View Full Version : Jeffers

michael_wilson1
03-06-2011, 05:38 AM
I see motherwell have released jeffers, worth a punt?

Stonewall
03-06-2011, 05:40 AM

Well I'd certainly punt him.

03-06-2011, 05:48 AM
The annual Franny Jeffers thread! What kept you? :notworthy:

03-06-2011, 05:52 AM
Phew, I thought this was confirmation that Jumbo FJK had been outed as a Hibee!!!

03-06-2011, 05:54 AM
No thanks!

03-06-2011, 05:58 AM
No thanks!

What about Bob Malcolm then?

(Let's just get through all the usual suspects in the one thread)

03-06-2011, 06:23 AM

Tam McManus deserves a second chance!!! :wink:

03-06-2011, 06:25 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gpc5_3B5xdk

03-06-2011, 06:30 AM
What aboot a midfield of Matty Jack (playing the Matty Jack role), Craig Rocastle, Brian Kerr (to do the unseen work) and Ivan Sproule (little chance of him coming now, esp as we are already so rich with pace and excitement throuhout our squad).

03-06-2011, 06:32 AM

:agree: Let's open up one thread for all released players instead of having one each. Anyone that wants to suggest a name for Hibs could use that thread. Would save everyone else's time.

03-06-2011, 06:46 AM
:agree: Let's open up one thread for all released players instead of having one each. Anyone that wants to suggest a name for Hibs could use that thread. Would save everyone else's time.

There was one opened up last year at this time because of threads like this, they do my head in, i check .net on my phone and everytime i see a name like this i check it to see if we're actually in for a player but more often than not it's just some stupid suggestion that's never in a million years going to happen.

I can't remember ehat the thread from last year is called but i'll maybe have a wee peak and try and dig it up.

I realise having one thread for it might make a lot of work for admins though so one option instead of that might be to have a tag (or whatever its called) with 'worth a punt' or something rather than 'greggs', just an idea though, no sure how much work that'd be.

MountcastleHibs
03-06-2011, 06:52 AM
What's Enoch Showumni doing these days? :greengrin

03-06-2011, 07:02 AM
What's Enoch Showumni doing these days? :greengrin

We shouldn't be signing former players....

03-06-2011, 07:23 AM

Ignore these smart ***** it is a reasonable question. I thought he was very good for Motherwell (anytime I caught the highlights). He maybe the reason Sutton had such a good season.

03-06-2011, 07:24 AM
hearts seem to have a thing for signing ugly players and tbh franny does look like a jambo

Hibstrooper
03-06-2011, 07:34 AM
Surely there is a reason he has been released by Motherwell. Can you imagine the outcry on here if we were signing Motherwell cast-offs!

03-06-2011, 07:49 AM

Oh dear :rolleyes:

03-06-2011, 08:14 AM

Ladies and Gents, I give you: the Hibs.net Rumour Mill iphone app.

A free download with a database of over 1000 released players from the sublime to the ridiculous. Real-time updating of players just released with exclusive ratings ranging from "not hibs quality" to "gash" through to "underwhelming" and "past it".

Find out if it's a marquee signing or a load of mince... download it today (http://www.greggs.co.uk/)!

03-06-2011, 08:37 AM
According to Wikipedia, he's scored 36 goals in 14 years.

03-06-2011, 08:40 AM
We shouldn't be signing former players....

I dunno, Antonio Murray is worth another look. :wink:

Surely there is a reason he has been released by Motherwell. Can you imagine the outcry on here if we were signing Motherwell cast-offs!

Aye, he's absolutely gash!

03-06-2011, 08:41 AM

He is a horrific striker. I would hand back me season ticket if we signed him.. If i thought CC was looking at him i'd be gutted.

03-06-2011, 08:42 AM
This is the worst silly season ever......

Jeffers is dire.

aberhibsfc
03-06-2011, 08:44 AM
Nah, didn't do much at an SPL team who have been better than average in the league. If he can't do well in the SPL, even more so at a team that performed better than us, I can't see why he would drastically improve at ER.

He's been dining out on his early career potential and has been drinking at the last chance saloon. It would be like signing Keenan again.

I hope he goes on and does well somewhere but I hope it's not anywhere near us.

grantonhibee
03-06-2011, 08:52 AM
no thanks

TheMentalHibees
03-06-2011, 09:07 AM
We're not that desperate, are we?

03-06-2011, 09:28 AM
I'd probably score more, and I'm rubbish.

03-06-2011, 10:35 AM
I think the words 'has been released by Motherwell' are a bit of a giveaway...

03-06-2011, 10:44 AM
I heard Eduardo "The Tank" Hurtarto is a free agent after terrorising the defences of the Equadorian C league for years.

03-06-2011, 10:47 AM
I think the words 'has been released by Motherwell' are a bit of a giveaway...

So has the guy from Raith Rovers, and wee seem to be interested in him.

03-06-2011, 10:53 AM
Jeffers was also truely awful playing in the Aussie A League, where Eugene Dadi can even score goals! :wink:

03-06-2011, 10:58 AM

18 in his first 4 years with Everton and 18 in the last 10 years.

18 in 10 years over 160 appearances. A goal every 9 games.

Why on earth would we get rid of Nish and replace him with the English equivalent of Nade?

It's like going to Cash Convertors and swapping your 42" LED top of the range Sony HD ready TV and coming out with a 14" black and white portable.

Not Hibs class.

03-06-2011, 11:03 AM
Is this a wind up. Not good enough for Motherwell....

What's Sammy Morrow up to?

03-06-2011, 11:03 AM

Why on earth would we get rid of Nish and replace him with the English equivalent of Nade?

It's like going to Cash Convertors and swapping your 42" LED top of the range Sony HD ready TV and coming out with a 14" black and white portable.

Not Hibs class.

When you look at Jeffers' £8M move to Arsenal (which yielded 4 goals), it's a bit easier to understand why Arsene Wenger seems to be reluctant to splash out on really big money signings!

03-06-2011, 11:10 AM
When you look at Jeffers' £8M move to Arsenal (which yielded 4 goals), it's a bit easier to understand why Arsene Wenger seems to be reluctant to splash out on really big money signings!

The "fox in the box" didn't even pick up any medals during his time there despite Arsenal winning the EPL and 2 FA Cups. How unlucky can you get.

03-06-2011, 11:15 AM
I hear Paul Hartley is coming out of retirement and wants to sign for us :wink:

03-06-2011, 11:25 AM
The "fox in the box" didn't even pick up any medals during his time there despite Arsenal winning the EPL and 2 FA Cups. How unlucky can you get.

Ha, very true.

Hibstrooper
03-06-2011, 11:30 AM
So has the guy from Raith Rovers, and wee seem to be interested in him.

Apples and Oranges - the Raith player wasn't released because they didn't want to keep him.

Why would teams like Palace and Watford be intersted in a player Hibs have just released?

03-06-2011, 12:03 PM
Tam McManus deserves a second chance!!! :wink:

Bring back Craig Rocastle :agree:

03-06-2011, 02:04 PM
In a word NO

03-06-2011, 04:41 PM

:greengrin grab him as it seems like we have managed 14 goals in 36 years without him.

Seriously would hope not, the only punt I would like to see here is one that means he lands as far away from us as possible.

03-06-2011, 10:42 PM

Not Hibs class.

I agree with your sentiments, but comparing Nish to a top of the range 42" LED TV is a bit much. He's more like an unreliable 42" that keeps on falling over and barely works.

04-06-2011, 09:21 PM

Good God no

04-06-2011, 09:29 PM
I agree with your sentiments, but comparing Nish to a top of the range 42" LED TV is a bit much. He's more like an unreliable 42" that keeps on falling over and barely works.

And occasionally throws it's speakers up in the air after another poor channel change by the remote.