View Full Version : Crabbies Sponsor

Macaroon
22-05-2011, 07:41 PM
OKay, so i think it's fair to say that we have all seen the new home top unveiled by the hibs recently. I for one am not a fan, i think its just too far out of tradition. My main peeve is the ghastly crabbies logo splattered on the front, it just looks so out of place imho.

So, i got the old hibs.net brush out :hnet: and tinkered about a bit with the new uniform in photoshop. And i think adding the old mcewan fraser logo alone makes the whole top look infinitely better, would you agree?

Before:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/javaImages/3e/cb/0,,10290~9685822,00.jpg

After:

http://oi56.tinypic.com/14ctnnp.jpg

Now obviously its out of most peoples control, even some of those at the club to have a say in who we sponsor, but i wanted to illustrate how much a small change went to make this top looks so much better!

What are your thoughts? And who would you want hibs to sponsor if you had the choice? I may even whip up a couple prototypes !

GGTTH :flag:

Makaveli
22-05-2011, 07:44 PM
No sponsor would be best but obviously that isn't happening. I do agree with you though - McEwan Fraser is better as it's just white writing (ala Carlsberg) unlike Crabbies (which better not peel like Whyte and Mackay used to).

22-05-2011, 07:48 PM
Are there a lot of people out for the day.Will the men in white coats be here soon?

22-05-2011, 07:49 PM
Does look better with the old sponsor on it....

22-05-2011, 07:53 PM
I actually like the strip and a break from tradition every now and then is a good thing. Probably why I get the away top most of the time.

Anyhoo it could have been much worse. The fact that they've changed the colour of their logo to match the club's is ace IMO. They could have stuck with the navy blue/black & gold logo and it would have ruined the top.

Plus the most ghastly sponsor's logo in recent seasons was the whyte & Mackay logo with the blue background. (04-05)

22-05-2011, 07:54 PM
Much much better with the old sponsor on it...Much better.

Macaroon
22-05-2011, 07:59 PM
Much much better with the old sponsor on it...Much better.

Yes, it appears we are in the same boat.

22-05-2011, 08:07 PM
Yes, it appears we are in the same boat.

You do not know how freaking dangerous that is laddie!!!!!

22-05-2011, 08:09 PM
What about the crabbies without the dark background?

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/edit010290968582200.jpg

Anyway IMO the sponsor is the least of the problems with that top

Macaroon
22-05-2011, 08:11 PM
You do not know how freaking dangerous that is laddie!!!!!

Hence why i deliberately avoided displaying any sort of emotion at all when i made the statement! :devil:

Macaroon
22-05-2011, 08:16 PM

Yeah i certainly prefer a simple green top white sleeve, but i thought that the sponsor was what needed the most tinkering imo. Your idea does work though, blends it in much better

22-05-2011, 08:16 PM

:agree: Ganting!

22-05-2011, 08:38 PM
I like the tops design a lot but I wish the logo wasn't one of these boxed ones that usually peel off!

HibeeMG
22-05-2011, 09:05 PM
I know I'm in a minority so I'm well prepared for any disagreements coming my way....

I actually think the top is one of the best we've had for the past 15 years. It's a brave decision to tinker with a well established strip design and could easily have been made a mess of. I think they've done a great job.

As for the sponsor; we obviously have to go with whoever wants to pay the most to the club. On this occasion, again I'm in the minority I think, the logo isn't that bad at all. I like to be able to see the sponsors' logo prominently on the front as it makes the strip look better.

Macaroon
22-05-2011, 09:23 PM
I know I'm in a minority so I'm well prepared for any disagreements coming my way....

I actually think the top is one of the best we've had for the past 15 years. It's a brave decision to tinker with a well established strip design and could easily have been made a mess of. I think they've done a great job.

As for the sponsor; we obviously have to go with whoever wants to pay the most to the club. On this occasion, again I'm in the minority I think, the logo isn't that bad at all. I like to be able to see the sponsors' logo prominently on the front as it makes the strip look better.

Yeah, i suppose im just set in my ways, a traditionalist. Well, as much as my age will allow i guess..

Sodje_18
22-05-2011, 09:24 PM
I'd take crabbies over Mcewan and Fraser anyday. You don't get a shirt sponser for the way it looks on the strip, you do it for the money. I personally like the strip, so what if it's not traditional, I welcome the change. GGTTH :greengrin

22-05-2011, 09:25 PM
You've just depressed me! It looks MUCH better with the McEwan & Fraser logo than it does with Crabbies. You're totally right, it's incredible how such a small change can have a big effect on a top! It looks night and day in those two pictures.

Having 'Crabbies' splashed accross the front of our tops makes me cringe!! :agree:

22-05-2011, 09:28 PM
Could be worse - could be:

WONGA.COM

Zondervan
22-05-2011, 09:44 PM

Actually, you are in the majority as the poll on this very site is split 60/40 in favour of liking the new strip.

Which is nice.

Macaroon
22-05-2011, 09:51 PM

WONGA.COM

http://oi53.tinypic.com/f0cf81.jpg
:bitchy::bitchy::bitchy::bitchy::bitchy:

Macaroon
22-05-2011, 09:52 PM
You've just depressed me! It looks MUCH better with the McEwan & Fraser logo than it does with Crabbies. You're totally right, it's incredible how such a small change can have a big effect on a top! It looks night and day in those two pictures.

Having 'Crabbies' splashed accross the front of our tops makes me cringe!! :agree:

Yeah, i sorta depressed myself making it too.. :rolleyes:

22-05-2011, 09:53 PM
Yeah, i suppose im just set in my ways, a traditionalist. Well, as much as my age will allow i guess..I would have preferred this :agree: I even kept one of their stripes

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/edit2010290968582200.jpg

Macaroon
22-05-2011, 10:05 PM
I would have preferred this :agree: I even kept one of their stripes

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/edit2010290968582200.jpg

Yeah! Or this even, still daring but normal enough to please my type :agree:

http://oi54.tinypic.com/nfikbk.jpg

22-05-2011, 10:08 PM
Yeah! Or this even, still daring but normal enough to please my type :agree:

http://oi54.tinypic.com/nfikbk.jpg

Definitely like these better than the original.

HibeeMG
22-05-2011, 10:11 PM
Yeah, i suppose im just set in my ways, a traditionalist. Well, as much as my age will allow i guess..

Normally I'm a traditionalist too. I normally hate change for the sake of it. Clubs strips are a different matter though. The past 3 strips have been 'much of a muchness' - same old, same old.

The good thing is that everyone who doesn't like it, only needs to wait a year until it gets replaced!

Lets just hope that the cavalier attitude shown towards the strip design is indicative of the forthcoming transfer policy! :wink:

22-05-2011, 10:13 PM
crackin colours AND round necks, when can i buy it :thumbsup:

although not too sure about the boxed logo :hmmm:

22-05-2011, 10:16 PM

WONGA.COM

That's what I thought as well. Just seen on tv that blackpool have it as well. Maybe it'll get the ****bos a discounted interest rate (900% instead of 1000%) when mad vlad does a runner.

But back to the original subject, I agree the old sponsor looks better and the new strip is too far from tradition.

22-05-2011, 10:34 PM
I'm more concerned about what will be in the strip rather than whats on it.

22-05-2011, 10:42 PM
Looking at the historical kits we had a darker green in the first half dozen, then it became the green as we know it now. The strip is still green with white sleeves, nothings really changed except we've added a darker green to it, a shade we've had in the past.

7Hero
22-05-2011, 10:56 PM
crabbies is a leith institution and some folk are slagging it...

go ****** yourselves.

great sponsor well done hibs...]

22-05-2011, 10:57 PM

go ****** yourselves.

7Hero
22-05-2011, 10:59 PM

im agreeing with him...

GBTH....

22-05-2011, 11:02 PM
OKay, so i think it's fair to say that we have all seen the new home top unveiled by the hibs recently. I for one am not a fan, i think its just too far out of tradition. My main peeve is the ghastly crabbies logo splattered on the front, it just looks so out of place imho.

So, i got the old hibs.net brush out :hnet: and tinkered about a bit with the new uniform in photoshop. And i think adding the old mcewan fraser logo alone makes the whole top look infinitely better, would you agree?

Before:

After:

Now obviously its out of most peoples control, even some of those at the club to have a say in who we sponsor, but i wanted to illustrate how much a small change went to make this top looks so much better!

What are your thoughts? And who would you want hibs to sponsor if you had the choice? I may even whip up a couple prototypes !

Has to be seven up :agree:

22-05-2011, 11:02 PM
Looking at the historical kits we had a darker green in the first half dozen, then it became the green as we know it now. The strip is still green with white sleeves, nothings really changed except we've added a darker green to it, a shade we've had in the past.I have nothing against the darker colour, I like it and I really liked this strip

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/ivannewaway.jpg

but that new thing from the front just looks like part of a home top and part of an away top. It would make an ok training top but it's not a Hibs home strip in my eyes (or for my money).

Anyway it's what we've got and it ain't going tae change. I'll no be buying it but I'm sure there will be others that will, that wouldnae have bought it had it been more like the usual. The sponsors logo disnae really bother me, I've seen a lot worse and I think it's a good deal for Hibs.

Macaroon
23-05-2011, 12:30 AM

go ****** yourselves.

Terribly sorry, i completely forgot that I wasn't allowed to dissaprove in any way of the logo of a certain company because they are situated close to my chosen football club.

Hey! The prostitutes are down in leith too, Hibs should so sponsor them ass well and support the local community even more.

Macaroon
23-05-2011, 12:37 AM
Has to be seven up :agree:

http://oi53.tinypic.com/2lkch1z.jpg

Ha!!

HibeeMG
23-05-2011, 02:03 AM
Terribly sorry, i completely forgot that I wasn't allowed to dissaprove in any way of the logo of a certain company because they are situated close to my chosen football club.

Hey! The prostitutes are down in leith too, Hibs should so sponsor them ass well and support the local community even more.

Freudian slip alert :tee hee:

blairwallace
23-05-2011, 03:09 AM
as long as the football being played is attractive i could give a Nade about the strips, as long as there green and white, we can't always live of old traditional strip designs

23-05-2011, 06:42 AM
They have to ensure that the logo does not peel off.

We had that with the first run of W&M sponsored shirts.

Nothing looks more naff than a shirt with the sponsor peeling off.

Incidentally, I have pre ordered it and look forward to reciving it in the post.

23-05-2011, 06:43 AM
I think the Crabbie's logo fits quite well, personally? Doesn't really matter anyway as long as the new sponsorship is more lucrative than McEwan Fraser, plus we get a nationally recognised firm in to the bargain.

23-05-2011, 08:39 AM
If your auntie had baws she's be your uncle.

I don't see anything wrong with the top myself.

Macaroon
23-05-2011, 09:27 AM
Freudian slip alert :tee hee:

intended pun :na na:

23-05-2011, 10:15 AM

Actually, you are in the majority as the poll on this very site is split 60/40 in favour of liking the new strip.

Which is nice.

Indeed. If we don't change things around once in a while, what excuse would auld grumps like me have for going on about the good old days when we played in proper football strips without sponsors' logos or any of that nonsense?

I quite like the new one myself.

I also like the fact that the vast majority of posters are still referring to it as a "strip" rather than a "uniform".

KEEP YANQUI-ISMS OUT OF FOOTBALL! :grr:

(((Fergus)))
23-05-2011, 10:34 AM
http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q191/secallen/Hibshome.jpg

darwenhibby
23-05-2011, 10:39 AM

Now that would be a strip:top marks

23-05-2011, 10:40 AM

23-05-2011, 10:42 AM

Yes, yes, and thrice yes!

Get that

23-05-2011, 10:50 AM
http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q191/secallen/Hibshome.jpgI could live with that, it's a 10x better than that the effort we're getting, I still prefer this though :wink:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/Hibshome2.jpg

Macaroon
23-05-2011, 11:54 AM
Indeed. If we don't change things around once in a while, what excuse would auld grumps like me have for going on about the good old days when we played in proper football strips without sponsors' logos or any of that nonsense?

I quite like the new one myself.

I also like the fact that the vast majority of posters are still referring to it as a "strip" rather than a "uniform".

KEEP YANQUI-ISMS OUT OF FOOTBALL! :grr:

http://oi52.tinypic.com/ejyjr9.jpg

Macaroon
23-05-2011, 12:49 PM
Away Strip :pray::pray::pray:

http://oi54.tinypic.com/10sc2tu.jpg

23-05-2011, 12:59 PM
Away Strip :pray::pray::pray:

http://oi54.tinypic.com/10sc2tu.jpgDinnae mind the black but that sash type stripe is too much, looks like a contestant in some sort of pageant.

(((Fergus)))
23-05-2011, 01:04 PM
or a South American dictator

23-05-2011, 01:12 PM
Hibs should let fans vote for the designs of the tops in future - listen to the customer.

There have been 2 good designs in this thread -probably better than the real puma one being released!

Macaroon
23-05-2011, 01:27 PM
Dinnae mind the black but that sash type stripe is too much, looks like a contestant in some sort of pageant.

Oh well, it may attract some form of beauty to ER then, cos it certainly isnae in the fitbaw :rolleyes:

23-05-2011, 01:32 PM
Oh well, it may attract some form of beauty to ER then, cos it certainly isnae in the fitbaw :rolleyes:you're no wrong there, unfortunately.

23-05-2011, 05:49 PM
Now THAT'S a Hibs top :agree:

hibsdaft
23-05-2011, 06:01 PM
if we have a great season folk will remember this kit as a classic in ten years time.

23-05-2011, 06:03 PM
I'm happy, Crabbie's is a cracking sponsor who sell a product I'm more than happy to purchase in large quantities to help the cause.

Horse
23-05-2011, 06:09 PM

Before:

After:

Let's face it, if we didn't have the Crabbies logo, it would be another company logo that would look out of place on our fine colours but money talks and if the price was right the board would pretty much accept any logo. In an ideal world I'd love a Hibs top with no sponsor but I'll always accept the sponsor that pays the most because we need every penny we can get.

The obvious sponsor of choice would up course be 7up!

23-05-2011, 06:12 PM

This one please :agree: :thumbsup:

23-05-2011, 07:51 PM
I had a very significant experience in my youth after 6 dark rums with Crabbies Green Ginger.It remains close to my heart.The strip should be dark green not the insipid green we have nowadays.

23-05-2011, 07:53 PM

Is it true that the two weekends of the season that the huns are in Leith are when those ladies choose to take their holidays?

That's a real Hibs strip. If only.

23-05-2011, 08:00 PM
It's true but I understand that some of the butch boys move in.

23-05-2011, 08:21 PM

Not down on the new strip or Crabbie's as a sponsor.

But THAT my friend is the Dugs Bollocks. Why dont you work for Puma? :top marks

23-05-2011, 08:28 PM
http://oi53.tinypic.com/2lkch1z.jpg

Ha!!
Now thats what am talking about :top marks petrie ,get it sorted !

23-05-2011, 08:32 PM
smart as :top marks

23-05-2011, 09:31 PM
No one seems to have mentioned the CRABBIES sponsorship also on the BACK of the strip above the players name...or am I the only person to have noticed this in the club shop?? :duck:

23-05-2011, 09:36 PM
No one seems to have mentioned the CRABBIES sponsorship also on the BACK of the strip above the players name...or am I the only person to have noticed this in the club shop?? :duck:

it was mentioned elsewhere, i have to say it didnt bother me as much as i thought it would.

would have preferred the sponsor logo on the front to just be writing as it would be less prominent but i think the sponsors who are paying money to have their name on the strips wouldn't agree

seanshow
23-05-2011, 09:54 PM
Some budding Gok Wan's in here :greengrin

:offski:

24-05-2011, 08:51 AM
Some budding Gok Wan's in here :greengrin

:offski:

Well that's one way of putting it :greengrin