been trying to say about the way this forum is going.

Have you thought about offering your services as an Admin to sort this place out. :agree:

16-06-2011, 09:12 AM

Awwww, the poor lambs.

These same supporters who have been "attacking" the club they supposedly support for months, if not years, on end?

If you're going to post negative, hysterical pish about Hibs, non-stop on a forum for Hibs supporters, then you're going to have to take some flak from folk who actually support Hibs.

number 27
16-06-2011, 09:18 AM
Have you thought about offering your services as an Admin to sort this place out. :agree:

No, It's not really an admin issue. It's just what I see as a kind of mass bullying of those who don't follow a certain line.

Anyway I don't want to hijack a positive thread. I do trust CC, I do think we can have a good season and i am looking forward to it. :flag:

16-06-2011, 09:18 AM

Brilliant signing, well done Hibs !

A lot of people saying he looks bloated and chunky - I think we're just used tae seein tattooe'd fitbaw players in underpants in shop windows up the toon!

It'll be like Davie Ginola and his fitness saga - muscles will be flexed at doubters in the stands, Arnie Schwartzenegger style.

So watch oot when it happens, he might just impregnate you !!

O'Connor's CV since leaving Hibs has been a tale of diminishing returns and injury, with a lot of time spent watching games from the bench or the stand.

Any other player coming in with that immediate history would get the full treatment - is he past it, weren't impressed with him even when he was playing regularly, one year's just about enough as he really has to prove himself, are we reduced to sin=gning players who couldn't even get a game for Barnsley... Etc. Etc.

The sort of treatment just about every new player gets when he signs at ER.

Now we've had one :woohoo: thread about Ivan Sproule coming "home"; now we have anothe r:woohoo: thread about Garry O'Connor.

In my experience second-time-around signings raise big expectations, but can be very disappointing in the outcome.

I truly hope that this is the case with neither Ivan nor Garry - at their best first time around they were very very good for us indeed. They were fans' favourites and always gave 100% whenever they came onto the pitch.

As I understand it, Ivan hasn't lost much pace at all since he left, and I'd be very surprised if an intelligent lad like he is hasn't added a bit to his game during his stay in England. I'd be surprised if all we're getting is the old Ivan Sproule - we may actually be getting a better player. Time alone will tell.

We know what Garry COULD do - the question is whether he can still do it. He looks heavy to me - "bloated" was the wrong word to use. It'll be comforting if it's true that he's been working under our fitness coach at East Mains - that would reassure us that the state of his fitness is known and has been taken into account before we signed him.

He also needs to stop the off-field shenanigans - that does him no credit, and embarrasses the club. It doesn't do his game any good either.

Having slept on the matter, I'm beginning to think that a match-fit Garry O might be exactly the striking partner the Sodger could thrive on. We shall see.

And it IS true that 16 days into the window and 2 strikers signed isn't all that slow work from the board.

16-06-2011, 09:20 AM
O'Connor's CV since leaving Hibs has been a tale of diminishing returns and injury, with a lot of time spent watching games from the bench or the stand.

Any other player coming in with that immediate history would get the full treatment - is he past it, weren't impressed with him even when he was playing regularly, one year's just about enough as he really has to prove himself, are we reduced to sin=gning players who couldn't even get a game for Barnsley... Etc. Etc.

The sort of treatment just about every new player gets when he signs at ER.

Now we've had one :woohoo: thread about Ivan Sproule coming "home"; now we have anothe r:woohoo: thread about Garry O'Connor.

In my experience second-time-around signings raise big expectations, but can be very disappointing in the outcome.

I truly hope that this is the case with neither Ivan nor Garry - at their best first time around they were very very good for us indeed. They were fans' favourites and always gave 100% whenever they came onto the pitch.

As I understand it, Ivan hasn't lost much pace at all since he left, and I'd be very surprised if an intelligent lad like he is hasn't added a bit to his game during his stay in England. I'd be surprised if all we're getting is the old Ivan Sproule - we may actually be getting a better player. Time alone will tell.

We know what Garry COULD do - the question is whether he can still do it. He looks heavy to me - "bloated" was the wrong word to use. It'll be comforting if it's true that he's been working under our fitness coach at East Mains - that would reassure us that the state of his fitness is known and has been taken into account before we signed him.

He also needs to stop the off-field shenanigans - that does him no credit, and embarrasses the club. It doesn't do his game any good either.

Having slept on the matter, I'm beginning to think that a match-fit Garry O might be exactly the striking partner the Sodger could thrive on. We shall see.

Spot on, an exciting proposition..........:flag:

16-06-2011, 09:22 AM
Awwww, the poor lambs.

These same supporters who have been "attacking" the club they supposedly support for months, if not years, on end?

If you're going to post negative, hysterical pish about Hibs, non-stop on a forum for Hibs supporters, then you're going to have to take some flak from folk who actually support Hibs.

This is nonsense Bawheid, just because some posters have real concerns or are anti Board does not make them less of a supporter....... I have real concerns, although I hope the signings prove me wrong and I can be anti board at times, but follow the team everywhere, so your point does not stack up for me.......

16-06-2011, 09:29 AM
This is nonsense Bawheid, just because some posters have real concerns or are anti Board does not make them less of a supporter....... I have real concerns, although I hope the signings prove me wrong and I can be anti board at times, but follow the team everywhere, so your point does not stack up for me.......

Yes BF, but my point was not necessarily aimed at people like you.

Alongside the genuine concerns, expressed in a lucid and straightforward manner, there has been lots of over-the-top hysterical nonsense posted on here.

Anyway, let's not get into the "who's a real supporter" debate on this thread.

Welcome home Garry. :flag:

16-06-2011, 09:44 AM
Once again the club/board have put their money where their mouths are, as they always do. And there will be more signings before the window shuts.

The hysteria asking the board to invest, or we have signed nobody, or there's a wage cap of £1300 a week, is just nonscence.

Every season window after window this club invest more than most, couple that with what we have done off the park is very much near a miracle in this climate.

If folk for one minute sat down and asked themselves just what our manager, whoever he is at the time spent, and compared it to EVERY other team bar the obvious 3, you cant fail to come to the conclusion if the team fail, its the man who manages the teams fault.

He gets the tools to do the job, the buck stops with him. Now if consecutive managers get it wrong, you have to look at who appoints them, but thats a different argument.

Again we are backing our manager, again we are giving him more than most. Calderwood its up to you now.

16-06-2011, 09:45 AM
No, It's not really an admin issue. It's just what I see as a kind of mass bullying of those who don't follow a certain line.

Anyway I don't want to hijack a positive thread. I do trust CC, I do think we can have a good season and i am looking forward to it. :flag:
And i see it the opposite way. It is those who defend the club that are bullied and accused of being "board apologists" when the arguments against them are based on gossip and hearsay.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with healthy disagreement and it is pleasing to see a number of posters who could be regarded as being "negative" posting on this thread. People are right to ask questions.

What is significant though is the amount of "regular" posters who are perhaps conspicuous by their absence on this particular thread.

16-06-2011, 09:45 AM

The jibes were getting thrown about equally from, for want of a better term, both sides of the divide. A bit robust at times but bullying? No way.
Time to move on though isn't it? Onwards and upwards. :thumbsup:

16-06-2011, 09:49 AM
The jibes were getting thrown about equally from, for want of a better term, both sides of the divide. A bit robust at times but bullying? No way.

O'Connor quoted as saying CC see's him as a leader..............captain perhaps?

16-06-2011, 09:58 AM
O'Connor quoted as saying CC see's him as a leader..............captain perhaps?

I don't think so. That would be the lunatic running the asylum.

I could see East Mains littered with expensive wrecked cars, all driven by "someone else whose name I can't remember..." :wink:

If he stays fit and scores goals and gives a bit more shape to the side, I'm happy.

If O'Hanlon signs, I think I'd make him team captain.

number 27
16-06-2011, 09:59 AM

Agreed, to be honest I'm even starting to bore myself.:agree:

Another forward and a right back and I'm in danger of being optimistic:greengrin

16-06-2011, 10:01 AM
Another forward and a right back and I'm in danger of being optimistic:greengrin

That's the spirit!! :top marks

16-06-2011, 10:01 AM
Yes BF, but my point was not necessarily aimed at people like you.

Alongside the genuine concerns, expressed in a lucid and straightforward manner, there has been lots of over-the-top hysterical nonsense posted on here.

Anyway, let's not get into the "who's a real supporter" debate on this thread.

Welcome home Garry. :flag:

16-06-2011, 10:02 AM

Hallelujah Brother, Amen

HFC07
16-06-2011, 10:51 AM
Amazing! I have just found out that I will be graduating this summer with a masters degree in architecture, coupled with the news of Gary O'conners signing.
Carlesberg don't do amazing day but if they did........... GGTHH

LeithBoozy
16-06-2011, 11:14 AM
Thanks for posting the vidio, how good is it to see our Gary back in a Hibs top.:not worth

16-06-2011, 12:26 PM
Should see the thread over the road on this. Even I could rip apart each and every single post in it but I won't waste my undercover status, I'll save that for when O'Connor sticks the 8th past them :wink:

TrickyNicky
16-06-2011, 12:29 PM
Amazing! I have just found out that I will be graduating this summer with a masters degree in architecture, coupled with the news of Gary O'conners signing.

Congratulations mate, have you ever designed any rabbit hutches?
I'm in the market for one of those "Grand Design" styled jobs.

Having said that, Carlsberg don't do rabbit hutches but they do produce a beer that, if you drink enough of it, will make you ask silly questions tae complete strangers.

16-06-2011, 12:34 PM

Get into them GOC!

You are. He will. GGTTH! :thumbsup:

16-06-2011, 01:36 PM
Delighted he's back. He should clean up his act and bang them in for us in no time :thumbsup:

HibsMax
16-06-2011, 02:06 PM

It's hardly silly. I didn't say that he is fat or unfit, I simply said that from the camera angle he looked a little chunky - his belly was pushing against his shirt. I even went so far as to say it was likely his posture. I'm not a fat guy but when I slouch it looks like I have a gut as well. I'm glad to read your report though since you've actually seen the guy. :)

16-06-2011, 02:31 PM
I have to congratulate the board on ALL the recent signings, Im starting to look forward to next season, a couple more signings like Garry, Ivan and O,Hanlon then we have the makings of a guid team, cannae wait for the fixture list tae come oot noo.

16-06-2011, 08:36 PM
It's hardly silly. I didn't say that he is fat or unfit, I simply said that from the camera angle he looked a little chunky - his belly was pushing against his shirt. I even went so far as to say it was likely his posture. I'm not a fat guy but when I slouch it looks like I have a gut as well. I'm glad to read your report though since you've actually seen the guy. :)

:agree: I weigh 10 Stone and when I lean forward right now, I look like I have a gut.

All the same, he should work on fitness etc. to get back on form.

Delighted about the signing though :flag:

17-06-2011, 08:25 AM

Congtatulations by the way!

What a great day for us all, that nobody can take away. We are signing some real class here folks. Bring on celtic, Cmon the hibs.

Jimmy Belter
18-06-2011, 11:44 AM
I'm gobsmacked :shocked::scarf: At 28, he's probably at the peak of his career. Hibs have no right to be able to sign a player of GO's ability - easily the most exciting signing of the summer by Hibs !

Jees, still can't believe that - great to have him back at ER.

If he is at the peak of his career why did he has no club ?

18-06-2011, 11:48 AM
______________Stack

Towell___O'Hanlon___Hanlon___Booth

______________Palsson
__________Thornhill___Scott
Sproule____________________Riordan
________________GOC

That would be a team to make me pretty positive come the start of the season, if not Rooney in for Riordan, or Kevin McDonald for one of Scott or Thornhill.

18-06-2011, 12:01 PM

Because his contract has ran out and he wants a move:confused:

18-06-2011, 12:19 PM

I was wondering where you had been.

Anything in the pipeline yet Yo.........erm Jimmy :greengrin

18-06-2011, 12:52 PM

:agree: But that would be much too simple, LA.

He did well with us first time around; well with Lokomotiv too. The question at Birmingham was his proneness to injury - McLeish suggested this might be due to his playing on synthetic pitches in Russia while carrying an injury from his Hibs days.

His time with Birmingham and Barnsley has been very unsettled - mainly down to injuries, apparently - and Garry seems to me to be the kind of guy who needs to be playing regularly or he tends to go off the rails - spectacularly.

If he's anything like fit and willing to put in a shift, he's a player with a lot of ability who could do very well for us in the short term. (The same, IMO, applies to Ivan.) The idea that RP would commit two salaries on no more than the chance that the signings concerned would boost ST sales seems to me to be a little off the planet, frankly? He'd have to sell a lot of STs to recoup the sort of money he'd have to pay them over the course of the season, even if they're on contracts with a low monthly salary but big win- and goal-bonuses. That's a lot MORE than he'd have sold without signing them.

So far we've signed a winger and a striker from England who have played for us before and whose credentials are fairly well-known, and a defender who looks just the guy to stiffen our back four and give us a bit of stability at the back of the team.

Every signing's a gamble, every time. Do we not remember a certain big-name record signing who proved over the period he was here to be about as much use (and roughly the same shape) as a chocolate tea-pot? Fair enough, he scored goals - not as many as promised, mind - but did he improve the team? Not on your freakin life did he improve the team.

And IIRC, according to Ned T he was going to "win us the League".

But then Ned T also said that Benny Brazil was set to be "the next Pat Stanton".

18-06-2011, 06:47 PM

Was his last contract not terminated by his club, dont think it ran out. :aok:

18-06-2011, 07:06 PM
Was his last contract not terminated by his club, dont think it ran out. :aok:

Correct. I think.