View Full Version : Greggs Thompson and McDonald released by Burnley

12-05-2011, 02:40 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13375049.stm

Wonder if they'll be on the list - would imagine McDonald will receive some offers that are more than we can afford though.

12-05-2011, 02:41 PM

Wonder if they'll be on the list - would imagine McDonald will receive some offers that are more than we can afford though.

:agree: Won't want to leave North West Engerland.

franco
12-05-2011, 02:56 PM
I was told a few weeks ago thompson and graham alexander were going to st mirren I laughed it off when I was told so we shall soon see.

12-05-2011, 02:56 PM

How come? He's Scottish???

Hibstrooper
12-05-2011, 03:49 PM

Surprised McDonald's career has gone backwards like this. He seemed a cracking prospect and was being linked with bigger clubs than Burnley at one point.

I'd take either of these guys just now. Some folk might not like Thompson but he'd probably walk the SPL.

12-05-2011, 03:55 PM
How come? He's Scottish???

Enjoys the area/girlfriend etc .. I'd be surprised if he left but will depend on his options of course.

12-05-2011, 04:22 PM
Burnley pal said he likes a drink too much. Not sure how true. Mcdonald that is.

12-05-2011, 05:20 PM
I was told a few weeks ago thompson and graham alexander were going to st mirren I laughed it off when I was told so we shall soon see.

I'd be raging if Thompson went to St Mirren. As said, the guy would walk it in the SPL and would be a very important player for any team! I most certainly hope that Hibs are in for him, there was rumours not long back that we were interested, so you never know..

12-05-2011, 06:16 PM
Enjoys the area/girlfriend etc .. I'd be surprised if he left but will depend on his options of course.

Ah see...

Thought you were maybe confusing him for the laddie Macdonald that was on loan at Caley and also at Falkirk last season, think he's a wee scouser or maybe a Mancunian??

12-05-2011, 06:23 PM
Burnley should give them both a decent pay off if and only if they sign for us. That should make up for robbing Fletch off us.

12-05-2011, 08:06 PM
Ah see...

Thought you were maybe confusing him for the laddie Macdonald that was on loan at Caley and also at Falkirk last season, think he's a wee scouser or maybe a Mancunian??

Geordie? Nae idea where he's fae :wink:

12-05-2011, 08:08 PM
Burnley should give them both a decent pay off if and only if they sign for us. That should make up for robbing Fletch off us.

McDonald's contract is up - assume Thomo's is too.

12-05-2011, 08:09 PM
I would take them both.

12-05-2011, 08:22 PM
I would take them both.

Defo :agree:

Franck is God
12-05-2011, 08:32 PM
Was Thomson not on the wish list in January but Burnley were keen for him to stay which would suggest CC will make enquiries to whether he'd want to come to Hibs.

I quite like McDonald but would think he would only be on our list if a couple of midfielders left. With Miller, Thornhill, Scott, Palsson, Stevenson, De Graff & Murray currently at the club I think there are other areas need strengthening first.

franco
12-05-2011, 09:13 PM
Thompsons has had a lot of problems with his back and he has been down to see specialists in london but from what i was told he was defo going to st mirren but now i believe graham alexander who was meant to be going there too has been offered a player manager role think it was with morcambe or something like that and i have not got a clue what mcdonald is doing would like to see him at easter road as long as he stays of the drink with his old man lol

13-05-2011, 06:57 AM
Both would be excellent signings.

Would really like a swatch at cc and da list of players,

13-05-2011, 07:04 AM
Steven Thompson wasn't really that good at the Huns and hardly scored any goals for them or Dundee Utd. I'd be looking elsewhere.

14-05-2011, 08:51 AM
from the bbc gossip this morning

Former Scotland striker Steven Thompson, out-of contract at Burnley, says three SPL clubs are chasing him. (Daily Record)

are we one of them given that we have 1 recognised striker on the books beyond this summer

14-05-2011, 09:06 AM
are we one of them given that we have 1 recognised striker on the books beyond this summer

I'd expect we are.

And given that he's a target man type striker, and also that we'll be after him, you can bet the yams are one of the other two

14-05-2011, 09:38 AM
Was Thomson not on the wish list in January but Burnley were keen for him to stay which would suggest CC will make enquiries to whether he'd want to come to Hibs.

I quite like McDonald but would think he would only be on our list if a couple of midfielders left. With Miller, Thornhill, Scott, Palsson, Stevenson, De Graff & Murray currently at the club I think there are other areas need strengthening first.

McDonald is a better player than all of them with the possible exception of Miller.

Franck is God
14-05-2011, 11:29 AM
McDonald is a better player than all of them with the possible exception of Miller.

He may well be better than a number of our players but they are all under contract for next season and Miller has been offered a deal.

I think that the players he signed in January were brought in as a core to avoid relegation, the players arriving in the summer are to win games and push up the table.

Thomson has scored goals in the SPL, Championship and even a couple in the Prem and would be ideal for us next season leading the line.

14-05-2011, 11:49 AM
from the bbc gossip this morning

Former Scotland striker Steven Thompson, out-of contract at Burnley, says three SPL clubs are chasing him. (Daily Record)

I would imagine we will be in for lots of players.

CC said this week that an offer will be made for players we want and if its not accepted within a certain time then we move on to the next one. He is not going to fannying around for weeks on end.

14-05-2011, 11:52 AM
He may well be better than a number of our players but they are all under contract for next season and Miller has been offered a deal.

I think that the players he signed in January were brought in as a core to avoid relegation, the players arriving in the summer are to win games and push up the table.

Thomson has scored goals in the SPL, Championship and even a couple in the Prem and would be ideal for us next season leading the line.

I agree,please dont think I dont BUT......He does have a poor history and would represent a major amount of the budget available to CC. If it worked out and stayed injury free (and not suspened!) then great, but if he didnt then it may cause problems and CC would get it in the neck. It would be a gamble.

14-05-2011, 11:52 AM
I agree,please dont think I dont BUT......He does have a poor history and would represent a major amount of the budget available to CC. If it worked out and stayed injury free (and not suspened!) then great, but if he didnt then it may cause problems and CC would get it in the neck. It would be a gamble.

Apostrophe's TQM...I know....Iknow..:greengrin

14-05-2011, 12:37 PM
Apostrophe's TQM...I know....Iknow..:greengrin

Or should that be "apostrophes"? :wink:

14-05-2011, 01:10 PM

I have absolutely no idea anymore...................

14-05-2011, 01:35 PM

Indeed it should be!

Admin - can we install a spell/grammar checker for the Kaiser please? :wink: :greengrin

down the slope
14-05-2011, 01:54 PM
On the beeb along with the teams from Scotland that Thompson is going to St mirren and rejected the Hibs and one other SPL club !.