View Full Version : Queens Club Tennis
09-06-2011, 05:52 PM
Murray through to 1/4 Final after straight sets win v Tipsarevic 6-4 7-6.
09-06-2011, 08:44 PM
Murray vrs Cillic tomorrow Friday the 10th.
09-06-2011, 10:34 PM
Could be another great result for James Ward. After beating Stanislas Wawrinka in round two, the British number two is level at one set all against last year's champion, Sam Querrey, overnight.
Apart from Murray v Cilic, the other 1/4 finals are;
Rafael Nadal v Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
Fernando Verdasco v Andy Roddick
and the eventual winner of James Ward vs Sam Querrey will face world number 54, Adrian Mannarino, who had an excellent win in the last round against Juan Martin del Potro.
10-06-2011, 02:50 PM
Murray is through to the semis after Marin Cilic withdraws from the tournament due to injury.
He'll now play either Andy Roddick or Fernando Verdasco in the last four.
There was a great result for James Ward, though, as he managed to finish off the job against Sam Querrey this afternoon. He'll now play Adrian Mannarino at some point today in the 1/4 finals.
It's currently raining in London so all play is suspended for the moment.
For those who are interested, BBC2 is currently showing the highlights of the 2008 Men's final from Wimbledon between Nadal and Federer - the greatest tennis match which has ever been played.
10-06-2011, 09:20 PM
James Ward had another fantastic result tonight against Adrian Mannarino - who is ranked 162 places above Ward in the world rankings, to reach the semi finals at Queen's.
Ward wasted six match points in the second set and eventually lost it in a tiebreak but, despite going down a break early on in the decider, he battled back to win 6-2 6-7 6-4.
He will now play Jo-Wilfried Tsonga tomorrow in the semis after he beat Rafael Nadal in three sets.
The other semi will be between Andy Murray and Andy Roddick after the American defeated Fernando Verdasco 6-2 6-2.
11-06-2011, 08:03 AM
James Ward had another fantastic result tonight against Adrian Mannarino - who is ranked 162 places above Ward in the world rankings, to reach the semi finals at Queen's.
Ward wasted six match points in the second set and eventually lost it in a tiebreak but, despite going down a break early on in the decider, he battled back to win 6-2 6-7 6-4.
He will now play Jo-Wilfried Tsonga tomorrow in the semis after he beat Rafael Nadal in three sets.
The other semi will be between Andy Murray and Andy Roddick after the American defeated Fernando Verdasco 6-2 6-2.
So, slim chance of a Murray vs Ward final then, going to be an interesting day of tennis today. :greengrin
11-06-2011, 10:08 AM
So, slim chance of a Murray vs Ward final then, going to be an interesting day of tennis today. :greengrin
Ward has done fantastically well, But its the end of the line for him :agree:
Murray will beat Roddick in straight sets aswell.
Murray v Tsonga final. Murray winning.
11-06-2011, 11:43 AM
The Queens Club eh. I predict a Rangers and Hearts final.
Is Murray playing in the first or the second semi final? I see it starts at 1pm. Hope the weather is better in London than it is in Edinburgh.
C'mon Andy.
edit: Murray match on first - Good.
11-06-2011, 11:47 AM
Ivanovic match on Eurosport as an eye pleasing appetiser!
11-06-2011, 12:37 PM
Murray up 3-0. Roddick serving.
Andy looking good for the first set.
11-06-2011, 12:54 PM
Is it just me or does anyone else think Andrew Castle is a blethering bawbag?
11-06-2011, 01:22 PM
Is it just me or does anyone else think Andrew Castle is a blethering bawbag?
Just something about him that I don't like. Possibly because he's a bit snooty. Oh and he won nothing of significance in his tennis career. Unless you count a few minor double titles. Give me John McEnroe any day of the week.
Andrew Castle's mother was a Pollock and married his dad who was a fishmonger. Weird but true. :agree:
11-06-2011, 01:25 PM
Murray unstoppable today, wins it 6-3, 6-1 to go into the final :thumbsup:
11-06-2011, 01:26 PM
Murray wins.
6-3 6-1
A breeze
Well done Andy.
11-06-2011, 01:27 PM
Quality performance by Murray.
11-06-2011, 07:50 PM
I didn't see any tennis today but I gather that Murray was excellent today against Roddick. To win any tennis match in under an hour is pretty impressive but to win it in that way against a player like Roddick, who is a good grass court player, is even better.
Tsonga is a dangerous opponent and Murray will need to play well to win but Murray has a good record against Tsonga and he did win their only other match on grass (last year at Wimbledon which Murray won in 4 sets).
I can see it going to 3 sets but I think Murray will come out on top to win his second title at Queen's.
It's also been a great week for James Ward. The match today was a step too far for him but his efforts at Queen's will see him rise to his highest ever ranking and put him inside the top 200.
He's now 24 so he's no youngster and the chances of him reaching the heights of Andy Murray are almost non-existent but this week could be the week where he really turns his career around and he makes a push for the top 100.
He has a wildcard at Wimbledon this year so it will be really good if he can carry this form into Wimbledon and make his way through a couple of rounds. He's never won a match in the main draw so, with a kind draw this year, hopefully he can win a match or two.
Forgot to say that for all those who are interested, tomorrow's singles final will start at 12pm.
12-06-2011, 11:01 AM
Rained off :rolleyes:
12-06-2011, 11:32 AM
Rained off :rolleyes:
Couple of wooses, bit of rain and they cannae play. Persisting down at Silverstone, MOTO2 just finished and MOTOGP starts at 1pm. Mon the bikers.:wink:
12-06-2011, 12:53 PM
Couple of wooses, bit of rain and they cannae play. Persisting down at Silverstone, MOTO2 just finished and MOTOGP starts at 1pm. Mon the bikers.:wink:
I know you're joking but not only can they not play tennis on grass when it's raining but once it's stopped raining and they've taken the covers off, they'll need to wait about an hour before play can start to allow all the moisture to evaporate.
Playing tennis on a slippy grass court, particularly when Wimbledon is just 8 days away, is a big no-no.
Based on the forecast in the London area for the rest of today, I can't see the match starting today. The forecast is much better for tomorrow so I think it will be played then. The only slight problem is that Tsonga is due to play in Eastbourne next week.
12-06-2011, 12:58 PM
I know you're joking but not only can they not play tennis on grass when it's raining but once it's stopped raining and they've taken the covers off, they'll need to wait about an hour before play can start to allow all the moisture to evaporate.
Playing tennis on a slippy grass court, particularly when Wimbledon is just 8 days away, is a big no-no.
Pair of golf shoes with studs in them would sort them out, no? :whistle:
12-06-2011, 02:11 PM
Is there any chance of the tennis being played today or is that it until tomorrow I could put the television on but it will probably be quicker finding out on here.
Thanks.
Edit: Checked on tv and I see that officials are still hopeful of some play today. It will be on BBC1 if it's on.
12-06-2011, 02:22 PM
Good result for Elena Baltacha today as she won a challenger event at Nottingham 7-5 6-3.
12-06-2011, 02:24 PM
Is there any chance of the tennis being played today or is that it until tomorrow I could put the television on but it will probably be quicker finding out on here.
Thanks.
Edit: Checked on tv and I see that officials are still hopeful of some play today. It will be on BBC1 if it's on.
They announced earlier that there definitely wouldn't be any play before 3pm but looking at the forecast for London for the rest of today, I don't see any play happening today.
12-06-2011, 02:52 PM
Latest news is that the covers are off at Queen's club and they may start at 4pm.
12-06-2011, 02:55 PM
Latest news is that the covers are off at Queen's club and they may start at 4pm.
Cheers. May not have to watch Songs of Praise as my tv is "stuck" on BBC1.
12-06-2011, 03:18 PM
Covers were off and the BBC had started their coverage again but covers have just gone back on.
It's not been announced officially but there is no way that this match will be played today.
12-06-2011, 03:56 PM
Covers were off and the BBC had started their coverage again but covers have just gone back on.
It's not been announced officially but there is no way that this match will be played today.
This may be a silly suggestion but any chance they would use Wimbledon if the weather forecast is same tomorrow?
12-06-2011, 04:01 PM
This may be a silly suggestion but any chance they would use Wimbledon if the weather forecast is same tomorrow?
No chance.
The only court they could use would be the Centre Court and there's no way that the AELTC would allow that to be used so close to the start of Wimbledon.
13-06-2011, 11:46 AM
No chance.
The only court they could use would be the Centre Court and there's no way that the AELTC would allow that to be used so close to the start of Wimbledon.
I didn't think so and thought it was a silly question.
Anyway looks like we should have a final starting in the next few minutes.
Prediction Murray 2 sets to nil.
6-4 6-3
I'm assuming that it's still the best of three sets.
13-06-2011, 12:40 PM
I didn't think so and thought it was a silly question.
Anyway looks like we should have a final starting in the next few minutes.
Prediction Murray 2 sets to nil.
6-4 6-3
I'm assuming that it's still the best of three sets.
Lost the first set 3-6.
13-06-2011, 12:43 PM
Lost the first set 3-6.
Not the best prediction I've made in my life.
Murray needs to pick up his game a bit otherwise it could be 2-0 for Tsonga.
13-06-2011, 12:55 PM
Hes being overpowered and letting Tsonga dominate so far. Hopefully he'll step it up a bit soon.
13-06-2011, 12:57 PM
Why do tennis players find it necessary to wipe their face with a towel after every point? :confused:
13-06-2011, 01:29 PM
Tiebreak in the second set.
What a special point that was in that last game.
Unbelievable stuff.
13-06-2011, 01:35 PM
Murray takes the second set in the tiebreak.
Into a decider now... :thumbsup:
13-06-2011, 01:37 PM
Get in there! come on Mr M!
13-06-2011, 01:44 PM
£10 entry to watch this. Best value ticket in sport this year?
13-06-2011, 01:47 PM
Does anyone know what time Murray got out of bed this morning?
13-06-2011, 02:04 PM
Murray breaks to go 3-2 up in the decider. :thumbsup:
10th break point of the match for Murray and it's the first that he's managed to convert.
13-06-2011, 02:15 PM
Exhibition stuff by Murray. :hilarious
13-06-2011, 02:17 PM
That was sexy tennis by Murray. :drool:
13-06-2011, 02:18 PM
Murray wins 3-6 7-6 6-4
13-06-2011, 02:19 PM
Murray wins 3-6 7-6 6-4. :thumbsup:
He wins his second title at Queen's, can he now back it up over the next 3 weeks by winning his first Grand Slam title at Wimbledon? :pray:
13-06-2011, 02:19 PM
He wins his second title at Queen's, can he now back it up over the next 3 weeks by winning his first Grand Slam title at Wimbledon? :pray:
:hilarious You had that ready but I still beat you to it. :greengrin
13-06-2011, 02:22 PM
Hes being overpowered and letting Tsonga dominate so far. Hopefully he'll step it up a bit soon.
Thankfully he did!
13-06-2011, 02:22 PM
:hilarious You had that ready but I still beat you to it. :greengrin
Gutted. :grr:
To be fair, I did add a wee bit extra at the end about his Wimbledon prospects. :wink:
13-06-2011, 02:24 PM
Gutted. :grr:
To be fair, I did add a wee bit extra at the end about his Wimbledon prospects. :wink:
I'll give you that.
It was good entertainment. Who needs football eh?
13-06-2011, 03:07 PM
I'll give you that.
It was good entertainment. Who needs football eh?
To be perfectly honest, if you get a really good tennis match, I personally think it's the best spectator sport around.
I don't think you can beat tennis for drama and excitement etc.
I referred to it earlier on in this thread but that Wimbledon final from 2008 was the best sporting occasion I have ever watched on TV. I don't think I'm overstating anything by saying that people will still be talking about that match in 40 or 50 years' time.
My first love will always be watching Hibs but in a more general sense, I'm getting fed up watching football as there's so much cheating involved nowadays and a lot of games are very boring and apart from anything else, TV's just saturated with football coverage.
13-06-2011, 04:46 PM
Although winning this tournament will give people hope of Murray going on to win Wimbledon this year, being the champion at Queen's does not necessarily mean that player will go on to win at Wimbledon.
Only 4 players in the last 20 years or so have been Wimbledon champion after winning at Queen's;
2010-Querrey (last 16)
2009-Murray (semi finals)
2008-Nadal (Champion)
2007-Roddick (quarter finals)
2006-Hewitt (quarter finals)
2005-Roddick (final)
2004-Roddick (final)
2003-Roddick (semi finals)
2002-Hewitt (Champion)
2001-Hewitt (last 16)
2000-Hewitt (first round)
1999-Sampras (Champion)
1998-Draper (second round)
1997-Philippoussis (first round)
1996-Becker (third round)
1995-Sampras (Champion)
1994-Martin (semi finals)
1993-Stich (quarter finals)
1992-Ferreira (last 16)
1991-Edberg (semi finals)
1990-Lendl (semi finals)
13-06-2011, 04:54 PM
Does anyone know what time Murray got out of bed this morning?
Tennish:greengrin
Andy Murray is removed phenomenal!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
13-06-2011, 06:30 PM
Tennish:greengrin
Andy Murray is removed phenomenal!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
:agree: How did you know? :greengrin
13-06-2011, 09:21 PM
In a word, no. Sadly, I think he finds himself with the double whammy of being a Grand Slam bottler and up against 2 of the very greatest players ever. Watching Murray at Grand Slams is like Groundhog Day.
13-06-2011, 10:44 PM
In a word, no. Sadly, I think he finds himself with the double whammy of being a Grand Slam bottler and up against 2 of the very greatest players ever. Watching Murray at Grand Slams is like Groundhog Day.
:agree: he's got nae chance of winning Wimbledon.
13-06-2011, 10:51 PM
He's actually got the same chance as everyone else but you're correct, he won't.
13-06-2011, 11:17 PM
As it happens, I don't think he'll win Wimbledon this year either.
I heard about an interesting bet which had been placed by a man recently. Basically he bet that, from now on, Roger Federer would win more Grand Slam titles than Andy Murray. I think it's an interesting one because I don't think there's any certainty that either of them will win a Grand Slam from now on. Federer will struggle to ever beat Rafael Nadal in a Grand Slam tournament and the longer that Murray goes without winning one, the harder it will be.
There is a massive difference between winning a tournament, like Queen's, that is played over one week and has best of three sets matches and then winning a Grand Slam, which is played over two weeks and has best of five sets matches.
No-one outside of Nadal and Federer has won at Wimbledon for nine years and, in that time, only 3 other players have managed to even get to the final (Philippoussis, Roddick and Berdych) so Murray is up against it.
If you add the recent rise of Novak Djokovic into the mix then it will be extremely hard for Murray to break his duck.
I fully expect to see Murray in the semi finals but once he comes up against Nadal or Djokovic, I'm not convinced that he can do enough against them to beat them over five sets.
He undoubtedly has the talent to win a Grand Slam, he has a fantastic natural ability and his fitness levels are second to none, but over the past couple of years when it's come to the big matches in Grand Slams, I would question his mentality.
I would love nothing more than to see Murray lifting the Wimbledon trophy on July 3rd but I wouldn't put much money on it.
14-06-2011, 03:00 PM
Being the 4th best player in the world id tend to disagree he has 'nae chance' of winning.
14-06-2011, 03:48 PM
As it happens, I don't think he'll win Wimbledon this year either.
I heard about an interesting bet which had been placed by a man recently. Basically he bet that, from now on, Roger Federer would win more Grand Slam titles than Andy Murray. I think it's an interesting one because I don't think there's any certainty that either of them will win a Grand Slam from now on. Federer will struggle to ever beat Rafael Nadal in a Grand Slam tournament and the longer that Murray goes without winning one, the harder it will be.
There is a massive difference between winning a tournament, like Queen's, that is played over one week and has best of three sets matches and then winning a Grand Slam, which is played over two weeks and has best of five sets matches.
No-one outside of Nadal and Federer has won at Wimbledon for nine years and, in that time, only 3 other players have managed to even get to the final (Philippoussis, Roddick and Berdych) so Murray is up against it.
If you add the recent rise of Novak Djokovic into the mix then it will be extremely hard for Murray to break his duck.
I fully expect to see Murray in the semi finals but once he comes up against Nadal or Djokovic, I'm not convinced that he can do enough against them to beat them over five sets.
He undoubtedly has the talent to win a Grand Slam, he has a fantastic natural ability and his fitness levels are second to none, but over the past couple of years when it's come to the big matches in Grand Slams, I would question his mentality.
I would love nothing more than to see Murray lifting the Wimbledon trophy on July 3rd but I wouldn't put much money on it.
I think he has a good chance however he could do with one or 2 of the top players suffering shock defeats like Federer v Berdych last year. It would be great for him to get to the final just to improve his excellent and improving grand slam record. He appears to be hitting form at exactly the right time and you can be sure that all of the top players will be wary of that. He is certainly in with a shout and he does appear to be calmer than he has previously which is a positive.
He is a world class performer and hopefully Wimbledon will be his this year however he is playing at the same time as 2 or 3 of the best ever so not a given.
14-06-2011, 04:11 PM
I think he has a good chance however he could do with one or 2 of the top players suffering shock defeats like Federer v Berdych last year. It would be great for him to get to the final just to improve his excellent and improving grand slam record. He appears to be hitting form at exactly the right time and you can be sure that all of the top players will be wary of that. He is certainly in with a shout and he does appear to be calmer than he has previously which is a positive.
He is a world class performer and hopefully Wimbledon will be his this year however he is playing at the same time as 2 or 3 of the best ever so not a given.
You're right, he could do with the top guys going out early in the tournament. But, to be honest, he can't think like that and I'm sure he doesn't. He'll think that he can win Wimbledon no matter who's in the draw.
That nearly did happen at the French Open with Nadal getting taken to five sets by John Isner in the first round. He came through that and then didn't lose another set until the final against Federer.
It could have been all so different for Murray had Nadal gone out in the opening round and he had played someone else in that semi final. We'll never know though.
But even if someone like Federer goes out early doors at Wimbledon, there's still Djokovic and Nadal to worry about and vice versa.
It's great for men's tennis that there are so many players at the very top of the game who are being talked about as potential Grand Slam champions. It's a very tough game at the moment and regardless of how the draw goes, if Andy Murray is to win Wimbledon, he'll have to work so hard for it.
There is no doubt that he is capable of winning a Grand Slam (I still think he's capable of winning three or four Grand Slams) but the competition is fierce and at the start of every Grand Slam tournament, there are 128 men all in contention. At the end of the two weeks, 127 of them will have missed out.
14-06-2011, 07:14 PM
When Murray lost to Roddick in the semi's at Wimbers 2 years ago Roddick played the best tennis match of his life, He was absolutely outstanding that afternoon, Murray was awesome aswell but Roddick missed nothing that day, And ill tell you something about that match not alot of folk know, Andy Murray actually WON more points in the match than Andy Roddick!!.
I personally cant see past Federer and Nadal or even Djokovic to that extend to win Wimbledon but Andy Murray is right up there to win it with the bookies.. Why, Because he is the 4th best player in the world and has been in some form recently, Semis at the French and Winning Queens, Confidence sky high..I think he will make the semi's at least with a meeting with Nadal,And Nadal to win in 4 sets.
Murray CAN win Wimbledon.