View Full Version : Favourite Edinburgh Nightclub

14-06-2011, 02:28 PM
What's everyones favourite then? Current and from the past!

14-06-2011, 02:32 PM
Always liked opium for the music, quite liked the old liquid room. I've not been to it since the fire though. But the old peppermint lounge; the one that's now cab holds a special place in my heart as I pumped a lassie in the toilet the first time I was there. Good night that.

14-06-2011, 02:34 PM
Wilkie House :agree: particularly for this (http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/sublime-1.jpg)

14-06-2011, 02:35 PM
Nightlife ..Cinderalla's ..

14-06-2011, 02:55 PM
Always liked opium for the music, quite liked the old liquid room. I've not been to it since the fire though. But the old peppermint lounge; the one that's now cab holds a special place in my heart as I pumped a lassie in the toilet the first time I was there. Good night that.

Ahhh the auld days :agree:

JE89
14-06-2011, 03:06 PM
The Citylink to Glasgow and then anywhere is better than Edinburgh which is a distinctly poor night out. When I was 18 (and a pure child) I liked Cav but apart from that nowhere in Edinburgh has got me excited.

14-06-2011, 03:12 PM
Edinburgh is well and truly dire these days.

14-06-2011, 07:49 PM
Sublime or Wilkie House...alternatively come to mine for lots of bad stuff, won't get lifted either :greengrin

14-06-2011, 07:53 PM
Sublime or Wilkie House...alternatively come to mine for lots of bad stuff, won't get lifted either :greengrin got any of these (http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_JwoYVl-q8lU/SAATAjFL5WI/AAAAAAAAAC0/c9AlxLgFu7Y/s320/mitsubishi+ecstasy.jpg) :greengrin

:duck:

14-06-2011, 07:55 PM
got any of these (http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_JwoYVl-q8lU/SAATAjFL5WI/AAAAAAAAAC0/c9AlxLgFu7Y/s320/mitsubishi+ecstasy.jpg) :greengrin

:duck:

I actually just sold an evo last week :greengrin

14-06-2011, 08:41 PM
Edinburgh is well and truly dire these days.

:agree: I've only bothered going uptown about 3 times this year. It really is pretty awful.

14-06-2011, 08:59 PM
Me and Rooney had a very funny night in Mood a few years ago. :agree::greengrin

PiemanP
14-06-2011, 09:41 PM
Wilkie House :agree: particularly for this (http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/sublime-1.jpg)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uBe_L6A3jA&feature=related

looks great, shame theres nothing like that about these days!

14-06-2011, 09:49 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uBe_L6A3jA&feature=related

looks great, shame theres nothing like that about these days!Being aulder now certainly has it's advantages, seen the good clubbing times in this city :greengrin Used tae be some very good club nights in Edinburgh, that was my favourite though :agree:

Newhaven
14-06-2011, 10:01 PM
Slightly off topic but could you see this being given the go ahead from the council ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NRRGWVwa4U&feature=channel_video_title

14-06-2011, 10:38 PM
Probably Lulu at the moment.

15-06-2011, 04:04 PM
Back in the day, Buster Browns was fun!

15-06-2011, 09:12 PM
Back in the day, Buster Browns was fun!

I got my first kick in there, I was so proud of myself :greengrin

Calvin
15-06-2011, 09:57 PM
Citrus Club on a Saturday. The only place with very good music.

15-06-2011, 10:35 PM
I dont think anyone will agree - even I don't until I've had a couple - but The Hive. :thumbsup:

Great walk from the flat; Golf Tavern...Chanter...Vodka Rev...Rush...Hive. :flag:

thekaratekid
15-06-2011, 11:26 PM
The Honeycomb

The Venue

Wilkie House

Calvin
15-06-2011, 11:48 PM
I dont think anyone will agree - even I don't until I've had a couple - but The Hive. :thumbsup:

Great walk from the flat; Golf Tavern...Chanter...Vodka Rev...Rush...Hive. :flag:

It's a kind of last resort place but it's reasonably cheap, usually busy and a decent chance of alright music.

hibby19
16-06-2011, 12:33 AM

I practically live in this place! Used to love it, I've been slowly starting to get sick of it but still enjoy it most of the time.

City on a friday and Citrus on a saturday are also two places I like.

16-06-2011, 01:06 AM
It's a kind of last resort place but it's reasonably cheap, usually busy and a decent chance of alright music.

You've been saying we'll go for ages to prove it's not full of bams. Hurry up son.

16-06-2011, 11:57 AM

Utter minging place. Far too hot, reeks of pish, birds are crap, music's crap. Just terrible.

16-06-2011, 12:01 PM
Utter minging place. Far too hot, reeks of pish, birds are crap, music's crap. Just terrible.

Exactly how I feel. I'd rather just go hame then go to The Hive. :agree:

16-06-2011, 12:25 PM
Can't believe nobody has mentioned The Calton Studios or are most of the guys who went there not here anymore?

16-06-2011, 05:41 PM

16-06-2011, 05:58 PM
Exactly how I feel. I'd rather just go hame then go to The Hive. :agree:Maybe it's pish now that it's the Hive, maybe it's the music? maybe it's the people that go in it? Certainly dinnae think there's anything wrong with it as a venue. Had many good nights in there as the Vaults and The Honeycomb.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJDqlYxM7RM

Calvin
16-06-2011, 06:32 PM

Would you care to remind the readers how many times you've been?

£3 for sometimes a 4 shot cocktail is top notch.

17-06-2011, 09:55 AM
Would you care to remind the readers how many times you've been?

£3 for sometimes a 4 shot cocktail is top notch.

Then there's standing next to the sweaty, stinking guy at the bar for 40 minutes waiting to get served. It's a horrible place.

Calvin
17-06-2011, 03:13 PM
Then there's standing next to the sweaty, stinking guy at the bar for 40 minutes waiting to get served. It's a horrible place.

That's the problem with Edinburgh. It's either standing to some sweaty guy with decent banter or some guy wearing too much eau de toilette who is a pr*ck. There's not much middleground.

17-06-2011, 04:26 PM
I'm heading up town tonight. Thinking City before I hit 21 and get too old. It's always hooching on a Friday.

17-06-2011, 05:17 PM
Citrus back in the day. Now it's all just noise wherever you go unless Madchester is on at the Liquid Rooms.

18-06-2011, 01:18 AM
That's the problem with Edinburgh. It's either standing to some sweaty guy with decent banter or some guy wearing too much eau de toilette who is a pr*ck. There's not much middleground.

I prefer the prick.

18-06-2011, 10:12 AM
I prefer the prick.

You might have phrased that better :greengrin

18-06-2011, 10:15 AM
You might have phrased that better :greengrin:greengrin

18-06-2011, 10:22 AM
The Red Hot Pepper Club back in the mid 90's was decent. It's gone now and replaced by offices in Semple Street.

The Disco Inferno club night at the Venue used to be top notch too.

Town is pish now apart from the odd Madchester night at the Liquid Rooms...

18-06-2011, 10:30 AM
I generally hate clubs.

Would much rather go to the pub, few beers, bit a of a laugh and a chat, stick some decent music on the jukebox, few games of pool and a decent chnce of being able to chat to a bird without havng to resort to shouting and saying what? every 2 minutes.

I can quite happily go home at 1ish from the pub having had a cracking night out rather than waste money going to a club until 3 to stand next to some twat i have nothing in common with and going home miserable. The current girlfriend loves the ****ing Ghillie Dhu, everytime i end up there with her i'm bored and spend all my time moaning about how **** it is. Not conductive to an enjoyable night out IMO.

Calvin
18-06-2011, 02:07 PM
I prefer the prick.

PL v Academy exhibits itself again :greengrin

18-06-2011, 03:55 PM
PL v Academy exhibits itself again :greengrin

Which is always your final statement in a debate with me! :greengrin