Back to Black.

11-05-2011, 09:26 AM
Back to Black.

Excellent, that is smart.....:agree:

11-05-2011, 09:26 AM
Back to Black.

Guessing there's just been the photo shoot then?

Not that i'll buy it but i'm quite pleased, i like black or white for the away strip, these stupid yellows and blues are disgusting. I actually believe that the honking yellow one a couple of years ago contributed to our pishness.

TamHibs
11-05-2011, 09:35 AM
Sorry but I'm not seeing anything.... :S

WellingtonHibby
11-05-2011, 09:38 AM
Away kits, as a rule, are daft.
how many times did we actually wear our Murray Mint away strip this season? Twice? Tops.
It clearly wasn't designed to be worn on the pitch as the colour is too similar to pitch/sky and poses the same problems the Man U grey kit did a few years back. They are a fashion consideration rather than a footballing one, so whatever colour the masses want, thats what it should be. By that token, hibs have got it bang on with black.

scott7_0(Prague)
11-05-2011, 09:39 AM
Take your pick-

http://www.comparestoreprices.co.uk/images/ne/newcastle-puma-2010-11-newcastle-puma-sweat-top-black-.jpg

http://www.myfootballkits.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/New-2010-11-Puma-Sheffield-Wednesday-Away-Shirt.jpg

http://www.fanfootball.co.uk/images/tottenham-third-kit-20091.jpg

http://www.brentfordfc.co.uk/javaImages/48/af/0,,10421~6598472,00.jpg

http://img55.imageshack.us/img55/6930/lazio3rdss0809mg6.jpg

Jay
11-05-2011, 09:40 AM
ooh! I loved our black away kit :thumbsup:

11-05-2011, 09:42 AM
Take your pick-

http://www.comparestoreprices.co.uk/images/ne/newcastle-puma-2010-11-newcastle-puma-sweat-top-black-.jpg

http://www.myfootballkits.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/New-2010-11-Puma-Sheffield-Wednesday-Away-Shirt.jpg

Would take any of them bar the Brentford one.
The Sheffield wed one with green trim would look smart

11-05-2011, 09:42 AM
Take your pick-

whats with the active two stripes on the shoulder of the spurs & lazio kits.... dont like them at all.

love the newcastle one & the sheff wed top would be nice with purple thin stripes instead of gold/yellow.

i think ours however will be similiar to the brentford top with a different colour instead of the gold.

11-05-2011, 09:44 AM
Take your pick-

Newcastle one for me.

11-05-2011, 09:47 AM
Newcastle one for me.

Wonder if Allan Smith comes with it? :wink:

11-05-2011, 09:50 AM
whats with the active two stripes on the shoulder of the spurs & lazio kits.... dont like them at all.

love the newcastle one & the sheff wed top would be nice with purple thin stripes instead of gold/yellow.

i think ours however will be similiar to the brentford top with a different colour instead of the gold.

Puma have been incorporating the two stripe design into their kits because of Johan Cruyff. When he was sponsored by Puma, he removed the 3rd stripe from his adidas made Holland kit during the 1974 world cup because Adidas and Puma were rivals.

11-05-2011, 10:00 AM
Puma have been incorporating the two stripe design into their kits because of Johan Cruyff. When he was sponsored by Puma, he removed the 3rd stripe from his adidas made Holland kit during the 1974 world cup because Adidas and Puma were rivals.

i see.... thanks, you learn something new everyday :wink:

quite a good idea in that case then..... still dont like the strips though :greengrin

11-05-2011, 10:01 AM

Pele was reported to be paid $120,000 in the 1970 world cup final to stop the referee just before kick off and tie his Puma football boot laces so that millions would see a close up of his boots.

Purehibee_MYB
11-05-2011, 10:05 AM
Where/when can we see this new shirt?

Dunkin' Donut
11-05-2011, 10:10 AM
Guessing there's just been the photo shoot then?

Not that i'll buy it but i'm quite pleased, i like black or white for the away strip, these stupid yellows and blues are disgusting. I actually believe that the honking yellow one a couple of years ago contributed to our pishness.

when have we ever had a blue away top?

11-05-2011, 11:37 AM
:agree::confused:

11-05-2011, 11:50 AM

maybe he's refering to our mint strip which could be mistaken for a Turquoise blue...... :taxi

Purehibee_MYB
11-05-2011, 11:52 AM
maybe he's refering to our mint strip which could be mistaken for a Turquoise blue...... :taxi

Have to be a bit colour blind to mistake mint for turquoise!

That sheff Wednesday kit would look pretty good with small green lines down the strip instead of their yellow ones

11-05-2011, 11:55 AM
Have to be a bit colour blind to mistake mint for turquoise!

That sheff Wednesday kit would look pretty good with small green lines down the strip instead of their yellow ones

i know.... im just trying to make some sense out of the suggestion that we have had a blue strip in the past!! :wink:

11-05-2011, 11:57 AM
We've had a fair few purple efforts over recent seasons. No blue that I recall. Blue is blue, purple is purple. If we start playing in blue (for any ****ing reason), the shirt sponsors and director of stupidityinstripdesignandstyle needs public floggin.

ENDOF

11-05-2011, 12:01 PM
Away kits, as a rule, are daft.
how many times did we actually wear our Murray Mint away strip this season? Twice? Tops.
It clearly wasn't designed to be worn on the pitch as the colour is too similar to pitch/sky and poses the same problems the Man U grey kit did a few years back. They are a fashion consideration rather than a footballing one, so whatever colour the masses want, thats what it should be. By that token, hibs have got it bang on with black.

:agree: When I was wee our home strip was green with white sleeves and the away strip was purple with white sleeves. I was desperate to see us play in purple and had to wait for years - I think the first time I saw it was the first year we had the shirt sponsirship from Bukta. Back then we'd play Celtic in our class green and white and they wore their manky hoops - still don't see why that still isn't done today.

11-05-2011, 12:39 PM
Where/when can we see this new shirt?

Hear hear

We always seem to be one of the last to reveal the kits for next year. It annoys me so.

Not opposed to black - but the green pin stripe like the sheff Utd shirt would be class.

11-05-2011, 12:54 PM
The photos have reminded me of something, the home strip has a puma on the shoulder.

11-05-2011, 12:55 PM
What kinda collar Scoop?

11-05-2011, 12:58 PM
The photos have reminded me of something, the home strip has a puma on the shoulder.

Do you mean on the front of the shirt (instead of the traditional breast position) or on the sleeve?

11-05-2011, 01:01 PM
Black? :(

11-05-2011, 01:14 PM
http://www.oldfootballshirts.com/img/shirts/168/hibernian-away-football-shirt-1991-1992-s_21455_1.jpg

This!

For me anyway!

DAVE1875
11-05-2011, 01:36 PM
Would love the Sheffield Wednesday away kit style with green pin-stripes. But I would love the newcastle one with a bit of dark green trim.

11-05-2011, 02:08 PM
Back to Black.
hate wearing anything black[total uncomfy and does not go with the sun]
white for me every time.

ionahibby
11-05-2011, 02:34 PM
hate wearing anything black[total uncomfy and does not go with the sun]
white for me every time.

Prefer black myself looks smarter than white plus any beer spillages are easily disguised :greengrin

11-05-2011, 02:50 PM
Well, at least we won't have to have a third kit to fleece the fans with.

I agree, why so long launching the shirts?

green.and.white
11-05-2011, 03:03 PM
http://www.oldfootballshirts.com/img/shirts/168/hibernian-away-football-shirt-1991-1992-s_21455_1.jpg

This!

For me anyway!

Looks good, but the only place we ever need to wear our away top is Celtic Park.... so why make it green and white? We would be forced to bring out a third kit and wear that, so it would be a waste of time.

11-05-2011, 03:29 PM
Looks good, but the only place we ever need to wear our away top is Celtic Park.... so why make it green and white? We would be forced to bring out a third kit and wear that, so it would be a waste of time.

So what colour was our Third Kit then when this strip was getting used??

11-05-2011, 03:34 PM
So what colour was our Third Kit then when this strip was getting used??Precisely.

Question for the auld yins - was it hard to tell who was who when Hibs and Celtic both used to use their home kits against eachother?

11-05-2011, 03:39 PM
Precisely.

Question for the auld yins - was it hard to tell who was who when Hibs and Celtic both used to use their home kits against eachother?

Hibs are predominately Green while Celtic are predominately white. Was it not that Hibs just played in Green tops, shorts and socks when they played Ra Tic?

11-05-2011, 06:21 PM
Precisely.

Easier for Celtic than it was for Hibs, they beat us 6-1, 6-2 and 6-3 in three Hampden Cup Finals!!!!!

Having said that we won 2-1 in the League Cup and 5-3 and 1-0 in Dryburgh Cup Finals.

All in all there is nothing to stop Hibs playing Celtic with both teams wearing their home strips.

11-05-2011, 06:23 PM
Do you mean on the front of the shirt (instead of the traditional breast position) or on the sleeve?

Not seen it MoJo but I believe it is a white puma on the green bit of the strip, similar to Scott in Prague's photos at #6.

11-05-2011, 06:27 PM

This!

For me anyway!

I think I've just filled my trousers.

What an epic shirt that was, bring it back!! :agree:

11-05-2011, 06:29 PM

Frank Graham Group.

11-05-2011, 06:29 PM

This!

For me anyway!

:agree: I love that top, only bettered by the fabled green and purple stripes IMO.

11-05-2011, 06:33 PM
Frank Graham Group.

Aye, and it was that big three-tiered ******* of a sponsor that ruined it somewhat :agree:

11-05-2011, 07:52 PM
Mon the black kit!! Excited to see this strip always though we looked smart in the black strips of Collins era.

11-05-2011, 07:57 PM

was talking about that one...bluey type green :greengrin

Maybe should have paid attention to all those warnings about going blind :wink:

stanton_4
12-05-2011, 06:29 AM

There was a time we didn't wear a change strip to play Celtic. Watch any of the games from the 70's and it's not difficult to separate the teams at all. 2nd and 3rd strips are purely money making exercises. Not keen on them myself but I do see the point in them for extra revenue. If we are to have a 2nd strip it's white for me every time with green shorts and white socks. It's classy and allows mixing and matching between 1st and 2nd strip when the need arrises. All green strip against Celtic for example. Surely even the most picky would be able to spot the difference there!

12-05-2011, 11:12 AM
I like the pinstriping of the Sheffield Wednesday shirt. That with Green pinstripes would be cool.

Also like the Lazio shirt.

However I reckon that template (with collar) will be the home shirt.

With the Newcastle/Sheffield Wed being the away one.

Take your pick-

7Hero
12-05-2011, 11:15 AM

easily for me the best hibs strip i have ever seen.

12-05-2011, 03:46 PM
It'll be this with green instead of red.........i'd put money on it :greengrin

12-05-2011, 06:52 PM
As long as it's not yellow. It looks rubbish, we play rubbish in it, and it reminds me of Celtic.

I'd also like the home strip to go darker again, like it was in the old days when we could actually beat teams.