View Full Version : NHC Michael Owen another year of doing the square root of sod all

01-06-2011, 11:00 AM
Signed new one year contact with Man U despite only 30 league appearances ( 6 starts and 24 appearances as sub) for them in two seasons.

Another player prepared to pick up a wage while sitting in the stand or the bench.

Thought at his age he would prefer to play football every week before he retires. Must have enough money in the bank by now with all the wages he's made out of Liverpool, Real Madrid, Newcastle and Man U.

Edited. I am an :asshole: as it is 6 league starts and not 6 league appearances.

RoslinInstHibby
01-06-2011, 11:05 AM
Signed new one year contact with Man U despite only making 6 (yes 6) league appearances for them in two seasons. Some of them were probably as sub.

Another player prepared to pick up a wage while sitting in the stand or the bench.

Thought at his age he would prefer to play football every week before he retires. Must have enough money in the bank by now with all the wages he's made out of Liverpool, Real Madrid, Newcastle and Man U.

I thought he had played more than that tbh, did he not get a league winners medal then the other week there, i was sure he had.....

01-06-2011, 11:05 AM
Pretty disappointed in Owen to be honest. When he picked the ball up against Blackpool, you just knew he wasn't going to score and I'm not sure there are many other players who you would have such confidence in. A real shame that he's choosing an easy payday instead of testing himself elsewhere.

01-06-2011, 11:09 AM
Biggest mistake he made was leaving for Real and I reckon he'll regret it when he retires. How old is he, 29, 30?

ulises_trotter
01-06-2011, 11:11 AM
to be fair to Owen, he has said on numerous occasions he doesnt want to be playing in a team thats struggling, he'd rather be a squad player and play with good players in training each day and try take any opportunity he gets..

Why because hes older does he need to play every week?

steviecarnie
01-06-2011, 11:22 AM
Signed new one year contact with Man U despite only making 6 (yes 6) league appearances for them in two seasons. Some of them were probably as sub.

funny how he got a league winners medal (10 appearances last season) and scored 14 goals in 15 starts since he joined!! if ur gonna make a post please get your facts right first - makes you lot a T*T!!!

Liam_Hibs
01-06-2011, 11:26 AM
I'm pretty sure he is on a pay as you play contract due to his past injuries.

I'd imagine this will most likely be the same.

01-06-2011, 11:30 AM
Just won his first ever league winners medal and is playing for one of the biggest clubs in the world, under the most successful manager he has ever played for - and he deserves criticism why exactly?

Green_one
01-06-2011, 12:01 PM
BBC Quote : He was given a place on the bench for Saturday's Champions League final defeat against Barcelona at Wembley but only made 17 appearances during the 2010/2011 campaign, scoring five goals.

So not too bad. I thought he was a decent signing 2 years ago but not now. He is generally past it and injury prone. I watched him in a couple of games where he was against lesser opposition and he did the sqaure root of zero.

I can see why HE does it. Money and a good chance of medals. Not scraping it out in some relegation area or in the more physical Championship. Not sure he is very popular down Merseyside these days (nor Tyneside). He may keep younger players out of the team. Pointer perhaps that Fergie will be concentrating on midfield purchases this summer? I have seen suggestions that he is being used to bring on Hernandez (passing on the strikers lore). If Hernandez buys a horse then we will be certain.

01-06-2011, 12:04 PM
Disappointing that a player like him is happy to just sit on the bench collecting a wage...especially when he's going to make plenty on the new fragrance that he launching..the one called My Cologne

01-06-2011, 12:33 PM
Owen has played 30 league games for Man Utd so far, about 50 games total so rubbish whoever said it was 6.

Think its a good deal for them and him, they get a very good option off the bench (sure his scoring record is still about a 1 in 3 and that will be more or less as a substitute) and he seems quite happy with it, playing for a massive club and finally got his first league winners medal this year.

Sure he could go and start every week for a smaller club, but if hes happy to play his part there and hes getting a wage hes happy with, good luck to him.

Kevin@green
01-06-2011, 12:37 PM
funny how he got a league winners medal (10 appearances last season) and scored 14 goals in 15 starts since he joined!! if ur gonna make a post please get your facts right first - makes you lot a T*T!!!

from man u web site

7. MICHAEL OWEN

Birthdate: 14 Dec 1979
Birthplace: Chester, England
Position: Striker
Appearances 48
Goals Scored 14
Joined United: 03 Jul 2009
United Debut: 09 Aug 2009 v Chelsea (N)
International: England

01-06-2011, 12:41 PM

:agree: I agree although in my defence that's what I believe was quoted on SSN. It would be appear that it was 30 appearances which included only 6 starts. Therefore 24 appearances as sub which were ,from a quick glance as I don't want to be on here all day, ranging mainly from 5 to 20 minutes.

Anyway 5 league goals in two seasons is hardly a good return on all the wages that he is picking up.

01-06-2011, 12:58 PM
from man u web site

7. MICHAEL OWEN

Birthdate: 14 Dec 1979
Birthplace: Chester, England
Position: Striker
Appearances 48
Goals Scored 14
Joined United: 03 Jul 2009
United Debut: 09 Aug 2009 v Chelsea (N)
International: England

Okay you win. :greengrin However the stats will show that of the 30 league appearances he has made in two seasons 24 of them have been as sub. As I've said previously they would have mainly been for up to 20 minutes or so.

Talking about the EPL only here but if someone is happy to start in only 8% of games and take part as sub in 32% of games then fair enough. A wasted talent who should have done a lot better in the game than he has. Granted not lucky with injuries but still should have done better. It all went downhill when he left Liverpool.

I fully expect FalkirkHibee to reply with all the stats and total minutes played. :wink:

01-06-2011, 01:06 PM
Biggest mistake he made was leaving for Real and I reckon he'll regret it when he retires. How old is he, 29, 30?

The biggest mistake of his career was Liverpool over using him as a youngster, not going to Real.

Why not stay at Man Utd? Don't see anyone having a dig at Scholes / Giggs at et all have / are winding down their careers there, why shouldn't Owen too?

01-06-2011, 01:13 PM
Winding down careers?

It's completely different for Giggs and Scholes, late 30's and have played with that club all their careers.

Owen is what, 30 and you think he should be winding down his career? Aye right, he could be at a top-end Prem club earning a wee bit less yet playing every week. He'd rather sit on his arse, make sporadic appearances and take home a massive wage for contributing sweet FA. Greedy little fud IMO.

01-06-2011, 01:15 PM
Okay you win. :greengrin However the stats will show that of the 30 league appearances he has made in two seasons 24 of them have been as sub. As I've said previously they would have mainly been for up to 20 minutes or so.

Talking about the EPL only here but if someone is happy to start in only 8% of games and take part as sub in 32% of games then fair enough. A wasted talent who should have done a lot better in the game than he has. Granted not lucky with injuries but still should have done better. It all went downhill when he left Liverpool.

I fully expect FalkirkHibee to reply with all the stats and total minutes played. :wink:

He will anaw :greengrin

01-06-2011, 01:15 PM

Played for Liverpool, Real Madrid, Newcastle and Manchester United

218 goals in 468 club games

40 goals in 89 games for England

Played in 3 World Cups and 2 European Championships

European Player of the Year in 2001

Honours: -

Liverpool

FA Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FA_Cup) (1): 2000–01 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_FA_Cup_Final)
Football League Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_Cup) (2): 2000–01 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_Football_League_Cup_Final), 2002–03 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2003_Football_League_Cup_Final)
FA Community Shield (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FA_Community_Shield) (1): 2001 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_FA_Charity_Shield)
UEFA Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Cup) (1): 2000–01 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_UEFA_Cup_Final)
UEFA Super Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Super_Cup) (1): 2001 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_UEFA_Super_Cup)
FA Youth Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FA_Youth_Cup) (1): 1996
Manchester United

Premier League (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Premier_League) (1): 2010–11 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010%E2%80%9311_Premier_League)
Football League Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_Cup) (1): 2009–10 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_Football_League_Cup_Final)
FA Community Shield (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FA_Community_Shield) (1): 2010 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FA_Community_Shield)
You could argue that he maybe could have achieved more in the game, but can never be classed as a wasted talent. Would you consider Alan Shearer a wasted talent? Owen has about 10 times as many medals as him.

01-06-2011, 01:27 PM

Liverpool

FA Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FA_Cup) (1): 2000–01 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_FA_Cup_Final)
Football League Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_Cup) (2): 2000–01 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_Football_League_Cup_Final), 2002–03 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2003_Football_League_Cup_Final)
FA Community Shield (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FA_Community_Shield) (1): 2001 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_FA_Charity_Shield)
UEFA Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Cup) (1): 2000–01 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_UEFA_Cup_Final)
UEFA Super Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Super_Cup) (1): 2001 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_UEFA_Super_Cup)
Manchester United

Premier League (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Premier_League) (1): 2010–11 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010%E2%80%9311_Premier_League)
Football League Cup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_League_Cup) (1): 2009–10 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_Football_League_Cup_Final)
FA Community Shield (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FA_Community_Shield) (1): 2010 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FA_Community_Shield)
You could argue that he maybe could have achieved more in the game, but can never be classed as a wasted talent. Would you consider Alan Shearer a wasted talent? Owen has about 10 times as many medals as him.

I'd say that unless you push yourself to be the best you can be then you're wasting your talent. Using my definition Michael Owen is a massive waster. Alan Shearer is most certainly not. Medals are irrelevant in a debate about talent. There's plenty talent in the Arsenal team, nae medals though.

01-06-2011, 01:38 PM
Winding down careers?

It's completely different for Giggs and Scholes, late 30's and have played with that club all their careers.

Owen is what, 30 and you think he should be winding down his career? Aye right, he could be at a top-end Prem club earning a wee bit less yet playing every week. He'd rather sit on his arse, make sporadic appearances and take home a massive wage for contributing sweet FA. Greedy little fud IMO.

You think he's fit enough to play week in, week out? No chance.

What top end Prem club would sign him and play him every week? His choice is bench at the top or turn out for the Wigans, Boltons, Stokes et al.

Man Utd are obviously happy with his contribution, so why not? I fail to see the issue here.

01-06-2011, 01:46 PM
I'd say that unless you push yourself to be the best you can be then you're wasting your talent. Using my definition Michael Owen is a massive waster. Alan Shearer is most certainly not. Medals are irrelevant in a debate about talent. There's plenty talent in the Arsenal team, nae medals though.

Alan Shearer turned down Manchester United to sign for Newcastle - whilst there is an obvious pull to his hometown club, it's hardly pushing to be the best he can be. Whilst there are plenty of talented players who have won nothing or very little, medals at the level that Owen has won them are hardly irrelevant - especially when one the awards was European Footballer of the Year when he was aged 21.

Completely disagree with your opinion on wasted talent - when has Owen not pushed himself to be the best he can be? He left Liverpool to challenge himself in a foreign league for Real Madrid and did quite well despite limited appearances. He then feared for his England place and signed for Newcastle in order to be able to perform at the highest level possible in the WC. After an unfortunate injury he missed much of his time at Newcastle and was released, before being made an offer to join Manchester United, reportedly for a lot less money than he would've got anywhere else in the Premiership.

He's now just won his first ever league winners medal and got a place on the Man Utd bench ahead of a £30M striker for the Champions League final. He is at one of the biggest and most successful clubs in the world, and the most successful league club in England - just where exactly should he be right now if he was to push himself to be the best he can be, please enlighten me?

If you just don't like Michael Owen then that's up to you - but a waster and wasted talent he certainly is not.

01-06-2011, 01:53 PM
Winding down careers?

Harsh. Day-to-day life will be easier/better at a massive club so and it may suit his family to stay at Man Utd for whatever reason, be it financial, location-wise, time-wise or whatever.

01-06-2011, 02:15 PM

Liverpool

Manchester United

Maybe wasted talent is the wrong phrase but certainly could have done much better then he has since leaving Liverpool way back in 2004. Since that day he has made a total of only 137 appearances (52 as sub) for Real, Newcastle and Man United. 85 starts and 44 goals in 7 seasons even allowing for the time he was out injured hardly makes great reading. I'm sure Messi has achieved close to that this season alone.

Yes he's got a collection of medals and will no doubt add more with Man U just for being on the bench most weeks but I know if it was me I would rather being playing 90 minutes than the odd starting place or 10-20 minutes as a sub occasionally. He's only 31 so still should have it in him to gain an automatic place with an EPL club even if's it's not with one of the bigger clubs.

01-06-2011, 02:30 PM
Maybe wasted talent is the wrong phrase but certainly could have done much better then he has since leaving Liverpool way back in 2004. Since that day he has made a total of only 137 appearances (52 as sub) for Real, Newcastle and Man United. 85 starts and 44 goals in 7 seasons even allowing for the time he was out injured hardly makes great reading. I'm sure Messi has achieved close to that this season alone.

Yes he's got a collection of medals and will no doubt add more with Man U just for being on the bench most weeks but I know if it was me I would rather being playing 90 minutes than the odd starting place or 10-20 minutes as a sub occasionally. He's only 31 so still should have it in him to gain an automatic place with an EPL club even if's it's not with one of the bigger clubs.

I agree with much of what you say apart from the last bit - he feels he is still learning under Alex Ferguson and has much to offer Manchester United, albeit in cameos. With his injury record in his younger years (and even for much of his time at Man Utd), it makes sense to be involved less at 31 - and I can't honestly see how he can be criticised for being prepared to fight for his place at a club like Manchester United, when he apparently could have got more money for signing for Hull City 2 years ago.

01-06-2011, 02:42 PM
I don't think he has the legs to play every week so his role with man u is perfect for both parties. Where else will man u find a striker of his ability willing to be a bit part?

As for wasted talent.....he has had a great career with great teams and IMO is aware of his limits hence being happy with his current role.

01-06-2011, 02:43 PM
I agree with much of what you say apart from the last bit - he feels he is still learning under Alex Ferguson and has much to offer Manchester United, albeit in cameos. With his injury record in his younger years (and even for much of his time at Man Utd), it makes sense to be involved less at 31 - and I can't honestly see how he can be criticised for being prepared to fight for his place at a club like Manchester United, when he apparently could have got more money for signing for Hull City 2 years ago.

Liam Miller will be 31 in February so I would expect him to also be going on a go slow and being less involved than he is now. :greengrin You still haven't convinced me why Owen should be winding down at 31. I think maybe once he retires he may wish that he had played a lot more than he has in previous years. By that time it will of course be too late and all he'll have to look forward to is the occasional guest role on Match of the Day with Lineker, Hansen and Co.

01-06-2011, 02:44 PM
Just won his first ever league winners medal and is playing for one of the biggest clubs in the world, under the most successful manager he has ever played for - and he deserves criticism why exactly?

Because he's a money-grabbing little prick?

01-06-2011, 02:46 PM
Alan Shearer turned down Manchester United to sign for Newcastle - whilst there is an obvious pull to his hometown club, it's hardly pushing to be the best he can be.

What? You think that to be the best you can be you have to sign for Man Utd???

I think you'll find that at Newcastle he certainly played the best he could. Granted he never won any medals but is that not quite refreshing these days that a player would choose his home team over a bit of medal chasing?

Completely disagree with your opinion on wasted talent - when has Owen not pushed himself to be the best he can be?

What a complete contradiction. One second you are saying that Alan Shearer did not aspire to be the best he could be by choosing Newcastle over Man Utd and then you say that Owen always did, despite that fact that he also signed for Newcastle??
And I should add that the Newcastle Shearer signed for were doing much better, and in with a chance of winning something (just pipped for league title in infamous "I'd love it" season), than the Newcastle Owen signed for.

He left Liverpool to challenge himself in a foreign league for Real Madrid and did quite well despite limited appearances. He then feared for his England place and signed for Newcastle in order to be able to perform at the highest level possible in the WC. After an unfortunate injury he missed much of his time at Newcastle and was released, before being made an offer to join Manchester United, reportedly for a lot less money than he would've got anywhere else in the Premiership.

Well that's one take on it ..
The real one I think involves him turning his back on Liverpool and threatening to run out his contract, a move which saw him go from hero to villain with the Liverpool support, in order to win a cut-price transfer for a mega-bucks contract at Real. A move which turned sour and saw him brokering a behind the scenes deal back to England to whoever was willing to pay the most money (which just happened to be Newcastle). After spending most of his time on the treatment table, he repayed Newcastle's generousity by picking up his healthy wage packet and then running down his contract until he was able to walk away for free and once again signing for whoever was willing to offer him the most money (which just happened to be Man Utd).

Say what you like, it's your opinion, but to say that Owen has aspired to be all he can be, in comparison to a player like Shearer, is so wide of the mark it's unbelievable.

01-06-2011, 02:47 PM
Alan Shearer turned down Manchester United to sign for Newcastle - whilst there is an obvious pull to his hometown club, it's hardly pushing to be the best he can be. Whilst there are plenty of talented players who have won nothing or very little, medals at the level that Owen has won them are hardly irrelevant - especially when one the awards was European Footballer of the Year when he was aged 21.

Completely disagree with your opinion on wasted talent - when has Owen not pushed himself to be the best he can be? He left Liverpool to challenge himself in a foreign league for Real Madrid and did quite well despite limited appearances. He then feared for his England place and signed for Newcastle in order to be able to perform at the highest level possible in the WC. After an unfortunate injury he missed much of his time at Newcastle and was released, before being made an offer to join Manchester United, reportedly for a lot less money than he would've got anywhere else in the Premiership.

He's now just won his first ever league winners medal and got a place on the Man Utd bench ahead of a £30M striker for the Champions League final. He is at one of the biggest and most successful clubs in the world, and the most successful league club in England - just where exactly should he be right now if he was to push himself to be the best he can be, please enlighten me?

If you just don't like Michael Owen then that's up to you - but a waster and wasted talent he certainly is not.

Alan Shearer turning down the opportunity to join Man Utd could maybe be classed as a lack of ambition, but not a waste of talent. Shearer showed week in week out, up until the end of his career, that he was an extremely talented footballer.

I don't think I've ever in my life said that I don't like Michael Owen. :confused:

I stand by my comments though, a player who (as you pointed out), at the age of 21, won the European Player of the Year is now a bench-warmer at Man Utd and that, for me, means he's wasting his talent. So he got a EPL winners medal, congratulations Mr Owen and when he's telling his grandkids about it he can tell them how amazing it all was to watch from his heated seat on the bench or in the stand. So he got to sit on the bench (although I'm not sure what your point is about being there ahead of Berbatov) in the Champions League final, well done.

01-06-2011, 02:48 PM
Liam Miller will be 31 in February so I would expect him to also be going on a go slow and being less involved than he is now. :greengrin You still haven't convinced me why Owen should be winding down at 31. I think maybe once he retires he may wish that he had played a lot more than he has in previous years. By that time it will of course be too late and all he'll have to look forward to is the occasional guest role on Match of the Day with Lineker, Hansen and Co.

Fair enough, but you still haven't convinced me why winning medals at Manchester United in the final phase of his career is somehow worthy of derision! And I haven't said that he should be winding down, I just said that with his injury record it probably makes sense to use him as an impact player from the bench.

And FWIW, I hardly think that a club run by Alex Ferguson would permit any player winding down!

01-06-2011, 02:54 PM
Alan Shearer turning down the opportunity to join Man Utd could maybe be classed as a lack of ambition, but not a waste of talent. Shearer showed week in week out, up until the end of his career, that he was an extremely talented footballer.

I don't think I've ever in my life said that I don't like Michael Owen. :confused:

I stand by my comments though, a player who (as you pointed out), at the age of 21, won the European Player of the Year is now a bench-warmer at Man Utd and that, for me, means he's wasting his talent. So he got a EPL winners medal, congratulations Mr Owen and when he's telling his grandkids about it he can tell them how amazing it all was to watch from his heated seat on the bench or in the stand. So he got to sit on the bench (although I'm not sure what your point is about being there ahead of Berbatov) in the Champions League final, well done.

And the grandkids would be more impressed by him turning out for Wigan?

The guy has a poor fitness record, I doubt he could physically play every game, so may as well be doing that at Man Utd than somewhere down the table.

01-06-2011, 02:57 PM

The point about him being there ahead of Berbatov is talked about by Alex Ferguson: -

"For Berbatov it was a difficult decision tonight," said Ferguson.

"Picking my team I found easy, but picking my subs I found very difficult. I tended to overload the midfield positions because I thought that was the position that was most important.

"I gambled with just one defender (on the bench) to allow me to get as many options in midfield and wide positions. It was a choice between Michael Owen and Dimitar Berbatov and if you are looking for someone to nick a goal in the last few minutes you want Owen's experience."

With regards to Shearer, you said a waste of talent was someone who doesn't want to push themself to be the best he can be - but he turned down the chance to regularly play at the level that Manchester United were doing in the Champions League, so he wasn't pushing himself to be the best he could be.

Surely Owen, by fighting for a place at Manchester United, is him pushing to be the best he can be. And whilst you might belittle his winning of an EPL medal, he played enough games to win one and he's obviously delighted with it, and why shouldn't he be? You said earlier that medals are irrelevant when it comes to talent - they're certainly irrelevant if you dismiss them off hand as you are doing.

01-06-2011, 03:07 PM
And the grandkids would be more impressed by him turning out for Wigan?

The guy has a poor fitness record, I doubt he could physically play every game, so may as well be doing that at Man Utd than somewhere down the table.

I think you've said this a few times on this thread but I think it's a bit of a myth. He's played (or been available) for the vast majority of the last four seasons.

01-06-2011, 03:09 PM
With regards to Shearer, you said a waste of talent was someone who doesn't want to push themself to be the best he can be - but he turned down the chance to regularly play at the level that Manchester United were doing in the Champions League, so he wasn't pushing himself to be the best he could be.

Forgive my ignorance but didn't Shearer play in the same league as Man Utd? He also played 48 games and scored 30 goals in Europe for Newcastle! I personally witnessed a double from Shearer in a Champions League game in the San Siro!

Shearer, without doubt, pushed himself to be the best that he could be. Not just on the park, but off it as well. He is, rightly so, a Newcastle legend and (statistically) the best goalscorer ever to wear the black and white. When he has passed on I can guarantee that there will be statues to commemorate what he achieved on Tyneside.

Owen on the other hand ...

01-06-2011, 03:11 PM
What? You think that to be the best you can be you have to sign for Man Utd???

I think you'll find that at Newcastle he certainly played the best he could. Granted he never won any medals but is that not quite refreshing these days that a player would choose his home team over a bit of medal chasing?

What a complete contradiction. One second you are saying that Alan Shearer did not aspire to be the best he could be by choosing Newcastle over Man Utd and then you say that Owen always did, despite that fact that he also signed for Newcastle??
And I should add that the Newcastle Shearer signed for were doing much better, and in with a chance of winning something (just pipped for league title in infamous "I'd love it" season), than the Newcastle Owen signed for.

Well that's one take on it ..
The real one I think involves him turning his back on Liverpool and threatening to run out his contract, a move which saw him go from hero to villain with the Liverpool support, in order to win a cut-price transfer for a mega-bucks contract at Real. A move which turned sour and saw him brokering a behind the scenes deal back to England to whoever was willing to pay the most money (which just happened to be Newcastle). After spending most of his time on the treatment table, he repayed Newcastle's generousity by picking up his healthy wage packet and then running down his contract until he was able to walk away for free and once again signing for whoever was willing to offer him the most money (which just happened to be Man Utd).

Say what you like, it's your opinion, but to say that Owen has aspired to be all he can be, in comparison to a player like Shearer, is so wide of the mark it's unbelievable.

I'm not criticising Shearer for signing for his home town club and I have never questioned his commitment to Newcastle, I was just referencing him turning down Manchester United in the context of my argument with Easty. And I don't believe that I am contradicting myself as I stated that Own returned to England so that he could ensure that he was in the England squad for the World Cup, the highest level of world football.

You're clearly a Newcastle fan and have very strong feelings towards both players - that's entirely fair enough and I can understand if you are annoyed at an 'outsider' putting their tuppence worth in. All I was doing was defending Michael Owen against what I felt was unfair criticism - it was not me that brought Shearer into the argument originally.

Shearer was obviously an excellent player who had the honour of turning out for the club he supported - you are also correct to point out that the team that the Newcastle side that he joined looked like it was set for future honours, it just didn't work out. However, I would reckon that Shearer has more regrets than Michael Owen.

You can criticise Owen all you want for "mega bucks deals" and signing for whoever paid the most, I'm sure Shearer was paid a pittance when he signed for Jack Walker's Blackburn and then subsequently became the most expensive player in the world. FWIW it was reported that Owen was prepared to resign for Liverpool for way less than his market value, and I'm pretty sure it was stated that he could have got more money than he originally signed for Man Utd for.

Was Owen offered a new contract at Newcastle before he left incidentally? And did Newcastle not get £10M compensation for his injury at the WC?

01-06-2011, 03:14 PM
Forgive my ignorance but didn't Shearer play in the same league as Man Utd? He also played 48 games and scored 30 goals in Europe for Newcastle! I personally witnessed a double from Shearer in a Champions League game in the San Siro!

I know he did play in the Champions League, but he would have played more regularly and won the thing with Manchester United.

Regardless of how honourable his signing for Newcastle was, he didn't play at as high a level for as long as he could and should have. He also retired from international football early too (though that was probably key in prolonging his club career).

But again, it was not me who brought Shearer into this.

01-06-2011, 03:16 PM
I don't think he has the legs to play every week so his role with man u is perfect for both parties. Where else will man u find a striker of his ability willing to be a bit part?

As for wasted talent.....he has had a great career with great teams and IMO is aware of his limits hence being happy with his current role.

His limits being (I could be wrong on this but if I am it's probably not by much) about 970 minutes played in total over two seasons in the EPL. 6 starts and 24 substitutions. An average of 32 minutes per game featured in and he was only featured in about 40% of the total matches played over the 2 seasons. If his total playing time was calculated over the 76 EPL games then that would reduce it to 12.76 minutes. I've known fans to be on the pitch longer than that.

Shocking statistics and as I've said before he could have done better if he wanted to.

BryanV
01-06-2011, 03:16 PM
Because he's a money-grabbing little prick?

Hid deal at Utd is heavily incentivised with a relativley low basic, he could almost certainly get more money elsewhere.

01-06-2011, 03:36 PM
However, I would reckon that Shearer has more regrets than Michael Owen.

I very much doubt it.

FWIW it was reported that Owen was prepared to resign for Liverpool for way less than his market value

When? From Real Madrid? He was actually trying to broker a deal to Liverpool right up until the point he signed for Newcastle. The reason he never went there was as a matter of principal Liverpool refused to pay much more than the cut-price fee that Owen held them over a barrel for when he moved to Spain. Newcastle were lucky in that Real owed them some cash for Woodgate and that helped with the deal.

If you're talking about after he ran down his Newcastle contract then what exactly do you think his market value was? Liverpool never payed it, and neither did anyone else. He ended up having to accept a pay-as-you-play deal from Man Utd.

Was Owen offered a new contract at Newcastle before he left incidentally? And did Newcastle not get £10M compensation for his injury at the WC?

Owen refused to discuss a contract extension at Newcastle. He used the old line of waiting till the end of the season to keep the fans at bay, but it was clear long before his contract was up that he would be leaving.

I cant remember the exact amount (I have £5m in my head) but whatever it was it was nowhere near the money that Newcastle forked out in wages, transfer and/or potential sell on value due to the injury.

01-06-2011, 03:45 PM
I know he did play in the Champions League, but he would have played more regularly and won the thing with Manchester United.

He played 48 times in Europe, playing and scoring against some of the best teams in Europe, right up to semi-final stages.

Regardless of how honourable his signing for Newcastle was, he didn't play at as high a level for as long as he could and should have.

He played 14 seasons in the Premiership with Newcastle, during which time he set a new club record. He played until he was almost 36, scoring in his final game for Newcastle in a 4-1 win over arch rivals Sunderland at the Stadium of Light. How could he have possible played at a higher level for longer???

01-06-2011, 03:46 PM
I very much doubt it.

When? From Real Madrid? He was actually trying to broker a deal to Liverpool right up until the point he signed for Newcastle. The reason he never went there was as a matter of principal Liverpool refused to pay much more than the cut-price fee that Owen held them over a barrel for when he moved to Spain. Newcastle were lucky in that Real owed them some cash for Woodgate and that helped with the deal.

If you're talking about after he ran down his Newcastle contract then what exactly do you think his market value was? Liverpool never payed it, and neither did anyone else. He ended up having to accept a pay-as-you-play deal from Man Utd.

"Before signing for United, he was so desperate to return to Liverpool, club where he emerged as a world-class goalscorer that he would have accepted a basic salary of just £25,000-a-week plus goal and appearance bonuses but then Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rafael_Benitez)'s doubts over Owen's form, fitness and desire to put his club before his England ambitions ensured he rejected repeated attempts to persuade him to re-sign the player he sold"

I'm pretty sure other clubs (Newcastle included had he entered talks) would have offered him more than £25K a week, but I may well be wrong.

Owen refused to discuss a contract extension at Newcastle. He used the old line of waiting till the end of the season to keep the fans at bay, but it was clear long before his contract was up that he would be leaving.

I cant remember the exact amount (I have £5m in my head) but whatever it was it was nowhere near the money that Newcastle forked out in wages, transfer and/or potential sell on value due to the injury.

Cool, cheers for clearing that up for me. According to a few online reports, the compensation was £10M, but Owen apparently cost £1.3M per goal, so you are most definitely right with regards to the deficit.

01-06-2011, 03:48 PM
He played 48 times in Europe, playing and scoring against some of the best teams in Europe, right up to semi-final stages.

He played 14 seasons in the Premiership with Newcastle, during which time he set a new club record. He played until he was almost 36, scoring in his final game for Newcastle in a 4-1 win over arch rivals Sunderland at the Stadium of Light. How could he have possible played at a higher level for longer???

I mean with regards to the Champions League - he could have featured more and won the tournament - and at international level, he could have featured in more tournaments. But as I said, I'm sure his international retirement helped maintain the high standards of his club performances right up until his retirement.

But anyway, again I have no gripe with Alan Shearer, he was an excellent player and I can only imagine what it must be like having someone of that quality turning out for Hibs.

Anyway, I'm done for the day - cheers, it's been fun.

01-06-2011, 03:49 PM
I was just referencing him turning down Manchester United in the context of my argument with Easty.

Are we arguing? Let's just make up. :greengrin

01-06-2011, 03:50 PM
Hid deal at Utd is heavily incentivised with a relativley low basic, he could almost certainly get more money elsewhere.

Maybe Dashing Bob S should have said .. "Because he's a money-grabbing little prick that is now looking to fill his mantlepiece with some silverware?"

01-06-2011, 04:04 PM
Are we arguing? Let's just make up. :greengrin

Ha, nae bother!

Hibbie_Cameron
01-06-2011, 04:20 PM
I cannot stand Michael Owen

When i was down at St James last month for Newcastle v Birmingham, i kept up my usual tradition of buying the several fanzines that are produced. One in particular was a joy to read as almost the whole magazine was dedicated in reply to Owen's post match comments from when Newcastle played Manchester United, just a week or so prior.

His comments then were along the lines of "how dare they boo me and wave £20 notes at me when they dont know the truth" The truth is Michael Owen imo is a money grabbing little git.

At NUFC, he would fly via helicopter back to his Cheshire pad, to feed his horses and shovel there manure. He in 4 years also done limited PR for the club. The kids Christmas parties, the appearances at schools etc were too much for him.

His interviews in the local press were all about England and not club. "Ill score the goals to get back in the England sqaud..................and keep newcastle up" was one of his favoured sayings, from the treatment table.

It was amazing how injured he was at NUFC yet the week or so before the England games he would magically reappear, play for England and get injured again. This happened on about 3 occasions and he was out for months on each occassion. Newcastle may have picked up hefty compo for this but considering our league postion having Owen fit would have been far better.

Upon his final comeback for Newcastle he vowed to keep them up with his goals almost single handidly. All that was witnessed was half arsed efforts and missed chances. His pockets must have been dragging him down.

Although when he signed for Newcastle i was happy with it, the day he left was even better. Newcastle were stupid to give him such a huge wage but in return you want to see the passion and a return for your investment. Especially when the club stood by him when he was constantly injured.

Its no surprise to me that he sits in the stands for weeks on end for Man Utd counting his pennies. He has no great hunger for the game and despite my disliking of him i cant argue with his overall goals ratio. Surely playing week in week out for the likes of Everton or Aston Villa and being a hero would be more of achievement than gaining a medal, earned through coming on with 2 minutes left when the league is already won.

01-06-2011, 04:20 PM
He could always go back to Liverpool and claim a Testimonial?

01-06-2011, 04:22 PM
Heard on Talksport he'd started 17 games, can't remember how many as sub and scored 14 goals, not a bad return.

02-06-2011, 08:36 AM
Heard on Talksport he'd started 17 games, can't remember how many as sub and scored 14 goals, not a bad return.

From the Man Utd website, Micheal Owen player profile...

Wayne Rooney, Dimitar Berbatov and new signing Javier Hernandez kept Owen on the bench for much of 2010/11, but though he started only four games in all competitions, he managed five goals.

His 11 league appearances (10 from the bench) were enough to earn him a first Premier League winners' medal, followed by a one-year contract extension in June.