View Full Version : Question What do you normally buy at a chippy

17-05-2011, 05:54 AM
Following on from best chippy. What you fav meal from a chippy? I go for fish, chips, mushy peas, bread roll and bit gravy. Different class.

17-05-2011, 10:06 AM
Fish supper normally :agree:

17-05-2011, 11:17 AM
Meat & potato pie, chips, peas and gravy. Sorted.

17-05-2011, 11:28 AM
Large donor kebab with all the trimmings.

17-05-2011, 12:29 PM
King rib supper with a single black or white pudding to eat on the way up the road.

17-05-2011, 12:33 PM
White pudding supper, salt and sauce.

17-05-2011, 12:43 PM
Fish or haggis supper.

If stopping for a snack - kingrib roll

17-05-2011, 01:23 PM
Large donor kebab with all the trimmings.

Come on HA, chippies are for suppers, Topkapi for kebabs!

17-05-2011, 01:44 PM
Chicken breast supper, if it's not been lying too long. Or a jumbo haggis with lots of sauce.

17-05-2011, 04:21 PM
Deep Fried Pizza Supper

.Louise.
17-05-2011, 06:15 PM
12" Ham and Pineapple pizza with a big bag of chips!! :thumbsup:

17-05-2011, 06:40 PM
Quite fond of a half-fried pizza or a fish supper if i'm especially hungry. Oh, and I always find a pound for a jar of mussels :drool:

But you cannae beat a stinkin', juicy kebab when you've had a bevvy :wink:

17-05-2011, 07:04 PM
Chicken fried rice.

17-05-2011, 07:06 PM
Chicken fried rice.
From a chippy? :confused:

17-05-2011, 07:24 PM
White pudding supper, salt and sauce.

Absolutely spot on :-()

17-05-2011, 07:31 PM
From a chippy? :confused:

Yip, most of the chippy's up my way are chinese take-away's too. :greengrin

17-05-2011, 07:44 PM
In Edinburgh: steak pie supper with as much sauce as is legally permitted. :agree:

Down here: rarely bother, the chippies are crap.

Hibee D
17-05-2011, 08:27 PM
Spicy Haggis, loads of Salt.

17-05-2011, 09:24 PM
Hamburger roll supper with a pickled onion

17-05-2011, 11:04 PM
Absolutely spot on :-()

Washed down with a can of vimto or the bru, whichever.

18-05-2011, 03:38 AM
Hamburger roll supper with a pickled onion

God bless chippy pickled onions!

Calvin
18-05-2011, 05:49 AM
An Ashvale Whale preferably - the best batter you'll taste.

If I'm back at home though, I vary between battered sausage and deep fried pizza.

18-05-2011, 07:17 AM
My local chippy sells a mini fish supper for £3.50, mini in name only and I wouldn't buy anything else.

Marabou Stork
18-05-2011, 11:03 AM
A King rib supper with an extra bag of chips, and occasionally an extra white pudding for this - ahem - gourmande.

Yours,

A. Fat******** Esq.

Hillsidehibby
18-05-2011, 01:05 PM
Spicy Haggis, loads of Salt.

Indigestion alert!!:greengrin

18-05-2011, 01:09 PM
An Ashvale Whale preferably - the best batter you'll taste.

If I'm back at home though, I vary between battered sausage and deep fried pizza.

It's well deserving of its name as well - it's bloody huge!

Usually either a fish supper (Anstruther's not a huge haul from here and is well deserving of its reputation) or an Arbroath Smokey supper (obviously from Arbroath, which is again, just along the road).

Tons of decent chippies up this way, but they always look at me as if I have horns on my head when I ask for salt 'n' sauce. :greengrin

18-05-2011, 02:44 PM

Usually either a fish supper (Anstruther's not a huge haul from here and is well deserving of its reputation) or an Arbroath Smokey supper (obviously from Arbroath, which is again, just along the road).

Tons of decent chippies up this way, but they always look at me as if I have horns on my head when I ask for salt 'n' sauce. :greengrin

Went away there for a week 2 years in a row and found myself going there for dinner quite often :agree:

18-05-2011, 08:02 PM
Fish or white pudding supper (with salt and lots of sauce of course) :greengrin

18-05-2011, 08:15 PM

The american accent probably throws them as well, S. :wink:

tynesideirish
18-05-2011, 08:19 PM
Just a fish supper. No add ons, no pop.

ClewsHibs
18-05-2011, 09:23 PM
Fish Supper :agree: or half battered pizza with portion of curry sauce :greengrin

19-05-2011, 10:06 AM
Three bits of fried chicken chips and mushy peas when down here and a fish supper when back up in the motherland.

Chippies down here are relatively pish though compared to Scotland . :greengrin

Sodje_18
20-05-2011, 02:44 AM
Nice wee kingrib supper, or just a chip roll if it's just for a snack after the football :greengrin

20-05-2011, 09:30 PM
Fish and chips. classic:thumbsup:

21-05-2011, 12:36 PM
In Edinburgh: Black pudding/sausage supper.

In Fife: Red pudding supper :thumbsup:

21-05-2011, 03:37 PM
My local chippy sells a mini fish supper for £3.50, mini in name only and I wouldn't buy anything else.

Yeh it's crazy. Our local does a kids meal and it's like half the price of a normal supper. Only difference is you get less chips although you do get a juice :greengrin. I'm also quite partial to a blackpudding super :clapper:.

just_joe
21-05-2011, 04:26 PM
My weegie mate keeps telling me that Glasgow chippys are much better than Edinburgh chippys. He says you get much larger portions for a cheaper price. Anyone confirm this or is he talkin gash? lol

21-05-2011, 04:38 PM
My weegie mate keeps telling me that Glasgow chippys are much better than Edinburgh chippys. He says you get much larger portions for a cheaper price. Anyone confirm this or is he talkin gash? lol

Having lived in Glasgow for 5 years, I'd agree with the portion thing. Somewhat offset by the lamentable lack of chippy sauce, though...

21-05-2011, 07:58 PM
In Edinburgh: Black pudding/sausage supper.

In Fife: Red pudding supper :thumbsup:

Whats a red pudding?

21-05-2011, 08:34 PM
In Edinburgh Jumbo sausage supper from BBQ or St Johns

In Liverpool Sausage Dinner- 3 Sausages,Chips.Peas,Onion Gravy.....Superb

NYHibby
21-05-2011, 11:03 PM
The american accent probably throws them as well, S. :wink:

I know you're joking, but this actually happens to me all the time at chippies, probably more than other places. I get looks like I'm speaking a foreign language. But a lot of the time the feeling is mutual...

I work at an office that is probably one of the last places you'd expect to find an American. It's not quite like calling the first minister and getting an American, but it is close. All kinds of havoc can break loose when I get calls from unexpecting people. There was this one particular group of Aberdeenshire fishermen...

22-05-2011, 12:21 PM
Whats a red pudding?

A Pudding thats Red :greengrin