View Full Version : NHC Fife Hyland Reassures they are working hard to strengthen

Pages : 1 [2]

Inch Cabbage
13-06-2011, 11:07 PM
Maybe because most of the posts are raising the same concerns over and over again?

Head in the sand implies that I am ignoring warnings that you / others are not. I don't see anything to be worried about right now, still plenty of time for Hibs to make some signings. Since we've descended to name-calling, if I am a head in the sand apologist then, by your logic, you are an alarmist. "sorry". LOL.

I don't see myself as an apologist because I think the board have done a fine job in looking after Hibs over that past few years....and I've been saying that for the past few years. Why would I change my tune now? I don't know if you were posting here a few years ago, and even if you were that's no guarantee you would remember, but back then I said that I believed the correct thing for Hibs to do was look after the infrastructure and then take care of the playing staff. That's what has been happening and I am happy. So far. Since you've been closely monitoring (stalking?) my posts you will undoubtedly know that I have also said that if the board does not take care of the playing staff NEXT then I will change my tune.

But hey, why let facts get in the way of a good old slagging match. Ay, "mate"?

Someone obviously can't take any criticism! Pick your toys off the ground love, if I'm an alarmist in your eyes fair play I prefer realist though! Stalker lol you can't avoid your patronising posts left right and centre humbling the same paragraphs.

HibsMax
13-06-2011, 11:13 PM
Someone obviously can't take any criticism! Pick your toys off the ground love, if I'm an alarmist in your eyes fair play I prefer realist though! Stalker lol you can't avoid your patronising posts left right and centre humbling the same paragraphs.

I can take criticism when it's deserved. My toys aren't on the ground. I'm still here fighting my corner.

Just so I have this right:
1. you're the realist,
2. my head is in the sand,
3. I'm a board apologist
4. I'm patronising

Yup, you're the one taking the high road here. :rolleyes:

Please don't reply to this thread on my account because I won't be reading any more of your crap from now.

13-06-2011, 11:14 PM
Based on hunches and what you've read on here? And we're moaning about the term 'ill informed' being used?:greengrin

I thought you were on holiday :na na:

I don't think it takes the brain of Britain to work out that ST sales this year will be piss poor. Effects of the economic situation and after a couple of really crap seasons. Just logical not ill-informed.

If I thought long and hard about renewing then I can bet there will be a fair number who haven't so STs will be down and so will cash in the bank. Do you really think I'm that far off the mark?

13-06-2011, 11:15 PM
Pish, IMHO.

Not contemptuous in the slightest, just bloody honest. They are the ONLY ones who really know what is going on so all the slaverings on here are just that, slaverings. Mostly entirely uninformed guesswork or completely random stuff just thought up. Occasionally, some of the better informed do post something more but usually they take the same line as the club and keep schtum until the time is right.

He's not commenting on our discussions in general on the club, he's commenting on the transfer side of things. Entirely fair comment I'd say.

Have a coke and a smile and wait on some official news eh? :wink:

Fairly surprised that folk have taken the huff, given that there is a huge amount of pish posted on here. Granted, there are a lot of valid points and opinions raised, but when there are threads about Robbie Nielson, Mikey Stewart, Steve Clark etc, on a fairly regular basis, that are ill informed pish, then it's hard to argue Fife's point.

In fact, I've read dozens of posts bemoaning the 'fact' that we've not signed anyone yet, completely ignoring that we signed Sproule.

It's no wonder the staff at the club get frustrated. Unfortunately for them, they don't have an appropriate right to reply to some of the more obtuse stuff that's posted on here and the bounce, and to be honest, they're better saving themselves the bother of getting drawn into debates about half the stuff.

13-06-2011, 11:17 PM
I thought you were on holiday :na na:

I don't think it takes the brain of Britain to work out that ST sales this year will be piss poor. Effects of the economic situation and after a couple of really crap seasons. Just logical not ill-informed.

If I thought long and hard about renewing then I can bet there will be a fair number who haven't so STs will be down and so will cash in the bank. Do you really think I'm that far off the mark?

Drove back up from France today.:thumbsup:

Personally, I don't think you're that far off, however I've nothing other than making an 'educated' guess at it, so I would argue that it is ill-informed even if it is logical, as by definition to be informed I'd need the information, which I don't have!:greengrin

13-06-2011, 11:27 PM
Drove back up from France today.:thumbsup:

Personally, I don't think you're that far off, however I've nothing other than making an 'educated' guess at it, so I would argue that it is ill-informed even if it is logical, as by definition to be informed I'd need the information, which I don't have!:greengrin

I would say un-informed. I don't think the term ill-informed fits in this context however in the case of ST sales is anyone outwith the club ever informed?

13-06-2011, 11:28 PM
I would say un-informed. I don't think the term ill-informed fits in this context however in the case of ST sales is anyone outwith the club ever informed?

Not as far as I can recall mate.

13-06-2011, 11:36 PM
Because they think that not making much of a loss is success , they are accountants who can manage there way around a balance sheet and that is fine on one level and i hand it to them the ground looks fantastic and the training centre looks....fantastic but we are not a property company we are a football club and basically we are crap !. As i mentioned in an earlier post they want to take us to the new league set up that i would think nine out of ten fans do not want to go to but they say we will with not a dicky bird from them , unbelievabla arrogance and a complete disregard of the fans so for me that sums them up.

Disregard for fans when it comes to something like the league set-up? Quite frankly, I thank God that they ARE disregarding the fans. They are acting in the best interests of the club, and for that I am thankful.

As for the 16 team league, well, I just don't see it working. We don't have enough to play for to make it viable. If we had more European places, then maybe, but we could end up with nothing to play for halfway through the season. Attendances would plummet, which, when coupled with the fact that we'd be playing less games - as well as halving the amount of lucrative games we play - it just wouldn't be good for the club.

I think most of us are seeking a better standard of football in the division. A 16 team league is not the way to go about achieving this IMO. When the initial excitement of the variety subsides, we're going to be left with one pish poor league!

As for the lack of transfer activity, I wish people would just be patient. While the email comes across a bit hostile, and seems to generalise us all a bit much, I'm inclined to agree with the general sentiment.

I think everyone will be a bit cheerier by the end of the week.:agree:

14-06-2011, 05:46 AM
Jeez, don't know which is better, this thread or the Scheme.

14-06-2011, 05:58 AM

One's got a mixture of crazy ranting folk swaying between delirium and depression.

The other's The Scheme :wink:

14-06-2011, 06:11 AM

One is populated by jakies, junkies and folk who talk without engaging brain

14-06-2011, 06:33 AM
One is populated by jakies, junkies and folk who talk without engaging brain

Sounds like the Hearts dressing room :greengrin

14-06-2011, 06:35 AM
You said the money would be paid back from the sources that you said and I asked just like Duff and Gray. You then jumped to "Rodders overspend" without answering where the money to clear Duff and Gray's overspend came from, it most certainly wasnt from the sources you listed.

The club spent more than it could afford in the late 90's-early 00's as you say but again the market wasnt there. You are trying to develop a market that dosent exist and blaming others for that. It has been tried twice in modern times. The first time we almost went under and the second time we nearly lost our home.

If we ever interact again you should back up your argument with reality.

Thanks again for your time.

My argument didn't mention overspending in the first place. As you well know, my point was that slagging supporters for being experts at running companies with "other people's money" is meaningless because most companies are run with "other people's money".

Hence why I asked you to stick to the topic in future. If you don't think that most companies are run with "other people's money", feel free to tell me that you think I'm wrong.

14-06-2011, 06:37 AM
Which concerns do you think are being contemptuously dismissed by the club?

You'll need to ask Fife Hyland which opinions/concerns he was referring to but they were contemptuously dismissed in his email (if genuine).

down the slope
14-06-2011, 06:53 AM
Disregard for fans when it comes to something like the league set-up? Quite frankly, I thank God that they ARE disregarding the fans. They are acting in the best interests of the club, and for that I am thankful.

As for the 16 team league, well, I just don't see it working. We don't have enough to play for to make it viable. If we had more European places, then maybe, but we could end up with nothing to play for halfway through the season. Attendances would plummet, which, when coupled with the fact that we'd be playing less games - as well as halving the amount of lucrative games we play - it just wouldn't be good for the club.

I think most of us are seeking a better standard of football in the division. A 16 team league is not the way to go about achieving this IMO. When the initial excitement of the variety subsides, we're going to be left with one pish poor league!

As for the lack of transfer activity, I wish people would just be patient. While the email comes across a bit hostile, and seems to generalise us all a bit much, I'm inclined to agree with the general sentiment.

I think everyone will be a bit cheerier by the end of the week.:agree:

Unbelievable !, we are the paying customer but never mind what they want , only in football !.

14-06-2011, 06:54 AM
You know there may well be ill informed opinion spouted on here and over on the bounce but it aint half as concerning as what our club has been spouting out on the park.

Our board at times appear more concerned about how they are received within the support than how we are performing on the park.

Such sensitive souls they are. They are reasonably remunerated for all the criticism (so undeserved we finished 10th and knocked out the Scottish by the might of Ayr Utd) they get.

With respect perhaps they should just concentrate on doing what they should actually be doing and that's getting the football side of operations out of its current mediocrity?

14-06-2011, 07:19 AM
With respect perhaps they should just concentrate on doing what they should actually be doing and that's getting the football side of operations out of its current mediocrity?

That's pretty much exactly what they are doing is it not?

14-06-2011, 07:28 AM

Fairly surprised that folk have taken the huff, given that there is a huge amount of pish posted on here. Granted, there are a lot of valid points and opinions raised, but when there are threads about Robbie Nielson, Mikey Stewart, Steve Clark etc, on a fairly regular basis, that are ill informed pish, then it's hard to argue Fife's point.

In fact, I've read dozens of posts bemoaning the 'fact' that we've not signed anyone yet, completely ignoring that we signed Sproule.

It's no wonder the staff at the club get frustrated. Unfortunately for them, they don't have an appropriate right to reply to some of the more obtuse stuff that's posted on here and the bounce, and to be honest, they're better saving themselves the bother of getting drawn into debates about half the stuff.

Hi Matty, I've not personally mentioned transfers [until now] and I've no doubt work is going ahead in getting players in, however, I don't think that people have ignored Ivan's capture, but rather, his arrival is totally insignificant in comparison to the departures.

While I know we will get people in, the ideal situation would have been to already have got the majority in, if for nothing else, to raise morale within the support & importantly, season ticket sales. But hey ho, its not happened so far & clearly getting the right players is the most important factor of all, lets just hope that comes to fruition, to be fair, being kind, Hibs record is very mixed in that department & that may be where the concern is coming from.

14-06-2011, 07:30 AM
So the original poster e mailed the club in January to moan about the lack of signings. We then proceeded to make six.

Regardless of this he has contacted the club again at the start of the transfer window to make the same complaint.

I have to say i think he did well to get a reply that consisted of more than two words.

Incidentally i am in no way a board apologist simply an observer and commentator of the ridiculous.

14-06-2011, 07:49 AM
So the original poster e mailed the club in January to moan about the lack of signings. We then proceeded to make six.

Regardless of this he has contacted the club again at the start of the transfer window to make the same complaint.

I have to say i think he did well to get a reply that consisted of more than two words.

Incidentally i am in no way a board apologist simply an observer and commentator of the ridiculous.

Hibs on the field performances have been going rapidly down hill since 2007 & last season was a disaster, with severe financial implications, both with money lost through dismal cup runs & lack of interest and unless there is a big change, the lack of interest will have a significant impact, for some time to come.

Over and above, between the last window & this window opening, the club has lost every single flair player they had & without meaning to be critical to the six who came in during the previous window, none of them has what it takes to replace an inform Zumma, Riordan, Miller or Bamba, so in what context do you find it ridiculous that some people has concerns at where we are going?

14-06-2011, 07:58 AM

My thoughts exactly.

14-06-2011, 08:10 AM
what it takes to replace an inform Zumma, Riordan, Miller or Bamba, so in what context do you find it ridiculous that some people has concerns at where we are going?

From last season's performances only Bamba will be a miss. The other guys have good ability on paper but if they ain't doing it on grass then they are as well not being there.

14-06-2011, 08:22 AM
Woopee doo for you and your predictions! Does that mean your not allowed to raise the point then? I can't speak for half our fan base but what I can do is express my concern at a time were in serious trouble on and off the park and where do you think your attitude of if you don't like it don't go will get us exactly? If you can't see were in trouble fair enough to you but don't jump down the throat of others who are deeply worried about the current situation!

I was not commenting on your point, albeit it was more of a statement. I was commenting on your request for an apology and how you think you are entitled to one.

I do not believe we are in serious trouble on or off the park. Season before last we finished fourth, last year we had a bad year, this year we are trying to build with a manager, stadium and training facility in place. At most there will be 2 or 3 clubs in the whole of Scotland that would not take the footing we have, the rest would jump at the chance.

"My" attitude of it you dont like it will get this team further than constant criticism and negativity. For me there is no point turning up if you just want to have a go at your own.

If I thought for one minute my season ticket money was getting spent on the hibs board e-mailing fans to apologies to them I would be fuming. GET OVER IT. Last season is over, done with, move on. Let the board go out there and do its job, this sort of unrest does not give our management any more power to get things done, if anything hampers the process by having to deal with the moaning.

14-06-2011, 08:27 AM
From last season's performances only Bamba will be a miss. The other guys have good ability on paper but if they ain't doing it on grass then they are as well not being there.

Totally agree, last season's performances was unacceptable, however, perhaps motivation is a problem, we'll see how they get on elsewhere. One thing that is for sure though, you can't coach that natural ability in to less gifted players.

14-06-2011, 08:28 AM
Totally agree, last season's performances was unacceptable, however, perhaps motivation is a problem, we'll see how they get on elsewhere. One thing that is for sure though, you can't coach that natural ability in to less gifted players.

But you can coach good attitude and application into less-gifted players.

14-06-2011, 08:32 AM
Hibs on the field performances have been going rapidly down hill since 2007 & last season was a disaster, with severe financial implications, both with money lost through dismal cup runs & lack of interest and unless there is a big change, the lack of interest will have a significant impact, for some time to come.

Over and above, between the last window & this window opening, the club has lost every single flair player they had & without meaning to be critical to the six who came in during the previous window, none of them has what it takes to replace an inform Zumma, Riordan, Miller or Bamba, so in what context do you find it ridiculous that some people has concerns at where we are going?

I agree with almost everything you say Ray. what i find ridiculous is the fact the guy was made to look stupid back in January yet he has repeated the exercise now.

14-06-2011, 08:50 AM
I think Fife made a typo. It should have read 'Ill-informed Arpinion'. Clearly a case of an ex player stirring it.

14-06-2011, 08:55 AM

:faf::faf: Totally agree.

We have not even started pre-season and it seems some people just want to moan their ass off about everything. No-one including the club will have been happy with where last season ended up however lets see where we are 1) when the season starts, 2) xmas, 3) end of the season.

We have now cleared out the majority of the dross lets have a bit of patience and allow our manager the chance to do his job which is a task in itself given the huge turnover of players.

Bit of patience and less bed wetting required.

14-06-2011, 09:07 AM
That's pretty much exactly what they are doing is it not?

Are they? That's the key question. Current season ticket sales suggest many don't think so...Our performance on the park is ultimately what matters.

14-06-2011, 09:10 AM
Are they? That's the key question. Current season ticket sales suggest many don't think so...Our performance on the park is ultimately what matters.
How many season tickets have we sold?

14-06-2011, 09:17 AM
In an email I sent to him I mentioned Sproule, and FH trotted out this line "On that recruitment, I would recommend you ignore all current speculation and the usual nonsense and rumours that will fly around, probably dressed up as fact by the ‘insiders’ on the message boards and the tabloid press".....

Yes Fyfe the signing of Sproule was totally ill informed conjecture wasn't it.....

He's hardly going to tell you there is truth in the rumour though is he otherwise we may as well post a list of transfer targets of the front page of the official site.

14-06-2011, 09:17 AM
How many season tickets have we sold?

Ask me, me ,me. I've got my hand up. :greengrin

14-06-2011, 09:38 AM
I'm now asking your opinion on what you would change in terms of policy / strategy, and why it would benefit HFC, who we all love and support....

I am no "expert" as you say so will decline from giving you my opinion......

:grr::grr::grr: Why is it when people moan about things (in this case the board) and are then asked how they would do things differently they just completely avoid answering the question.

(Not a personal attack on you BF as you're not the first nor will you be the last)

14-06-2011, 09:50 AM
I said about four pages ago it would not be too long before people started asking for "apologies"....in fairness I did not expect it to take until page 8 to come out!!

What is wrong with some of our fan base where we constantly want to be pouted to by the club. Not too long ago so many were screaming for an apology from the players.

When are the fans that turned there back on the club towards the end of last season going to apologies to the club and fellow fans? Why are the fans always right and it is always, Hibernian FC, the Board, the players, the manager etc that are always wrong. This constant babying make me cringe for those that need that.

If you dont like it dont go, but dont bother coming on here moaning about it....or at least get the admins to set up an dear dedrie section.

number 27
14-06-2011, 10:46 AM
I agree. Which is why my criticisms of the Board tend to be that they don't do enough to generate increased income.

Having said that, I am getting irritated how many Hibs fans' genuine concerns (whether particularly valid or not) are being contemptuously dismissed by some on here and, now, by Hibs themselves. It's a dangerous route for a commercial enterprise (even one with the emotional pull of Hibs) to take.

Absolutely, this is exactly why my response to Fyfe's reply was so negative. Annoying as it may be, it doesn't really matter if people on here only want to hear one point of view and dismiss all others as spouting pish or bedwetting or chicken licken. It does worry me that the tone of Fyfe's response suggests the board have adopted the same attitude.

To be clear this is not about signings or anything to do with that lot over the road, It is a concern that a board with IMO a mediocre record seem unwilling to listen to any criticism and also seem not to respect those fans who not long ago were supposedly "in it together"

aberhibsfc
14-06-2011, 10:51 AM
Absolutely, this is exactly why my response to Fyfe's reply was so negative. Annoying as it may be, it doesn't really matter if people on here only want to hear one point of view and dismiss all others as spouting pish or bedwetting or chicken licken. It does worry me that the tone of Fyfe's response suggests the board have adopted the same attitude.

To be clear this is not about signings or anything to do with that lot over the road, It is a concern that a board with IMO a mediocre record seem unwilling to listen to any criticism and also seem not to respect those fans who not long ago were supposedly "in it together"

14-06-2011, 10:53 AM

It's not that the board are unwilling to listen to criticism, or that the board have adopted the same attitude, the fact is the board know what is going on, how many players we're trying to get, who they are, what standard they're of, and so on. They know what money is being spent, how competitive the wages are (or aren't), and they know what stage we're at with them all.

Yet they're dealing with hysterical (and I'm using that word just about literally) fans who are soiling themselves because we've not announced any signings yet (other than the one that we have announced, which doesn't count as it doesn't fit with the bed-wetting sense of hysteria everyone's getting themselves into).

They're dealing with hysterical fans who are upset because rumours and conjecture on here don't come to pass immediately, or yesterday, or sooner than that still.

And so the frustration appears to have come out in a private email, which someone's then decided to post on the internet (without posting their original email, to which I'm guessing the ill-informed opinion comment may have been relevant.)

aberhibsfc
14-06-2011, 11:01 AM
Irrespective of Hibs netters point of views, we are fans, customers. If the club didn't have them it wouldn't exist. Ridiculous to tar all fans as spouting rubbish, yeah there's some posts that are a bit mad, sad, indifferent, but there are also pearls of wisdom. A lot of it is because the bond is an emotional one and a lot of the time people will write from their perspective of how they are feeling at the time. That doesn't make it pish. Football is built upon opinions.

Although the Germans, Spanish employ fan ownership, even they don't have thousands making the decisions, there will be one or two reps but they'll listen to their supporters, take it under consideration, they might not act upon it, but they wouldn't dismiss it out of hand entirely.

Whilst we trust the board to make decisions on our behalf, sometimes they have to make decisions for the greater good, but they are paid well and should at very least treat us as the customers we are. To whitewash Hibs.net and other as spouting rubbish is completely out of order. Many a good fan posts on here, they are all customers. There has also been a lot of good too, organising travel etc and even the Dnipro Kids appeal.

WOuld it be deemed more acceptable by 5 Higlhand if the club had it's own official forum. I am sure some clubs in England actually engage with the fans on their forums, Villa have been doing it, mind you there seems to be some ambiguity over their future manager.

Fyfe, don't brand us a spouting garbage etc, listen to what the paying customer says, you don't need to act but at least pay us a bit of respect. Your paid handsomely to do so.

Maybe we should have a wee song for Fyfe when the friendlies kick off, eg he spouts pish himself.

14-06-2011, 11:07 AM
Irrespective of Hibs netters point of views, we are fans, customers. If the club didn't have them it wouldn't exist. Ridiculous to tar all fans as spouting rubbish, yeah there's some posts that are a bit mad, sad, indifferent, but there are also pearls of wisdom. A lot of it is because the bond is an emotional one and a lot of the time people will write from their perspective of how they are feeling at the time. That doesn't make it pish. Football is built upon opinions.

Although the Germans, Spanish employ fan ownership, even they don't have thousands making the decisions, there will be one or two reps but they'll listen to their supporters, take it under consideration, they might not act upon it, but they wouldn't dismiss it out of hand entirely.

Whilst we trust the board to make decisions on our behalf, sometimes they have to make decisions for the greater good, but they are paid well and should at very least treat us as the customers we are. To whitewash Hibs.net and other as spouting rubbish is completely out of order. Many a good fan posts on here, they are all customers. There has also been a lot of good too, organising travel etc and even the Dnipro Kids appeal.

WOuld it be deemed more acceptable by 5 Higlhand if the club had it's own official forum. I am sure some clubs in England actually engage with the fans on their forums, Villa have been doing it, mind you there seems to be some ambiguity over their future manager.

Fyfe, don't brand us a spouting garbage etc, listen to what the paying customer says, you don't need to act but at least pay us a bit of respect. Your paid handsomely to do so.

Maybe we should have a wee song for Fyfe when the friendlies kick off, eg he spouts pish himself.

Well said.

number 27
14-06-2011, 11:41 AM
Yet they're dealing with hysterical (and I'm using that word just about literally) fans who are soiling themselves because we've not announced any signings yet (other than the one that we have announced, which doesn't count as it doesn't fit with the bed-wetting sense of hysteria everyone's getting themselves into).

They're dealing with hysterical fans who are upset because rumours and conjecture on here don't come to pass immediately, or yesterday, or sooner than that still.

This is the kind of thing which bothers me. If you concede that no one really knows what is going on then why describe anyone voicing concerns in such terms?

Surely posters with exactly the same lack of information who choose to believe that everything is wonderful are guilty of exactly the same thing and deserve the same scorn.

The danger I see is that some people are trying to create a forum where only pro-board comment is tolerated and is that not exactly what we laugh at hertz fans for:dunno:

14-06-2011, 11:47 AM
This is the kind of thing which bothers me. If you concede that no one really knows what is going on then why describe anyone voicing concerns in such terms?

Surely posters with exactly the same lack of information who choose to believe that everything is wonderful are guilty of exactly the same thing and deserve the same scorn.

The danger I see is that some people are trying to create a forum where only pro-board comment is tolerated and is that not exactly what we laugh at hertz fans for:dunno:

Not true. Read through the threads, all opinions are represented. Scornful remarks are thrown at everybody......board bashers, board apologists etc etc. We may disagree with each other but we all have the same opportunity to spout pish. :greengrin

14-06-2011, 11:50 AM
I said about four pages ago it would not be too long before people started asking for "apologies"....in fairness I did not expect it to take until page 8 to come out!!

What is wrong with some of our fan base where we constantly want to be pouted to by the club. Not too long ago so many were screaming for an apology from the players.

When are the fans that turned there back on the club towards the end of last season going to apologies to the club and fellow fans? Why are the fans always right and it is always, Hibernian FC, the Board, the players, the manager etc that are always wrong. This constant babying make me cringe for those that need that.

If you dont like it dont go, but dont bother coming on here moaning about it....or at least get the admins to set up an dear dedrie section.We have one already ..its called the main forum ..

14-06-2011, 01:04 PM

I don't see that at all, I see folk putting forward opposing opinions, but that happens on all manner of topics.

I also haven't seen anyone at all who thinks that everything is rosy in the garden at the club right now,to be honest, however most rational people can manage to deduce that Hibs, like every other club up and down the country right now, are trying to strengthen the side to the best of their ability.

Weaking Hibs does not do anyone any favours. Having the strongest side possible out on the park is in everyone's best interests. The board do not have an agenda to screw CC over, to screw the fans over, or to screw the club over. They have stated time and time again that their prerogative is to give the manager the best possible team they can on the pitch. That's what Hibs are there for.

Anyone that thinks the Board have ulterior motives or are somehow trying to hamper CC's ability to strengthen seriously needs to sense-check their opinions and put some rational thinking behind it.

number 27
14-06-2011, 01:28 PM
Anyone that thinks the Board have ulterior motives or are somehow trying to hamper CC's ability to strengthen seriously needs to sense-check their opinions and put some rational thinking behind it.

Who said anything about ulterior motives?

I simply think our board has under performed and I believe results back that up.

Is it rational thinking to look at our current situation and say no mistakes have been made?

14-06-2011, 02:28 PM
Who said anything about ulterior motives?

I simply think our board has under performed and I believe results back that up.

Is it rational thinking to look at our current situation and say no mistakes have been made?

I think mistakes have been made, I think that the choice of managers have ultimately proven to be unwise (jury is still out on CC, I suppose). That said, the board have won a trophy, had European football, been out of the top 6 only once in the last however many years, finished the stadium, provided a top class training facility, and supported successive managers with what the accounts have shown to be the maximum money they could.

Is that underperforming? :dunno:

I believe that the results reflect more on the team and the management underperforming, to be honest. Had we been spending less than Motherwell, Killie, ICT etc then I would say the results showed the board were underperforming.

14-06-2011, 02:51 PM
I think mistakes have been made, I think that the choice of managers have ultimately proven to be unwise (jury is still out on CC, I suppose). That said, the board have won a trophy, had European football, been out of the top 6 only once in the last however many years, finished the stadium, provided a top class training facility, and supported successive managers with what the accounts have shown to be the maximum money they could.

Is that underperforming? :dunno:

I believe that the results reflect more on the team and the management underperforming, to be honest. Had we been spending less than Motherwell, Killie, ICT etc then I would say the results showed the board were underperforming.

We've won a trophy more recently than Arsenal have, and unfortunately the proceeds from that were squandered completely by John Collins. Successive managers since then have wasted the money on the team by signing a lot of average players. The money that the board gave to the respective parties to build the training centre and new stand has been very well used - sadly the same cannot be said of the money that was handed to the managers to build the team. For me, the board will be in the dock if CC proves to be another failure.

With regards to FH's e-mail, I personally find it pathetic and utterly embarrassing that anyone could possibly take offence from it.

Feel free to tell me I'm ill informed btw :greengrin

14-06-2011, 02:54 PM
But you can coach good attitude and application into less-gifted players.

Of course you can however, do you want a team full of John Rankin type players?

14-06-2011, 02:58 PM

I want a wining team, not too bothered how it's achieved.

Lmc2105
14-06-2011, 02:58 PM

who gave 100% each game ... yes please, Maybe not the most talented could never fault his effort

14-06-2011, 03:01 PM
Of course you can however, do you want a team full of John Rankin type players?Some people probably would.

I can imagine that'd really get the crowds flocking back. :rolleyes:

14-06-2011, 03:17 PM
Some people probably would.

I can imagine that'd really get the crowds flocking back. :rolleyes:

Only a winning team will do that.

14-06-2011, 03:27 PM
Only a winning team will do that.

:agree: And with the greatest of respect to John Rankin, 11 of him would not equate to a winning team. Talent and hard work are not exclusive attributes, we should be expecting every player, from the most talented to the most limited, to give 100% every game.

14-06-2011, 03:29 PM
Only a winning team will do that.Correct and a winning team needs tae have more tae it than less gifted players who give 100% have the right attitude coached in tae them. It needs talented players which takes us back tae post 270 and the loss of our talented players.

14-06-2011, 03:35 PM
Correct and a winning team needs tae have more tae it than less gifted players who give 100% have the right attitude coached in tae them. It needs talented players which takes us back tae post 270 and the loss of our talented players.

A winning team can't carry talented players like Riordan and Miller who canny be ersed, in the same way as it can't be made up of 11 Rankines who give their all.

14-06-2011, 03:40 PM
A winning team can't carry talented players like Riordan and Miller who canny be ersed, in the same way as it can't be made up of 11 Rankines who give their all.On that we'll agree and hopefully we will see a better balance of both talented players (we're very short on them) and grafters by the end of this transfer windae and a better attitude by all.

because last season was not acceptable on any level IMO.

14-06-2011, 09:49 PM
Really, I thought he was a Don. Passionate about the club though, and a nice guy to go for a drink with.

Isn't it RP that's a don and Lindsay supported Killie? Fyfe's a Celtic man as far as I know.

14-06-2011, 10:47 PM
Isn't it RP that's a don and Lindsay supported Killie? Fyfe's a Celtic man as far as I know.

HGAFF ! (no offence)

15-06-2011, 01:27 PM
HGAFF ! (no offence)

Eh?

15-06-2011, 01:50 PM
Eh?

Wild guess at Who gives a flying f (rhymes with luck), although the W was replaced by an H....:confused:

HibsMax
15-06-2011, 01:54 PM
Wild guess at Who gives a flying f (rhymes with luck), although the W was replaced by an H....:confused:

Easy typo to make, the W and H keys are right beside each other....

15-06-2011, 02:15 PM
Easy typo to make, the W and H keys are right beside each other....

:faf::greengrin